DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
This Office action is in response to the amendment of September 30, 2025 which amended claims 10, 22 and 30; and canceled claims 12 and 25.
Claim Objections
Claims 10, 22 and 30 are objected to because of the following informalities: in line 11 of claims 10 and 22, and in line 12 of claim 30, “the” should be inserted before “electronic motor controls”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 10 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Fischer et al (USPAP 2020/0263528).
Fischer et al disclose a compact fracturing system having a pump 136 (see Fig. 3) comprising an electronic system comprising a transformer 232, an electronic motor controller 132 in the form of the rest of the components of the VFD (see Fig. 6 for example) and a housing 202, 220 (see Fig. 4) having the electronic system housed therein. With regards to the newly amended material of “wherein the transformer and electronic motor controls are disposed adjacent to one another within the housing” Fischer discloses this limitation. As shown in Fig. 6 the Medium-Voltage VFD 132 includes a transformer 232. The transformer is part of the VFD system but a transformer does not perform a variable frequency function in its operation. Therefore, the rest of the circuitry which forms the Medium-Voltage VFD and performs the variable frequency function, is adjacent to the transformer, would be considered the “electronic motor controls”.
With regards to claim 22, this claim includes the same limitations as claim 10 with the additional limitation that the housing includes “at least one cable plug-in for transmission of power or communication signals or both). This is taught at 260 in Fig. 6 and Fig. 12, see [0088] at least.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13, 16-18, 25, 27-30, and 32-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fischer et al in view of Bishop (USPAP 2018/0328157).
As set forth above, Fischer et al disclose the fracturing system substantially as claimed. Fischer et al do not disclose that the pump is a quintuplex pump (regarding claims 17 and 28), that the pump truck has a length of 40 feet or less (see Table 1, regarding claims 16, 27 and 30), has a rear mounted power end lube cooler (regarding claims 18, 29, and 33) or a variable speed cooler motor (claims 13, 25 and 32).
Bishop discloses a fracturing system having a drive 120 powering a quintuplex pump (see [0053], 130) having a power end and a fluid end (clearly shown in Fig 14), notes that it is beneficial to make the fluid delivery system be shorter in length (see [0039] and a teaching of a length of 44 ft. see Table 1, regarding claims 16, 27 and 30), discloses a lubrication system including a rear mounted oil cooler (222 cooled by a fan, see Figs. 14 & 16); the cooler cooling the lubrication system oil that is provided to the pump power end (see 0087]).
With regards to claims 16, 27, 30 and 34, it would have been obvious at the time of the effective filing date of the instant application to organize the elements on the pump truck to achieve a pump truck having shorter than normal lengths such as less 40 or 37 feet. It is noted that Bishop at [0039] describes that it is desirable to make mobile fluid delivery systems shorter in length. Given that in Fischer et al an electric motor is used as the power source and because electric motors are more efficient and for the same power and torque delivery are smaller than a gas engine utilized of Bishop it would have been obvious to arrange the parts of Fischer et al on the trailer to realize trailer lengths of 40 or less, or even 37 feet or less. It is noted that the applicant has provided no particular description of the sizing of the elements that allowed the claimed sizing to be achieved. Further, it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japinske, 86 USPQ 70. Please note that in the instant application the applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
At the time of the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to provide a rear mounted lubrication system and a cooler as taught by Bishop to the Fischer et al fracturing pump system in order to provide properly cooled lubrication to the power end of the Fischer et al fracturing pump in order to provide an extended life for the system (making obvious claims 18, 29, and 33). It also would have been obvious (regarding claims 17 and 28) to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the pump of Fischer be a quintuplex pump, as taught by Bishop, in order to provide high power fluid for fracturing.
Lastly, with regards to claims 13, 25 and 32 the examiner previously gave official notice that it is common to have a variable speed fan blowing air over the cooler, which was not challenged. This is taken as an admission that this material is prior art. Therefore, at the time of the effective filing date of the instant application it would have been obvious to include a variable speed fan blowing air over the cooler in order to adjust the cooling ability of the oil cooler and prolong the operating life of the pump.
Claim(s) 11, 23 and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fischer et al in view of Bishop as applied to claims 10, 22 and 30 above, and further in view of Leugemors et al (USPAP 2015/0064027).
As set forth above Fischer et al in view of Bishop discloses the invention substantially as claimed but does not disclose the use of a regulated suction stabilizer. Leugemors et al disclose a pump 102 having a suction stabilizer (200 shown in Fig. 4) that is regulated via the structure/assembly 231, 236 shown in Fig. 8.
At the time of the effective filing date of the application it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a suction stabilizer as taught by Leugemors et al to the reciprocating pump of Fischer et al in view of Bishop in order to reduce pulsation flow in the suction conduit.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed September 30, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues with respect to claim(s) 10, 22 and 30, along with the claims dependent therefrom, that the references do not disclose the invention as set forth because “Fischer discloses that the transformer (232) is a component of the medium-voltage VFD (132).” Respectfully, the Examiner does not find this argument persuasive. As noted in the above rejections, after further review it is found that the Fischer reference specifically teaches of this newly added limitation since as shown in Fig. 6 the Medium-Voltage VFD 132 includes a transformer 232. The transformer is part of the VFD system but a transformer does not perform a variable frequency function in its operation. Therefore, the rest of the circuitry which forms the Medium-Voltage VFD and performs the variable frequency function, is adjacent to the transformer, would be considered the “electronic motor controls”. For the reasons set forth in the above rejections the claims remain rejected in view of the prior art.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHARLES G FREAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746
CGF
October 27, 2025