DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-8, 10-11, 13-18 and 21-23 are pending in the present application. Claims 21-22 are withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 5-6, filed 1 March 2024, with respect to the objection to claims 18-19 and rejection of claims 10 and 23 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection and rejection of said claims have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 6-7, with respect to the rejections of claims 1, 5, 7-8, 11, 16 and 18-19 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chi ‘381 (CN 103664381 A) and Chi ‘880 (CN 103708880 A) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Applicant argues that Chi ‘381 and Chi ‘880 fail to disclose each said granules comprises about 20% to about 30%, by weight, ground rice hulls. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejections are made herein below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-8, 10-11, 13-16, 18 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chi ‘381 (CN 103664381 A) in view of Kealy et al. (US 3,119,683).
Instant claim 1 is drawn to a fertilizer composition comprising granules, wherein each said granule comprises rice hulls and a urea containing fertilizer, wherein the rice hulls are ground rice hulls, each said granule comprises about 20% to about 30% by weight ground rice hulls, and the urea containing fertilizer is coated on, adhered on, or impregnated into the rice hulls.
Instant claim 16 states that the granule comprises about 20% by weight ground rice hulls.
Chi ‘381 teach a composite fertilizer comprising rice hull powder and urea (Abstract; [0007]-[0008], [0011], [0017], [0022], [0027]; Examples 1-3; Claims 1-5). Chi ‘381 teach that the composite fertilizer contains 20-30 parts rice hull powder ([0008]). Chi ‘381 teach composite fertilizers comprising 25 parts of powdered rice hull and 10 parts urea in 194 parts total (i.e., ~12.9 wt.% powdered rice hull) (Example 1); 30 parts powdered rice hull and 15 parts urea in 213 parts total (i.e., ~14.1 wt.% powdered rice hull) (Example 2); and 20 parts powdered rice hull and 10 parts urea in 143 parts total (i.e., ~14 wt.% powdered rice hull) (Example 3).
Regarding the limitation that the urea containing fertilizer is coated on, adhered on, or impregnated into the rice hulls, Chi ‘381 teach composite fertilizer comprising rice hulls intimately mixed with urea. Chi ‘381 teach mixing the components in a pelletizer to obtain the compound fertilizer ([0011], [0017], [0022], [0027]). The uniform mixing and pelletizing would necessarily result in the urea containing fertilizer being coated on or adhered on the rice hulls.
Chi ‘381 do not explicitly disclose a composite fertilizer comprising about 20% to about 30% by weight of ground rice hulls, as instantly claimed. However, Chi ‘381 teach that the composite fertilizer contains 20-30 parts rice hull powder ([0008]).
Kealy et al. teach solid fertilizer compositions comprising urea, formaldehyde, superphosphates, potassium nitrate, potassium sulfate, and a bulking agent (col. 3, ln. 49-66; col. 8, ln. 58-70; Examples I and III). Kealy et al. teach that the bulking agent includes soyabean hull meal, rice hulls, peanut hulls, corn cob fraction, perlite, vermiculite, etc. (col. 8, ln. 63-65). Kealy et al. also teach that the solid bulking agent is milled to pass an 8 mesh screen, followed by spraying the ureaform solution onto the solids (col. 11, ln. 3-29). Kealy et al. teach examples of solid fertilizer compositions comprising urea and soya bean hull meal, wherein the soya bean hull meal is present in an amount of 775 lbs/ton, or ~38.75% by weight (Examples I and III). The bulking agents provide the additional advantage of allowing formation of a free-flowing mixed fertilizer without a recycle or drying operation even at the relatively high ratio of liquid to solids used when incorporating large amounts of solution into the system (col. 8, ln. 65-70).
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to determine through routine experimentation the optimum amount of rice hull powder to include in the composite fertilizer according to Chi ‘381 in view of the amounts taught by Chi ‘381 and Kealy et al. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to determine through routine optimization the amount of rice hull powder for preparing the granules of Chi ‘381 and also provide the additional advantage of allowing formation of a free-flowing mixed fertilizer without a recycle or drying operation even at the relatively high ratio of liquid to solids used when incorporating large amounts of solution into the system, as reasonably suggested by Kealy et al.
Instant claim 2 states that the urea containing fertilizer is a urea formaldehyde reaction product fertilizer.
Kealy et al. teach urea formaldehyde (Claim 1).
Instant claim 3 states that the urea containing fertilizer is a methylene urea fertilizer.
Kealy et al. teach that it is postulated that the solution at the time of addition to the phosphatic substrate in a fertilizer mixing zone is primarily a monomeric solution of methylol ureas and methylene ureas (col. 3, ln. 67-70; col. 4, ln. 2-7).
Instant claim 4 states that the urea containing fertilizer is a urea-formaldehyde fertilizer.
Kealy et al. teach a urea-formaldehyde fertilizer (Claim 1).
Instant claim 5 states that the rice hulls are comminuted in size.
Chi ‘381 teach that the rice hulls are powdered.
Instant claim 7 states that the fertilizer, when stored over 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, or 8 months, has a reduced crystal aspect ratio compared to a fertilizer composition not having rice hulls stored under the same period of time.
Instant claim 8 states that the crystal aspect ratio of said fertilizer composition is reduced to a level in a range from about 30:1 to about 4:1.
Instant claim 11 states that the fertilizer composition has an average crystal area of urea crystals of less than 60 µm2 formed after 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, or 8 months.
Chi ‘381 teach granules comprising rice hulls and urea, which is the same as instantly claimed. Therefore, the granules according to Chi ‘381 comprise the components instantly claimed and would thus have the same crystal aspect ratio. The Office does not have the facilities for examining and comparing applicant’s product with the product of the prior art in order to establish that the product of the prior art does not possess the same functional characteristics of the claimed product. The crystal aspect ratio is descriptive and thus would be an inherent property of the claimed composition. In the absence of evidence to the contrary, the burden is upon the applicant to prove that the claimed products are functionally different than those taught by the prior art and to establish patentable differences. See Ex parte Phillips, 28 U.S.P.Q.2d 1302, 1303 (PTO Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 1993), Ex parte Gray, 10 USPQ2d 1922, 1923 (PTO Bd. Pat. App. & Int.) and In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1977).
Instant claim 10 states a urea to formaldehyde ratio of about 1.5:1 to about 8:1.
Kealy et al. teach that the urea to formaldehyde mole ratio is from 1:1 to 2.75:1, with perhaps 1.5:1 to 2:1 being optimum (col. 3, ln. 71-73).
Instant claim 13 states said granules are about 0.5-5 mm in size.
Kealy et al. teach that the dry ingredients are milled to pass an 8 mesh screen (2.38 mm), followed by spraying with the ureaform (col. 11, ln. 12-29).
Instant claim 14 states further comprising potassium sulfate, ammonium sulfate, 3,6-dichloro-2-methoxy-benzoic acid (dicamba), 2,4-dichlorophenoxy acetic acid (2,4-D), methyl chlorophenoxy propionic acid (MCPP-P), or mixtures thereof.
Kealy et al. teach compositions comprising potassium sulfate (Examples I-III).
Instant claim 15 states said granule comprises 40-60% by weight urea containing fertilizer.
Kealy et al. teach a product comprising approximately 940 lbs/ton ureaform liquid per 1060 lbs/ton solids (i.e. 47% by weight ureaform) (col. 6, ln. 45-48).
Instant claim 18 states that the composition further comprises fertilizer components, herbicides, micronutrients, biostimulants, macronutrients, inert solid carriers, or mixtures thereof, wherein the fertilizer components are selected from a list including urea.
Chi ‘381 teach compositions comprising urea, straw, weathered coal, peat soil, flour powder, sweet potato powder, molasses, glycerol, EDTA, potassium fulvate and mixed strain powders (Examples 1-3; Claims 1-5).
Instant claim 23 states a urea to formaldehyde ratio of about 4:1 to about 8:1.
Kealy et al. teach that the urea to formaldehyde mole ratio is from 1:1 to 2.75:1, with perhaps 1.5:1 to 2:1 being optimum (col. 3, ln. 71-73). In the absence of evidence to the contrary, the mole ratio of 2.75:1 is within the scope of about 4:1.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1 March 2024 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant asserts that Chi ‘381 fails to disclose, at least, each said granule including about 20% to about 30%, by weight, ground rice hulls. For example, the Examiner alleged that Chi ‘381 discloses amounts of ground rice hulls of “12.9%, 14.1% and 14% by weight.” Accordingly, Chi ‘381 fails to disclose all the elements of independent claim 1, or those claims depending therefrom.
The examiner respectfully argues that Chi ‘381 teach that the composite fertilizer contains 20-30 parts rice hull powder ([0008]). Kealy et al. teach solid fertilizer compositions comprising urea and a bulking agent, such as soya bean hulls and rice hulls. Kealy et al. teach compositions wherein the soya bean hull meal is present in an amount of 775 lbs/ton, or ~38.75% by weight (Examples I and III). The bulking agents provide the additional advantage of allowing formation of a free-flowing mixed fertilizer without a recycle or drying operation even at the relatively high ratio of liquid to solids used when incorporating large amounts of solution into the system (col. 8, ln. 65-70).
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to determine through routine experimentation the optimum amount of rice hull powder to include in the composite fertilizer according to Chi ‘381 in view of the amounts taught by Chi ‘381 and Kealy et al. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to determine through routine optimization the amount of rice hull powder for preparing the granules of Chi ‘381 and also provide the additional advantage of allowing formation of a free-flowing mixed fertilizer without a recycle or drying operation even at the relatively high ratio of liquid to solids used when incorporating large amounts of solution into the system, as reasonably suggested by Kealy et al.
Claims 1-5, 7-8, 10-11, 13-16, 18 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chi ‘880 (CN 103708880 A) in view of Kealy et al. (US 3,119,683).
Instant claim 1 is drawn to a fertilizer composition comprising granules comprising rice hulls and a urea containing fertilizer, wherein the rice hulls are ground rice hulls, each granule comprises about 20% to about 30% by weight ground rice hulls, and the urea containing fertilizer is coated on, adhered on, or impregnated into the rice hulls.
Instant claim 16 states that the granule comprises about 20% by weight ground rice hulls.
Chi ‘880 teach a composite fertilizer comprising rice hull powder and urea (Abstract; Examples 1-3; Claims 1-7). Chi ‘880 teach that the composite fertilizer contains 20-30 parts rice hull powder ([0010]). Chi ‘880 teach composite fertilizers comprising 25 parts of powdered rice hulls and 8 parts urea in 152 parts total (i.e., ~16.4 wt.% powdered rice hulls) (Example 1); 30 parts powdered rice hulls and 10 parts urea in 250 parts total (i.e., ~12 wt.% powdered rice hull) (Example 2); and 20 parts powdered rice hulls and 5 parts urea in 149-181 parts total (i.e., ~11-13.4 wt.% powdered rice hulls) (Example 3).
Regarding the limitation that the urea containing fertilizer is coated on, adhered on, or impregnated into the rice hulls, Chi ‘880 teach composite fertilizer comprising rice hulls intimately mixed with urea. Chi ‘880 teach mixing the components in a granulating disc granulation to obtain the compound fertilizer (Examples 1-3). The uniform mixing and granulation would necessarily result in the urea containing fertilizer being coated on or adhered on the rice hulls.
Chi ‘880 do not explicitly disclose a composite fertilizer comprising about 20% to about 30% by weight of ground rice hulls, as instantly claimed. However, Chi ‘880 teach that the composite fertilizer contains 20-30 parts rice hull powder ([0010]).
Kealy et al. teach solid fertilizer compositions comprising urea, formaldehyde, superphosphates, potassium nitrate, potassium sulfate, and a bulking agent (col. 3, ln. 49-66; col. 8, ln. 58-70; Examples I and III). Kealy et al. teach that the bulking agent includes soyabean hull meal, rice hulls, peanut hulls, corn cob fraction, perlite, vermiculite, etc. (col. 8, ln. 63-65). Kealy et al. also teach that the solid bulking agent is milled to pass an 8 mesh screen, followed by spraying the ureaform solution onto the solids (col. 11, ln. 3-29). Kealy et al. teach examples of solid fertilizer compositions comprising urea and soya bean hull meal, wherein the soya bean hull meal is present in an amount of 775 lbs/ton, or ~38.75% by weight (Examples I and III). The bulking agents provide the additional advantage of allowing formation of a free-flowing mixed fertilizer without a recycle or drying operation even at the relatively high ratio of liquid to solids used when incorporating large amounts of solution into the system (col. 8, ln. 65-70).
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to determine through routine experimentation the optimum amount of rice hull powder to include in the composite fertilizer according to Chi ‘880 in view of the amounts taught by Chi ‘880 and Kealy et al. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to determine through routine optimization the amount of rice hull powder for preparing the granules of Chi ‘880 and also provide the additional advantage of allowing formation of a free-flowing mixed fertilizer without a recycle or drying operation even at the relatively high ratio of liquid to solids used when incorporating large amounts of solution into the system, as reasonably suggested by Kealy et al.
Instant claim 2 states that the urea containing fertilizer is a urea formaldehyde reaction product fertilizer.
Kealy et al. teach urea formaldehyde (Claim 1).
Instant claim 3 states that the urea containing fertilizer is a methylene urea fertilizer.
Kealy et al. teach that it is postulated that the solution at the time of addition to the phosphatic substrate in a fertilizer mixing zone is primarily a monomeric solution of methylol ureas and methylene ureas (col. 3, ln. 67-70; col. 4, ln. 2-7).
Instant claim 4 states that the urea containing fertilizer is a urea-formaldehyde fertilizer.
Kealy et al. teach a urea-formaldehyde fertilizer (Claim 1).
Instant claim 5 states that the rice hulls are comminuted in size.
Chi ‘381 teach that the rice hulls are powdered.
Instant claim 5 states that the rice hulls are comminuted in size.
Chi ‘880 teach that the rice hulls are powdered.
Instant claim 7 states that the fertilizer, when stored over 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, or 8 months, has a reduced crystal aspect ratio compared to a fertilizer composition not having rice hulls stored under the same period of time.
Instant claim 8 states that the crystal aspect ratio of said fertilizer composition is reduced to a level in a range from about 30:1 to about 4:1.
Instant claim 11 states that the fertilizer composition has an average crystal area of urea crystals of less than 60 µm2 formed after 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, or 8 months.
Chi ‘880 teach granules comprising rice hulls and urea, which is the same as instantly claimed. Therefore, the granules according to Chi ‘880 comprise the components instantly claimed and would thus have the same crystal aspect ratio. The Office does not have the facilities for examining and comparing applicant’s product with the product of the prior art in order to establish that the product of the prior art does not possess the same functional characteristics of the claimed product. The crystal aspect ratio is descriptive and thus would be an inherent property of the claimed composition. In the absence of evidence to the contrary, the burden is upon the applicant to prove that the claimed products are functionally different than those taught by the prior art and to establish patentable differences. See Ex parte Phillips, 28 U.S.P.Q.2d 1302, 1303 (PTO Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 1993), Ex parte Gray, 10 USPQ2d 1922, 1923 (PTO Bd. Pat. App. & Int.) and In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1977).
Instant claim 10 states a urea to formaldehyde ratio of about 1.5:1 to about 8:1.
Kealy et al. teach that the urea to formaldehyde mole ratio is from 1:1 to 2.75:1, with perhaps 1.5:1 to 2:1 being optimum (col. 3, ln. 71-73).
Instant claim 13 states said granules are about 0.5-5 mm in size.
Kealy et al. teach that the dry ingredients are milled to pass an 8 mesh screen (2.38 mm), followed by spraying with the ureaform (col. 11, ln. 12-29).
Instant claim 14 states further comprising potassium sulfate, ammonium sulfate, 3,6-dichloro-2-methoxy-benzoic acid (dicamba), 2,4-dichlorophenoxy acetic acid (2,4-D), methyl chlorophenoxy propionic acid (MCPP-P), or mixtures thereof.
Kealy et al. teach compositions comprising potassium sulfate (Examples I-III).
Instant claim 15 states said granule comprises 40-60% by weight urea containing fertilizer.
Kealy et al. teach a product comprising approximately 940 lbs/ton ureaform liquid per 1060 lbs/ton solids (i.e. 47% by weight ureaform) (col. 6, ln. 45-48).
Instant claim 18 states that the composition further comprises fertilizer components selected from the group consisting of a list including urea, micronutrients, macronutrients, biostimulants, etc.
Instant claim 19 states that the composition further comprises fertilizer components selected from the group consisting of a list including urea.
Chi ‘880 teach compositions comprising urea, straw, weathered coal, peat soil, flour powder, sweet potato powder, molasses, glycerol, EDTA, potassium fulvate and mixed strain powders (Examples 1-3; Claims 1-7).
Instant claim 23 states a urea to formaldehyde ratio of about 4:1 to about 8:1.
Kealy et al. teach that the urea to formaldehyde mole ratio is from 1:1 to 2.75:1, with perhaps 1.5:1 to 2:1 being optimum (col. 3, ln. 71-73). In the absence of evidence to the contrary, the mole ratio of 2.75:1 is within the scope of about 4:1.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1 March 2024 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant asserts that Chi ‘880 fails to disclose, at least, each said granule including about 20% to about 30%, by weight, ground rice hulls. For example, the Examiner alleged that Chi ‘880 discloses amounts of ground rice hulls of 16.4%, 12%, and 11-13.4%, by weight. Accordingly, Chi ‘880 fails to disclose all the elements of independent claim 1, or those claims depending therefrom.
The examiner respectfully argues that Chi ‘880 teach that the composite fertilizer contains 20-30 parts rice hull powder ([0010]). Kealy et al. teach solid fertilizer compositions comprising urea and a bulking agent, such as soya bean hulls and rice hulls. Kealy et al. teach compositions wherein the soya bean hull meal is present in an amount of 775 lbs/ton, or ~38.75% by weight (Examples I and III). The bulking agents provide the additional advantage of allowing formation of a free-flowing mixed fertilizer without a recycle or drying operation even at the relatively high ratio of liquid to solids used when incorporating large amounts of solution into the system (col. 8, ln. 65-70).
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to determine through routine experimentation the optimum amount of rice hull powder to include in the composite fertilizer according to Chi ‘880 in view of the amounts taught by Chi ‘880 and Kealy et al. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to determine through routine optimization the amount of rice hull powder for preparing the granules of Chi ‘880 and also provide the additional advantage of allowing formation of a free-flowing mixed fertilizer without a recycle or drying operation even at the relatively high ratio of liquid to solids used when incorporating large amounts of solution into the system, as reasonably suggested by Kealy et al.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chi ‘381 (CN 103664381 A) in view of Kealy et al. (US 3,119,683) and Chi ‘880 (CN 103708880 A) in view of Kealy et al. (US 3,119,683) as applied to claims 1-5, 7-8, 10-11, 13-16, 18 and 23 above, further in view of Creamer (Agricultural and Food Chemistry, 1961).
The teachings of Chi ‘381, Chi ‘880 and Kealy et al. are discussed above and incorporated herein by reference.
Instant claim 6 states that the rice hulls are about 20-70 SGN (i.e., 200-700 µm).
Chi ‘381, Chi ‘880 and Kealy et al. do not explicitly disclose that rice hulls are about 20-70 SGN.
Creamer teaches fertilizer-pesticide compositions comprising carriers, such as attapulgite, superphosphate, vermiculite, etc., wherein 30-60 mesh carriers (i.e., 250-595 µm) and fertilizer were more uniform than those prepared with other particle sizes of the same carriers (pg. 27, col. 3, last para.).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to prepare compositions according to Chi ‘381, Chi ‘880 and Kealy et al. wherein the carrier or bulk material is ground to a particle size of 30-60 mesh to form a more uniform fertilizer product, as reasonably suggested by Creamer.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1 March 2024 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant asserts that Kealy fails to disclose, at least, each said granule including about 15% to about 50%, by weight, ground rice hulls. Applicant argues that even assuming that rice hulls could be used in place of soya bean hull meal, it cannot be so simply assumed that the amounts used would be identical. Regardless, however, Kealy also fails to disclose, at least, each said granule including about 20% to about 30%, by weight, ground rice hulls.
The examiner respectfully argues that Chi ‘381 and Chi ‘880 teach that the composite fertilizer contains 20-30 parts rice hull powder. Kealy et al. teach solid fertilizer compositions comprising urea and a bulking agent, such as soya bean hulls and rice hulls. Kealy et al. teach compositions wherein the soya bean hull meal is present in an amount of 775 lbs/ton, or ~38.75% by weight (Examples I and III). The bulking agents provide the additional advantage of allowing formation of a free-flowing mixed fertilizer without a recycle or drying operation even at the relatively high ratio of liquid to solids used when incorporating large amounts of solution into the system (col. 8, ln. 65-70). Thus, Kealy et al. teach that the bulking agents are functionally equivalent, and rice hull could be substituted with the soya bean hull with a reasonable expectation of success.
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to determine through routine experimentation the optimum amount of rice hull powder to include in the composite fertilizer according to Chi ‘381 and Chi ‘880 in view of the amounts taught by Chi ‘381, Chi ‘880 and Kealy et al. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to determine through routine optimization the amount of rice hull powder for preparing the granules of Chi ‘381 and Chi ‘880 and also provide the additional advantage of allowing formation of a free-flowing mixed fertilizer without a recycle or drying operation even at the relatively high ratio of liquid to solids used when incorporating large amounts of solution into the system, as reasonably suggested by Kealy et al.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chi ‘381 (CN 103664381 A) in view of Kealy et al. (US 3,119,683) and Chi ‘880 (CN 103708880 A) in view of Kealy et al. (US 3,119,683) as applied to claims 1-5, 7-8, 10-11, 13-16, 18 and 23 above, further in view of Goertz et al. (US 4,025,329) and Thompson et al. (US 2009/0093368 A1).
The teachings of Chi ‘381, Chi ‘880 and Kealy et al. are discussed above and incorporated herein by reference.
Instant claim 17 states said granule comprises 0.5-4% by weight 2,4-dichlorophenoxy acetic acid (2,4-D), 0.5-1.5% by weight methyl chlorophenoxy propionic acid (MCPP-P), 0.04-0.2% by weight 3,6-dichloro-2-methoxy-benzoic acid (dicamba), or mixtures thereof.
Chi ‘381, Chi ‘880 and Kealy et al. do not explicitly disclose fertilizer compositions comprising 2,4-D, MCPP-P, dicamba or mixtures thereof.
Goertz et al. teach that herbicides are commonly included in fertilizer granules (col. 3, ln. 5-7), but do not explicitly disclose the instantly claimed herbicides.
Thompson et al. teach methylene urea granules coated with the systemic herbicides 2,4-D and MCPP-p ([0004]), [0049]). Example 1 utilizes 1.22% 2,4-D and 0.61% MCPP-p on a fertilizer granule.
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant claims to have included 1.22% 2,4-D and 0.61% MCPP-p on the fertilizer granule of Chi ‘381, Chi ‘880 and Kealy et al. with a reasonable expectation that an effective fertilizer granule having systemic herbicides would result. One would have been motivated to do so as Goertz et al. generally teach one can add herbicides to fertilizer granules and Thompson et al. teach that 2,4-D and MCPP-p are commonly employed herbicides which are compatible with urea formaldehyde and/or methylene urea pesticide granules.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments are the same as above. Therefore, the examiner’s response above is repeated herein.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8, 10-11, 13-18 and 23 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 9,663,412. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are drawn to a fertilizer composition comprising granules comprising a mixture of rice hulls and a urea containing fertilizer. US ‘412 claims that the rice hulls reside within interior regions of the granules, and the instant claims state that the urea containing fertilizer is coated on, adhered on, or impregnated into the rice hulls. US ‘412 also claims that the rice hulls are about 1-50% by weight, or 10-25% by weight, of the granule.
Regarding instant claim 2, US ‘412 claims that the urea containing fertilizer is a urea formaldehyde reaction product fertilizer.
Regarding instant claim 3, US ‘412 claims that the urea containing fertilizer is a methylene urea fertilizer.
Regarding instant claim 4, US ‘412 claims that the urea containing fertilizer is a urea-formaldehyde fertilizer.
Regarding instant claims 5-6, US ‘412 claims that the rice hulls are about 20-70 SGN.
Regarding instant claim 7, US ‘412 claims that the fertilizer composition, when stored over 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, or 8 months, has a reduced crystal aspect ratio compared to a urea containing fertilizer composition not having rice hulls stored under the same conditions.
Regarding instant claim 8, US ‘412 claims the crystal aspect ratio of said fertilizer composition is reduced to a level in a range from about 30:1 to about 4:1.
Regarding instant claim 10, US ‘412 claims said urea formaldehyde reaction product fertilizer has a urea to formaldehyde ratio of about 1.5:1 to about 8:1.
Regarding instant claim 11, US ‘412 claims the fertilizer composition has an average crystal area of urea crystals of less than 60 µm2 formed after 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, or 8 months.
Regarding instant claim 13, US ‘412 claims said granules are about 0.5-5 mm in size.
Regarding instant claim 14, US ‘412 claims further comprising potassium sulfate, ammonium sulfate, 3,6-dichloro-2-methoxy-benzoic acid (dicamba), 2,4-dichlorophenoxy acetic acid (2,4-D), methyl chlorophenoxy propionic acid (MCPP-P), or mixtures thereof.
Regarding instant claim 15, US ‘412 claims said granule comprises 40-60% by weight urea containing fertilizer.
Regarding instant claim 16, US ‘412 claims said granule comprises 10-25% by weight ground rice hulls.
Regarding instant claim 17, US ‘412 claims said granule comprises 0.5-4% by weight 2,4-dichlorophenoxy acetic acid (2,4-D), 0.5-1.5% by weight methyl chlorophenoxy propionic acid (MCPP-P), 0.04-0.2% by weight 3,6-dichloro-2-methoxy-benzoic acid (dicamba), or mixtures thereof.
Regarding instant claim 18, US ‘412 claims the fertilizer composition further comprises additional fertilizer components selected from the group consisting of calcium nitrate, ammonium sulfate, sulfur-coated urea, isobutylidene diurea, ammonium nitrate, ureaform, urea formaldehyde reaction product, urea, anhydrous ammonia, ammonium polyphosphate, monoammonium phosphate, diammonium phosphate, potassium nitrate, potassium sulfate, polymer coated urea, micro elements, mono-ammonium phosphate, potassium chloride, and mixtures thereof, herbicides, micronutrients, biostimulants, macronutrients, inert solid carriers, or mixtures thereof.
Regarding instant claim 23, US ‘412 claims a urea to formaldehyde ratio of about 1.5:1 to about 8:1.
Response to Arguments
Applicant respectfully requests that these rejections be held in abeyance until allowable subject matter has been determined. Therefore, the rejections have been maintained.
Claims 1-8, 10-11, 13-18 and 23 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 10,822,290. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are drawn to a fertilizer composition comprising granules comprising a mixture of rice hulls and a urea containing fertilizer, wherein the urea containing fertilizer is coated on, adhered on, or impregnated into the rice hulls. US ‘290 also claims that the rice hulls are about 1-50% by weight, or 10-25% by weight, of the granule.
Regarding instant claim 2, US ‘290 claims that the urea containing fertilizer is a urea formaldehyde reaction product fertilizer.
Regarding instant claim 3, US ‘290 claims that the urea containing fertilizer is a methylene urea fertilizer.
Regarding instant claim 4, US ‘290 claims that the urea containing fertilizer is a urea-formaldehyde fertilizer.
Regarding instant claims 5-6, US ‘290 claims that the rice hulls are about 20-70 SGN.
Regarding instant claim 7, US ‘290 claims that the fertilizer composition, when stored over 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, or 8 months, has a reduced crystal aspect ratio compared to a urea containing fertilizer composition not having rice hulls stored under the same conditions.
Regarding instant claim 8, US ‘290 claims the crystal aspect ratio of said fertilizer composition is reduced to a level in a range from about 30:1 to about 4:1.
Regarding instant claim 10, US ‘290 claims said urea formaldehyde reaction product fertilizer has a urea to formaldehyde ratio of about 1.5:1 to about 8:1.
Regarding instant claim 11, US ‘290 claims the fertilizer composition has an average crystal area of urea crystals of less than 60 µm2 formed after 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, or 8 months.
Regarding instant claim 13, US ‘290 claims said granules are about 0.5-5 mm in size.
Regarding instant claim 14, US ‘290 claims further comprising potassium sulfate, ammonium sulfate, 3,6-dichloro-2-methoxy-benzoic acid (dicamba), 2,4-dichlorophenoxy acetic acid (2,4-D), methyl chlorophenoxy propionic acid (MCPP-P), or mixtures thereof.
Regarding instant claim 15, US ‘290 claims said granule comprises 40-60% by weight urea containing fertilizer.
Regarding instant claim 16, US ‘290 claims said granule comprises 10-25% by weight ground rice hulls.
Regarding instant claim 17, US ‘290 claims said granule comprises 0.5-4% by weight 2,4-dichlorophenoxy acetic acid (2,4-D), 0.5-1.5% by weight methyl chlorophenoxy propionic acid (MCPP-P), 0.04-0.2% by weight 3,6-dichloro-2-methoxy-benzoic acid (dicamba), or mixtures thereof.
Regarding instant claim 18, US ‘290 claims the fertilizer composition further comprises additional fertilizer components selected from the group consisting of calcium nitrate, ammonium sulfate, sulfur-coated urea, isobutylidene diurea, ammonium nitrate, ureaform, urea formaldehyde reaction product, urea, anhydrous ammonia, ammonium polyphosphate, monoammonium phosphate, diammonium phosphate, potassium nitrate, potassium sulfate, polymer coated urea, micro elements, mono-ammonium phosphate, potassium chloride, and mixtures thereof, herbicides, micronutrients, biostimulants, macronutrients, inert solid carriers, or mixtures thereof.
Regarding instant claim 23, US ‘290 claims a urea to formaldehyde ratio of about 1.5:1 to about 8:1.
Response to Arguments
Applicant respectfully requests that these rejections be held in abeyance until allowable subject matter has been determined. Therefore, the rejections have been maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/N.W.S/Examiner, Art Unit 1616
/Mina Haghighatian/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1616