Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
DETAILED ACTION
Claims 77-94, 97, and 100 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 77-94, 97 and 100 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claims 77 and 97, the set of parentheses around the term "w/w" in line 14 renders the claims indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations inside the set of parentheses are part of the claimed invention. Applicant may consider amending the claim to recite “a weight ratio of DHA to ARA” in order to obviate the rejection.
Claims 78-94 and 100 which depend from claim 77 do not cure the indefiniteness and are also rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 77-94, 97 and 100 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Assegehegn (WO-2017167409-A1, of record in Office Correspondence mailed on 10/03/2023) ) in view of Kirk (US 20160309748 A1, of record in Office Correspondence mailed on 11/21/2025), Ellis (US 2008/0234377 A1), Driscoll (US 20140274957, record in Office Correspondence mailed on 11/21/2025), and as evidenced by Yang (Foods 8.8 (2019): 334, of record in Office Correspondence mailed on 10/03/2023) and Wu (Soybean lecithin composition, fractionation, and functionality." (2002). Thesis, Iowa state University).
Regarding claims 77-78, 80-84, 86-87, 89, 94 and 100, Assegehegn teaches a multi-chamber container for parenteral administration comprising a first chamber with an oil in-water emulsion, second chamber with an amino acid solution and a third chamber with a carbohydrate solution (Abstract, claims 1 and 13). Assegehegn teaches that the emulsion comprises 5 wt. % to 30 wt.% of an oil phase based on the total weight of the emulsion (page 3 lines 26-27). Assegehegn teaches that the emulsion comprises 1.15 g of DHA in 100g of oil phase (10 g of extract containing 115mg DHA/g extract) (Table 1). Assegehegn teaches that the emulsion comprises 10g soybean oil in 100g of composition (Table 7). Evidentiary reference Yang shows that Soybean oil contains phytosterol (approximately 300 mg/100 g). Evidentiary reference Wu reports soybean oil comprises soy lecithin (page 2 “Soybean Lecithin Composition”). Thus, the emulsion taught by Assegehegn contains soy lecithin and about 30 mg of phytosterol in 100 g composition. Assegehegn does not teach the lipid formulation comprises water soluble forms of choline. Thus the limitation of “the lipid formulation is essentially free of water-soluble forms of choline” is met since the reference is silent to it.
Assegehegn does not teach that the DHA is from Schizochytrium and that the oil phase comprises arachidonic acid (ARA).
However, Kirk teaches that microbial oil from Schizochytrium can be formulated for providing parenteral dosage form (Abstract, [0077], [0040])). Kirk teaches that the oil comprises docosahexaenoic acid (DHA) and arachidonic acid (ARA) (claim 15). Kirk teaches that the weight ratio of DHA to EPA is about 20:1 ([0056]) and teaches the oil comprises a triglyceride fraction comprising DHA and EPA ([0012], [0062]). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the composition taught by Assegehegn by substituting a composition comprising DHA and ARA derived from Schizochytrium as suggested by Kirk, for Assegehegn’s fish and krill oil compositions, with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so in order to form a health composition comprising DHA which is beneficial for the maintenance of cognitive functions and has anti-inflammatory properties, as taught by Kirk ([0007]). Since Assegehegn and Kirk teach a composition for parenteral administration comprising DHA, there is a reasonable expectation of success.
Assegehegn and Kirk do not teach a weight ratio of DHA to ARA in the lipid formulation from 10:1 to 1:5.
However, Ellis teaches that the combination of DHA and ARA delivers a surprising, unexpected benefit over administration of DHA alone, and teaches a ratio of DHA to ARA of about 1:1 to about 10:1 ([0126]-[0127]). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the composition taught by Assegehegn by optimizing the weight ratio of DHA to ARA to about 10:1, as suggested by Ellis. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so in order to increase the beneficial effect of DHA and form an effective and safe composition. Since Assegehegn teaches a desire to form a composition comprising DHA and since Ellis teaches that administering DHA with ARA in a ratio of about 10:1 has an unexpected health benefit, there is a reasonable expectation of success.
Assegehegn, Kirk, and Ellis do not teach wherein the amino acid formulation comprises glycerophosphocholine.
However, Driscoll teaches that a composition comprising glycerylphosphorylcholine is used to treat autonomic dysfunctions or vascular diseases and to increase the dietary choline in a patient (Abstract, [0081]). Driscoll teaches that glycerylphosphorylcholine at 30 mg to 2,400 mg ([0010]) can be used for parenteral administration ([0046]) and teaches a dose of 600 mg of GPC (Table 1). Driscoll teaches that water or aqueous dextrose (i.e., carbohydrate solution) are suitable carriers for parenteral solutions ([0053]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the composition taught by Assegehegn by adding glycerophosphocholine as suggested by Driscoll. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so in order to increase the dietary choline in a patient as suggested by Driscoll ([0081]). MPEP 2131.02 III states that a generic disclosure will anticipate a claimed species covered by that disclosure when the species can be "at once envisaged" from the disclosure. MPEP 2144.08 addresses the obviousness of species when prior art teaches genus. Driscoll does not specify the glycerylphosphorylcholine is added to the amino acid formulation. Assegehegn teaches that the composition has three chambers and that the amino acid solution is an aqueous amino acid solution (page 14 line 20). One skilled in the art would envision using the glycerophosphocholine in the amino acid or carbohydrate formulation as these are aqueous solutions and suitable carriers for glycerophosphocholine. Since Assegehegn and Driscoll teach a desire to form a health composition for parenteral administration comprising choline, there is a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 79, Assegehegn teaches the composition comprises 1.15 g of DHA in 100g of oil phase (Table 1). Kirk teaches the triglyceride fraction comprises at least about 40% to about 80% by weight DHA. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the concentration of DHA. Differences in concentration do not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to optimize the concentration of DHA in order to form a parenteral composition with beneficial effect, e.g. on the cardiovascular system, on cerebral function, as well as in combatting inflammatory conditions as suggested by Assegehegn (page 1 lines 9-11).
Regarding claim 85, Kirk teaches that the microbial oil and/or one or more fractions thereof is substantially free of EPA ([0061]).
Regarding claim 88, Assegehegn teaches that the emulsion may further comprise a pharmaceutically acceptable co-surfactant (page 5 lines 27-28) and suggests using sodium oleate (page 6 line 17).
Regarding claims 90 and 91, Assegehegn teaches that the emulsion comprises glycerol (Table 1).
Regarding claim 92, Assegehegn teaches that the composition comprises tocopherols (Table 1).
Regarding claim 93, Assegehegn teaches that the emulsion has a pH 8.6-9 (Table 1).
Regarding claim 97, the limitations of the composition are discussed in the claim 77 analysis. Assegehegn teaches the multi-chambers are separated by leak tight seals that are peelable and rupture upon application of external pressure for mixing of the contents of the container only prior to use of the container (claim 12, page 14 line 10).
Double Patenting
Claims 77-93 and 97 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 10-12 and 25 of US 11,666,548 in view of Assegehegn, Kirk, Ellis and as evidenced by Yang.
Regarding instant claims 77-84 and 86-89, patent claim 1 recites a multi-chamber container for parenteral administration, comprising a carbohydrate formulation present in a first chamber, an amino acid formulation present in a second chamber. Patent claim 2 recites the multi-chamber container according to claim 1, additionally comprising a lipid formulation present in a third chamber. Patent claim 10 recites wherein the lipid formulation comprises an aqueous phase and oil phase in an amount of from 1 g to 40 g of oil per 100 ml of lipid formulation. Patent claim 25 recites the amino acid formulation comprises glycerophosphocholine. Patent claim 12 recites the oil phase comprises one or more oils selected from the group consisting of olive oil, soybean oil, safflower oil, coconut oil, fish oil, fish oil extract, krill oil, medium chain triglycerides (MCTs), algae oil, fungi oil, com oil, sunflower oil, palm kernel oil, and rapeseed oil. Evidentiary reference Yang shows Soybean oil contains phytosterol (approximately 300 mg/100 g). Soybean oil contains comprises lecithin. Patent claim 25 recites the amino acid formulation comprises glycerophosphocholine. Patent claims 1-2, 10 and 12 do not recite an amount of DHA, ARA, or EPA.
However, Assegehegn teaches a multi-chamber container for parenteral administration comprising a first chamber with an oil in-water emulsion, second chamber with an amino acid solution and a third chamber with a carbohydrate solution (Abstract, claims 1 and 13). Assegehegn teaches that the emulsion comprises 5 wt. % to 30 wt.% of an oil phase based on the total weight of the emulsion (page 3 lines 26-27). Assegehegn teaches that the emulsion comprises 1.15 g of DHA in 100g of oil phase (10 g of extract containing 115mg DHA/g extract) (Table 1).
Kirk teaches that microbial oil from Schizochytrium can be formulated for providing parenteral dosage form (Abstract, [0077], [0040])). Kirk teaches the oil comprises docosahexaenoic acid (DHA) and arachidonic acid (ARA) (claim 15). Kirk teaches the weight ratio of DHA to EPA is about 20:1 ([0056]) and teaches the oil comprises a triglyceride fraction comprising DHA and EPA ([0012], [0062]). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the composition recited in patent claims 1-2, 10, and 12 by adding DHA and optimizing its concentration as suggested by Assegehegn and Kirk. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so in order to increase the amount of DHA in the composition and form a parenteral composition with beneficial effect, e.g. on the cardiovascular system, on cerebral function, as well as in combatting inflammatory conditions as suggested by Assegehegn (page 1 lines 9-11).
Assegehegn and Kirk do not teach a weight ratio of DHA to ARA in the lipid formulation from 10:1 to 1:5.
However, Ellis teaches that the combination of DHA and ARA delivers a surprising, unexpected benefit over administration of DHA alone, and teaches a ratio of DHA to ARA of about 10:1 ([0126]-[0127]). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the composition recited in patent claims 1-2, 10, and 12 by optimizing the weight ratio of DHA to ARA to about 10: 1, as suggested by Ellis. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so in order to increase the beneficial effect of DHA and form an effective and safe composition.
Regarding instant claim 85, patent claim 1 does not recite EPA. Thus, the limitation of “the lipid formulation is essentially free of EPA” is met since the claim is silent to it (i.e. 0%).
Regarding claim 90 and 91, kirk teaches the composition may comprise glycerol ([0078]).
Regarding instant claim 92, patent claim 11 recites the lipid formulation comprises at least one pharmaceutically acceptable antioxidant selected from the group consisting of alpha-tocopherol, beta-tocopherol, gammatocopherol, delta-tocopherol, and ascorbyl palmitate.
Regarding claim 93, Assegehegn teaches that the emulsion has a pH 8.6-9 (Table 1).
Regarding claim 97, patent claims 1-2, 10-12, 25 do not recite openable seals among the first chamber, the second chamber and the third chamber. However, Assegehegn teaches a multi-chamber container for parenteral administration comprising a first chamber with an oil in-water emulsion, second chamber with an amino acid solution and a third chamber with a carbohydrate solution (Abstract, claims 1 and 13). Assegehegn teaches the multi-chambers are separated by leak tight seals that are peelable and rupture upon application of external pressure for mixing of the contents of the container only prior to use of the container (claim 12, page 14 line 10).
Claims 94 and 100 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 10-12, 25 of US 11,666,548 in view of Assegehegn, Kirk, Ellis and Driscoll.
Regarding claim 94, patent claims 1-2, 10-12, 25 do not recite a concentration of glycerophosphocholine. However, Driscoll teaches a composition comprising glycerylphosphorylcholine at 30 mg to 2,400 mg ([0010]) can be used for parenteral administration ([0046]) and a dose of 600 mg of GPC (Table 1). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the composition recited in patent claims 1-2, 10-12, 25 by adding 600 mg of GPC as suggested by Driscoll. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so in order to use an effective and safe dose of GPC.
Regarding claim 100, Driscoll teaches aqueous dextrose (i.e., carbohydrate solution) is a suitable carrier for GPC for parenteral solutions ([0053]).
Claims 77-79, 85-94, 97 and 100 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 18 of US 12,171,866 in view of Driscoll and Assegehegn, as evidenced by Yang.
Regarding claims 77-79, 85-87, 94, and 100, patent claim 18 recites a parenteral nutrition composition reconstituted from a multi-chamber container comprising an amino acid formulation, a carbohydrate formulation, and a lipid formulation, wherein glycerophosphocholine is present in the lipid formulation of the composition in a concentration of from 0.01 g to 6.0 g per liter, wherein the lipid formulation further comprises docosahexaenoic acid (DHA) in a concentration of from 0.1 g to 5.0 g per 100 g of the oil phase and arachidonic acid (ARA) in a concentration of from 0.1 g to 15.0 g per 100 g of the oil phase for use in the treatment of choline deficiency and liver damage by parenteral administration, and wherein the lipid formulation is essentially free of eicosapentaenoic acid (EPA). There is no evidence that the source of the DHA imparts any additional structure to the composition. Patent claim 18 does not recite the lipid formulation comprises about 5% to about 35% by weight of an oil phase based on the total weight of the lipid formulation; the lipid formulation is present in the form of an oil-in-water emulsion; the lipid formulation includes about 70 mg phytosterols or less per 100 g of oil phase; and the lipid formulation is essentially free of water soluble forms of choline, wherein the amino acid formulation comprises glycerophosphocholine.
However, Assegehegn teaches a multi-chamber container for parenteral administration comprising a first chamber with an oil in-water emulsion, second chamber with an amino acid solution and a third chamber with a carbohydrate solution (Abstract, claims 1 and 13). Assegehegn teaches the emulsion comprises 5 wt. % to 30 wt.% of an oil phase based on the total weight of the emulsion (page 3 lines 26-27). Assegehegn teaches the emulsion comprises 10g soybean oil in 100g of composition (Table 7). Evidentiary reference Yang shows Soybean oil contains phytosterol (approximately 300 mg/100 g). Thus, the composition taught by Assegehegn contains about 30 mg of phytosterol in 100 g composition. Assegehegn teaches the composition comprises soybean oil (Tables 3 and 7). Soybean oil comprises soy lecithin. Assegehegn teaches a multi-chamber container for parenteral administration comprising a first chamber with an oil in-water emulsion, second chamber with an amino acid solution and a third chamber with a carbohydrate solution (Abstract, claims 1 and 13). Assegehegn teaches the multi-chambers are separated by leak tight seals that are peelable and rupture upon application of external pressure for mixing of the contents of the container only prior to use of the container (claim 12, page 14 line 10).
Driscoll teaches a composition comprising glycerylphosphorylcholine for parenteral administration ([0046]) and teaches water or aqueous dextrose (i.e., carbohydrate solution) are suitable carriers for parenteral solutions ([0053]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the composition recited in patent claim 18 optimizing the weight ratio of DHA to ARA, by adding oil in-water emulsion comprising 5 wt. % to 30 wt.% of an oil phase based on the total weight of the emulsion (page 3 lines 26-27) and soybean oil, and by adding glycerophosphocholine in the carbohydrate and/or amino acid formulation instead of the lipid formulation as suggested by Driscoll. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so in order to form an effective and stable parenteral composition and increase dietary choline in a patient as suggested by Driscoll ([0081]). MPEP 2131.02 III states that a generic disclosure will anticipate a claimed species covered by that disclosure when the species can be "at once envisaged" from the disclosure. MPEP 2144.08 discusses the obviousness of species when prior art teaches genus. One skilled in the art would envision using the glycerophosphocholine in the amino acid or carbohydrate formulation as these are aqueous solutions and suitable carriers for glycerophosphocholine. Since Assegehegn and Driscoll teach a desire to form a health composition for parenteral administration comprising choline, there is a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 88, Assegehegn teaches the emulsion may further comprise a pharmaceutically acceptable co-surfactant (page 5 lines 27-28) and suggests using sodium oleate (page 6 line 17).
Regarding claims 90 and 91, Assegehegn teaches the emulsion comprises glycerol (Table 1).
Regarding claim 92, Assegehegn teaches the emulsion comprises tocopherols (Table 1).
Regarding claim 93, Assegehegn teaches the emulsion has a pH 8.6-9 (Table 1).
Regarding claim 97, Assegehegn teaches the multi-chambers are separated by leak tight seals that are peelable and rupture upon application of external pressure for mixing of the contents of the container only prior to use of the container (claim 12, page 14 line 10).
Regarding claim 100, Driscoll teaches a dose of 600 mg of GPC (Table 1) and teaches that aqueous dextrose (i.e., carbohydrate solution) is suitable carrier for parenteral solutions ([0053]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/14/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that none of the cited references Assegehegn, Kirk, Driscoll, or Wu disclose or suggest a ratio of DHA to ARA in the lipid formulation is from 10:1 to 1:5 (w/w).
Newly cited reference Ellis teaches a ratio of DHA to ARA of about 10:1 and teaches that the combination of DHA and ARA delivers a surprising, unexpected benefit over administration of DHA alone. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify the composition taught by Assegehegn by adding DHA and ARA in a ratio of 10:1, as suggested by Ellis.
Applicant argues that there is no motivation to combine Assegehegn and Driscoll and no motivation for a skilled artisan to specifically choose to include GPC in its composition and administer the composition parenterally, especially considering the laundry list of alternatives and combinations disclosed in Driscoll.
In response to the argument, Driscoll teaches that the composition comprising glycerylphosphorylcholine is used to treat autonomic dysfunctions or vascular diseases and teaches the importance of administering choline to patients (Abstract, [0081]). MPEP 2144 (IV) states that the reason or motivation to modify the reference may often suggest what the inventor has done, but for a different purpose or to solve a different problem. It is not necessary that the prior art suggest the combination to achieve the same advantage or result discovered by applicant. The claims recite “the formulation comprises” and thus, they do not exclude the presence of another choline or compounds.
Applicant argues Assegehegn does not disclose GPC in an amino acid formulation, and argues Assegehegn does not disclose or suggest any benefit or desire to include any form of choline in any of its solutions.
In response to the argument, Assegehegn teaches the composition comprises krill oil which comprises phosphatidylcholine (page 3 lines 5-10). Driscoll teaches a composition comprising glycerylphosphorylcholine used for parenteral administration ([0046]) and teaches that water or aqueous dextrose (i.e., carbohydrate solution) are suitable carriers for parenteral solutions ([0053]). One skilled in the art having a choice between the three chambers would be motivated to add the glycerophosphocholine in the amino acid or the carbohydrate formulation as these are aqueous solutions and suitable carriers for glycerophosphocholine.
Applicant requests that the double patenting rejection over US 11,666,548 and US 12,171,866 be held in abeyance. A request to hold a rejection in abeyance is not a proper response to a rejection. Rather, a request to hold a matter in abeyance may only be made in response to an OBJECTION or REQUIREMENTS AS TO FORM (see 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP §714.02). Thus, the double patenting rejections of record have been maintained as no response to these rejections has been filled by applicant at this time.
Conclusion
/MARY A CRUM/Examiner, Art Unit 1657
/THANE UNDERDAHL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1699