Detailed Action
This Office Action is in response to the remarks entered on 08/21/2026. Claims 1-7, 9-16, 18-25 and 27 are presently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-6, 9-11, 14-15, 18-20, 23-24, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Na & Oh (Na & Oh, “Hybrid Control for Autonomous Mobile Robot Navigation Using Neural Network Based Behavior Modules and Environment Classification”, 2003, hereinafter ‘Na’) in view of Heess (US 11210585 B1, hereinafter ‘Heess’) in view of Johnson et al. (US-20040025153-A1, hereinafter ‘Johnson’).
Regarding claim 1, Na teaches:
A system for autonomous behavior generation, the system comprising: ([Na, Abstract, line 1-3 and 14-16] discloses that the architecture selects behaviors based on a classification)
an autonomous mobile platform having one or more mobile platform actuators; and ([Na, page 195, Fig. 3] and [Na, page 198, right col, last para, line 20 – page 199, right col, line 25] discloses selecting a behavior (the neural network controller for the selected behavior, which corresponds to the tactical neural net) to generate the steering signal based on the results of the environment classification neural network (strategic neural net). The signal is sent to the Actuator)
one or more processors and one or more associated memories, each associated memory being a non-transitory computer-readable medium having executable instructions encoded thereon such that when executed, an associated one or more processors perform operations of ([Na, Abstract, line 1-3 and 14-16] discloses that the architecture select behaviors based on a classification. The simulation is performed using a computer and an actual robot MORIS is used to test the architecture):
while in a behavior selection state, receiving, by a high-level controller, observations from a physical environment around the autonomous mobile platform and, using a strategic neural net,[Na, page 198, right col, last para, line 20 – page 199, right col, line 25] discloses selecting a behavior (the neural network controller for the selected behavior, which corresponds to the tactical neural net) to generate the steering signal based on the results of the environment classification neural network (strategic neural net). [Na, page 196, left col, 3.1. Environment Classification Network, line 1 – right col, line 12] discloses that the environment classification neural network determines the high-level behavior in conjunction with the modified potential field algorithm. The environment classification neural network in conjunction with the modified potential field algorithm is the high-level controller);
generating, by a low-level controller, an output command for a scripted action in the physical environment based on the selected high-level behavior, the scripted action being a precise maneuver of the autonomous mobile platform in the physical environment and the output command being a command for a series of actuator movements that, when implemented, cause the autonomous mobile platform to perform the scripted action; ([Na, page 198, right col, last para, line 20 – page 199, right col, line 25] discloses selecting a behavior module (the neural network controller for the selected behavior, which corresponds to the tactical neural net) to generate the steering signal based on the results of the environment classification neural network (strategic neural net). [Na, page 201, left col, line 1-6] and [Na, page 200, Fig. 13] discloses that the steering angle (precise maneuver of the autonomous mobile platform) is determined based on the environment [Na, page 197, left col, 3.2.1. Neural Network Based Controller Capturing Human Basic Behaviors]. [Na, page 196, left col, 3.1. Environment Classification Network, line 1 – right col, line 12] discloses that the environment classification neural network determines the high-level behavior in conjunction with the modified potential field algorithm)
sending the output command to one or more mobile platform actuators of the autonomous mobile platform; ([Na, page 194, right col, 2. Behavior-Based Control Architecture, line 1-3 and 8-11], [Na, page 197, right col, line 16-19] and [Na, page 199, right col, 3.4. Action Selection for Competitive Coordination, line 1-6] collectively disclose generating the steering signal to perform the selected behavior and adding the signal to change the output behavior. [Na, Abstract, line 1-3 and 14-16] An actual robot MORIS is used to test the robot navigation architecture)
actuating the one or more mobile platform actuators to cause the autonomous mobile platform to perform the scripted action and associated precise maneuver in the physical environment, ([Na, page 195, Fig. 3] and [Na, page 198, right col, last para, line 20 – page 199, right col, line 25] discloses selecting a behavior (the neural network controller for the selected behavior, which corresponds to the tactical neural net) to generate the steering signal based on the results of the environment classification neural network (strategic neural net). [Na, page 201, left col, line 1-6] and [Na, page 200, Fig. 13] discloses that the steering angle (precise maneuver of the autonomous mobile platform) is determined based on the environment. [Na, Abstract, line 1-3 and 14-16] further discloses that an actual robot MORIS is used to test the architecture)
wherein each high-level behavior has a separate and distinct tactical neural net, such that, after each [Na, page 197, left col, 3.2.1. Neural Network Based Controller Capturing Human Basic Behaviors] discloses that three behaviors have been implemented using a neural network and each neural net controller is trained under environment listed in Table 1. Since the Table 1 discloses three different behaviors trained using three different conditions respectively, the paragraph indicates that each behavior has separate controller (separate tactical neural net). [Na, page 199, right col, 3.4. Action Selection for Competitive Coordination, line 1-31; Figure 11] discloses that “First, the local environmental configuration is recognized as being one of the 16 prototypes based on the sensory information. If it is a U-shaped local, then the backup behavior is first selected to get out of it … Otherwise, the past behavior continues to control the robot. (maintaining the current high-level behavior)”)
Na does not specifically disclose:
wherein the high-level controller selects behaviors at a lower frequency than a frequency at which the low-level controller generates output commands for scripted actions such that in selecting a behavior at each time-step i, if I modulo Q==0, then the high-level controller selects a behavior in [0,N], otherwise a same behavior is used from a previous iteration, wherein Q is a ratio between low-level and high-level behavior selection frequencies and N is a number of scripted behaviors;
after each time-step, the tactical neural net corresponding to a current high-level behavior makes a determination as to maintaining the current high-level behavior or transitioning back to a behavior selection state.
Heess teaches:
after each time-step, the tactical neural net corresponding to a current high-level behavior makes a determination as to maintaining the current high-level behavior or transitioning back to a behavior selection state. ([Heess, col 5, line 47-63] The system receives the current observation characterizing a current state of the environment, and then determines whether the criteria for generating a new control signal are satisfied. Once the criteria are satisfied, the system provides the current observation to the high -level controller (i.e., a recurrent neural network) and update the recurrent state (behavior selection state). If not satisfied, the system maintains current control signal)
Before the effective filing date of the invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art, it would have been obvious, having the teachings of Na and Heess to use the method of determining whether to maintain or change the behavior after each time-step of Heess to implement the behavior generation system of Na. Na teaches determining whether to maintain or change the selected behavior, but is silent on determining it each time-step. Heess discloses how to efficiently determining it time-step, which allows the behavior generation system to interact with the agent (e.g., a robot, aircraft) in a structured manner.
Na in view of Heess does not specifically disclose:
wherein the high-level controller selects behaviors at a lower frequency than a frequency at which the low-level controller generates output commands for scripted actions such that in selecting a behavior at each time-step i, if i modulo Q==0, then the high-level controller selects a behavior in [0,N], otherwise a same behavior is used from a previous iteration, wherein Q is a ratio between low-level and high-level behavior selection frequencies and N is a number of scripted behaviors.
Johnson teaches:
selects behavior such that in selecting a behavior at each time-step i, if i modulo Q==0, then the high-level controller selects a behavior in [0,N), otherwise a same behavior is used from a previous iteration, wherein Q is a ratio between low-level and high-level behavior selection frequencies and N is a number of scripted behaviors (The limitation merely recites a loop operation that performs a new operation every Q step. [Johnson, 0007] discloses a frequent path and an infrequent path. The ‘less frequently executed branch paths’ are interpreted as the low-level behavior, and the ‘modulo scheduled portion of the loop’ is interpreted as the high-level behavior. [Johnson, 0020-0021] teaches performing a branch operation if a flow control condition is true (modulo schedule, if modulo Q==0). The branch operation is not performed if the condition is not met (same behavior is used from a previous iteration). [Johnson, 0037] also teaches performing a new operation (branches) to avoid resource overlap based on modulo scheduling);
Before the effective filing date of the invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art, it would have been obvious, having the teachings of Na, Heess, and Johnson to use the method of selecting a behavior based on modulo operation of Johnson to implement the behavior generation system of Na. The suggestion and/or motivation to do so is to improve the efficiency of the system by maximizing utilization of resources by avoiding resource overlapping and maintaining correct sequencing of control flow within an iteration [Johnson, 0005 and 0019].
Claim 10 is a computer program product claim having similar limitation to the claim 1. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale as the claim 1 above.
Claim 19 is a method claim having similar limitation to the claim 1. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale as the claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 2, Heess teaches:
further comprising an operation of training the neural net using reinforcement learning ([Heess, col 6, line 21-38] The high-level controller neural network and the low-level controller neural network are trained using reinforcement learning method. ).
Claim 11 is a computer program product claim having similar limitation to the claim 2. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale as the claim 2 above.
Claim 20 is a method claim having similar limitation to the claim 2. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale as the claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 5, Na in view of Heess teaches:
wherein the neural net that selects behaviors also produces a state value output for use as a starting value for reinforcement learning ([Heess, col 5, line 7-11] The high-level controller receives a new observation 226 and update its current recurrent state value to a new recurrent state 208. The process is also disclosed in the Figure 2. Since the new recurrent state is new thus it does not have state value before the updating process, the new recurrent state is interpreted as the starting value.).
Claim 14 is a computer program product claim having similar limitation to the claim 5. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale as the claim 5 above.
Claim 23 is a method claim having similar limitation to the claim 5. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale as the claim 5 above.
Regarding claim 6, Na in view of Heess teaches:
further comprising an additional neural net that produces a state value output for use as a starting value for reinforcement learning ([Heess, col 5, line 7-11] The high-level controller receives a new observation 226 and update its current recurrent state value to a new recurrent state 208. The process is also disclosed in the Figure 2. Since the new recurrent state is new thus it does not have state value before the updating process, the new recurrent state is interpreted as the starting value.).
Regarding claim 15, Na teaches:
further comprising instructions encoded on the non-transitory medium for causing the one or more processors to use ([Na, Abstract, line 1-3 and 14-16] discloses that the architecture select behaviors based on a classification. The simulation is performed using a computer and an actual robot MORIS is used to test the architecture). Claim 15 is a method claim having similar limitation to the claim 6. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale as the claim 6 above.
Claim 24 is a method claim having similar limitation to the claim 6. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale as the claim 6 above.
Regarding claim 9, Na in view of Heess teaches:
wherein an additional set of neural nets restricts when the high-level controller switches to a different behavior ([Heess, col 4, line 22-33] The high-level controller 204 includes one or more neural networks (e.g., one or more recurrent networks) that integrate observations at every time step and produce a high level output that defines a new control signal every K time steps (i.e., control interval), which corresponds to the process of determining when to switch the behavior).
Claim 18 is a computer program product claim having similar limitation to the claim 9. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale as the claim 9 above.
Claim 27 is a method claim having similar limitation to the claim 9. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale as the claim 9 above.
Claims 3, 12 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Na in view of Heess in view of Johnson and further in view of Rodriguez-Ramos et al. (Rodriguez-Ramos et al., “A Deep Reinforcement Learning Strategy for UAV Autonomous Landing on a Moving Platform”, 2019, hereinafter ‘Rodriguez-Ramos’).
Regarding claim 3, Na in view of Heess in view of Johnson teaches:
The system as set forth in Claim 1.
Na in view of Heess and further in view of Johnson does not specifically disclose:
wherein the scripted action includes parameters specifying aircraft direction and speed, and wherein causing a device to perform the scripted action includes controlling aircraft in a flight scenario by operating the one or more mobile platform actuators to conform to the specified aircraft direction and speed.
Rodriguez-Ramos teaches:
wherein the scripted action includes parameters specifying aircraft direction and speed, and wherein causing a device to perform the scripted action includes controlling aircraft in a flight scenario by operating the one or more mobile platform actuators to conform to the specified aircraft direction and speed. ([Rodriguez-Ramos, page 356, left col, 3.2 Reinforcement Learning Based Formulation, line 1 – right col, line 26] discloses utilizing reinforcement learning to train the UAV (aircraft) to conform desired direction and speed using reference velocities. Velocity is not just speed and it includes directions. [Rodriguez-Ramos, page 351, left col, 1 Introduction, line 3-10] and [Rodriguez-Ramos, page 361, right col, Table 1] collectively discloses that the UAV is trained to follow the simulated flight scenarios)
Before the effective filing date of the invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art, it would have been obvious, having the teachings of Na, Heess, Johnson, and Rodriguez-Ramos to use the method of wherein causing a device to perform the scripted action includes controlling aircraft in a flight scenario of Rodriguez-Ramos to implement the behavior generation system of Na. The suggestion and/or motivation to do so is to implement the flight behavior generation system, as the device should be able to control the aircraft to implement the flight behavior control system.
Claim 12 is a computer program product claim having similar limitation to the claim 3. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale as the claim 3 above.
Claim 21 is a method claim having similar limitation to the claim 3. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale as the claim 3 above.
Claims 4, 7, 13, 16, 22, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Na in view of Heess in view of Johnson and further in view of Ionescu et al. (US 20200104645 A1, hereinafter ‘Ionescu’).
Regarding claim 4, Na in view of Heess and further in view of Johnson teaches:
The system as set forth in claim 1.
Na in view of Heess and further in view of Johnson does not specifically disclose further comprising an operation of using a softmax learning function to train a reinforcement learning agent within the high-level controller to produce probabilities of selecting different high-level behaviors.
Ionescu teaches:
further comprising an operation of using a softmax learning function to train a reinforcement learning agent within the high-level controller to produce probabilities of selecting different high-level behaviors ([Ionescu, 0077] A score or Q-value may be provided as an output from a neural network or a neural network may provide an output defining a probability distribution from which a score or Q-value may be selected. A selection dependent upon a score or Q-value may be made by choosing a selection with the highest score or Q-value. Alternatively a probability may be determined for each possible selection of a predetermined set to define a probability distribution across the possible selections, e.g. by processing respective scores or Q-values with a softmax function, and the selection may be made by sampling from this probability distribution. A selection made by the option controller 304, meta-controller 310, or task controller 320 may be made according to an epsilon-greedy policy, which makes a random selection with a probability ϵ and a selection based on a determined score or Q-value with a probability 1−ϵ).
Before the effective filing date of the invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art, it would have been obvious, having the teachings of Na, Heess, Johnson and Ionescu to use a softmax learning function to train a reinforcement learning agent to produce probabilities of selecting different high-level behaviors of Ionescu to implement the behavior generation system of Na. The suggestion and/or motivation to do so is to improve the performance of the behavior generation system, as generating probabilities using a softmax layer enables the system to choose the best action to perform in a given situation.
Regarding claim 13, Na teaches:
further comprising instructions encoded on the non-transitory medium for causing the one or more processors to perform ([Na, Abstract, line 1-3 and 14-16] discloses that the architecture select behaviors based on a classification. The simulation is performed using a computer and an actual robot MORIS is used to test the architecture). Claim 13 is a computer program product claim having similar limitation to the claim 4. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale as the claim 4 above.
Claim 22 is a method claim having similar limitation to the claim 4. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale as the claim 4 above.
Regarding claim 7, Na in view of Heess in view of Johnson and further in view of Ionescu teaches:
wherein the neural net produces action value outputs based on the environment observations, and wherein the high-level controller selects the high-level behavior using a softmax function on the action value outputs ([Ionescu, 0077] A score or Q-value may be provided as an output from a neural network or a neural network may provide an output defining a probability distribution from which a score or Q-value may be selected. A selection dependent upon a score or Q-value may be made by choosing a selection with the highest score or Q-value. Alternatively a probability may be determined for each possible selection of a predetermined set to define a probability distribution across the possible selections, e.g. by processing respective scores or Q-values with a softmax function, and the selection may be made by sampling from this probability distribution. A selection made by the option controller 304, meta-controller 310, or task controller 320 may be made according to an epsilon-greedy policy, which makes a random selection with a probability ϵ and a selection based on a determined score or Q-value with a probability 1−ϵ).
Claim 16 is a computer program product claim having similar limitation to the claim 7. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale as the claim 7 above.
Claim 25 is a method claim having similar limitation to the claim 7. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale as the claim 7 above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Response to Arguments under 35 U.S.C. 103
Arguments: Applicant asserts that Johnson is directed to a materially different problem and technique and the office action does not explain why a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would apply similar software pipelining or parallel processing to modify the behavior of an autonomous robot as described in Na and Heess.
Examiner’s Response: Examiner respectfully disagrees. First, [Na, Abstract] shows the behavior generation system is model based environment classification and behavior modules and implemented using both computer simulation and MORIS which comprises electrical devices and software, and Johnson, paragraphs [0002]-[0003] show that the software pipelining loop with multiple control flow paths can be applied to numerous electronic devices. Therefore, both Na and Johnson are in the same field of software-based behavior/instruction control.
Second, Na shows determining detailed behavior using environment classification neural network (high-level) and determining detailed behaviors using a selected behavior module (low-level). Johnson, [FIG. 2B], shows a control flow of loop that executes blocks including instructions (210, 230, 220, 240) serially. If p is true, the execution branches from block 210 (high-level) to block 230 (low-level) and returns to block 220 (high-level). It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the environment classification network that determines high-level behaviors and the low-level behavior module (i.e., tactical neural network and strategic neural network) of Na with the teaching of selecting instructions based on a modulo operation of Johnson by 1. Selecting which NN to perform the task based on the modulo operation, 2. Performing the environment classification to determine high-level behavior and 3. Performing the behavior generation using the behavior modules. The motivation for doing so is to improve the efficiency of the algorithm by maintaining a correct sequencing of control flow within an iteration [Johnson, 0019].
Therefore, arguments regarding claim 1 are not persuasive. Similarly, arguments regarding claims 10 and 19 are not persuasive.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ramakrishna Rau, "Instruction-Level Parallel Processing" History, Overview, and Perspective" (This prior art is pertinent because it discloses distributing instructions based on modulo operations)
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUN KWON/Examiner, Art Unit 2127
/ABDULLAH AL KAWSAR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2127