DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to papers filed on 05/06/2026. Claims 1-14, and 29-96 of Saha et al., 17/078,255 (10/23/2020) are pending: claim 1 is amended, claims 15-28, and 97 have been previously canceled without prejudice, and non-elected claims 29-96 remain withdrawn. Claims 1-14 are rejected.
Priority
This application is a:
DIV of 15/797,593 (10/30/2017 US10881646),
15/797,593 is a CON of 15/161,137 (05/20/2016 ABN),
15/161,137 is a CIP of PCT/US14/71749 (11/29/2017 ABN),
PCT/US14/71749 has PRO 61/919,551 (12/20/2013).
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements (IDS) submitted on 03/13/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant previously elected of Group I, claims 1-14, in the reply filed on 1/10/23, treated as without traverse.
Modified Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martinez-Botella et al. (US7354939) (“Martinez-Botella”), in view of Morris et al. (Cancer Discov., July 2013, Vol 3, No 7, pp 742-750) (“Morris”), and Jin et al. (Bioorg. Med. Chem., 15 September 2013, Vol 21, No 18, pp 5694-5706) (“Jin”).
Regarding amended claim 1, the claim essentially recites a method of treating the effects of a cancer that is refractory or resistant to non-ERK MAPK pathway inhibitor therapy in a subject, by administering an effective amount of an ERK inhibitor that does not inhibit ERK phosphorylation. This includes obtaining a biological sample from the subject, screening the sample to determine whether the subject carries a double mutation per claim 1, and administering and effective amount of BVD-523 or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof.
Martinez-Botella teaches methods of treating cancer by administering inhibitors of ERK protein kinase, using compounds of general formula I, including the claimed and administered compound BVD-523 as I-9 (col. 9, Table 1, and claim 7),
for use in treating melanoma in a patient, col 31:
.
Martinez-Botella also teaches in col. 3 that ERK is a therapeutic target for the treatment of melanoma, as ERK-activation plays a major role in the metastatic behavior of melanoma:
Although Martinez-Botella teaches the claimed BVD-523 compound in treating cancer, the reference does not expressly teach claim 1’s language of “which cancer is refractory or resistant to non-ERK MAPK pathway inhibitor therapy”.
The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that "a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely that product [was] not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under § 103."KSR, 550 U.S. at 421, 82 USPQ2d at 1397.
An obvious to try rationale requires (MPEP § 2143):
(1) a finding that at the relevant time, there had been a recognized problem or need in the art, which may include a design need or market pressure to solve a problem;
Morris teaches ERK1/2 inhibitors against cancers that are BRAF or MEK inhibitor-resistant, and that there is a clear need for the clinical development of other ERK inhibitors for tumors refractory to MAPK inhibitors and provided an example (Morris’ abstract: "SCH772984, a novel and selective inhibitor of ERK1/2 ... SCH772984 effectively inhibited MAPK signaling and cell proliferation in BRAF or MEK inhibitor-resistant models as well as in tumor cells resistant to concurrent treatment with BRAF and MEK inhibitors. These data support the clinical development of ERK inhibitors for tumors refractory to MAPK inhibitors").
(2) a finding that there had been a finite number of identified, predictable potential solutions to the recognized need or problem;
Martinez-Botella as discussed above, teaches the recited BVD-523 as an ERK inhibitor used in the treatment of cancer, and discusses compounds of formula I (including BVD-523 as I-9) that are effective ERK inhibitors.
Morris teaches a finding that at the relevant time, there had been a recognized problem or need in the art for the clinical development of other ERK inhibitors for tumors refractory to MAPK inhibitors (targeting BRAF or MEK).
Based on the teachings of Martinez-Botella and Morris, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to try selective ERK1/2 inhibitors, such as the claimed BVD-523 ERK inhibitor, against cancers that are BRAF or MEK inhibitor-resistant. The motivation to do so is the clinical development of ERK inhibitors for tumors refractory to MAPK inhibitors per Morris’ teachings. Moreover, by carrying out this method, it would have been obvious to obtain a biological sample from the subject, screening the sample to determine whether the subject carries the respective mutations as recited in claim 1, and administering and effective amount of BVD-523 or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof; thus, arriving at the invention.
(3) a finding that one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known potential solutions with a reasonable expectation of success; and
Morris teaches in the abstract: "SCH772984, a novel and selective inhibitor of ERK1/2 ... SCH772984 effectively inhibited MAPK signaling and cell proliferation in BRAF or MEK inhibitor-resistant models as well as in tumor cells resistant to concurrent treatment with BRAF and MEK inhibitors. These data support the clinical development of ERK inhibitors for tumors refractory to MAPK inhibitors").
At the time of the invention, another ERK 1/2 selective inhibitor was discussed by Jin. Jin teaches (Jin p 5695, col 1, para 2: "ERK1/2 direct inhibitor BVD-523 was in clinical phase1/2 for advanced malignancies").
(4) whatever additional findings based on the Graham factual inquiries may be necessary, in view of the facts of the case under consideration, to explain a conclusion of obviousness.
Thus, “a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely that product [was] not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under § 103."KSR, 550 U.S. at 421, 82 USPQ2d at 1397.
Given the high level of skill in the art of cancer therapeutics, one of ordinary skill in the art would have readily consider the combined teaching of the art, and utilize Martinez-Botella’s compound in treating cancers including those resistant to BRAF inhibitor and MEK inhibitor therapy and arrive at the claimed invention in further view of Morris. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a further expectation of success because the same compound was already in clinical studies for cancer treatment as taught by Jin (Jin p 5695, col 1, para 2: "ERK1/2 direct inhibitor BVD-523 was in clinical phase1/2 for advanced malignancies").
Per the teachings discussed above, it would have therefore been prima facie obvious to try BVD-523 in view of Martinez-Botella, Morris, and Jin teachings and arrive at the claimed invention per claim 1. One of skill in the art would have been motivated to do so, with reasonable expectation of success because, ERK inhibitors, such as the claimed BVD-523, have been shown to treat cancer as disclosed by Martinez-Botella. Morris teaches that there is a clear need to clinically identify and/or develop ERK inhibitors for tumors refractory to MAPK inhibitors, and to one of ordinary skill in the art, identify their mechanism of action. Morris also teaches success with a novel ERK 1 / 2 inhibitor "SCH772984… inhibited MAPK signaling and cell proliferation in BRAF or MEK inhibitor-resistant models as well as in tumor cells resistant to concurrent treatment with BRAF and MEK inhibitors…”, and Jin teaches (Jin p 5695, col 1, para 2) BVD-523 as an: "ERK1/2 direct inhibitor BVD-523 was in clinical phase1/2 for advanced malignancies"). Therefore, one would be motivated to pursue ERK inhibitors such as BVD-523 for tumors refractory to MAPK inhibitors per the teachings discussed above and arrive at the claimed invention with reasonable expectation of success. Additionally, obviousness does not require absolute predictability, but a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.02. Claim 1 is therefore obvious.
Regarding claims 2 and 3 specifying the resistant inhibitor therapy is a BRAF or MEK inhibitor, based on the specific teaching of Morris that ERK inhibitors would be useful in such resistant cancers one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in using BVD-523 in the same manner and arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 4 the newly amended limitation: wherein substantially all phosphorylation of RSK is inhibited after administration of BVD-523 or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof is inherent to the administration of the compound and it simply expresses the intended result of a process step positively recited (see MPEP 2111.04), thus it is not given weight and is rendered obvious as with claim 1.
Regarding claims 5-7 wherein the subject is a human, Martinez-Botella and Jin describe use on humans such that one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably considered administering the compound to a human.
Regarding claim 8 wherein the cancer has MAPK activity, one of ordinary skill in the art would have considered such cancers based on the teaching of Martinez-Botella (col 3: “evidence that implicates constitutive activation of the ERK MAPK pathway in the oncogenic behavior of select cancers”) and Morris (Morris abstract: "a novel and selective inhibitor of ERK1/2 ... effectively inhibited MAPK signaling and cell proliferation in BRAF or MEK inhibitor-resistant models as well as in tumor cells resistant to concurrent treatment with BRAF and MEK inhibitors.”) and arrived at the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 9-11 wherein the cancer is a solid tumor, breast cancer, or melanoma, based on the teaching of Martinez-Botella (col 31) one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in using the compound in the same manner and arrive at the claimed invention.
Applicant’s Remarks – 35 USC 103 Rejection above
Applicant argues the Emery reference publication date.
Applicant argues that none of the cited prior art references teach the method of treatment claim as amended to comprise a process of screening a biological sample from the subject to determine whether the subject carries a double mutation of BRAFV⁶⁰⁰⁰:MEK1 Q⁵⁶, and when in the presence of the double mutation, the subject will receive an effective amount of BVD-523 or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof. Applicant’s Remarks at page 25. Applicant argues that BVD-523 is not subjected to this mechanism of acquired resistance, and points to Example 7 in the Specification for support. Applicant argues that BVD-523 in treating cancer that is refractory or resistant to non-ERK MAPK pathway inhibitor therapy in a subject carrying the disclosed double mutation is not taught by the prior art references, and is unexpected. Applicant’s Remarks at page 24-26.
Examiner’s Response
Applicant’s arguments regarding the Emery reference are acknowledged, and are found to be persuasive. The Emery reference has been withdrawn/removed from the rejection of record.
Applicant’s remaining arguments are not found to be persuasive.
Martinez-Botella teaches methods of treating cancer by administering inhibitors of ERK protein kinase, using compounds of general formula I, including the claimed and administered compound BVD-523 as I-9 (col 9 Table 1, and claim 7),
for use in treating melanoma in a patient, col 31:
.
Martinez-Botella also teaches in col. 3 that ERK is a therapeutic target for the treatment of melanoma, as ERK-activation plays a major role in the metastatic behavior of melanoma:
Although Martinez-Botella teaches the claimed BVD-523 compound in treating cancer, the reference does not expressly teach claim 1’s language of “which cancer is refractory or resistant to non-ERK MAPK pathway inhibitor therapy”.
However, the rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that "a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely that product [was] not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under § 103."KSR, 550 U.S. at 421, 82 USPQ2d at 1397.
An obvious to try rationale requires (MPEP § 2143):
(1) a finding that at the relevant time, there had been a recognized problem or need in the art, which may include a design need or market pressure to solve a problem;
Morris teaches ERK1/2 inhibitors against cancers that are BRAF or MEK inhibitor-resistant, and that there is a clear need for the clinical development of other ERK inhibitors for tumors refractory to MAPK inhibitors and provided an example (Morris’ abstract: "SCH772984, a novel and selective inhibitor of ERK1/2 ... SCH772984 effectively inhibited MAPK signaling and cell proliferation in BRAF or MEK inhibitor-resistant models as well as in tumor cells resistant to concurrent treatment with BRAF and MEK inhibitors. These data support the clinical development of ERK inhibitors for tumors refractory to MAPK inhibitors"). In Example 7 of Applicant’s Specification, SCH772984 was compared to BVD-523 when assessing IC50 across parental cells and the respective knock out cells (c.f., Specification, Table 17 at page 116).
(2) a finding that there had been a finite number of identified, predictable potential solutions to the recognized need or problem;
Martinez-Botella as discussed above, teaches the claimed BVD 523 as an ERK inhibitor used in the treatment of cancer, and discusses compounds of formula I (including BVD-523 as I-9) that are effective ERK inhibitors.
Morris teaches a finding that at the relevant time, there had been a recognized problem or need in the art for the clinical development of other ERK inhibitors for tumors refractory to MAPK inhibitors (targeting BRAF or MEK). Morris teaches SCH772984, a novel and selective inhibitor of ERK1/2 ... SCH772984 effectively inhibited MAPK signaling and cell proliferation in BRAF or MEK inhibitor-resistant models as well as in tumor cells resistant to concurrent treatment with BRAF and MEK inhibitors as an example teaching.
Based on the teachings of Martinez-Botella and Morris, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to try other selective ERK1/2 inhibitors, such as the claimed BVD-523 ERK inhibitor per Martinez-Botella teachings, against cancers that are BRAF or MEK inhibitor-resistant, similar to Morris’ teachings.
The motivation to do so is the clinical development of ERK inhibitors for tumors refractory to MAPK inhibitors per Morris’ teachings. Moreover, by carrying out this method, it would have been obvious to obtain a biological sample from the subject, screening the sample to determine whether the subject carries the respective mutations as recited in claim 1, and administering and effective amount of BVD-523 or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof; thus, arriving at the invention.
(3) a finding that one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known potential solutions with a reasonable expectation of success; and
Morris teaches in the abstract: "SCH772984, a novel and selective inhibitor of ERK1/2 ... SCH772984 effectively inhibited MAPK signaling and cell proliferation in BRAF or MEK inhibitor-resistant models as well as in tumor cells resistant to concurrent treatment with BRAF and MEK inhibitors. These data support the clinical development of ERK inhibitors for tumors refractory to MAPK inhibitors").
At the time of the invention, another ERK 1/2 selective inhibitor was discussed by Jin. Jin teaches (Jin p 5695, col 1, para 2: "ERK1/2 direct inhibitor BVD-523 was in clinical phase1/2 for advanced malignancies").
(4) whatever additional findings based on the Graham factual inquiries may be necessary, in view of the facts of the case under consideration, to explain a conclusion of obviousness.
Thus, “a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely that product [was] not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under § 103."KSR, 550 U.S. at 421, 82 USPQ2d at 1397.
Given the high level of skill in the art of cancer therapeutics, one of ordinary skill in the art would have readily consider the combined teaching of the art, and utilize Martinez-Botella’s compound in treating cancers including those resistant to BRAF inhibitor and MEK inhibitor therapy and arrive at the claimed invention in further view of Morris. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a further expectation of success because the same compound was already in clinical studies for cancer treatment as taught by Jin (Jin p 5695, col 1, para 2: "ERK1/2 direct inhibitor BVD-523 was in clinical phase1/2 for advanced malignancies").
Per the teachings discussed above, it would have therefore been prima facie obvious to try BVD-523 in view of Martinez-Botella’s, Morris’, and Jin’s teachings and arrive at the claimed invention per claim 1. One of skill in the art would have been motivated to do so, with reasonable expectation of success because, ERK inhibitors, such as the claimed BVD-523, have been shown to treat cancer as disclosed by Martinez-Botella. Morris teaches that there is a clear need to clinically identify and/or develop ERK inhibitors for tumors refractory to MAPK inhibitors, and to one of ordinary skill in the art, identify their mechanism of action. Morris also teaches success with a novel ERK 1 / 2 inhibitor "SCH772984… inhibited MAPK signaling and cell proliferation in BRAF or MEK inhibitor-resistant models as well as in tumor cells resistant to concurrent treatment with BRAF and MEK inhibitors…”, and Jin teaches (Jin p 5695, col 1, para 2) BVD-523 as an: "ERK1/2 direct inhibitor BVD-523 was in clinical phase1/2 for advanced malignancies"). Therefore, one would have been motivated to pursue ERK inhibitors such as BVD-523 for tumors refractory to MAPK inhibitors per the teachings discussed above and arrive at the claimed invention with reasonable expectation of success. Additionally, obviousness does not require absolute predictability, but a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.02.
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martinez-Botella et al. (US7354939) (“Martinez-Botella”), in view of Morris et al. (Cancer Discov., July 2013, Vol 3, No 7, pp 742-750) (“Morris”), and Jin et al. (Bioorg. Med. Chem., 15 September 2013, Vol 21, No 18, pp 5694-5706) (“Jin”), as applied above to claims 1-11, and in further view of Scheuring et al. (US PG-PUB 2009/0306020) (“Scheuring”).
Martinez-Botella’s, Morris’, and Jin’s and teachings are as applied to claims 1-11 and are discussed above. These teachings are incorporated herein by reference.
Regarding claims 12-14, further comprising an additional therapeutic agent that is an inhibitor of the PI3K/Akt pathway, Martinez-Botella teaches combination therapies (col 31-32: “chemotherapeutic agents or other anti-proliferative agents may be combined with the compounds of this invention to treat proliferative diseases and cancer.”) but does not teach the specific combinations recited.
However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably considered combinations such as those taught by Scheuring. Scheuring teaches triciribine, and that inhibitors of Pl3K/Akt pathway and inhibitors of MAPK pathway can be combined to inhibit melanoma growth (para [0007] "Blockade of Pl3K/AKT (AKT) and RAS/RAF/MEK/ERK (MAPK) signaling pathways inhibits invasive melanoma growth in human dermal reconstructs") and further teaches cytotoxic agents that inhibit the P13K/Akt pathway (para [0007] "Pl3K inhibitor wortmannin"; para [0021] "preference is given to an Aki-kinase inhibitor ... triciribine").
Based on the combined teachings, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in combining BVD-523 with a second therapeutic such as triciribine, and arrive at the claimed invention.
Applicant’s Remarks/Examiner’s Response – 35 USC 103 Rejection above
Applicant argues similarly as with the rejection over Martinez-Botella, Morris, and Jin and is not persuasive for the same reason (Applicant’s Remarks at page 26). As discussed above, the Emery reference is withdrawn. However, the teachings of the other cited prior arts remain, and is applied and discussed above. The same rationale applied above, is applied here. The rejection is maintained.
Modified Non-Statutory Double Patenting Rejections
Claims 1-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-33 of U.S. Patent No. 11,007,184 in view of Martinez-Botella et al. (US 7,354,939), Morris et al. (Cancer Discov., July 2013, Vol 3, No 7, pp 742-750), Jin et al. (Bioorg Med Chem., 15 September 2013, Vol 21, No 18, pp 5694-5706), and Scheuring et al. (US 20090306020) (“Scheuring”).
The patent claims a method of treating cancer using BVD-523 such that one of ordinary skill in the art would have considered using the same compound and arrive at the instantly claimed invention for the same reasoning as detailed in the 35 USC 103 rejections supra and incorporated herein.
Claims 1-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-22 of U.S. Patent No. 11,007,183 in view of Martinez-Botella et al. (USPN 7,354,939), Morris et al. (Cancer Discov., July 2013, Vol 3, No 7, pp 742-750), Jin et al. (Bioorg Med Chem., 15 September 2013, Vol 21, No 18, pp 5694-5706), and Scheuring et al. (US 20090306020) (“Scheuring”).
The patent claims a method of treating cancer using BVD-523 such that one of ordinary skill in the art would have considered using the same compound and arrive at the instantly claimed invention for the same reasoning as detailed in the 35 USC 103 rejections supra and incorporated herein.
Claims 1-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-33 of U.S. Patent No. 11,013,743 in view of Martinez-Botella et al. (USPN 7,354,939), Morris et al. (Cancer Discov., July 2013, Vol 3, No 7, pp 742-750), Jin et al. (Bioorg Med Chem., 15 September 2013, Vol 21, No 18, pp 5694-5706), and Scheuring et al. (US PG-PUB 2009/0306020) (“Scheuring”).
The patent claims a method of treating cancer using BVD-523 such that one of ordinary skill in the art would have considered using the same compound and arrive at the instantly claimed invention for the same reasoning as detailed in the 35 USC 103 rejections supra and incorporated herein.
Claims 1-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-22 of U.S. Patent No. 11,135,225 in view of Martinez-Botella et al. (USPN 7,354,939), Morris et al. (Cancer Discov., July 2013, Vol 3, No 7, pp 742-750), Jin et al. (Bioorg Med Chem., 15 September 2013, Vol 21, No 18, pp 5694-5706), and Scheuring et al. (US PG-PUB 2009/0306020) (“Scheuring”).
The patent claims a composition useful in a method of treating cancer comprising BVD-523 such that one of ordinary skill in the art would have considered using the same compound and arrive at the instantly claimed invention for the same reasoning as detailed in the 35 USC 103 rejections supra and incorporated herein.
Claims 1-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-27 of U.S. Patent No. 10,668,055 in view of Martinez-Botella et al. (US7354939), Morris et al. (Cancer Discov., July 2013, Vol 3, No 7, pp 742-750), Jin et al. (Bioorg Med Chem., 15 September 2013, Vol 21, No 18, pp 5694-5706), and Scheuring et al. (US 20090306020) (“Scheuring”).
The patent claims a method of treating cancer using BVD-523 such that one of ordinary skill in the art would have considered using the same compound and arrive at the instantly claimed invention for the same reasoning as detailed in the 35 USC 103 rejections supra and incorporated herein.
Claims 1-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 10,881,646 in view of Martinez-Botella et al. (USPN 7,354,939), Morris et al. (Cancer Discov., July 2013, Vol 3, No 7, pp 742-750), Jin et al. (Bioorg Med Chem., 15 September 2013, Vol 21, No 18, pp 5694-5706), and Scheuring et al. (US PG-PUB 2009/0306020) (“Scheuring”).
The patent claims a method of treating cancer using BVD-523 such that one of ordinary skill in the art would have considered using the same compound and arrive at the instantly claimed invention for the same reasoning as detailed in the 35 USC 103 rejections supra and incorporated herein.
Response to Double Patenting Rejections above
Applicant states that terminal disclaimers will be considered upon indication of allowance. The rejections are maintained.
Conclusion
Claims 1-14 are rejected. Claims 29-96 are withdrawn from consideration. No claims are allowed.
/C A/Examiner, Art Unit 1622 May 12, 2026
/JAMES H ALSTRUM-ACEVEDO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1622