NON-FINAL REJECTION
This action is responsive to communications: The request for continued examination and amendment filed February 16, 2016 (“Amendment”).
The instant 17/076,676 application is a reissue of application 15/106,801, issued October 23, 2018 as U.S. Patent 10,111,112 B2 to Yang et al., as well as the amendment of September 5, 2025 (“Amendment”).
By way of priority, the instant underlying Patent is deemed to have an effective filing date of December 20, 2013.
Claims 1-20 were initially pending in the application. An amendment was filed October 21, 2020 adding new claims 21-36, of which claims 21, 25, 29, and 33 are independent. By way of the instant Amendment, claims 1-36 are pending and are rejected below.
This action is Non-Final.
Reissue
Applicant is reminded of the continuing obligation under 37 CFR 1.178(b), to timely apprise the Office of any prior or concurrent proceed-ing in which Patent No. 10,111,112 is or was involved. These proceedings would include interferences, reissues, reexaminations, and litigation.
Applicant is further reminded of the continuing obligation under 37 CFR 1.56, to timely apprise the Office of any information which is mate-rial to patentability of the claims under consideration in this reissue appli-cation.
These obligations rest with each individual associated with the filing and prosecution of this application for reissue. See also MPEP §§ 1404, 1442.01 and 1442.04.
Applicant is notified that any subsequent amendment to the specification and/or claims must comply with 37 CFR 1.173(b).
Because the instant application does not appear to contain a claim having an effective date on or after March 16, 2013, the America Invents Act First Inventor to File (“AIA -FITF”) provisions do not apply. Instead, the pre-AIA “First to Invent” provisions will govern this proceeding. See 35 U.S.C. § 100 (note). In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 6, 11, and 16 recite the sending and reception of indication information in DCI. However, the Examiner can find no recitation in the disclosure of specifically using DCI, much less for indicating CSI-RS resources.
Claims 1, 6, 11, 16, 21, 25, 29, and 33 recite an indicator regarding at least one of first CSI-RS resources to be used for rate matching. Looking to the disclosure, the indicator claimed is disclosed as a single bit indicating whether there is CSI-RS in the PRB or not. This single bit indicating merely the presence of CSI-RS does not appear to support the more narrow claim limitation of the information indicating specific CSI-RS resources, and thus also the limitation as to identifying the specific CSI-RS resources to be used for rate matching.
Claims 1, 6, 11, and 16 recite that the CSI-RS corresponding to the first CSI-RS resources are not used for reception of CSI-RS in the PRB. The disclosure as to the rate matching scenario states that rate matching is determined by the UE when there is puncturing in the actual CSI-RS, and thus there is no support for the limitation requiring that the CSI-RS REs do no include CSI-RS information.
Lastly, there does not appear to be support in the disclosure for the limitation in claims 1, 11, 21, and 29 as to decoding a downlink signal.
Claims 1-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.\
Claims 1, 6, 11, 16, 21, 25, 29, and 33 recite sending and receiving information indicating CSI-RS resources “to be used for rate matching”. It is unclear what entity is to be performing the rate matching or if it is part of the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 251
Claims 1-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 251 as being based upon new matter added to the patent for which reissue is sought. The added material which is not supported by the prior patent is as noted above with respect to 35 USC 112(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pat. PGPUB 2012/0264441A1 to Chandrasekhar et al. (“Chandrasekhar”) in view of U.S. Pat. PGPUB 2013/0244676A1 to Koivisto et al. (“Koivisto”), U.S. Pat. PGPUB 2015/0049622A1 to Kim et al. (“Kim ‘622”), and U.S. Pat. PGPUB 2012/0287875A1 to Kim et al., (“Kim ‘875”).
As to claim 1, Chandrasekhar discloses:
A method for reporting channel state information (CSI) performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising:
Chandrasekhar discloses a method in a UE for reporting CSI. Chandrasekhar at ¶33 (“[a] UE uses the CSI-RS of its serving cell for intra-cell CSI measurement.”) See also id. at ¶25 (“If UE 109 has data ready for transmission, which may be traffic data, measurements report, tracking area update, UE 109 can transmit a random access signal on up-link 111. The random access signal notifies base station 101 that UE 109 requires up-link resources to transmit the UEs data”).
[…]
receiving, from the base station, first downlink control information […] for scheduling a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) including a first CSI-RS resource indicator indicating at least one of the first CSI-RS resources to be used for rate matching;
Chandrasekhar discloses the UE receiving first downlink information for scheduling a PDSCH including an indicator indicating at least one CSI-RS resource (reads “first” resource(s)) to be used in determining rate matching within the PDSCH. Chandrasekhar at claim 1 (“[a] method of scheduling physical downlink shared channel muting in a telephonic system”), FIG 5, ¶60 (disclosing the UE receiving a PDSCHmutingenabled parameter which identifies CSI-RS resources that are to be muted) and ¶30 (“[w]hen PDSCH muting is configured, PDSCH of the serving cell is rate matched around the serving cell CSI-RS as well as the muted RE”), and ¶67 (“in order for the UE to perform the following functions: determining the RE locations around which its PDSCH its [sic] rate matched”).
identifying the at least one of the first CSI-RS resources for rate matching based on the first CSI-RS resource indicator […], wherein the PDSCH is not mapped to the at least one of the first CSI-RS resources and the at least one of the first CSI-RS resources is not used for reception of a CSI-RS that is transmitted from the base station;
Chandrasekhar discloses the UE identifying the CSI-RS resources for rate matching based on the indicator. Chandrasekhar at ¶67 (“in order for the UE to perform the following functions: determining the RE locations around which its PDSCH its [sic] rate matched”) as well as at ¶¶56 and 60, noting that the indicator identifies CSI-RS resources in accordance with their pattern of REs in the RB that are muted for this purpose (“[i]f the PDSCHmutingenabled parameter is enabled for that corresponding pattern (cell), then the PDSCH REs shall be muted on the CSI-RS locations for that pattern (cell)”). The PDSCH is not mapped to these REs. Chandrasekhar at ¶30 (“[t]hus no PDSCH transmission occurs on RE corresponding to CSI-RS of serving and non-serving cells”). This is also because the CSI-RS resource REs here are muted and thus are not used for reception of CSI-RS. Id. at ¶56 (“[i]f the PDSCHmutingenabled parameter is enabled for that corresponding pattern (cell), then the PDSCH REs shall be muted on the CSI-RS locations for that pattern (cell) ”).
decoding the PDSCH based on the at least one of the first CSI-RS resources for rate matching;
Chandrasekhar discloses the PDSCH being decoded in accordance with the rate matching. Chandrasekhar at ¶¶30-31 (“When PDSCH muting is configured, PDSCH of the serving cell is rate matched around the serving cell CSI-RS as well as the muted RE. … A UE needs to know the PDSCH mapping position to correctly interpret the code rate and decode its PDSCH”). The Examiner notes that Chandrasekhar that the rate matching, similar to the ‘112 Patent disclosure, states that in rate matching, the eNB may puncture the PDSCH in CSI-RS REs. Id. at ¶5.
receiving, from the base station, second [downlink control information] […] including a second CSI-RS resource indicator triggering at least one of the second CSI-RS resources for channel measurement; and
Chandrasekhar further discloses receiving from the eNB another control signal for determining uplink signaling. Chandrasekhar at FIG 6 and at ¶61, showing indicator 601 for the UE to use for uplink CSI reporting. The indicator triggers a CSI-RS resource or resources for measurement. Id. at ¶18 (“FIG. 6 illustrates a similar exemplary bit map signaling the pattern (cell) corresponding to which the UE performs CSI measurement”).
measuring channel state based on the second CSI-RS resource indicator […]
wherein the at least one of the second CSI-RS resources indicated by the second CSI-RS resource indicator is used for measuring the channel state.
Chandrasekhar discloses the UE uses the second CSI-RS indicator to measure channel state. Chandrasekhar at ¶18 (“FIG. 6 illustrates a similar exemplary bit map signaling the pattern (cell) corresponding to which the UE performs CSI measurement”), ¶33 (“A UE uses the CSI-RS of its serving cell for intra-cell CSI measurement. A UE may use CSI-RS of a non-serving cell for inter-cell CSI-RS measurement and for estimating interference.”)
Note further that Chandrasekhar discloses the rate matching and channel state measurement steps being performed in the same device. Chandrasekhar at ¶67.
Chandrasekhar does not disclose that the two control signals are DCI, rather that they are higher-layer communications. Chandrasekhar discloses that the eNB allocates PUSCH resources to the UE (Chandrasekhar at ¶93), however Chandrasekhar does not specify that the second control information is for scheduling a PUSCH. Lastly, Chandrasekhar does not disclose receiving configuration information at the UE with information on the first and second CSI-RS resources, the configuration being used with the measuring and identifying resources for rate matching.
As to DCI for CSI-RS measurement and rate matching, Koivisto discloses an analogous invention, namely a means and method for reporting CSI in a UE. Koivisto at Abstract (“improvements in demodulation and CSI feedback may be achieved”) and ¶85 (“[t]his may be used by the UE when estimating the channel for CSI feedback reporting”). See also id. at ¶95 and ¶104. Koivisto discloses the UE receives DCI from the eNB in the ePDCCH for scheduling the PDSCH. Koivisto at FIG 4A step 440 and at ¶89 (“the control information may be dynamically or semi-statically signalled. A dynamic signalling scheme may comprise transmitting the control information as part of a downlink control information (DCI) format transmitted either over a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) or an evolved PDCCH (ePDCCH)”). The control information may further include an indicator indicating a resource to be used in identifying rate matching in the downlink signal. Id. at FIG 6D and at ¶¶89 and 111 (“[i]n the table of FIG. 6D the control information is embodied in a in a pre-existing confirmation bit that is transmitted to a UE to indicate a rate-matching decision” “in the present variation, in the case of a bit value of `0`, the UE determines that a default CSI-RS resource for assessing channel statistics is to be used, wherein the default CSI-RS resource for assessing channel statistics may be preconfigured”). Thus Koivisto discloses the use of DCI for providing indicators indicating CSI-RS resources that are used in a similar manner as Chandrasekhar. Koivisto discloses using DCI as an alternate for higher-layer communications, noting that it uses less overhead. Koivisto at ¶90.
As to scheduling a PUSCH, Kim ‘622 discloses an analogous invention, namely a UE in an LTE system for receiving CSI-RS pilot signals for measuring channel state to report back to the network. Kim ‘622 at FIG 1 and at ¶¶9-10. Kim ‘622 states that a UE receives DCI scheduling PUSCH resources including information as to CSI-RS resources. Id. at ¶¶95-96.
As to CSI-RS configurations, Kim ‘875 discloses an analogous invention, namely namely a UE in an LTE system for receiving CSI-RS pilot signals for measuring channel state to report back to the network. Kim ‘875 at Abstract and at ¶¶8-9. Kim discloses receiving DCI at the UE for scheduling. Id. at ¶52. Lastly, Kim specifies that the CSI-RS resources that are used by the UE that are indicated by the eNB are configured by the eNB prior to the indication being transmitted. Id. at PP101-104.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the ‘112 Patent to modify Chandrasekhar to use DCI for indications as suggested by Koivisto, PUSCH scheduling as suggested by Kim ‘622, and configuring the CSI-RS according to Kim ‘875. Koivisto discloses that using DCI instead of the higher-layer signaling saves overhead which would motivate one of ordinary skill in the to use DCI for such a purpose. One of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that indicating CSI pilot signals for the UE to measure and report necessarily means scheduling uplink resources for the report i.e. a PUSCH, as suggested by Kim ’622. Lastly, since Chandrasekhar states that the CSI-RS resources are known to the UE, one of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that, in accordance with LTE standards, they would need to be configured, and Kim ‘875 provides details as to how such would be done. Lastly, the combination would have been seen as an example of merely combining similar prior art elements according to known methods, each element performing in combination the same function as it does separately, with predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A), citing KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Further as to claim 2:
The method of claim 1, wherein the configuration information is received via higher layer signaling.
Kim ‘875 discloses that the configuration information is received via RRC (higher layer signaling). Kim ‘875 at ¶¶18 and 115.
Further as to claim 3:
The method of claim 1, wherein the configuration information includes information on CSI-RSs with respect to a vertical antenna and information on CSI-RSs with respect to a horizontal antenna, and
wherein the information on CSI-RSs with respect to the vertical antenna and the information on CSI-RSs with respect to the horizontal antenna are independent of each other.
Kim ‘875 discloses that the configuration information includes information on CSI-RS with respect to different antenna ports and thus the CSI-RS information is independent of each other. Kim ‘875 at ¶¶17, 89, and 153. Koivisto discloses that these ports are associated with CSI-RS with respect to a horizontal antenna and a vertical antenna. Koivisto at ¶112.
Further as to claim 4:
The method of claim 1, wherein the second CSI-RS resource indicator includes a predetermined number of bits.
Chandrasekhar discloses that the second indicator includes a predetermined number of bits. Chandrasekhar at ¶¶60-61.
Further as to claim 5:
The method of claim 1, wherein the first DCI and the second DCI are received on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), and
wherein the first CSI-RS resource indicator is used for indicating whether CSI-RSs exist in a physical resource block (PRB) of the PDSCH.
The combination of references as to claim 1 above discloses claim 5 in that Koivisto discloses that the DCI of claim 1 is received on a PDCCH. Koivisto at ¶89.
Further, while the teachings applied to claim 1 do not specify that the first indicator indicates the existence of CSI-RS in the PRB, Kim ‘875 further discloses that an indicator in DCI as to CSI-RS resources to be used by a UE may specify the presence of CSI-RS in the PRB. Kim ‘875 at FIG 10 and ¶¶33, 52, and 108.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the ‘112 Patent to modify Chandrasekhar in view of Koivisto, Kim ‘622, and Kim ‘875 as applied to claim 1 further in view of the additional teachings of Kim ‘875. Aperiodic CSI-RS, wherein the UE is apprised by the network when CSI-RS is in the PRB rather than assuming a periodic presence of the resources, was well-known at the time of the invention and was an alternate to regular periodic CSI-RS in LTE-A systems such as those of the combination of references. One of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that modifying the combination of references to apply aperiodic CSI-RS would have been seen as an example of merely combining similar prior art elements according to known methods, each element performing in combination the same function as it does separately, with predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A), citing KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
As to claim 6, Chandrasekhar discloses:
A method for receiving channel state information (CSI) performed by a base station, the method comprising:
Chandrasekhar discloses a method in an eNB for receiving reported CSI. Chandrasekhar at FIG 1 and ¶33 (“[a] UE uses the CSI-RS of its serving cell for intra-cell CSI measurement.”) See also id. at ¶¶2425 (“[i]f UE 109 has data ready for transmission, which may be traffic data, measurements report, tracking area update, UE 109 can transmit a random access signal on up-link 111. The random access signal notifies base station 101 that UE 109 requires up-link resources to transmit the UEs data”).
[…]
transmitting, to the UE, first downlink control information […] for scheduling a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) including a first CSI-RS resource indicator indicating at least one of the first CSI-RS resources to be used for rate matching;
Chandrasekhar discloses the eNB transmitting to the UE first downlink information for scheduling a PDSCH including an indicator indicating at least one CSI-RS resource (reads “first” resource(s)) to be used in determining rate matching within the PDSCH. Chandrasekhar at claim 1 (“[a] method of scheduling physical downlink shared channel muting in a telephonic system”), FIG 5, ¶60 (disclosing the UE receiving a PDSCHmutingenabled parameter from the eNB which identifies CSI-RS resources that are to be muted) and ¶30 (“[w]hen PDSCH muting is configured, PDSCH of the serving cell is rate matched around the serving cell CSI-RS as well as the muted RE”), and ¶67 (“in order for the UE to perform the following functions: determining the RE locations around which its PDSCH its [sic] rate matched”).
identifying the at least one of the first CSI-RS resources for rate matching;
Chandrasekhar discloses the eNB providing the UE the indicator identifying the CSI-RS resources for rate matching based on the indicator. Chandrasekhar at ¶67 (“in order for the UE to perform the following functions: determining the RE locations around which its PDSCH its [sic] rate matched”) as well as at ¶¶56 and 60, noting that the indicator identifies CSI-RS resources in accordance with their pattern of REs in the RB that are muted for this purpose (“[i]f the PDSCHmutingenabled parameter is enabled for that corresponding pattern (cell), then the PDSCH REs shall be muted on the CSI-RS locations for that pattern (cell)”).
transmitting, to the UE, data on the PDSCH, wherein the PDSCH is not mapped to the at least one of the first CS I-RS resources and the at least one of the first CSI-RS resources is not used for transmission of a CSI-RS;
Chandrasekhar discloses the eNB transmitting the PDSCH, which one of ordinary skill in the art would understand carries downlink data. The PDSCH is not mapped to these REs. Chandrasekhar at ¶30 (“[t]hus no PDSCH transmission occurs on RE corresponding to CSI-RS of serving and non-serving cells”). This is also because the CSI-RS resource REs here are muted and thus are not used for reception of CSI-RS. Id. at ¶56 (“[i]f the PDSCHmutingenabled parameter is enabled for that corresponding pattern (cell), then the PDSCH REs shall be muted on the CSI-RS locations for that pattern (cell) ”).
transmitting, to the UE, second [downlink control information] including a second CS I-RS resource indicator triggering at least one of the second CSI-RS resources for channel measurement; and
Chandrasekhar further discloses the eNB transmitting to the UE another control signal for determining uplink signaling. Chandrasekhar at FIG 6 and at ¶¶61-62, showing indicator 601 for the UE to use for uplink CSI reporting. The indicator triggers a CSI-RS resource or resources for measurement. Id. at ¶18 (“FIG. 6 illustrates a similar exemplary bit map signaling the pattern (cell) corresponding to which the UE performs CSI measurement”).
receiving, from the UE, a channel state measured based on the at least one of the second CSI-RS resources indicated by the second CSI-RS resource indicator […].
Chandrasekhar discloses the UE uses the second CSI-RS indicator to measure channel state and transmits it to the eNB which receives it from the UE. Chandrasekhar at ¶18 (“FIG. 6 illustrates a similar exemplary bit map signaling the pattern (cell) corresponding to which the UE performs CSI measurement”), ¶33 (“A UE uses the CSI-RS of its serving cell for intra-cell CSI measurement. A UE may use CSI-RS of a non-serving cell for inter-cell CSI-RS measurement and for estimating interference.”), and ¶25 (“UE 109 has data ready for transmission, which may be traffic data, measurements report”).
Note further that Chandrasekhar discloses the rate matching and channel state measurement steps being performed in the same device. Chandrasekhar at ¶67.
Chandrasekhar does not disclose that the two control signals are DCI, rather that they are higher-layer communications. Chandrasekhar discloses that the eNB allocates PUSCH resources to the UE (Chandrasekhar at ¶93), however Chandrasekhar does not specify that the second control information is for scheduling a PUSCH. Lastly, Chandrasekhar does not disclose receiving configuration information at the UE with information on the first and second CSI-RS resources, the configuration being used with the measuring.
As to DCI for CSI-RS measurement and rate matching, Koivisto discloses an analogous invention, namely a means and method for reporting CSI in a UE. Koivisto at Abstract (“improvements in demodulation and CSI feedback may be achieved”) and ¶85 (“[t]his may be used by the UE when estimating the channel for CSI feedback reporting”). See also id. at ¶95 and ¶104. Koivisto discloses the UE receives DCI from the eNB in the ePDCCH for scheduling the PDSCH. Koivisto at FIG 4A step 440 and at ¶89 (“the control information may be dynamically or semi-statically signalled. A dynamic signalling scheme may comprise transmitting the control information as part of a downlink control information (DCI) format transmitted either over a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) or an evolved PDCCH (ePDCCH)”). The control information may further include an indicator indicating a resource to be used in identifying rate matching in the downlink signal. Id. at FIG 6D and at ¶¶89 and 111 (“[i]n the table of FIG. 6D the control information is embodied in a in a pre-existing confirmation bit that is transmitted to a UE to indicate a rate-matching decision” “in the present variation, in the case of a bit value of `0`, the UE determines that a default CSI-RS resource for assessing channel statistics is to be used, wherein the default CSI-RS resource for assessing channel statistics may be preconfigured”). Thus Koivisto discloses the use of DCI for providing indicators indicating CSI-RS resources that are used in a similar manner as Chandrasekhar. Koivisto discloses using DCI as an alternate for higher-layer communications, noting that it uses less overhead. Koivisto at ¶90.
As to scheduling a PUSCH, Kim ‘622 discloses an analogous invention, namely a UE in an LTE system for receiving CSI-RS pilot signals for measuring channel state to report back to the network. Kim ‘622 at FIG 1 and at ¶¶9-10. Kim ‘622 states that a UE receives DCI scheduling PUSCH resources including information as to CSI-RS resources. Id. at ¶¶95-96.
As to CSI-RS configurations, Kim ‘875 discloses an analogous invention, namely namely a UE in an LTE system for receiving CSI-RS pilot signals for measuring channel state to report back to the network. Kim ‘875 at Abstract and at ¶¶8-9. Kim discloses receiving DCI at the UE for scheduling. Id. at ¶52. Lastly, Kim specifies that the CSI-RS resources that are used by the UE that are indicated by the eNB are configured by the eNB prior to the indication being transmitted. Id. at PP101-104.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the ‘112 Patent to modify Chandrasekhar to use DCI for indications as suggested by Koivisto, PUSCH scheduling as suggested by Kim ‘622, and configuring the CSI-RS according to Kim ‘875. Koivisto discloses that using DCI instead of the higher-layer signaling saves overhead which would motivate one of ordinary skill in the to use DCI for such a purpose. One of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that indicating CSI pilot signals for the UE to measure and report necessarily means scheduling uplink resources for the report i.e. a PUSCH, as suggested by Kim ’622. Lastly, since Chandrasekhar states that the CSI-RS resources are known to the UE, one of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that, in accordance with LTE standards, they would need to be configured, and Kim ‘875 provides details as to how such would be done. Lastly, the combination would have been seen as an example of merely combining similar prior art elements according to known methods, each element performing in combination the same function as it does separately, with predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A), citing KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Further as to claim 7:
The method of claim 6, wherein the configuration information is transmitted via higher layer signaling.
Kim ‘875 discloses that the configuration information is received via RRC (higher layer signaling). Kim ‘875 at ¶¶18 and 115.
Further as to claim 8:
The method of claim 6, wherein the configuration information includes information on CSI-RSs with respect to a vertical antenna and information on CSI-RSs with respect to a horizontal antenna, and
wherein the information on CSI-RSs with respect to the vertical antenna and the information on CSI-RSs with respect to [a] the horizontal antenna are independent of each other.
Kim ‘875 discloses that the configuration information includes information on CSI-RS with respect to different antenna ports and thus the CSI-RS information is independent of each other. Kim ‘875 at ¶¶17, 89, and 153. Koivisto discloses that these ports are associated with CSI-RS with respect to a horizontal antenna and a vertical antenna. Koivisto at ¶112.
Further as to claim 9:
The method of claim 6, wherein the second CSI-RS resource indicator includes a predetermined number of bits.
Chandrasekhar discloses that the second indicator includes a predetermined number of bits. Chandrasekhar at ¶¶60-61.
Further as to claim 10:
The method of claim 6, wherein the first DCI and the second DCI are transmitted on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), and
wherein the first CSI-RS resource indicator [being] is used for indicating whether CSI-RSs exist in a physical resource block (PRB) of the PDSCH.
The combination of references as to claim 6 above discloses claim 10 in that Koivisto discloses that the DCI of claim 6 is received on a PDCCH. Koivisto at ¶89.
Further, while the teachings applied to claim 6 do not specify that the first indicator indicates the existence of CSI-RS in the PRB, Kim ‘875 further discloses that an indicator in DCI as to CSI-RS resources to be used by a UE may specify the presence of CSI-RS in the PRB. Kim ‘875 at FIG 10 and ¶¶33, 52, and 108.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the ‘112 Patent to modify Chandrasekhar in view of Koivisto, Kim ‘622, and Kim ‘875 as applied to claim 6 further in view of the additional teachings of Kim ‘875. Aperiodic CSI-RS, wherein the UE is apprised by the network when CSI-RS is in the PRB rather than assuming a periodic presence of the resources, was well-known at the time of the invention and was an alternate to regular periodic CSI-RS in LTE-A systems such as those of the combination of references. One of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that modifying the combination of references to apply aperiodic CSI-RS would have been seen as an example of merely combining similar prior art elements according to known methods, each element performing in combination the same function as it does separately, with predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A), citing KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
As to claim 11, Chandrasekhar discloses:
A user equipment (UE) for reporting channel state information (CSI), the UE comprising:
at least one processor; and
at least one memory, communicatively coupled to the at least one processor, storing instructions executable by the at least one processor individually or in any combination to cause the UE to:
Chandrasekhar discloses a UE for reporting CSI. Chandrasekhar at ¶33 (“[a] UE uses the CSI-RS of its serving cell for intra-cell CSI measurement.”) See also id. at ¶25 (“If UE 109 has data ready for transmission, which may be traffic data, measurements report, tracking area update, UE 109 can transmit a random access signal on up-link 111. The random access signal notifies base station 101 that UE 109 requires up-link resources to transmit the UEs data”).
The UE comprises a processor and memory storing programming for operating the UE. Id. at ¶88, (“UE 1001 comprises a processor 1010 coupled to a memory 1012 and a transceiver 1020. The memory 1012 stores (software) applications 1014 for execution by the processor 1010.”).
[…]
receive, from the base station, first downlink control information […] for scheduling a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) including a first CSI-RS resource indicator indicating at least one of the first CSI-RS resources to be used for rate matching,
Chandrasekhar discloses the UE receiving first downlink information for scheduling a PDSCH including an indicator indicating at least one CSI-RS resource (reads “first” resource(s)) to be used in determining rate matching within the PDSCH. Chandrasekhar at claim 1 (“[a] method of scheduling physical downlink shared channel muting in a telephonic system”), FIG 5, ¶60 (disclosing the UE receiving a PDSCHmutingenabled parameter which identifies CSI-RS resources that are to be muted) and ¶30 (“[w]hen PDSCH muting is configured, PDSCH of the serving cell is rate matched around the serving cell CSI-RS as well as the muted RE”), and ¶67 (“in order for the UE to perform the following functions: determining the RE locations around which its PDSCH its [sic] rate matched”).
identify the at least one of the first CSI-RS resources for rate matching based on the first CSI-RS resource indicator […], wherein the PDSCH is not mapped to the at least one of the first CSI-RS resources and the at least one of the first CSI-RS resources is not used for reception of a CSI-RS that is transmitted from the base station,
Chandrasekhar discloses the UE identifying the CSI-RS resources for rate matching based on the indicator. Chandrasekhar at ¶67 (“in order for the UE to perform the following functions: determining the RE locations around which its PDSCH its [sic] rate matched”) as well as at ¶¶56 and 60, noting that the indicator identifies CSI-RS resources in accordance with their pattern of REs in the RB that are muted for this purpose (“[i]f the PDSCHmutingenabled parameter is enabled for that corresponding pattern (cell), then the PDSCH REs shall be muted on the CSI-RS locations for that pattern (cell)”). The PDSCH is not mapped to these REs. Chandrasekhar at ¶30 (“[t]hus no PDSCH transmission occurs on RE corresponding to CSI-RS of serving and non-serving cells”). This is also because the CSI-RS resource REs here are muted and thus are not used for reception of CSI-RS. Id. at ¶56 (“[i]f the PDSCHmutingenabled parameter is enabled for that corresponding pattern (cell), then the PDSCH REs shall be muted on the CSI-RS locations for that pattern (cell) ”).
decode the PDSCH based on the at least one of the first CSI-RS resources for rate matching,
Chandrasekhar discloses the PDSCH being decoded in accordance with the rate matching. Chandrasekhar at ¶¶30-31 (“When PDSCH muting is configured, PDSCH of the serving cell is rate matched around the serving cell CSI-RS as well as the muted RE. … A UE needs to know the PDSCH mapping position to correctly interpret the code rate and decode its PDSCH”). The Examiner notes that Chandrasekhar that the rate matching, similar to the ‘112 Patent disclosure, states that in rate matching, the eNB may puncture the PDSCH in CSI-RS REs. Id. at ¶5.
receive, from the base station, second [control information] including a second CSI-RS resource indicator triggering at least one of the second CSI-RS resources for channel measurement, and
Chandrasekhar further discloses receiving from the eNB another control signal for determining uplink signaling. Chandrasekhar at FIG 6 and at ¶61, showing indicator 601 for the UE to use for uplink CSI reporting. The indicator triggers a CSI-RS resource or resources for measurement. Id. at ¶18 (“FIG. 6 illustrates a similar exemplary bit map signaling the pattern (cell) corresponding to which the UE performs CSI measurement”).
measure a channel state based on the second CSI-RS resource indicator […],
wherein the at least one of the second CSI-RS resources indicated by the second CSI-RS resource indicator is used for measuring the channel state.
Chandrasekhar discloses the UE uses the second CSI-RS indicator to measure channel state. Chandrasekhar at ¶18 (“FIG. 6 illustrates a similar exemplary bit map signaling the pattern (cell) corresponding to which the UE performs CSI measurement”), ¶33 (“A UE uses the CSI-RS of its serving cell for intra-cell CSI measurement. A UE may use CSI-RS of a non-serving cell for inter-cell CSI-RS measurement and for estimating interference.”)
Note further that Chandrasekhar discloses the rate matching and channel state measurement steps being performed in the same device. Chandrasekhar at ¶67.
Chandrasekhar does not disclose that the two control signals are DCI, rather that they are higher-layer communications. Chandrasekhar discloses that the eNB allocates PUSCH resources to the UE (Chandrasekhar at ¶93), however Chandrasekhar does not specify that the second control information is for scheduling a PUSCH. Lastly, Chandrasekhar does not disclose receiving configuration information at the UE with information on the first and second CSI-RS resources, the configuration being used with the measuring and identifying resources for rate matching.
As to DCI for CSI-RS measurement and rate matching, Koivisto discloses an analogous invention, namely a means and method for reporting CSI in a UE. Koivisto at Abstract (“improvements in demodulation and CSI feedback may be achieved”) and ¶85 (“[t]his may be used by the UE when estimating the channel for CSI feedback reporting”). See also id. at ¶95 and ¶104. Koivisto discloses the UE receives DCI from the eNB in the ePDCCH for scheduling the PDSCH. Koivisto at FIG 4A step 440 and at ¶89 (“the control information may be dynamically or semi-statically signalled. A dynamic signalling scheme may comprise transmitting the control information as part of a downlink control information (DCI) format transmitted either over a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) or an evolved PDCCH (ePDCCH)”). The control information may further include an indicator indicating a resource to be used in identifying rate matching in the downlink signal. Id. at FIG 6D and at ¶¶89 and 111 (“[i]n the table of FIG. 6D the control information is embodied in a in a pre-existing confirmation bit that is transmitted to a UE to indicate a rate-matching decision” “in the present variation, in the case of a bit value of `0`, the UE determines that a default CSI-RS resource for assessing channel statistics is to be used, wherein the default CSI-RS resource for assessing channel statistics may be preconfigured”). Thus Koivisto discloses the use of DCI for providing indicators indicating CSI-RS resources that are used in a similar manner as Chandrasekhar. Koivisto discloses using DCI as an alternate for higher-layer communications, noting that it uses less overhead. Koivisto at ¶90.
As to scheduling a PUSCH, Kim ‘622 discloses an analogous invention, namely a UE in an LTE system for receiving CSI-RS pilot signals for measuring channel state to report back to the network. Kim ‘622 at FIG 1 and at ¶¶9-10. Kim ‘622 states that a UE receives DCI scheduling PUSCH resources including information as to CSI-RS resources. Id. at ¶¶95-96.
As to CSI-RS configurations, Kim ‘875 discloses an analogous invention, namely namely a UE in an LTE system for receiving CSI-RS pilot signals for measuring channel state to report back to the network. Kim ‘875 at Abstract and at ¶¶8-9. Kim discloses receiving DCI at the UE for scheduling. Id. at ¶52. Lastly, Kim specifies that the CSI-RS resources that are used by the UE that are indicated by the eNB are configured by the eNB prior to the indication being transmitted. Id. at PP101-104.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the ‘112 Patent to modify Chandrasekhar to use DCI for indications as suggested by Koivisto, PUSCH scheduling as suggested by Kim ‘622, and configuring the CSI-RS according to Kim ‘875. Koivisto discloses that using DCI instead of the higher-layer signaling saves overhead which would motivate one of ordinary skill in the to use DCI for such a purpose. One of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that indicating CSI pilot signals for the UE to measure and report necessarily means scheduling uplink resources for the report i.e. a PUSCH, as suggested by Kim ’622. Lastly, since Chandrasekhar states that the CSI-RS resources are known to the UE, one of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that, in accordance with LTE standards, they would need to be configured, and Kim ‘875 provides details as to how such would be done. Lastly, the combination would have been seen as an example of merely combining similar prior art elements according to known methods, each element performing in combination the same function as it does separately, with predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A), citing KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Further as to claim 12:
The UE of claim 11, wherein the configuration information is received via higher layer signaling.
Kim ‘875 discloses that the configuration information is received via RRC (higher layer signaling). Kim ‘875 at ¶¶18 and 115.
Further as to claim 13:
The UE of claim 11, wherein the configuration information includes information on CSI-RSs with respect to a vertical antenna and information on CSI-RSs with respect to a horizontal antenna, and
wherein the information on CSI-RSs with respect to the vertical antenna and the information on CSI-RSs with respect to the horizontal antenna are independent of each other.
Kim ‘875 discloses that the configuration information includes information on CSI-RS with respect to different antenna ports and thus the CSI-RS information is independent of each other. Kim ‘875 at ¶¶17, 89, and 153. Koivisto discloses that these ports are associated with CSI-RS with respect to a horizontal antenna and a vertical antenna. Koivisto at ¶112.
Further as to claim 14:
The UE of claim 11, wherein the second CSI-RS resource indicator includes a predetermined number of bits.
Chandrasekhar discloses that the second indicator includes a predetermined number of bits. Chandrasekhar at ¶¶60-61.
Further as to claim 15:
The UE of claim 11, wherein the first DCI and the second DCI are received on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), and
wherein the first CSI-RS resource indicator is used for indicating whether CSI-RSs exist in a physical resource block (PRB) of the PDSCH.
The combination of references as to claim 11 above discloses claim 15 in that Koivisto discloses that the DCI of claim 11 is received on a PDCCH. Koivisto at ¶89.
Further, while the teachings applied to claim 11 do not specify that the first indicator indicates the existence of CSI-RS in the PRB, Kim ‘875 further discloses that an indicator in DCI as to CSI-RS resources to be used by a UE may specify the presence of CSI-RS in the PRB. Kim ‘875 at FIG 10 and ¶¶33, 52, and 108.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the ‘112 Patent to modify Chandrasekhar in view of Koivisto, Kim ‘622, and Kim ‘875 as applied to claim 11 further in view of the additional teachings of Kim ‘875. Aperiodic CSI-RS, wherein the UE is apprised by the network when CSI-RS is in the PRB rather than assuming a periodic presence of the resources, was well-known at the time of the invention and was an alternate to regular periodic CSI-RS in LTE-A systems such as those of the combination of references. One of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that modifying the combination of references to apply aperiodic CSI-RS would have been seen as an example of merely combining similar prior art elements according to known methods, each element performing in combination the same function as it does separately, with predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A), citing KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
As to claim 16, Chandrasekhar discloses:
A base station for receiving channel state information (CSI), the base station comprising:
at least one processor; and
at least one memory, communicatively coupled to the at least one processor, storing instructions executable by the at least one processor individually or in any combination to cause the base station to:
Chandrasekhar discloses an eNB for receiving reported CSI. Chandrasekhar at FIG 1 and ¶33 (“[a] UE uses the CSI-RS of its serving cell for intra-cell CSI measurement.”) See also id. at ¶¶2425 (“[i]f UE 109 has data ready for transmission, which may be traffic data, measurements report, tracking area update, UE 109 can transmit a random access signal on up-link 111. The random access signal notifies base station 101 that UE 109 requires up-link resources to transmit the UEs data”).
The eNB comprises a processor and memory storing instructions for operating the processor. Id. at ¶92 (“eNodeB 1002 comprises a Processor 1030 coupled to a memory 1032, symbol processing circuitry 1038, and a transceiver 1040 via backplane bus 1036. The memory stores applications 1034 for execution by processor 1030”).
[…]
transmit, to the UE, first downlink control information […] for scheduling a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) including a first CSI-RS resource indicator indicating at least one of the first CSI-RS resources to be used for rate matching,
Chandrasekhar discloses the eNB transmitting to the UE first downlink information for scheduling a PDSCH including an indicator indicating at least one CSI-RS resource (reads “first” resource(s)) to be used in determining rate matching within the PDSCH. Chandrasekhar at claim 1 (“[a] method of scheduling physical downlink shared channel muting in a telephonic system”), FIG 5, ¶60 (disclosing the UE receiving a PDSCHmutingenabled parameter from the eNB which identifies CSI-RS resources that are to be muted) and ¶30 (“[w]hen PDSCH muting is configured, PDSCH of the serving cell is rate matched around the serving cell CSI-RS as well as the muted RE”), and ¶67 (“in order for the UE to perform the following functions: determining the RE locations around which its PDSCH its [sic] rate matched”).
transmit, to the UE, data on the PDSCH, wherein the PDSCH is not mapped to the at least one of the first CSI-RS resources and the at least one of the first CSI-RS resources is not used for transmission of a CSI-RS,
Chandrasekhar discloses the eNB transmitting the PDSCH, which one of ordinary skill in the art would understand carries downlink data. The PDSCH is not mapped to these REs. Chandrasekhar at ¶30 (“[t]hus no PDSCH transmission occurs on RE corresponding to CSI-RS of serving and non-serving cells”). This is also because the CSI-RS resource REs here are muted and thus are not used for reception of CSI-RS. Id. at ¶56 (“[i]f the PDSCHmutingenabled parameter is enabled for that corresponding pattern (cell), then the PDSCH REs shall be muted on the CSI-RS locations for that pattern (cell) ”).
transmit, to the UE, second [downlink control information] including a second CSI-RS resource indicator triggering at least one of the second CSI-RS resources for channel measurement, and
Chandrasekhar further discloses the eNB transmitting to the UE another control signal for determining uplink signaling. Chandrasekhar at FIG 6 and at ¶¶61-62, showing indicator 601 for the UE to use for uplink CSI reporting. The indicator triggers a CSI-RS resource or resources for measurement. Id. at ¶18 (“FIG. 6 illustrates a similar exemplary bit map signaling the pattern (cell) corresponding to which the UE performs CSI measurement”).
receive, from the UE, a channel state measured based on the at least one of the second CSI-RS resources indicated by the second CSI-RS resource indicator […].
Chandrasekhar discloses the UE uses the second CSI-RS indicator to measure channel state and transmits it to the eNB which receives it from the UE. Chandrasekhar at ¶18 (“FIG. 6 illustrates a similar exemplary bit map signaling the pattern (cell) corresponding to which the UE performs CSI measurement”), ¶33 (“A UE uses the CSI-RS of its serving cell for intra-cell CSI measurement. A UE may use CSI-RS of a non-serving cell for inter-cell CSI-RS measurement and for estimating interference.”), and ¶25 (“UE 109 has data ready for transmission, which may be traffic data, measurements report”).
Note further that Chandrasekhar discloses the rate matching and channel state measurement steps being performed in the same device. Chandrasekhar at ¶67.
Chandrasekhar does not disclose that the two control signals are DCI, rather that they are higher-layer communications. Chandrasekhar discloses that the eNB allocates PUSCH resources to the UE (Chandrasekhar at ¶93), however Chandrasekhar does not specify that the second control information is for scheduling a PUSCH. Lastly, Chandrasekhar does not disclose receiving configuration information at the UE with information on the first and second CSI-RS resources, the configuration being used with the measuring.
As to DCI for CSI-RS measurement and rate matching, Koivisto discloses an analogous invention, namely a means and method for reporting CSI in a UE. Koivisto at Abstract (“improvements in demodulation and CSI feedback may be achieved”) and ¶85 (“[t]his may be used by the UE when estimating the channel for CSI feedback reporting”). See also id. at ¶95 and ¶104. Koivisto discloses the UE receives DCI from the eNB in the ePDCCH for scheduling the PDSCH. Koivisto at FIG 4A step 440 and at ¶89 (“the control information may be dynamically or semi-statically signalled. A dynamic signalling scheme may comprise transmitting the control information as part of a downlink control information (DCI) format transmitted either over a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) or an evolved PDCCH (ePDCCH)”). The control information may further include an indicator indicating a resource to be used in identifying rate matching in the downlink signal. Id. at FIG 6D and at ¶¶89 and 111 (“[i]n the table of FIG. 6D the control information is embodied in a in a pre-existing confirmation bit that is transmitted to a UE to indicate a rate-matching decision” “in the present variation, in the case of a bit value of `0`, the UE determines that a default CSI-RS resource for assessing channel statistics is to be used, wherein the default CSI-RS resource for assessing channel statistics may be preconfigured”). Thus Koivisto discloses the use of DCI for providing indicators indicating CSI-RS resources that are used in a similar manner as Chandrasekhar. Koivisto discloses using DCI as an alternate for higher-layer communications, noting that it uses less overhead. Koivisto at ¶90.
As to scheduling a PUSCH, Kim ‘622 discloses an analogous invention, namely a UE in an LTE system for receiving CSI-RS pilot signals for measuring channel state to report back to the network. Kim ‘622 at FIG 1 and at ¶¶9-10. Kim ‘622 states that a UE receives DCI scheduling PUSCH resources including information as to CSI-RS resources. Id. at ¶¶95-96.
As to CSI-RS configurations, Kim ‘875 discloses an analogous invention, namely namely a UE in an LTE system for receiving CSI-RS pilot signals for measuring channel state to report back to the network. Kim ‘875 at Abstract and at ¶¶8-9. Kim discloses receiving DCI at the UE for scheduling. Id. at ¶52. Lastly, Kim specifies that the CSI-RS resources that are used by the UE that are indicated by the eNB are configured by the eNB prior to the indication being transmitted. Id. at PP101-104.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the ‘112 Patent to modify Chandrasekhar to use DCI for indications as suggested by Koivisto, PUSCH scheduling as suggested by Kim ‘622, and configuring the CSI-RS according to Kim ‘875. Koivisto discloses that using DCI instead of the higher-layer signaling saves overhead which would motivate one of ordinary skill in the to use DCI for such a purpose. One of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that indicating CSI pilot signals for the UE to measure and report necessarily means scheduling uplink resources for the report i.e. a PUSCH, as suggested by Kim ’622. Lastly, since Chandrasekhar states that the CSI-RS resources are known to the UE, one of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that, in accordance with LTE standards, they would need to be configured, and Kim ‘875 provides details as to how such would be done. Lastly, the combination would have been seen as an example of merely combining similar prior art elements according to known methods, each element performing in combination the same function as it does separately, with predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A), citing KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Further as to claim 17:
The base station of claim 16, wherein the configuration information is transmitted via higher layer signaling.
Kim ‘875 discloses that the configuration information is received via RRC (higher layer signaling). Kim ‘875 at ¶¶18 and 115.
Further as to claim 18:
The base station of claim 16, wherein the configuration information includes information on CSI-RSs with respect to a vertical antenna and information on CSI-RSs with respect to a horizontal antenna, and
wherein the information on CSI-RSs with respect to the vertical antenna and the information on CSI-RSs with respect to [a] the horizontal antenna are independent of each other.
Kim ‘875 discloses that the configuration information includes information on CSI-RS with respect to different antenna ports and thus the CSI-RS information is independent of each other. Kim ‘875 at ¶¶17, 89, and 153. Koivisto discloses that these ports are associated with CSI-RS with respect to a horizontal antenna and a vertical antenna. Koivisto at ¶112.
Further as to claim 19:
The base station of claim 16, wherein the second CSI-RS resource indicator includes a predetermined number of bits.
Chandrasekhar discloses that the second indicator includes a predetermined number of bits. Chandrasekhar at ¶¶60-61.
Further as to claim 20:
The base station of claim 16, wherein the first DCI and the second DCI are transmitted on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), and
wherein the first CSI-RS resource indicator [being] is used for indicating whether CSI-RSs exist in a physical resource block (PRB) of the PDSCH.
The combination of references as to claim 16 above discloses claim 20 in that Koivisto discloses that the DCI of claim 16 is received on a PDCCH. Koivisto at ¶89.
Further, while the teachings applied to claim 16 do not specify that the first indicator indicates the existence of CSI-RS in the PRB, Kim ‘875 further discloses that an indicator in DCI as to CSI-RS resources to be used by a UE may specify the presence of CSI-RS in the PRB. Kim ‘875 at FIG 10 and ¶¶33, 52, and 108.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the ‘112 Patent to modify Chandrasekhar in view of Koivisto, Kim ‘622, and Kim ‘875 as applied to claim 16 further in view of the additional teachings of Kim ‘875. Aperiodic CSI-RS, wherein the UE is apprised by the network when CSI-RS is in the PRB rather than assuming a periodic presence of the resources, was well-known at the time of the invention and was an alternate to regular periodic CSI-RS in LTE-A systems such as those of the combination of references. One of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that modifying the combination of references to apply aperiodic CSI-RS would have been seen as an example of merely combining similar prior art elements according to known methods, each element performing in combination the same function as it does separately, with predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A), citing KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Claims 21-23, 25-27, 29-31, and 33-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chandrasekhar in view of Kim ‘622” and Kim ‘875.
As to claim 21, Chandrasekhar discloses:
A method performed by a terminal for reporting channel state information (CSI) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
Chandrasekhar discloses a method in a UE (a terminal) for reporting CSI. Chandrasekhar at ¶33 (“[a] UE uses the CSI-RS of its serving cell for intra-cell CSI measurement.”) See also id. at ¶25 (“If UE 109 has data ready for transmission, which may be traffic data, measurements report, tracking area update, UE 109 can transmit a random access signal on up-link 111. The random access signal notifies base station 101 that UE 109 requires up-link resources to transmit the UEs data”).
[…]
receiving, from the base station, first control information for scheduling a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) including information indicating at least one of the first CS-IRS resources to be used for rate matching;
Chandrasekhar discloses the UE receiving first control information for scheduling a PDSCH including an indicator indicating at least one CSI-RS resource (reads “first” resource(s)) to be used in determining rate matching within the PDSCH. Chandrasekhar at claim 1 (“[a] method of scheduling physical downlink shared channel muting in a telephonic system”), FIG 5, ¶60 (disclosing the UE receiving a PDSCHmutingenabled parameter which identifies CSI-RS resources that are to be muted) and ¶30 (“[w]hen PDSCH muting is configured, PDSCH of the serving cell is rate matched around the serving cell CSI-RS as well as the muted RE”), and ¶67 (“in order for the UE to perform the following functions: determining the RE locations around which its PDSCH its [sic] rate matched”).
identifying the at least one of the first CSI-RS resources for rate matching based on the first control information;
Chandrasekhar discloses the UE identifying the CSI-RS resources for rate matching based on the indicator. Chandrasekhar at ¶67 (“in order for the UE to perform the following functions: determining the RE locations around which its PDSCH its [sic] rate matched”) as well as at ¶¶56 and 60, noting that the indicator identifies CSI-RS resources in accordance with their pattern of REs in the RB that are muted for this purpose (“[i]f the PDSCHmutingenabled parameter is enabled for that corresponding pattern (cell), then the PDSCH REs shall be muted on the CSI-RS locations for that pattern (cell)”).
receiving, from the base station, downlink data on the PDSCH based on rate matching of the at least one of the first CSI-RS resources;
Chandrasekhar discloses the PDSCH being decoded in accordance with the rate matching. Chandrasekhar at ¶¶30-31 (“When PDSCH muting is configured, PDSCH of the serving cell is rate matched around the serving cell CSI-RS as well as the muted RE. … A UE needs to know the PDSCH mapping position to correctly interpret the code rate and decode its PDSCH”). The Examiner notes that Chandrasekhar that the rate matching, similar to the ‘112 Patent disclosure, states that in rate matching, the eNB may puncture the PDSCH in CSI-RS REs. Id. at ¶5. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the PDSCH carries downlink data.
receiving, from the base station, second control information […] including information indicating at least one of the second CSI-RS resources; and
Chandrasekhar further discloses receiving from the eNB another control signal for determining uplink signaling. Chandrasekhar at FIG 6 and at ¶61, showing indicator 601 for the UE to use for uplink CSI reporting. The indicator triggers a CSI-RS resource or resources for measurement. Id. at ¶18 (“FIG. 6 illustrates a similar exemplary bit map signaling the pattern (cell) corresponding to which the UE performs CSI measurement”).
measuring the CSI based on the second control information […],
wherein the at least one of the second CSI-RS resources indicated by the second control information is used for measuring the CSI.
Chandrasekhar discloses the UE uses the second CSI-RS indicator to measure channel state. Chandrasekhar at ¶18 (“FIG. 6 illustrates a similar exemplary bit map signaling the pattern (cell) corresponding to which the UE performs CSI measurement”), ¶33 (“A UE uses the CSI-RS of its serving cell for intra-cell CSI measurement. A UE may use CSI-RS of a non-serving cell for inter-cell CSI-RS measurement and for estimating interference.”)
Note further that Chandrasekhar discloses the rate matching and channel state measurement steps being performed in the same device. Chandrasekhar at ¶67.
Chandrasekhar discloses that the eNB allocates PUSCH resources to the UE (Chandrasekhar at ¶93), however Chandrasekhar does not specify that the second control information is for scheduling a PUSCH. Lastly, Chandrasekhar does not disclose receiving information at the UE with information on the first and second CSI-RS resources, this information being used with the measuring and identifying resources for rate matching.
As to scheduling a PUSCH, Kim ‘622 discloses an analogous invention, namely a UE in an LTE system for receiving CSI-RS pilot signals for measuring channel state to report back to the network. Kim ‘622 at FIG 1 and at ¶¶9-10. Kim ‘622 states that a UE receives DCI scheduling PUSCH resources including information as to CSI-RS resources. Id. at ¶¶95-96.
As to CSI-RS information, Kim ‘875 discloses an analogous invention, namely namely a UE in an LTE system for receiving CSI-RS pilot signals for measuring channel state to report back to the network. Kim ‘875 at Abstract and at ¶¶8-9. Kim discloses receiving DCI at the UE for scheduling. Id. at ¶52. Lastly, Kim specifies that the CSI-RS resources that are used by the UE that are indicated by the eNB are configured by the eNB prior to the indication being transmitted. Id. at PP101-104.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the ‘112 Patent to modify Chandrasekhar to use PUSCH scheduling as suggested by Kim ‘622 and configuring the CSI-RS according to Kim ‘875. One of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that indicating CSI pilot signals for the UE to measure and report necessarily means scheduling uplink resources for the report i.e. a PUSCH, as suggested by Kim ’622. Lastly, since Chandrasekhar states that the CSI-RS resources are known to the UE, one of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that, in accordance with LTE standards, they would need to be configured, and Kim ‘875 provides details as to how such would be done. Lastly, the combination would have been seen as an example of merely combining similar prior art elements according to known methods, each element performing in combination the same function as it does separately, with predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A), citing KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Further as to claim 22:
The method of claim 21, further comprising:
transmitting, to the base station, uplink data based on the second control information, wherein the second CSI-RS resources correspond to resources on which the second control information is received.
Chandrasekhar discloses transmitting uplink data based on the second control information, namely CSI measurements. Chandrasekhar at ¶25 (“UE 109 has data ready for transmission, which may be traffic data, measurements report”). The second CSI-RS resources which are used in the measurement of channel state correspond to resources on which the second control information is received as it is part of the RB.
Further as to claim 23:
The method of claim 21, wherein the first information is associated with a position of the first CSI-RS resources, and
wherein the second information is associated with a position of the second CSI-RS resources.
The combination of references teaches claim 23 in that Chandrasekhar discloses that the CSI-RS resources which are identified in the configuration are RE positions.
As to claim 25, Chandrasekhar discloses:
A method performed by a base station in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
Chandrasekhar discloses a method in an eNB for receiving reported CSI. Chandrasekhar at FIG 1 and ¶33 (“[a] UE uses the CSI-RS of its serving cell for intra-cell CSI measurement.”) See also id. at ¶¶2425 (“[i]f UE 109 has data ready for transmission, which may be traffic data, measurements report, tracking area update, UE 109 can transmit a random access signal on up-link 111. The random access signal notifies base station 101 that UE 109 requires up-link resources to transmit the UEs data”).
[…]
transmitting, to the terminal, first control information for scheduling a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) including information indicating at least one of the first CSI-RS resources to be used for rate matching;
Chandrasekhar discloses the eNB transmitting to the UE first downlink information for scheduling a PDSCH including an indicator indicating at least one CSI-RS resource (reads “first” resource(s)) to be used in determining rate matching within the PDSCH. Chandrasekhar at claim 1 (“[a] method of scheduling physical downlink shared channel muting in a telephonic system”), FIG 5, ¶60 (disclosing the UE receiving a PDSCHmutingenabled parameter from the eNB which identifies CSI-RS resources that are to be muted) and ¶30 (“[w]hen PDSCH muting is configured, PDSCH of the serving cell is rate matched around the serving cell CSI-RS as well as the muted RE”), and ¶67 (“in order for the UE to perform the following functions: determining the RE locations around which its PDSCH its [sic] rate matched”).
identifying the at least one of the first CSI-RS resources for rate matching;
Chandrasekhar discloses the eNB providing the UE the indicator identifying the CSI-RS resources for rate matching based on the indicator. Chandrasekhar at ¶67 (“in order for the UE to perform the following functions: determining the RE locations around which its PDSCH its [sic] rate matched”) as well as at ¶¶56 and 60, noting that the indicator identifies CSI-RS resources in accordance with their pattern of REs in the RB that are muted for this purpose (“[i]f the PDSCHmutingenabled parameter is enabled for that corresponding pattern (cell), then the PDSCH REs shall be muted on the CSI-RS locations for that pattern (cell)”).
transmitting, to the terminal, downlink data on the PDSCH based on rate matching of the at least one of the first CSI-RS resources;
Chandrasekhar discloses the eNB transmitting the PDSCH, which one of ordinary skill in the art would understand carries downlink data. Chandrasekhar discloses the PDSCH being decoded in accordance with the rate matching. Chandrasekhar at ¶¶30-31 (“When PDSCH muting is configured, PDSCH of the serving cell is rate matched around the serving cell CSI-RS as well as the muted RE. … A UE needs to know the PDSCH mapping position to correctly interpret the code rate and decode its PDSCH”). The Examiner notes that Chandrasekhar that the rate matching, similar to the ‘112 Patent disclosure, states that in rate matching, the eNB may puncture the PDSCH in CSI-RS REs. Id. at ¶5. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the PDSCH carries downlink data.
transmitting, to the terminal, second control information […] including information indicating at least one of the second CSI-RS resources; and
Chandrasekhar further discloses the eNB transmitting to the UE another control signal for determining uplink signaling. Chandrasekhar at FIG 6 and at ¶¶61-62, showing indicator 601 for the UE to use for uplink CSI reporting. The indicator triggers a CSI-RS resource or resources for measurement. Id. at ¶18 (“FIG. 6 illustrates a similar exemplary bit map signaling the pattern (cell) corresponding to which the UE performs CSI measurement”).
receiving, from the terminal, CSI measured based on the at least one of the second CSI-RS resources indicated by the second control information […].
Chandrasekhar discloses the UE uses the second CSI-RS indicator to measure channel state and transmits it to the eNB which receives it from the UE. Chandrasekhar at ¶18 (“FIG. 6 illustrates a similar exemplary bit map signaling the pattern (cell) corresponding to which the UE performs CSI measurement”), ¶33 (“A UE uses the CSI-RS of its serving cell for intra-cell CSI measurement. A UE may use CSI-RS of a non-serving cell for inter-cell CSI-RS measurement and for estimating interference.”), and ¶25 (“UE 109 has data ready for transmission, which may be traffic data, measurements report”).
Note further that Chandrasekhar discloses the rate matching and channel state measurement steps being performed in the same device. Chandrasekhar at ¶67.
Chandrasekhar discloses that the eNB allocates PUSCH resources to the UE (Chandrasekhar at ¶93), however Chandrasekhar does not specify that the second control information is for scheduling a PUSCH. Lastly, Chandrasekhar does not disclose receiving information at the UE with information on the first and second CSI-RS resources, this information being used with the measuring and identifying resources for rate matching.
As to scheduling a PUSCH, Kim ‘622 discloses an analogous invention, namely a UE in an LTE system for receiving CSI-RS pilot signals for measuring channel state to report back to the network. Kim ‘622 at FIG 1 and at ¶¶9-10. Kim ‘622 states that a UE receives DCI scheduling PUSCH resources including information as to CSI-RS resources. Id. at ¶¶95-96.
As to CSI-RS information, Kim ‘875 discloses an analogous invention, namely namely a UE in an LTE system for receiving CSI-RS pilot signals for measuring channel state to report back to the network. Kim ‘875 at Abstract and at ¶¶8-9. Kim discloses receiving DCI at the UE for scheduling. Id. at ¶52. Lastly, Kim specifies that the CSI-RS resources that are used by the UE that are indicated by the eNB are configured by the eNB prior to the indication being transmitted. Id. at PP101-104.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the ‘112 Patent to modify Chandrasekhar to use PUSCH scheduling as suggested by Kim ‘622 and configuring the CSI-RS according to Kim ‘875. One of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that indicating CSI pilot signals for the UE to measure and report necessarily means scheduling uplink resources for the report i.e. a PUSCH, as suggested by Kim ’622. Lastly, since Chandrasekhar states that the CSI-RS resources are known to the UE, one of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that, in accordance with LTE standards, they would need to be configured, and Kim ‘875 provides details as to how such would be done. Lastly, the combination would have been seen as an example of merely combining similar prior art elements according to known methods, each element performing in combination the same function as it does separately, with predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A), citing KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Further as to claim 26:
The method of claim 25, further comprising:
transmitting, to the base station, uplink data based on the second control information, wherein the second CSI-RS resources correspond to resources on which the second control information is received.
Chandrasekhar discloses transmitting uplink data based on the second control information, namely CSI measurements. Chandrasekhar at ¶25 (“UE 109 has data ready for transmission, which may be traffic data, measurements report”). The second CSI-RS resources which are used in the measurement of channel state correspond to resources on which the second control information is received as it is part of the RB.
Further as to claim 27:
The method of claim 25, wherein the first information is associated with a position of the first CSI-RS resources, and
wherein the second information is associated with a position of the second CSI-RS resources.
The combination of references teaches claim 27 in that Chandrasekhar discloses that the CSI-RS resources which are identified in the configuration are RE positions.
As to claim 29, Chandrasekhar discloses:
A terminal for reporting channel state information (CSI) in a wireless communication system, the terminal comprising:
at least one processor; and
at least one memory, communicatively coupled to the at least one processor, storing instructions executable by the at least one processor individually or in any combination to cause the terminal to:
Chandrasekhar discloses a UE for reporting CSI. Chandrasekhar at ¶33 (“[a] UE uses the CSI-RS of its serving cell for intra-cell CSI measurement.”) See also id. at ¶25 (“If UE 109 has data ready for transmission, which may be traffic data, measurements report, tracking area update, UE 109 can transmit a random access signal on up-link 111. The random access signal notifies base station 101 that UE 109 requires up-link resources to transmit the UEs data”).
The UE comprises a processor and memory storing programming for operating the UE. Id. at ¶88, (“UE 1001 comprises a processor 1010 coupled to a memory 1012 and a transceiver 1020. The memory 1012 stores (software) applications 1014 for execution by the processor 1010.”).
[…]
receive, from the base station, first control information for scheduling a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) including information indicating at least one of the first CSI-RS resources to be used for rate matching,
Chandrasekhar discloses the UE receiving first control information for scheduling a PDSCH including an indicator indicating at least one CSI-RS resource (reads “first” resource(s)) to be used in determining rate matching within the PDSCH. Chandrasekhar at claim 1 (“[a] method of scheduling physical downlink shared channel muting in a telephonic system”), FIG 5, ¶60 (disclosing the UE receiving a PDSCHmutingenabled parameter which identifies CSI-RS resources that are to be muted) and ¶30 (“[w]hen PDSCH muting is configured, PDSCH of the serving cell is rate matched around the serving cell CSI-RS as well as the muted RE”), and ¶67 (“in order for the UE to perform the following functions: determining the RE locations around which its PDSCH its [sic] rate matched”).
identify the at least one of the first CSI-RS resources for rate matching based on the first control information,
Chandrasekhar discloses the UE identifying the CSI-RS resources for rate matching based on the indicator. Chandrasekhar at ¶67 (“in order for the UE to perform the following functions: determining the RE locations around which its PDSCH its [sic] rate matched”) as well as at ¶¶56 and 60, noting that the indicator identifies CSI-RS resources in accordance with their pattern of REs in the RB that are muted for this purpose (“[i]f the PDSCHmutingenabled parameter is enabled for that corresponding pattern (cell), then the PDSCH REs shall be muted on the CSI-RS locations for that pattern (cell)”).
receive, from the base station, downlink data on the PDSCH based on rate matching of the at least one of the first CSI-RS resources,
Chandrasekhar discloses the PDSCH being decoded in accordance with the rate matching. Chandrasekhar at ¶¶30-31 (“When PDSCH muting is configured, PDSCH of the serving cell is rate matched around the serving cell CSI-RS as well as the muted RE. … A UE needs to know the PDSCH mapping position to correctly interpret the code rate and decode its PDSCH”). The Examiner notes that Chandrasekhar that the rate matching, similar to the ‘112 Patent disclosure, states that in rate matching, the eNB may puncture the PDSCH in CSI-RS REs. Id. at ¶5. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the PDSCH carries downlink data.
receive, from the base station, second control information […] including information indicating at least one of the second CSI-RS resources, and
Chandrasekhar further discloses receiving from the eNB another control signal for determining uplink signaling. Chandrasekhar at FIG 6 and at ¶61, showing indicator 601 for the UE to use for uplink CSI reporting. The indicator triggers a CSI-RS resource or resources for measurement. Id. at ¶18 (“FIG. 6 illustrates a similar exemplary bit map signaling the pattern (cell) corresponding to which the UE performs CSI measurement”).
measure the CSI based on the second control information […],
wherein the at least one of the second CSI-RS resources indicated by the second control information is used for measuring the CSI.
Chandrasekhar discloses the UE uses the second CSI-RS indicator to measure channel state. Chandrasekhar at ¶18 (“FIG. 6 illustrates a similar exemplary bit map signaling the pattern (cell) corresponding to which the UE performs CSI measurement”), ¶33 (“A UE uses the CSI-RS of its serving cell for intra-cell CSI measurement. A UE may use CSI-RS of a non-serving cell for inter-cell CSI-RS measurement and for estimating interference.”)
Note further that Chandrasekhar discloses the rate matching and channel state measurement steps being performed in the same device. Chandrasekhar at ¶67.
Chandrasekhar discloses that the eNB allocates PUSCH resources to the UE (Chandrasekhar at ¶93), however Chandrasekhar does not specify that the second control information is for scheduling a PUSCH. Lastly, Chandrasekhar does not disclose receiving information at the UE with information on the first and second CSI-RS resources, this information being used with the measuring and identifying resources for rate matching.
As to scheduling a PUSCH, Kim ‘622 discloses an analogous invention, namely a UE in an LTE system for receiving CSI-RS pilot signals for measuring channel state to report back to the network. Kim ‘622 at FIG 1 and at ¶¶9-10. Kim ‘622 states that a UE receives DCI scheduling PUSCH resources including information as to CSI-RS resources. Id. at ¶¶95-96.
As to CSI-RS information, Kim ‘875 discloses an analogous invention, namely namely a UE in an LTE system for receiving CSI-RS pilot signals for measuring channel state to report back to the network. Kim ‘875 at Abstract and at ¶¶8-9. Kim discloses receiving DCI at the UE for scheduling. Id. at ¶52. Lastly, Kim specifies that the CSI-RS resources that are used by the UE that are indicated by the eNB are configured by the eNB prior to the indication being transmitted. Id. at PP101-104.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the ‘112 Patent to modify Chandrasekhar to use PUSCH scheduling as suggested by Kim ‘622 and configuring the CSI-RS according to Kim ‘875. One of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that indicating CSI pilot signals for the UE to measure and report necessarily means scheduling uplink resources for the report i.e. a PUSCH, as suggested by Kim ’622. Lastly, since Chandrasekhar states that the CSI-RS resources are known to the UE, one of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that, in accordance with LTE standards, they would need to be configured, and Kim ‘875 provides details as to how such would be done. Lastly, the combination would have been seen as an example of merely combining similar prior art elements according to known methods, each element performing in combination the same function as it does separately, with predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A), citing KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Further as to claim 30:
The terminal of claim 29, wherein the instructions executable by the at least one processor individually or in any combination further cause the terminal to transmit, to the base station, uplink data based on the second control information,
wherein the second CSI-RS resources correspond to resources on which the second control information is received.
Chandrasekhar discloses transmitting uplink data based on the second control information, namely CSI measurements. Chandrasekhar at ¶25 (“UE 109 has data ready for transmission, which may be traffic data, measurements report”). The second CSI-RS resources which are used in the measurement of channel state correspond to resources on which the second control information is received as it is part of the RB.
Further as to claim 31:
The terminal of claim 29, wherein the first information is associated with a position of the first CSI-RS resources, and
wherein the second information is associated with a position of the second CSI-RS resources.
The combination of references teaches claim 31 in that Chandrasekhar discloses that the CSI-RS resources which are identified in the configuration are RE positions.
As to claim 33, Chandrasekhar discloses:
A base station in a wireless communication system, the base station comprising:
at least one processor; and
at least one memory, communicatively coupled to the at least one processor, storing instructions executable by the at least one processor individually or in any combination to cause the base station to:
Chandrasekhar discloses an eNB for receiving reported CSI. Chandrasekhar at FIG 1 and ¶33 (“[a] UE uses the CSI-RS of its serving cell for intra-cell CSI measurement.”) See also id. at ¶¶2425 (“[i]f UE 109 has data ready for transmission, which may be traffic data, measurements report, tracking area update, UE 109 can transmit a random access signal on up-link 111. The random access signal notifies base station 101 that UE 109 requires up-link resources to transmit the UEs data”).
The eNB comprises a processor and memory storing instructions for operating the processor. Id. at ¶92 (“eNodeB 1002 comprises a Processor 1030 coupled to a memory 1032, symbol processing circuitry 1038, and a transceiver 1040 via backplane bus 1036. The memory stores applications 1034 for execution by processor 1030”).
[…]
transmit, to the terminal, first control information for scheduling a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) including information indicating at least one of the first CSI-RS resources to be used for rate matching,
Chandrasekhar discloses the eNB transmitting to the UE first downlink information for scheduling a PDSCH including an indicator indicating at least one CSI-RS resource (reads “first” resource(s)) to be used in determining rate matching within the PDSCH. Chandrasekhar at claim 1 (“[a] method of scheduling physical downlink shared channel muting in a telephonic system”), FIG 5, ¶60 (disclosing the UE receiving a PDSCHmutingenabled parameter from the eNB which identifies CSI-RS resources that are to be muted) and ¶30 (“[w]hen PDSCH muting is configured, PDSCH of the serving cell is rate matched around the serving cell CSI-RS as well as the muted RE”), and ¶67 (“in order for the UE to perform the following functions: determining the RE locations around which its PDSCH its [sic] rate matched”).
identify the at least one of the first CSI-RS resources for rate matching,
Chandrasekhar discloses the eNB providing the UE the indicator identifying the CSI-RS resources for rate matching based on the indicator. Chandrasekhar at ¶67 (“in order for the UE to perform the following functions: determining the RE locations around which its PDSCH its [sic] rate matched”) as well as at ¶¶56 and 60, noting that the indicator identifies CSI-RS resources in accordance with their pattern of REs in the RB that are muted for this purpose (“[i]f the PDSCHmutingenabled parameter is enabled for that corresponding pattern (cell), then the PDSCH REs shall be muted on the CSI-RS locations for that pattern (cell)”).
transmit, to the terminal, downlink data on the PDSCH based on rate matching of the at least one of the first CSI-RS resources,
Chandrasekhar discloses the eNB transmitting the PDSCH, which one of ordinary skill in the art would understand carries downlink data. Chandrasekhar discloses the PDSCH being decoded in accordance with the rate matching. Chandrasekhar at ¶¶30-31 (“When PDSCH muting is configured, PDSCH of the serving cell is rate matched around the serving cell CSI-RS as well as the muted RE. … A UE needs to know the PDSCH mapping position to correctly interpret the code rate and decode its PDSCH”). The Examiner notes that Chandrasekhar that the rate matching, similar to the ‘112 Patent disclosure, states that in rate matching, the eNB may puncture the PDSCH in CSI-RS REs. Id. at ¶5. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the PDSCH carries downlink data.
transmit, to the terminal, second control information […] including information indicating at least one of the second CSI-RS resources, and
Chandrasekhar further discloses the eNB transmitting to the UE another control signal for determining uplink signaling. Chandrasekhar at FIG 6 and at ¶¶61-62, showing indicator 601 for the UE to use for uplink CSI reporting. The indicator triggers a CSI-RS resource or resources for measurement. Id. at ¶18 (“FIG. 6 illustrates a similar exemplary bit map signaling the pattern (cell) corresponding to which the UE performs CSI measurement”).
receive, from the terminal, CSI measured based on the at least one of the second CSI-RS resources indicated by the second control information […].
Chandrasekhar discloses the UE uses the second CSI-RS indicator to measure channel state and transmits it to the eNB which receives it from the UE. Chandrasekhar at ¶18 (“FIG. 6 illustrates a similar exemplary bit map signaling the pattern (cell) corresponding to which the UE performs CSI measurement”), ¶33 (“A UE uses the CSI-RS of its serving cell for intra-cell CSI measurement. A UE may use CSI-RS of a non-serving cell for inter-cell CSI-RS measurement and for estimating interference.”), and ¶25 (“UE 109 has data ready for transmission, which may be traffic data, measurements report”).
Note further that Chandrasekhar discloses the rate matching and channel state measurement steps being performed in the same device. Chandrasekhar at ¶67.
Chandrasekhar discloses that the eNB allocates PUSCH resources to the UE (Chandrasekhar at ¶93), however Chandrasekhar does not specify that the second control information is for scheduling a PUSCH. Lastly, Chandrasekhar does not disclose receiving information at the UE with information on the first and second CSI-RS resources, this information being used with the measuring and identifying resources for rate matching.
As to scheduling a PUSCH, Kim ‘622 discloses an analogous invention, namely a UE in an LTE system for receiving CSI-RS pilot signals for measuring channel state to report back to the network. Kim ‘622 at FIG 1 and at ¶¶9-10. Kim ‘622 states that a UE receives DCI scheduling PUSCH resources including information as to CSI-RS resources. Id. at ¶¶95-96.
As to CSI-RS information, Kim ‘875 discloses an analogous invention, namely namely a UE in an LTE system for receiving CSI-RS pilot signals for measuring channel state to report back to the network. Kim ‘875 at Abstract and at ¶¶8-9. Kim discloses receiving DCI at the UE for scheduling. Id. at ¶52. Lastly, Kim specifies that the CSI-RS resources that are used by the UE that are indicated by the eNB are configured by the eNB prior to the indication being transmitted. Id. at PP101-104.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the ‘112 Patent to modify Chandrasekhar to use PUSCH scheduling as suggested by Kim ‘622 and configuring the CSI-RS according to Kim ‘875. One of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that indicating CSI pilot signals for the UE to measure and report necessarily means scheduling uplink resources for the report i.e. a PUSCH, as suggested by Kim ’622. Lastly, since Chandrasekhar states that the CSI-RS resources are known to the UE, one of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that, in accordance with LTE standards, they would need to be configured, and Kim ‘875 provides details as to how such would be done. Lastly, the combination would have been seen as an example of merely combining similar prior art elements according to known methods, each element performing in combination the same function as it does separately, with predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A), citing KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Further as to claim 34:
The base station of claim 33, wherein the instructions executable by the at least one processor individually or in any combination further cause the base station to receive, from the terminal, uplink data based on the second control information,
wherein the second CSI-RS resources correspond to resources on which the second control information is transmitted.
Chandrasekhar discloses transmitting uplink data based on the second control information, namely CSI measurements. Chandrasekhar at ¶25 (“UE 109 has data ready for transmission, which may be traffic data, measurements report”). The second CSI-RS resources which are used in the measurement of channel state correspond to resources on which the second control information is received as it is part of the RB.
Further as to claim 35:
The base station of claim 33, wherein the first information is associated with a position of the first CS I-RS resources, and
wherein the second information is associated with a position of the second CSI-RS resources.
The combination of references teaches claim 35 in that Chandrasekhar discloses that the CSI-RS resources which are identified in the configuration are RE positions.
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chandrasekhar in view of Kim ‘622” and Kim ‘875 as applied to claim 21 above and further in view of Koivisto.
As to claim 24:
The method of claim 21, wherein the first control information and the second control information are received on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH).
While disclosing claim 21 above, Chandrasekhar in view of Kim ‘622” and Kim ‘875 do not specify the first and second control information be received in a PDCCH.
As to DCI for CSI-RS measurement and rate matching, Koivisto discloses an analogous invention, namely a means and method for reporting CSI in a UE. Koivisto at Abstract (“improvements in demodulation and CSI feedback may be achieved”) and ¶85 (“[t]his may be used by the UE when estimating the channel for CSI feedback reporting”). See also id. at ¶95 and ¶104. Koivisto discloses the UE receives DCI from the eNB in the ePDCCH for scheduling the PDSCH. Koivisto at FIG 4A step 440 and at ¶89 (“the control information may be dynamically or semi-statically signalled. A dynamic signalling scheme may comprise transmitting the control information as part of a downlink control information (DCI) format transmitted either over a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) or an evolved PDCCH (ePDCCH)”). The control information may further include an indicator indicating a resource to be used in identifying rate matching in the downlink signal. Id. at FIG 6D and at ¶¶89 and 111 (“[i]n the table of FIG. 6D the control information is embodied in a in a pre-existing confirmation bit that is transmitted to a UE to indicate a rate-matching decision” “in the present variation, in the case of a bit value of `0`, the UE determines that a default CSI-RS resource for assessing channel statistics is to be used, wherein the default CSI-RS resource for assessing channel statistics may be preconfigured”). Thus Koivisto discloses the use of DCI for providing indicators indicating CSI-RS resources that are used in a similar manner as Chandrasekhar. Koivisto discloses using DCI as an alternate for higher-layer communications, noting that it uses less overhead. Koivisto at ¶90.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the ‘112 Patent to modify Chandrasekhar in view of Kim ‘622 and Kim ‘875 to use DCI for indications as suggested by Koivisto. Koivisto discloses that using DCI instead of the higher-layer signaling saves overhead which would motivate one of ordinary skill in the to use DCI for such a purpose. Lastly, the combination would have been seen as an example of merely combining similar prior art elements according to known methods, each element performing in combination the same function as it does separately, with predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A), citing KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chandrasekhar in view of Kim ‘622” and Kim ‘875 as applied to claim 25 above and further in view of Koivisto.
As to claim 28:
The method of claim 25, wherein the first control information and the second control information are transmitted on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH).
While disclosing claim 25 above, Chandrasekhar in view of Kim ‘622” and Kim ‘875 do not specify the first and second control information be received in a PDCCH.
As to DCI for CSI-RS measurement and rate matching, Koivisto discloses an analogous invention, namely a means and method for reporting CSI in a UE. Koivisto at Abstract (“improvements in demodulation and CSI feedback may be achieved”) and ¶85 (“[t]his may be used by the UE when estimating the channel for CSI feedback reporting”). See also id. at ¶95 and ¶104. Koivisto discloses the UE receives DCI from the eNB in the ePDCCH for scheduling the PDSCH. Koivisto at FIG 4A step 440 and at ¶89 (“the control information may be dynamically or semi-statically signalled. A dynamic signalling scheme may comprise transmitting the control information as part of a downlink control information (DCI) format transmitted either over a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) or an evolved PDCCH (ePDCCH)”). The control information may further include an indicator indicating a resource to be used in identifying rate matching in the downlink signal. Id. at FIG 6D and at ¶¶89 and 111 (“[i]n the table of FIG. 6D the control information is embodied in a in a pre-existing confirmation bit that is transmitted to a UE to indicate a rate-matching decision” “in the present variation, in the case of a bit value of `0`, the UE determines that a default CSI-RS resource for assessing channel statistics is to be used, wherein the default CSI-RS resource for assessing channel statistics may be preconfigured”). Thus Koivisto discloses the use of DCI for providing indicators indicating CSI-RS resources that are used in a similar manner as Chandrasekhar. Koivisto discloses using DCI as an alternate for higher-layer communications, noting that it uses less overhead. Koivisto at ¶90.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the ‘112 Patent to modify Chandrasekhar in view of Kim ‘622 and Kim ‘875 to use DCI for indications as suggested by Koivisto. Koivisto discloses that using DCI instead of the higher-layer signaling saves overhead which would motivate one of ordinary skill in the to use DCI for such a purpose. Lastly, the combination would have been seen as an example of merely combining similar prior art elements according to known methods, each element performing in combination the same function as it does separately, with predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A), citing KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chandrasekhar in view of Kim ‘622” and Kim ‘875 as applied to claim 29 above and further in view of Koivisto.
As to claim 32:
The terminal of claim 29, wherein the first control information and the second control information are received on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH).
While disclosing claim 29 above, Chandrasekhar in view of Kim ‘622” and Kim ‘875 do not specify the first and second control information be received in a PDCCH.
As to DCI for CSI-RS measurement and rate matching, Koivisto discloses an analogous invention, namely a means and method for reporting CSI in a UE. Koivisto at Abstract (“improvements in demodulation and CSI feedback may be achieved”) and ¶85 (“[t]his may be used by the UE when estimating the channel for CSI feedback reporting”). See also id. at ¶95 and ¶104. Koivisto discloses the UE receives DCI from the eNB in the ePDCCH for scheduling the PDSCH. Koivisto at FIG 4A step 440 and at ¶89 (“the control information may be dynamically or semi-statically signalled. A dynamic signalling scheme may comprise transmitting the control information as part of a downlink control information (DCI) format transmitted either over a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) or an evolved PDCCH (ePDCCH)”). The control information may further include an indicator indicating a resource to be used in identifying rate matching in the downlink signal. Id. at FIG 6D and at ¶¶89 and 111 (“[i]n the table of FIG. 6D the control information is embodied in a in a pre-existing confirmation bit that is transmitted to a UE to indicate a rate-matching decision” “in the present variation, in the case of a bit value of `0`, the UE determines that a default CSI-RS resource for assessing channel statistics is to be used, wherein the default CSI-RS resource for assessing channel statistics may be preconfigured”). Thus Koivisto discloses the use of DCI for providing indicators indicating CSI-RS resources that are used in a similar manner as Chandrasekhar. Koivisto discloses using DCI as an alternate for higher-layer communications, noting that it uses less overhead. Koivisto at ¶90.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the ‘112 Patent to modify Chandrasekhar in view of Kim ‘622 and Kim ‘875 to use DCI for indications as suggested by Koivisto. Koivisto discloses that using DCI instead of the higher-layer signaling saves overhead which would motivate one of ordinary skill in the to use DCI for such a purpose. Lastly, the combination would have been seen as an example of merely combining similar prior art elements according to known methods, each element performing in combination the same function as it does separately, with predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A), citing KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Claim 36 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chandrasekhar in view of Kim ‘622” and Kim ‘875 as applied to claim 33 above and further in view of Koivisto.
As to claim 36:
The base station of claim 33, wherein the first control information and the second control information are transmitted on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH).
While disclosing claim 33 above, Chandrasekhar in view of Kim ‘622” and Kim ‘875 do not specify the first and second control information be received in a PDCCH.
As to DCI for CSI-RS measurement and rate matching, Koivisto discloses an analogous invention, namely a means and method for reporting CSI in a UE. Koivisto at Abstract (“improvements in demodulation and CSI feedback may be achieved”) and ¶85 (“[t]his may be used by the UE when estimating the channel for CSI feedback reporting”). See also id. at ¶95 and ¶104. Koivisto discloses the UE receives DCI from the eNB in the ePDCCH for scheduling the PDSCH. Koivisto at FIG 4A step 440 and at ¶89 (“the control information may be dynamically or semi-statically signalled. A dynamic signalling scheme may comprise transmitting the control information as part of a downlink control information (DCI) format transmitted either over a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) or an evolved PDCCH (ePDCCH)”). The control information may further include an indicator indicating a resource to be used in identifying rate matching in the downlink signal. Id. at FIG 6D and at ¶¶89 and 111 (“[i]n the table of FIG. 6D the control information is embodied in a in a pre-existing confirmation bit that is transmitted to a UE to indicate a rate-matching decision” “in the present variation, in the case of a bit value of `0`, the UE determines that a default CSI-RS resource for assessing channel statistics is to be used, wherein the default CSI-RS resource for assessing channel statistics may be preconfigured”). Thus Koivisto discloses the use of DCI for providing indicators indicating CSI-RS resources that are used in a similar manner as Chandrasekhar. Koivisto discloses using DCI as an alternate for higher-layer communications, noting that it uses less overhead. Koivisto at ¶90.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the ‘112 Patent to modify Chandrasekhar in view of Kim ‘622 and Kim ‘875 to use DCI for indications as suggested by Koivisto. Koivisto discloses that using DCI instead of the higher-layer signaling saves overhead which would motivate one of ordinary skill in the to use DCI for such a purpose. Lastly, the combination would have been seen as an example of merely combining similar prior art elements according to known methods, each element performing in combination the same function as it does separately, with predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A), citing KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Response to Arguments
Patent Owner provides arguments in his response of February 16, 2026 (“Remarks”).
As to the previous rejection of claims 1-36 under 35 USC 112(a), the Examiner notes the new ground of rejection above as to limitations in the independent claims.
As to the rejections under 35 USC 103, the Examiner finds Patent Owner’s moot in view of the new grounds of rejection above.
Conclusion
Examiner should be directed to Charles Craver whose telephone number is (571) 272-
7849. The Examiner can normally be reached on Monday - Friday 8:30-5:30 PT Pacific
Time.
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s
supervisor, Andrew J. Fischer can be reached on 571-272-6779. The fax phone
number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-
273-8300.
Signed,
/CHARLES R CRAVER/Reexamination Specialist, Art Unit 3992
Conferees:
/ROBERT J HANCE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3992 /M.F/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3992