DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-18 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant' s arguments regarding the rejections of claims 1-18 under 35 U.S.C. 112b have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments regarding the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections of claims 1-18 are moot in light of the references being applied in the current rejection.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDSs filed on 09/08/2025 and 11/28/2025 have been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Surdu (US 10503237 B2), in view of Schneider Electric (PowerChute Network Shutdown v4.2 User Guide hereinafter Schneider), and further in view of Maki et al. (US 20170293509 A1 hereinafter Maki).
Surdu and Schneider were cited in a previous office action.
As per claim 1, Surdu teaches the invention substantially as claimed including an information processing device, comprising; a control unit comprising a circuit or a processor configured with instructions to perform operations comprising managing shutdown of a plurality of guest Operating Systems (OSs) that operate on a virtual OS (Fig. 2; claim 1 A computing system with multiple hardware-isolated virtual machines (VMs) with a minimal overhead requirements comprising: a. a physical computing system comprising an input/output memory management unit and a Central Processing Unit (CPU) comprising hardware virtualization and security extensions; and b. a bare-metal hypervisor with three or more VMs running…wherein the bare-metal hypervisor, during the computing system shutdown, initiates shutdown of the one foreground VM and after shutdown completion of the one foreground VM, sequentially initiates shutdown of the active background VM; Col. 4 lines 60-61 Preferred embodiments of the present invention use a specialized hypervisor and virtualization extension of the hardware platform; Col.3 lines 22-26 FIG. 1 depicts a general model of the present invention. Preferred embodiments of the present invention are based on the bare-metal mobile hypervisor (hypervisor) 102 which was also designed for use on mobile devices with limited processing power);
wherein the control unit is configured with the instructions such that managing shutdown of the plurality of guest OSs comprises: starting to execute shutdown of a first guest OS of the plurality of guest OSs according to the set stoppage priority (claim 1 A computing system with multiple hardware-isolated virtual machines (VMs) with a minimal overhead requirements comprising: a. a physical computing system comprising an input/output memory management unit and a Central Processing Unit (CPU) comprising hardware virtualization and security extensions…wherein the bare-metal hypervisor, during the computing system shutdown, initiates shutdown of the one foreground VM and after shutdown completion of the one foreground VM, sequentially initiates shutdown of the active background VM; Col. 4 lines 60-61 Preferred embodiments of the present invention use a specialized hypervisor and virtualization extension of the hardware platform); and
starting to execute shutdown of a second guest OS of the plurality of guest OSs according to the set stoppage priority by indicating that shutdown of the first guest OS of the plurality of guest OSs is completed (claim 1 initiates shutdown of the one foreground VM and after shutdown completion of the one foreground VM, sequentially initiates shutdown of the active background VM).
Surdu fails to teach display control unit comprising a display configured to display a stoppage priority setting screen for setting a stoppage priority indicating an order for shutting down the plurality of guest OSs; starting to execute shutdown of a second guest OS of the plurality of guest OSs according to the set stoppage priority by acquiring information indicating that shutdown of the first guest OS of the plurality of guest OSs is completed.
However, Schneider teaches display control unit comprising a display configured to display a stoppage priority setting screen for setting a stoppage priority indicating an order for shutting down the plurality of guest OSs (
; pg. 39 paragraphs 1-2 You can assign a VM to a priority group by clicking on a VM on the left hand side and dragging it to a priority group on the right… Move VMs between priority groups by dragging them from one group to another. To remove a VM from a priority group, select the VM and click the Remove button. Any VM in the inventory that is not assigned to a priority group is considered to be Un-prioritized; pg. 43 For VM Shutdown the order in which priority groups are processed is:
).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have combined Surdu with the teachings of Schneider so that a user can easily set up VM shutdown priority.
Surdu and Schneider fail to teach starting to execute shutdown of a second guest OS of the plurality of guest OSs according to the set stoppage priority by acquiring information indicating that shutdown of the first guest OS of the plurality of guest OSs is completed.
However, Maki teaches starting to execute shutdown of a second guest OS of the plurality of guest OSs according to the set stoppage priority by acquiring information indicating that shutdown of the first guest OS of the plurality of guest OSs is completed (Fig. 4; [0041] the real-time OS instructs the general-purpose OS to shut down. Then, when a predetermined condition including receipt of a notification of shutdown completion from the general-purpose OS is satisfied, the shutdown of the real-time OS itself is completed; [0040] the real-time OS takes the initiative to shut down the general-purpose OS and shut down the real-time OS itself. In general, the data handled by the real-time OS has higher priority than the data handled by the general-purpose OS, so the real-time OS plays a leading role to ensure that the data of higher priority is protected; [0039] The real-time OS and the general-purpose OS shown in FIG. 1 are executed under a virtual environment that uses a hypervisor; [0066] the hypervisor 112 is used to realize the virtualization environment for executing a plurality of different OSs; The real-time OS and general-purpose OS are guest OSs because they run on a hypervisor.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have combined Surdu and Schneider with the teachings of Maki for reliable shutdown (see Maki [0171] Thus, the possibility of destroying the data can be reduced and the shutdown process can be realized reliably.).
As per claim 2, Surdu, Schneider, and Maki teach the information processing device according to claim 1. Surdu teaches wherein the control unit is configured with the instructions to perform operations further comprising monitoring the statuses of the plurality of guest OSs and controlling the plurality of guest OSs, and such that managing shutdown of the plurality of guest OSs further comprises: acquiring status information of each of the monitored plurality of guest OSs; and executing shutdown of the plurality of guest OSs (Figs. 2, 7 and 9; Col. 7 lines 46-47 In case a new event is detected, the VM notifies 907 the hypervisor; claim 1 A computing system with multiple hardware-isolated virtual machines (VMs) with a minimal overhead requirements comprising: a. a physical computing system comprising an input/output memory management unit and a Central Processing Unit (CPU) comprising hardware virtualization and security extensions; and b. a bare-metal hypervisor with three or more VMs running… events are detected in the one or more background VMs…wherein the bare-metal hypervisor, during the computing system shutdown, initiates shutdown of the one foreground VM and after shutdown completion of the one foreground VM, sequentially initiates shutdown of the active background VM).
As per claim 3, Surdu, Schneider, and Maki teach the information processing device according to claim 1. Surdu teaches wherein the control unit is configured with the instructions such that shutting down the information processing device comprises, in response to all of the plurality of guest OSs being shut down, shutting down the information processing device via a control device that controls the information processing device (Figs. 2 and 7; Col. 7 lines 29-30 After successful sleep/shutdown of all VMs, the device is switched to sleep mode or switched off 706; claim 1 wherein the bare-metal hypervisor… after shutdown completion in the three or more VMs, shuts off the computing system; Col. 4 lines 60-61 Preferred embodiments of the present invention use a specialized hypervisor and virtualization extension of the hardware platform).
Additionally, Schneider teaches in response to all of the plurality of guest OSs being shut down, shutting down an uninterruptible power supply device connected to the information processing device (pg. 98 2. PowerChute begins to shut down the VMs on VMware hosts A and B in the order in which they are prioritized…3. As VM Shutdown duration elapses, PowerChute shuts down the vApp, if configured. 4. PowerChute runs the shutdown command file and issues a command to turn off the UPS; pg. 98 In this example, there are two VMware hosts, a vCenter Server and a storage array being powered by a single UPS).
As per claim 4, Surdu, Schneider, and Maki teach the information processing device according to claim 1. Surdu teaches wherein the control unit is configured to perform operations in a mode in which some guest OSs of the plurality of guest OSs that are operating are shut down when it is determined that the some guest OSs are operating (Fig. 7; claim 1 A computing system with multiple hardware-isolated virtual machines (VMs) with a minimal overhead requirements comprising: a. a physical computing system comprising an input/output memory management unit and a Central Processing Unit (CPU) comprising hardware virtualization and security extensions; and b. a bare-metal hypervisor with three or more VMs running…wherein the bare-metal hypervisor, during the computing system shutdown, initiates shutdown of the one foreground VM and after shutdown completion of the one foreground VM, sequentially initiates shutdown of the active background VM).
Additionally, Schneider teaches some guest OSs of the plurality of guest OSs that are operating are shut down when it is determined that the some guest OSs are operating and an uninterruptible power supply device connected to the information processing device is performing a backup operation (pg. 98 1. The UPS has been running on Battery power for x number of seconds. PowerChute starts a maintenance mode task on each protected host. 2. PowerChute begins to shut down the VMs on VMware hosts A and B in the order in which they are prioritized; pg. 98 In this example, there are two VMware hosts, a vCenter Server and a storage array being powered by a single UPS; The uninterruptible power supply device (UPS) switches to battery power and switching to battery power is equivalent to performing a backup operation.).
As per claim 5, Surdu, Schneider, and Maki teach the information processing device according to claim 1.
Additionally, Schneider teaches wherein the control unit is configured with the instructions to perform operations further comprising generating screen data for displaying a shutdown time of each guest OS on the stoppage priority setting screen (pg. 41 Figure
; pg. 40 VM Shutdown duration sets the time allowed for all VMs in the Priority Group to shut down gracefully; pg. 39 Figure
).
As per claim 6, Surdu, Schneider, and Maki teach the information processing device according to claim 5. Schneider teaches wherein the screen data comprises: an accumulated time comprising the shutdown time of each guest OS; an indication whether or not each guest OS has been successfully shut down; and a time limit of the accumulated time (pg. 41 Figure
; pg. 40 VM Shutdown duration sets the time allowed for all VMs in the Priority Group to shut down gracefully; pg. 42 For example, if VM Shutdown durations set on the VM Prioritization screen are as follows: • High: 90 seconds • Medium: 60 Seconds • Low: 60 Seconds • Un-prioritized: 60 seconds then the VM Shutdown duration on the Virtualization Settings page is automatically set to: 90 + 60 + 60 + 60 = 270 seconds
; pg. 50
; This figure shows the powering off of virtual machines is completed.).
As per claim 7, it is a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium claim of claim 1, so it is rejected for similar reasons. Additionally, Surdu teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a management program to be executed on a virtual Operating System (OS) to be executed on at least one information processing device, the management program causing the at least one information processing device to perform operations comprising a management operation of managing shutdown of a plurality of guest OSs that operate on the virtual OS (Col. 2 lines 61-64 Preferred embodiments of the present invention support generic VMs with different operating systems inside and is focused on providing an effective type-1 (bare-metal) virtualization solution for mobile devices; Col. 3 lines 23-26 Preferred embodiments of the present invention are based on the bare-metal mobile hypervisor (hypervisor) 102 which was also designed for use on mobile devices; claim 1 A computing system with multiple hardware-isolated virtual machines (VMs) with a minimal overhead requirements comprising: a. a physical computing system comprising an input/output memory management unit and a Central Processing Unit (CPU) comprising hardware virtualization and security extensions; and b. a bare-metal hypervisor with three or more VMs running generic operating systems… wherein the bare-metal hypervisor, during the computing system shutdown, initiates shutdown of the one foreground VM and after shutdown completion of the one foreground VM, sequentially initiates shutdown of the active background VM; A mobile device includes a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium with a program.)
As per claim 8, it is an information processing system claim of claim 1, so it is rejected for similar reasons. Additionally, Surdu teaches an information processing system that comprises a plurality of information processing devices, wherein each of the plurality of information processing devices comprises a control unit (abstract the invention provides bare-metal hypervisor use and security but without the limitations that make such hypervisors impractical, inefficient and inconvenient for use in mobile devices due to the device's limited CPU and battery power capacity.).
As per claim 9, Surdu, Schneider, and Maki teach the information processing device according to claim 1. Maki teaches wherein the control unit is configured with the instructions to perform operations such that managing shutdown of the plurality of guest OSs comprises: in response to acquiring information indicating that shutdown of the first guest OS of the plurality of guest OSs is completed before a time-out time for forced shutdown of the first guest OS passes, starting to execute shutdown of a second guest OS without waiting for the time-out time to pass (Figs. 5, 7, and 9; [0157] the real-time OS 114 may also instruct a plurality of OSs or processes executed by the control device 100 to carry out the shutdown process; [0084] After outputting the shutdown request to the general-purpose OS 116 (sequence SQ110), the real-time OS 114 starts the power cutoff process 2 (sequence SQ124) with the following as a trigger: the shutdown process in the general-purpose OS 116 has been completed or the time that has passed since the output of the shutdown request has exceeded a timeout time Tw. In this way, the real-time OS 114 monitors the time that has passed since the shutdown request is outputted to the general-purpose OS 116 (sequence SQ110). That is, basically the real-time OS 114 starts the power cutoff process 2 with receipt of the notification of shutdown completion from the general-purpose OS as a trigger; [0041] the real-time OS instructs the general-purpose OS to shut down. Then, when a predetermined condition including receipt of a notification of shutdown completion from the general-purpose OS is satisfied, the shutdown of the real-time OS itself is completed; [0123] Then, the processor 102 confirms the state of the general-purpose OS 116 and determines whether the shutdown in the general-purpose OS 116 has been completed (Step S14). If the shutdown in the general-purpose OS 116 is not completed (NO in Step S14), the processor 102 determines whether the time that has passed since the shutdown request is outputted has reached the timeout time Tw (Step S16). If the time that has passed since the shutdown request is outputted does not reach the timeout time Tw (NO in Step S16), the processes in and after Step S14 are repeated; [0124] If the shutdown in the general-purpose OS 116 has been completed (YES in Step S14), the processor 102 executes the power cutoff process 2 (Step S20) and outputs the power supply stop permission to the uninterruptible power supply device 200; [0110] when the timeout time Tw has exceeded after the real-time OS 114 outputs the shutdown request to the general-purpose OS 116, the real-time OS 114 forcibly shuts down the general-purpose OS 116).
As per claim 10, Surdu, Schneider, and Maki teach the information processing device according to claim 9. Maki teaches wherein the control unit is configured with the instructions to perform operations such that managing shutdown of the plurality of guest OSs comprises: starting to execute forced shutdown of the first guest OS if the time-out time passes before shutdown of the first guest OS is completed ([0157] the real-time OS 114 may also instruct a plurality of OSs or processes executed by the control device 100 to carry out the shutdown process; [0125] Moreover, if the time that has passed since the shutdown request is outputted has reached the timeout time Tw (YES in Step S16), the processor 102 forcibly shuts down the general-purpose OS 116 (Step S18)).
As per claim 11, Surdu, Schneider, and Maki teach the information processing device according to claim 1.
Additionally, Schneider teaches wherein the display control unit is configured to acquire the stoppage situations of guest OSs and display a stoppage progress chart of guest OSs on the stoppage priority setting screen (pg. 39 Figure
;
pg. 44 Figure
;
pg. 50 Figure
; This figure shows the completion of powering off virtual machines. )
As per claim 12, Surdu, Schneider, and Maki teach the information processing system according to claim 8. Surdu teaches wherein the at least one information processing device provide a notification to the control device that all of the guest OSs have stopped operation, and the control device is configured to shut down the information processing devices (Fig. 7; claim 1 wherein the bare-metal hypervisor… after shutdown completion in the three or more VMs, shuts off the computing system; Col. 5 lines 37 provides desired notifications delivery for all VMs; Col. 7 lines 29-30 After successful sleep/shutdown of all VMs, the device is switched to sleep mode or switched off 706).
Additionally, Schneider teaches further comprising: an uninterruptible power supply device connected to the information processing devices; and a control device controlling the information processing devices and the uninterruptible power supply device, and the control device is configured to shut down the information processing devices and the uninterruptible power supply device upon receiving the notification from the at least one information processing device that all of guest OSs have stopped operation (pg. 16 PowerChute will still be able to connect directly to the VMware hosts using this Active Directory or shared local user account to shut down VMs and the hosts themselves; pg. 98 In this example, there are two VMware hosts, a vCenter Server and a storage array being powered by a single UPS
; pg. 98 2. PowerChute begins to shut down the VMs on VMware hosts A and B in the order in which they are prioritized…3. As VM Shutdown duration elapses, PowerChute shuts down the vApp, if configured. 4. PowerChute runs the shutdown command file and issues a command to turn off the UPS, if configured. 5. After the shutdown command file duration has elapsed, PowerChute shuts down the VMware hosts).
As per claim 14, Surdu, Schneider, and Maki teach the information processing device according to claim 1. Surdu teaches wherein the control unit is configured with the instructions such that managing shutdown of the plurality of guest OSs further comprises executing shutdown of the plurality of guest OSs sequentially according to the set stoppage priority indicating the order of starting to execute shutdown of the plurality of guest OSs (Fig. 7; claim 1 A computing system with multiple hardware-isolated virtual machines (VMs) with a minimal overhead requirements comprising: a. a physical computing system comprising an input/output memory management unit and a Central Processing Unit (CPU) comprising hardware virtualization and security extensions; and b. a bare-metal hypervisor with three or more VMs running…wherein the bare-metal hypervisor, during the computing system shutdown, initiates shutdown of the one foreground VM and after shutdown completion of the one foreground VM, sequentially initiates shutdown of the active background VM).
As per claim 15, Surdu, Schneider, and Maki the information processing device according to claim 4. Surdu teaches wherein the control unit is configured with the instructions such that managing shutdown of the plurality of guest OSs further comprises executing shutdown of the plurality of guest OSs in a test mode in which the plurality of guest OSs are shut down according to a predetermined order (Fig. 7; claim 1 A computing system with multiple hardware-isolated virtual machines (VMs) with a minimal overhead requirements comprising: a. a physical computing system comprising an input/output memory management unit and a Central Processing Unit (CPU) comprising hardware virtualization and security extensions; and b. a bare-metal hypervisor with three or more VMs running…wherein the bare-metal hypervisor, during the computing system shutdown, initiates shutdown of the one foreground VM and after shutdown completion of the one foreground VM, sequentially initiates shutdown of the active background VM).
Additionally, Schneider teaches the plurality of guest OSs are shut down according to a predetermined order upon receiving an instruction given by a user operation to start the test mode (pg. 39 Figure
; pg. 39 paragraphs 1-2 You can assign a VM to a priority group by clicking on a VM on the left hand side and dragging it to a priority group on the right… Move VMs between priority groups by dragging them from one group to another. To remove a VM from a priority group, select the VM and click the Remove button. Any VM in the inventory that is not assigned to a priority group is considered to be Un-prioritized; pg. 43 For VM Shutdown the order in which priority groups are processed is:
).
As per claim 16, Surdu, Schneider, and Maki teach the information processing device according to claim 15.
Additionally, Schneider teaches wherein the control unit is configured with the instructions to perform operations further comprising generating screen data for displaying a shutdown time of each guest OS on the stoppage priority setting screen in the test mode (pg. 41 Figure
; pg. 40 VM Shutdown duration sets the time allowed for all VMs in the Priority Group to shut down gracefully; pg. 42 For example, if VM Shutdown durations set on the VM Prioritization screen are as follows: • High: 90 seconds • Medium: 60 Seconds • Low: 60 Seconds • Un-prioritized: 60 seconds; pg. 39 Figure
).
As per claim 17, Surdu, Schneider, and Maki teach the information processing device according to claim 16. Schneider teaches wherein the screen data comprises: an accumulated time comprising the shutdown time of each guest OS; an indication whether or not each guest OS has been successfully shut down; and a time limit of the accumulated time (pg. 41 Figure
; pg. 40 VM Shutdown duration sets the time allowed for all VMs in the Priority Group to shut down gracefully; pg. 42 For example, if VM Shutdown durations set on the VM Prioritization screen are as follows: • High: 90 seconds • Medium: 60 Seconds • Low: 60 Seconds • Un-prioritized: 60 seconds then the VM Shutdown duration on the Virtualization Settings page is automatically set to: 90 + 60 + 60 + 60 = 270 seconds
; pg. 50
; This figure shows the powering off of virtual machines is completed.).
As per claim 18, Surdu, Schneider, and Maki teach the information processing device according to claim 15.
Additionally, Schneider teaches wherein the display control unit is configured to acquire the stoppage situations of guest OSs and display a stoppage progress chart of guest OSs on the stoppage priority setting screen (pg. 39 Figure
;
pg. 44 Figure
;
pg. 50 Figure
; This figure shows the completion of powering off virtual machines.).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Surdu, Schneider, and Maki, as applied to claim 8 above, in view of Nishiguchi et al. (US 20100235835 A1 hereinafter Nishiguchi).
Nishiguchi was cited in a previous office action.
As per claim 13, Surdu, Schneider, and Maki teach the information processing system according to claim 8.
Surdu, Schneider, and Maki fail to teach wherein the control device is configured to decouple a virtual storage constituted by a plurality of physical storage devices of the information processing devices upon receiving a notification saying that all of the guest OSs have stopped operation from at least one the plurality of information processing device.
However, Nishiguchi teaches wherein the control device is configured to decouple a virtual storage constituted by a plurality of physical storage devices of the information processing devices upon receiving a notification saying that all of the guest OSs have stopped operation from at least one the plurality of information processing device ([0062] the VM 2 made up of at least one VM 2n, where n is an integer not less than 1; [0095] the RAM 12 used by the suspended target VM 2 is released (at operation S122); [0128] When the suspending unit 176 receives the completion information, the hardware resource 10 such as the RAM 12 used by the suspended target VM 2 is released (at operation S239); [0077] denote virtual addresses in the RAM 12 used by the VM 21; [0062] The plurality of VMs 21, 22, and 23, . . . are operating on the physical machine 1; [0220] The physical machine 1 depicted FIG. 50 downloads the program for storing the use area to save the information and the like from another server computer).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have combined Surdu, Schneider, and Maki with the teachings of Nishiguchi so resources can be reused (see Nishiguchi [0072] The area of the RAM 12 used by the VM 21 is released after the suspending).
Conclusion
/H.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2195
/Aimee Li/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2195