earNotice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A in the reply filed on 7/26/24 is acknowledged.
Claims 14-25,28-43 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/26/24.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/13/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues Quinn fails to provide the claimed inner core and arms, wherein an arm is configured to rotate relative to another arm about the core. Applicant compares Figure 2 of Quinn and Figure 22A, and notes the arms of Applicant’s Figure 22A are free at one end. Examiner is not persuaded because the claims, as broadly defined, are silent as to the ends of the arms being fixed or free. Further Applicant has not provided arguments or evidence to suggest the arms of Quinn are not rotatable as claimed. Examiner maintains arms 38 are inherently rotatable as claimed since they are at least resiliently deformable (paragraph 0196).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10,13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Quinn (US Patent Publication 2006/0178700.
Regarding claim 1 Quinn discloses in Figures 2-9 a device (10) for assisting with the function of a tricuspid valve (Paragraph [0002]) comprising an inner core/shaft (28), a flow optimizer (20) comprising a frame with a plurality of radially and distally extending arms (22), a covering on the arms (34), and an anchoring mechanism with resilient arms extending radially away from the shaft and capable of rotation (38) and locking. (Paragraph 0196)
Regarding claim 2 Quinn further discloses the covering is capable of collapse (Paragraph [0205]).
Regarding claims 3 Quinn further discloses the frame has a conical shape (Figure 2).
Regarding claim 4,5,6 Quinn further discloses a plurality of layers (Paragraph [0208]).
Quinn further discloses the anchoring arms are fully rotatable (Paragraph [0072]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WILLIAM H MATTHEWS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774