DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the RCE filed on 4/24/26.
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are presented for examination.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 1, 10 & 19 is/are unclear to the examiner; what does it mean by stating “update the forecasting engine by updating parameters of the forecast model associated with the telecasted media content based on the modifications wherein the forecasting engine uses an exponentially decaying covariance algorithm (EDCA) such that influence of the modifications on the updated forecasting engine decreases over time as more recent forecast information is weighted more heavily than past forecast information”? The claim limitation is not entirely clear what is a “fluence of the modification”? what exactly the claimed invention? To generate/update the fluence forecast information? Of the telecasted media content? Based on what? Based on the forecast information? What fluence the modification? Please clarify
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-7, 9 & 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Corley, U.S. Pub/Patent No. 2004/0088406 A1 in view Yao, US 2015/0208120 A1, and further in view of Kerrigan, US 2012/0191351 A1.
As to claim 1, Corley teaches a tangible, non-transitory, machine-readable medium, comprising machine- readable instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a machine, cause the machine to:
access, at the machine, data related to content (Corley, page 3, paragraph 44; i.e., [0044] data values are obtained from the time series data sets for the various metrics);
determine, using a forecasting engine that applies the data to a forecast model, forecast information for a predetermined time period for the content, wherein the forecast information comprises: a forecast of a number of viewers, a forecasted number of impressions, a forecasted a sales value, or any combination thereof of the content (Corley, page 1, paragraph 17; page 3, paragraph 33; page 4, paragraph 46; i.e., [0033] the present invention predicts what the metric value will be at a particular point in time, determines a threshold value based on this prediction, and compares the measured value to the threshold value to determine if an event should be generated for notifying an administrator of a potential error condition; [0046] training data set to generate predictions and then comparing those predictions to the actual values measured. Based on the comparison, weights of the various nodes in the neural network may be adjusted to generate a more accurate prediction); and
provide, to a client device, via a graphical user interface (GUI) the forecast information (Corley, page 4, paragraph 48; i.e., [0048] The present invention uses this predicted value for the metric as a basis for determining a threshold value for the actual value of the metric at the particular time point in the future. providing a virtually continuous time-varying set of threshold values that may be automatically determined and used to monitor the operation of a computing system or network);
generate influenced forecast information via the updated forecasting engine (Corley, page 4, paragraph 46-48; i.e., [0048] The present invention uses this predicted value for the metric as a basis for determining a threshold value for the actual value of the metric at the particular time point in the future. This may be done to a time series of test data values thereby providing a virtually continuous time-varying set of threshold values that may be automatically determined and used to monitor the operation of a computing system or network).
But Corley failed to teach the claim limitation wherein telecasted media content; receive, via the GUI, user input comprising modifications to the provided forecast information; update the forecasting engine by updating parameters of the forecast model associated with the telecasted media content based on the modifications, wherein the forecasting engine uses an exponentially decaying covariance algorithm (EDCA) such that influence of the modifications on the updated forecasting engine decreases over time as more recent forecast information is weighted more heavily than past forecast information.
However, Yao teaches the limitation wherein telecasted media content (Yao, page 1, paragraph 11 & 16; page 6, paragraph 52-54; i.e., [0016] In some implementations, the content may correspond to live broadcasted content associated with a broadcast channel); receive, via the GUI, user input comprising modifications to the provided forecast information (Yao, page 6, paragraph 52-54; i.e., [0054] As an example, assume that content prediction system 220 had previously generated a "viewing preference" score for content received by user device 210 at 4 PM.); update the forecasting engine by updating parameters of the forecast model associated with the telecasted media content based on the modifications (Yao, figure 3 & 5; page 2, paragraph 23; i.e., [0023] As shown in FIG. 3, process 300 may include determining content prediction parameters (block 310). For example, content prediction system 220 may determine content prediction parameters that may be used to predict content that a user, of user device 210, may be likely to select).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Corley to substitute transmitted content from Yao for data from Corley to reduce the delay for the broadcasted content (Yao, page 1, paragraph 1-2).
However, Kerrigan teaches the limitation wherein the forecasting engine uses an exponentially decaying covariance algorithm (EDCA) such that influence of the modifications on the updated forecasting engine decreases over time as more recent forecast information is weighted more heavily than past forecast information (Kerrigan, page 8, paragraph 68; i.e., [0068] Exponential Smoothing assigns exponentially decreasing weights as the observation get older. In other words, recent observations are given relatively more weight in forecasting than the older observations. the forecasting technique, the most widely used approach to compare smoothing methods is in using visual comparison of several forecasts to assess their accuracy and choose among the various forecasting methods. In this approach, one must plot (using, e.g., Excel) on the same graph the original values of a time series variable and the predicted values from several different forecasting methods).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Corley to substitute irradiance estimate modifier from Kerrigan for residual estimation from Corley to accurately estimate potential output from a new system under design consideration (Kerrigan, page 1, paragraph 4).
As to claim 5, Corley-Yao-Kerrigan teaches the machine-readable medium as recited in claim 1, wherein the forecasting engine is trained based on a historical set of data related to the content (Corley, page 1, paragraph 8; i.e., [0008] The present invention provides a method and apparatus for determining time-varying thresholds for measured metrics. Correlated historical values of the metric and additional related metrics ( cross-correlation) are used as inputs to a feed-forward back propagation neural network, in order to train the network to generalize the behavior of the metric).
But Corley-Jobling failed to teach the claim limitation wherein telecasted media content.
However, Yao teaches the limitation wherein telecasted media content (Yao, page 1, paragraph 11 & 16; page 6, paragraph 52-54; i.e., [0011] the content (e.g., live broadcasted content), associated with the predicted channel, may be presented
with a relatively short delay; [0016] In some implementations, the content may correspond to live broadcasted content associated with a broadcast channel).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Corley-Jobling to substitute transmitted content from Yao for data from Corley-Jobling to reduce the delay for the broadcasted content (Yao, page 1, paragraph 1-2).
As to claim 6, Corley-Yao-Kerrigan teaches the machine-readable medium as recited in claim 1, wherein the forecasting engine is configured to use a best fit model to determine a second set of forecast information based on a second set of [0046] Training involves inputting the data from the training data set to generate predictions and then comparing those predictions to the actual values measured. Based on the comparison, weights of the various nodes in the neural network may be adjusted to generate a more accurate prediction).
As to claim 7, Corley-Yao-Kerrigan teaches the machine-readable medium as recited in claim 1, wherein provide, to the client device, the forecast information for the predetermined time period for display on the client device, wherein the forecast information is provided for display adjacent to actual information that is associated with the content and that corresponds to a second time period different from and preceding the predetermined time period (Corley, page 4, paragraph 48; i.e., [0048] This may be done to a time series of test data values thereby providing a virtually continuous time-varying set of threshold values that may be automatically determined and used to monitor the operation. From the time series of predicted values generated based on the time series of test data values, point-by-point thresholds are calculated based on the standard deviation).
But Corley-Jobling failed to teach the claim limitation wherein telecasted media content.
However, Yao teaches the limitation wherein telecasted media content (Yao, page 1, paragraph 11 & 16; page 6, paragraph 52-54; i.e., [0016] In some implementations, the content may correspond to live broadcasted content associated with a broadcast channel).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Corley-Jobling to substitute transmitted content from Yao for data from Corley-Jobling to reduce the delay for the broadcasted content (Yao, page 1, paragraph 1-2).
As to claim 9, Corley-Yao-Kerrigan teaches the machine-readable medium as recited in claim 5, comprising machine readable instructions that cause the machine to:
provide, to the client device, the forecast information and the influenced forecast information corresponding to the same predetermined time period for display at the client device (Corley, page 4, paragraph 46-48; i.e., [0048] With testing of the neural network, for a particular set of inputs, a predicted value for a given metric may be output. From the time series of predicted values generated based on the time series of test data values, point-by-point thresholds are calculated based on the standard deviation. One or more threshold values are calculated for each metric value. Threshold values are indexed based on their relative timestamp or index in the corresponding time series).
Claim(s) 19 is/are directed to a system claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim(s) 1. Therefore, claim(s) 19 is/are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 1.
Claim(s) 4, 8, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Corley, U.S. Pub/Patent No. 2004/0088406 A1 in view of Yao, US 2015/0208120 A1, and Kerrigan, US 2012/0191351 A1, and further in view of Chang, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. 2016/0286244 A1.
As to claim 4, Corley-Yao-Kerrigan teaches the machine-readable medium as recited in claim 1. But Corley-Yao-Kerrigan failed to teach the claim limitation wherein the data related to the telecasted media content comprises start time associated with streaming a telecast, duration of the telecast, frequency of streaming the telecast, genre of the telecast, or any combination thereof.
But Corley failed to teach the claim limitation wherein telecasted media content.
However, Yao teaches the limitation wherein telecasted media content (Yao, page 1, paragraph 11 & 16; page 6, paragraph 52-54; i.e., [0016] In some implementations, the content may correspond to live broadcasted content associated with a broadcast channel).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Corley-Jobling to substitute transmitted content from Yao for data from Corley-Jobling to reduce the delay for the broadcasted content (Yao, page 1, paragraph 1-2).
However, Chang teaches the limitation wherein the data related to the content comprises start time associated with streaming a telecast, duration of the telecast, frequency of streaming the telecast, genre of the telecast, or any combination thereof (Chang, page 8, paragraph 57; i.e., [0057] the video discovery engine 174 may suggest a real-time video stream that has received many signals of appreciation in a short duration, a real-time video stream that has a quantity of viewers that exceeds a threshold, a real-time video stream that has an average number of engagements per second that exceeds a threshold. ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Corley-Yao-Kerrigan to substitute engagement indication from Chang for data set from Corley-Yao-Kerrigan to increase knowledge about a broadcast via a connection graph, implementations also include methods for discovering interesting broadcasts based on signals such as location, popularity, topicality (Chang, page 1, paragraph 4).
As to claim 8, Corley-Yao-Kerrigan teaches the machine-readable medium as recited in claim 1. But Corley-Yao-Kerrigan failed to teach the claim limitation wherein the forecasting engine defines a weight comprising a relative importance associated with a parameter of a set of parameters corresponding to the telecasted media content, wherein the set of parameters comprises at least one of a type of content, a content duration, a number of viewers, a number of impressions, or any combination thereof.
But Corley-Jobling failed to teach the claim limitation wherein telecasted media content.
However, Yao teaches the limitation wherein telecasted media content (Yao, page 1, paragraph 11 & 16; page 6, paragraph 52-54; i.e., [0011] the content (e.g., live broadcasted content), associated with the predicted channel, may be presented
with a relatively short delay; [0016] In some implementations, the content may correspond to live broadcasted content associated with a broadcast channel).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Corley-Jobling to substitute transmitted content from Yao for data from Corley-Jobling to reduce the delay for the broadcasted content (Yao, page 1, paragraph 1-2).
However, Chang teaches the limitation wherein the forecasting engine defines a weight comprising a relative importance associated with a parameter of a set of parameters corresponding to the content, wherein the set of parameters comprises at least one of a type of content, a content duration, a number of viewers, a number of impressions, or any combination thereof (Chang, page 8, paragraph 57; i.e., [0057] suggest a real-time video stream that has received many signals of appreciation in a short duration, a real-time video stream that has a quantity of viewers that exceeds a threshold, a real-time video stream that has an average number of engagements per second that exceeds a threshold. the ranking of this video stream for that user in a list of suggested video streams. Similarly, the video discovery engine 174 may associate the video stream with skiing based on the content of the comments).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Corley-Yao-Kerrigan to substitute engagement indication from Chang for data set from Corley-Yao-Kerrigan to increase knowledge about a broadcast via a connection graph, implementations also include methods for discovering interesting broadcasts based on signals such as location, popularity, topicality (Chang, page 1, paragraph 4).
Claim(s) 12 is/are directed to a method claim and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim(s) 8. Therefore, claim(s) 12 is/are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 8.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 2-3 and 20 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for objected the claim(s):
In interpreting the claim(s), in light of the specification and the applicant’s argument(s) filed on 9/17/24, the Examiner finds the claimed invention to be patentably distinct from the prior art(s) of record.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reason(s) for objected the claim(s) to be allowed:
The examiner has found that the prior art(s) of record does/do not appear to teach or suggest or render obvious the claimed limitation(s) in combination with the specific added limitations as recited in dependent claim(s). The closest prior art of the record, Corley discloses “comparing the prediction and actual value”. However, Corley does not teach “in response to the difference not breaching the threshold value, refrain from updating the forecast model and the EDCA with the second set of parameters”. Polak disclosure relates to “EDCA” as claimed. Another close prior art, Yao, discloses “radio and tv station includes the telecasted media content”. However, “threshold related directly to the EDCA”. Thus, Polak's disclosure is insufficient to meet the claimed limitation of “in response to the difference not breaching the threshold value, refrain from updating the forecast model and the EDCA with the second set of parameters” Thus, Blasco Serrano's disclosure is insufficient to meet the claimed limitation of “acquiring, a first set of data related to the telecasted media content; determining, a first set of parameters for the EDCA; generating, an estimate values based on the first set of parameters and the EDCA; performing, a comparison between the estimate values and actual values associated with a second set of data related to the telecasted media content; in response to the difference breaching a threshold value: determining, a second set of parameters associated with the telecasted media content; and updating, the forecast model and the EDCA with the second set of parameters; and in response to the difference not breaching the threshold value, refrain from updating the forecast model and the EDCA” as set forth in dependent claim(s) 2-3 & 20. Claim(s) 2-3 & 20 is/are object to be allowed because of the combination of other limitation(s) and the limitation listed above.
REASONS FOR ALLOWANCE
Claim(s) 10-18 is/are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance.
In interpreting the currently amended claim(s), in light of the Specification and the Applicant’s argument(s) filed on 9/17/24, the Examiner finds the claimed invention to be patentably distinct from the prior art(s) of records. Specifically, the prior art(s) of records, individually or in combination, fail to explicitly teach, suggest or render obvious the claimed invention as recited in independent claim(s) 10.
The prior art(s) of record fail(s) to teach or suggest individually or in combination that None of the prior art of the record teaches or fairly suggests all the claimed limitation, especially the limitation of “performing a comparison between the one or more estimate values and one or more actual values associated with a second set of data related to the telecasted media content to determine a difference between the one or more estimate values and the one or more actual values; in response to the difference breaching a threshold value: determining a second set of parameters associated with the telecasted media content, based on the second set of data updating the forecast model and the EDCA with the second set of parameters; and in response to the difference not breaching the threshold value, refrain from updating the forecast model and the EDCA with the second set of parameters”. The closest prior art of the record, Corley discloses “comparing the prediction and actual value”. However, Corley does not teach “in response to the difference not breaching the threshold value, refrain from updating the forecast model and the EDCA with the second set of parameters”. Polak disclosure relates to “EDCA” as claimed. Another close prior art, Yao, discloses “radio and tv station includes the telecasted media content”. However, “threshold related directly to the EDCA”. Thus, Polak's disclosure is insufficient to meet the claimed limitation of “in response to the difference not breaching the threshold value, refrain from updating the forecast model and the EDCA with the second set of parameters” as set forth in independent claim(s) 10 and in light of applicant’s argument(s) filed 9/17/24.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 has/have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection. Applicant’s arguments include the failure of previously applied art to expressly disclose “wherein the forecasting engine uses an exponentially decaying covariance algorithm (EDCA) such that influence of the modifications on the updated forecasting engine decreases over time as more recent forecast information is weighted more heavily than past forecast information” (see Applicant’s response, 4/24/26, page 10-11). It is evident from the detailed mappings found in the above rejection(s) that Kerrigan disclosed this functionality (see Kerrigan, page 8, paragraph 68). Further, it is clear from the numerous teachings (previously and currently cited) that the provision for “wherein the forecasting engine uses an exponentially decaying covariance algorithm (EDCA) such that influence of the modifications on the updated forecasting engine decreases over time as more recent forecast information is weighted more heavily than past forecast information” was widely implemented in the networking art. Thus, Applicant’s arguments drawn toward distinction of the claimed invention and the prior art teachings on this point are not considered persuasive.
Listing of Relevant Arts
Morimura, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 20210248510 A1 discloses prediction model, parameter update technique.
Chalawsky, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 8583484 B1 discloses predictive model and update optimal frequency.
Contact Information
THUONG NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)272-3864. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday 9:00-6:00.
/THUONG NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416