DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments of August 1, 2025 have been fully considered, but are moot with respect to the Ballif reference (rejections based upon this reference have been withdrawn; see the newly-cited Udagawa reference), and are not persuasive with respect to the previously-cited Dalakos, Gittler, Sharma, and Nakamura references.
Applicant argues that the previously-cited Dalakos, Gittler, Sharma, and Nakamura references fail to disclose the newly-recited combination of limitations of independent Claim 9 (Remarks of August 1, 2025, pages 9-15). However, as explained below in the rejections of Claim 9, either Dalakos in combination with Gittler, or Shibuya in combination with Gittler, render obvious the newly-presented combination of limitations. Sharma and Nakamura teach further limitations of claims which depend from Claim 9.
Therefore, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive, and the previously-cited references remain applicable towards rejections of the present claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 15 recites “a transmitting light source” and “an absorbing light source”, but then recites that they provide or transmit the same light, i.e., light of the second wavelength of light range. Thus, it is unclear whether the claimed light sources are required to be physically separate components or may be the same component, so long as the other requirement of the claim (light passing through the transparent substrate so as to heat the optical coating) is met. For examination, the claim will be treated such that the claimed light sources may be a same component, so long as the other requirement of the claim (light passing through the transparent substrate so as to heat the optical coating) is met.
Claim 21 recites the phrase: “the single optical layer”. However, Claim 1, from which Claim 21 depends does not appear to recite a “single optical layer”. Thus, there is an antecedent basis issue because it is unclear whether the term “single optical layer” of Claim 21 is intended to refer to the optical layer of Claim 1, or is intended to introduce a different optical layer, or intended to introduce a new limitation relating to the word “single”. For examination, the phrase in Claim 21 will be treated as: “the optical layer”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6, 7, 16, 17 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Udagawa, US 2006/0214182 A1, newly-cited.
Regarding independent Claim 1, Udagawa discloses: An optical coating comprising (the Examiner notes that the term “comprising” is an open-ended transitional phrase which permits additional elements or features):
an optical layer (the layer stack shown in FIG. 3 of Udagawa, or a subset thereof, or more specifically layer 205; FIGS. 3, 4 of Udagawa) comprising:
light absorbing material of lanthanum silicon, wherein the light absorbing material absorbs light in a first wavelength of light range for optical heating (layer 205 may comprise a lanthanum-silicon [La--Si] alloy, a material which absorbs at least some visible light; paragraphs [0013], [0028], [0050] and FIGS. 3, 4 of Udagawa); and
a light transmitting material that transmits lights in a second wavelength of light range for optical sensing (layer 205 may comprise a lanthanum-silicon [La--Si] alloy, a material which transmits at least some near-infrared light; paragraphs [0013], [0028], [0050] and FIGS. 3, 4 of Udagawa);
wherein the first wavelength of light range is different from the second wavelength of light range (visible light is different from near-infrared light; paragraphs [0013], [0028], [0050] and FIGS. 3, 4 of Udagawa); and
wherein the first wavelength of light range is a visible wavelength, and the second wavelength of light range is a near infrared wavelength (layer 205 may comprise a lanthanum-silicon [La--Si] alloy, a material which absorbs at least some visible light and transmits at least some near-infrared light; paragraphs [0013], [0028], [0050] and FIGS. 3, 4 of Udagawa; see also paragraphs [0029] and [0036] on pages 6, 8 and 9 of Applicant’s originally-filed specification).
Regarding Claim 6, Udagawa discloses: wherein the light absorbing material is the same as the light transmitting material (layer 205 may comprise a lanthanum-silicon [La--Si] alloy, a material which absorbs at least some visible light and transmits at least some near-infrared light; paragraphs [0013], [0028], [0050] and FIGS. 3, 4 of Udagawa).
Regarding Claim 7, Udagawa discloses: wherein the light absorbing material is different from the light transmitting material (in an alternative characterization of Udagawa, the layer 205 may be identified as the claimed “light absorbing material”, wherein layer 205 may comprise a lanthanum-silicon [La--Si] alloy, a material which absorbs at least some visible light, and several of the other layers shown in FIG. 3 of Udagawa may be identified as possessing the claimed “light absorbing material”, e.g., layer 103b which may comprise gallium nitride, a material which transmits at least some near-infrared light; paragraphs [0013], [0028], [0050], [0055], [0062] and FIGS. 2, 3 of Udagawa).
Regarding Claim 16, Udagawa discloses: A method of using an optical coating comprising: applying the optical coating of claim 1 to a first side of a transparent substrate (layer 205 is applied to layer 204, which is a “window layer” through which visible light emitted from layers 103 may be transmitted; paragraphs [0041], [0049], [0050], [0057], [0062]-[0067] and FIGS. 2, 3 of Udagawa).
Regarding Claim 17, Udagawa discloses: A method of using an apparatus comprising: providing the optical coating of claim 1 to a first side of a transparent substrate to form an apparatus (layer 205 is applied to layer 204, which is a “window layer” through which visible light emitted from layers 103 may be transmitted; paragraphs [0041], [0049], [0050], [0057], [0062]-[0067] and FIGS. 2, 3 of Udagawa); and providing the apparatus to an optical system (connecting a lead wire and molding the assembly with a resin to thereby form a high-luminance LED lamp; paragraph [0068] of Udagawa).
Regarding Claim 21, as best understood [see rejection of Claim 21 above based upon 35 USC 112(b)], Udagawa discloses: wherein the single optical layer is an antireflective coating (layer 205 may comprise a lanthanum-silicon [La--Si] alloy, a material which absorbs at least some visible light and transmits at least some near-infrared light, and thus prevents reflection of both types of light; paragraphs [0013], [0028], [0050] and FIGS. 3, 4 of Udagawa).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 9, 10, 13, 15 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dalakos et al., US 2003/0039847 A1, previously-cited, in view of Gittler et al., US 2015/0109663 A1, previously-cited.
Regarding independent Claim 9, Dalakos discloses: An apparatus comprising (the Examiner notes that the term “comprising” is an open-ended transitional phrase which permits additional elements or features, such as layers in addition to the claimed “single optical layer”):
a transparent substrate having a first side and a second side (multilayered structure 400 may comprise a substrate 420 which has an upper side and a lower side; paragraphs [0034], [0039] and FIG. 4 of Dalakos);
the transparent substrate including a transparent material chosen from tempered glass, polymers, and resins (substrate 420 may be a glass substrate, but is preferably a resinous substrate; paragraphs [0007], [0010]-[0012], [0029], [0030] and FIGS. 4, 6, 7 of Dalakos);
an optical coating directly on the first side of the transparent substrate (the first layer 440 in a plurality of coating layers 440, 460 is directly on the upper side of substrate 420; paragraphs [0032], [0037] and FIG. 4 of Dalakos); and
wherein the optical coating comprises only a single optical layer (the first layer 440 in direct contact with substrate 420 is a single optical layer; paragraphs [0032], [0037] and FIG. 4 of Dalakos) comprising:
a light absorbing material chosen from lanthanum silicon, amorphous silicon, Si:H, Ge, Ge:H, SiGe, and SiGe:H, wherein the light absorbing material absorbs light in a first wavelength of light range for optical heating (amorphous hydrogenated silicon [a-Si:H] may be the first layer [440] in the layer stack, i.e., the layer actually contacting the substrate [420], wherein amorphous hydrogenated silicon [a-Si:H] is known to absorb visible light, and thus necessarily heats up due to such absorption; see Abstract and paragraphs [0005], [0011], [0012], [0032] and FIG. 4 of Dalakos; and see also paragraph [0036] on page 8 and 9 of Applicant’s specification); and
a light transmitting material that transmits lights in a second wavelength of light range for optical sensing (amorphous hydrogenated silicon [a-Si:H] of the first layer [440] in the layer stack is transparent to light in the short wavelength infrared region of the spectrum, wherein a wavelength of interest in this region may be utilized for thermal-optical switching; paragraphs [0003], [0011], [0012], [0029], [0034], [0042] and FIGS. 4, 7 of Dalakos; the Office notes that Applicant’s Claims 6 and 7 convey that the light absorbing material and the light transmitting material may be the same material or different materials);
wherein the first wavelength of light range is different from the second wavelength of light range (visible light is different from short wavelength infrared light; see paragraphs [0011], [0012] of Dalakos; and see also paragraph [0036] on page 8 and 9 of Applicant’s specification); and
wherein the optical coating is either: i) the only coating on the first side of the transparent substrate; or ii) a functional coating is disposed directly on the optical coating (other layers located on the first layer of layers 440 include SiO2 layers 460 [one such layer being directly on the first layer 440] and other amorphous hydrogenated silicon [a-Si:H] layers 440, and also non-periodic layers may be useful as added layers to a basic design included for anti-reflective purposes; paragraphs [0035], [0041] and FIG. 4 of Dalakos).
Dalakos does not appear to explicitly disclose: an internal coating on the second side of the transparent substrate, wherein the internal coating is a broadband anti-reflective coating.
Gittler is related to Dalakos with respect to coated/layered wavelength filtering device.
Gittler teaches: an internal coating on the second side of the transparent substrate, wherein the internal coating is a broadband anti-reflective coating (additional AR [anti-reflection] coatings 3 or 8 may be provided on an inner surface 2.2 [lower surface] of substrate 2, allowing for transmission over a broad range of wavelengths; paragraphs [0003], [0031], [0049], [0050] and FIGS. 3, 4 of Gittler).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the broadband lower-surface anti-reflection coating of Gittler for the substrate of Dalakos because such coating reduces reflection, thereby increasing transmittance in the desired wavelength range, as taught in paragraphs [0003], [0031], [0052]-[0057] and FIGS. 5-7 of Gittler (see also paragraphs [0003], [0035] of primary reference Dalakos, disclosing a broad range of transmissivity such as short wavelength infrared).
Regarding Claim 2, Dalakos-Gittler discloses: wherein the first wavelength of light range is a visible wavelength (amorphous hydrogenated silicon [a-Si:H] is known to absorb visible light; see Abstract and paragraphs [0005], [0011], [0012], [0032] and FIG. 4 of Dalakos; and see also paragraph [0036] on page 8 and 9 of Applicant’s specification); and the second wavelength of light range is a near infrared wavelength (amorphous hydrogenated silicon [a-Si:H] is transparent to light in the short wavelength infrared region of the spectrum, wherein a wavelength of interest in this region may be utilized for thermal-optical switching; paragraphs [0003], [0011], [0012], [0029], [0034], [0042] and FIGS. 4, 7 of Dalakos).
Regarding Claim 10, Dalakos-Gittler discloses: further comprising a functional coating on the optical coating (other layers located on the first layer of layer 440 include SiO2 layers 460 and other amorphous hydrogenated silicon [a-Si:H] layers 440, and also non-periodic layers may be useful as added layers to a basic design included for anti-reflective purposes; paragraphs [0035], [0041] and FIG. 4 of Dalakos).
Regarding Claim 13, Dalakos-Gittler discloses: wherein the transparent substrate is glass (substrate 420 may be a glass substrate, but is preferably a resinous substrate; paragraphs [0007], [0008], [0010]-[0012], [0029], [0030], [0046] and FIGS. 4, 6, 7 of Dalakos).
Regarding Claim 15, as best understood [see rejection of Claim 15 above based upon 35 USC 112(b)], Dalakos-Gittler discloses: An optical system comprising: the apparatus of claim 9; and a transmitting light source for providing light of the second wavelength of light range; and an absorbing light source configured to transmit light of the second wavelength of light range through the transparent substrate so as to heat the optical coating (light is received by the device in at least a range of infrared wavelengths, e.g., from 2000 nm to 2060 nm, wherein the light is not maximally transmitted, and thus will necessarily heat the layers to some extent; paragraphs [0003], [0007], [0035], [0039] and FIG. 7 of Dalakos; the Examiner notes that, as best understood, the present claim language of Claim 15 does not require physically separate, independent light sources for the claimed “absorbing light source” and “transmitting light source”).
Regarding Claim 18, Dalakos-Gittler discloses: A method of using an optical system comprising: positioning the apparatus of claim 9 so that the optical coating receives light from a first wavelength of light range from an absorbing light source and receives light from a second wavelength of light range from a transmitting light source (light which is received by the device is received at more than one wavelength, e.g., at 2000 nm and at 2030 nm, the latter of which may undergo greater transmission relative to absorption and reflection, and note also the use of the device of Dalakos as a bandpass filter, which necessarily indicates that wavelengths outside of a center wavelength [maximum transmitting wavelength] are being received by the device because of the need to filter out such wavelengths; paragraphs [0007], [0035], [0039] and FIG. 7 of Dalakos; the Examiner notes that the present claim language of Claim 18 does not require separate, independent light sources for the claimed “absorbing light source” and “transmitting light source”, nor does the present claim language require the “first wavelength of light range” and “second wavelength of light range” of Claim 18 to correspond to the “first wavelength of light range” and “second wavelength of light range” of Claim 9).
Regarding Claim 19, Dalakos-Gittler discloses: wherein the optical coating of the apparatus is heated by the first wavelength of light from the absorbing light source (light which is received by the plurality of coating layers 440, 460 which is outside of the center wavelength region includes infrared light, is not maximally transmitted, and thus will necessarily heat the layers to some extent; paragraphs [0007], [0035], [0039] and FIGS. 4, 7 of Dalakos).
Regarding Claim 20, Dalakos-Gittler discloses: wherein the heated optical coating defogs the transparent substrate of the apparatus (plurality of coating layers 440, 460 are adjacent to and directly contacting substrate 420 and thus will transfer their heat to substrate 420, thereby preventing and/or reducing moisture accumulation on such substrate; paragraphs [0007], [0035], [0039] and FIGS. 4, 7 of Dalakos).
Claims 4 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shibuya, US 2022/0229215 A1, previously-cited, in view of Gittler et al., US 2015/0109663 A1, previously-cited.
Regarding independent Claim 9, Shibuya discloses: An apparatus comprising (the Examiner notes that the term “comprising” is an open-ended transitional phrase which permits additional elements or features):
a transparent substrate having a first side and a second side (substrate 100 has an upper side and a lower side, such substrate being transmissive to long wavelength infrared radiation received from an object on which it is placed; paragraphs [0020], [0034] and FIG. 1 of Shibuya);
the transparent substrate including a transparent material chosen from tempered glass, polymers, and resins (substrate 100 may comprise plastic; paragraph [0034] and FIG. 1 of Shibuya);
an optical coating directly on the first side of the transparent substrate (porous body 11 comprising base material 111 directly on substrate 100; FIG. 1 of Shibuya); and
wherein the optical coating comprises only a single optical layer (base material 111 of porous body 11 is shown in FIG. 1 of Shibuya as only a single layer) comprising:
a light absorbing material chosen from lanthanum silicon, amorphous silicon, Si:H, Ge, Ge:H, SiGe, and SiGe:H, wherein the light absorbing material absorbs light in a first wavelength of light range for optical heating (germanium [Ge] can be used as the base material 111 of porous body 11 [shown in FIG. 1 of Shibuya as a single layer], such material being absorptive in the visible and near-infrared wavelengths, and thus such absorption causing heat gain; see paragraphs [0022], [0023] and FIG. 1 of Shibuya; and see also paragraph [0034] on page 7 and 8 of Applicant’s specification); and
a light transmitting material that transmits lights in a second wavelength of light range for optical sensing (germanium [Ge] can be used as the base material 111, such material being transmissive in the long wave infrared wavelengths, wherein long wavelengths are used for detection; paragraphs [0002], [0012], [0022], [0023] and FIG. 1 of Shibuya; the Office notes that Applicant’s Claims 6 and 7 convey that the light absorbing material and the light transmitting material may be the same material or different materials); and
wherein the first wavelength of light range is different from the second wavelength of light range (visible and near-infrared wavelengths are different from long wave infrared wavelengths; see paragraphs [0022], [0023] and FIG. 1 of Shibuya; and see also paragraph [0034] on page 7 and 8 of Applicant’s specification);
wherein the optical coating is either: i) the only coating on the first side of the transparent substrate; or ii) a functional coating is disposed directly on the optical coating (base material 111 of porous body 11 is shown in FIG. 1 of Shibuya as only a single layer, but also note that an optional protective layer 57 [which may further function as an antireflection layer] may be added directly on the base material 111; paragraphs [0096], [0097], [0099], [0102] and FIGS. 1, 5 of Shibuya).
Shibuya contemplates the use of an anti-reflective layer (see, e.g., protective layer 57 in FIG. 5 of Shibuya), but does not appear to explicitly disclose: an internal coating on the second side of the transparent substrate, wherein the internal coating is a broadband anti-reflective coating.
Gittler is related to Shibuya with respect to coated/layered wavelength filtering device.
Gittler teaches: an internal coating on the second side of the transparent substrate, wherein the internal coating is a broadband anti-reflective coating (additional AR [anti-reflection] coatings 3 or 8 may be provided on an inner surface 2.2 [lower surface] of substrate 2, allowing for transmission over a broad range of wavelengths; paragraphs [0003], [0031], [0049], [0050] and FIGS. 3, 4 of Gittler).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the broadband lower-surface anti-reflection coating of Gittler for the substrate of Shibuya because such coating reduces reflection, thereby increasing transmittance in the desired wavelength range, as taught in paragraphs [0003], [0031], [0052]-[0057] and FIGS. 5-7 of Gittler (and see also paragraphs [0002], [0008], [0099], [0102] of primary reference Shibuya, disclosing a goal of reducing reflection of wavelengths of light).
Regarding Claim 4, Shibuya-Gittler discloses: wherein the first wavelength of light range is a visible and near infrared wavelength; and the second wavelength of light range is a long wave infrared wavelength (germanium [Ge] can be used as the base material 111, such material being absorptive in the visible and near-infrared wavelengths, and transmissive in the long wave infrared wavelengths; see paragraphs [0022], [0023] and FIG. 1 of Shibuya; and see also paragraph [0034] on page 7 and 8 of Applicant’s specification).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dalakos in view of Gittler and further in view of Sharma, US 2009/0181256 A1, previously-cited.
Regarding Claim 11, Dalakos-Gittler discloses providing additional layers for anti-reflection purposes (non-periodic layers may be useful as added layers to a basic design included for anti-reflective purposes; paragraph [0035] and FIG. 4 of Dalakos).
Dalakos-Gittler does not appear to explicitly disclose a further hydrophilic property of such anti-reflection layers, such that: further comprising a functional coating on the optical coating, wherein the functional coating is a hydrophilic coating.
Sharma is related to Dalakos-Gittler with respect to anti-reflection layers for optical device.
Sharma teaches: further comprising a functional coating on the optical coating, wherein the functional coating is a hydrophilic coating (anti-reflective/hydrophilic coating; FIGS. 1-3 of Sharma).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the hydrophilic coating of Sharma for the device of Dalakos-Gittler because such coating allows water to easily shed therefrom, minimizing reflectance, and may facilitate self-cleaning of the substrate, by inhibiting surface agglomeration of water, as taught in Abstract and paragraph [0026] of Sharma.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dalakos in view of Gittler and further in view of Nakamura et al., US 2019/0196064 A1, previously-cited.
Regarding Claim 12, Dalakos-Gittler discloses providing additional layers for anti-reflection purposes (non-periodic layers may be useful as added layers to a basic design included for anti-reflective purposes; paragraph [0035] and FIG. 4 of Dalakos).
Dalakos-Gittler does not appear to explicitly disclose a further coating to protect such anti-reflection layers, such that: further comprising a functional coating on the optical coating, wherein the functional coating is a hydrophobic coating.
Nakamura is related to Dalakos-Gittler with respect to anti-reflection layers for optical device.
Nakamura teaches: further comprising a functional coating on the optical coating, wherein the functional coating is a hydrophobic coating (fluorocarbon layer 14 is on an upper side of anchor layer 6, and fluorocarbon layer 14 is strongly hydrophobic; paragraphs [0063], [0064] and FIG. 1 of Nakamura).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the hydrophobic coating of Nakamura for the device of Dalakos-Gittler because such coating provides protection to the underlying layers, specifically a great effect of suppressing entry of hydrophilic molecules such as moisture and halogen ions such as chlorine, as taught in paragraph [0064] of Nakamura.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten to include all of the limitations of the base claim.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter.
With respect to Claim 5, although the prior art discloses various apparatus, including:
The prior art does not appear to disclose or suggest the above combination of features further comprising:
Examiner Note – Consider Entirety of References
Although various text and figures of the cited references have been specifically cited in this Office Action to show disclosures and teachings which correspond to specific claim language, Applicant is advised to consider the complete disclosure of each reference, including portions which have not been specifically cited by the Examiner.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to RYAN S DUNNING whose telephone number is 571-272-4879. The examiner can normally be reached Monday thru Friday 10:30AM to 7:00PM Eastern Time Zone. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice
/RYAN S DUNNING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872