Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments filed 10/08/2025 have been entered. Claims 1-16, 21-24 are pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/08/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 21, 24 and the new limitations have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-6, 11-13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 3 and 11 recite the limitation "the first control pump". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Additional claims are rejected as dependent on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-3, 7-10, 16, 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fulkerson (US PG Pub 2009/0120864).
With respect to claims 1, 21, 24, Fulkerson teaches a portable continuous dialysis system configured as a wearable belt in fluid communication with a separate unit in the form of a bag or case, a highly portable dialysis system comprising a relatively lightweight wearable unit, in fluid communication with an easy to carry yet sturdy portable unit, the wearable belt unit with a dialyzer and a pump, the portable unit comprising a dialysate regeneration system, (abstract, 0002-0017, 0026-0027), the belt comprising a dialyzer and pump (0016) a blood circuit in the form of a belt 105, 205, 605 (0029, 0032, 0063), (a system comprising: an extracorporeal module), dialyzer with a membrane, 106, 315, 530 (0029, 0043, 0058), with dialysate ports 112/113, 323/325, 334/535 (031-0032, 0046-0049, 0061, a dialyzer including a dialysate inlet and a single dialysate outlet), dialysate circuit 110/115, 210, 320, 510 (Figures), the belt units connect to the portable units with couplings (0012, 0018, 0028, 0032-0034, Fig. 2, one or more first connectors for connecting, disconnecting, and reconnecting the modules to, and from, the dialysate inlet and the dialysate outlet of the dialyzer), in an embodiment pump 321 in dialysate circuit 320 (0046, Fig. 3, a unit including the first dialysate pump), the portable unit which can be configured in the form of any one of a fanny pack, a case with a handle, or a pack wearable around the shoulder (0002, 0010, 0017, 0029, the portable units attachable modules), an electronic control unit 120/controller 351 (0015, 0052, a controller), in the embodiment of figure 3, the dialysate circuit comprises dialysate module 330 with a plurality of sorbent cartridges (0047), in an embodiment, each sorbent cartridge is a miniaturized cartridge containing a distinct sorbent. For example, a system of five sorbent cartridges may be used wherein each cartridge separately contains urease, zirconium phosphate, hydrous zirconium oxide and activated carbon, and that persons of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that urease, zirconium phosphate, hydrous zirconium oxide and activated carbon are not the only chemicals that could be used as sorbents in the present invention, in fact, any number of additional or alternative sorbents could be employed without departing from the scope of the present invention (0037).
While Fulkerson does not explicitly teach two units, Fulterson teaches units that can be coupled to a wearable belt, duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced (see MPEP 2144.01 VI. B), such that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was made to provide a second unit, each of which would be alternately connectable to the belt, in order to provide alternative treatment options depending on patient need. Fulkerson teaches placement of components can be varied between the portable unit and the wearable belt unit, depending upon factors such as comparative weight and size of the belt and portable units, the ease of operation of the dialysis system by the patient, the overall length of the tubing system and the safety of operation of the overall system (abstract, 0042), keeping the relatively bulkier dialysate regeneration and waste collection system separate from the light wearable unit (0027-0029), the two units are detachable from each other to allow flexibility and mobility to the patient, and a wearable belt; units comprising sorbent cartridges in the form of packs, cases, which can vary in portability as discussed above, and that the selection of sorbent would be within the skill of persons of ordinary skill in the art, and the use of sorbents including activated carbon (a sorbent that does not contain a material that converts urea into a different chemical form), such that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have both wearable and less wearable or not portable units depending on the desired treatment and mobility requirements of the patient (0008, 0032), and to vary the sorbent cartridges to units/modules depending on patient need.
With respect to claim 2, the system of claim 1 is taught above. As noted above, Fulkerson teaches the selection of sorbent is within the skill of one of ordinary skill in the art such that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the attachable portable treatment module does not contain a sorbent cartridge containing urease.
With respect to claims 3, 10, 16, the system of claim 1 is taught above. See 112(b) above, Fulkerson teaches an electronic control unit (a controller), to control the operation of all the components of said system, the microprocessor in the electronic control unit 120 determines the rate and amount of fluid removal through volumetric pump 155, excess fluid is removed from the spent dialysate in the spent dialysate tube through the volumetric pump 130 and into the waste collection bag (0035), volumetric pumps first and second control pumps, flow meters measure blood and dialysate flow and are used in ways known to persons of ordinary skill in the art (0041) rates, and control of the pumps to provide increased clearance by convective mass transfer and the use of changing convective gradients (0053), the controller controls an efflux rate of a first control pump.
With respect to claim 7, the system of claim 1 is taught above. Fulkerson teaches cartridges where sorbent comprises zirconium phosphate and urease (0037, the second sorbent cartridge in the attachable urea removal module contains urease and zirconium phosphate).
With respect to claim 8, the system of claim 1 is taught above. Fulkerson teaches additive micropumps for infusion 125, 334/336, and infusate reservoirs 126, 337 (0039, 0047, the attachable urea removal module further comprises an infusate pump and an infusate reservoir).
With respect to claim 9, the system of claim 8 is taught above. Fulkerson teaches infusate pumps and reservoirs as discussed above and the infusate pump and infusate reservoir are connected to the dialysis circuit downstream of the sorbent cartridge (Figs. 1-4).
With respect to claims 22, 23, the system of claim 1 is taught above. Fulkerson teaches leak tight couplings and a disconnect sensor, the signal of goes to the microprocessor which disables dialysate pumping when the belt is decoupled (0032-0034, Fig. 2, connectors configured to stop the fluid from flowing when disconnected by a user, the controller is configured to detect a connection state of the one or more first connectors and the one or more second connectors).
Claims 3-5, 13, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fulkerson (US PG Pub 2009/0120864), in view of Graf (US 6,860,866).
With respect to claims 3-6, 10-13, 16, the system of claims 1 and 9 is taught above. See 112(b) above, Fulkerson teaches an electronic control unit (a controller), to control the operation of all the components of said system, the microprocessor in the electronic control unit 120 determines the rate and amount of fluid removal through volumetric pump 155, excess fluid is removed from the spent dialysate in the spent dialysate tube through the volumetric pump 130 and into the waste collection bag (0035), flow meters measure blood and dialysate flow and are used in ways known to persons of ordinary skill in the art (0041) rates, and control of the pumps to provide increased clearance by convective mass transfer and the use of changing convective gradients (0053), the controller controls an efflux rate of a first control pump.
Graf teaches clearance and/or dialysance can be determined as a function of dialysis fluid rate (C3/Ll-60), and a controller determines dialysance or clearance for a pump (claim 6), It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was made to control pump Fulkerson's pumps based a set patient removal rate and a set convective clearance, as described by Graf in order to monitor the efficiency of a dialyzer during a dialysis treatment without any delay (Graf C2/L62-67), and as it has been held that "[t]he combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results." KSR, 550 U.S. at 415-16. Furthermore, "if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond that person's skill." KSR, 550 U.S. at 417. Absent evidence of unexpected results, a ratio of the first set period of time and the second set-period of time is set based on the set patient fluid removal rate and a set convective clearance, is considered inherent.
With respect to claim 13, the system of claim 12 is taught above. Updyke teaches microprocessor 70 controls pump flow rates and timing and sequencing of the components of the module ([0105]) the controller controls a ratio of the pump rates of the first control pump and second control pump to achieve the set patient fluid removal rate and the set convective clearance.
Claims 14, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fulkerson (US PG Pub 2009/0120864), in view of Orhan (US PG Pub 2012/0273354).
With respect to claim 14, the system of claim 1 is taught above. Fulkerson teaches an electronic control unit (a controller), to control the operation of all the components of said system, the microprocessor in the electronic control unit 120 determines the rate and amount of fluid removal through volumetric pump 155, excess fluid is removed from the spent dialysate in the spent dialysate tube through the volumetric pump 130 flow meters measure blood and dialysate flow and are used in ways known to persons of ordinary skill in the art (0041) rates, and control of the pumps to provide increased clearance by convective mass transfer and the use of changing convective gradients (0053), the controller adjusts patient removal rate,a plurality of sensors enable continuous monitoring of various aspects for a safe and efficient functioning of the system and such probes and the use thereof for monitoring various aspects of the dialysis system are known to persons of ordinary skill in the art and are not described (0041), but does not teach sensing of hematocrit or hemoglobin, or adjusting removal rate based on hematocrit level. Orhan teaches a wearable dialysis fluid removal device (abstract, 0035, 0055), measuring of hematocrit or hemoglobin with a sensor (0032-0033, 0322). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was made to incorporate a hematocrit or hemoglobin sensor, as described by Orhan in order to determine the change in hematocrit due to the treatment, and the courts have held that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date, see MPEP §2143.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-16, 20-24 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2 of U.S. Patent No. 10,857,277, in view of the rejections above. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference claims require substantially the same components, instant claims 1, 21, and 24 are analogous to claim extracorporeal module comprising a blood pump, attachments to a dialyzer, attachable portable treatment module, and urea removal modules comprising: sorbent cartridges, with an without urease, each with a dialysis circuit with a pump, a control pump, controlled compliant, and at least one controller, additional details are provided in the rejections above.
Claims 1-16, 20-24 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 30 of copending Application No. 19/028/634 in view of the rejections above. Reference claim 1 requires a dialyzer, an extracorporeal module, attachment modules, quick connectors, reference claim 30 requires a urea removal module, analogous to instant claims 1, 21, and 24, in view of the rejections above.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEANNIE MCDERMOTT/Examiner, Art Unit 1777
/BRADLEY R SPIES/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1777