DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
The objection to the Specification has been withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendments.
The rejection under section 103 is withdrawn in favor of the following new ground of rejection:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 20-22, 24-27, 30-34, 37, 39-42, 68-72 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over:
U.S. Publication No. 20160090603 based on an application by Carnes et al. (Carnes); or
Lipofectamine 2000 Reagent, 2013, downloaded 29 November 2024 from https://assets.thermofisher.com/TFS-Assets/LSG/manuals/Lipofectamine_2000_Reag_protocol.pdf (Lipofectamine); or
Zuris et al., Nat Biotechnol. 2014 Oct 30;33(1):73–80, newly cited (Zuris);
in view of:
Mahato, Advanced Drug Delivery Reviews 57 (2005) 699 – 712 (Mahato).
Paragraph 180 of Carnes teaches ribonucleoprotein complexes comprising ‘lipoplexes’, which are defined by Carnes as comprising cationic lipids and genetic material, CRISPR components and enhancer peptides.
Carnes specifically contemplates lipid packages including nucleases:
The lipid layer comprises cationic lipids are discussed, see paragraphs 0146+.
Carnes teaches eukaryotic host cells:
Zuris teaches that common cationic lipid nucleic acid transfection reagents can mediate the potent delivery of Cas9:sgRNA nuclease complexes into cultured human cells in media containing 10% serum, see Abstract.
The primary references may not explicitly teach an enhancer element that comprises a polyamine moiety covalently attached to a nuclear localization signal sequence, wherein said polyamine moiety comprises a spermine moiety. However, it is for that proposition that the examiner joins the secondary references which teach eukaryotic transfection and nuclear localization with the recited enhancer elements:
Mahato demonstrates that Lipofectamine is cationic lipid available for gene therapy/editing (2,3-dioleyloxy-N-[2(sperminecarboxamido)ethyl]-N,N-dimethyl-1-propanammonium trifluoroacetate (DOSPA)), see page 700.
In this way, those of ordinary skill could have applied the recited enhancer elements in the manner required and in a predictable fashion for the purposes of obtaining the recited complexes. The primary references teach lipoplexes comprising protein and nucleic acids. The secondary references are added for the proposition that the recited enhancer element is applicable to these complexes. Specifically, Mahato teaches that the particular known technique of using the recited enhancer elements to facilitate transfection and nuclear localization of ribonucleoproteins was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art. In this manner, those of ordinary skill would have recognized that applying the known technique to those methods that utilize transfection of ribonucleoproteins, such as the CRISPR reagents taught by the primary references, would have yielded predictable results. Accordingly, using the recited enhancer elements with the lipoplexes of the primary references to provide a nucleic acid-protein transfection agent would have been prima facie obvious.
Applicant argues that the references fail to teach lipid-based eukaryotic cell transfection in an aqueous solution.
However, Carnes exemplifies particles in Figs. 1A-1D:
Carnes specifically teaches that any silica surface can be optionally modified with biocompatible lipids to increase the colloidal stability of NanoCRISPRs and to facilitate their conjugation with ligands that target particular cells or organelles within the host cell or that promote endosomal escape of NanoCRISPRs upon host cell uptake. (D) Also shown is a schematic of a NanoCRISPR delivery platform (e.g., a protocell or a silica carrier) interacting with the host cell to deliver the biological package. (1) Targeting ligands conjugated to the NanoCRISPR surface can bind to corresponding receptors on the host cell. (2) Binding can trigger receptor-mediated endocytosis of NanoCRISPRs. (3) Endosomes become acidified, which will cause the lipid coating to dissociate from the NanoCRISPR's silica surface, see paragraph 0060.
As outlined above, Zuris teaches that common cationic lipid nucleic acid transfection reagents can mediate the potent delivery of Cas9:sgRNA nuclease complexes into cultured human cells in media containing 10% serum.
Accordingly, lipid-based eukaryotic cell transfection in an aqueous solution was known and is prima facie obvious.
The following is a new ground of rejection, which was necessitated by Applicant’s amendments:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 20-22, 24-27, 30-34, 37, 39-42, 68-72 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The structural criteria of “lipid-based eukaryotic cell transfection composition” is not defined.
Conclusion
/KARL J PUTTLITZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1646