DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-7 have been amended.
Claims 1-10 are pending and examined as follows:
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the 1st and 2nd voltage sensors being integrated into their respective welding type power source must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,2,4,5 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hsu et al (US2018/0264578).
With regards to claim 1, Hsu et al discloses a welding-type system (welding type power supply 100, Fig. 1), comprising: first sensors configured to measure a plurality of voltages and currents applied to a welding-type process (current sensor 138 and voltage sensor 140 applied to a welding type power supply 100, Fig. 1) by a first welding-type power source (power supply 100 has two separate power supplies having a primary power supply 108 and power convertor 110, Fig. 1); second sensors configured to measure a plurality of voltages and currents applied to the welding-type process (current sensor 138 and voltage sensor 140 applied to a welding type power supply 100, Fig. 1 )by a second welding-type power source (power supply 100 has two separate power supplies having a primary power supply 108 and power convertor 110, Fig. 1); a processor (processor 120, Fig. 1); and memory comprising machine readable instructions which, when executed (memory devices 124, Fig. 1), cause the processor to: collect a plurality of average instantaneous power measurements, via the first and the second sensors, of power output by a the first and second welding-type power sources associated with the welding-type process (to calculate average instantaneous power values for a time period, the controller 112 calculates individual instantaneous power values from corresponding voltage measurements and current measurements from current sensor 138 and voltage sensor 140 applied to the welding type power supply 100,paragraph 0023, lines 1-2); and sum the average instantaneous power measurements for from the first sensors and the second sensors to determine a total power input to the welding-type process (the controller 112 calculates a total average instantaneous power input (or heat input) to the weld by summing the average instantaneous power input values for the discrete time periods for the duration of the weld, paragraph 0024, lines 1-2).
With regards to claim 2, Hsu et al discloses the first welding-type power source comprising a first power conversion circuitry configured to output welding-type power (power converter 110 outputs a welding power through weld cable 118 and 126, Fig. 1), the processor configured to collect at least one of the average instantaneous power measurements from the welding-type power to the welding-type process (the controller 112 calculates a total average instantaneous power to a weld and the duration of the weld and outputs both the total average instantaneous power and the duration of the welding operation, paragraph 0021, lines 1-2) via the first sensors (to calculate average instantaneous power values for a time period, the controller 112 calculates individual instantaneous power values from corresponding voltage measurements and current measurements from current sensor 138 and voltage sensor 140 applied to the welding type power supply 100,paragraph 0023, lines 1-2).
With regards to claim 4, Hsu et al discloses wherein the first sensors comprise: a first voltage sensor configured to measure a first voltage output by the first welding-type power source(voltage sensor 140 configured to measure voltage on the weld cable 126, Fig. 1); and a first current sensor configured to measure a first current output by the first welding-type power sources (current sensor 138 configured to measure current between weld cable 118 and 126, Fig. 1), wherein the instructions are configured to cause the processor to determine a first portion of the plurality of average instantaneous power measurements from the first voltage output and the first current output (the controller 112 calculates a total average instantaneous power input (or heat input) to the weld by summing the average instantaneous power input values for the discrete time periods for the duration of the weld, paragraph 0024, lines 1-2).
With regards to claim 5, Hsu et al discloses wherein the first voltage sensor is integrated in the first welding-type power source (voltage sensor 140 is integrated into power supply 100, Fig. 1).
With regards to claim 8, Hsu et al discloses wherein the instructions are configured to cause the processor to determine the total power input as a total average instantaneous power (the total average instantaneous power and the duration of the welding operation may be used, for example, to determine a total heat input or total power input to a weld and/or to determine compliance with a specified total heat input (e.g., as specified in a weld procedure specification or procedure qualification record), paragraph 0021, lines 2-5).
With regards to claim 9, Hsu et al discloses wherein the instructions are configured to cause the processor to display the determined total power via a display (the controller 112 may display the total average instantaneous power input and the duration of the weld via one or more of the display device(s) 116, paragraph 0024, lines 4-5).
With regards to claim 10, Hsu et al discloses wherein the instructions are configured to cause the processor to transmit the determined total power via communications circuitry (the transmitter circuit 136 transmits average instantaneous weld power values, total average instantaneous weld power values, weld durations, and/or any other data to a weld data repository via a network, paragraph 0030, lines 4-6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3,6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu et al as applied to claim 1, in further view of Uecker et al (US 2018/2097141).
With regards to claim 3, Hsu et al does not disclose the second welding-type power source, the second welding-type power source comprising a second power conversion circuitry configured to output preheating power to the welding-type process via an electrode preheating circuit, the processor configured to collect at least one of the average instantaneous power measurements of the preheating power via second sensors.
Uecker et al teaches the second welding-type power source, the second welding-type power source comprising a second power conversion circuitry configured to output preheating power to the welding-type process via an electrode preheating circuit (power source and associated converter circuitry, paragraph 0064, lines 4-6), the processor configured to collect at least one of the average instantaneous power measurements of the preheating power via second sensors (circuit 324 measures the preheat voltage and determines an average voltage, paragraph 0120, lines 2-5 and arc voltage feedback circuit 334 samples the weld voltage, paragraph 0135, lines 1-2).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Hsu et al and Uecker et al before him or her, to modify the power convertor of Hsu et al to include the converter circuitry of Uecker et al because the combination allows for reducing damage to welding system to preserve the integrity of the welding process.
With regards to claim 6, Uecker et al teaches wherein the second sensors comprise: a second voltage sensor configured to measure a second voltage output by the second welding-type power source (first power supply 302a has a first voltage or first current sensor 1127 and second power supply 302b has a second voltage or second current sensor 1127, Fig. 11); and a second current sensor configured to measure a second current output by the second welding-type power source (first power supply 302a has a first voltage or first current sensor 1127 and second power supply 302b has a second voltage or second current sensor 1127, Fig. 11), wherein the instructions are configured to cause the processor to determine a second portion of the plurality of average instantaneous power measurements from the second voltage output and the second current output (the controller 112 calculates a total average instantaneous power input (or heat input) to the weld by summing the average instantaneous power input values for the discrete time periods for the duration of the weld, paragraph 0024, lines 1-2,Hsu et al).
With regards to claim 7, Uecker et al teaches wherein the second voltage sensor is integrated in the second welding-type power source (voltage or current sensor 1127 is integrated into each of power supply 302a and 302b, Fig. 11).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/29/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants arguments: Applicant argues the prior art does not disclose or teach all the amended features of claim 1.
Examiners response: Applicant argues the prior art does not disclose or teach “first sensors configured to measure a plurality of voltages and currents applied to a welding-type process by a first welding- type power source; second sensors configured to measure a plurality of voltages and currents applied to the welding-type process by a second welding-type power source; a processor; and memory comprising machine readable instructions which, when executed, cause the processor to: collect a plurality of average instantaneous power measurements, via the first sensors and the second sensors, of power output by the first and second welding-type power sources associated with the welding-type process; and sum the average instantaneous power measurements from the first sensors and the second sensors to determine a total power input to the welding-type process”. Hsu et al discloses a welding-type system (welding type power supply 100, Fig. 1), comprising: first sensors configured to measure a plurality of voltages and currents applied to a welding-type process (current sensor 138 and voltage sensor 140 applied to a welding type power supply 100, Fig. 1) by a first welding-type power source (power supply 100 has two separate power supplies having a primary power supply 108 and power convertor 110, Fig. 1); second sensors configured to measure a plurality of voltages and currents applied to the welding-type process (current sensor 138 and voltage sensor 140 applied to a welding type power supply 100, Fig. 1 )by a second welding-type power source (power supply 100 has two separate power supplies having a primary power supply 108 and power convertor 110, Fig. 1); a processor (processor 120, Fig. 1); and memory comprising machine readable instructions which, when executed (memory devices 124, Fig. 1), cause the processor to: collect a plurality of average instantaneous power measurements, via the first and the second sensors, of power output by a the first and second welding-type power sources associated with the welding-type process (to calculate average instantaneous power values for a time period, the controller 112 calculates individual instantaneous power values from corresponding voltage measurements and current measurements from current sensor 138 and voltage sensor 140 applied to the welding type power supply 100,paragraph 0023, lines 1-2); and sum the average instantaneous power measurements for from the first sensors and the second sensors to determine a total power input to the welding-type process (the controller 112 calculates a total average instantaneous power input (or heat input) to the weld by summing the average instantaneous power input values for the discrete time periods for the duration of the weld, paragraph 0024, lines 1-2). Hsu et al makes it known to have two separate power supplies "welding power output and a separate auxiliary converter for auxiliary power output" (paragraph 0013,0014). Further Hsu et al indicates it is known to put voltage and current sensors on power supplies (paragraph 0029).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THOMAS J WARD/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/EDWARD F LANDRUM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761