DETAILED ACTION
Claims 18 and 20-25 are pending and under examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 18, 21, and 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Marshall et al. (US 2008/0142183), hereinafter Marshall.
Regarding claims 18, 21, and 25, Marshall discloses a dental ceramics production device comprising: (a) a CAD/CAM device for providing a pressing mold for manufacturing a dental ceramics (par. 0051-0055 describe the computer and the functionalities as to make a ‘sprue former’ which is equivalent to the “pressing mold for manufacturing a dental ceramics”); (b) a CAD software module executed by the CAD/CAM device above that is configured to:
(i) determine the shape of a dental restoration, based on a scanning result of a mouth of a patient (par. 0005, 0064); (ii) determine the configuration of the dental restoration using an ‘expendable muffle’ which is known in the art as a dental furnace; however, this claim is directed at the design so it is interpreted as a “virtual muffle” (par. 0075; compare Applicant’s Fig. 3 showing “muffle arbor” 18 and reference Fig. 25 showing a similar base); (iii) determine the arrangement of an angle and dimensions of a conveyor channel between a central pressing channel and a cavity for shaping the dental restoration inside a virtual inside space within the muffle (Figs. 27-28, and additionally is wider at the outside than at the inside as in claim 21 as shown in Fig. 25) where the conveyor channel extends at an “angle of 0 degrees” away from an axis of a pressing channel (Fig. 26 – D1 represents both of the conveyor channel and the pressing channel – shown attached in Figs. 24-25); (iv) determine a work angle (represented by the angle between D1/D2 and D1/D3 in Figs. 27-28) of the dental restoration in relation to a conveyor channel axis of the associated conveyor channel, with a docking site positioned at the thickest portion of the dental restoration (Fig. 26 shows D1 at the thickest portion of the restoration and has its largest possible length, as shown in Fig. 25; par. 0098-0101), such that the conveyor channel axis extends through the thickest portion of the dental restoration (Figs. 24-25 and 26-28); and based on a pre-set library of shapes of dental restorations (par. 0052) as in claim 25.
Marshall further discloses that the docking site has a ball (2318) of a diameter suitable to fit within the restoration (at 2352) (Fig. 25, par. 0101), with the conveyor channel axis extends essentially through the center of the ball as illustrated in Fig. 25-26, par. 0098-0101).
Regarding claims 23-24, Marshall discloses the subject matter of claim 18 as discussed above, and further discloses using an a layerwise manufacturing step, thus meeting this limitation, and would be capable of using the CAD system above to produce a dental restoration having any slope of an “envelope curve” (Marshall above, par. 0076 discusses the layerwise manufacturing, suitable as stereolithography) defining the outside of each of the restorations.
Claim 24 is an intended use as the claim recites “uses” – and is an apparatus/device claim and as such, this is not considered limiting. See MPEP 2114 where this is further discussed. The device as disclosed by Marshall above would have been capable of performing this step, without modification. Additionally or alternatively, please see below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 20 and 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marshall (US 2008/0142183) as applied to claim 18 above, and in view of Marshall et al. (US 2009/0148816), hereinafter Marshall (‘816).
Regarding claims 20 and 22-24, Marshall discloses the subject matter of claim 18 as discussed above, and further discloses using an STL file (stereolithography) thus meeting this limitation, and would be capable of using the CAD system above to produce a dental restoration having any slope of an “envelope curve”. Claim 24 is an intended use as the claim recites “uses” – and is an apparatus/device claim and as such, this is not considered limiting. See MPEP 2114 where this is further discussed. The device as disclosed by Marshall above would have been capable of performing this step as in claims 23-24 above, without modification.
However, it could be viewed that Marshall does not explicitly disclose the limitations of claims 23-24 above, and Marshall does not explicitly disclose the limitations of claims 20 and 22 (claims 20 and 22 are not included in the alternative viewpoint above).
However, Marshall (‘816) discloses a similar mode of designing a dental restoration using a CAD/CAM device. Marshall (‘816) provides more information as to how to design the device using a computer, and discloses modification of the envelope (Marshall (‘816), par. 0095 describes the margin curve (315) which is interpreted as equivalent to envelope curve defining the bounds of the restoration) and further discloses using a stereolithography mode to produce such an object (par. 0188-0204 describe the features which include similar features to claims 20, 23, and 24 with respect to designing the restoration and the curves defining the outer bounds thereof), with a design as to keep each dental restoration apart from one another in an arrangement. Furthermore, Marshall (‘816) discloses as in claim 22, placing a code or identification (Fig. 26) (‘816, par. 0154) onto a restoration as designed.
Marshall (above) discloses a “base” device upon which Marshall (‘816) can be viewed as an “improvement” in the same way as in the claimed invention in that it further describes how the processor produces the restoration in the design mode. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success from having incorporated the above techniques of Marshall (‘816) into the “base” device of Marshall (above) as to produce a dental restoration. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the above to specify that the dental restoration is produced and designed in the manner as described in the claim as described above from Marshall (‘816) using the processor of Marshall (‘183) above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/10/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Marshall does not show the ball interfacing with a restoration as required in the claim.
However, Marshall, par. 0099 explains that “a casting pattern 2350” is positioned on “a first interface member 2316.” The “first interface member 2316” is further explained to be “spherical” (or a “ball” in shape) (par. 0099). A “casting pattern” represents the dental restoration and the second interface member connects the first interface member with the restoration or casting pattern in this drawing.
The claim limitations are given their BRI in view of the specification as a whole. Examiner submits that “a ball with the largest possible diameter fits into the dental restoration” is not illustrated in the specification, and so the “spherical” ball at the docking site as shown in Marshall would be considered to read upon this limitation, as it would “fit into the dental restoration” at this second interface member. See Marshall, Figs. 21-22 which show an enlarged version of what appears to be a crown (restoration) with its connected interface member. The claim does not preclude such an arrangement and does not describe this limitation in terms to interpret such as narrowly as Applicant argues. As such, the rejections are maintained as outlined above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Elnajjar (US 2014/0231615) appears to show every element of Instant Fig. 5.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW D GRAHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742