Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/23/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument in pages 6-15, the applicant asserts that “Applicant respectfully submits that, even if the teachings of Levionnais and Metral were combined, a person skilled in the art would not have arrived at the features of Claim 1. In addition, Applicant respectfully notes that, as noted in the previous response, Kletsov does not describe in detail the transmitted data, and cannot cure this deficiency of Metral. Applicant respectfully submits that Claim 1 is therefore patentable over the cited combination and any combination of the cited references.” Examiner respectively disagrees.
The applicant further asserts in pages 11, 12 that “As previously discussed, Applicant has already noted that a person skilled in the art would not, starting from the system of Levionnais which requires a consistent pre-configuration (with the same function) of both the device and terminal, look to ‘the solution of Metral which is designed to be implemented for many types of transaction including online transactions, making a pre- configuration impractical and improbable. Applicant further notes that the Examiner’s Answer does not appear to have addressed the lack of any provided reasoning for combining the two references. Rather, the proposed motivation provided in the Office Action for this modification is simply a statement of the benefits of the overall system of Metral as a whole. Not only does the proposed motivation for modification not appear to address any problem addressed by the disclosed technology, itis also unclear how the specific feature of Metral used by the Office Action in the proposed combination is related to or would provide the referenced benefit.
This deficiency was not addressed in the Examiner’s Answer, which only discusses the proposed combination without any justification for the same. Applicant respectfully submits that the combination of Levionnais and Metral is simply a posteriori reasoning.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant's argument. The system of Levionnais which requires a consistent pre-configuration (with the same function) of both the device and terminal to generate secret code that enable the authorized (authenticated) terminal for sending message between the device and terminal, which is similar to Metral, which the message contains the transaction identifier and other data, may be encrypted (e.g., through public key infrastructure “PKI”, keyed-hash message authentication code “HMAC”, or other encryption techniques) that for authorized (authenticated). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would able to combine the method as taught by Metral in the system of Levionnais.
Levionnais discloses "This random datum is therefore difficult to obtain for a hacker who might be listening on the second channel" ( [0025]), "The master device (3) is equipment that can transmit radio frequency signals, or carrier waves, through the body of the user, via an IBC antenna... the master device (3) comprises a surface composed by the antenna, possibly protected and adapted to react when the user touches it" ( [0109]), "In an initial step E20, the master device (3) transmits, via its IBC antenna, an electromagnetic signal coding a message M1 intended for any terminal situated in proximity, for example the terminal (1) carried by the user (2) when he or she approaches the device ... the information element consists of a word, "IBC", or else an identifier (SiD) of the service offered (payment, vehicle personalization, or other such service), followed by a random datum (ALEA) which will make it possible to perform an authentication of the transaction after the pairing phase" ( [0148]), “During a step E6, the terminal pairs (connects) with the master device" ( [0158]) and " ] The pairing procedure implemented in this embodiment is perfectly conventional and known to the person skilled in the art; as a reminder, a Bluetooth pairing (BLE) takes the following form: the master device sends a random number to the "slave" device (here, the terminal)" ( [0159]). In other words, when the user touches the master devices, the master device transmits an electromagnetic signal coding a message M1 including service identifier (SiD) (i.e., payment transaction) followed by random datum to prevent from hacking to the terminal via body of the user, via IBC antenna and the terminal pairs with the master device via Bluetooth. In particular, random datum is added is added to the service identifier of payment transaction service to enhance the security. On the other hand, Metral discloses "merchant system 209 may be used in communication with one or more transaction devices 212 which may present and receive information from customers ... the transaction device 212 may include a Bluetooth, Bluetooth Low Energy, NFC, or other wireless communication module enabling communications between a mobile device 202 and transaction device 212" (¶ [0031]) and "the transaction device may broadcast a transaction identifier. The transaction identifier may, for example, include a combination of a service identifier identifying the type of device broadcasting the transaction identifier and a unique ID identifying the party that the device belongs to" ( [0042]), and “the transaction identifier, as well as other data, may be encrypted (e.g., through public key infrastructure "PKI", keyed-hash message authentication code HMAC", or other encryption techniques) by the transaction device" ( [0043]). In other words, each of the transaction devices transmits transaction identifier including service identifier and unique ID of the transaction device, and security data (i.e., PKI, HMAC, etc.) via Bluetooth, BLE, NFC, etc.
Thus, it would have been obvious to modify the teaching, i.e., transmitting, by transaction device (or master device), message M1 including service identifier for transaction (or payment) service along with random datum used for preventing from hacking via IBC antenna, of Levionnais by transmitting, by transaction device, transaction identifier including service identifier, unique device identifier, and security data of Metral, thereby transmitting, by transaction device (or master device), message M1 including service identifier, unique device identifier, and security data (or random datum) used for preventing from hacking via IBC antenna.
The motivation would have been to allow the processing of the transaction while the mobile device is disconnected from the internet, resulting in advantages including the user being able to conduct a transaction (such as purchasing and receiving goods or services), the merchant being able to make a sale, and the service or wallet provider being able to obtain revenue from the transaction (Metral [0014]).
The applicant further asserts in page 12 that “Applicant understands, therefore, that in the Examiner’s proposed combination Levionnais and Metral, the person skilled in the art would have replaced the random datum of Levionnais by the ID identifying the party of the device of Metral. Applicant respectfully submits, however, that this does not correspond to the claimed feature of the “identifier providing for differentiating said electronic transaction terminal from another electronic transaction terminal.”
Examiner respectively disagrees. As indicated from above, which would indicating Metral discloses “identifier providing for differentiating said electronic transaction terminal from another electronic transaction terminal.” As further indicated by par. 59 of Metral, “The transaction identifier may, for example, include a combination of a service identifier identifying the type of device broadcasting the transaction identifier and a unique ID identifying the customer device, the party that the customer device belongs to, and/or an account related to the owner of the customer device”, which is explicitly indicating the transaction identifier and a unique ID identifying the customer device that would differentiating said electronic transaction terminal from another electronic transaction terminal. Therefore, Metral discloses “identifier providing for differentiating said electronic transaction terminal from another electronic transaction terminal.” Therefore, the combination of Levionnais and Metral would teach the claim.
The applicant further asserts in page 14 that “Applicant respectfully submits that this disclosure of Levionnais is plainly: inconsistent with recitation in Claim 1 of the features of, with emphasis added: transmitting an identifier of the electronic transaction terminal to the user terminal…and…pairing with the user terminal when the data received over the radio channel includes the transmitted identifier.”
Examiner respectively disagrees since as indicated from above, Levionnais discloses the master device transmits an electromagnetic signal coding a message M1 including service identifier (SiD) (i.e., payment transaction) followed by random datum to prevent from hacking to the terminal via body of the user, via IBC antenna and the terminal pairs with the master device via Bluetooth, which would indicating “transmitting an identifier of the electronic transaction terminal to the user terminal…and…pairing with the user terminal when the data received over the radio channel includes the transmitted identifier.” Therefore, the combination of Levionnais and Metral would teach the claim.
For at least the foregoing reasons, Levionnais in view of Metral teaches every feature of independent claim 1 and thus can anticipate this claim.
The rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8-13, and 15-18, 21, 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Levionnais et al. (WO 2018/109330, US 2019/0372679 is cited for English translation) in view of Metral et al. (US 2017/0193498).
Regarding claim 1, Levionnais discloses a method of pairing between an electronic transaction terminal and a user terminal, the method being performed by the electronic transaction terminal (Fig. 4), the method comprising:
transmitting an identifier of the electronic transaction terminal to the user terminal over a near field channel using electromagnetic wave conduction capabilities of the body of the user (par. 108: the IBC antenna is designed so as to optimally receive the electromagnetic wave through the human body; par. 148: the master device (3) transmits, via its IBC antenna, an electromagnetic signal coding a message M1 intended for any terminal situated in proximity, for example the terminal (1) carried by the user (2) when he or she approaches the device. The message M1, called first message, or invite message, comprises a plurality of information elements intended to be transmitted continuously during a certain period during which the master device (3) is in transmission mode. For example, the information element consists of a word, “IBC”, or else an identifier (SiD) of the service offered (payment, vehicle personalization, or other such service), followed by a random datum (ALEA) which will make it possible to perform an authentication of the transaction after the pairing phase), when the user brushes the electronic transaction terminal (par. 109, the master device (3) comprises a surface composed by the antenna, possibly protected and adapted to react when the user touches it); and
upon receiving, over a radio channel that is separate from the near field channel, an item of data from the user terminal (par. 154, Then it prepares a response for the master device. The digital message associated with the response, or second message (schematically represented in the figure by M1_OK), is broadcast in the step E4 via the antenna of the terminal (1) over a Bluetooth radio channel. It can for example involve BLE data packets comprising a presence message with, if available, the service identification SiD received previously, as well as, optionally, other information which may be relevant: address (MAC) of the terminal, name, conditions of connection to said terminal, etc.), pairing with the user terminal (par. 156: The response message is tested during a step E23. If the message received is acceptable, that is to say if the form of the acknowledgement is correct and if the other possible information conforms to the expectations of the master device (service number, MAC address, etc.), it can accept the Bluetooth communication with the terminal; during the step E24, it makes a request for pairing with the terminal) when the data received over the radio channel includes the transmitted identifier ((par. 154: Then it prepares a response for the master device. The digital message associated with the response, or second message (schematically represented in the figure by M1_OK), is broadcast in the step E4 via the antenna of the terminal (1) over a Bluetooth radio channel. It can for example involve BLE data packets comprising a presence message with, if available, the service identification SiD received previously).
However, Levionnais fails to teach said identifier providing for differentiating said electronic transaction terminal from another electronic transaction terminal.
But, METRAL from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches said identifier providing for differentiating said electronic transaction terminal from another electronic transaction terminal (par. 31: merchant system 209 may be used in communication with one or more transaction devices 212 which may present and receive information from customers. For example, in the situation where the merchant 208 is a physical retail location, a merchant system 209 may be in communication with a number of different transaction devices 212, each of which may be located at a different checkout lane or location within the store (or in different stores in different geographical locations). Each of the transaction devices 212 may present, display, or communicate transaction information to customers at the point of sale so that the customer can approve or authorize purchases and present payment for the purchases. In certain embodiments, the transaction device 212 may include a Bluetooth, Bluetooth Low Energy, NFC, or other wireless communication module enabling communications between a mobile device 202 and transaction device 212; par. 42: the transaction device may broadcast a transaction identifier. The transaction identifier may, for example, include a combination of a service identifier identifying the type of device broadcasting the transaction identifier and a unique ID identifying the party that the device belongs to; par. 59, “The transaction identifier may, for example, include a combination of a service identifier identifying the type of device broadcasting the transaction identifier and a unique ID identifying the customer device). In particular, the unique ID of device belonging to a party is different from the unique ID of the other device belonging to the other party.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the teaching, i.e., sending, by master device, electromagnetic signal coding a message including service identification to user terminal via its IBC antenna of Levionnais by broadcasting, by transaction device, transaction identifier including service identifier and a unique ID identifying the party of the device to mobile device via Bluetooth, Bluetooth Low Energy, and NFC, etc. of Metral, thereby sending, by master device, electromagnetic signal coding a message including service identification to user terminal in combination with a unique ID identifying the party of the master device to user terminal including Bluetooth, BLE, and NFC chip etc., via its IBC antenna.
The motivation would have been to allow the processing of the transaction while the mobile device is disconnected from the internet, resulting in advantages including the user being able to conduct a transaction (such as purchasing and receiving goods or services), the merchant being able to make a sale, and the service or wallet provider being able to obtain revenue from the transaction (Metral ¶ [0014]).
Regarding claim 2, Levionnais discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the identifier includes at least a first item of data which is dependent on the transaction terminal and a second item of data which is dependent on the transaction (par. 148: the information element consists of a word, “IBC”, or else an identifier (SiD) of the service offered (payment, vehicle personalization, or other such service), followed by a random datum (ALEA) which will make it possible to perform an authentication of the transaction after the pairing phase).
Regarding claim 3, Levionnais discloses the method of claim 1, additionally comprising, after receiving the identifier over the radio channel, canceling a pairing with another user terminal (par. 165: if the device 3 connects to the terminal 1 (which has acknowledged the service identifier), the second terminal will not be able to connect to it because the fixed terminal has stopped broadcasting the invite message insofar as it is already connected to a terminal).
Regarding claim 4, Levionnais discloses the method of claim 1, additionally comprising, prior to receiving the identifier over the radio channel, initiating at least one bidirectional communication over the radio channel with at least one user terminal (par. 113: In the context of particular interest here, the method according to this embodiment of the invention proceeds in three stages, or phases, which are transparent to the user of the terminal: par. 114: In a first stage, which corresponds to a phase called “IBC phase”, the user approaches the reader (3) and directs his or her hand above the surface including the antenna; according to the examples of personalized services mentioned above, the IBC module comprising the antenna and the surface of the master device are located in the handle of the car that the user has just leased (the vehicle personalization scenario), in a store (banking scenario), in a connected object of the house (domestic scenario), in the computer mouse (professional scenario), and the terminal (1) of the user is in his or her pocket; ¶ [0147]: FIG. 4 represents the steps of a method for secure bidirectional wireless communication between a mobile device (1), also called terminal, carried by a user (2), and a master device (3), both equipped with an IBC module (antenna, surface, modulator/demodulator, firmware, etc.), according to an embodiment of the invention).
Regarding claim 5, Levionnais discloses a method of pairing between a user terminal and an electronic transaction terminal, the method being performed by the user terminal (Fig. 4), the method comprising:
obtaining an identifier of the electronic transaction terminal (par. 108: the IBC antenna is designed so as to optimally receive the electromagnetic wave through the human body; par. 148: the master device (3) transmits, via its IBC antenna, an electromagnetic signal coding a message M1 intended for any terminal situated in proximity, for example the terminal (1) carried by the user (2) when he or she approaches the device. The message M1, called first message, or invite message, comprises a plurality of information elements intended to be transmitted continuously during a certain period during which the master device (3) is in transmission mode. For example, the information element consists of a word, “IBC”, or else an identifier (SiD) of the service offered (payment, vehicle personalization, or other such service), followed by a random datum (ALEA) which will make it possible to perform an authentication of the transaction after the pairing phase); and
transmitting, over a radio channel, the obtained identifier (par. 154: Then it prepares a response for the master device. The digital message associated with the response, or second message (schematically represented in the figure by M1_OK), is broadcast in the step E4 via the antenna of the terminal (1) over a Bluetooth radio channel. It can for example involve BLE data packets comprising a presence message with, if available, the service identification SiD received previously, as well as, optionally, other information which may be relevant: address (MAC) of the terminal, name, conditions of connection to said terminal, etc.).
However, Levionnais does not teach said identifier providing for differentiating said electronic transaction terminal from another electronic transaction terminal.
But, METRAL from the same or similar fields of endeavor discloses said identifier providing for differentiating said electronic transaction terminal from another electronic transaction terminal (par. 31: merchant system 209 may be used in communication with one or more transaction devices 212 which may present and receive information from customers. For example, in the situation where the merchant 208 is a physical retail location, a merchant system 209 may be in communication with a number of different transaction devices 212, each of which may be located at a different checkout lane or location within the store (or in different stores in different geographical locations). Each of the transaction devices 212 may present, display, or communicate transaction information to customers at the point of sale so that the customer can approve or authorize purchases and present payment for the purchases. In certain embodiments, the transaction device 212 may include a Bluetooth, Bluetooth Low Energy, NFC, or other wireless communication module enabling communications between a mobile device 202 and transaction device 212; par. 42: the transaction device may broadcast a transaction identifier. The transaction identifier may, for example, include a combination of a service identifier identifying the type of device broadcasting the transaction identifier and a unique ID identifying the party that the device belongs to; par. 59, “The transaction identifier may, for example, include a combination of a service identifier identifying the type of device broadcasting the transaction identifier and a unique ID identifying the customer device). In particular, the unique ID of device belonging to a party is different from the unique ID of the other device belonging to the other party.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the teaching, i.e., sending, by master device, electromagnetic signal coding a message including service identification to user terminal via its IBC antenna of Levionnais by broadcasting, by transaction device, transaction identifier including service identifier and a unique ID identifying the party of the device to mobile device via Bluetooth, Bluetooth Low Energy, and NFC, etc. of Metral, thereby sending, by master device, electromagnetic signal coding a message including service identification to user terminal in combination with a unique ID identifying the party of the master device to user terminal including Bluetooth, BLE, and NFC chip etc., via its IBC antenna.
The motivation would have been to allow the processing of the transaction while the mobile device is disconnected from the internet, resulting in advantages including the user being able to conduct a transaction (such as purchasing and receiving goods or services), the merchant being able to make a sale, and the service or wallet provider being able to obtain revenue from the transaction (Metral par. 14).
Regarding claim 8, Levionnais discloses the method of claim 5, wherein the identifier is received (par. 108: the IBC antenna is designed so as to optimally receive the electromagnetic wave through the human body; par. 148: the master device (3) transmits, via its IBC antenna, an electromagnetic signal coding a message M1 intended for any terminal situated in proximity, for example the terminal (1) carried by the user (2) when he or she approaches the device. The message M1, called first message, or invite message, comprises a plurality of information elements intended to be transmitted continuously during a certain period during which the master device (3) is in transmission mode. For example, the information element consists of a word, “IBC”, or else an identifier (SiD) of the service offered (payment, vehicle personalization, or other such service), followed by a random datum (ALEA) which will make it possible to perform an authentication of the transaction after the pairing phase) on a device inside the user terminal (par. 124-126: a module called “receiver IBC module”, MIBCr, including: an IBC antenna (ANT) suitable for receiving signals over the radio channel and via the human body, so that a modulated electrical signal conveyed by the body of the user will be able to be received by the antenna, which is located in the terminal, in proximity with the human body; a demodulator (DEMOD), intended to receive a modulated electrical signal via the antenna and to transform it into a digital signal intended to be transmitted to the processing unit).
Regarding claim 9, Levionnais discloses the method of claim 5, additionally comprising, prior to transmitting the identifier over the radio channel, initiating at least one bidirectional communication over the radio channel with the electronic transaction terminal (par. 113: In the context of particular interest here, the method according to this embodiment of the invention proceeds in three stages, or phases, which are transparent to the user of the terminal; par. 114, In a first stage, which corresponds to a phase called “IBC phase”, the user approaches the reader (3) and directs his or her hand above the surface including the antenna; according to the examples of personalized services mentioned above, the IBC module comprising the antenna and the surface of the master device are located in the handle of the car that the user has just leased (the vehicle personalization scenario), in a store (banking scenario), in a connected object of the house (domestic scenario), in the computer mouse (professional scenario), and the terminal (1) of the user is in his or her pocket; par. 147: FIG. 4 represents the steps of a method for secure bidirectional wireless communication between a mobile device (1), also called terminal, carried by a user (2), and a master device (3), both equipped with an IBC module (antenna, surface, modulator/demodulator, firmware, etc.), according to an embodiment of the invention).
Regarding claim 10, Levionnais discloses the method of claim 5, an electronic transaction terminal comprising a near field transmitter, a radio transmitter, a radio receiver, a memory, and a processor (Fig. 3) which are configured to implement the method of Claim 1 (See the rejection for claim 1).
Regarding claim 11, Levionnais discloses the user terminal comprising a transmitter, a receiver, a memory and a processor (Fig. 2) which are configured to implement the method of Claim 5 (See the rejection for claim 5).
Regarding claim 12, Levionnais discloses the user terminal of claim 11, further comprising a near field receiver (Fig. 2) configured to receive the identifier of the electronic transaction terminal via a channel using electromagnetic wave conduction capabilities of the body of a user (par. 108: the IBC antenna is designed so as to optimally receive the electromagnetic wave through the human body; par. 148: the master device (3) transmits, via its IBC antenna, an electromagnetic signal coding a message M1 intended for any terminal situated in proximity, for example the terminal (1) carried by the user (2) when he or she approaches the device. The message M1, called first message, or invite message, comprises a plurality of information elements intended to be transmitted continuously during a certain period during which the master device (3) is in transmission mode. For example, the information element consists of a word, “IBC”, or else an identifier (SiD) of the service offered (payment, vehicle personalization, or other such service), followed by a random datum (ALEA) which will make it possible to perform an authentication of the transaction after the pairing phase).
Regarding claim 13, Levionnais discloses a near field device comprising ... a near field receiver ... , the near field device being configured to (Fig. 2):
receive an identifier of an electronic transaction terminal via a near field channel using electromagnetic wave conduction capabilities of a user body (par. 108: the IBC antenna is designed so as to optimally receive the electromagnetic wave through the human body; par. 148: the master device (3) transmits, via its IBC antenna, an electromagnetic signal coding a message M1 intended for any terminal situated in proximity, for example the terminal (1) carried by the user (2) when he or she approaches the device. The message M1, called first message, or invite message, comprises a plurality of information elements intended to be transmitted continuously during a certain period during which the master device (3) is in transmission mode. For example, the information element consists of a word, “IBC”, or else an identifier (SiD) of the service offered (payment, vehicle personalization, or other such service), followed by a random datum (ALEA) which will make it possible to perform an authentication of the transaction after the pairing phase); and
transmit the received identifier via a second communication channel (par. 154: Then it prepares a response for the master device. The digital message associated with the response, or second message (schematically represented in the figure by M1_OK), is broadcast in the step E4 via the antenna of the terminal (1) over a Bluetooth radio channel. It can for example involve BLE data packets comprising a presence message with, if available, the service identification SiD received previously, as well as, optionally, other information which may be relevant: address (MAC) of the terminal, name, conditions of connection to said terminal, etc.).
However, Levionnais does not teach a near field device comprising a transmitter, a near field receiver, a memory, and a processor ... said identifier providing for differentiating said electronic transaction terminal from another electronic transaction terminal.
But, METRAL from the same or similar fields of endeavor discloses a near field device comprising a transmitter, a near field receiver, a memory, and a processor (par. 28: The mobile device 202 may be a mobile device having an RFID chip installed therein allowing the device to be operated pursuant to ISO/IEC 18092, NFC IP-1 or the ISO/IEC 14443 contactless communication standards, or other applicable contactless communication standards and wireless technologies including but not limited to those for Bluetooth and Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) and NFC; par. 78: The various features and steps described herein may be implemented as systems comprising one or more memories storing various information described herein and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories and a network)) ... said identifier providing for differentiating said electronic transaction terminal from another electronic transaction terminal (par. 31: merchant system 209 may be used in communication with one or more transaction devices 212 which may present and receive information from customers. For example, in the situation where the merchant 208 is a physical retail location, a merchant system 209 may be in communication with a number of different transaction devices 212, each of which may be located at a different checkout lane or location within the store (or in different stores in different geographical locations). Each of the transaction devices 212 may present, display, or communicate transaction information to customers at the point of sale so that the customer can approve or authorize purchases and present payment for the purchases. In certain embodiments, the transaction device 212 may include a Bluetooth, Bluetooth Low Energy, NFC, or other wireless communication module enabling communications between a mobile device 202 and transaction device 212; par. 42: the transaction device may broadcast a transaction identifier. The transaction identifier may, for example, include a combination of a service identifier identifying the type of device broadcasting the transaction identifier and a unique ID identifying the party that the device belongs to; par. 59, “The transaction identifier may, for example, include a combination of a service identifier identifying the type of device broadcasting the transaction identifier and a unique ID identifying the customer device). In particular, the unique ID of device belonging to a party is different from the unique ID of the other device belonging to the other party.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the teaching, i.e., sending, by master device, electromagnetic signal coding a message including service identification to user terminal via its IBC antenna of Levionnais by broadcasting, by transaction device, transaction identifier including service identifier and a unique ID identifying the party of the device to mobile device via Bluetooth, Bluetooth Low Energy, and NFC, etc. of Metral, thereby sending, by master device, electromagnetic signal coding a message including service identification to user terminal in combination with a unique ID identifying the party of the master device to user terminal including Bluetooth, BLE, and NFC chip etc., via its IBC antenna.
The motivation would have been to allow the processing of the transaction while the mobile device is disconnected from the internet, resulting in advantages including the user being able to conduct a transaction (such as purchasing and receiving goods or services), the merchant being able to make a sale, and the service or wallet provider being able to obtain revenue from the transaction (Metral par. 14).
Regarding claim 15, Levionnais discloses a system for wireless pairing of terminals, the system comprising:
the electronic transaction terminal (par. 147: a master device (3)) of Claim 10 (See the rejection for claim 10); and
a user terminal comprising a transmitter, a receiver, a memory and a processor, the user terminal being configured to (par. 147: a mobile device (1), also called terminal):
obtain the identifier of the electronic transaction terminal (par. 108: the IBC antenna is designed so as to optimally receive the electromagnetic wave through the human body; par. 148: the master device (3) transmits, via its IBC antenna, an electromagnetic signal coding a message M1 intended for any terminal situated in proximity, for example the terminal (1) carried by the user (2) when he or she approaches the device. The message M1, called first message, or invite message, comprises a plurality of information elements intended to be transmitted continuously during a certain period during which the master device (3) is in transmission mode. For example, the information element consists of a word, “IBC”, or else an identifier (SiD) of the service offered (payment, vehicle personalization, or other such service), followed by a random datum (ALEA) which will make it possible to perform an authentication of the transaction after the pairing phase); and
transmit, over a radio channel, the obtained identifier (par. 154: Then it prepares a response for the master device. The digital message associated with the response, or second message (schematically represented in the figure by M1_OK), is broadcast in the step E4 via the antenna of the terminal (1) over a Bluetooth radio channel. It can for example involve BLE data packets comprising a presence message with, if available, the service identification SiD received previously, as well as, optionally, other information which may be relevant: address (MAC) of the terminal, name, conditions of connection to said terminal, etc.);
wherein, when the user carrying the user terminal brushes the electronic transaction terminal (par. 109: the master device (3) comprises a surface composed by the antenna, possibly protected and adapted to react when the user touches it), the identifier of the electronic transaction terminal is transmitted via the near field channel using electromagnetic wave conduction capabilities of the user body and received by the near field receiver of the user terminal (par. 108: the IBC antenna is designed so as to optimally receive the electromagnetic wave through the human body; ¶ [0148]: the master device (3) transmits, via its IBC antenna, an electromagnetic signal coding a message M1 intended for any terminal situated in proximity, for example the terminal (1) carried by the user (2) when he or she approaches the device. The message M1, called first message, or invite message, comprises a plurality of information elements intended to be transmitted continuously during a certain period during which the master device (3) is in transmission mode. For example, the information element consists of a word, “IBC”, or else an identifier (SiD) of the service offered (payment, vehicle personalization, or other such service), followed by a random datum (ALEA) which will make it possible to perform an authentication of the transaction after the pairing phase).
Regarding claim 16, Levionnais discloses a non-transitory, computer-readable storage medium having stored thereon instructions which, when executed by a processor (Fig. 3), cause the processor to perform the method of Claim 1 (See the rejection for claim 1).
Regarding claim 17, Levionnais discloses a non-transitory, computer-readable storage medium having stored thereon instructions which, when executed by a processor (Fig. 2), cause the processor to perform the method of Claim 5 (See the rejection for claim 5).
Regarding claim 18, Levionnais discloses the method of claim 5, wherein the identifier includes at least a first item of data which is dependent on the transaction terminal and a second item of data which is dependent on the transaction (par. 148: the information element consists of a word, “IBC”, or else an identifier (SiD) of the service offered (payment, vehicle personalization, or other such service), followed by a random datum (ALEA) which will make it possible to perform an authentication of the transaction after the pairing phase).
Regarding claim 21, Levionnais discloses a method of pairing between a user terminal and a first electronic transaction terminal, the method being performed by the user terminal (Fig. 4), the method comprising:
obtaining an identifier of the first electronic transaction terminal (par. 108: the IBC antenna is designed so as to optimally receive the electromagnetic wave through the human body; par. 148: the master device (3) transmits, via its IBC antenna, an electromagnetic signal coding a message M1 intended for any terminal situated in proximity, for example the terminal (1) carried by the user (2) when he or she approaches the device. The message M1, called first message, or invite message, comprises a plurality of information elements intended to be transmitted continuously during a certain period during which the master device (3) is in transmission mode. For example, the information element consists of a word, “IBC”, or else an identifier (SiD) of the service offered (payment, vehicle personalization, or other such service), followed by a random datum (ALEA) which will make it possible to perform an authentication of the transaction after the pairing phase);
initiating at least one communication over a radio channel with at least one electronic transaction terminal (par. 153, 154: if this module is not active, it opens the Bluetooth channel… Then it prepares a response for the master device. The digital message associated with the response, or second message (schematically represented in the figure by M1_OK), is broadcast in the step E4 via the antenna of the terminal (1) over a Bluetooth radio channel) and transmitting, over said radio channel, the obtained identifier (par. 154: Then it prepares a response for the master device. The digital message associated with the response, or second message (schematically represented in the figure by M1_OK), is broadcast in the step E4 via the antenna of the terminal (1) over a Bluetooth radio channel. It can for example involve BLE data packets comprising a presence message with, if available, the service identification SiD received previously, as well as, optionally, other information which may be relevant: address (MAC) of the terminal, name, conditions of connection to said terminal, etc.).
However, Levionnais does not teach said identifier providing for differentiating said first electronic transaction terminal from another electronic transaction terminal.
But, METRAL from the same or similar fields of endeavor teach said identifier providing for differentiating said first electronic transaction terminal from another electronic transaction terminal (par. 31: merchant system 209 may be used in communication with one or more transaction devices 212 which may present and receive information from customers. For example, in the situation where the merchant 208 is a physical retail location, a merchant system 209 may be in communication with a number of different transaction devices 212, each of which may be located at a different checkout lane or location within the store (or in different stores in different geographical locations). Each of the transaction devices 212 may present, display, or communicate transaction information to customers at the point of sale so that the customer can approve or authorize purchases and present payment for the purchases. In certain embodiments, the transaction device 212 may include a Bluetooth, Bluetooth Low Energy, NFC, or other wireless communication module enabling communications between a mobile device 202 and transaction device 212; par. 42: the transaction device may broadcast a transaction identifier. The transaction identifier may, for example, include a combination of a service identifier identifying the type of device broadcasting the transaction identifier and a unique ID identifying the party that the device belongs to; par. 59, “The transaction identifier may, for example, include a combination of a service identifier identifying the type of device broadcasting the transaction identifier and a unique ID identifying the customer device). In particular, the unique ID of device belonging to a party is different from the unique ID of the other device belonging to the other party.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the teaching, i.e., sending, by master device, electromagnetic signal coding a message including service identification to user terminal via its IBC antenna of Levionnais by broadcasting, by transaction device, transaction identifier including service identifier and a unique ID identifying the party of the device to mobile device via Bluetooth, Bluetooth Low Energy, and NFC, etc. of Metral, thereby sending, by master device, electromagnetic signal coding a message including service identification to user terminal in combination with a unique ID identifying the party of the master device to user terminal including Bluetooth, BLE, and NFC chip etc., via its IBC antenna.
The motivation would have been to allow the processing of the transaction while the mobile device is disconnected from the internet, resulting in advantages including the user being able to conduct a transaction (such as purchasing and receiving goods or services), the merchant being able to make a sale, and the service or wallet provider being able to obtain revenue from the transaction (Metral par. 14).
Regarding claim 22, Levionnais discloses the method of claim 1, wherein said identifier belongs to said first electronic transaction terminal (par. 108: the IBC antenna is designed so as to optimally receive the electromagnetic wave through the human body; par. 148: the master device (3) transmits, via its IBC antenna, an electromagnetic signal coding a message M1 intended for any terminal situated in proximity, for example the terminal (1) carried by the user (2) when he or she approaches the device. The message M1, called first message, or invite message, comprises a plurality of information elements intended to be transmitted continuously during a certain period during which the master device (3) is in transmission mode. For example, the information element consists of a word, “IBC”, or else an identifier (SiD) of the service offered (payment, vehicle personalization, or other such service), followed by a random datum (ALEA) which will make it possible to perform an authentication of the transaction after the pairing phase).
However, Levionnais does not explicitly teach wherein said identifier only belongs to said first electronic transaction terminal.
But, METRAL from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches wherein said identifier only belongs to said first electronic transaction terminal (par. 31: merchant system 209 may be used in communication with one or more transaction devices 212 which may present and receive information from customers. For example, in the situation where the merchant 208 is a physical retail location, a merchant system 209 may be in communication with a number of different transaction devices 212, each of which may be located at a different checkout lane or location within the store (or in different stores in different geographical locations). Each of the transaction devices 212 may present, display, or communicate transaction information to customers at the point of sale so that the customer can approve or authorize purchases and present payment for the purchases. In certain embodiments, the transaction device 212 may include a Bluetooth, Bluetooth Low Energy, NFC, or other wireless communication module enabling communications between a mobile device 202 and transaction device 212; par. 42: the transaction device may broadcast a transaction identifier. The transaction identifier may, for example, include a combination of a service identifier identifying the type of device broadcasting the transaction identifier and a unique ID identifying the party that the device belongs to; par. 43, included in the transaction identifier with, for example, information identifying the customer device (such as information as to the type of electronic device of the customer device and/or the identity of the electronic device itself); par. 59, “The transaction identifier may, for example, include a combination of a service identifier identifying the type of device broadcasting the transaction identifier and a unique ID identifying the customer device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the teaching, i.e., sending, by master device, electromagnetic signal coding a message including service identification to user terminal via its IBC antenna of Levionnais by broadcasting, by transaction device, transaction identifier including service identifier and a unique ID identifying the party of the device to mobile device via Bluetooth, Bluetooth Low Energy, and NFC, etc. of Metral, thereby sending, by master device, electromagnetic signal coding a message including service identification to user terminal in combination with a unique ID identifying the party of the master device to user terminal including Bluetooth, BLE, and NFC chip etc., via its IBC antenna.
The motivation would have been to allow the processing of the transaction while the mobile device is disconnected from the internet, resulting in advantages including the user being able to conduct a transaction (such as purchasing and receiving goods or services), the merchant being able to make a sale, and the service or wallet provider being able to obtain revenue from the transaction (Metral par. 14).
Claims 6, 7, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Levionnais et al. (WO 2018/109330, US 2019/0372679 is cited for English translation) in view of Metral et al. (US 2017/0193498) as applied to claims 5 and 10, and further in view of Kletsov et al. (US 2021/0258044).
Regarding claim 6, Levionnais discloses the method of claim 5, wherein the identifier is received (par. 108: the IBC antenna is designed so as to optimally receive the electromagnetic wave through the human body; ¶ [0148]: the master device (3) transmits, via its IBC antenna, an electromagnetic signal coding a message M1 intended for any terminal situated in proximity, for example the terminal (1) carried by the user (2) when he or she approaches the device. The message M1, called first message, or invite message, comprises a plurality of information elements intended to be transmitted continuously during a certain period during which the master device (3) is in transmission mode. For example, the information element consists of a word, “IBC”, or else an identifier (SiD) of the service offered (payment, vehicle personalization, or other such service), followed by a random datum (ALEA) which will make it possible to perform an authentication of the transaction after the pairing phase).
However, Levionnais and Metral do not teach wherein the identifier is received from an external device over a radio channel.
But, Kletsov from the same or similar fields of endeavor discloses wherein the identifier is received from an external device over a radio channel (par. 34: Referring to FIG. 1, a HBC apparatus 100 for an NFC signal, according to an embodiment of the disclosure, may include a first communicator 110 configured to receive an NFC signal from an NFC reader 300 through a body 200 in proximity to the body 200, and a second communicator 120 configured to transmit a signal to a user device 400 ... Examples of the user device 400 may include a smart phone, a table computer, and a smart watch. The user device 400 may include an NFC function; par. 38: the data may be transmitted regardless of the NFC standard when transmitted to the user device 400 by the second communicator 120, may be transmitted according to a data format (for example, NFC data exchange format (NDEF) of the NFC standard, or may be transmitted according to an RF signal format of the NFC standard; par. 57: The second communicator 120 may communicate with the user device 400 by using a communication method other than NFC. Here, the communication method other than NFC may include a wireless communication method, such as Bluetooth, magnetic secure transmission (MST), and industrial scientific and medical (ISM), or a wired communication method, such as a universal serial bus (USB); par. 94: The HBC apparatus 100 or 500 for an NFC signal according to the disclosure may be used for POS payment, public transportation fee payment, road toll payment, user identification, pairing or data transmission between IoT devices, entrance control, information guide system, robot control, and pet identification; par. 99: HBO apparatus including micro-control unit (MCU) and memory).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the teaching of Levionnais in view of Metral by receiving, by HBC apparatus including MCU, memory, communicators, etc., paring or data transmission from NFC reader through a body in proximity to the body and transmitting the paring or data transmission to the user device such as a smart phone via NFC, Bluetooth, or USB, etc. of Kletsov.
The motivation would have been to maintain security of near field communication (NFC) while improving convenience of use (Kletsov par. 15).
Regarding claim 7, Levionnais discloses the method of claim 5, wherein the identifier is received (par. 108: the IBC antenna is designed so as to optimally receive the electromagnetic wave through the human body; ¶ [0148]: the master device (3) transmits, via its IBC antenna, an electromagnetic signal coding a message M1 intended for any terminal situated in proximity, for example the terminal (1) carried by the user (2) when he or she approaches the device. The message M1, called first message, or invite message, comprises a plurality of information elements intended to be transmitted continuously during a certain period during which the master device (3) is in transmission mode. For example, the information element consists of a word, “IBC”, or else an identifier (SiD) of the service offered (payment, vehicle personalization, or other such service), followed by a random datum (ALEA) which will make it possible to perform an authentication of the transaction after the pairing phase).
However, Levionnaisand Metral do not teach wherein the identifier is received from an external device over a serial interface.
But, Kletsov from the same or similar fields of endeavor discloses wherein the identifier is received from an external device over a serial interface (par. 34: Referring to FIG. 1, a HBC apparatus 100 for an NFC signal, according to an embodiment of the disclosure, may include a first communicator 110 configured to receive an NFC signal from an NFC reader 300 through a body 200 in proximity to the body 200, and a second communicator 120 configured to transmit a signal to a user device 400 ... Examples of the user device 400 may include a smart phone, a table computer, and a smart watch. The user device 400 may include an NFC function; par. 38: , the data may be transmitted regardless of the NFC standard when transmitted to the user device 400 by the second communicator 120, may be transmitted according to a data format (for example, NFC data exchange format (NDEF) of the NFC standard, or may be transmitted according to an RF signal format of the NFC standard; par. 57: The second communicator 120 may communicate with the user device 400 by using a communication method other than NFC. Here, the communication method other than NFC may include a wireless communication method, such as Bluetooth, magnetic secure transmission (MST), and industrial scientific and medical (ISM), or a wired communication method, such as a universal serial bus (USB); par. 94: The HBC apparatus 100 or 500 for an NFC signal according to the disclosure may be used for POS payment, public transportation fee payment, road toll payment, user identification, pairing or data transmission between IoT devices, entrance control, information guide system, robot control, and pet identification).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the teaching of Levionnais in view of Metral by receiving, by HBC apparatus, paring or data transmission from NFC reader through a body in proximity to the body and transmitting the paring or data transmission to the user device such as a smart phone via NFC, Bluetooth, or USB, etc. of Kletsov.
The motivation would have been to maintain security of near field communication (NFC) while improving convenience of use (Kletsov par. 15).
Regarding claim 14, Levionnais discloses a system for wireless pairing of terminals, the system comprising:
the electronic transaction terminal (par. 147: a master device (3)) of Claim (See the rejection for claim 10),
a user terminal comprising a transmitter, a receiver, a memory and a processor, the user terminal being configured to (par. 147: a mobile device (1), also called terminal):
obtain an identifier of the electronic transaction terminal (par. 108: the IBC antenna is designed so as to optimally receive the electromagnetic wave through the human body; par. 148: the master device (3) transmits, via its IBC antenna, an electromagnetic signal coding a message M1 intended for any terminal situated in proximity, for example the terminal (1) carried by the user (2) when he or she approaches the device. The message M1, called first message, or invite message, comprises a plurality of information elements intended to be transmitted continuously during a certain period during which the master device (3) is in transmission mode. For example, the information element consists of a word, “IBC”, or else an identifier (SiD) of the service offered (payment, vehicle personalization, or other such service), followed by a random datum (ALEA) which will make it possible to perform an authentication of the transaction after the pairing phase); and
transmitting, over a radio channel, the obtained identifier (par. 154: Then it prepares a response for the master device. The digital message associated with the response, or second message (schematically represented in the figure by M1_OK), is broadcast in the step E4 via the antenna of the terminal (1) over a Bluetooth radio channel. It can for example involve BLE data packets comprising a presence message with, if available, the service identification SiD received previously, as well as, optionally, other information which may be relevant: address (MAC) of the terminal, name, conditions of connection to said terminal, etc.); and
a near field device comprising ... a near field receiver ... , the near field device configured to (par. 124-126: a module called “receiver IBC module”, MIBCr, including: an IBC antenna (ANT) suitable for receiving signals over the radio channel and via the human body, so that a modulated electrical signal conveyed by the body of the user will be able to be received by the antenna, which is located in the terminal, in proximity with the human body; a demodulator (DEMOD), intended to receive a modulated electrical signal via the antenna and to transform it into a digital signal intended to be transmitted to the processing unit)):
receive the identifier of an electronic transaction terminal via a near field channel using electromagnetic wave conduction capabilities of the body of a user (par. 108: the IBC antenna is designed so as to optimally receive the electromagnetic wave through the human body; par. 148: the master device (3) transmits, via its IBC antenna, an electromagnetic signal coding a message M1 intended for any terminal situated in proximity, for example the terminal (1) carried by the user (2) when he or she approaches the device. The message M1, called first message, or invite message, comprises a plurality of information elements intended to be transmitted continuously during a certain period during which the master device (3) is in transmission mode. For example, the information element consists of a word, “IBC”, or else an identifier (SiD) of the service offered (payment, vehicle personalization, or other such service), followed by a random datum (ALEA) which will make it possible to perform an authentication of the transaction after the pairing phase); and
transmit the received identifier via a second communication channel (par. 154: Then it prepares a response for the master device. The digital message associated with the response, or second message (schematically represented in the figure by M1_OK), is broadcast in the step E4 via the antenna of the terminal (1) over a Bluetooth radio channel. It can for example involve BLE data packets comprising a presence message with, if available, the service identification SiD received previously, as well as, optionally, other information which may be relevant: address (MAC) of the terminal, name, conditions of connection to said terminal, etc.);
wherein, when the user carrying the user terminal brushes the electronic transaction terminal (par. 109: the master device (3) comprises a surface composed by the antenna, possibly protected and adapted to react when the user touches it), the identifier of the electronic transaction terminal is transmitted to the near field device via the near field channel using electromagnetic wave conduction capabilities of the user body, and then transmitted from the near field device to the terminal (par. 108: the IBC antenna is designed so as to optimally receive the electromagnetic wave through the human body; par. 148: the master device (3) transmits, via its IBC antenna, an electromagnetic signal coding a message M1 intended for any terminal situated in proximity, for example the terminal (1) carried by the user (2) when he or she approaches the device. The message M1, called first message, or invite message, comprises a plurality of information elements intended to be transmitted continuously during a certain period during which the master device (3) is in transmission mode. For example, the information element consists of a word, “IBC”, or else an identifier (SiD) of the service offered (payment, vehicle personalization, or other such service), followed by a random datum (ALEA) which will make it possible to perform an authentication of the transaction after the pairing phase).
But, Levionnais in view of Metral do not teach a near field device comprising a transmitter, a near field receiver, a memory, and a processor ... the identifier of the electronic transaction terminal is transmitted to the near field device via the channel using electromagnetic wave conduction capabilities of the body of the user, and then transmitted from the near field device to the terminal via the second communication channel of the device.
But, Kletsov from the same or similar fields of endeavor discloses a near field device comprising a transmitter, a near field receiver, a memory, and a processor ... the identifier of the electronic transaction terminal is transmitted to the near field device via the channel using electromagnetic wave conduction capabilities of the body of the user, and then transmitted from the near field device to the terminal via the second communication channel of the device (par. 34: Referring to FIG. 1, a HBC apparatus 100 for an NFC signal, according to an embodiment of the disclosure, may include a first communicator 110 configured to receive an NFC signal from an NFC reader 300 through a body 200 in proximity to the body 200, and a second communicator 120 configured to transmit a signal to a user device 400 ... Examples of the user device 400 may include a smart phone, a table computer, and a smart watch. The user device 400 may include an NFC function; par. 38: , the data may be transmitted regardless of the NFC standard when transmitted to the user device 400 by the second communicator 120, may be transmitted according to a data format (for example, NFC data exchange format (NDEF) of the NFC standard, or may be transmitted according to an RF signal format of the NFC standard; par. 57: The second communicator 120 may communicate with the user device 400 by using a communication method other than NFC. Here, the communication method other than NFC may include a wireless communication method, such as Bluetooth, magnetic secure transmission (MST), and industrial scientific and medical (ISM), or a wired communication method, such as a universal serial bus (USB); par. 94: The HBC apparatus 100 or 500 for an NFC signal according to the disclosure may be used for POS payment, public transportation fee payment, road toll payment, user identification, pairing or data transmission between IoT devices, entrance control, information guide system, robot control, and pet identification).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the teaching of Levionnais in view of Metral by receiving, by HBC apparatus, paring or data transmission from NFC reader through a body in proximity to the body and transmitting the paring or data transmission to the user device such as a smart phone via NFC, Bluetooth, or USB, etc. of Kletsov.
The motivation would have been to maintain security of near field communication (NFC) while improving convenience of use (Kletsov par. 15).
Conclusion
/THINH D TRAN/for /Thinh Tran/, Patent Examiner of Art Unit 2466 12/06/2025