DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the claims filed on 04/27/2026.
Status of Claims: Claims 1-2, 4-8, 11-12, and 14-25 are currently pending and have been examined below. Claims 3, 9-10, and 13 have been cancelled.
Claim Interpretation
In lines 2-3 claim 20, “wherein the kit comprises a plurality of insert cover component elements, and wherein a first of at least two of said plurality of insert cover component elements” is brought to applicant’s attention as the kit seems to comprise at least two insert cover component elements (i.e., (i) the first one is introduced in claim 19; and (ii) the second one introduced in claim 20). Note that the scope of the claims are clear.
Claim Objections
Claims 4, 19, and 24 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In line 3 of claim 4, “the front facing end” should read --the front facing end of the base component--.
In lines 3-4 of claim 19, “the channel and the chamber separated by a first vertical wall” should read --the channel and the chamber separated by a second vertical wall--. This amendment is provided by the examiner as lines 12-13 of claim 19 requires the second vertical wall (wall 41 in figure 1) and the third vertical wall (wall above 56) to be coplanar with each other, and the tip of the first vertical wall is coplanar with the insert component element when the insert component element is attached to the base component which is shown in figure 1 of applicant’s drawings.
Note that without this amendment, the wall separating the channel and chamber (i.e., wall 41) would be interpreted as the first vertical wall which is not coplanar with the insert component element and the second vertical wall would be interpreted as wall 40 which is not coplanar with the third vertical wall.
This amendment also reflects applicant’s interpretation of which wall is first wall, second wall, and the third wall in the remarks filed on 04/27/2026. For the rejection below, the limitation “separated by a first vertical wall” was interpreted as --separated by a second vertical wall--.
In claim 24, “the linear segment” (line 12) should read --a linear segment-- and “the front facing end of the insert cover component” (lines 15-16) should read --a front facing end of the insert cover component--.
Appropriate corrections are required. Above provides non-limiting examples, the applicant(s) must find and correct all issues similar to those discussed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 19 and 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Niemann (EP 1932997) (hereinafter “Niemann”).
Claim 19
(Niemann discloses) A door sill assembly (assembly in figure 31) for a doorway (abstract discloses the invention is directed for usage on doors), the door sill assembly comprising:
a base component (the base of the sill in figure 31) defining a channel and a chamber (Annotated figure 31 below), the channel and the chamber separated by a first vertical wall (as noted in the claim objection above, this was interpreted as the second vertical wall), the channel comprising the first vertical wall and a second vertical wall (Annotated figure 31 below), the chamber comprising a third perpendicular vertical wall and a chamber bottom connecting the third vertical wall and the first vertical wall (Annotated figure 31 below); and
an insert component element (10; figure 31) having a single mating projection (Annotated figure 31 below), the single mating projection received in the channel to secure the insert component element with the base component such that the insert component element is disposed over the channel and the chamber directly against and along a length of the first and second vertical walls (Annotated figure 31 below), and the insert cover component having a horizontal face forming a horizontal surface abuts a tip of the first vertical wall (Annotated figure 31 below), wherein the second vertical wall and the third vertical wall are coplanar (Annotated figure 31 below) and the tip of the first vertical wall is coplanar with the insert component element when the insert component element is attached to the base component (Annotated figure 31 below), wherein an insert component element end has a first slope generally aligned with a second slope of an angled wall (Annotated figure 31 below; note that “aligned” was interpreted as --so as to be parallel-- such that the two slopes are parallel with each other), and wherein the chamber is larger in volume than the channel (this is true as the remaining volume of the chamber is larger than the remaining volume of the channel when the insert component element is inserted to the base component).
Annotated figure 31
Source: American Heritage® Dictionary of the English Language, Fifth Edition. Copyright © 2016 by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Publishing Company. Published by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Publishing Company. All rights reserved.
Claim 24
(Niemann discloses) A door sill (door sill embodiment in figure 35) for an entryway, the door sill comprising:
a base component (Annotated figure 35 below) having an interior end (right end of the base component) and an exterior end (left end of the base component) with a width defined between the interior end and the exterior end (Annotated figure 35 below), the base component having a top surface including an angled segment and an angled edge (Annotated figure 35 below), the angled segment extending directly from the exterior end of the base component towards the interior end of the base component at a first non-zero slope (Annotated figure 35 below), the angled edge extending from an interior end (Annotated figure 35 below) of the angled segment towards the interior end of the base component at a second slope greater than the first non-zero slope (see second slope steeper than the first slope; Annotated figure 35 below; note that “at” was interpreted as --in or near the location of-- such that the angled edge is near the location of the second slope), the base component including a first vertical wall extending downward from an interior end of the angled edge (Annotated figure 35 below) and a second vertical wall spaced apart from the first vertical wall (Annotated figure 35 below), the base component defining lengthwise channel (channel where 50 is inserted) defined between the first vertical wall and the second vertical wall (Annotated figure 35 below); and
an insert cover component (Annotated figure 35 (II) below) having a horizontal face forming a horizontal surface (Annotated figure 35 (II) below) coplanar with the linear segment and with a tip of the first vertical wall (see coplanar relationship of the horizontal face, linear segment, and tip of the first vertical wall in Annotated figure 35 (II) below), removably attachable to the base component over the channel (figure 35), the insert cover component including a single downward facing projection (50) engaged with the first vertical wall and the second vertical wall (figure 35) to removably attach the insert cover component to the base component with the front facing end of the insert cover component (left end of the insert cover component abutting the first vertical wall) abutting the first vertical wall, wherein the tip of the first vertical wall is coplanar with the insert cover component when the insert cover component is attached to the base component (Annotated figure 35 (II) below), wherein an insert cover component end has a first slope (Annotated figure 35 (II) below) generally aligned with a second slope of an angled wall (Annotated figure 35 (II) below; note that “aligned” was interpreted as --so as to be parallel--), and wherein the insert cover component selectable depending on requirements of the entryway (figure 35).
Annotated figure 35
Annotated figure 35 (II)
Claim 25
(Niemann discloses) The door sill of claim 24, wherein the single downward facing projection solely secures the insert cover component into the lengthwise channel and onto the base component (figure 35).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niemann, as applied to claims 19 and 24-25 above, in view of Roberts et al. (US 20180148975) (hereinafter “Roberts”).
Claim 20
(Niemann discloses) A kit (Examiner notes the term “kit” is generally taken to mean a set of unrelated parts, i.e. the parts do not have to be related as in a single retail unit; In view of this the different embodiments of the insert component element 10 of Niemann (figures 30-31 and 32a-f) are part of a kit) comprising the door sill assembly of claim 19 (see rejection in claim 19 above), and a second insert cover component element (insert cover component element in figure 30) having a single mating projection (similar projection as shown in Annotated figure 31 above for the insert cover component element in figure 30), wherein the kit comprises a plurality of insert cover component elements (first insert component element 10 in figure 31 and second insert component element 10 in figure 30; as noted in the claim interpretation above, this was interpreted as two insert component elements), and wherein a first (10 in figure 31) of at least two of said plurality of insert cover component elements combined with the base component forms a different overall shape of the door sill assembly relative to a second (10 in figure 30) of the at least two of said plurality of insert cover component elements combined with the base component (since the two inserts have two different overall shapes, it is taught that combining the first insert with the base component will have a different overall shape than the base component installed with the second insert).
(However, if applicant disagrees regarding the kit rationale presented above, Roberts teaches) a plurality of insert component elements (see insert components in Roberts figures 6 and 14-15) as part of a kit (par. 133 discussing the invention is a kit which comprises a base component figure 3 and insert components in figures 6 and 14-15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the door sill assembly of Niemann such that it is a kit with various insert components as taught by Roberts, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the versatility provided by the kit and the provision of different insert components allowing the assembly to meet different door requirements and needs.
Claim 21
(Niemann, as modified above, discloses) The kit of claim 20, wherein combination of the insert cover component elements (the combination of the two inserts with the base component shown in Annotated figure 31 above and figure 30 respectively) to the base component results in a sill configuration (the sill configuration in Annotated figure 31 above), the sill configuration differing based on the insert cover component element selected from the kit combined with the base component (this is taught since the sill configuration in Annotated figure 31 above is different than the sill configuration in figure 30) such that the sill configuration is suitable for specific of different applications (this is taught due to the different shapes of the two insert cover component elements thus they provide different sill configurations for different applications).
Claim 22
(Niemann, as modified above, discloses) The kit of claim 21, wherein said base component is an extended length base component (see base component in Annotated figure 31 above as an extended length base), and wherein the extended base component is adjustable at included integral notches (Annotated figure 31 above).
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niemann in view of Roberts, as applied in claims 20-22, in further view of Van Camp et al. (US 8567128) (hereinafter “Van Camp”).
Claim 23
(Niemann, as best understood, discloses) The kit of claim 21.
Modified Niemann fails to disclose a jamb boot having integral boot notches.
(However, Van Camp teaches) a jamb boot (470; Van Camp figure 13B-13C) having integral boot notch (the notches underneath 470 one on the right side of 473 where 475 attaches to and another on the left side of 473).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to provide the modified Niemann with the jamb boot of Van Camp, with a reasonable expectation of success, for providing stability and additional support to the door sill assembly such that the jamb boot prevents the base component from sliding.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-2, 4-8, 11-12, and 14-18 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The prior art Jetton et al. (US 9920567) (hereinafter “Jetton”) seems to teach most of the limitations of claim 1.
However, claim 1 was amended to recite:
(i) “a third vertical wall positioned between the second vertical wall and the back facing end” and “the second vertical wall and third vertical wall having a second height and defining a chamber therebetween”; and
(ii) “an insert cover component having a horizontal face forming a horizontal surface coplanar with the linear segment and with a tip of the first vertical wall”
Regarding (i), Jetton does not have a third vertical wall nor does the second vertical wall define a chamber. Jetton simply only have one channel to accommodate the insert cover component.
Regarding (ii), the insert cover component does not have a horizontal face that is coplanar with a linear segment and a tip of the first vertical wall. Although the insert cover component has many horizontal surfaces, none is coplanar with the linear segment that also meets the limitations set forth for the linear segment above.
Examiner has also considered Niemann (EP 1932997) to reject claim 1, however Niemann also fails to meet the limitations set forth in claim 1.
Further modifications such that any of the prior art meets the claim limitations would require hindsight and/or piecemeal rejection such that the examiner has found them unreasonable to apply.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments directed to the claim objections and 112 rejections have been considered.
Applicant's arguments filed on 09/19/2025 have been fully considered but they were found unpersuasive.
Regarding “In particular, claim 19, as amended, requires an insert component element end having a first slope generally aligned with a second slope of an angled wall. Similarly, as amended, claim 24 also requires an insert component element end having a first slope generally aligned with a second slope of an angled wall” and “Compare this to Niemann, where the slopes of the angles are outside the scope of one another and not generally the same slope. Niemann does not disclose or suggest an end of the insert cover component that is generally at the same slope angle as the angled wall portion, as required by the claimed invention”, applicant’s arguments are much narrower than the claimed language. Examiner notes that “aligned” is extremely broad as such it was given its broadest reasonable interpretation as shown in the rejection above. Also, the recitation of “angled wall” is extremely broad as it lacks further definition on what element of the invention it is a part of, therefore the rejection above interpreted the angled wall as part of the insert component. With these reasons, examiner notes that the amendments do not place claims 19-25 in condition for allowance.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PATRICK B. PONCIANO/Examiner, Art Unit 3634
GREGORY J STRIMBU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3634