DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 09/06/2024 has been entered. Claims 1, 6, 11, and 18-20 have been amended. Claims 7-9, 12, 15-17 have been cancelled. Claims 1-6, 10-11, 13-14 and 18-22 are currently pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 10-11, 13-14 and 18-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by SIDON et al. (US 20210176916 A1).
Regarding claim 1, SIDON (Figs. 1-2) discloses a method of controlling a mobile agricultural machine (see Fig. 1, work machine 100), comprising:
receiving a topographic map of a worksite indicative of topographic characteristics of a worksite, wherein the topographic characteristics are based on data collected at a first tine (see SIDON paras. [0041] and [0047] When it is received in the form of a map, that maps variable values to different geographic locations on the field, system 208 illustratively parses that map to identify the values and the corresponding geographic locations. Where the data is raw geo-referenced data, it parses that data as well in order to obtain the same types of values. Similarly, where it receives multiple different maps reflecting multiple different attributes, it processes each of those maps, or each of those sets of a priori data;
receiving supplemental data indicative of characteristics relative to the worksite, the supplemental data collected after the first time, wherein the characteristics relative to the worksite are of a different type than the topographic characteristics (see SIDON paras. [0071] and [0083] For instance, the thematic map maps values representing agronomic conditions to locations on the field. and the map can map variables such a topology, soil type, vegetation index data, vegetation type (such as species, variety, etc.) and/or a wide variety of other variables to the geographic location);
generating a topographic confidence output indicative of a confidence level in the topographic characteristics of the worksite as indicated by the topographic map, based on the topographic map and the supplemental data (see SIDON paras. [0089]-[0091] each point 654 in map 650 maps a variable value (e.g., NDVI values) to a particular location of field 652. In this example, a region 656 of points, referred to as cluster one, is identified as having a high probability of being in a first cluster and a second region 658 of points, referred to as cluster two”, is identified as having a second or next highest probability of being in a second cluster.); and
controlling one or more controllable subsystem of the mobile agriculture machine based on the topographic confidence output (see SIDON paras. [0136]-[0143], [0159]-[0164] and [0175]-[0183] a work machine actuator; [0138] a position sensor configured to sense a geographic position of the work machine on a worksite; [0141] generate a set of clusters based on the variable values and a geospatial control zone constraint; [0142] identify, based on the set of clusters, a plurality of control zones that are correlated to the worksite and have associated setting values; and [0143] generate control signals to control the work machine actuator based on the geographic position of the work machine relative to the plurality of control zones and the setting values associated with the control zones),
the one or more controllable subsystems comprising one or more of: (i) an actuator of the mobile agricultural machine configured to position a component of the mobile agricultural machine relative to a surface of the worksite: (ii) a propulsion subsystem of the mobile agricultural machine configured to control a speed at which the mobile agricultural machine travels over the worksite: or (iii) a steering subsystem of the mobile agricultural configured to control a heading of the mobile agricultural machine as the mobile agricultural machine travels over the worksite (see SIDON paras. [0175]-[0183 and [0103] with reference to FIG. 11, assume the control zones identified at block 686 are based on clusters generated from points 654, for a combine harvester. Here, path 704 has been divided into control zones 720, 724, etc. Further, assume that the corresponding clusters, to which those control zones were assigned, represent different yields of zero to ten bushels per acre (for control zone 720), eleven to twenty bushels per acre (for control zone 724), etc. In that case, for the identified control zones, the sieve actuator 284 in work machine 100 can be actuated so that the bottom sieve values are assigned to the control zones as shown in Table 1 below).
Regarding claim 2, SIDON discloses the claimed invention substantially as explained above. Further, SIDON (Figs. 1-2) discloses wherein generating the topographic confidence output further comprises: determining the confidence level, wherein the confidence level is indicative of a likelihood that the topographic characteristics of the worksite, as indicated by the topographic map, have changed; and generating a representation of the confidence level (see SIDON paras. [0060] FIG. 4 illustrates another example clustering approach using k-means clustering. Using an example k-means clustering approach, the points are hard assigned to one of the clusters, that is each data point is determined to belong to one specific cluster. This results in numerous areas of the field having frequent changes in cluster assignment. To illustrate, FIG. 4 shows a target or projected path 352 of a machine on a field 350. FIG. 4 also shows a legend 351 which illustrates that variable values on the map of field 350 have been clustered into four different value ranges, which are represented by values ranges 1-4 in legend 351. Thus, the variable values have been divided or clustered into four different value ranges based on a criterion (e.g., decile ranges, equal ranges between the low and high values, etc.). As the machine makes a pass over path 352 through field 350, it encounters a number of transitions between clusters 1-4. At each of the cluster boundaries, changes to the machine settings are made based on corresponding control settings. These numerous changes can result in poor machine performance and/or significant wear or deterioration of the machine components and at least para. [0096]).
Regarding claim 3, SIDON discloses the claimed invention substantially as explained above. Further, SIDON (Figs. 1-2) discloses wherein generating the confidence output further comprises: generating a map of the worksite that includes an indication of the confidence level (see SIDON paras. [0060] FIG. 4 illustrates another example clustering approach using k-means clustering. Using an example k-means clustering approach, the points are hard assigned to one of the clusters, that is each data point is determined to belong to one specific cluster. This results in numerous areas of the field having frequent changes in cluster assignment. To illustrate, FIG. 4 shows a target or projected path 352 of a machine on a field 350. FIG. 4 also shows a legend 351 which illustrates that variable values on the map of field 350 have been clustered into four different value ranges, which are represented by values ranges 1-4 in legend 351. Thus, the variable values have been divided or clustered into four different value ranges based on a criterion (e.g., decile ranges, equal ranges between the low and high values, etc.). As the machine makes a pass over path 352 through field 350, it encounters a number of transitions between clusters 1-4. At each of the cluster boundaries, changes to the machine settings are made based on corresponding control settings. These numerous changes can result in poor machine performance and/or significant wear or deterioration of the machine components).
Regarding claim 4, SIDON discloses the claimed invention substantially as explained above. Further, SIDON (Figs. 1-2) discloses wherein generating the topographic confidence output comprises: determining a plurality of confidence levels, wherein each one of the plurality of confidence levels is indicative of a likelihood that the topographic characteristics of a corresponding one of a plurality of geographic locations within the worksite have changed (see SIDON paras. [0089]-[0091] each point 654 in map 650 maps a variable value (e.g., NDVI values) to a particular location of field 652. In this example, a region 656 of points, referred to as cluster one, is identified as having a high probability of being in a first cluster and a second region 658 of points, referred to as cluster two”, is identified as having a second or next highest probability of being in a second cluster).
Regarding claim 5, SIDON discloses the claimed invention substantially as explained above. Further, SIDON (Figs. 1-2) discloses determining a plurality of confidence zones, each one of the confidence zones corresponding to a respective one of the plurality of confidence levels , wherein an operation of the mobile agricultural machine is based on a presence of the mobile agricultural machine in one of the plurality of confidence zones (see SIDON para. [0080] At block 554, control system 218 determines whether the work machine operation is complete. If not, control system 218 continues to detect the position of machine 100 and determines whether machine 100 is approaching a new control zone, upon which the corresponding control signals are generated and used to control machine 100. Also, it is noted that during operation, the process can return to block 502 to reevaluate and/or re-determine the control zones, for example based on in situ data collected by machine 100 during operation).
Regarding claim 6, SIDON discloses the claimed invention substantially as explained above. Further, SIDON (Figs. 1-2) discloses controlling a vehicle to collect additional data corresponding to the worksite, the vehicle different than the mobile agricultural machine characteristics (see SIDON paras. [0055] Therefore, as work machine 100 travels across the field, it may enter different control zones that each have settings values for different work machine actuator(s) 212. The control zones for one work machine actuator 212 may not necessarily correspond to the control zones for another actuator. Therefore, independent, actuator-specific control zones can be generated and settings values can be set for each of those control zones so that control system 218 can, substantially simultaneously, control all of the work machine actuator(s) 212 based upon their individual control zones and individual setting values).
Regarding claim 10, SIDON discloses the claimed invention substantially as explained above. Further, SIDON (Figs. 1-2) discloses controlling an interface mechanism communicably coupled to the mobile agricultural machine to provide an indication of the topographic confidence output (see SIDON paras. [0089]-[0091] each point 654 in map 650 maps a variable value (e.g., NDVI values) to a particular location of field 652. In this example, a region 656 of points, referred to as cluster one, is identified as having a high probability of being in a first cluster and a second region 658 of points, referred to as cluster two”, is identified as having a second or next highest probability of being in a second cluster).
Regarding claim 11, SIDON (Figs. 1-2) discloses a mobile agricultural machine (see Fig. 1, work machine 100) comprising: a control system (se Fig. 2, control system 218) comprising: a topographic confidence system configured to:
receive a topographic map of a worksite that indicates topographic characteristics of the worksite, wherein the topographic characteristics are based on data collected at a first tire (see SIDON paras. [0041] and [0047] When it is received in the form of a map, that maps variable values to different geographic locations on the field, system 208 illustratively parses that map to identify the values and the corresponding geographic locations. Where the data is raw geo-referenced data, it parses that data as well in order to obtain the same types of values. Similarly, where it receives multiple different maps reflecting multiple different attributes, it processes each of those maps, or each of those sets of a priori data;
receive supplemental data indicative of characteristics relative to the worksite, the supplemental data collected after the first time and prior to a time at which the mobile agricultural machine is to perform an operation at the worksite, wherein the characteristics relative to the worksite are of a different type than the topographic characteristics (see SIDON paras. [0071] and [0083] For instance, the thematic map maps values representing agronomic conditions to locations on the field. and the map can map variables such a topology, soil type, vegetation index data, vegetation type (such as species, variety, etc.) and/or a wide variety of other variables to the geographic location);
determine a likelihood that the topographic characteristics of the worksite, as indicated by the topographic map, have changed based on the supplemental data(see SIDON para. [0071] For instance, the thematic map maps values representing agronomic conditions to locations on the field. and the map can map variables such a topology, soil type, vegetation index data, vegetation type (such as species, variety, etc.) and/or a wide variety of other variables to the geographic location);
generate a topographic confidence output indicative of a confidence level in the topographic characteristics of the worksite as indicated by the topographic map, based on the determined likelihood that the topographic characteristic of the worksite, as indicated by the topographic map, have changed (see SIDON paras. [0089]-[0091] each point 654 in map 650 maps a variable value (e.g., NDVI values) to a particular location of field 652. In this example, a region 656 of points, referred to as cluster one, is identified as having a high probability of being in a first cluster and a second region 658 of points, referred to as cluster two”, is identified as having a second or next highest probability of being in a second cluster); and
an action signal generator configured to control one or more controllable subsystems of the agriculture machine based on the topographic confidence output, the one or more controllable subsystems comprising one or more of: (i) an actuator of the mobile agricultural machine configured to position a component of the mobile agricultural machine relative to a surface of the worksite: (ii) a propulsion subsystem of the mobile agricultural machine configured to control a speed at which the mobile agricultural machine travels over the worksite: or (iii) a steering subsystem of the mobile agricultural configured to control a heading of the mobile agricultural machine as the mobile agricultural machine travels over the worksite (see SIDON paras. [0175]-[0183 and [0103] with reference to FIG. 11, assume the control zones identified at block 686 are based on clusters generated from points 654, for a combine harvester. Here, path 704 has been divided into control zones 720, 724, etc. Further, assume that the corresponding clusters, to which those control zones were assigned, represent different yields of zero to ten bushels per acre (for control zone 720), eleven to twenty bushels per acre (for control zone 724), etc. In that case, for the identified control zones, the sieve actuator 284 in work machine 100 can be actuated so that the bottom sieve values are assigned to the control zones as shown in Table 1 below).
Regarding claim 13, SIDON discloses the claimed invention substantially as explained above. Further, SIDON (Figs. 1-2) discloses wherein the topographic confidence output includes a representation of the topographic confidence level (see SIDON paras. [0089]-[0091] each point 654 in map 650 maps a variable value (e.g., NDVI values) to a particular location of field 652. In this example, a region 656 of points, referred to as cluster one, is identified as having a high probability of being in a first cluster and a second region 658 of points, referred to as cluster two”, is identified as having a second or next highest probability of being in a second cluster).
Regarding claim 14, SIDON discloses the claimed invention substantially as explained above. Further, SIDON (Figs. 1-2) discloses wherein the topographic confidence system further comprises: a map generator that generates a map of the worksite that includes an indication of the topographic confidence level (see SIDON paras. [0089]-[0091] each point 654 in map 650 maps a variable value (e.g., NDVI values) to a particular location of field 652. In this example, a region 656 of points, referred to as cluster one, is identified as having a high probability of being in a first cluster and a second region 658 of points, referred to as cluster two”, is identified as having a second or next highest probability of being in a second cluster).
Regarding claim 18, SIDON discloses the claimed invention substantially as explained above. Further, SIDON (Figs. 1-2) discloses wherein the action signal generator is configured to control an interface mechanism to cause the interface mechanism communicably coupled to the mobile agricultural machine, to generate an interface display indicative of the topographic confidence output (see SIDON paras. [0025], [0033] and [0035] FIG. 1 is a partial pictorial, partial block diagram of one example of a work machine 100. Work machine 100 illustratively comprises an agricultural combine harvester (also referred to as combine or harvester 100). It can be seen in FIG. 1 that combine 100 illustratively includes an operator compartment 101, which can have a variety of different operator interface mechanisms, for controlling combine 100).
Regarding claim 19, SIDON discloses the claimed invention substantially as explained above. Further, SIDON (Figs. 1-2) discloses wherein the action signal generator is configured to control an interface mechanism to cause the interface mechanism to provide an indication that directs a human to collect additional data corresponding to the worksite (see SIDON paras. [0025], [0033] and [0035] FIG. 1 is a partial pictorial, partial block diagram of one example of a work machine 100. Work machine 100 illustratively comprises an agricultural combine harvester (also referred to as combine or harvester 100). It can be seen in FIG. 1 that combine 100 illustratively includes an operator compartment 101, which can have a variety of different operator interface mechanisms, for controlling combine 100,).
Regarding claim 20, SIDON (Figs. 1-2) discloses a method of controlling a mobile agricultural machine (see Fig. 1, work machine 100), comprising: receiving a topographic map of a worksite indicative of topographic characteristics of a worksite, wherein the topographic characteristics are based on data collected at a first time (see SIDON paras. [0041] and [0047] When it is received in the form of a map, that maps variable values to different geographic locations on the field, system 208 illustratively parses that map to identify the values and the corresponding geographic locations. Where the data is raw geo-referenced data, it parses that data as well in order to obtain the same types of values. Similarly, where it receives multiple different maps reflecting multiple different attributes, it processes each of those maps, or each of those sets of a priori data;
receiving supplemental data indicative of characteristics relative to the worksite, the supplemental data collected after the first time (see SIDON paras. [0071] and [0083] For instance, the thematic map maps values representing agronomic conditions to locations on the field. and the map can map variables such a topology, soil type, vegetation index data, vegetation type (such as species, variety, etc.) and/or a wide variety of other variables to the geographic location);
determining topographic confidence levels indicative of a likelihood that the topographic characteristics of the worksite, as indicated by the topographic map, have changed, based on the supplemental data (see SIDON para. [0071] For instance, the thematic map maps values representing agronomic conditions to locations on the field. and the map can map variables such a topology, soil type, vegetation index data, vegetation type (such as species, variety, etc.) and/or a wide variety of other variables to the geographic location);
generating a topographic confidence map of the worksite that Indicates the topographic confidence levels at a plurality of geographic locations within the worksite (see SIDON paras. [0089]-[0091] each point 654 in map 650 maps a variable value (e.g., NDVI values) to a particular location of field 652. In this example, a region 656 of points, referred to as cluster one, is identified as having a high probability of being in a first cluster and a second region 658 of points, referred to as cluster two”, is identified as having a second or next highest probability of being in a second cluster); and
controlling one or more controllable subsystems of the mobile agricultural machine based on the presence of the mobile agricultural machine within one of the plurality of geographic locations indicated on the topographic confidence map, the one or more controllable subsystems comprising one or more of: (i) an actuator of the mobile agricultural machine configured to position a component of the mobile agricultural machine relative to a surface of the worksite: (ii) a propulsion subsystem of the mobile agricultural machine configured to control a speed at which the mobile agricultural machine travels over the worksite: or (iii) a steering subsystem of the mobile agricultural configured to control a heading of the mobile agricultural machine as the mobile agricultural machine travels over the worksite (see SIDON paras. [0175]-[0183 and [0103] with reference to FIG. 11, assume the control zones identified at block 686 are based on clusters generated from points 654, for a combine harvester. Here, path 704 has been divided into control zones 720, 724, etc. Further, assume that the corresponding clusters, to which those control zones were assigned, represent different yields of zero to ten bushels per acre (for control zone 720), eleven to twenty bushels per acre (for control zone 724), etc. In that case, for the identified control zones, the sieve actuator 284 in work machine 100 can be actuated so that the bottom sieve values are assigned to the control zones as shown in Table 1 below).
Regarding claim 21, SIDON discloses the claimed invention substantially as explained above. Further, SIDON (Figs. 1-2) discloses wherein the characteristics relative to the worksite comprise one or more of: weather characteristics: event characteristics; environmental characteristics; activity characteristics; soil characteristics; or vegetation characteristics ([0040] Actuator responsiveness sensor 234 can illustratively generate an output indicative of the responsiveness of the work machine actuators 212. By way of example, under certain wear conditions, or under different environmental conditions, the actuators may react more quickly or more slowly. By way of example, when a work machine 100 is beginning an operation, and the weather is relatively cold, some hydraulic actuators may respond more slowly than when the work machine is performing the same operation in relatively warm weather and at least para. [0082]).
Regarding claim 22, SIDON discloses the claimed invention substantially as explained above. Further, SIDON (Figs. 1-2) discloses wherein the characteristics relative to the worksite comprise one or more of: vegetation characteristics, activity characteristics, or event characteristics (see SIDON para. [0083] Accordingly, the map can map variables such a topology, soil type, vegetation index data, vegetation type (such as species, variety, etc.) and/or a wide variety of other variables to the geographic location).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and cited in the PTO-892 form is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/J.W.C/ Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ANGELA Y ORTIZ/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663