DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 7 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the assay". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, and 7-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Radhakrishnan (US 20210106231 A1) in view of Yang (US 20180088053 A1).
With regards to claim 1, Radhakrishnan discloses a device and method for detection and classification comprising:
determining an identity or characteristic of a chemical/biological species (Abstract) by combining [0044-0045]:
a first electromagnetic radiation signal comprising at least a steady-state photon emission event [0053-0054], and a second electromagnetic radiation signal comprising at least a non-steady-state photon emission event [0053-0054]. Radhakrishnan does not teach the second electromagnetic radiation signal comprising at least a non-steady-state photon emission event having a delayed emission of greater than or equal to 10 ns. Yang teaches a method for sensing applications comprising selecting an emissive species chosen for long exited-state lifetimes, including delayed fluorescence emissions of at least 10 ns, to provide high resolution imaging and/or quantitative sensing thus enabling improved discrimination in biological sensing (Abstract) [0005, 0010]. It would have been well known, obvious, and predictably suitable to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Radhakrishnan with the teachings of Yang in view of the recited benefits.
With regards to claims 3 and 4, Radhakrishnan does not specifically teach the claimed excited state lifetimes. Nevertheless, those skilled in the art recognize that the excited state lifetimes are generally understood to depend upon the species under analysis. As such, it would have been well known, obvious, and predictably suitable to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Kubota with the claimed excited state lifetimes in order to analyze a desired species.
With regards to claim 7, Radhakrishnan discloses a system, comprising:
an excitation component 108 configured to excite a first emissive species such that the first emissive species produces a detectable steady-state photon emission signal [0053-0055];
the excitation component is configured to excite a second emissive species such that the second emissive species produces a detectable non-steady-state photon emission signal [0053-0055]; and
a sensor 114 configured to detect at least a portion of the detectable steady-state photon emission signal and at least a portion of the detectable non-steady-state emission signal [0053-0057]. Radhakrishnan does not teach the second electromagnetic radiation signal comprising at least a non-steady-state photon emission event having a delayed emission of greater than or equal to 10 ns. Yang teaches a method for sensing applications comprising selecting an emissive species chosen for long exited-state lifetimes, including delayed fluorescence emissions of at least 10 ns, to provide high resolution imaging and/or quantitative sensing thus enabling improved discrimination in biological sensing (Abstract) [0005, 0010]. It would have been well known, obvious, and predictably suitable to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Radhakrishnan with the teachings of Yang in view of the recited benefits.
With regards to claim 8, Radhakrishnan discloses an electronic hardware component configured to combine the detectable steady-state emission and the detectable non-steady-state emission into a determinable signal [0044-0045].
With regards to claim 9, Radhakrishnan discloses wherein the detectable steady-state emission and/or the detectable non-steady-state emission correspond to a characteristic of the first emissive species and/or the second emissive species [0044-0045].
With regards to claim 10, Radhakrishnan discloses wherein the determinable signal corresponds to a quantity of a target biological species [0037, 0072].
With regards to claim 11, Radhakrishnan discloses wherein at least one emission is selected from the group consisting of subtractive color, reflected/scattered color, chemiluminescence, prompt-fluorescence, delayed-fluorescence, prompt-phosphorescence, or delayed-phosphorescence [0042-0054].
With regards to claims 12-17, Radhakrishnan does not teach the claimed signals. Nevertheless, the claimed signals were generally known in the art and considered obvious design choices depending upon the particular needs of the application. It would have been well known, obvious, and predictably suitable to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Radhakrishnan with the claimed signals in order to perform a desired particle analysis.
With regards to claim 18, Radhakrishnan discloses wherein at least one signal is collected in a steady-state mode and at least one other signal is collected using a time synchronized light source [0042-0044, 0053-0055].
With regards to claim 19, Radhakrishnan discloses wherein at least one signal is collected when a time synchronized electromagnetic radiation source is off and at least another signal is collected when a time synchronized electromagnetic radiation source is on [0049, 0052-0055].
With regards to claim 20, Radhakrishnan discloses wherein at least one signal is collected while the assay is illuminated by one or more LED light sources [0101].
With regards to claim 21, Radhakrishnan discloses wherein the excitation component is a source of electromagnetic radiation [0042].
With regards to claim 22, Radhakrishnan discloses wherein the source of electromagnetic radiation comprises a flash from a smartphone or digital camera [0050].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/MARCUS H TANINGCO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884