DETAILED ACTION
Amendments
Applicants’ amendments to the claims filed 11/20/2025 have been entered. Any objection\rejections from the previous office action filed 5/20/2025 not addressed below has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 20-21,42-44,46-47 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Momma et al. "Clathrate compounds of silica", J. Phys.: Condens. Matter 26 (2014) 103203 (18pp). This new rejection was necessitated by amendment.
Momma discloses clathrate compounds of silica and aluminosilicate in cage structures including the geometric shape of 512, 51264, 51268, the geometric shapes feature an interior and exterior surface having vertices, angles and arms with apertures or windows within the polygonal faces. See entire disclosure, especially abstract, page 2 left col last ¶-page 3 rt col last full ¶, Fig. 1-2 and tables 1-2. Regarding the limitations on the size of the longest dimension, apertures and vertices in claims 20 and 46, it follows that since the clathrates disclosed in Momma have the same exact geometric cage shape containing the same elements (Si, O and Al) it will feature the same longest dimension, aperture and vertices size as claimed. This is because the elements are confined to the same geometric cage shape, therefore they will have the same the bond lengths, angle distances, aperture size and overall size as claimed. Where, as here, the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, the PTO can require an applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of his claimed product. See In re Ludtke, supra. Whether the rejection is based on 'inherency' under 35 U.S.C. § 102, on 'prima facie obviousness' under 35 U.S.C. § 103, jointly or alternatively, the burden of proof is the same, and its fairness is evidenced by the PTO's inability to manufacture products or to obtain and compare prior art products. See In re Brown, 459 F.2d 531, 59 CCPA 1036, 173 USPQ 685 (1972). In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255 (CCPA 1977). "[W]hen the PTO shows sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705,708 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A "prior art reference may anticipate without disclosing a feature of the claimed invention if that missing characteristic is necessarily present, or inherent, in the single anticipating reference." SmithKline Beecham Corp. v. Apotex Corp., 403 F.3d 1331, 1343 (Fed. Cir. 2005). Regarding claim 20, oxygen and aluminum present in the clathrate are considered to read on functional group functionalized on the surface or interior. Regarding claim 44, the clathrate of Momma is considered capable of disposing a micelle within its hollow structure as claimed. It follows that same compound will have the same properties and be capable of the same intended use.
Claim(s) 20-21,42-44,46-47 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Yu et al. "Hedgehog Buckyball: A High-Symmetry Complete Polyhedral Oligomeric Silsesquioxane (POSS)", Polymers 2016, 8, 315. This new rejection was necessitated by amendment.
Yu discloses buckyballs produced from silsesquioxane (a silica material), which feature a geometric shape of 512620, this geometric shape features an interior and exterior surface along with vertices, angles and arms with apertures or windows within the polygonal faces. See entire disclosure, especially abstract, Fig 1, ¶ bridging page 1-2. Regarding the limitations on the size of the longest dimension, apertures and vertices in claims 20 and 46, it follows that since the buckyballs disclosed in Yu have the same exact geometric cage shape containing the same elements (Si, and O) it will feature the same longest dimension, aperture and vertices size as claimed. This is because the elements are confined to the same geometric cage shape, therefore they will have the same the bond lengths, angle distances, aperture size and overall size as claimed. Where, as here, the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, the PTO can require an applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of his claimed product. See In re Ludtke, supra. Whether the rejection is based on 'inherency' under 35 U.S.C. § 102, on 'prima facie obviousness' under 35 U.S.C. § 103, jointly or alternatively, the burden of proof is the same, and its fairness is evidenced by the PTO's inability to manufacture products or to obtain and compare prior art products. See In re Brown, 459 F.2d 531, 59 CCPA 1036, 173 USPQ 685 (1972). In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255 (CCPA 1977). "[W]hen the PTO shows sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705,708 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A "prior art reference may anticipate without disclosing a feature of the claimed invention if that missing characteristic is necessarily present, or inherent, in the single anticipating reference." SmithKline Beecham Corp. v. Apotex Corp., 403 F.3d 1331, 1343 (Fed. Cir. 2005). Regarding claim 20, the silicon atom in the buckyball is additionally substituted by an organic R group, considered to read on the functional group recited. Regarding claim 44, the buckyball of Yu is considered capable of disposing a micelle within its hollow structure as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20-21,42-47 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu, cited above, in view of Pan et al. “Nuclear-Targeted Drug Delivery of TAT Peptide-Conjugated Monodisperse Mesoporous Silica Nanoparticles” J. Am. Chem. Soc. 2012, 134, 5722−5725. This new rejection was necessitated by amendment.
Yu is disclosed above. Yu is silent with respect to the buckyball being functionalized with the functional groups recited in claim 45, including peptides and drugs.
Pan teaches modification of silica nanoparticles with TAT peptide for nuclear targeted drug delivery and proved to be suitable for transport across the nuclear membrane. See entire disclosure, especially abstract, Fig 1 and last ¶ page 5725. The nuclear-targeted and intranuclear DOX delivery by the silica nanoparticles functionalized with TAT demonstrated a significant enhancement in the anticancer activity of the drug.
Since Yu teaches silica as the building block for the buckyball and Pan teaches it was possible to attach TAT peptide to silica one of ordinary skill in the art would have a high expectation of success in functionalizing the buckyballs of Yu with TAT peptide. Reason to make such a substitution would be to deliver the silica buckyball across the nuclear membrane by the TAT peptide for payload delivery. One of ordinary skill would expect significant enhancement in payload delivery to a cell. Thus the claimed invention would have been prima facie obvious since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.
Claim(s) 20-21,42-47 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Momma, cited above, in view of Pan et al. “Nuclear-Targeted Drug Delivery of TAT Peptide-Conjugated Monodisperse Mesoporous Silica Nanoparticles” J. Am. Chem. Soc. 2012, 134, 5722−5725.
Momma is disclosed above. Momma is silent with respect to the nanocage being functionalized with the functional groups recited in claim 45, including peptides and drugs. This new rejection was necessitated by amendment.
Pan teaches modification of silica nanoparticles with TAT peptide for nuclear targeted drug delivery and proved to be suitable for transport across the nuclear membrane. See entire disclosure, especially abstract, Fig 1 and last ¶ page 5725. The nuclear-targeted and intranuclear DOX delivery by the silica nanoparticles functionalized with TAT demonstrated a significant enhancement in the anticancer activity of the drug.
Since Momma teaches silica as the building block for the clathrates and Pan teaches it was possible to attach TAT peptide to silica one of ordinary skill in the art would have a high expectation of success in functionalizing the clathrates of PAN with TAT peptide. Reason to make such a substitution would be to deliver the silica nanoparticle across the nuclear membrane by the TAT peptide for payload delivery. One of ordinary skill would expect significant enhancement in payload delivery to a cell. Thus the claimed invention would have been prima facie obvious since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 20-21,42-47 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES W ROGERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1618