DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amendment filed on 12/30/2025, have been considered and a new rejection issued.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1,7,13,25, 2-6,19,22,8-12,20,23,14-17,21,24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1,7,13,25 recites the limitation "inter-frequency neighbors". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 2-6,19,22,8-12,20,23,14-17,21,24 are dependent on claims 1,7,13,25, and therefore inherit 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph issues of claims 1,7,13,25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Futaki et al. (US 9294950B2) in view of Ananda et al. (US20200236173A1) in further view of Ekemark et al. ( US20170367011A1)
Regarding claim 1, Futaki ‘950 teaches A method for distributing User Equipment (UEs) for service with guaranteed bitrate, (see Fig5 shows UE1 to UEn),
the method comprising: receiving, at a self-organizing network (SON) controller, a set of observable data from a sector-carrier (Futaki ‘950 teaches in Fig2,30- SON server(= SON controller) receiving data from base station 20 at step 23 ; Fig3 SON server functions and Col9 L20-50 refers to functions implemented by SON server including collecting measurement results(=observable data), filtering results and instructing eNB to engage in optimization process; sector carrier (= carrier frequency in Preferred Modes in Col6 L1-9)
directing, by the SON controller, a sector-carrier to redirect a specific UE to a specified (Futaki ‘950 teaches in Fig2, a base station-20 being directed by SON-30 to change radio parameter configuration-24 which includes frequency (=sector carrier) as referred in Preferred Modes in Col6 L1-9.Col 19 L 5-12-It is to be noted that with regard to the frequency band, a system band itself may be narrowed, or only a band in which data is transmitted may be narrowed. (How ever, in this case, a common control signal or the like is sent in a band the same as before the frequency is narrowed) (=directing, by the SON controller, a sector-carrier to redirect a specific UE to a specified frequency)
when the interference level is greater than a predetermined threshold (Futaki ‘950 teaches in Col6-L58-65, the interference from a femto base station is greater than or equal to a predetermined second preset value (preset level),
Futaki does not teach, EARFCN; estimating, by the based on a count of a sector-carrier aggregate per-resource block list of short-term filtered Received Signal Strength Indicators (RSSIs) above a certain absolute interference threshold;
Ananda teaches, EARFCN; [68]- At 1404 the channel scan component 142 loops through the ARFCNs/EARFCNs in the frequency band that is being scanned.
estimating, by the based on a count of a sector-carrier aggregate per-resource block list of short-term filtered Received Signal Strength Indicators (RSSIs) above a certain absolute interference threshold; and [67]- The value of the threshold may then be fine-tuned based on samples received under various interference scenarios to achieve an acceptable probability of false alarm GSM detection [68]- At 1404 the channel scan component 142 loops through the ARFCNs/EARFCNs in the frequency band that is being scanned. For each ARFCN/EARFCN, at 1406 the channel scan component 142 performs a power scan to determine the signal power in that ARFCN/EARFCN. At 1408 the channel scan component 142 compares the signal power in the ARFCN/EARFCN with an RSSI threshold(=interference level).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the redirecting of a specific UE frequency of Futaki to incorporate the teachings of Ananda to include a specified EARFCN; estimating, by the based on a count of a sector-carrier aggregate per-resource block list of short-term filtered Received Signal Strength Indicators (RSSIs) above a certain absolute interference threshold as taught by Ananda Doing so would aid in indicating frequency errors in low measurement accuracy conditions (Ananda’840, [0054]).
Futaki in view of Ananda does not teach, when the interference level is greater than a predetermined threshold, directing all lEs on the sector-carrier to another sector-carrier controlled by the SON ;thereby performing UE performance-based load balancing to mitigate against adversarial interferers by directing all UEs to another sector carrier; and when the interference level is greater than a predetermined threshold, directing all lEs on the sector-carrier to another sector-carrier controlled by the SON.
Ekemark teaches, and when the interference level is greater than a predetermined threshold, directing all UEs on the sector-carrier to another sector-carrier controlled by the [30]- The selection and IEF handover of the UE may continue until either the determined load balancing amount is reached, or a reassessment of the traffic load balance between the two cells is performed.
[19]- The RBS may consider the IEF neighbor cells frequently occurring in such measurement reports as suitable target cells for load balancing versus the RBS where the UE is connected to (=using as input a list including the inter-frequency neighbors reported in measurement reports by the UEs,)… wherein, for instance, traffic load and cell traffic capacity information are repeatedly exchanged.( =using as input a list)
thereby performing UE performance-based load balancing to mitigate against adversarial interferers by directing all UEs to the another sector carrier [47]- In a further aspect of the method proposed, the step of determining and selecting the UEs for relocation comprises the further step of selecting the UEs to be relocated from a ranking, with the UEs having the highest signal gain after relocation, up to a determined number of UEs to be relocated to achieve a load balance. See interference affecting cells in [21]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the redirecting of a specific UE frequency of Futaki in view of Ananda to when the interference level is greater than a predetermined threshold, directing all lEs on the sector-carrier to another sector-carrier controlled by the SON ;thereby performing UE performance-based load balancing to mitigate against adversarial interferers by directing all UEs to another sector carrier; and when the interference level is greater than a predetermined threshold, directing all lEs on the sector-carrier to another sector-carrier controlled by the SON as taught by Ekemark to use load balance to allow UE to use sector carrier with least load for performance reasons. Ekemark does not teach SON, Futaki teaches a SON controller.
Regarding claim 2, The method of claim 1 wherein the set of observable data includes aggregate sector-carrier wide statistics (Futaki ‘950 teaches in Col 11, L10-20-Step2-the number of reports, each of which states the neighboring cell channel quality. Futaki in Col11 L50-59 teaches SON server aggregates contents of measurement report)
Regarding claim 3, The method of claim 1 wherein the set of observable data includes per-UE statistics for every UE connected to the sector-carrier (Futaki ‘950 teaches,
in Col 12 L44-52, The eNB receives the report of the measurement result from UE1 to UEn, and reports to the OAM/SON server.)
Regarding claim 4, The method of claim 1 wherein the set of observable data includes per-UE statistics for every UE on an event trigger basis (Futaki ‘950 teaches in Col11, Line10-23-, reports per neighboring cell stating RSRP, RSRQ)
Regarding claim 5, The method of claim 1 wherein the set of observable data is received on a regular basis (Futaki ‘950 teaches in Col14 L35-45, a counter value (Nmxx) of a neighboring macro cell is greater than or equal to the predetermined preset value, optimization such as macro cell coverage optimization and interference optimization is performed. The counter value indicates a regular pattern in measurement collection as the counter can be programmed to a set value.)
Regarding claim 6, The method of claim 1 wherein the set of observable data is received on an on-demand basis (Futaki ‘950 teaches, in Col11, Line10-23 reports that are generated based on measurements beyond a preset value which refers to an on-demand or predetermined threshold driven measurement collection)
Regarding claim 7, Futaki teaches, A system comprising: a self-organizing network (SON) controller; a base transceiver station (BTS) in communication with the SON controller (Futaki ‘950 teaches, in Fig2, 20 a base station and Fig2-30 an OAM/SON server. The figure lists the Base station or BTS and OAM/Son controller in a system to measure data received from UE and redirect UE to better network parameters.)
plurality of sector carriers in communication with the BTS (Futaki ‘950 teaches in Fig4-S1 through S6 shows multiple UEs operating with eNB (=base station as in Fig2-30))
and at least one user equipment in communication with one of the pluralities of sector carriers (Futaki ‘950 teaches in Fig8- multiple UEs with n being >1 UEs in system)
wherein the SON receives a set of observable data from a sector-carrier (Futaki ‘950 teaches in Col15, L33-38 RSSI RSRQ and RSRP as observable data)
directs a sector- carrier to redirect a specific UE to a specified (Futaki ‘950 teaches in Fig2, a base station-20 being directed by SON-30 to change radio parameter configuration-24 which includes frequency (=sector carrier) as referred in Preferred Modes in Col6 L1-9.Col 19 L 5-12-It is to be noted that with regard to the frequency band, a system band itself may be narrowed, or only a band in which data is transmitted may be narrowed. (How ever, in this case, a common control signal or the like is sent in a band the same as before the frequency is narrowed) (=directing, by the SON controller, a sector-carrier to redirect a specific UE to a specified frequency)
when an interference level is greater than a predetermined threshold (Futaki ‘950 teaches in Col6-L58-65, a predetermined first preset value (preset level))
Futaki does not teach, E-UTRA Absolute Radio Frequency Channel Number (EARFCN); directing all UEs on the sector-carrier to another sector-carrier controlled by the SON when an interference level is greater than a predetermined threshold, directing directs all UEs on the sector-carrier to another sector-carrier controlled by the SON using as input a list including the inter-frequency neighbors reported in measurement reports by the UEs, wherein the another sector-carrier is determined by the SON from the input
Ananda teaches, EARFCN; 68]- At 1404 the channel scan component 142 loops through the ARFCNs/EARFCNs in the frequency band that is being scanned.
estimates a level of interference of an uplink of a sector-carrier based on a count of a sector-carrier aggregate per-resource block list of short-term filtered Received Signal Strength Indicators (RSSIs) above a certain absolute interference threshold,[67]- The value of the threshold may then be fine-tuned based on samples received under various interference scenarios to achieve an acceptable probability of false alarm GSM detection [68]- At 1404 the channel scan component 142 loops through the ARFCNs/EARFCNs in the frequency band that is being scanned. For each ARFCN/EARFCN, at 1406 the channel scan component 142 performs a power scan to determine the signal power in that ARFCN/EARFCN. At 1408 the channel scan component 142 compares the signal power in the ARFCN/EARFCN with an RSSI threshold.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify the redirecting of a specific UE frequency of Futaki to incorporate the teachings of Ananda to include a specified E-UTRA Absolute Radio Frequency Channel Number (EARFCN); estimates a level of interference of an uplink of a sector-carrier based on a count of a sector-carrier aggregate per-resource block list of short-term filtered Received Signal Strength Indicators (RSSIs) above a certain absolute interference threshold as taught by Ananda to aid in indicating frequency errors in low measurement accuracy conditions (Ananda’840, [0054]).
Futaki in view of Ananda does not teach, when an interference level is greater than a predetermined threshold, directing directs all UEs on the sector-carrier to another sector-carrier controlled by the SON using as input a list including the inter-frequency neighbors reported in measurement reports by the UEs, wherein the another sector-carrier is determined by the SON from the input, thereby performing UE performance based load balancing by directing all UEs to another sector- carrier having a least load
Ekemark teaches, when an interference level is greater than a predetermined threshold, directing directs all UEs on the sector-carrier to another sector-carrier controlled by the SON using as input a list including the inter-frequency neighbors reported in measurement reports by the UEs, [30]- The selection and IEF handover of the UE may continue until either the determined load balancing amount is reached, or a reassessment of the traffic load balance between the two cells is performed.
[19]- The RBS may consider the IEF neighbor cells frequently occurring in such measurement reports as suitable target cells for load balancing versus the RBS where the UE is connected to (=using as input a list including the inter-frequency neighbors reported in measurement reports by the UEs,)… wherein, for instance, traffic load and cell traffic capacity information are repeatedly exchanged.( =using as input a list)
wherein the another sector-carrier is determined by the SON from the input, thereby performing UE performance based load balancing by directing all UEs to another sector- carrier having a least load, [47]- In a further aspect of the method proposed, the step of determining and selecting the UEs for relocation comprises the further step of selecting the UEs to be relocated from a ranking, with the UEs having the highest signal gain after relocation, up to a determined number of UEs to be relocated to achieve a load balance. See interference affecting cells in [21]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the redirecting of a specific UE frequency of Futaki in view of Ananda does not teach to when an interference level is greater than a predetermined threshold, directing directs all UEs on the sector-carrier to another sector-carrier controlled by the SON using as input a list including the inter-frequency neighbors reported in measurement reports by the UEs, wherein the another sector-carrier is determined by the SON from the input, thereby performing UE performance based load balancing by directing all UEs to another sector- carrier having a least load as taught by Ekemark to use load balance to allow UE to use sector carrier with least load for performance reasons.
Regarding claim 8, The system of claim 7 wherein the set of observable data includes aggregate sector- carrier wide statistics (Futaki ‘950 teaches in Col 11, L10-20-Step2-the number of reports, each of which states the neighboring cell channel quality. Futaki in Col11 L50-59 teaches SON server aggregates contents of measurement report)
Regarding claim 9, The system of claim 7 wherein the set of observable data includes per-UE statistics for every UE connected to the sector-carrier (Futaki ‘950 teaches,
in Col 12 L44-52, The eNB1 receives the report of the measurement result from UE1 to UEn, and reports to the OAM/SON server.)
Regarding claim 10, The system of claim 7 wherein the set of observable data includes per-UE statistics for every UE on an event trigger basis (Futaki ‘950 teaches in Col11, Line10-23-, reports per neighboring cell stating RSRP, RSRQ)
Regarding claim 11, The system of claim 7 wherein the set of observable data is received on a regular basis (Futaki ‘950 teaches in Col14 L35-45, a counter value (Nmxx) of a neighboring macro cell is greater than or equal to the predetermined preset value, optimization such as macro cell coverage optimization and interference optimization is performed. The counter value indicates a regular pattern in measurement collection as the counter can be programmed to a set value.)
Regarding claim 12, The system of claim 7 wherein the set of observable data is received on an on-demand basis (Futaki ‘950 teaches, in Col11, Line10-23 reports that are generated based on measurements beyond a preset value which refers to an on-demand or predetermined threshold driven measurement collection)
Regarding claim 13, A non-transitory computer-readable medium containing instructions for distributing User Equipment (UEs) (Futaki ‘950 teaches, in Abstract, OAM/SON server receives a report of a measurement result by the UE and in Fig2 teaches a SON server indicated by "30". Server performs the tasks as listed in claims 13-18. It is well known in the art that a server has a processor and memory and therefore is a computer readable medium. Fig2-30 and Fig3-S101-S108 are all server operations)
When executed, cause a system to perform steps comprising:
receiving, at a self-organizing network (SON) controller, a set of observable data from a sector-(Futaki ‘950 teaches in Fig2,30- SON server(= SON controller) receiving data from base station 20 at step 23 ; Fig3 SON server functions and Col9 L20-50 refers to functions implemented by SON server including collecting measurement results(=observable data), filtering results and instructing eNB to engage in optimization process; sector carrier (= carrier frequency in Preferred Modes in Col6 L1-9)
directing, by the SON controller, a sector-carrier to redirect a specific UE to a specified (Futaki ‘950 teaches in Fig2, a base station-20 being directed by SON-30 to change radio parameter configuration-24 which includes frequency (=sector carrier) as referred in Preferred Modes in Col6 L1-9.Col 19 L 5-12-It is to be noted that with regard to the frequency band, a system band itself may be narrowed, or only a band in which data is transmitted may be narrowed. (How ever, in this case, a common control signal or the like is sent in a band the same as before the frequency is narrowed) (=directing, by the SON controller, a sector-carrier to redirect a specific UE to a specified frequency)
when an interference level is greater than a predetermined threshold (Futaki ‘950 teaches in Col6-L58-65, a predetermined first preset value (preset level))
Futaki does not teach, E-UTRA Absolute Radio Frequency Channel Number (EARFCN) ; estimating, by the SON controller, a level of interference of an uplink of a sector-carrier based on a count of a sector-carrier aggregate per-resource block list of short-term filtered Received Signal Strength Indicators (RSSIs) above a certain absolute interference threshold;
Ananda teaches, E-UTRA Absolute Radio Frequency Channel Number (EARFCN) [67]- [68]- At 1404 the channel scan component 142 loops through the ARFCNs/EARFCNs in the frequency band that is being scanned. For each ARFCN/EARFCN, at 1406
estimating, by the SON controller, a level of interference of an uplink of a sector-carrier based on a count of a sector-carrier aggregate per-resource block list of short-term filtered Received Signal Strength Indicators (RSSIs) above a certain absolute interference threshold; [67]- The value of the threshold may then be fine-tuned based on samples received under various interference scenarios to achieve an acceptable probability of false alarm GSM detection [68]- At 1404 the channel scan component 142 loops through the ARFCNs/EARFCNs in the frequency band that is being scanned. For each ARFCN/EARFCN, at 1406 the channel scan component 142 performs a power scan to determine the signal power in that ARFCN/EARFCN. At 1408 the channel scan component 142 compares the signal power in the ARFCN/EARFCN with an RSSI threshold(=interference level).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Futaki, E-UTRA Absolute Radio Frequency Channel Number (EARFCN) estimating, by the SON controller, a level of interference of an uplink of a sector-carrier based on a count of a sector-carrier aggregate per-resource block list of short-term filtered Received Signal Strength Indicators (RSSIs) above a certain absolute interference threshold as taught by Ananda to aid in indicating frequency errors in low measurement accuracy conditions.
Futaki in view of Ananda does not teach, when an interference level is greater than a predetermined threshold, directing all UEs on the sector-carrier to another sector-carrier controlled by the SON using as input a list including the inter-frequency neighbors reported in measurement reports by the UEs, wherein the another sector-carrier is determined by the SON from the input, thereby performing UE performance based load balancing by directing all UEs to the another sector-carrier.
Ekemark teaches, when an interference level is greater than a predetermined threshold, directing all UEs on the sector-carrier to another sector-carrier controlled by the SON using as input a list including the inter-frequency neighbors reported in measurement reports by the UEs [30]- The selection and IEF handover of the UE may continue until either the determined load balancing amount is reached, or a reassessment of the traffic load balance between the two cells is performed.
[19]- The RBS may consider the IEF neighbor cells frequently occurring in such measurement reports as suitable target cells for load balancing versus the RBS where the UE is connected to (=using as input a list including the inter-frequency neighbors reported in measurement reports by the UEs,)… wherein, for instance, traffic load and cell traffic capacity information are repeatedly exchanged.( =using as input a list)
wherein the another sector-carrier is determined by the SON from the input, thereby performing UE performance based load balancing by directing all UEs to the another sector-carrier. [47]- In a further aspect of the method proposed, the step of determining and selecting the UEs for relocation comprises the further step of selecting the UEs to be relocated from a ranking, with the UEs having the highest signal gain after relocation, up to a determined number of UEs to be relocated to achieve a load balance. See interference affecting cells in [21]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the redirecting of a specific UE frequency of Futaki in view of Ananda to estimating, by the SON controller, a level of interference of an uplink of a sector-carrier based on a count of a sector-carrier aggregate per-resource block list of short-term filtered Received Signal Strength Indicators (RSSIs) above a certain absolute interference threshold; and performing UE performance based load balancing by directing a UE to the another sector carrier as taught by Ekemark to use load balance to allow UE to use sector carrier with least load for performance reasons. Ekemark does not teach SON, Futaki teaches a SON controller.
Regarding claim 14, The computer-readable medium of claim 13 wherein the set of observable data includes aggregate sector- carrier wide statistics (Futaki ‘950 teaches in Col 11, L10-20-Step2-the number of reports, each of which states the neighboring cell channel quality. Futaki in Col11 L50-59 teaches SON server aggregates contents of measurement report)
Regarding claim 15, The computer-readable medium of claim 13 wherein the set of observable data includes per-UE statistics for every UE connected to the sector-carrier (Futaki ‘950 teaches, in Col 12 L44-52, The eNB1 receives the report of the measurement result from UE1 to UEn, and reports to the OAM/SON server.)
Regarding claim 16, The computer-readable medium of claim 13 wherein the set of observable data includes per-UE statistics for every UE on an event trigger basis (Futaki ‘950 teaches in Col11, Line10-23-, reports per neighboring cell stating RSRP, RSRQ)
Regarding claim 17, The computer-readable medium of claim 13 wherein the set of observable data is received on a regular basis (Futaki ‘950 teaches in Col14 L35-45, a counter value (Nmxx) of a neighboring macro cell is greater than or equal to the predetermined preset value, optimization such as macro cell coverage optimization and interference optimization is performed. The counter value indicates a regular pattern in measurement collection as the counter can be programmed to a set value.)
Regarding claim 25, Futaki teaches, A system comprising:
a self-organizing network (SON) controller; Futaki ‘950 teaches in Fig2,30- SON server(= SON controller) receiving data from base station 20 at step 23 ; Fig3 SON server functions.
And a base transceiver station (BTS) in communication with the SON controller; Fig 10 SON communicating with eNB1 and eNB2.
a plurality of sector carriers in communication with the BTS and Fig3 SON server functions and Col9 L20-50 refers to functions implemented by SON server including collecting measurement results(=observable data), filtering results and instructing eNB to engage in optimization process; sector carrier (= carrier frequency in Preferred Modes in Col6 L1-9)
at least one user equipment is in communication with one of the plurality of sector carriers, Fig 2 radio terminal.
wherein the SON receives a set of observable data from a sector-carrier, directs a sector- carrier to redirect a specific lE to a specified (Futaki ‘950 teaches in Fig2, a base station-20 being directed by SON-30 to change radio parameter configuration-24 which includes frequency (=sector carrier) as referred in Preferred Modes in Col6 L1-9.Col 19 L 5-12-It is to be noted that with regard to the frequency band, a system band itself may be narrowed, or only a band in which data is transmitted may be narrowed. (How ever, in this case, a common control signal or the like is sent in a band the same as before the frequency is narrowed) (=directing, by the SON controller, a sector-carrier to redirect a specific UE to a specified frequency)
Futaki does not teach, E-UTRA Absolute Radio Frequency Channel Number (EARFCN);
estimates a level of interference of an uplink of a sector-carrier based on a count of a sector-carrier aggregate per-resource block list of short-term filtered Received Signal Strength Indicators (RSSIs) above a certain absolute interference threshold,
Ananda teaches, E-UTRA Absolute Radio Frequency Channel Number (EARFCN) [68]- At 1404 the channel scan component 142 loops through the ARFCNs/EARFCNs in the frequency band that is being scanned. For each ARFCN/EARFCN,
estimates a level of interference of an uplink of a sector-carrier based on a count of a sector-carrier aggregate per-resource block list of short-term filtered Received Signal Strength Indicators (RSSIs) above a certain absolute interference threshold, [67]- The value of the threshold may then be fine-tuned based on samples received under various interference scenarios to achieve an acceptable probability of false alarm GSM detection [68]- At 1404 the channel scan component 142 loops through the ARFCNs/EARFCNs in the frequency band that is being scanned. For each ARFCN/EARFCN, at 1406 the channel scan component 142 performs a power scan to determine the signal power in that ARFCN/EARFCN. At 1408 the channel scan component 142 compares the signal power in the ARFCN/EARFCN with an RSSI threshold(=interference level).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the redirecting of a specific UE frequency of Futaki to incorporate the teachings of Ananda to include a specified E-UTRA Absolute Radio Frequency Channel Number (EARFCN) estimates a level of interference of an uplink of a sector-carrier based on a count of a sector-carrier aggregate per-resource block list of short-term filtered Received Signal Strength Indicators (RSSIs) above a certain absolute interference threshold,
Doing so would aid in indicating frequency errors in low measurement accuracy conditions.
Futaki in view of Ananda does not teach, when an interference level is greater than a predetermined threshold, directs redirection of UEs on the sector-carrier to another sector-carrier controlled by the SON using as input a list including the inter-frequency neighbors reported in measurement reports by the UEs, wherein the another sector-carrier is determined by the SON from the input, thereby performing UE performance based load balancing by directing all UEs to another sector-carrier having a least load.
Ekemark teaches, when an interference level is greater than a predetermined threshold, directs redirection of UEs on the sector-carrier to another sector-carrier controlled by the SON using as input a list including the inter-frequency neighbors reported in measurement reports by the UEs, [30]- The selection and IEF handover of the UE may continue until either the determined load balancing amount is reached, or a reassessment of the traffic load balance between the two cells is performed.
[19]- The RBS may consider the IEF neighbor cells frequently occurring in such measurement reports as suitable target cells for load balancing versus the RBS where the UE is connected to (=using as input a list including the inter-frequency neighbors reported in measurement reports by the UEs,)… wherein, for instance, traffic load and cell traffic capacity information are repeatedly exchanged.( =using as input a list)
wherein the another sector-carrier is determined by the SON from the input, thereby performing UE performance based load balancing by directing all UEs to another sector-carrier having a least load. [47]- In a further aspect of the method proposed, the step of determining and selecting the UEs for relocation comprises the further step of selecting the UEs to be relocated from a ranking, with the UEs having the highest signal gain after relocation, up to a determined number of UEs to be relocated to achieve a load balance. See interference affecting cells in [21]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the redirecting of a specific UE frequency of Futaki in view of Ananda to when an interference level is greater than a predetermined threshold, directs redirection of UEs on the sector-carrier to another sector-carrier controlled by the SON using as input a list including the inter-frequency neighbors reported in measurement reports by the UEs, wherein the another sector-carrier is determined by the SON from the input, thereby performing UE performance based load balancing by directing all UEs to another sector-carrier having a least load as taught by Ekemark to use load balance to allow UE to use sector carrier with least load for performance reasons. Ekemark does not teach SON, Futaki teaches a SON controller.
Claims 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Futaki et al. (US 9294950B2) in view of Ananda et al. (US20200236173A1) in further view of Ekemark et al. ( US20170367011A1) in further view of Kim et al. (US 2018/0054749 A1) in further view of Panchal (US 2015/0341945 A1 )
Regarding claim 19, Futaki in view Ananda and Ekemark does not teach, the method of claim 1 wherein the particular criteria comprises at least one of; throughput or packet delay of the UE falls below a certain threshold and there exists a candidate sector-carrier with sufficient resources to serve the UE in a manner that the UE achieves its desired throughput or packet delay performance; and
Kim teaches, the method of claim 1 wherein the particular criteria comprises at least one of; throughput or packet delay of the UE falls below a certain threshold and there exists a candidate sector-carrier with sufficient resources to serve the UE in a manner that the UE achieves its desired throughput or packet delay performance; and ([0042]- FIG6 depicts effects of an exemplary handover threshold adjustment for an access node 610 deploying two frequency bands. upon access node 610 determining a load imbalance between the two frequency bands deployed therefrom, access node 610 can perform load balancing operations that encourage end - user wireless devices 635 to request a handover from congested frequency band BAND1 to non-congested frequency band BAND2).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Futaki in view of Ananda and Ekemark, The method of claim 1 wherein the particular criteria comprises at least one of; throughput or packet delay of the UE falls below a certain threshold and there exists a candidate sector-carrier with sufficient resources to serve the UE in a manner that the UE achieves its desired throughput or packet delay performance as taught by Kim to use threshold for using quantitative measurements to switch carriers.
Futaki in view of Ananda Ekemark and Kim does not teach, a Power Head Room reported by the UE falls below a certain threshold while maintaining its desired throughput.
Panchal teaches, a Power Head Room reported by the UE falls below a certain threshold while maintaining its desired throughput (power headroom report for UE 110 indicates that the power headroom is below a threshold or when the estimated path loss on the uplink for UE 110 is above a threshold).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Futaki in view of Ananda and Kim and Ekemark, a Power Head Room reported by the UE falls below a certain threshold while maintaining its desired throughput as taught by Panchal to use power headroom threshold to redirect UE towards a frequency with better power headroom measurements especially in mobile applications.
Regarding claim 20, Futaki in view Ananda and Ekemark does not teach, The system of claim 7 wherein the particular criteria comprises at least one of; throughput or packet delay of the UE falls below a certain threshold and there exists a candidate sector-carrier with sufficient resources to serve the UE in a manner that the UE achieves its desired throughput or packet delay performance; and a Power Head Room reported by the UE falls below a certain threshold while maintaining its desired throughput.
Kim teaches, The system of claim 7 wherein the particular criteria comprises at least one of ; throughput or packet delay of the UE falls below a certain threshold and there exists a candidate sector-carrier with sufficient resources to serve the UE in a manner that the UE achieves its desired throughput or packet delay performance and ([0042]- FIG6 depicts effects of an exemplary handover threshold adjustment for an access node 610 deploying two frequency bands. upon access node 610 determining a load imbalance between the two frequency bands deployed therefrom, access node 610 can perform load balancing operations that encourage end - user wireless devices 635 to request a handover from congested frequency band BAND1 to non-congested frequency band BAND2).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Futaki in view of Ananda and Ekemark, The system of claim 7 wherein the particular criteria comprises at least one of; throughput or packet delay of the UE falls below a certain threshold and there exists a candidate sector-carrier with sufficient resources to serve the UE in a manner that the UE achieves its desired throughput or packet delay performance as taught by Kim to use threshold for using quantitative measurements to switch carriers.
Futaki in view of Ananda and Ekemark and Kim does not teach, a Power Head Room reported by the UE falls below a certain threshold while maintaining its desired throughput.
Panchal teaches, a Power Head Room reported by the UE falls below a certain threshold while maintaining its desired throughput (power headroom report for UE 110 indicates that the power headroom is below a threshold or when the estimated path loss on the uplink for UE 110 is above a threshold).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Futaki in view of Ananda and Ekemark and Kim, a Power Head Room reported by the UE falls below a certain threshold while maintaining its desired throughput as taught by Panchal to use power headroom threshold to redirect UE towards a frequency with better power headroom measurements especially in mobile applications.
Regarding claim 21, Futaki in view Ananda and Ekemark does not teach, The computer readable medium of claim 13 wherein the particular criteria comprises at least one of; throughput or packet delay of the UE falls below a certain threshold and there exists a candidate sector-carrier with sufficient resources to serve the UE in a manner that the UE achieves its desired throughput or packet delay performance; and a Power Head Room reported by the UE falls below a certain threshold while maintaining its desired throughput.
Kim teaches, The computer readable medium of claim 13 wherein the particular criteria comprises at least one of a Spectral efficiency of UE falls below a certain threshold; throughput or packet delay of the UE falls below a certain threshold and there exists a candidate sector-carrier with sufficient resources to serve the UE in a manner that the UE achieves its desired throughput or packet delay performance; and ([0042]- FIG6 depicts effects of an exemplary handover threshold adjustment for an access node 610 deploying two frequency bands. upon access node 610 determining a load imbalance between the two frequency bands deployed therefrom, access node 610 can perform load balancing operations that encourage end - user wireless devices 635 to request a handover from congested frequency band BAND1 to non-congested frequency band BAND2).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Futaki in view of Ananda and Ekemark , The computer readable medium of claim 13 wherein the particular criteria comprises at least one of a Spectral efficiency of UE falls below a certain threshold; throughput or packet delay of the UE falls below a certain threshold and there exists a candidate sector-carrier with sufficient resources to serve the UE in a manner that the UE achieves its desired throughput or packet delay performance; and as taught by Kim to use threshold for using quantitative measurements to switch carriers.
Futaki in view of Ananda ,Ekemark and Kim does not teach, a Power Head Room reported by the UE falls below a certain threshold while maintaining its desired throughput.
Panchal teaches, a Power Head Room reported by the UE falls below a certain threshold while maintaining its desired throughput (power headroom report for UE 110 indicates that the power headroom is below a threshold or when the estimated path loss on the uplink for UE 110 is above a threshold).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Futaki in view of Ananda and Ekemark and Kim, a Power Head Room reported by the UE falls below a certain threshold while maintaining its desired throughput as taught by Panchal to use power headroom threshold to redirect UE towards a frequency with better power headroom measurements especially in mobile applications.
Claim 23,24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Futaki (US 9294950 B2) in view of Ananda, (hereinafter, "Ananda '840") in further view of Ekemark et al. ( WO2017054288A1) in further view of Panchal (US 2015/0341945 A1 )03
Regarding claim 23, Futaki in view Ananda and Ekemark does not teach, The system of claim 7, wherein the SON estimates the interference level by detecting when a spectral efficiency of a UE falls below a certain threshold.
Panchal teaches, The system of claim 7, wherein the SON estimates the interference level by detecting when a spectral efficiency of a UE falls below a certain threshold. [19]- If the base station determines that the downlink quality level of the secondary component carrier is lower than a quality level threshold (e.g., higher than a maximum rBLER=spectral efficiency), the base station(=SON) may de-activate the secondary component carrier for UE 110. The base station may perform this process of monitoring the quality level, and de-activating the secondary component carrier if the downlink quality level drops below the quality level threshold, for each secondary component carrier activated for UE 110.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Futaki in view Ananda and Ekemark, The system of claim 7, wherein the SON estimates the interference level by detecting when a spectral efficiency of a UE falls below a certain threshold as taught by Madan to use power headroom threshold to redirect UE towards a frequency with better power headroom measurements especially in mobile applications.[38]- adding the particular to a restriction set for a particular resource set if the predicted performance for the particular UE is less than the performance metric threshold.
Regarding claim 24, Futaki in view Ananda and Ekemark does not teach, The computer readable medium of claim 13, wherein the instructions further comprise estimating the interference level by detecting when a spectral efficiency of a UE falls below a certain threshold
Panchal teaches, The computer readable medium of claim 13, wherein the instructions further comprise estimating the interference level by detecting when a spectral efficiency of a UE falls below a certain threshold.[38] eNodeB circuit performing functions as in [19]- If the base station determines that the downlink quality level of the secondary component carrier is lower than a quality level threshold (e.g., higher than a maximum rBLER=spectral efficiency), the base station(=SON) may de-activate the secondary component carrier for UE 110. The base station may perform this process of monitoring the quality level, and de-activating the secondary component carrier if the downlink quality level drops below the quality level threshold, for each secondary component carrier activated for UE 110.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Futaki in view Ananda and Ekemark, The computer readable medium of claim 13, wherein the instructions further comprise estimating the interference level by detecting when a spectral efficiency of a UE falls below a certain threshold as taught by Panchal to use power headroom threshold to redirect UE towards a frequency with better power headroom measurements especially in mobile applications.[38]- adding the particular to a restriction set for a particular resource set if the predicted performance for the particular UE is less than the performance metric threshold.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Futaki (US 9294950 B2) in view of Ananda, (hereinafter, "Ananda '840") in further view of Ekemark et al. ( WO2017054288A1) in further view of Madan et al. (US20180103486A1)
Regarding claim 22, Futaki in view of Ananda and Ekemark does not teach, The method of claim 1, further comprising estimating the interference level by detecting when a spectral efficiency of a UE falls below a certain threshold
Madan teaches, the method of claim 1, further comprising estimating the interference level by detecting when a spectral efficiency of a UE falls below a certain threshold.[36]-[39] [37]-the performance metric threshold can be associated with one of: a signal-to-interference-plus-noise (SINR) threshold; and an average spectral efficiency threshold.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Futaki in view Ananda and Ekemark, The method of claim 1, further comprising estimating the interference level by detecting when a spectral efficiency of a UE falls below a certain threshold as taught by Madan to use power headroom threshold to redirect UE towards a frequency with better power headroom measurements especially in mobile applications.[38]- adding the particular to a restriction set for a particular resource set if the predicted performance for the particular UE is less than the performance metric threshold.
Conclusion
/ANINDITA SEN/ Examiner, Art Unit 4132
/JOSEPH E AVELLINO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2478