Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/07/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument in pages 7-15, the applicant asserts that “Applicant respectfully submits that, even if the teachings of Levionnais and Metral were combined, a person skilled in the art would not have arrived at the features of Claim 1. In addition, Applicant respectfully notes that, as noted in the previous response, Kletsov does not describe in detail the transmitted data, and cannot cure this deficiency of Metral. Applicant respectfully submits that Claim 1 is therefore patentable over the cited combination and any combination of the cited references.” Examiner respectively disagrees.
Response to: 1. There is No Reason to Modify the System of Levionnais in View of the Solution of Metral at Least Because There Is No Connection Between the Provided Motivation and the Specific Feature Selectively Pulled from Metral
The applicant further asserts in pages 9-10 that “As previously discussed, Applicant has already noted that a person skilled in the art would not, starting from the system of Levionnais which requires a consistent pre-configuration (with the same function) of both the device and terminal, look to ‘the solution of Metral which is designed to be implemented for many types of transaction including online transactions, making a pre- configuration impractical and improbable. Applicant further notes that the Examiner’s Answer does not appear to have addressed the lack of any provided reasoning for combining the two references. Rather, the proposed motivation provided in the Office Action for this modification is simply a statement of the benefits of the overall system of Metral as a whole. Not only does the proposed motivation for modification not appear to address any problem addressed by the disclosed technology, the Office Action provides no explanation or argument explaining how the specific feature of Metral used by the Office Action in the proposed combination is related to or would provide the referenced benefit. Applicant respectively submits that the combination of Levionnais and Metral is simply a posteriori reasoning.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant's argument. The system of Levionnais which requires a consistent pre-configuration (with the same function) of both the device and terminal to generate secret code that enable the authorized (authenticated) terminal for sending message between the device and terminal, which is similar to Metral, which the message contains the transaction identifier and other data, may be encrypted (e.g., through public key infrastructure “PKI”, keyed-hash message authentication code “HMAC”, or other encryption techniques) that for authorized (authenticated). Therefore, Levionnais and Metral are in same or similar field of endeavor and one of ordinary skill in the art would able to combine the method as taught by Metral in the system of Levionnais.
Levionnais discloses "This random datum is therefore difficult to obtain for a hacker who might be listening on the second channel" ( [0025]), "The master device (3) is equipment that can transmit radio frequency signals, or carrier waves, through the body of the user, via an IBC antenna... the master device (3) comprises a surface composed by the antenna, possibly protected and adapted to react when the user touches it" ( [0109]), "In an initial step E20, the master device (3) transmits, via its IBC antenna, an electromagnetic signal coding a message M1 intended for any terminal situated in proximity, for example the terminal (1) carried by the user (2) when he or she approaches the device ... the information element consists of a word, "IBC", or else an identifier (SiD) of the service offered (payment, vehicle personalization, or other such service), followed by a random datum (ALEA) which will make it possible to perform an authentication of the transaction after the pairing phase" ( [0148]), “During a step E6, the terminal pairs (connects) with the master device" ( [0158]) and " ] The pairing procedure implemented in this embodiment is perfectly conventional and known to the person skilled in the art; as a reminder, a Bluetooth pairing (BLE) takes the following form: the master device sends a random number to the "slave" device (here, the terminal)" ( [0159]). In other words, when the user touches the master devices, the master device transmits an electromagnetic signal coding a message M1 including service identifier (SiD) (i.e., payment transaction) followed by random datum to prevent from hacking to the terminal via body of the user, via IBC antenna and the terminal pairs with the master device via Bluetooth. In particular, random datum is added is added to the service identifier of payment transaction service to enhance the security. On the other hand, Metral discloses "merchant system 209 may be used in communication with one or more transaction devices 212 which may present and receive information from customers ... the transaction device 212 may include a Bluetooth, Bluetooth Low Energy, NFC, or other wireless communication module enabling communications between a mobile device 202 and transaction device 212" (¶ [0031]) and "the transaction device may broadcast a transaction identifier. The transaction identifier may, for example, include a combination of a service identifier identifying the type of device broadcasting the transaction identifier and a unique ID identifying the party that the device belongs to" ([0033]), “a service identifier indicating the identity or function (such as “checkout kiosk,” “customer service device,” or “mobile checkout device”) of the device and a unique ID belonging to the device“, ( [0042]), and “the transaction identifier, as well as other data, may be encrypted (e.g., through public key infrastructure "PKI", keyed-hash message authentication code HMAC", or other encryption techniques) by the transaction device" ( [0043]). In other words, each of the transaction devices transmits transaction identifier including service identifier and unique ID of the transaction device, and security data (i.e., PKI, HMAC, etc.) via Bluetooth, BLE, NFC, etc. ([0052]) the transaction identifier and reply to the transaction device/kiosk.”
Thus, it would have been obvious to modify the teaching, i.e., transmitting, by transaction device (or master device), message M1 including service identifier for transaction (or payment) service along with random datum used for preventing from hacking via IBC antenna, of Levionnais by transmitting, by transaction device, transaction identifier including service identifier, unique device identifier, and security data of Metral, thereby transmitting, by transaction device (or master device), message M1 including service identifier, unique device identifier, and security data (or random datum) used for preventing from hacking via IBC antenna.
The motivation would have been to allow the processing of the transaction while the mobile device is disconnected from the internet, resulting in advantages including the user being able to conduct a transaction (such as purchasing and receiving goods or services), the merchant being able to make a sale, and the service or wallet provider being able to obtain revenue from the transaction (Metral [0014]). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to implementing Metral in the system of Levionnais to teach the claims.
Response to: 2. There is No Reason to Modify the System of Levionnais in the Manner Proposed in View of Metral or Any Other Reference.
The applicant further asserts in page 11 that “even if a person of skill in the art were to look at Metral, the disclosure of Metral does not cure the deficiencies of Levionnais… Applicant respectfully submits that this amendment has further clarified this distinction over the system of Levionnais in view of Metral or any other proposed modification.”
Examiner respectively disagrees. As indicated by Levionnais in fig. 4, par. 25, 27, 148, 154, 156, the first M1 including the identifier is transmitted over the near-field and in response the M1 OK including the identifier is transmitted over the BLE. The implementation of using the identifier as indicated by Metral as indicated above is obvious to one person of ordinary skill in the art.
“During examination, the claims must be interpreted as broadly as their terms reasonably allow." MPEP § 2111.01 (I) (citing to In re American Academy of Science Tech Center, 367 F.3d 1359, 1369, 70 USPQ2d 1827, 1834 (Fed. Cir. 2004)).
"Though understanding the claim language may be aided by explanations contained in the written description, it is important not to import into a claim limitations that are not part of the claim. For example, a particular embodiment appearing in the written description may not be read into a claim when the claim language is broader than the embodiment." MPEP 2111.01 (11) citing to Superguide Corp. v. DirecTV Enterprises, Inc., 358 F.3d 870, 875, 69 USPQ2d 1865, 1868 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
Given the broad reasonable interpretation of “the data received over the radio channel includes the transmitted identifier” would including the M1 OK message as in Levionnais. Therefore, the combination of Levionnais and Metral would teach the claim.
Response to: 3. Even if Modified as Proposed, the Cited Combination Still Does Not Disclose an Identifier as Claimed
The applicant further asserts in page 12 that “Although Applicant does not agree with the rejection of Claim 1 as previously pending, Applicant has by this paper further amended Claim 1 to emphasize certain distinctions over the cited art, solely in the interest of advancing prosecution. In particular, amended Claim 1 recites the feature that the identifier is unique to the electronic transaction terminal and provides for differentiating said electronic transaction terminal from other electronic transaction terminals.”
Examiner respectively disagrees since as indicated from above, which would indicating Metral discloses “identifier providing for differentiating said electronic transaction terminal from another electronic transaction terminal.” As further indicated by ([0033]), “a service identifier indicating the identity or function (such as “checkout kiosk,” “customer service device,” or “mobile checkout device”) of the device and a unique ID belonging to the device“, ([0052]) the transaction identifier and reply to the transaction device/kiosk” and further indicated by par. 59 of Metral, “The transaction identifier may, for example, include a combination of a service identifier identifying the type of device broadcasting the transaction identifier and a unique ID identifying the customer device, the party that the customer device belongs to, and/or an account related to the owner of the customer device”, which is explicitly indicating the transaction identifier and a unique ID belonging to the device (the transaction device/kiosk) that would differentiating said electronic transaction terminal from another electronic transaction terminal. Therefore, Metral discloses “identifier unique to the electronic transaction terminal and providing for differentiating said electronic transaction terminal from another electronic transaction terminal.” Therefore, the combination of Levionnais and Metral would teach the claim.
The rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8-13, and 15-18, 21, 22, 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Levionnais et al. (WO 2018/109330, US 2019/0372679 is cited for English translation) in view of Metral et al. (US 2017/0193498).
Regarding claim 1, Levionnais discloses a method of pairing between an electronic transaction terminal and a user terminal, the method being performed by the electronic transaction terminal (Fig. 4), the method comprising:
transmitting an identifier of the electronic transaction terminal to the user terminal over a near field channel using electromagnetic wave conduction capabilities of the body of the user (fig. 4, par. 25, 27: to secure the communication over the second channel, because the random datum used for the exchanges over the second channel is received in near-field mode, therefore over a different channel, with a particular frequency that is different from that of the second channel; par. 108: the IBC antenna is designed so as to optimally receive the electromagnetic wave through the human body; par. 148: the master device (3) transmits, via its IBC antenna, an electromagnetic signal coding a message M1 intended for any terminal situated in proximity, for example the terminal (1) carried by the user (2) when he or she approaches the device. The message M1, called first message, or invite message, comprises a plurality of information elements intended to be transmitted continuously during a certain period during which the master device (3) is in transmission mode. For example, the information element consists of a word, “IBC”, or else an identifier (SiD) of the service offered (payment, vehicle personalization, or other such service), followed by a random datum (ALEA) which will make it possible to perform an authentication of the transaction after the pairing phase), when the user brushes the electronic transaction terminal (par. 109, the master device (3) comprises a surface composed by the antenna, possibly protected and adapted to react when the user touches it); and
upon receiving, over a radio channel that is separate from the near field channel, an item of data from the user terminal (par. 154, Then it prepares a response for the master device. The digital message associated with the response, or second message (schematically represented in the figure by M1_OK), is broadcast in the step E4 via the antenna of the terminal (1) over a Bluetooth radio channel. It can for example involve BLE data packets comprising a presence message with, if available, the service identification SiD received previously, as well as, optionally, other information which may be relevant: address (MAC) of the terminal, name, conditions of connection to said terminal, etc.), and in response to the item of data received over the radio including the identifier transmitted to the user terminal over the near field channel ((par. 154: Then it prepares a response for the master device. The digital message associated with the response, or second message (schematically represented in the figure by M1_OK), is broadcast in the step E4 via the antenna of the terminal (1) over a Bluetooth radio channel. It can for example involve BLE data packets comprising a presence message with, if available, the service identification SiD received previously), pairing with the user terminal (par. 156: The response message is tested during a step E23. If the message received is acceptable, that is to say if the form of the acknowledgement is correct and if the other possible information conforms to the expectations of the master device (service number, MAC address, etc.), it can accept the Bluetooth communication with the terminal; during the step E24, it makes a request for pairing with the terminal).
However, Levionnais fails to teach said identifier unique to the electronic transaction terminal and providing for differentiating said electronic transaction terminal from another electronic transaction terminal.
But, METRAL from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches said identifier unique to the electronic transaction terminal (par. 31, 33: The device initiating the transaction may then broadcast a transaction identifier that may include a service identifier indicating the identity or function (such as “checkout kiosk,” “customer service device,” or “mobile checkout device”) of the device and a unique ID belonging to the device. The other device may then receive the transaction identifier and possibly confirm the transaction by, for example, confirming the transaction (through, for example, the transaction identifier) with the transaction management system 230) and providing for differentiating said electronic transaction terminal from another electronic transaction terminal (par. 31: merchant system 209 may be used in communication with one or more transaction devices 212 which may present and receive information from customers. For example, in the situation where the merchant 208 is a physical retail location, a merchant system 209 may be in communication with a number of different transaction devices 212, each of which may be located at a different checkout lane or location within the store (or in different stores in different geographical locations). Each of the transaction devices 212 may present, display, or communicate transaction information to customers at the point of sale so that the customer can approve or authorize purchases and present payment for the purchases. In certain embodiments, the transaction device 212 may include a Bluetooth, Bluetooth Low Energy, NFC, or other wireless communication module enabling communications between a mobile device 202 and transaction device 212; par. 42: the transaction device may broadcast a transaction identifier. The transaction identifier may, for example, include a combination of a service identifier identifying the type of device broadcasting the transaction identifier and a unique ID identifying the party that the device belongs to; par. 59, “The transaction identifier may, for example, include a combination of a service identifier identifying the type of device broadcasting the transaction identifier and a unique ID identifying the customer device). In particular, the unique ID of device belonging to a party is different from the unique ID of the other device belonging to the other party.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the teaching, i.e., sending, by master device, electromagnetic signal coding a message including service identification to user terminal via its IBC antenna of Levionnais by broadcasting, by transaction device, transaction identifier including service identifier and a unique ID identifying the party of the device to mobile device via Bluetooth, Bluetooth Low Energy, and NFC, etc. of Metral, thereby sending, by master device, electromagnetic signal coding a message including service identification to user terminal in combination with a unique ID identifying the party of the master device to user terminal including Bluetooth, BLE, and NFC chip etc., via its IBC antenna.
The motivation would have been to allow the processing of the transaction while the mobile device is disconnected from the internet, resulting in advantages including the user being able to conduct a transaction (such as purchasing and receiving goods or services), the merchant being able to make a sale, and the service or wallet provider being able to obtain revenue from the transaction (Metral ¶ [0014]).
Regarding claim 2, Levionnais discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the identifier includes at least a first item of data which is dependent on the transaction terminal and a second item of data which is dependent on the transaction (par. 148: the information element consists of a word, “IBC”, or else an identifier (SiD) of the service offered (payment, vehicle personalization, or other such service), followed by a random datum (ALEA) which will make it possible to perform an authentication of the transaction after the pairing phase).
Regarding claim 3, Levionnais discloses the method of claim 1, additionally comprising, after receiving the identifier over the radio channel, canceling a pairing with another user terminal (par. 165: if the device 3 connects to the terminal 1 (which has acknowledged the service identifier), the second terminal will not be able to connect to it because the fixed terminal has stopped broadcasting the invite message insofar as it is already connected to a terminal).
Regarding claim 4, Levionnais discloses the method of claim 1, additionally comprising, prior to receiving the identifier over the radio channel, initiating at least one bidirectional communication over the radio channel with at least one user terminal (par. 113: In the context of particular interest here, the method according to this embodiment of the invention proceeds in three stages, or phases, which are transparent to the user of the terminal: par. 114: In a first stage, which corresponds to a phase called “IBC phase”, the user approaches the reader (3) and directs his or her hand above the surface including the antenna; according to the examples of personalized services mentioned above, the IBC module comprising the antenna and the surface of the master device are located in the handle of the car that the user has just leased (the vehicle personalization scenario), in a store (banking scenario), in a connected object of the house (domestic scenario), in the computer mouse (professional scenario), and the terminal (1) of the user is in his or her pocket; ¶ [0147]: FIG. 4 represents the steps of a method for secure bidirectional wireless communication between a mobile device (1), also called terminal, carried by a user (2), and a master device (3), both equipped with an IBC module (antenna, surface, modulator/demodulator, firmware, etc.), according to an embodiment of the invention).
Regarding claim 5, Levionnais discloses a method of pairing between a user terminal and an electronic transaction terminal, the method being performed by the user terminal (Fig. 4), the method comprising:
Obtaining, from the electronic transaction terminal, an identifier of the electronic transaction terminal (fig. 4, par. 25, 27: to secure the communication over the second channel, because the random datum used for the exchanges over the second channel is received in near-field mode, therefore over a different channel, with a particular frequency that is different from that of the second channel; par. 108: the IBC antenna is designed so as to optimally receive the electromagnetic wave through the human body; par. 108: the IBC antenna is designed so as to optimally receive the electromagnetic wave through the human body; par. 148: the master device (3) transmits, via its IBC antenna, an electromagnetic signal coding a message M1 intended for any terminal situated in proximity, for example the terminal (1) carried by the user (2) when he or she approaches the device. The message M1, called first message, or invite message, comprises a plurality of information elements intended to be transmitted continuously during a certain period during which the master device (3) is in transmission mode. For example, the information element consists of a word, “IBC”, or else an identifier (SiD) of the service offered (payment, vehicle personalization, or other such service), followed by a random datum (ALEA) which will make it possible to perform an authentication of the transaction after the pairing phase);
transmitting to the electronic transaction terminal, over a radio channel, the obtained identifier (par. 154: Then it prepares a response for the master device. The digital message associated with the response, or second message (schematically represented in the figure by M1_OK), is broadcast in the step E4 via the antenna of the terminal (1) over a Bluetooth radio channel. It can for example involve BLE data packets comprising a presence message with, if available, the service identification SiD received previously, as well as, optionally, other information which may be relevant: address (MAC) of the terminal, name, conditions of connection to said terminal, etc.); and
after reception, by the electronic transaction terminal, of the obtained identifier over the radio channel, pairing with the electronic transaction terminal (par. 154, 156: The response message is tested during a step E23. If the message received is acceptable, that is to say if the form of the acknowledgement is correct and if the other possible information conforms to the expectations of the master device (service number, MAC address, etc.), it can accept the Bluetooth communication with the terminal; during the step E24, it makes a request for pairing with the terminal).
However, Levionnais does not teach said identifier unique to the electronic transaction terminal and providing for differentiating said electronic transaction terminal from another electronic transaction terminal.
But, METRAL from the same or similar fields of endeavor discloses said identifier unique to the electronic transaction terminal (par. 31, 33: The device initiating the transaction may then broadcast a transaction identifier that may include a service identifier indicating the identity or function (such as “checkout kiosk,” “customer service device,” or “mobile checkout device”) of the device and a unique ID belonging to the device. The other device may then receive the transaction identifier and possibly confirm the transaction by, for example, confirming the transaction (through, for example, the transaction identifier) with the transaction management system 230) and providing for differentiating said electronic transaction terminal from another electronic transaction terminal (par. 31: merchant system 209 may be used in communication with one or more transaction devices 212 which may present and receive information from customers. For example, in the situation where the merchant 208 is a physical retail location, a merchant system 209 may be in communication with a number of different transaction devices 212, each of which may be located at a different checkout lane or location within the store (or in different stores in different geographical locations). Each of the transaction devices 212 may present, display, or communicate transaction information to customers at the point of sale so that the customer can approve or authorize purchases and present payment for the purchases. In certain embodiments, the transaction device 212 may include a Bluetooth, Bluetooth Low Energy, NFC, or other wireless communication module enabling communications between a mobile device 202 and transaction device 212; par. 42: the transaction device may broadcast a transaction identifier. The transaction identifier may, for example, include a combination of a service identifier identifying the type of device broadcasting the transaction identifier and a unique ID identifying the party that the device belongs to; par. 59, “The transaction identifier may, for example, include a combination of a service identifier identifying the type of device broadcasting the transaction identifier and a unique ID identifying the customer device). In particular, the unique ID of device belonging to a party is different from the unique ID of the other device belonging to the other party.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the teaching, i.e., sending, by master device, electromagnetic signal coding a message including service identification to user terminal via its IBC antenna of Levionnais by broadcasting, by transaction device, transaction identifier including service identifier and a unique ID identifying the party of the device to mobile device via Bluetooth, Bluetooth Low Energy, and NFC, etc. of Metral, thereby sending, by master device, electromagnetic signal coding a message including service identification to user terminal in combination with a unique ID identifying the party of the master device to user terminal including Bluetooth, BLE, and NFC chip etc., via its IBC antenna.
The motivation would have been to allow the processing of the transaction while the mobile device is disconnected from the internet, resulting in advantages including the user being able to conduct a transaction (such as purchasing and receiving goods or services), the merchant being able to make a sale, and the service or wallet provider being able to obtain revenue from the transaction (Metral par. 14).
Regarding claim 8, Levionnais discloses the method of claim 5, wherein the identifier is received (par. 108: the IBC antenna is designed so as to optimally receive the electromagnetic wave through the human body; par. 148: the master device (3) transmits, via its IBC antenna, an electromagnetic signal coding a message M1 intended for any terminal situated in proximity, for example the terminal (1) carried by the user (2) when he or she approaches the device. The message M1, called first message, or invite message, comprises a plurality of information elements intended to be transmitted continuously during a certain period during which the master device (3) is in transmission mode. For example, the information element consists of a word, “IBC”, or else an identifier (SiD) of the service offered (payment, vehicle personalization, or other such service), followed by a random datum (ALEA) which will make it possible to perform an authentication of the transaction after the pairing phase) on a device inside the user terminal (par. 124-126: a module called “receiver IBC module”, MIBCr, including: an IBC antenna (ANT) suitable for receiving signals over the radio channel and via the human body, so that a modulated electrical signal conveyed by the body of the user will be able to be received by the antenna, which is located in the terminal, in proximity with the human body; a demodulator (DEMOD), intended to receive a modulated electrical signal via the antenna and to transform it into a digital signal intended to be transmitted to the processing unit).
Regarding claim 9, Levionnais discloses the method of claim 5, additionally comprising, prior to transmitting the identifier over the radio channel, initiating at least one bidirectional communication over the radio channel with the electronic transaction terminal (par. 113: In the context of particular interest here, the method according to this embodiment of the invention proceeds in three stages, or phases, which are transparent to the user of the terminal; par. 114, In a first stage, which corresponds to a phase called “IBC phase”, the user approaches the reader (3) and directs his or her hand above the surface including the antenna; according to the examples of personalized services mentioned above, the IBC module comprising the antenna and the surface of the master device are located in the handle of the car that the user has just leased (the vehicle personalization scenario), in a store (banking scenario), in a connected object of the house (domestic scenario), in the computer mouse (professional scenario), and the terminal (1) of the user is in his or her pocket; par. 147: FIG. 4 represents the steps of a method for secure bidirectional wireless communication between a mobile device (1), also called terminal, carried by a user (2), and a master device (3), both equipped with an IBC module (antenna, surface, modulator/demodulator, firmware, etc.), according to an embodiment of the invention).
Regarding claim 10, Levionnais discloses the method of claim 5, an electronic transaction terminal comprising a near field transmitter, a radio transmitter, a radio receiver, a memory, and a processor (Fig. 3) which are configured to implement the method of Claim 1 (See the rejection for claim 1).
Regarding claim 11, Levionnais discloses the user terminal comprising a transmitter, a receiver, a memory and a processor (Fig. 2) which are configured to implement the method of Claim 5 (See the rejection for claim 5).
Regarding claim 12, Levionnais discloses the user terminal of claim 11, further comprising a near field receiver (Fig. 2) configured to receive the identifier of the electronic transaction terminal via a channel using electromagnetic wave conduction capabilities of the body of a user (par. 108: the IBC antenna is designed so as to optimally receive the electromagnetic wave through the human body; par. 148: the master device (3) transmits, via its IBC antenna, an electromagnetic signal coding a message M1 intended for any terminal situated in proximity, for example the terminal (1) carried by the user (2) when he or she approaches the device. The message M1, called first message, or invite message, comprises a plurality of information elements intended to be transmitted continuously during a certain period during which the master device (3) is in transmission mode. For example, the information element consists of a word, “IBC”, or else an identifier (SiD) of the service offered (payment, vehicle personalization, or other such service), followed by a random datum (ALEA) which will make it possible to perform an authentication of the transaction after the pairing phase).
Regarding claim 13, Levionnais discloses a near field device comprising ... a near field receiver ... , the near field device being configured to (Fig. 2):
Receive from the electronic transaction terminal an identifier of the electronic transaction terminal via a near field channel using electromagnetic wave conduction capabilities of a user body (fig. 4, par. 25, 27: to secure the communication over the second channel, because the random datum used for the exchanges over the second channel is received in near-field mode, therefore over a different channel, with a particular frequency that is different from that of the second channel; par. 108: the IBC antenna is designed so as to optimally receive the electromagnetic wave through the human body; par. 108: the IBC antenna is designed so as to optimally receive the electromagnetic wave through the human body; par. 148: the master device (3) transmits, via its IBC antenna, an electromagnetic signal coding a message M1 intended for any terminal situated in proximity, for example the terminal (1) carried by the user (2) when he or she approaches the device. The message M1, called first message, or invite message, comprises a plurality of information elements intended to be transmitted continuously during a certain period during which the master device (3) is in transmission mode. For example, the information element consists of a word, “IBC”, or else an identifier (SiD) of the service offered (payment, vehicle personalization, or other such service), followed by a random datum (ALEA) which will make it possible to perform an authentication of the transaction after the pairing phase);
transmit the received identifier via a second communication channel (par. 154: Then it prepares a response for the master device. The digital message associated with the response, or second message (schematically represented in the figure by M1_OK), is broadcast in the step E4 via the antenna of the terminal (1) over a Bluetooth radio channel. It can for example involve BLE data packets comprising a presence message with, if available, the service identification SiD received previously, as well as, optionally, other information which may be relevant: address (MAC) of the terminal, name, conditions of connection to said terminal, etc.).
However, Levionnais does not teach a near field device comprising a transmitter, a near field receiver, a memory, and a processor ... said identifier unique to the electronic transaction terminal and providing for differentiating said electronic transaction terminal from another electronic transaction terminal.
But, METRAL from the same or similar fields of endeavor discloses a near field device comprising a transmitter, a near field receiver, a memory, and a processor (par. 28: The mobile device 202 may be a mobile device having an RFID chip installed therein allowing the device to be operated pursuant to ISO/IEC 18092, NFC IP-1 or the ISO/IEC 14443 contactless communication standards, or other applicable contactless communication standards and wireless technologies including but not limited to those for Bluetooth and Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) and NFC; par. 78: The various features and steps described herein may be implemented as systems comprising one or more memories storing various information described herein and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories and a network)) ... said identifier unique to the electronic transaction terminal (par. 31, 33: The device initiating the transaction may then broadcast a transaction identifier that may include a service identifier indicating the identity or function (such as “checkout kiosk,” “customer service device,” or “mobile checkout device”) of the device and a unique ID belonging to the device. The other device may then receive the transaction identifier and possibly confirm the transaction by, for example, confirming the transaction (through, for example, the transaction identifier) with the transaction management system 230) and providing for differentiating said electronic transaction terminal from another electronic transaction terminal (par. 31: merchant system 209 may be used in communication with one or more transaction devices 212 which may present and receive information from customers. For example, in the situation where the merchant 208 is a physical retail location, a merchant system 209 may be in communication with a number of different transaction devices 212, each of which may be located at a different checkout lane or location within the store (or in different stores in different geographical locations). Each of the transaction devices 212 may present, display, or communicate transaction information to customers at the point of sale so that the customer can approve or authorize purchases and present payment for the purchases. In certain embodiments, the transaction device 212 may include a Bluetooth, Bluetooth Low Energy, NFC, or other wireless communication module enabling communications between a mobile device 202 and transaction device 212; par. 42: the transaction device may broadcast a transaction identifier. The transaction identifier may, for example, include a combination of a service identifier identifying the type of device broadcasting the transaction identifier and a unique ID identifying the party that the device belongs to; par. 59, “The transaction identifier may, for example, include a combination of a service identifier identifying the type of device broadcasting the transaction identifier and a unique ID identifying the customer device). In particular, the unique ID of device belonging to a party is different from the unique ID of the other device belonging to the other party.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the teaching, i.e., sending, by master device, electromagnetic signal coding a message including service identification to user terminal via its IBC antenna of Levionnais by broadcasting, by transaction device, transaction identifier including service identifier and a unique ID identifying the party of the device to mobile device via Bluetooth, Bluetooth Low Energy, and NFC, etc. of Metral, thereby sending, by master device, electromagnetic signal coding a message including service identification to user terminal in combination with a unique ID identifying the party of the master device to user terminal including Bluetooth, BLE, and NFC chip etc., via its IBC antenna.
The motivation would have been to allow the processing of the transaction while the mobile device is disconnected from the internet, resulting in advantages including the user being able to conduct a transaction (such as purchasing and receiving goods or services), the merchant being able to make a sale, and the service or wallet provider being able to obtain revenue from the transaction (Metral par. 14).
Regarding claim 15, Levionnais discloses a system for wireless pairing of terminals, the system comprising:
the electronic transaction terminal (par. 147: a master device (3)) of Claim 10 (See the rejection for claim 10); and
a user terminal comprising a transmitter, a receiver, a memory and a processor, the user terminal being configured to (par. 147: a mobile device (1), also called terminal):
obtain the identifier of the electronic transaction terminal (par. 108: the IBC antenna is designed so as to optimally receive the electromagnetic wave through the human body; par. 148: the master device (3) transmits, via its IBC antenna, an electromagnetic signal coding a message M1 intended for any terminal situated in proximity, for example the terminal (1) carried by the user (2) when he or she approaches the device. The message M1, called first message, or invite message, comprises a plurality of information elements intended to be transmitted continuously during a certain period during which the master device (3) is in transmission mode. For example, the information element consists of a word, “IBC”, or else an identifier (SiD) of the service offered (payment, vehicle personalization, or other such service), followed by a random datum (ALEA) which will make it possible to perform an authentication of the transaction after the pairing phase); and
transmit, over a radio channel, the obtained identifier (par. 154: Then it prepares a response for the master device. The digital message associated with the response, or second message (schematically represented in the figure by M1_OK), is broadcast in the step E4 via the antenna of the terminal (1) over a Bluetooth radio channel. It can for example involve BLE data packets comprising a presence message with, if available, the service identification SiD received previously, as well as, optionally, other information which may be relevant: address (MAC) of the terminal, name, conditions of connection to said terminal, etc.);
wherein, when the user carrying the user terminal brushes the electronic transaction terminal (par. 109: the master device (3) comprises a surface composed by the antenna, possibly protected and adapted to react when the user touches it), the identifier of the electronic transaction terminal is transmitted via the near field channel using electromagnetic wave conduction capabilities of the user body and received by the near field receiver of the user terminal (par. 108: the IBC antenna is designed so as to optimally receive the electromagnetic wave through the human body; ¶ [0148]: the master device (3) transmits, via its IBC antenna, an electromagnetic signal coding a message M1 intended for any terminal situated in proximity, for example the terminal (1) carried by the user (2) when he or she approaches the device. The message M1, called first message, or invite message, comprises a plurality of information elements intended to be transmitted continuously during a certain period during which the master device (3) is in transmission mode. For example, the information element consists of a word, “IBC”, or else an identifier (SiD) of the service offered (payment, vehicle personalization, or other such service), followed by a random datum (ALEA) which will make it possible to perform an authentication of the transaction after the pairing phase).
Regarding claim 16, Levionnais discloses a non-transitory, computer-readable storage medium having stored thereon instructions which, when executed by a processor (Fig. 3), cause the processor to perform the method of Claim 1 (See the rejection for claim 1).
Regarding claim 17, Levionnais discloses a non-transitory, computer-readable storage medium having stored thereon instructions which, when executed by a processor (Fig. 2), cause the processor to perform the method of Claim 5 (See the rejection for claim 5).
Regarding claim 18, Levionnais discloses the method of claim 5, wherein the identifier includes at least a first item of data which is dependent on the transaction terminal and a second item of data which is dependent on the transaction (par. 148: the information element consists of a word, “IBC”, or else an identifier (SiD) of the service offered (payment, vehicle personalization, or other such service), followed by a random datum (ALEA) which will make it possible to perform an authentication of the transaction after the pairing phase).
However, Levionnais fails to teach the identifier unambiquously differentiates the electronic transaction terminal from other electronic transaction terminals.
But, METRAL from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the identifier unambiquously differentiates the electronic transaction terminal from other electronic transaction terminals (par. 31: merchant system 209 may be used in communication with one or more transaction devices 212 which may present and receive information from customers. For example, in the situation where the merchant 208 is a physical retail location, a merchant system 209 may be in communication with a number of different transaction devices 212, each of which may be located at a different checkout lane or location within the store (or in different stores in different geographical locations). Each of the transaction devices 212 may present, display, or communicate transaction information to customers at the point of sale so that the customer can approve or authorize purchases and present payment for the purchases. In certain embodiments, the transaction device 212 may include a Bluetooth, Bluetooth Low Energy, NFC, or other wireless communication module enabling communications between a mobile device 202 and transaction device 212; par. 42: the transaction device may broadcast a transaction identifier. The transaction identifier may, for example, include a combination of a service identifier identifying the type of device broadcasting the transaction identifier and a unique ID identifying the party that the device belongs to; par. 59, “The transaction identifier may, for example, include a combination of a service identifier identifying the type of device broadcasting the transaction identifier and a unique ID identifying the customer device). In particular, the unique ID of device belonging to a party is different from the unique ID of the other device belonging to the other party.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the teaching, i.e., sending, by master device, electromagnetic signal coding a message including service identification to user terminal via its IBC antenna of Levionnais by broadcasting, by transaction device, transaction identifier including service identifier and a unique ID identifying the party of the device to mobile device via Bluetooth, Bluetooth Low Energy, and NFC, etc. of Metral, thereby sending, by master device, electromagnetic signal coding a message including service identification to user terminal in combination with a unique ID identifying the party of the master device to user terminal including Bluetooth, BLE, and NFC chip etc., via its IBC antenna.
The motivation would have been to allow the processing of the transaction while the mobile device is disconnected from the internet, resulting in advantages including the user being able to conduct a transaction (such as purchasing and receiving goods or services), the merchant being able to make a sale, and the service or wallet provider being able to obtain revenue from the transaction (Metral ¶ [0014]).
.
Regarding claim 21, Levionnais discloses a method of pairing between a user terminal and a first electronic transaction terminal, the method being performed by the user terminal (Fig. 4), the method comprising:
obtaining an identifier of the first electronic transaction terminal (fig. 4, par. 25, 27: to secure the communication over the second channel, because the random datum used for the exchanges over the second channel is received in near-field mode, therefore over a different channel, with a particular frequency that is different from that of the second channel; par. 108: the IBC antenna is designed so as to optimally receive the electromagnetic wave through the human body; par. 108: the IBC antenna is designed so as to optimally receive the electromagnetic wave through the human body; par. 148: the master device (3) transmits, via its IBC antenna, an electromagnetic signal coding a message M1 intended for any terminal situated in proximity, for example the terminal (1) carried by the user (2) when he or she approaches the device. The message M1, called first message, or invite message, comprises a plurality of information elements intended to be transmitted continuously during a certain period during which the master device (3) is in transmission mode. For example, the information element consists of a word, “IBC”, or else an identifier (SiD) of the service offered (payment, vehicle personalization, or other such service), followed by a random datum (ALEA) which will make it possible to perform an authentication of the transaction after the pairing phase);
initiating at least one communication over a radio channel with at least one electronic transaction terminal (par. 153, 154: if this module is not active, it opens the Bluetooth channel… Then it prepares a response for the master device. The digital message associated with the response, or second message (schematically represented in the figure by M1_OK), is broadcast in the step E4 via the antenna of the terminal (1) over a Bluetooth radio channel); transmitting, over said radio channel, the obtained identifier (par. 154: Then it prepares a response for the master device. The digital message associated with the response, or second message (schematically represented in the figure by M1_OK), is broadcast in the step E4 via the antenna of the terminal (1) over a Bluetooth radio channel. It can for example involve BLE data packets comprising a presence message with, if available, the service identification SiD received previously, as well as, optionally, other information which may be relevant: address (MAC) of the terminal, name, conditions of connection to said terminal, etc.); and
after reception, by the electronic transaction terminal, of the obtained identifier over the radio channel ((par. 154: Then it prepares a response for the master device. The digital message associated with the response, or second message (schematically represented in the figure by M1_OK), is broadcast in the step E4 via the antenna of the terminal (1) over a Bluetooth radio channel. It can for example involve BLE data packets comprising a presence message with, if available, the service identification SiD received previously), pairing with the electronic transaction terminal (par. 156: The response message is tested during a step E23. If the message received is acceptable, that is to say if the form of the acknowledgement is correct and if the other possible information conforms to the expectations of the master device (service number, MAC address, etc.), it can accept the Bluetooth communication with the terminal; during the step E24, it makes a request for pairing with the terminal).
However, Levionnais does not teach said identifier unique to the electronic transaction terminal and providing for differentiating said first electronic transaction terminal from another electronic transaction terminal.
But, METRAL from the same or similar fields of endeavor teach said identifier unique to the electronic transaction terminal (par. 31, 33: The device initiating the transaction may then broadcast a transaction identifier that may include a service identifier indicating the identity or function (such as “checkout kiosk,” “customer service device,” or “mobile checkout device”) of the device and a unique ID belonging to the device. The other device may then receive the transaction identifier and possibly confirm the transaction by, for example, confirming the transaction (through, for example, the transaction identifier) with the transaction management system 230) and providing for differentiating said first electronic transaction terminal from another electronic transaction terminal (par. 31: merchant system 209 may be used in communication with one or more transaction devices 212 which may present and receive information from customers. For example, in the situation where the merchant 208 is a physical retail location, a merchant system 209 may be in communication with a number of different transaction devices 212, each of which may be located at a different checkout lane or location within the store (or in different stores in different geographical locations). Each of the transaction devices 212 may present, display, or communicate transaction information to customers at the point of sale so that the customer can approve or authorize purchases and present payment for the purchases. In certain embodiments, the transaction device 212 may include a Bluetooth, Bluetooth Low Energy, NFC, or other wireless communication module enabling communications between a mobile device 202 and transaction device 212; par. 42: the transaction device may broadcast a transaction identifier. The transaction identifier may, for example, include a combination of a service identifier identifying the type of device broadcasting the transaction identifier and a unique ID identifying the party that the device belongs to; par. 59, “The transaction identifier may, for example, include a combination of a service identifier identifying the type of device broadcasting the transaction identifier and a unique ID identifying the customer device). In particular, the unique ID of device belonging to a party is different from the unique ID of the other device belonging to the other party.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the teaching, i.e., sending, by master device, electromagnetic signal coding a message including service identification to user terminal via its IBC antenna of Levionnais by broadcasting, by transaction device, transaction identifier including service identifier and a unique ID identifying the party of the device to mobile device via Bluetooth, Bluetooth Low Energy, and NFC, etc. of Metral, thereby sending, by master device, electromagnetic signal coding a message including service identification to user terminal in combination with a unique ID identifying the party of the master device to user terminal including Bluetooth, BLE, and NFC chip etc., via its IBC antenna.
The motivation would have been to allow the processing of the transaction while the mobile device is disconnected from the internet, resulting in advantages including the user being able to conduct a transaction (such as purchasing and receiving goods or services), the merchant being able to make a sale, and the service or wallet provider being able to obtain revenue from the transaction (Metral par. 14).
Regarding claim 22, Levionnais discloses the method of claim 1, wherein said identifier belongs to said first electronic transaction terminal (par. 108: the IBC antenna is designed so as to optimally receive the electromagnetic wave through the human body; par. 148: the master device (3) transmits, via its IBC antenna, an electromagnetic signal coding a message M1 intended for any terminal situated in proximity, for example the terminal (1) carried by the user (2) when he or she approaches the device. The message M1, called first message, or invite message, comprises a plurality of information elements intended to be transmitted continuously during a certain period during which the master device (3) is in transmission mode. For example, the information element consists of a word, “IBC”, or else an identifier (SiD) of the service offered (payment, vehicle personalization, or other such service), followed by a random datum (ALEA) which will make it possible to perform an authentication of the transaction after the pairing phase).
However, Levionnais does not explicitly teach wherein said identifier only belongs to said first electronic transaction terminal.
But, METRAL from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches wherein said identifier only belongs to said first electronic transaction terminal (par. 31: merchant system 209 may be used in communication with one or more transaction devices 212 which may present and receive information from customers. For example, in the situation where the merchant 208 is a physical retail location, a merchant system 209 may be in communication with a number of different transaction devices 212, each of which may be located at a different checkout lane or location within the store (or in different stores in different geographical locations). Each of the transaction devices 212 may present, display, or communicate transaction information to customers at the point of sale so that the customer can approve or authorize purchases and present payment for the purchases. In certain embodiments, the transaction device 212 may include a Bluetooth, Bluetooth Low Energy, NFC, or other wireless communication module enabling communications between a mobile device 202 and transaction device 212; par. 42: the transaction device may broadcast a transaction identifier. The transaction identifier may, for example, include a combination of a service identifier identifying the type of device broadcasting the transaction identifier and a unique ID identifying the party that the device belongs to; par. 43, included in the transaction identifier with, for example, information identifying the customer device (such as information as to the type of electronic device of the customer device and/or the identity of the electronic device itself); par. 59, “The transaction identifier may, for example, include a combination of a service identifier identifying the type of device broadcasting the transaction identifier and a unique ID identifying the customer device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the teaching, i.e., sending, by master device, electromagnetic signal coding a message including service identification to user terminal via its IBC antenna of Levionnais by broadcasting, by transaction device, transaction identifier including service identifier and a unique ID identifying the party of the device to mobile device via Bluetooth, Bluetooth Low Energy, and NFC, etc. of Metral, thereby sending, by master device, electromagnetic signal coding a message including service identification to user terminal in combination with a unique ID identifying the party of the master device to user terminal including Bluetooth, BLE, and NFC chip etc., via its IBC antenna.
The motivation would have been to allow the processing of the transaction while the mobile device is disconnected from the internet, resulting in advantages including the user being able to conduct a transaction (such as purchasing and receiving goods or services), the merchant being able to make a sale, and the service or wallet provider being able to obtain revenue from the transaction (Metral par. 14).
Regarding claim 23, Levionnais teaches the method of Claim 1, further comprising determining, after reception of the item of data from the user terminal over the radio channel, that the item of data received over the radio channel includes the identifier transmitted to the user terminal over the near field channel, the pairing of the user terminal being performed in response to said determining (par. 148, 154, 156, The message M1, called first message, or invite message, comprises a plurality of information elements intended to be transmitted continuously during a certain period during which the master device (3) is in transmission mode. For example, the information element consists of a word, “IBC”, or else an identifier (SiD) of the service offered (payment, vehicle personalization, or other such service) …that is to say if the form of the acknowledgement is correct and if the other possible information conforms to the expectations of the master device (service number, MAC address, etc.), it can accept the Bluetooth communication with the terminal; during the step E24, it makes a request for pairing with the terminal. Otherwise, the master device (3) can then notify the terminal in this same step that the service cannot be rendered).
Claims 6, 7, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Levionnais et al. (WO 2018/109330, US 2019/0372679 is cited for English translation) in view of Metral et al. (US 2017/0193498) as applied to claims 5 and 10, and further in view of Kletsov et al. (US 2021/0258044).
Regarding claim 6, Levionnais discloses the method of claim 5, wherein the identifier is received (par. 108: the IBC antenna is designed so as to optimally receive the electromagnetic wave through the human body; ¶ [0148]: the master device (3) transmits, via its IBC antenna, an electromagnetic signal coding a message M1 intended for any terminal situated in proximity, for example the terminal (1) carried by the user (2) when he or she approaches the device. The message M1, called first message, or invite message, comprises a plurality of information elements intended to be transmitted continuously during a certain period during which the master device (3) is in transmission mode. For example, the information element consists of a word, “IBC”, or else an identifier (SiD) of the service offered (payment, vehicle personalization, or other such service), followed by a random datum (ALEA) which will make it possible to perform an authentication of the transaction after the pairing phase).
However, Levionnais and Metral do not teach wherein the identifier is received from an external device over a radio channel.
But, Kletsov from the same or similar fields of endeavor discloses wherein the identifier is received from an external device over a radio channel (par. 34: Referring to FIG. 1, a HBC apparatus 100 for an NFC signal, according to an embodiment of the disclosure, may include a first communicator 110 configured to receive an NFC signal from an NFC reader 300 through a body 200 in proximity to the body 200, and a second communicator 120 configured to transmit a signal to a user device 400 ... Examples of the user device 400 may include a smart phone, a table computer, and a smart watch. The user device 400 may include an NFC function; par. 38: the data may be transmitted regardless of the NFC standard when transmitted to the user device 400 by the second communicator 120, may be transmitted according to a data format (for example, NFC data exchange format (NDEF) of the NFC standard, or may be transmitted according to an RF signal format of the NFC standard; par. 57: The second communicator 120 may communicate with the user device 400 by using a communication method other than NFC. Here, the communication method other than NFC may include a wireless communication method, such as Bluetooth, magnetic secure transmission (MST), and industrial scientific and medical (ISM), or a wired communication method, such as a universal serial bus (USB); par. 94: The HBC apparatus 100 or 500 for an NFC signal according to the disclosure may be used for POS payment, public transportation fee payment, road toll payment, user identification, pairing or data transmission between IoT devices, entrance control, information guide system, robot control, and pet identification; par. 99: HBO apparatus including micro-control unit (MCU) and memory).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the teaching of Levionnais in view of Metral by receiving, by HBC apparatus including MCU, memory, communicators, etc., paring or data transmission from NFC reader through a body in proximity to the body and transmitting the paring or data transmission to the user device such as a smart phone via NFC, Bluetooth, or USB, etc. of Kletsov.
The motivation would have been to maintain security of near field communication (NFC) while improving convenience of use (Kletsov par. 15).
Regarding claim 7, Levionnais discloses the method of claim 5, wherein the identifier is received (par. 108: the IBC antenna is designed so as to optimally receive the electromagnetic wave through the human body; ¶ [0148]: the master device (3) transmits, via its IBC antenna, an electromagnetic signal coding a message M1 intended for any terminal situated in proximity, for example the terminal (1) carried by the user (2) when he or she approaches the device. The message M1, called first message, or invite message, comprises a plurality of information elements intended to be transmitted continuously during a certain period during which the master device (3) is in transmission mode. For example, the information element consists of a word, “IBC”, or else an identifier (SiD) of the service offered (payment, vehicle personalization, or other such service), followed by a random datum (ALEA) which will make it possible to perform an authentication of the transaction after the pairing phase).
However, Levionnaisand Metral do not teach wherein the identifier is received from an external device over a serial interface.
But, Kletsov from the same or similar fields of endeavor discloses wherein the identifier is received from an external device over a serial interface (par. 34: Referring to FIG. 1, a HBC apparatus 100 for an NFC signal, according to an embodiment of the disclosure, may include a first communicator 110 configured to receive an NFC signal from an NFC reader 300 through a body 200 in proximity to the body 200, and a second communicator 120 configured to transmit a signal to a user device 400 ... Examples of the user device 400 may include a smart phone, a table computer, and a smart watch. The user device 400 may include an NFC function; par. 38: , the data may be transmitted regardless of the NFC standard when transmitted to the user device 400 by the second communicator 120, may be transmitted according to a data format (for example, NFC data exchange format (NDEF) of the NFC standard, or may be transmitted according to an RF signal format of the NFC standard; par. 57: The second communicator 120 may communicate with the user device 400 by using a communication method other than NFC. Here, the communication method other than NFC may include a wireless communication method, such as Bluetooth, magnetic secure transmission (MST), and industrial scientific and medical (ISM), or a wired communication method, such as a universal serial bus (USB); par. 94: The HBC apparatus 100 or 500 for an NFC signal according to the disclosure may be used for POS payment, public transportation fee payment, road toll payment, user identification, pairing or data transmission between IoT devices, entrance control, information guide system, robot control, and pet identification).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the teaching of Levionnais in view of Metral by receiving, by HBC apparatus, paring or data transmission from NFC reader through a body in proximity to the body and transmitting the paring or data transmission to the user device such as a smart phone via NFC, Bluetooth, or USB, etc. of Kletsov.
The motivation would have been to maintain security of near field communication (NFC) while improving convenience of use (Kletsov par. 15).
Regarding claim 14, Levionnais discloses a system for wireless pairing of terminals, the system comprising:
the electronic transaction terminal (par. 147: a master device (3)) of Claim (See the rejection for claim 10),
a user terminal comprising a transmitter, a receiver, a memory and a processor, the user terminal being configured to (par. 147: a mobile device (1), also called terminal):
obtain an identifier of the electronic transaction terminal (par. 108: the IBC antenna is designed so as to optimally receive the electromagnetic wave through the human body; par. 148: the master device (3) transmits, via its IBC antenna, an electromagnetic signal coding a message M1 intended for any terminal situated in proximity, for example the terminal (1) carried by the user (2) when he or she approaches the device. The message M1, called first message, or invite message, comprises a plurality of information elements intended to be transmitted continuously during a certain period during which the master device (3) is in transmission mode. For example, the information element consists of a word, “IBC”, or else an identifier (SiD) of the service offered (payment, vehicle personalization, or other such service), followed by a random datum (ALEA) which will make it possible to perform an authentication of the transaction after the pairing phase); and
transmit, over a radio channel, the obtained identifier (par. 154: Then it prepares a response for the master device. The digital message associated with the response, or second message (schematically represented in the figure by M1_OK), is broadcast in the step E4 via the antenna of the terminal (1) over a Bluetooth radio channel. It can for example involve BLE data packets comprising a presence message with, if available, the service identification SiD received previously, as well as, optionally, other information which may be relevant: address (MAC) of the terminal, name, conditions of connection to said terminal, etc.); and
a near field device comprising ... a near field receiver ... , the near field device configured to (par. 124-126: a module called “receiver IBC module”, MIBCr, including: an IBC antenna (ANT) suitable for receiving signals over the radio channel and via the human body, so that a modulated electrical signal conveyed by the body of the user will be able to be received by the antenna, which is located in the terminal, in proximity with the human body; a demodulator (DEMOD), intended to receive a modulated electrical signal via the antenna and to transform it into a digital signal intended to be transmitted to the processing unit)):
receive the identifier of an electronic transaction terminal via a near field channel using electromagnetic wave conduction capabilities of the body of a user (par. 108: the IBC antenna is designed so as to optimally receive the electromagnetic wave through the human body; par. 148: the master device (3) transmits, via its IBC antenna, an electromagnetic signal coding a message M1 intended for any terminal situated in proximity, for example the terminal (1) carried by the user (2) when he or she approaches the device. The message M1, called first message, or invite message, comprises a plurality of information elements intended to be transmitted continuously during a certain period during which the master device (3) is in transmission mode. For example, the information element consists of a word, “IBC”, or else an identifier (SiD) of the service offered (payment, vehicle personalization, or other such service), followed by a random datum (ALEA) which will make it possible to perform an authentication of the transaction after the pairing phase); and
transmit the received identifier via a second communication channel (par. 154: Then it prepares a response for the master device. The digital message associated with the response, or second message (schematically represented in the figure by M1_OK), is broadcast in the step E4 via the antenna of the terminal (1) over a Bluetooth radio channel. It can for example involve BLE data packets comprising a presence message with, if available, the service identification SiD received previously, as well as, optionally, other information which may be relevant: address (MAC) of the terminal, name, conditions of connection to said terminal, etc.);
wherein, when the user carrying the user terminal brushes the electronic transaction terminal (par. 109: the master device (3) comprises a surface composed by the antenna, possibly protected and adapted to react when the user touches it), the identifier of the electronic transaction terminal is transmitted to the near field device via the near field channel using electromagnetic wave conduction capabilities of the user body, and then transmitted from the near field device to the terminal (par. 108: the IBC antenna is designed so as to optimally receive the electromagnetic wave through the human body; par. 148: the master device (3) transmits, via its IBC antenna, an electromagnetic signal coding a message M1 intended for any terminal situated in proximity, for example the terminal (1) carried by the user (2) when he or she approaches the device. The message M1, called first message, or invite message, comprises a plurality of information elements intended to be transmitted continuously during a certain period during which the master device (3) is in transmission mode. For example, the information element consists of a word, “IBC”, or else an identifier (SiD) of the service offered (payment, vehicle personalization, or other such service), followed by a random datum (ALEA) which will make it possible to perform an authentication of the transaction after the pairing phase).
But, Levionnais in view of Metral do not teach a near field device comprising a transmitter, a near field receiver, a memory, and a processor ... the identifier of the electronic transaction terminal is transmitted to the near field device via the channel using electromagnetic wave conduction capabilities of the body of the user, and then transmitted from the near field device to the terminal via the second communication channel of the device.
But, Kletsov from the same or similar fields of endeavor discloses a near field device comprising a transmitter, a near field receiver, a memory, and a processor ... the identifier of the electronic transaction terminal is transmitted to the near field device via the channel using electromagnetic wave conduction capabilities of the body of the user, and then transmitted from the near field device to the terminal via the second communication channel of the device (par. 34: Referring to FIG. 1, a HBC apparatus 100 for an NFC signal, according to an embodiment of the disclosure, may include a first communicator 110 configured to receive an NFC signal from an NFC reader 300 through a body 200 in proximity to the body 200, and a second communicator 120 configured to transmit a signal to a user device 400 ... Examples of the user device 400 may include a smart phone, a table computer, and a smart watch. The user device 400 may include an NFC function; par. 38: , the data may be transmitted regardless of the NFC standard when transmitted to the user device 400 by the second communicator 120, may be transmitted according to a data format (for example, NFC data exchange format (NDEF) of the NFC standard, or may be transmitted according to an RF signal format of the NFC standard; par. 57: The second communicator 120 may communicate with the user device 400 by using a communication method other than NFC. Here, the communication method other than NFC may include a wireless communication method, such as Bluetooth, magnetic secure transmission (MST), and industrial scientific and medical (ISM), or a wired communication method, such as a universal serial bus (USB); par. 94: The HBC apparatus 100 or 500 for an NFC signal according to the disclosure may be used for POS payment, public transportation fee payment, road toll payment, user identification, pairing or data transmission between IoT devices, entrance control, information guide system, robot control, and pet identification).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the teaching of Levionnais in view of Metral by receiving, by HBC apparatus, paring or data transmission from NFC reader through a body in proximity to the body and transmitting the paring or data transmission to the user device such as a smart phone via NFC, Bluetooth, or USB, etc. of Kletsov.
The motivation would have been to maintain security of near field communication (NFC) while improving convenience of use (Kletsov par. 15).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
NEAGSEY et al. (US 20140219453) teaches A reader device may generate a first identifier. The reader device may transmit the first identifier to a mobile device. The reader device may receive encrypted data and unencrypted data from the mobile device in which the encrypted data includes a second identifier. The reader device may evaluate whether the first identifier and the second identifier correspond to one another (abstract); the mobile device 102 is configured to send secure data 103 to the reader device 108, which verifies the secure data 103. In some embodiments, the reader device 108 is configured to send the secure data 103, if verified, to a processing system 116. The processing system 116 may include an access control panel, a payment processing system, or any other system that uses a credential or unique identifier. For example, the processing system 116 processes the secure data to determine whether a user of the mobile device 102 should be allowed access to an area, or whether a payment has been approved. In some embodiments, the reader device 108 performs the analysis and may make the decision that is handled by the processing system 116 (par. 22).
PARK et al. (US 11240662) teaches the first external electronic device 401 may broadcast an advertising packet including a first identifier (ID) such that at least one electronic device of an account or group to which the OOB authentication data related to the first external electronic device 401 is shareable may discover the first external electronic device 401. The electronic device 403 or the second external electronic device 405 may discover the first external electronic device 401 by the first ID and perform pairing with the first external electronic device 401 by the pre-acquired or received OOB authentication data (co. 14 lines 14-25).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THINH D TRAN/for /Thinh Tran/, Patent Examiner of Art Unit 2466 07/24/2026