DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1-21 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (WO 2017/083489 A1, hereinafter “Lee”).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Lee teaches a method in a User Equipment (UE) for wireless communication (figs. 1A, 1B ), comprising: receiving a second radio signal comprising second information particular to the second radio signal (fig. 12, the control data B1 (second radio signal). where the control data B1 comprises control information. ¶ [0149]-¶ [0152], ¶ [0167]); receiving a first radio signal comprises first information particular to the first radio signal; wherein the first radio signal is transmitted within a first time unit (figs. 10, 12, ¶ [0167], two transport blocks 1201 and 1202 are transmitted (multiplexed in a TDM fashion within a single TTI. Where the transport blocks TB1 and TB2 (first radio signal) comprise data information. ¶ [0110], ¶ [0155], ¶ [0160], ¶ [0167], ¶ [0169], ¶ [0171]), a first bit block is used for generating the first radio signal (¶ [0110], a MAC PDU (first bit block) is used to generate transport blocks TB1 and TB2 (first radio signal). A physical downlink data channel may carry payload information in the form of MAC PDU from the MAC layer, and resource allocation of this channel may be carried in the scheduling information in the physical downlink control channel ¶ [0224]-¶ [0230]. Figs. 13, 14), and the first radio signal comprises G multicarrier symbols (fig. 2, ¶ [0095], in FIG. 2, a frame 202 includes 10 sub-frames, each sub-frame includes 10 slots, and each slot includes 24 symbols.); the second radio signal is transmitted within the first time unit, and the second radio signal is used for determining a time-domain resource occupied by any one given multicarrier symbol of the G multicarrier symbols (fig. 10, ¶ [0154] and ¶ [0155]. Fig. 12, The control data B1 (second radio signal) is used for determining a time-domain resource occupied by transport blocks TB1 and TB2 (first radio signal). Where the first signal comprises G multicarrier symbols. ¶ [0095], ¶ [0167], two transport blocks 1201 and 1202 transmitted (multiplexed) in a TDM fashion within a single TTI (e.g., TTI1). ¶ [0109], ¶ [0148], ¶ [0164]); as for the any one given multicarrier symbol of the G multicarrier symbols, a multi-antenna related receiving for the given multicarrier symbol is determined based on a position of a time-domain resource occupied by the given multicarrier symbol, wherein the position is specified relative to a first time point in time domain; based on a position of the given multicarrier symbol relative to the first time in time domain (figs. 4, 12, ¶ [0055], multiple antennas, ¶ [0147]-¶ [0150], ¶ [0261], ¶ [0262]); when the given multicarrier symbol is positioned before the first time point in time domain, a first multi-antenna receiving mode is employed for the multi-antenna related receiving of the given multicarrier symbol (fig. 12, a beam switch occurs at a time between transport block TB1 and TB2 (first time point). Where transport block 1201 uses a wide beam. ¶ [0011], ¶ [0147]-¶ [0161], ¶ [0171], ¶ [0258], ¶ [0261], ¶ [0147], ¶ [0262], figs. 19 and 20); when the given multicarrier symbol is positioned behind the first time point in time domain, a second multi-antenna receiving mode is employed for the multi-antenna related receiving of the given multicarrier symbol; and the first multi-antenna receiving mode differs from the second multi- antenna receiving mode; the first time point is one time point within the first time unit; and G is a positive integer (fig. 12, a beam switch occurs at a time between transport block TB1 and TB2 (first time point). Where transport block 1202 (after first time point uses a narrow beam). ¶ [0011], ¶ [0147]-¶ [0061], ¶ [0171], ¶ [0258], ¶ [0261], ¶ [0262], figs. 19 and 20) and receiving third information, wherein the third information is used for determining a candidate scheme for the multi-antenna related receiving corresponding to the G multicarrier symbols; the candidate scheme for the multi-antenna related receiving corresponding to the G multicarrier symbols includes the first multi-antenna receiving mode and the second multi- antenna receiving mode (fig. 12. The control data B1 may include scheduling information and time/frequency information associated with transport blocks TB1 and TB2. ¶ [0166]- ¶ [0168]. Transmission scheme (third information) that can be received with different beams. ¶ [0169], ¶ [0157], ¶ [0149], The DCI in the control channel may carry one or more of following parameters for the transmission scheme using explicit beam association: HARQ process number, transport block information, antenna configuration, downlink assignment index and/or power control indicator).
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Lee teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the G multicarrier symbols are all before the first time point in time domain, and the multi-antenna related receiving for the G multicarrier symbols is the same; or, the G multicarrier symbols are all behind the first time point in time domain, and the multi-antenna related receiving for the G multicarrier symbols is the same; or, G1 multicarrier symbols of the G multicarrier symbols are before the first time point in time domain, G2 multicarrier symbols of the G multicarrier symbols are behind the first time point in time domain, the multi-antenna related receiving for the G1 multicarrier symbols is the same, the multi-antenna related receiving for the G2 multicarrier symbols is the same, the mullti-antenna related receiving for the G1 multicarrier symbols and the multi-antenna related receiving for the G2 multicarrier symbols are different; G1 and G2 are positive integers (fig. 12).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Lee teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein when the time-domain resource occupied by the given multicarrier symbol is behind the first time point, the second radio signal is used for determining the multi-antenna related receiving for the given multicarrier symbol (fig. 12, transport block 1201 uses a wide beam and transport block 1202 uses a different (narrow) beam. Lee discloses the control data B1 (second radio signal) is used for determining the multi-antenna related receiving for the given multicarrier symbol in the TB2. ¶ [0167], the narrow beam ID may need to be signaled in the control region of the TTI, ¶ [0155], fig. 10, ¶ [0259]); or, when the time-domain resource occupied by the given multicarrier symbol is before the first time point, the multi-antenna related receiving for the given multicarrier symbol is related to the multi-antenna related receiving for the second radio signal (fig. 12, transport block 1201 uses a wide beam and transport block 1202 uses a different (narrow) beam. ¶ [0167], ¶ [0155], fig. 10, ¶ [0259]).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Lee teaches the method according to claim 1, comprising: receiving first information, wherein the first information is used for determining the first time point (fig. 12. The control data B1 may include scheduling information and time/frequency information associated with transport blocks TB1 and TB2. ¶ [0167], ¶ [0168]. The beam ID for TB2 may be signaled in a DCI transmitted in control data B1 that is associated with TB2. ¶ [0169], ¶ [0157]).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Lee teaches the method according to claim 1 comprising: transmitting second information; wherein the second information is used for determining the first time point (¶ [0144], the WTRU indicates the receiver beamforming capability to the base station. ¶ [0159], ¶ [0196], ¶ [0144]).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Lee teaches a method in a base station device for wireless communication, comprising: transmitting a second radio signal comprising second information particular to the second radio signal (fig. 12, the control data B1 (second radio signal). where the control data B1 comprises control information. ¶ [0149]-¶ [0152], ¶ [0167]); transmitting a first radio signal comprising first information particular to the first radio signal; wherein the first radio signal is transmitted within a first time unit (figs. 10, 12, ¶ [0167], two transport blocks 1201 and 1202 are transmitted (multiplexed in a TDM fashion within a single TTI. Where the transport blocks TB1 and TB2 (first radio signal) comprise data information. ¶ [0110], ¶ [0155], ¶ [0160], ¶ [0167], ¶ [0169], ¶ [0171]), a first bit block is used for generating the first radio signal (¶ [0110], a MAC PDU (first bit block) is used to generate transport blocks TB1 and TB2 (first radio signal). A physical downlink date channel may carry payload information in the form of MAC PDU from the MAC layer, and resource allocation of this channel may be carried in the scheduling information in the physical downlink control channel ¶ [0224]-¶ [0230]. Figs. 13, 14), and the first radio signal comprises G multicarrier symbols (fig. 2, ¶ [0095]); the second radio signal is transmitted within the first time unit, and the second radio signal is used for determining a time-domain resource occupied by any one given multicarrier symbol of the G multicarrier symbols (fig. 10, ¶ [0154] and ¶ [0155]. Fig. 12, The control data B1 (second radio signal) is used for determining a time-domain resource occupied by transport blocks TB1 and TB2 (first radio signal). Where the first signal comprises G multicarrier symbols. ¶ [0095], ¶ [0167], two transport blocks 1201 and 1202 transmitted (multiplexed) in a TDM fashion within a single TTI (e.g., TTI1). ¶ [0109], ¶ [0148], ¶ [0164]) as for the any one given multicarrier symbol of the G multicarrier symbols, a multi-antenna related receiving for the given multicarrier symbol is determined based on a position of a time-domain resource occupied by the given multicarrier symbol (figs. 4, 12, ¶ [0055], multiple antennas, ¶ [0147]-¶ [0150], ¶ [0261], ¶ [0262]); wherein the position is specified relative to a first time point in time domain; based on the position of the given multicarrier symbol relative to the first time in time domain, when the given multicarrier symbol is positioned before the first time point in time domain, a first multi-antenna receiving mode is employed for the multi-antenna related receiving of the given multicarrier symbol (fig. 12, a beam switch occurs at a time between transport block TB1 and TB2 (first time point). Where transport block 1201 (before first time point) uses a wide beam. ¶ [0011], ¶ [0147]-¶ [0161], ¶ [0171], ¶ [0258], ¶ [0261], ¶ [0262], figs. 19 and 20)); when the given multicarrier symbol is positioned behind the first time point in time domain, a second multi-antenna receiving mode is employed for the multi-antenna related receiving of the given multicarrier symbol; and the first multi-antenna receiving mode differs from the second multi- antenna receiving mode; the first time point is one time point within the first time unit; and G is a positive integer (fig. 12, a beam switch occurs at a time between transport block TB1 and TB2 (first time point). Where transport block 1202 (after first time point) uses a narrow beam. ¶ [0011], ¶ [0147]-¶ [0061], ¶ [0171], ¶ [0258], ¶ [0261], ¶ [0262], figs. 19 and 20) and transmitting third information, wherein the third information is used for determining a candidate scheme for the multi-antenna related receiving corresponding to the G multicarrier symbols; the candidate scheme for the multi-antenna related receiving corresponding to the G multicarrier symbols includes the first multi-antenna receiving mode and the second multi- antenna receiving mode (fig. 12. The control data B1 may include scheduling information and time/frequency information associated with transport blocks TB1 and TB2. ¶ [0166]- ¶ [0168]. Transmission scheme (third information) that can be received with different beams. ¶ [0169], ¶ [0157], ¶ [0149], The DCI in the control channel may carry one or more of following parameters for the transmission scheme using explicit beam association: HARQ process number, transport block information, antenna configuration, downlink assignment index and/or power control indicator).
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Lee teaches the method according to claim 6, wherein the G multicarrier symbols are all before the first time point in time domain, and the multi-antenna related receiving for the G multicarrier symbols is the same; or, the G multicarrier symbols are all behind the first time point in time domain, and the multi-antenna related receiving for the G multicarrier symbols is the same; or, G1 multicarrier symbols of the G multicarrier symbols are before the first time point in time domain, G2 multicarrier symbols of the G multicarrier symbols are behind the first time point in time domain, the multi-antenna related receiving for the G1 multicarrier symbols is the same, the multi-antenna related receiving for the G2 multicarrier symbols is the same, the mullti- antenna related receiving for the G1 multicarrier symbols and the multi-antenna related receiving for the G2 multicarrier symbols are different; G1 and G2 are positive integers (fig. 12).
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Lee teaches the method according to claim 6, wherein if the time-domain resource occupied by the given multicarrier symbol is behind the first time point, the second radio signal is used for determining the multi-antenna related receiving for the given multicarrier symbol (fig. 12, transport block 1201 uses a wide beam and transport block 1202 uses a different (narrow) beam. Lee discloses the control data B1 (second radio signal) is used for determining the multi-antenna related receiving for the given multicarrier symbol in the TB2. ¶ [0167], the narrow beam ID may need to be signaled in the control region of the TTI, ¶ [0155], fig. 10, ¶ [0259]); or, if the time-domain resource occupied by the given multicarrier symbol is before the first time point, the multi-antenna related receiving for the given multicarrier symbol is related to the multi-antenna related receiving for the second radio signal (fig. 12, transport block 1201 uses a wide beam and transport block 1202 uses a different (narrow) beam. ¶ [0167], ¶ [0155], fig. 10, ¶ [0259]).
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Lee teaches the method according to claim 6, comprising: transmitting first information, wherein the first information is used for determining the first time point (Lee: fig. 12. The control data B1 may include scheduling information and time/frequency information associated with transport blocks TB1 and TB2. ¶ [0167], ¶ [0168]. The beam ID for TB2 may be signaled in a DCI transmitted in control data B1 that is associated with TB2. ¶ [0169], ¶ [0157]).
Regarding claims 10 and 20, Lee teaches the method according to claim 6, comprising: receiving second information; wherein the second information is used for determining the first time point (¶ [0144], the WTRU indicates the receiver beamforming capability to the base station. ¶ [0159], ¶ [0196], ¶ [0144]).
Regarding claim 21, Lee teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the first multi-antenna receiving mode and the second multi-antenna receiving mode use different analog beams to receive, respectively (fig. 12, ¶ [0167]).
Regarding claim 25, Lee teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein second multi-antenna receiving mode uses a beam narrower than that
of the first multi-antenna receiving mode (fig. 12, ¶ [0167).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 22 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of in view of Su (US 2018/0006784 A1).
Regarding claim 22, Lee teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the second multi-antenna receiving mode uses a different beam than that of the first multi-antenna receiving mode (e.g., fig. 12).
Lee does not explicitly teach wherein the first multi-antenna receiving
mode and the second multi-antenna receiving mode use different transmitting antenna ports to transmit, respectively.
However, it is well known in the art that the different antenna ports are used to transmit different beams, as evidenced by ¶ [0008] and ¶ [0009] of Su.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to use different transmitting antenna ports to transmit the first multi-antenna receiving mode and the second multi-antenna receiving mode in the system of Lee to utilize convention techniques in the art.
Regarding claim 26, Lee teaches the method according to claim 1.
Lee does not explicitly teach wherein the multi-antenna related receiving refers to a transmitting antenna port.
Su teaches transmitting, by a base station, signals formed by wide beam through a first antenna port and transmitting signals formed by the narrow beam through a second antenna port (¶ [0008] and ¶ [0009]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to utilize a transmitting antenna port as the multi-antenna related receiving in the system of Lee. The motivation for doing this is a matter of design choice.
8. Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of in view of Braun et al. (US 2016/0323757 A1, hereinafter “Braun”).
Regarding claim 23, Lee teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the second multi-antenna receiving mode uses a different beam than that of the first multi-antenna receiving mode (e.g., fig. 12).
Lee does not explicitly teach wherein an antenna receiving gain corresponding to the second multi-antenna receiving mode is greater than the antenna receiving gain corresponding to the first multi-antenna receiving mode.
Braun teaches different beams may provide different antenna gains (¶ [0043], the second beam pattern 18 may provide a higher antenna or BF gain than the first antenna pattern 16, and that the second beam pattern 18 may be narrower than the first beam pattern 16).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to use beam with a greater antenna receiving gain
corresponding to the second multi-antenna receiving mode than the antenna receiving gain corresponding to the first multi-antenna receiving mode in the system of Lee. The motivation for doing this is a matter of design choice.
9. Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Hunukumbure et al. (US 2020/0045653 A1, hereinafter “Hunukumbure”).
Regarding claim 24, Lee teaches the method according to claim 1.
Lee does not explicitly teach wherein a transmission reliability corresponding to the first multi-antenna receiving mode is greater than the transmission reliability corresponding to the second multi-antenna receiving mode.
However, Lee teaches wherein the second multi-antenna receiving mode uses a different beam than that of the first multi-antenna receiving mode (e.g., fig. 12).
Further, it is well known in the art that a reliability corresponding to the narrow beam is greater than the reliability corresponding to the wide beam ( ¶ [0119]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to utilize a greater transmission reliability corresponding to the narrow beam receiving mode than the transmission reliability corresponding to the wide beam receiving mode in the system of Lee to utilize conventional techniques in the art.
Response to Arguments
10. Applicant’s arguments filed on December 2, 2025 have been considered but they are not persuasive.
11. Applicant argues “…Contrary to the assertions made by the Office action, the above relied-upon portions of Lee merely state that “[t]he beam information for the control channel and/or the associated data channel may be determined based on the search space of the control channel.” See Lee at paragraph 0147. The relied-upon portions of Lee do not identically disclose as for the any one given multicarrier symbol of the G multicarrier symbols, a multi-antenna related receiving for the given multicarrier symbol is determined based on a position of a time-domain resource occupied by the given multicarrier symbol, wherein the position is specified relative to a first time point in time domain recited in claim 1. Indeed, Lee does not disclose a determination “based on a position of a time-domain resource occupied by the given multicarrier symbol” required by claim 1 because Lee makes it clear that it is “determined based on the search space of the control channel…”
Examiner respectfully disagrees and submits that Lee teaches the first radio signal comprises G multicarrier symbols (fig. 2, ¶ [0095], in FIG. 2, a frame 202 includes 10 sub-frames, each sub-frame includes 10 slots, and each slot includes 24 symbols); the second radio signal is transmitted within the first time unit, and the second radio signal is used for determining a time-domain resource occupied by any one given multicarrier symbol of the G multicarrier symbols (fig. 10, ¶ [0095], ¶ [0154] and ¶ [0155]. Fig. 12, The control data B1 (second radio signal) is used for determining a time-domain resource occupied by transport blocks TB1 and TB2 (first radio signal). Where the first signal comprises G multicarrier symbols. ¶ [0095], ¶ [0167], two transport blocks 1201 and 1202 transmitted (multiplexed) in a TDM fashion within a single TTI (e.g., TTI1). ¶ [0109], ¶ [0147]-¶ [0150], ¶ [0164], ¶ [0261], ¶ [0262]); as for the any one given multicarrier symbol of the G multicarrier symbols, a multi-antenna related receiving for the given multicarrier symbol is determined based on a position of a time-domain resource occupied by the given multicarrier symbol (figs. 4, 12, ¶ [0055], multiple antennas, ¶ [0147]-¶ [0161], ¶ [0261], ¶ [0262]);, wherein the position is specified relative to a first time point in time domain; based on the position of the given multicarrier symbol relative to the first time in time domain when the given multicarrier symbol is positioned before the first time point in time domain, a first multi-antenna receiving mode is employed for the multi-antenna related receiving of the given multicarrier symbol (fig. 12, a beam switch occurs at a time between transport block TB1 and TB2 (first time point). Where transport block 1201 (before the first time point) uses a wide beam. ¶ [0011], ¶ [0171], ¶ [0147], The beam may be changed semi-statically and the beam information may be transparent to a WTRU. The beam information for the control channel and/or the associated data channel may be indicated via higher layer signaling. The beam may be changed dynamically without beam indication in the downlink control channel. The beam information for the control channel and/or the associated data channel may be determined based on the search space of the control channel. ¶ [0148], The transmit beam used for the data channel may be explicitly indicated from the corresponding control channel. ¶ [0149], As the transmit node dynamically switches from a wide to a narrow beam within a TTI, the receive node may need to also steer its receive beam to ensure that it can receive the narrow Tx beam correctly from the transmitter (e.g., mB). That is, the receiver configures its receive beam to be aligned with the narrow transmit beam. The DCI in the control channel may carry one or more of following parameters for the transmission scheme using explicit beam association: HARQ process number, transport block information, antenna configuration (as needed), downlink assignment index (DAI), and/or power control indicator. indicator. ¶ [0150]-¶ [0157], ¶ [0258], ¶ [0261], ¶ [0262], figs. 19 and 20)); when the given multicarrier symbol is positioned behind the first time point in time domain, a second multi-antenna receiving mode is employed for the multi-antenna related receiving of the given multicarrier symbol; and the first multi-antenna receiving mode differs from the second multi- antenna receiving mode; the first time point is one time point within the first time unit; and G is a positive integer (fig. 12, a beam switch occurs at a time between transport block TB1 and TB2 (first time point). Where transport block 1202 (after first time point) uses a narrow beam. ¶ [0011], ¶ [0171], ¶ [0258], ¶ [0261], ¶ [0262], figs. 19 and 20).
Therefore, claims 1, 6, 11 and 16 are anticipated by Lee, as set forth above.
Conclusion
12. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
13. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MANDISH RANDHAWA whose telephone number is (571)270-5650. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Thursday (9 AM-7 PM). Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/MANDISH K RANDHAWA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477