DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In the amendment filed August 14th, 2025, the following has occurred: Claims 1, 2, 4, 11, 13, 14, 18, and 27 have been amended; Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7, 9, 11-16, 18-20, and 22-30 remain pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, 9, 12, 23-24, and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leggett et al. (US 9567846 B2, "Leggett") in view of van der Meulen et al., ("Spatial compression in ultrasound imaging," 2017 51st Asilomar Conference on Signals, Systems, and Computers, Pacific Grove, CA, USA, 2017, pp. 1016-1020, "van der Meulen") and Nguyen et al. (US 20180258756 A1, “Nguyen”).
Regarding claim 1, Leggett teaches a downhole imaging system (Fig. 1 (16)), comprising: an imaging device (16) operably coupled to a drill string ([Column 2, Lines 29-30] Teaches the system (10) includes a borehole string (12) such as a pipe string.) (It is the examiners interpretation that “pipe string” includes drill string) and configured to generate an image of a subterranean formation from within a wellbore, and a processor (20) operably coupled to the imaging device(16)
Leggett may not explicitly teach the imaging device comprising: a sensor comprising a single transmitter and a single receiver; and a coding mask located between the sensor and the subterranean formation; the imaging device configured to move from a first depth within the wellbore to a second depth within the wellbore; wherein the sensor is configured to obtain first compressed individual image information received by the single receiver when the sensor is located at the first depth within the wellbore and to obtain second individual image information when the sensor is located at the second depth within the wellbore, and wherein the first compressed individual image information comprises a first temporal signal and the second compressed individual image information comprises a second temporal signal, and the processor is configured to align the first temporal signal and the second temporal signal using a stitching algorithm in the time domain to provide an aligned temporal signal, and transform the aligned temporal signal to the spatial domain to provide the image of the subterranean formation.
Van der Meulen teaches a sensor comprising a single transmitter and a single receiver ([Fig.1], a sensor comprising single transducer which acts as both a receiver and transmitter with a aberrating layer in front of the sensor) (it is the examiner’s interpretation that the coding mask would implicitly be between the sensor and the subterranean formation when the sensor is lowered into a wellbore and that only a single value would be measured at a time as there is only one receiving transducer and a single transmitting transducer); and a coding mask located between the sensor and the subterranean formation; ((Fig. 1) illustrates a coding mask being located in front of a sensor in such a manner that it would be between the sensor and the environment which is to be imaged.) (it is the examiner’s interpretation that the coding mask would implicitly be between the sensor and the subterranean formation when the sensor is lowered into a wellbore)
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the downhole imaging system of Leggett, to include the aperture mask of van der Meulen, with the motivation of uniquely identifying each pixel in the image from the compressed measurement, therefore allowing each pixel to be assigned to its proper position when the image is reconstructed.
Leggett, as modified in view of van der Meulen, may not explicitly teach the imaging device configured to move from a first depth within the wellbore to a second depth within the wellbore; wherein the sensor is configured to obtain first compressed individual image information received by the single receiver when the sensor is located at the first depth within the wellbore and to obtain second compressed individual image information when the sensor is located at the second depth within the wellbore, and wherein the first compressed individual image information comprises a first temporal signal and the second compressed individual image information comprises a second temporal signal, and the processor is configured to align the first temporal signal and the second temporal signal using a stitching algorithm in the time domain to provide an aligned temporal signal, and transform the aligned temporal signal to the spatial domain to provide the image of the subterranean formation.
Nguyen teaches the imaging device configured to move from a first depth within the wellbore to a second depth within the wellbore([0048], acquiring a sequence of beamformed images generated from signals captured by a tool as it moves over a range of depths of a wellbore, each beamformed image overlapping at least one other beamformed image of the sequence; processing the beamformed images; and combining the processed beamformed images with respect to depth, forming a stitched image.) wherein the sensor is configured to obtain first compressed individual image information received by the single receiver when the sensor is located at the first depth within the wellbore and to obtain second compressed individual image information when the sensor is located at the second depth within the wellbore, and wherein the first compressed individual image information comprises a first temporal signal and the second compressed individual image information comprises a second temporal signal, and the processor is configured to align the first temporal signal and the second temporal signal using a stitching algorithm in the time domain to provide an aligned temporal signal, and transform the aligned temporal signal to the spatial domain to provide the image of the subterranean formation. (Implicit, [0048], acquiring a sequence of beamformed images generated from signals captured by a tool as it moves over a range of depths of a wellbore, each beamformed image overlapping at least one other beamformed image of the sequence; processing the beamformed images; and combining the processed beamformed images with respect to depth, forming a stitched image.) ([0025]-[0028], describes processing of acoustic signals that exploit the time delays of transmitted signals and known locations of the sensor in order to determine a spatial location of the received signals based on a temporal signal)([0038], Taking advantage of the tool movement that can produce a sequence of overlapping beamformed images, a post-processing technique can be implemented to combine those images in a way that enhances the focus on the leak location enabling more accurate estimation.)(it is the examiner’s interpretation that using the stitching combiner of Nguyen with the single transmitter and receiver of van der Meulen, would generate first and second compressed individual information as the transmitter and receiver are moved to different depths within the wellbore)
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the downhole assembly of Leggett, as modified in view of van der Meulen, to include the procedure of imaging across multiple depths and performing image stitching with a stitching algorithm of Nguyen with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of providing a continuous image through multiple depth regions in the wellbore in order to determine various formation qualities across the trajectory of the wellbore in one cohesive image.
Regarding Claim 5, Leggett, as modified in view of van der Meulen and Nguyen, teaches the downhole imaging system of Claim 1. Van der Meulen further teaches wherein the coding mask comprises multiple thicknesses. ([Pg. 2, II. Methods], each channel can have one of several thickness levels) (See Fig. 1)
Regarding claim 9, Leggett, as modified in view of van der Meulen and Nguyen, teaches the downhole imaging system of Claim 1. Van der Meulen further teaches wherein the processor is configured to generate the image using compressive sensing. ([Abstract], We have developed an analogue compression technique, by positioning a plastic coding mask in front of the aperture, which distorts the ultrasound field by inducing varying local echo delays. This results in a compression of the spatial ultrasound field across the sensor surface, while retaining sufficient information for 3D imaging.)
Regarding claim 12, Leggett, as modified in view of van der Meulen and Nguyen, teach the downhole imaging system of Claim 1. Van der Meulen further teaches the downhole imaging system of claim 1, wherein the coding mask is configured to rotate relative to the sensor. ([Pg. 1, I. Introduction], additional measurements obtained by rotating this mask allow for new measurements that can be used to reconstruct the object of interest)
Regarding claim 23, Leggett, as modified in view of van der Meulen and Nguyen, teaches the downhole imaging system of claim 1. van der Meulen further teaches generat[ing] the image without using depth information of the imaging device. (Implicit, it is the examiner’s interpretation that the aperture mask of van der Meulen is capable of providing unique identifiers to be encoded into each pixel (or voxel) which would allow for stitching of individual images into a large mosaic without the need to collect and utilize depth information in a similar manner to the claimed invention) (See Applicant’s Specification (0039)-(0040)) Leggett further teaches a processor (Fig. 1 (20)); a wellbore (Fig.1 (26))
Regarding claim 24, Leggett, as modified in view of van der Meulen and Nguyen, teaches the downhole imaging system of claim 23. Nguyen further teaches wherein the processor is positioned within the wellbore and configured to align the first temporal signal with the second temporal signal in the imaging device. ([0047], The physical structures of such instructions may be operated on by one or more processors.) ([0048], Executing these physical structures can cause the machine to perform operations, the operations comprising: acquiring a sequence of beamformed images generated from signals captured by a tool as it moves over a range of depths of a wellbore, each beamformed image overlapping at least one other beamformed image of the sequence; processing the beamformed images; and combining the processed beamformed images with respect to depth, forming a stitched image.) (it is the examiner’s interpretation that the stitching of the images with respect to depth would implicitly be aligned in a lateral fashion as the images only vary with respect to depth)
Regarding claim 28, Leggett, as modified in view of van der Meulen and Nguyen, teaches the downhole imaging system of claim 1. van der Meulen further teaches wherein the imaging device comprises: one or more sensors individually comprising a single transmitter and a single receiver ([abstract], a single receiving transducer with a aberrating layer in front of the receive surface is used with a separate co-located transmit transducer);and one or more coding masks a single coding mask located between an individual sensor and the subterranean formation, ((Fig. 1) illustrates a coding mask being located in front of a sensor in such a manner that it would be between the sensor and the environment which is to be imaged.) (it is the examiner’s interpretation that the coding mask would implicitly be between the sensor and the subterranean formation when the sensor is lowered into a wellbore)
Nguyen further teaches wherein the individual sensor is configured to obtain the first individual image information when the individual sensor is located at the first depth within the wellbore and to obtain the second individual image information when the individual sensor is located at the second depth within the wellbore. (Implicit, [0048], acquiring a sequence of beamformed images generated from signals captured by a tool as it moves over a range of depths of a wellbore, each beamformed image overlapping at least one other beamformed image of the sequence; processing the beamformed images; and combining the processed beamformed images with respect to depth, forming a stitched image.)
Claim(s) 2 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leggett in view of van der Meulen , Nguyen, and Kruizinga et al. ("Compressive 3D Ultrasound Imaging Using a Single Sensor", Science Advances Vol. 3, Issue 12, (8 December 2017), “Kruizinga”).
Regarding claim 2, Leggett, as modified in view of van der Meulen and Nguyen, teaches the downhole imaging system of Claim 1. Leggett, as modified in view of van der Meulen and Nguyen, may not explicitly teach wherein the single transmitter is a piezoelectric transmitter configured to generate an acoustic signal that passes through the coding mask.
Kruizinga teaches wherein the single transmitter is a piezoelectric transmitter configured to generate an acoustic signal that passes through the coding mask. ([Pg. 2, Left Column, Pg. 3], Teaches our device contains one large piezo sensor that transmits an ultrasonic wave through a simple plastic coding mask.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the downhole imaging system of Leggett, as modified in view of van der Meulen and Nguyen, to include the piezoelectric transmitter of Kruizinga, with the motivation of generating ultrasonic pulses and receiving reflected echoes, therefore allowing each pixel to be assigned to its proper position when the image is reconstructed.
Regarding claim 4, Leggett, as modified in view of van der Meulen and Nguyen, teaches the downhole imaging system of Claim 1. Leggett, as modified in view of van der Meulen and Nguyen may not explicitly teach wherein the single transmitter is configured to transmit an acoustic signal and the single receiver is configured to receive the acoustic signal, and wherein the imaging device is configured to pass the acoustic signal through the coding mask after it is transmitted and before an interaction with the subterranean formation, and to pass the acoustic signal through the coding mask after the interaction with the subterranean formation and before it is received to provide the temporal signal to the single receiver.
Kruizinga teaches wherein the single transmitter is configured to transmit an acoustic signal and the single receiver is configured to receive the acoustic signal, and wherein the imaging device is configured to pass the acoustic signal through the coding mask after it is transmitted and before an interaction with the subterranean formation, and to pass the acoustic signal through the coding mask after the interaction with the subterranean formation and before it is received to provide the temporal signal to the single receiver. (See Fig. 2)(As illustrated in Fig. 2, the transmitter transmits the signal which must pass through the coding mask and the received signal must pass through the coding mask before it reaches the receiver)([pg. 4], aperture mask is modeled as a collection of point sensors each having unique temporal delays and may be combined in order to generate a single compressed measurement through the delay patterns generating complex spatiotemporal interference patterns which allow each pixel to generate its own unique temporal signal in the compressed measurement).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the downhole imaging system of Leggett, as modified in view of van der Meulen and Nguyen, to include the coding mask positioning of Kruizinga, with the motivation of introducing spatiotemporal diversity in order to distinguish between different features (Fig. 2 Description).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leggett in view of van der Meulen and Nguyen as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kumar et al. (US 20130025941 A1, “Kumar”).
Regarding claim 7, Leggett, as modified in view of van der Meulen and Nguyen, teaches the downhole imaging system of Claim 1. Leggett, as modified in view of van der Meulen and Nguyen, may not explicitly teach wherein the coding mask is substantially covered with a coating.
Kumar teaches wherein the [formation tool] is substantially covered with a coating. (Fig. 9A) ([0048], drilling system includes a formation sampling wellbore tool that includes a coating)([0112], the formation sampling tool may be configured for extracting formation images)
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the downhole imaging system of Leggett, as modified in view of van der Meulen and Nguyen, as applied to claim 1, to include the component coating material of Kumar with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of providing increased resistance characteristics to the coding mask in order to allow downhole imaging to be conducted in adverse conditions.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leggett in view of van der Meulen and Nguyen as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Dubinsky et al. (US 6581010 B2).
Regarding claim 11, Leggett, as modified in view of van der Meulen and Nguyen, teaches the downhole imaging system of claim 1. Leggett, as modified in view of van der Meulen and Nguyen, may not explicitly teach wherein the single receiver is configured to receive at least one of an optical signal, a resistivity signal, an x-ray signal, a gamma signal, an electric signal, a magnetic signal, a neutron signal, a nuclear magnetic resonance signal, or a thermal signal.
Dubinsky teaches wherein the single receiver is configured to receive at least one of an optical signal, a resistivity signal, an x-ray signal, a gamma signal, an electric signal, a magnetic signal, a neutron signal, a nuclear magnetic resonance signal, or a thermal signal. ([Column 6, Lines 15-19], Teaches The system of the invention also preferably includes devices for determining the formation resistivity, gamma ray intensity of the formation, the drill string inclination and the drill string azimuth, nuclear porosity of the formation and the formation density.) (It is the examiner’s interpretation that gamma ray information received by Dubinsky would implicitly be coded due to the placement of the coding mask as taught in van der Meulen)
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the downhole imaging system of Leggett, as modified in view of van der Meulen and Nguyen, as applied to Claim 1, to include the plurality of signal reception capabilities of Dubinsky with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of utilizing the imaging system for a plurality of downhole logging operations.
Claim(s) 13-15, 16, 18-20 and 26-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leggett in view of Kruizinga and Nguyen.
Regarding claim 13, Leggett teaches a downhole assembly (Fig. 1) comprising: at least a portion of a drill string; ([Column 2, Lines 29-30], Teaches the system (10) includes a borehole string (12) such as a pipe string.] (It is the examiners interpretation that “pipe string” includes drill string) a sensor(16) coupled to a component of the at least a portion of the drill string, the sensor (16) being located and configured to transmit (28) and receive (30) signals between the sensor (16) and a subterranean formation (26) from within a wellbore (14), and a processor (20) operably coupled to the sensor, the processor(20) configured to compile an image of the subterranean formation(26)
Leggett may not explicitly teach a coding mask comprising a volume of material having a varying thickness, the coding mask configured to provide a measurement of first compressed individual image information obtained from the signals transmitted and received with the single transmitter and the single receiver, respectively, when the sensor is located at the first depth within the wellbore and a measurement of second compressed individual image information obtained from the signals transmitted and received with the single transmitter and the single receiver, respectively, when the sensor is located at the second depth within the wellbore; Wherein the coding mask is configured to code the signals before it is received by the single receiver of the sensor and cause measurement of the first compressed individual image information to comprise a first temporal signal and the compressed measurement of the second compressed individual image information to comprise a second temporal signal; the processor configured to compile an image of the subterranean formation responsive to the measurement of the first compressed individual image information and the measurement of the second compressed individual image information by aligning the first temporal signal with the second temporal signal performing a stitching algorithm in the time domain to provide an aligned temporal signal, and transform the aligned temporal signal to the spatial domain to provide the image of the subterranean formation. The sensor configured to move from a first depth within the wellbore to a second depth within the wellbore; the sensor comprising a single transmitter and a single receiver; Wherein the coding mask is configured to code the signals received before it is received by the single receiver of the sensor;
Kruizinga teaches the sensor comprising a single transmitter and a single receiver (Fig. 2 illustrates a single transmitter/receiver which is implicitly measures one value at a time even if the single measured value is comprised of components of two reflectors. The resultant measured value is measured as a single value and image reconstruction processes are utilized to separate the component signals); (Fig. 2 illustrates the coding mask being located in front of the receiver which implicitly means the signals are coded prior to reaching the receiver); a coding mask comprising a volume of material having a varying thickness, the coding mask configured to provide a compressed measurement [images] obtained from the signals transmitted and received with the single transmitter and single receiver, respectively; ([Pg. 3, Left Column, Ppg. 2] Teaches the mask covers the complete aperture of the sensor (diameter, 12.7 mm), and the thickness randomly varies between 0.1 and 1 mm.) (See Fig. 1C (second annotation), Below) wherein the coding mask is configured to code the signals before it is received by the receiver of the sensor and cause measurement of the first compressed individual image information to comprise a first temporal signal and the measurement of the second compressed individual image information to comprise a second temporal signal ([Pg.3]-[Pg.4], delays produced by the mask create complex spatiotemporal interference patterns that ensure that each pixel generates a unique temporal signal in the compressed measurement)
Fig. 1C (second annotation)
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the downhole assembly of Leggett, to include the aperture mask of Kruizinga, with the motivation of uniquely identifying each pixel in the image from the compressed measurement, therefore allowing each pixel to be placed in its proper position during image reconstruction.
Leggett, as modified in view of Kruizinga, may not explicitly teach the sensor configured to move from a first depth within the wellbore to a second depth within the wellbore; first compressed individual image information obtained from the signals transmitted and received with the single transmitter and single receiver, respectively, when the sensor is located at the first depth within the wellbore and a measurement of a second compressed individual image information obtained from the signals transmitted and received with the single transmitter and single receiver, respectively, when the sensor is located at the second depth within the wellbore; compiling an image of a subterranean formation responsive to the measurement of the first compressed individual image information and the measurement of the second compressed individual image information by aligning the first temporal signal with the second temporal signal performing a stitching algorithm in the time domain to provide an aligned signal, and transform the aligned temporal signal to the spatial domain to provide an image of the subterranean formation.
Nguyen teaches the sensor configured to move from a first depth within the wellbore to a second depth within the wellbore;([0048], acquiring a sequence of beamformed images generated from signals captured by a tool as it moves over a range of depths of a wellbore, each beamformed image overlapping at least one other beamformed image of the sequence; processing the beamformed images; and combining the processed beamformed images with respect to depth, forming a stitched image.); first compressed individual image information obtained from the signals transmitted and received with the [sensor] when located at the first depth within the wellbore and a measurement of a second compressed individual image information obtained from the signals transmitted and received with the [sensor] when located at the second depth within the wellbore(Implicit, [0048], acquiring a sequence of beamformed images generated from signals captured by a tool as it moves over a range of depths of a wellbore, each beamformed image overlapping at least one other beamformed image of the sequence; processing the beamformed images; and combining the processed beamformed images with respect to depth, forming a stitched image.)(it is the examiner’s interpretation that each of the beamformed images would implicitly contain pixels); compiling an image of a subterranean formation responsive to the measurement of the first compressed individual image information and the measurement of the second compressed individual image information by aligning the first temporal signal with the second temporal signal performing a stitching algorithm in the time domain to provide an aligned signal, and transform the aligned temporal signal to the spatial domain to provide an image of the subterranean formation. ([0025]-[0028], describes processing of acoustic signals that exploit the time delays of transmitted signals and known locations of the sensor in order to determine a spatial location of the received signals based on a temporal signal) (Implicit, [0048], acquiring a sequence of beamformed images generated from signals captured by a tool as it moves over a range of depths of a wellbore, each beamformed image overlapping at least one other beamformed image of the sequence; processing the beamformed images; and combining the processed beamformed images with respect to depth, forming a stitched image.)([0038], Taking advantage of the tool movement that can produce a sequence of overlapping beamformed images, a post-processing technique can be implemented to combine those images in a way that enhances the focus on the leak location enabling more accurate estimation.)(it is the examiner’s interpretation that utilizing the coding mask and single transmitter/receiver would generate compressed first and second compressed image information that is compatible with the stitching combiner of Nguyen)
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the downhole assembly of Leggett, as modified in view of Kruizinga, to include the procedure of imaging across multiple depths and performing image stitching with a stitching algorithm of Nguyen with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of providing a continuous image through multiple depth regions in the wellbore in order to determine various formation qualities across the trajectory of the wellbore in one cohesive image.
Regarding claim 14, Leggett teaches a method of generating an image of a subterranean formation in a wellbore, comprising: (Fig. 1) conveying a bottom-hole assembly in the wellbore (14) ([Column 2, Lines 29-34], Teaches the system (10) includes a borehole string (12) such as a pipe string, coiled tubing, wireline or other carrier disposed within a borehole (14) that is suitable for lowering a tool or other component through a borehole or connecting a component to the surface.) ([Column 2, Lines 39-41], Teaches exemplary non-limiting carriers include casing pipes, wirelines, wireline sondes, slickline sondes, drop shots, downhole subs, BHA's, frac ports and drill strings.), moving the sensor (16) in the wellbore (14);
Leggett may not explicitly teach an imaging device including a sensor comprising a single transmitter and a single receiver; transmitting a signal using the single transmitter; moving the sensor from a first depth within the wellbore to a second depth within the wellbore; Wherein transmitting the signal comprises breaking a phase uniformity of the transmitted signal; moving the sensor from a first depth within the wellbore to a second depth within the wellbore; receiving with the single receiver a first compressed individual image information when the sensor is at a first depth within the wellbore and receiving with the single receiver a second compressed individual image information when the sensor is at the second depth within the wellbore, the first individual image information comprising a first temporal signal and the second individual image information comprising a second temporal signal; and aligning, with a processor, the first temporal signal and the second temporal signal using a stitching algorithm in the time domain to provide an aligned temporal signal; generating with the processor, the image of the subterranean formation by transforming the aligned temporal signal to the spatial domain.
Kruizinga teaches an imaging device including a sensor comprising a single transmitter and a single receiver; (Fig. 2 illustrates a single transmitter single receiver imaging device); transmitting a signal using the single transmitter(Implicit, Fig. 2 illustrates a single transmitter which implicitly would transmit a single wave); (Fig. 2 illustrates a single transmitter/receiver which is implicitly measures one value at a time even if the single measured value is comprised of components of two reflectors. The resultant measured value is measured as a single value and image reconstruction processes are utilized to separate the component signals)(it is the examiner’s interpretation that the single receiver of Kruizinga with the disposition of the imagine device of Leggett being a part of a bottomhole assembly would yield a single receiver that would measure a single value after the signal had interacted with a subterranean formation and the single value would be based on a property of the signal); wherein transmitting the signal comprises breaking a phase uniformity and coding of the transmitted signal ([Pg. 3, Left Column, Ppg. 1] Teaches this is accomplished by breaking the phase uniformity of the ultrasound wave in both transmission and reception.)(Fig. 2 shows a single transmitter that would implicitly be coded by the disposition of the coding mask in front of the transmitter);
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Leggett, to include the phase uniformity breaking process Kruizinga, with the motivation of uniquely identifying each pixel in the image from the compressed measurement based on deterministic incoherence patterns, therefore allowing each pixel to be positioned in its proper location during image reconstruction.
Leggett, as modified in view of Kruizinga may not explicitly teach moving the sensor from a first depth within the wellbore to a second depth within the wellbore; receiving with the single receiver a first compressed individual image information when the sensor is at a first depth within the wellbore and receiving with the single receiver a second compressedindividual image information when the sensor is at the second depth within the wellbore using the receiver, the first compressed individual image information comprising a first temporal signal and the second compressed individual image information comprising a second temporal signal; and aligning, with a processor, the first temporal signal and the second temporal signal using a stitching algorithm in the time domain to provide an aligned temporal signal; generating with the processor, the image of the subterranean formation by transforming the aligned temporal signal to the spatial domain.
Nguyen teaches moving the sensor from a first depth within the wellbore to a second depth within the wellbore(Implicit, [0048], acquiring a sequence of beamformed images generated from signals captured by a tool as it moves over a range of depths of a wellbore, each beamformed image overlapping at least one other beamformed image of the sequence; processing the beamformed images; and combining the processed beamformed images with respect to depth, forming a stitched image.) receiving with the [receiver] a first individual image information when the sensor is at a first depth within the wellbore and receiving with the [receiver] second individual image information when the sensor is at the second depth within the wellbore, the first individual image information comprising a first temporal signal and the second individual image information comprising a second temporal signal; ([0025]-[0028], describes processing of acoustic signals that exploit the time delays of transmitted signals and known locations of the sensor in order to determine a spatial location of the received signals based on a temporal signal) (Implicit, [0048], acquiring a sequence of beamformed images generated from signals captured by a tool as it moves over a range of depths of a wellbore, each beamformed image overlapping at least one other beamformed image of the sequence); processing the beamformed images; and combining the processed beamformed images with respect to depth, forming a stitched image.)(it is the examiner’s interpretation that the depth movement of Nguyen combined with the single receiver of Kruizinga would meet the claim limitation) and aligning, with a processor, the first temporal signal and the second temporal signal using a stitching algorithm, and generating, with the processor, the image of the subterranean formation by transforming the aligned temporal signal to the spatial domain. ((Fig. 11, [0038], FIG. 11 is a flow diagram depicting an embodiment of a stitching method to combine a sequence of beamformed images as the tool moves, which shows the overall algorithm of this example stitching method.) (Implicit, [0048], acquiring a sequence of beamformed images generated from signals captured by a tool as it moves over a range of depths of a wellbore, each beamformed image overlapping at least one other beamformed image of the sequence; processing the beamformed images; and combining the processed beamformed images with respect to depth, forming a stitched image.)(it is the examiner’s interpretation that each of the beamformed images would implicitly contain pixels and that those pixels would implicitly contain content associated with them) ([0025]-[0028], describes processing of acoustic signals that exploit the time delays of transmitted signals and known locations of the sensor in order to determine a spatial location of the received signals based on a temporal signal)
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Leggett, as modified in view of Kruizinga, to include the procedure of imaging across multiple depths and performing image stitching with a stitching algorithm of Nguyen with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of providing a continuous image through multiple depth regions in the wellbore in order to determine various formation qualities across the trajectory of the wellbore in one cohesive image.
Regarding claim 15, Leggett, as modified in view of Kruizinga, and Nguyen, teaches the method of claim 14. Kruizinga further teaches wherein breaking the phase uniformity of the transmitted signal includes locating a coding mask [in front of] the sensor. [Kruizinga, Pg. 2, Left column, Ppg. 3 Teaches local variations in the mask thickness (Fig. 1C) cause local delays, which scrambles the phase of the wave field.) (Kruizinga, Abstract Teaches Our device makes a compressed measurement of the spatial ultrasound field using a plastic aperture mask placed in front of the ultrasound sensor) Leggett further teaches [a] subterranean formation (Fig. 1 (26))
Regarding claim 16, Leggett, as modified in view of Kruizinga, and Nguyen, teaches the method of claim 14. Leggett further teaches (Fig. 1) wherein transmitting the signal comprises transmitting an acoustic signal. ([Column 3, Lines 5-7], Teaches The tool (16) includes one or more acoustic monopole and/or multipole transmitters (28) that emit ultrasonic and/or other acoustic energy pulses.)
Regarding claim 18, Leggett, as modified in view of Kruizinga, and Nguyen, teaches the method of claim 14. Kruizinga further teaches wherein receiving the first compressed individual image information and the second compressed individual image information comprises using compressive sensing. ([Abstract], Teaches our device makes a compressed measurement of the spatial ultrasound field using a plastic aperture mask placed in front of the ultrasound sensor.)
Regarding claim 19, Leggett, as modified in view of Kruizinga, and Nguyen, teaches the method of claim 18. Kruizinga further teacher further comprising calibrating the compressive sensing using one of a known image data and a sample. ([Pg. 8, Left column, Ppg. 1], Teaches to this end, we adopt a simple calibration measurement in which we spatially map the impulse signal (using a small hydrophone and a translation stage) in a plane close to the mask surface and perpendicular to the ultrasound propagation axis] [See annotated Fig. 6C, below] (It is the examiner’s interpretation that “calibration measurement” correlates to known image data)
Fig. 6C (annotated)
Regarding claim 20, Leggett, as modified in view of Kruizinga, and Nguyen, teaches the method of claim 14. Leggett further teaches wherein moving the sensor comprises rotating the imaging device in the wellbore. ([Column 4, Lines 19-22], Teaches in use, the measurement tool images a borehole, casing or formation by axially moving the tool (40) at a selected speed while the transducer is rotated at a selected rotational rate, resulting in a helical scan of the borehole)
Regarding claim 26, Leggett, as modified in view of Kruizinga, and Nguyen, teaches the method of claim 14. Kruizinga further teaches wherein generating the image is performed without using a depth information of the imaging device. (Implicit, it is the examiner’s interpretation that the aperture mask of both Kruizinga and van der Meulen are capable of providing unique identifiers to be encoded into each pixel (or voxel) which would allow for stitching of individual images into a large mosaic without the need to collect and utilize depth information in a similar manner to the claimed invention) (See Applicant’s Specification (0039)-(0040))
Leggett further teaches a wellbore (Fig.1 (26)); a processor (Fig. 1 (20)) coupled to the imaging device (Fig. 1 (16)) inside the wellbore (Leggett discloses the claimed invention except the placement of the processor within the wellbore. It would have been obvious matter of design choice to arrange the processor within the imaging device in the wellbore, since application has not disclosed that the position of the processor solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with processor placement of Leggett) (See MPEP 2144.04 (VI.)(C))
Regarding claim 27, Leggett, as modified in view of Kruizinga, and Nguyen, teaches the method of claim 14. Leggett further teaches wherein moving the sensor from the first depth within the wellbore to the second depth within the wellbore comprises moving the sensor along a spiral curve within the wellbore; and generating the image comprises combining individual spiral images obtained from the sensor to form a final image. ([Column 4, Lines 19-26] In use, the measurement tool images a borehole, casing or formation by axially moving the tool 40 at a selected speed while the transducer is rotated at a selected rotational rate, resulting in a helical scan of the borehole. A number of scans are performed per revolution (e.g., 360 samples per revolution, or one sample per degree), and these scans are combined as a scan line. An image is built up over time using multiple scan lines generated as the tool is rotated.)
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leggett in view of Kruizinga and Nguyen as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Morris (US 20100038137 A1, “Morris”).
Regarding claim 22, Leggett, as modified in view of Kruizinga, and Nguyen, teaches the method of claim 14. Leggett, as modified in view of Kruizinga, and Nguyen, may not explicitly teach further comprising altering drilling parameters, using the processor, responsive to information obtained from the image of the subterranean formation without interaction of an operator during a drilling or reaming operation.
Morris teaches further comprising altering drilling parameters, using the processor, responsive to information obtained from the [image of the sector residence times] without interaction of an operator during a drilling or reaming operation. (Implicit, [0008], The method further comprises altering a drilling parameter for continued drilling of the wellbore based at least in part on the image of the sector residence times. The drilling parameter may include, for example, weight-on-bit; drill string rotational speed; and drilling fluid flow rate through the drill string)
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Leggett, as modified in view of Kruizinga, and Nguyen, to include the drilling parameter alteration capabilities of Morris with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of optimizing drilling operations based on downhole parameters measured by the sensor correlating to downhole conditions.
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leggett in view of van der Meulen and Nguyen as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Morris.
Regarding claim 25, Leggett, as modified in view of van der Meulen and Nguyen, teaches the downhole imaging system of claim 1. Leggett, as modified in view of van der Meulen and Nguyen, may not explicitly teach wherein the processor is configured to alter drilling parameters without interaction of an operator responsive to information obtained from the image of the subterranean formation.
Morris teaches wherein the processor is configured to alter drilling parameters without interaction of an operator responsive to information obtained from the image [of the sector residence times]. (Implicit, [0008], The method further comprises altering a drilling parameter for continued drilling of the wellbore based at least in part on the image of the sector residence times. The drilling parameter may include, for example, weight-on-bit; drill string rotational speed; and drilling fluid flow rate through the drill string)
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the downhole imaging system of Leggett, as modified in view of van der Meulen and Nguyen, as applied to Claim 1, to include the drilling parameter alteration capabilities of Morris with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of optimizing drilling operations based on downhole parameters measured by the sensor correlating to downhole conditions
Claim(s) 29-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leggett in view of van der Meulen and Nguyen as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Xie et al. ("Single-sensor multispeaker listening with acoustic metamaterials." Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences 112.34 (2015), “Xie”).
Regarding claim 29, Legett, as modified in view of van der Meulen and Nguyen teaches the downhole imaging system of claim 1. Legett, as modified in view of van der Meulen and Nguyen may not explicitly teach wherein the coding mask is formed from a metamaterial.
Xie teaches wherein the coding mask is formed from a metamaterial. (Fig. 1A, 1B, and 1D illustrate an acoustic metamaterial waveguide structure that acts as a coding mask)([Pg. 2], the sound waves are modulated by the encoding channels offered by the metamaterials before they are collected as a single mixed waveform)
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the downhole imaging system of Legett, as modified in view of van der Meulen and Nguyen, to include the metamaterial construction of Xie with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of achieving required spatial complexity and frequency dependency within a much smaller size [Pg. 6].
Regarding claim 30, Legett, as modified in view of van der Meulen, Nguyen, and Xie, teaches the downhole imaging system of claim 29. Xie further teaches wherein the coding mask is formed using additive manufacturing. ([pg. 3] metamaterial listener prototype was fabricated with acrylonitrile butadiene styrene plastics using fused filament fabrication 3D printing technology)(it is the examiner’s interpretation that fused filament fabrication 3D printing is a form of additive manufacturing)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 14th, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. On pg. 2-5 of Applicant’s Remarks, Applicant argues that the combination of Leggett, van der Meulen, and Nguyen fail to teach the limitations of amended claim 1 for the following reasons:
Van der Meulen is not directed towards imaging subterranean formations and is instead directed towards medical ultrasound imaging, therefore one of ordinary skill in the art would not look to van der Meulen for insight into imaging subterranean formations
Nguyen teaches utilizing time differences of signals received at multiple different sensors in order to generate the temporal signals and stitch resultant images together, rather than utilizing a single transmitter and single receiver.
With respect to (1), the examiner agrees that van der Meulen is not directed towards imaging subterranean formations, but is rather directed towards medical ultrasound imaging, however the examiner respectfully disagrees that this renders van der Meulen irrelevant. The teachings of van der Meulen may be applied to medical ultrasound imaging in the prior art, however it is relevant to compressed imaging as a whole through the use of a coding mask to impart spatial information onto received signals (See van der Meulen at [pg. 2]), which may be applied to any technological environment. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in imaging subterranean formations would be motivated to apply the teachings of van der Meulen to their respective technological environment in order to spatially encode the received signals in order to reconstruct an image of a borehole as a whole.
With respect to (2) the examiner agrees that Nguyen utilizes multiple sensors to perform the stitching algorithm and combine a plurality of images based off of measurements received at various sensors, however the examiner is not relying on Nguyen to teach the limitations regarding a single transmitter or single receiver. The examiner instead is citing Nguyen to teach combining images gathered at a multitude of depths based on multiple received signals in order to stitch them together in order to create a stitched continuous borehole image. Nguyen at [0043] states that stitching combiner is able to combine multiple images at different depths to generate a resulting image that covers a range of depths provided by collected signals from the movement of the measuring tool. This could easily be combined with the teachings of Leggett, as modified in view of van der Meulen as in the scenario that as the imaging device of Leggett travels to different depths within a borehole, one image may be generated by the single transmitter/receiver (Fig. 1 (sensor)) of van der Meulen at each depth, thus as the imaging device travels to multiple depths, multiple images would be created and therefore the stitching algorithm of Nguyen may be utilized as multiple images at multiple depths may be combined based on the description of the stitching combiner provided by Nguyen at [0043]. Further with respect to the argument that as Nguyen utilizes time differences of received signal at multiple sensors, that it cannot be used by a system with only a single transmitter and receiver, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Van der Meulen at [pg. 2, II. Methods] discloses using a single sensor (Fig. 1 (sensor) and a coding mask of varying thicknesses (Fig. 1 (coding mask)), the multiple channels are formed in the pulse-echo ultrasound field independently from other channels and creates delays in the measured signal according to a mask thickness of the channel and speed of sound within the mask in order to reconstruct the image. It is the examiner’s interpretation that as the coding mask of van der Meulen creates time delays based on thickness variation to spatially reconstruct the image, this is equivalent to the utilization of multiple sensors to generate time differences in order to identify image features as taught by Nguyen at [0025], thus indicating that the stitching combiner taught by Nguyen at [0043] would be compatible with the single transmitter and receiver of van der Meulen. Therefore the rejections of claims 1, 5, 9, 12, 23, 24, and 28 under 35 U.S.C. over Leggett in view of van der Meulen and Nguyen is maintained.
On pg. 5-7 of Applicant’s arguments, Applicant argues that due to the alleged allowability of claim 1, claims 2, 4, 7 and 11 are therefore in condition for allowance. As noted in the response to arguments regarding claim 1, above, the rejections of claim 1 has been maintained and therefore so are the rejections of claims 2, 4, 7 and 11.
On pg. 7-9 of Applicant’s Remarks, Applicant argues that for the same reasons regarding the alleged allowability of claim 1, claims 13-16, 18-20, 26, and 27 are therefore in condition for allowance. As noted in the response to arguments regarding claim 1, above, the rejection of claim 1 has been maintained and therefore so are the rejections of claims 13-16, 18-20, 26, and 27 as Kruizinga also teaches a single transmitter and receiver ultrasound imaging system (Fig. 2 (transmitter/receiver with coding mask), similarly to van der Meulen.
On pg. 9 of Applicant’s Remarks, Applicant argues that due to the alleged allowability of claim 14, claim 22 is therefore in condition for allowance. As noted in the response to arguments regarding claim 14, above, the rejection of claim 14 is maintained and therefore so is the rejection of claim 22.
On pg. 10-11 of Applicant’s Remarks, Applicant argues that due to the alleged allowability of claim 1, claim 25, 29, and 30 are therefore in condition for allowance. As noted in the response to arguments regarding claim 1, above, the rejection of claim 1 is maintained and therefore so are the rejections of claim 25, 29, and 30.
Conclusion
Prior art made of record though not relied upon in the present basis of rejection are noted in the attached PTO 892 and include:
Herman et al. (U.S. Patent No. 8970740) which discloses a method and system for stitching overlapping images collected from multiple-detector compressive-sensing cameras
Espe et al. (U.S. Patent Application No. 20190226319) which discloses an acoustic wellbore imagine device utilizing a single transmitter and a single receiver
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER RICHARD WALKER/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/YUQING XIAO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645