Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4 – 5 and 7 - 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20180244956 (US’956, Hains), further in view of WO2018229005A1 or US20200198982. For the convenience, US20200198982 (US’982, Suda) is cited.
Regarding claims 1, and 4 - 5, US’956 discloses a chemical-mechanical polishing composition comprising an abrasive, a self-stopping agent, an aqueous carrier, and a cationic polymer for polishing a substrate (abstract). The cationic polymer is a quaternary amine, and the cationic polymer is poly(vinylimidazolium) ([0072]). The abrasive particles such as ceria can have a median particle size within about 40 nm to about 100 ([0021] and [0037]). The cationic polymer can be present in the polishing composition at any suitable concentration such as 1 ppm to about 500 ppm ([0074]). The polishing composition optionally further comprises one or more other additional components. Illustrative additional components include rate enhancers, conditioners, scale inhibitors, dispersants, etc. A rate enhancer desirably is an organic carboxylic acid that activates the polishing particle or substrate by forming hypercoordinate compounds (e.g., pentacoordinate or hexacoordinate silicon compounds). Suitable rate enhancers include, for example, picolinic acid and 4-hydroxybenzoic acid ([0090]). The polishing composition has a pH of about 3 to about 9 ([0019]). Suitable organic acid acetic acid is used for pH adjust ([0035]).Table 6, G6-G12 , discloses the using of acetic acid. The abrasive can be present in the polishing composition at a concentration of about 5 wt. % or less, for example, about 4 wt. % or less, about 3 wt. % or less, about 2 wt. % or less, or about 1 wt. % or less. Alternatively, or in addition, the abrasive can be present in the polishing composition at a concentration of about 0.001 wt. % or more, for example, about 0.005 wt. % or more, about 0.01 wt. % or more, about 0.05 wt. % or more, about 0.1 wt. % or more, or about 0.5 wt. % or more ([0039]).
But it is silent about the ceria being cubic and comprising the claimed cerium and lanthanum mixed oxide.
US’982 discloses cerium-based particles and their use as a component of a composition for polishing. The cerium - based parties are particles of a mixed oxide of cerium and of lanthanum having: a molar ratio La/(La+Ce) comprised between 0.01 and 0.15; a specific surface area (BET) between 3 and 14 m2/g; wherein the particles are substantially cubic (claim 1). The composition comprises a liquid medium ([0076]). US’982 discloses that cerium-based particles have a D50 between 100 nm and 150 nm ([0044]). US’982 discloses that the particles of the cerium-based cubic particles exhibit an improvement of the removal rate and abrasive properties ([0004] and [0145]). US’982 discloses that the proportion of cerium-based particles in the dispersion may be comprised between 1.0 wt % and 40.0 wt % ([0077]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to utilize the cerium-based cubic particles disclosed by US’982 into US’956 composition, motivated by the fact that US’982 discloses that the particles of the cerium-based cubic particles exhibit an improvement of the removal rate and abrasive properties ([0004] and [0145]).
Regarding claims 7-14, US’956 discloses a chemical-mechanical polishing composition comprising an abrasive, a self-stopping agent, an aqueous carrier, and a cationic polymer for polishing a substrate (abstract). The cationic polymer is a quaternary amine, and the cationic polymer is poly(vinylimidazolium)([0072]). The abrasive particles can have a median particle size within about 40 nm to about 100 ([0037]). The cationic polymer can be present in the polishing composition at any suitable concentration such as 1 ppm to about 500 ppm ([0074]). The polishing composition optionally further comprises one or more other additional components. Illustrative additional components include rate enhancers, conditioners, scale inhibitors, dispersants, etc. A rate enhancer desirably is an organic carboxylic acid that activates the polishing particle or substrate by forming hypercoordinate compounds (e.g., pentacoordinate or hexacoordinate silicon compounds). Suitable rate enhancers include, for example, picolinic acid and 4-hydroxybenzoic acid ([0090]). The polishing composition has a pH of about 3 to about 9 ([0099]). Poly(vinylimidazolium) has the claimed charge density.
Regarding claims 15-18, US’956 discloses a chemical-mechanical polishing composition comprising an abrasive, a self-stopping agent, an aqueous carrier, and a cationic polymer for polishing a substrate (abstract). The cationic polymer is a quaternary amine, and the cationic polymer is poly(vinylimidazolium) ([0072]). The abrasive particles can have a median particle size within about 40 nm to about 100 ([0037]). The cationic polymer can be present in the polishing composition at any suitable concentration such as 1 ppm to about 500 ppm ([0074]). The polishing composition optionally further comprises one or more other additional components. Illustrative additional components include rate enhancers, conditioners, scale inhibitors, dispersants, etc. A rate enhancer desirably is an organic carboxylic acid that activates the polishing particle or substrate by forming hypercoordinate compounds (e.g., pentacoordinate or hexacoordinate silicon compounds). Suitable rate enhancers include, for example, picolinic acid and 4-hydroxybenzoic acid ([0090]). The polishing composition has a pH of about 3 to about 9 ([0099]). The abrasive can be present in the polishing composition at a concentration of about 5 wt. % or less, for example, about 4 wt. % or less, about 3 wt. % or less, about 2 wt. % or less, or about 1 wt. % or less. Alternatively, or in addition, the abrasive can be present in the polishing composition at a concentration of about 0.001 wt. % or more, for example, about 0.005 wt. % or more, about 0.01 wt. % or more, about 0.05 wt. % or more, about 0.1 wt. % or more, or about 0.5 wt. % or more ([0039]).
Claims 1, 4 – 5 and 7 - 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20180244956 (US’956, Hains), further in view of KR20180068424A.
Regarding claims 1, and 4 - 5, US’956 discloses a chemical-mechanical polishing composition comprising an abrasive, a self-stopping agent, an aqueous carrier, and a cationic polymer for polishing a substrate (abstract). The cationic polymer is a quaternary amine, and the cationic polymer is poly(vinylimidazolium) ([0072]). The abrasive particles such as ceria can have a median particle size within about 40 nm to about 100 ([0021] and [0037]). The cationic polymer can be present in the polishing composition at any suitable concentration such as 1 ppm to about 500 ppm ([0074]). The polishing composition optionally further comprises one or more other additional components. Illustrative additional components include rate enhancers, conditioners, scale inhibitors, dispersants, etc. A rate enhancer desirably is an organic carboxylic acid that activates the polishing particle or substrate by forming hypercoordinate compounds (e.g., pentacoordinate or hexacoordinate silicon compounds). Suitable rate enhancers include, for example, picolinic acid and 4-hydroxybenzoic acid ([0090]). The polishing composition has a pH of about 3 to about 9 ([0019]). Suitable organic acid acetic acid is used for pH adjust ([0035]). The abrasive can be present in the polishing composition at a concentration of about 5 wt. % or less, for example, about 4 wt. % or less, about 3 wt. % or less, about 2 wt. % or less, or about 1 wt. % or less. Alternatively, or in addition, the abrasive can be present in the polishing composition at a concentration of about 0.001 wt. % or more, for example, about 0.005 wt. % or more, about 0.01 wt. % or more, about 0.05 wt. % or more, about 0.1 wt. % or more, or about 0.5 wt. % or more ([0039]).
But it is silent about the ceria being cubic and comprising the claimed cerium and lanthanum mixed oxide.
KR20180068424A discloses a chemical mechanical polishing (CMP) slurry composition comprising cerium oxide particles and a solvent. The cerium oxide particles are doped or coated with a rare earth metal and have a cubic shape. The slurry can be provided, in which a particle size is dense, a shape is uniform, and a polishing rate of the film to be polished is enhanced. The rare earth metal may be La and 0.1 to 20 parts by weight of rare earth metal based on 100 parts by weight of the cerium oxide particles (claims 1-2, 5 and 7). After the mass to mole ratio conversion, it appears that the prior art discloses at least the overlapping range. KR20180068424A discloses that such slurry composition improves the polishing rate of a film to be polished, and as a result, provides a slurry composition for chemical mechanical polishing capable of planarizing a thick film and simplifying the process (Problem to be resolved).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to utilize the cerium-based cubic particles disclosed by KR20180068424A into US’956 composition, motivated by the fact that KR20180068424A disclose that such slurry composition improves the polishing rate of a film to be polished, and as a result, provides a slurry composition for chemical mechanical polishing capable of planarizing a thick film and simplifying the process( Problem to be resolved).
KR20180068424A discloses that the cerium oxide particles may have a primary particle size of 10 to 80 nm and a secondary particle size of 200 nm or less. It appears the claimed surface area is met because the claimed surface area is related to the particle size (means to solved problem).
Regarding claims 7-14, US’956 discloses a chemical-mechanical polishing composition comprising an abrasive, a self-stopping agent, an aqueous carrier, and a cationic polymer for polishing a substrate (abstract). The cationic polymer is a quaternary amine, and the cationic polymer is poly(vinylimidazolium)([0072]). The abrasive particles can have a median particle size within about 40 nm to about 100 ([0037]). The cationic polymer can be present in the polishing composition at any suitable concentration such as 1 ppm to about 500 ppm ([0074]). The polishing composition optionally further comprises one or more other additional components. Illustrative additional components include rate enhancers, conditioners, scale inhibitors, dispersants, etc. A rate enhancer desirably is an organic carboxylic acid that activates the polishing particle or substrate by forming hypercoordinate compounds (e.g., pentacoordinate or hexacoordinate silicon compounds). Suitable rate enhancers include, for example, picolinic acid and 4-hydroxybenzoic acid ([0090]). The polishing composition has a pH of about 3 to about 9 ([0099]). Poly(vinylimidazolium) has the claimed charge density.
Regarding claims 15-18, US’956 discloses a chemical-mechanical polishing composition comprising an abrasive, a self-stopping agent, an aqueous carrier, and a cationic polymer for polishing a substrate (abstract). The cationic polymer is a quaternary amine, and the cationic polymer is poly(vinylimidazolium) ([0072]). The abrasive particles can have a median particle size within about 40 nm to about 100 ([0037]). The cationic polymer can be present in the polishing composition at any suitable concentration such as 1 ppm to about 500 ppm ([0074]). The polishing composition optionally further comprises one or more other additional components. Illustrative additional components include rate enhancers, conditioners, scale inhibitors, dispersants, etc. A rate enhancer desirably is an organic carboxylic acid that activates the polishing particle or substrate by forming hypercoordinate compounds (e.g., pentacoordinate or hexacoordinate silicon compounds). Suitable rate enhancers include, for example, picolinic acid and 4-hydroxybenzoic acid ([0090]). The polishing composition has a pH of about 3 to about 9 ([0099]). The abrasive can be present in the polishing composition at a concentration of about 5 wt. % or less, for example, about 4 wt. % or less, about 3 wt. % or less, about 2 wt. % or less, or about 1 wt. % or less. Alternatively, or in addition, the abrasive can be present in the polishing composition at a concentration of about 0.001 wt. % or more, for example, about 0.005 wt. % or more, about 0.01 wt. % or more, about 0.05 wt. % or more, about 0.1 wt. % or more, or about 0.5 wt. % or more ([0039]).
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4 -5 and 7-18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3 - 7, 9, and 11 - 31 of copending Application No. 17/077414 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications disclose polishing compositions comprising cubiform ceria and cationic polymers.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/24/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The rejection of claims 1, 4-5 and 7-18 under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Lauter (US’778) in view of Ota (US’898) has been withdrawn.
The Applicant argues that Hains does not teach acetic acid as a rate enhancer, nor the combination of picolinic acid and acetic acid as a rate enhancer. Hains mentions acetic acid only in the preparation of the ceria abrasive, prior to milling to reduce their particle size (see paragraphs [0035] and [0036]). Hains fails to teach acetic acid as a slurry component.
The Examiner respectfully submits that Hains discloses rate enhancer desirably is an organic carboxylic acid that activates the polishing particle or substrate by forming hypercoordinate compounds (e.g., pentacoordinate or hexacoordinate silicon compounds). Suitable rate enhancers include, for example, picolinic acid and 4-hydroxybenzoic acid ([0090]). The polishing composition has a pH of about 3 to about 9 ([0019]). Suitable organic acid acetic acid is used for pH adjust ([0035]). Table 6, G6-G12, discloses the using of acetic acid.
The Applicants have previously argued that a person of skill in the art would not have been motivated to use the abrasive particle from Suda in the composition of Hains to increase the removal rate because Hains is concerned with planarization efficiency and not increased removal rates.
Please refer to the response set forth in the previous office action.
The Applicant argues that the combination of Suda and Hains fail to teach the combination of acetic acid and picolinic acid, as required by the present claims.
The Examiner respectfully submits that Hains discloses rate enhancer desirably is an organic carboxylic acid that activates the polishing particle or substrate by forming hypercoordinate compounds (e.g., pentacoordinate or hexacoordinate silicon compounds). Suitable rate enhancers include, for example, picolinic acid and 4-hydroxybenzoic acid ([0090]). The polishing composition has a pH of about 3 to about 9 ([0019]). Suitable organic acid acetic acid is used for pH adjust ([0035]). Table 6, G6-G12, discloses the using of acetic acid.
The Applicant argues that Lee discloses 2% Zr will result in a removal rate decrease.
The Examiner respectfully submits that in response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the zirconium content) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
The Applicant argues that Lee and Haines fail to teach the combination of acetic acid and picolinic acid.
The Examiner respectfully submits that Hains discloses rate enhancer desirably is an organic carboxylic acid that activates the polishing particle or substrate by forming hypercoordinate compounds (e.g., pentacoordinate or hexacoordinate silicon compounds). Suitable rate enhancers include, for example, picolinic acid and 4-hydroxybenzoic acid ([0090]). The polishing composition has a pH of about 3 to about 9 ([0019]). Suitable organic acid acetic acid is used for pH adjust ([0035]). Table 6, G6-G12, discloses the using of acetic acid.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHUANGYI ABU ALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1731