DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In the amendment filed October 17th, 2025, the following has occurred claims 23-28, 33, and 36-41 have been amended; claims 23-42 remain pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 23-27, 29-31, 33, 35-40, and 42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bramoulle et al. (US 20180343051 A1, “Bramoulle”) in view of Pan et al. (US 11317204 B2, “Pan”).
Regarding claim 23, Bramoulle discloses In an aircraft flight deck that defines an acoustic space enclosing air molecules and having a first pilot seating location for a first pilot and a second pilot seating location for a second pilot, and that includes an avionics communication system that produces communication audio signals consisting essentially of frequencies audible to human hearing, a pilot communication system comprising (Fig. 5, (35a) and (35b) illustrate multiple communication terminals located in multiple locations in a cockpit which are configured to emit sound waves through audio device (32) in a direction equivalent to a first and second pilot seating location)([0029], communication terminal 35a may be used by a pilot in the cockpit while communication terminal 35b may be used by the copilot)([0023] communication terminal 35 comprises an audio device 32) : the first [loudspeaker] disposed on the aircraft flight proximate a center of the aircraft flight deck and directed to emit the first [sound wave] directed in a first direction, where the first direction extends from the first [loudspeaker] outwardly towards the first pilot location and intersects a first cockpit surface; the second [loudspeaker] disposed on the aircraft flight proximate a center of the aircraft flight deck and directed to emit the second [sound wave] directed in a second direction, where the second direction extends from the second [loudspeaker] outwardly towards the second pilot location and intersects a second cockpit surface; (Fig. 5, (35a) and (35b) illustrate multiple communication terminals located in multiple locations in a cockpit which are configured to emit sound waves through audio device (32) in a direction equivalent to a first and second pilot seating location)([0029], communication terminal 35a may be used by a pilot in the cockpit while communication terminal 35b may be used by the copilot)([0023] communication terminal 35 comprises an audio device 32) (Fig. 6 illustrates communication terminals 35a and 35b being positioned proximate a center of the aircraft flight deck)(It is the examiner’s interpretation that the audio devices associated with communication terminals 35a and 35b would implicitly direct soundwaves in a direction that intersects with one of the listed cockpit surfaces)
Bramoulle may not explicitly teach a modulator circuit coupled to receive a first communication audio signal and a second communication audio signal; the modulator circuit coupled to and supplying to a first acoustic transducer array an electrical signal that causes the first acoustic transducer array to produce a first ultrasonic carrier wave modulated to carry the first communication audio signal to define a first modulated ultrasonic carrier wave, such that the first modulated ultrasonic carrier wave carries the first communication audio signal, the first ultrasonic carrier wave having an ultrasonic carrier frequency above human audibility with an associated ultrasonic carrier wavelength; the modulator circuit coupled to and supplying to a second acoustic transducer array an electrical signal that causes the second acoustic transducer array to produce a second ultrasonic carrier wave modulated to carry the second communication audio signal to define a second modulated ultrasonic carrier wave, such that the second modulated ultrasonic carrier wave carries the second communication audio signal, the second ultrasonic carrier wave having an ultrasonic carrier frequency above human audibility with an associated ultrasonic carrier wavelength; configured to emit the first modulated ultrasonic carrier wave as a first ultrasonic beam; configured to emit the second modulated ultrasonic carrier wave as a ultrasonic second beam, the second acoustic transducer array comprising a second plurality of ultrasonic transducer elements arranged in a second spaced-apart array; the first modulated ultrasonic carrier wave being demodulated naturally by traversal through air molecules between the first acoustic transducer array and the first pilot seating location, thus rendering the first communication audio signal audible by human hearing at the first pilot seating location; and the second modulated ultrasonic carrier wave being demodulated naturally by traversal through air molecules between the second acoustic transducer array and the second pilot seating location, thus rendering the second communication audio signal audible by human hearing at the second pilot seating location.
Pan teaches a modulator circuit coupled to receive a first communication audio signal and a second communication audio signal; the modulator circuit coupled to and supplying to a first acoustic transducer array an electrical signal that causes the first acoustic transducer array to produce a first ultrasonic carrier wave modulated to carry the first communication audio signal to define a first modulated ultrasonic carrier wave, such that the first modulated ultrasonic carrier wave carries the first communication audio signal, the first ultrasonic carrier wave having an ultrasonic carrier frequency above human audibility with an associated ultrasonic carrier wavelength ([Column 3, Lines 14-17] Teaches a phase array in accordance with aspects described herein may include multiple columns of ultrasonic speakers (e.g., transducers) that can emit ultrasonic carrier signals modulated by an acoustic or audio signal); the modulator circuit coupled to and supplying to a second acoustic transducer array an electrical signal that causes the second acoustic transducer array to produce a second ultrasonic carrier wave modulated to carry the second communication audio signal to define a second modulated ultrasonic carrier wave, such that the second modulated ultrasonic carrier wave carries the second communication audio signal, the second ultrasonic carrier wave having an ultrasonic carrier frequency above human audibility with an associated ultrasonic carrier wavelength([Column 3, Lines 14-17] Teaches a phase array in accordance with aspects described herein may include multiple columns of ultrasonic speakers (e.g., transducers) that can emit ultrasonic carrier signals modulated by an acoustic or audio signal)(it is the examiner’s interpretation that combining the pilot communication system and communication terminals of Bramoulle with the acoustic transducer array of Pan yields the claim limitation) the first acoustic transducer array comprising a first plurality of ultrasonic transducer elements arranged in a first spaced-apart array (Fig. 1 (104)) configured to emit the first modulated ultrasonic carrier wave as a first ultrasonic beam; configured to emit the second modulated ultrasonic carrier wave as a ultrasonic second beam ([Column 3, Lines 14-17] Teaches a phase array in accordance with aspects described herein may include multiple columns of ultrasonic speakers (e.g., transducers) that can emit ultrasonic carrier signals modulated by an acoustic or audio signal)([column 8, lines 23-27], directed sound may be configured such that it is less audible outside of an area designated to receive the sound. Shape of the directed sound may be such that the volume for the directed sound is focused or localized)(it is the examiner’s interpretation that combining the pilot communication system and communication terminals of Bramoulle with the acoustic transducer array of Pan yields the claim limitation of a first and second ultrasonic carrier wave as a first and second beam)(it is the examiner’s interpretation that shaping the sound to be focused or localized to only be heard in a particular area is equivalent to the beam being); the second acoustic transducer array comprising a second plurality of ultrasonic transducer elements arranged in a second spaced-apart array (Fig. 1 (104))(it is the examiner’s interpretation that combining the communication terminal and associated audio device of Bramoulle with the acoustic transducer array of Pan yields a second spaced apart ultrasonic transducer array); the first modulated ultrasonic carrier wave being demodulated naturally by traversal through air molecules between the first acoustic transducer array and the first pilot seating location, thus rendering the first communication audio signal audible by human hearing at the first pilot seating location; and the second modulated ultrasonic carrier wave being demodulated naturally by traversal through air molecules between the second acoustic transducer array and the second pilot seating location, thus rendering the second communication audio signal audible by human hearing at the second pilot seating location. ([Column 5, Lines 4-8] Teaches phase array 104 or a related system (e.g., system 100 or 200) may use the nonlinear nature of the sound propagation medium (e.g., air 404) to produce audio signals audible to humans (e.g., signals between about 20 Hz and about 20 kHz) from a high frequency carrier signal)(it is the examiner’s interpretation that the combination of the communication terminals and associated acoustic devices of Bramoulle with the acoustic transducer array of Pan would yield first and second communication signals being demodulated naturally by traversal of air molecules between the first and second transducer arrays and the first and second pilot seating locations)
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of parametric speaker systems, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Bramoulle, to include the parametric transducer array of Pan with the motivation of providing focused sound beams directed at a target.
Regarding claim 24, Bramoulle, as modified in view of Pan, teaches the pilot communication system of claim 23. Pan further teaches comprising an adjustment circuit to fine tune beam direction to direct the first ultrasonic beam to the first pilot at the first pilot location. ([Column 3, Lines 21-25] Teaches by changing the delay between speaker columns and using ultrasonic carrier signals, sound may be electronically steered or directed towards an arbitrary direction, e.g., by shifting an audio signal some degrees or radians from a non-shifted or normal direction.)
Regarding claim 25, Bramoulle, as modified in view of Pan, teaches the pilot communication system of claim 23. Pan further teaches comprising an adjustment circuit to selectively steer the first ultrasonic beam in two dimensions and to selectively steer the second ultrasonic beam in two dimensions. ([column 5, lines 39-49], two dimensional array may be arranged in rows or columns with programmable delays to shift an audio signal to a particular array) (it is the examiner’s interpretation that the combination of the communication interfaces and associated acoustic devices of Bramoulle with the acoustic transducer array of Pan would yield an adjustment circuit that can selectively steer the first and second beam in two dimensions)
Regarding claim 26, Bramoulle, as modified in view of Pan, teaches the pilot communication system of claim 23, further comprising an adjustment circuit to selectively steer the first ultrasonic beam in two dimensions to fine tune beam direction to direct the first ultrasonic beam to the first pilot at the first pilot location and to selectively steer the second ultrasonic beam in two dimensions to fine tune beam direction to direct the second ultrasonic beam to the second pilot at the second pilot location.([column 5, lines 39-49], two dimensional array may be arranged in rows or columns with programmable delays to shift an audio signal to a particular array) (it is the examiner’s interpretation that the combination of the communication interfaces and associated acoustic devices of Bramoulle with the acoustic transducer array of Pan would yield an adjustment circuit that can selectively steer the first and second beam in the directions of the first and second pilot seating locations associated with communications interfaces 35a and 35b, as taught by Bramoulle)
Regarding claim 27, Bramoulle, as modified in view of Pan, teaches the pilot communication system of claim 23. Pan further teaches comprising an adjustment circuit to asymmetrically feed with respect to time the first plurality of ultrasonic transducer elements to adjust the first ultrasonic beam direction.([column 5, lines 39-49], two dimensional array may be arranged in rows or columns with programmable delays to shift an audio signal to a particular array)(it is the examiner’s interpretation that the programmable delays may implicitly be asymmetrically fed to the first plurality of ultrasonic transducer elements)
Regarding claim 29, Bramoulle, as modified in view of Pan, teaches the pilot communication system of claim 23. Bramoulle further teaches wherein the first cockpit surface and the second cockpit surf ace are each selected from the group consisting of: cockpit sidewall, cockpit floor, cockpit ceiling and cockpit bulkhead. (Implicit, Fig. 5, [0029], communications terminals 35 are located in the cockpit of the plane and can be used by the pilot and copilot through loudspeaker 22b)(It is the examiner’s interpretation that an intersection point of a first audio beam would implicitly include at least one of a cockpit sidewall, cockpit floor, cockpit ceiling and cockpit bulkhead)
Regarding claim 30, Bramoulle, as modified in view of Pan, teaches the pilot communication system of claim 23, wherein the first plurality of ultrasonic transducer elements are arranged in a spaced-apart spatial configuration selected from the group consisting of: linear, curvilinear, circular, concentric circular, square, row cluster array, and spiral and combinations thereof. ([Column 3, Lines 66-67 and Column 4, Lines 1-2] Teaches speakers in phase array 104 may be individually addressable and/or addressable by rows and/or columns)
Regarding claim 31, Bramoulle, as modified in view of Pan, teaches the pilot communication system of claim 23. Pan further teaches wherein the modulator circuit includes at least one amplifier for each of the first plurality of ultrasonic transducer elements. ([Column 7, Lines 34-40] Teaches In some embodiments, amplifier 707 may represent any suitable entity for amplifying an audio signal before being emitted by speakers or ultrasonic transducers. For example, amplifier 707 may amplify an audio signal emitted by phase array 104 such that the audio signal is received by a pedestrian or other target 204 at sufficient volume.)
Regarding claim 33, Bramoulle, as modified in view of Pan, teaches the pilot communication system of claim 23. Pan further teaches wherein the first plurality of ultrasonic transducer elements are arranged in a spaced-apart spatial configuration with predetermined spacing between the plurality of ultrasonic transducer elements, and wherein the first ultrasonic beam has a divergence angle based on the predetermined spacing and the ultrasonic carrier frequency such that the first communication audio signal is audible at the first pilot seating location and substantially inaudible in a passenger cabin area within the aircraft. ([Column 5, Lines 39-43], Teaches In some embodiments, phase array 104 may include a two-dimensional array (e.g., columns and/or rows) of transducers (e.g., speakers) arranged in a configuration so as to electronically direct sound to a particular area.) ([Column 3, Lines 26-33], Teaches Advantageously, by implementing a directed speaker using a phase array containing ultrasonic speakers, a sound beam or signal may be emitted that is shaped and/or directed towards a particular target (e.g., a pedestrian), thereby allowing the sound to be louder and more localized which may more effectively warn a pedestrian of danger while also minimizing noise pollution for others) ([column 8, lines 23-27], directed sound may be configured such that it is less audible outside of an area designated to receive the sound. Shape of the directed sound may be such that the volume for the directed sound is focused or localized) (it is the examiners interpretation that the combination of the communication interfaces and associated acoustic devices and pilot seating locations of Bramoulle and the acoustic transducer array of Pan would meet the claim limitations)
Regarding claim 35, Bramoulle, as modified in view of Pan, teaches the pilot communication system of claim 23. Pan further teaches wherein the ultrasonic carrier frequency is between 30 kHz to 150 kHz. ([Column 3, Lines 14-17] Teaches a phase array in accordance with aspects described herein may include multiple columns of ultrasonic speakers (e.g., transducers) that can emit ultrasonic carrier signals modulated by an acoustic or audio signal) ([Column 4, Lines 59-60] Teaches a high frequency signal (e.g., ultrasonic or 40 kilohertz (kHz) or greater signal)
Regarding claim 36, the claim is an apparatus claim corresponding to claim 23 and is therefore rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 37, the claim is an apparatus claim corresponding to claim 24 and is therefore rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 38, the claim is an apparatus claim corresponding to claim 25 and is therefore rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 39, the claim is an apparatus claim corresponding to claim 26 and is therefore rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 40, the claim is an apparatus claim corresponding to claim 27 and is therefore rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 42, the claim is an apparatus claim corresponding to claim 29 and is therefore rejected for the same reasons.
Claim(s) 28 and 41, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bramoulle in view of Pan and Pompeii (US 20010007591 A1, “Pompeii”).
Regarding claim 28, Bramoulle, as modified in view of Pan, teaches the pilot communication system of claim 23. Bramoulle, as modified in view of Pan, may not explicitly teach further comprising an adjustment circuit, where the adjustment circuit comprises a multichannel time delay insertion circuit coupled between the modulator circuit and the first transducer array to selectively insert predetermined time delays into the feed of each of the first plurality of ultrasonic transducer elements to steer the first ultrasonic beam.
Pompeii teaches further comprising an adjustment circuit, where the adjustment circuit comprises a multichannel time delay insertion circuit coupled between the modulator circuit and the first transducer array to selectively insert predetermined time delays into the feed of each of the first plurality of ultrasonic transducer elements to steer the first ultrasonic beam. (See annotated Fig. 1, below)
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of parametric speaker systems, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Bramoulle, as modified in view of Pan, to include the circuit configuration of Pompeii with the motivation of providing individualized time delays to the plurality of transducers in order to steer the sound beams.
Regarding claim 41, the claim is an apparatus claim corresponding to claim 28 and is therefore rejected for the same reasons.
Claim(s) 32 and 34, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bramoulle in view of Pan and Pampin et al.(WO 2012122132 A1, “Pampin”).
Regarding claim 32, Bramoulle, as modified in view of Pampin, teaches the pilot communication system of claim 23. Bramoulle, as modified in view of Pampin, may not explicitly teach wherein the first acoustic transducer array is configured to substantially suppress formation of ultrasonic grating lobes and side lobes.
Pampin teaches wherein the first acoustic transducer array is configured to substantially suppress formation of ultrasonic grating lobes and side lobes. ([0032], Maintaining a distance d between the adjacent columns 228 is expected to reduce the effect of interference caused by side lobe radiation from one or more of the transducers 224. In some embodiments, the distance d is approximately one-half of the wavelength of the ultrasound energy being emitted by the transducer array 220. In other embodiments, the distance d can be another value, such as, for example, one-quarter wavelength or one full wavelength.)(it is the examiner’s interpretation that the less than ½ wavelength spacing of the plurality of the transducers would implicitly reduce side or grating lobes based on Applicant’s teaching of grating and side lobe suppression from Applicant’s specification at [0030])
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of parametric speaker systems, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the pilot communications system of Bramoulle, as modified in view of Pan, to include the transducer spacing and grating and side lobe suppression of Pampin, with the motivation of reducing interference caused by side lobe radiation from one or more of the transducers to ensure sufficient signal quality.
Regarding claim 34, Bramoulle, as modified in view of Pan, teaches the pilot communication system of claim 23. Bramoulle, as modified in view of Pan, may not explicitly teach wherein the first plurality of ultrasonic transducer elements are spaced apart a distance less than or equal to one-half the
wavelength of the ultrasonic carrier frequency to avoid formation of ultrasonic grating lobes
while producing the first modulated ultrasonic carrier wave with a primary lobe shape that is
substantially dictated by the ultrasonic carrier wavelength and directed in the first direction.
Pampin teaches wherein the first plurality of ultrasonic transducer elements are spaced apart a distance less than or equal to one-half the wavelength of the ultrasonic carrier frequency to avoid formation of ultrasonic grating lobes while producing the first modulated ultrasonic carrier wave with a primary lobe shape that is substantially dictated by the ultrasonic carrier wavelength and directed in the first direction. ([0032], Maintaining a distance d between the adjacent columns 228 is expected to reduce the effect of interference caused by side lobe radiation from one or more of the transducers 224. In some embodiments, the distance d is approximately one-half of the wavelength of the ultrasound energy being emitted by the transducer array 220. In other embodiments, the distance d can be another value, such as, for example, one-quarter wavelength or one full wavelength.)(it is the examiner’s interpretation that the less than ½ wavelength spacing of the plurality of the transducers would implicitly reduce side or grating lobes based on Applicant’s teaching of grating and side lobe suppression from Applicant’s specification at [0030])
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of parametric speaker systems, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the pilot communications system of Bramoulle, as modified in view of Pan, to include the transducer spacing and grating and side lobe suppression of Pampin, with the motivation of reducing interference caused by side lobe radiation from one or more of the transducers to ensure sufficient signal quality.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 12th, 2025, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. On Pg. 3 of Applicant’s Remarks, Applicant argues that Bramoulle, as modified in view of Pan, allegedly fails to teach the limitations of amended claims 23 and 36 for the following reasons:
Bramoulle fails to teach the transducer arrays are each disposed on the aircraft flight deck proximate a center of the aircraft flight deck; and
Bramoulle fails to teach the transducer arrays are directed to emit modulated ultrasonic carrier waves as ultrasonic beams that concentrate acoustic energy and are directed in a first and second direction, where the first and second directions extend from the transducer arrays proximate the center of the aircraft flight deck outwardly towards the pilot locations.
The conventional loudspeakers of Bramoulle aren’t capable of outputting ultrasonic beams that concentrate acoustic energy.
Pan, Pampin, nor Pompeii fail to teach the configuration of transducer arrays which are disposed proximate a center of the aircraft flight deck and directed to emit “outwardly” towards one of the pilot locations.
Bramoulle fails to show any configuration where the speaker is disposed proximate a center of the aircraft flight deck and directed to emit outwardly towards one of the pilot seating location.
With respect to (1), The examiner agrees that the conventional speakers of Bramoulle are not transducer arrays, however Bramoulle is not relied upon to teach the presence of ultrasonic transducer arrays. Pan is relied upon to teach the presence of ultrasonic transducer arrays (See Pan (Fig. 1 (122)). As to the argument regarding the disposition of the communications interface not being proximate a center of the aircraft flight deck, the examiner respectfully disagrees , as Fig. 6 of Bramoulle illustrates communications interfaces 35a and 35b in a region of the cockpit that the examiner interprets to be proximate to the center of an aircraft flight deck. Bramoulle further discloses that the communications terminals are to be used by the pilot and copilot of the aircraft and that they are usable by the pilot in the cockpit of the aircraft(See Bramoulle at [0029]). It is the examiner’s interpretation that communications terminals implicitly transmit the signal from the communication terminals towards the pilot and/or copilot, in a manner that is considered outwardly towards the pilot or copilot via the loudspeakers incorporated into the respective communications terminals.
With respect to (2), the examiner agrees that Bramoulle fails to teach the transducer arrays being directed to emit modulated ultrasonic carrier waves as ultrasonic beams that concentrate acoustic energy and are directed in a first and second direction, where the first and second directions extend from the transducer arrays proximate the center of the aircraft flight deck outwardly towards the pilot locations, however Bramoulle is not relied upon to teach these limitations. Firstly, in modifying the system of Bramoulle, to include the ultrasonic transducer arrays of Pan (See Pan (Fig.1 (122)) in place of the communications terminals of Bramoulle (See Bramoulle (Fig. 6 (35a) and (35b)), the system includes two ultrasonic transducer arrays positioned proximate a center of an aircraft flight deck to be used by a pilot and/or copilot, implicitly meaning the ultrasonic beams would be directed outwardly towards a pilot and/or copilot seating location. Secondly Pan at [Column 3, Lines 14-17] teaches the ultrasonic transducer arrays can emit ultrasonic carrier signals modulated by an acoustic or audio signal. Pan further teaches at [column 8, lines 23-27] that directed sound may be configured such that it is less audible outside of an area designated to receive the sound and that the shape of the directed sound may be such that the volume for the directed sound is focused or localized. In sum, the combination of Bramoulle, as modified in view of Pan teaches transducer arrays that are directed to emit modulated ultrasonic carrier waves as ultrasonic beams that concentrate acoustic energy and are directed in a first and second direction, where the first and second directions extend from the transducer arrays proximate the center of the aircraft flight deck outwardly towards the pilot locations.
With respect to (3), The examiner agrees that the conventional loudspeakers of Bramoulle are not capable of emitting ultrasonic beams that concentrate acoustic energy, however the conventional loudspeakers of Bramoulle are not relied upon to teach these limitations. The ultrasonic transducer array of Pan (See Pan Fig. 1 (122)) is relied upon to teach these limitations. Pan at [column 8, lines 23-27] that directed sound may be configured such that it is less audible outside of an area designated to receive the sound and that the shape of the directed sound may be such that the volume for the directed sound is focused or localized.
With respect to (4), the examiner agrees that neither Pan, Pampin, nor Pompeii teach the configuration of transducer arrays which are disposed proximate a center of the aircraft flight deck and directed to emit “outwardly” towards one of the pilot locations, however none of these references are relied upon to teach the limitation. Bramoulle is relied upon to teach the disposition of the communication terminals in a location proximate a center of an aircraft flight deck (See Bramoulle, Fig. 6 (35a) and (35b)). Furthermore, Bramoulle at [0029] discloses that the audio device, including loudspeaker are incorporated into the communications terminals within the cockpit of the airplane, which are to be usable by the pilot (and copilot), therefore implicitly directing audio communications outwardly towards a pilot (or copilot) seating location. Applicant points to Fig. 1 of the present disclosure as evidence for how the claimed invention differentiates from the prior art, however the claims, as currently drafted, do not require the transducer arrays be positioned in front of the pilot seating locations, rather they require the transducer arrays be proximate a center of any surface in the aircraft flight deck. Therefore, it is the examiner’s interpretation that the communication terminals of Bramoulle, are still considered to be proximate a center of an aircraft flight deck, regardless of whether they are positioned in front of the pilot seating locations.
With respect to (5), the examiner respectfully disagrees as the limitation “proximate a center of the aircraft flight deck” is broad in the sense that as the communications interface is provided within the cockpit, it may be reasonably interpreted as “proximate a center of the aircraft flight deck, which Bramoulle discloses with the pilot and copilot communications interfaces at Fig. 6 (35a) and (35b). As for the argument alleging Bramoulle fails to teach any type of speaker disposed proximate a center of the aircraft flight deck, the examiner points to Bramoulle at [0029] which describes how the communication system (10) which includes communications terminals (35a) and (35b) are located within the cockpit of the airplane and include an audio device comprising microphones and loudspeakers. It is the examiner’s interpretation that the loudspeakers of the communications interfaces would implicitly be directed to emit acoustic waves outwardly in order to communicate to the pilot and copilot in their respective seating locations.
Therefore the rejections of claims 23 and 36 under 35 U.S.C. 103 are maintained and similarly so are the rejections of dependent claims 24-35 and 37-42.
Conclusion
Prior art made of record though not relied upon in the present basis of rejection are noted in the attached PTO 892 and include:
Croft, James J. (WO 2005036921 A2, “Croft”) which discloses a parametric loudspeaker system for the creation of isolated listening with reduced noise pollution in the surrounding area
Gan et al. (“A Review of Parametric Acoustic Array in Air”, Applied Acoustics 73 (2012) 1211-1219, “Gan”) which discloses known technology and methods in the art of parametric audio generation
Tucker et al. (US 3092802 A, “Tucker”) which discloses an apparatus for acoustic position finding including circuitry arrangements for incorporating time delays in the pulse generator
Anderson, Dean Robert Gary (US 20170195800 A1, “Anderson”) which discloses a parametric audio system and method of use
Florencio et al. (US 20150382129 A1, “Florencio”) which discloses a parametric speaker system which is driven based on tracked user locations
Kawase et al. (JP 2019176350 A, “Kawase”) which teaches a parametric speaker system with half wavelength spacing between elements
van der Werff ("Electronically Controlled Loudspeaker Arrays Without Side Lobes", AES 110th Convention, Amsterdam, Netherlands, 2001, May 12-15, “van der Werff”) which discloses methods and systems for suppressing side lobes in loudspeaker arrays
Hooley et al. (US 20060204022 A1,”Hooley”) which discloses sound beam loudspeaker systems with side and grating lobe reduction methods based on array element spacing
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER RICHARD WALKER/Examiner, Art Unit 3645 /YUQING XIAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645