DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1, 3-19, 26-36, 42-57, 59, 62-78 are pending.
Claims 42-45, 47, 48, 50-54, 56, 57, 59 are withdrawn from further consideration as non-elected specie. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 3/29/2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-19, 26-36, 46, 49, 55, 58, 62-78 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 10,806,709 (‘709) in view of US2017/0290776 (‘776) and WO2018/089570 (‘570).
‘709 teaches a method of treating anaphylaxis by administering anti-anaphylactic agents, including dipivefrin, intranasally (see the abstract, col. 9, line 20 for example). ‘709 teaches the particle size of the active as 20-50µm (see col. 16, lines 3-16). ‘709 teaches penetration or permeation enhancers being included to facilitate the absorption of the anti-anaphylactic agent in the amount of 1-30% (see col. 10, line 52 bridging col. 12, line 13). The dosage of the epinephrine in the instant invention is 0.05mg to 10mg (see claim 9). ‘709 teaches the volume intended to be administered as 100µl (see col. 26, lines 30-34). The examiner notes that the ratio between the actives and the permeation enhancing agent would meet the limitations of claims 2-7.
‘709 does not expressly teach the permeation enhancer as the extract of a clove plant. ‘709 does not expressly teach the herein claimed compound. ‘709 does not expressly teach the concentration of the permeation enhancer in the matrix. ‘709 does not expressly teach the herein claimed pharmacokinetic properties of the dipivefrin composition (e.g., Cmax, Tmax, the conversion time).
‘570 teaches the herein claimed epinephrine prodrug as suitable for use to treat anaphylaxis (see the abstract, also Fig. 2, and claim 1 for example).
‘776 teaches mucosal permeation systems for delivering an adrenergic-receptor modulators such as epinephrine (see for example claims and 19). ‘776 teaches a permeation enhancer as clove oil from clove leaf, bud, and/or stem (see Fig. 11 and example 1 for example). ‘776 teaches 3% of clove oil (see for example [0178]). ‘776 teaches the matrix comprising a water soluble polymer (see for example claim 21). ‘776 also teaches the pharmaceutical dosage form includes film (see claim 23).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to employ the epinephrine prodrug recited in the claim in the method of treating anaphylaxis. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the extract of clove plant as permeation enhancer and a matrix into the anti-anaphylactic dipivefrin composition. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adjust the Cmax and Tmax of the dipivefrin composition.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the epinephrine prodrug recited in the claim in the method of treating anaphylaxis because the prodrugs of epinephrine taught in ‘570 including the one recited in the claims are well-known in the art to be useful in treating anaphylaxis. Therefore, employing any one of them would be reasonably expected to be effective.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate the extract of clove plant as permeation enhancer and a matrix into the anti-anaphylactic dipivefrin composition. Since the penetration/permeation enhancers are known to be suitable and compatible with adrenergic modulator such as epinephrine for transmucosal administration, incorporating the extract of clove plant such as clove oil and the matrix of water-soluble polymer would be reasonably expected to impart beneficial effect for the dipivefrin composition. The examiner notes that the penetration enhancers is taught to be 3% in amount and the anti-anaphylactic agents to be 1-30% in amount. Accordingly, ratio between the penetration enhancer/ anti-anaphylactic agents (i.e., dipifevrin/epinephrine) meets the limitation recited in claim 1.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to adjust the Cmax and Tmax of the dipivefrin composition. By adjusting the amount of the matrix would be reasonably expected to control the rate of the release and thereby the Cmax and Tmax. Therefore, the optimization of result effect parameters (e.g, amount of the excipients that affect the Cmax and Tmax) is obvious as being within the skill of the artisan. The optimization of known effective amounts of known active agents to be administered, is considered well in the competence level of an ordinary skilled artisan in pharmaceutical science, involving merely routine skill in the art. It has been held that it is within the skill in the art to select optimal parameters, such as amounts of ingredients, in a composition in order to achieve a beneficial effect. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). It is also noted that “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
In addition, the herein claimed pharmacological and pharmacokinetic properties such as how fast the conversion from prodrug to active or whether the prodrug activate or not activate certain receptors is considered as an intrinsic property of the prodrug.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3-19, 26-36, 46, 49, 55, 58, 62-78 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16, 18, 21, 22, 24-60 of copending Application No. 17/576,923 (‘923) in view of ‘776.
‘923 teaches a method of treating allergic reaction using epinephrine and its prodrug (see claims 1 and 38 for example). ‘923 teaches the Cmax and Tmax properties of the administration of the epinephrine/prodrug composition (see claims 59-60).
‘923 does not expressly teach the permeation enhancer as the extract of a clove plant. ‘923 does not expressly teach the concentration of the permeation enhancer in the matrix. ‘923 does not expressly teach the herein claimed pharmacokinetic properties of the dipivefrin composition (e.g., Cmax, Tmax, the conversion time).
‘776 teaches mucosal permeation systems for delivering an adrenergic-receptor modulators such as epinephrine (see for example claims and 19). ‘776 teaches a permeation enhancer as clove oil from clove leaf, bud, and/or stem (see Fig. 11 and example 1 for example). ‘776 teaches 3% of clove oil (see for example [0178]). ‘776 teaches the matrix comprising a water soluble polymer (see for example claim 21). ‘776 also teaches the pharmaceutical dosage form includes film (see claim 23).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the extract of clove plant as permeation enhancer and a matrix into the anti-anaphylactic dipivefrin composition. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adjust the Cmax and Tmax of the dipivefrin composition.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate the extract of clove plant as permeation enhancer and a matrix into the anti-allergic dipivefrin composition. Since the penetration/permeation enhancers are known to be suitable and compatible with adrenergic modulator such as epinephrine for transmucosal administration, incorporating the extract of clove plant such as clove oil and the matrix of water-soluble polymer would be reasonably expected to impart beneficial effect for the dipivefrin composition.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to adjust the Cmax and Tmax of the dipivefrin composition. By adjusting the amount of the matrix would be reasonably expected to control the rate of the release and thereby the Cmax and Tmax. Therefore, the optimization of result effect parameters (e.g, amount of the excipients that affect the Cmax and Tmax) is obvious as being within the skill of the artisan. The optimization of known effective amounts of known active agents to be administered, is considered well in the competence level of an ordinary skilled artisan in pharmaceutical science, involving merely routine skill in the art. It has been held that it is within the skill in the art to select optimal parameters, such as amounts of ingredients, in a composition in order to achieve a beneficial effect. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). It is also noted that “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). In the instant case, the adjustment of penetration enhancer amount would produce the desired serum concentration of the active agent and thereby treating the allergic condition.
In addition, the herein claimed pharmacological and pharmacokinetic properties such as how fast the conversion from prodrug to active or whether the prodrug activate or not activate certain receptors is considered as an intrinsic property of the prodrug.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3-19, 26-36, 46, 49, 55, 58, 62-78 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments filed 11/14/2025 averring the cited prior art’s failure to teach the herein claimed permeation enhancers, the herein claimed prodrug of epinephrine, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The examiner notes that prodrug as claimed have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The examiner notes that ‘570 clearly teaches the anti-anaphylactic agents epinephrine derivative include the compound as claimed. Employing the prodrug compound as claimed in the nasal composition would be reasonably expected to be effective in treating anaphylaxis.
Applicant’s remarks with regard to the provisional double patenting rejection are acknowledged. Accordingly, the rejection is maintained.
/SAN MING R HUI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1627