DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 12/1/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-15 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 53-57393, hereinafter Yabe.
Regarding claim 1, Yabe teaches an environment forming apparatus (figure 1), comprising: an environment forming chamber (item 1) configured to be adjusted to a predetermined environment (page 3, lines 18-20); and a through-hole (item 6a) configured to connect the environment forming chamber to an outside (figure 1) and provided in a wall of the environment forming apparatus (figure 1), an image-capturing device (figure 2) mounted in the through-hole (figure 1); and a main-body-side engagement portion (item 26), wherein the image-capturing device comprises: a camera (item 9); a hood member (item 23) configured to cover surroundings of at least part of the camera (figure 4); an inner tubular member (item 15); an outer tubular member (item 16) configured to cover the inner tubular member (figure 2) and whose one end is closed (item 14 closes the end of item 16); an air blower (item 12) and a coupling member (labeled in figure below), wherein a first ventilation space is formed by an inside of the inner tubular member (figure 2), a second ventilation space is formed between the inner tubular member and the outer tubular member (figure 2), and a gap is formed between a distal end of the inner tubular member (which is only shown in figure 2) and a proximal end of the hood member (as can be seen from the arrows in figures 2 and 4, there is a gap between the end of item 15 (which is only shown in figure 4) and the hood member (which is shown in figure 4)); wherein the camera is disposed in the inner tubular member at a side of the one end with a gap between the camera and the inner wall of the inner tubular member (figure 4), wherein air is to be blown toward the camera by the air blower via one of the first ventilation space and the second ventilation space (page 3, lines 1-3 and figure 2), and is to be exhausted via the other of the first ventilation space and the second ventilation space through the cap between the distal end of the inner tubular member and the proximal end of the hood member (page 3, lines 1-3 and figure 2 and as can be seen from the arrows in figure 4, there are arrows before the hood member and there are arrows within the hood member, thereby indicating that air has gone between the inner tubular member and the hood member as the air has come out of item 9 thereby passing between the distal end of the inner tubular member and the proximal end of the hood member); wherein the camera, the inner tubular member, and the outer tubular member are provided within the through-hole during an environment test performed by the environment forming apparatus (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II), the camera, the inner tubular member and the outer tubular member would be able to be operated while the end of the image-capturing device is in the through-hole and therefore can be present in the through-hole during an environment test performed by the environment forming apparatus), wherein the coupling member includes an image-capturing-device-side engagement portion (the portion circled below which has a larger diameter than the lower part of item 16), and the image-capturing-device-side engagement portion is configured to be engaged with the main-body-side engagement portion from an outside of the wall (when the structure in figure 2 is lowered all of the way into item 1, the image-capturing-device-side engagement portion would engage the main-body-side engagement portion), and wherein the camera, the inner tubular member, and the outer tubular member are fixed within the through-hole by engaging the image-capturing-device-side engagement portion with the main-body-side engagement portion in a state where the camera is inserted into the through-hole (when the structure in figure 2 is lowered all of the way into item 1, the camera, inner and outer tubular member would be fixed (not moving) in the through hole).
Annotated figure 2 from Yabe
Regarding claim 2, Yabe teaches an environment forming apparatus (figure 1), comprising: an environment forming chamber (item 1) configured to be adjusted to a predetermined environment (page 3, lines 18-20); and a through-hole (item 6a) configured to connect the environment forming chamber to an outside (figure 1) and provided in a wall of the environment forming apparatus (figure 1), an image-capturing device mounted in the through-hole (figure 1); and a main-body-side engagement portion (item 26), wherein the image-capturing device comprises (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II) and is taught as item 6a): a camera (item 9); a hood member (item 23) configured to cover surroundings of at least part of the camera (figure 4); an inner tubular member (item 15); an outer tubular member (item 16) configured to cover the inner tubular member (figure 2) and whose one end is closed (item 14 closes the end of item 16); an air blower (item 12); and a coupling member (labeled in figure above), wherein a first ventilation space is formed by an inside of the inner tubular member (figure 2), a second ventilation space is formed between the inner tubular member and the outer tubular member (figure 2) and a gap is formed between a distal end of the inner tubular member (which is only shown in figure 2) and a proximal end of the hood member as can be seen from the arrows in figures 2 and 4, there is a gap between the end of item 15 (which is only shown in figure 4) and the hood member (which is shown in figure 4)), wherein the camera is disposed at a tip-end side of the first ventilation space or the second ventilation space with a gap between the camera and the inner wall of the inner tubular member (figure 4), wherein the air blower is at a position on a base-end side of the first ventilation space or the second ventilation space (figure 2) and air is to be blown toward the camera by the air blower via one of the first ventilation space and the second ventilation space (page 3, lines 1-3 and figure 2), and is to be exhausted via the other of the first ventilation space and the second ventilation space through the gap between distal end of the inner tubular member and the proximal end of the hood member (page 3, lines 1-3 and figure 2 and as can be seen from the arrows in figure 4, there are arrows before the hood member and there are arrows within the hood member, thereby indicating that air has gone between the inner tubular member and the hood member as the air has come out of item 9 thereby passing between the distal end of the inner tubular member and the proximal end of the hood member); wherein the camera, the inner tubular member, and the outer tubular member are provided within the through-hole during an environment test performed by the environment forming apparatus (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II), the camera, the inner tubular member and the outer tubular member would be able to be operated while the end of the image-capturing device is in the through-hole and therefore can be present in the through-hole during an environment test performed by the environment forming apparatus), wherein the coupling member includes an image-capturing-device-side engagement portion (the portion circled below which has a larger diameter than the lower part of item 16), and the image-capturing-device-side engagement portion is configured to be engaged with the main-body-side engagement portion from an outside of the wall (when the structure in figure 2 is lowered all of the way into item 1, the image-capturing-device-side engagement portion would engage the main-body-side engagement portion), and wherein the camera, the inner tubular member, and the outer tubular member are fixed within the through-hole by engaging the image-capturing-device-side engagement portion with the main-body-side engagement portion in a state where the camera is inserted into the through-hole (when the structure in figure 2 is lowered all of the way into item 1, the camera, inner and outer tubular member would be fixed (not moving) in the through hole).
Regarding claim 3, Yabe teaches an environment forming apparatus (figure 1), comprising: an environment forming chamber (item 1) configured to be adjusted to a predetermined environment (page 3, lines 18-20); and a through-hole (item 6a) configured to connect the environment forming chamber to an outside (figure 1) and provided in a wall of the environment forming apparatus (figure 1), an image-capturing device mounted in the through-hole (figure 1); and a main-body-side engagement portion (item 26), wherein the image-capturing device comprises: a camera (item 9); a hood member (item 23) configured to cover surroundings of at least part of the camera (figure 4); an inner tubular member (item 15); an outer tubular member (item 16) configured to cover the inner tubular member (figure 2) and whose one end is closed (item 14 closes the end of item 16); a port (item 19) configured to supply gas from the outside (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II)) and a coupling member (labeled in figure above), wherein a first ventilation space is formed by an inside of the inner tubular member (figure 2), and a second ventilation space is formed between the inner tubular member and the outer tubular member (figure 2), and a gap is formed between a distal end of the inner tubular member (which is only shown in figure 2) and a proximal end of the hood member (as can be seen from the arrows in figures 2 and 4, there is a gap between the end of item 15 (which is only shown in figure 4) and the hood member (which is shown in figure 4)), wherein the camera is disposed in the inner tubular member at a side of the one end with a gap between the camera and the inner wall of the inner tubular member (figure 4), the port (item 19) is disposed at a position connected to the first ventilation space or the second ventilation space (figure 2); wherein the gas supplied from the port is to flow toward the camera via one of the first ventilation space and the second ventilation space (page 3, lines 1-3 and figure 2), and is to be exhausted via the other of the first ventilation space and the second ventilation space through the gap between the distal end of the inner tubular member and the proximal end of the hood member (page 3, lines 1-3 and figure 2 and as can be seen from the arrows in figure 4, there are arrows before the hood member and there are arrows within the hood member, thereby indicating that air has gone between the inner tubular member and the hood member as the air has come out of item 9 thereby passing between the distal end of the inner tubular member and the proximal end of the hood member); wherein the camera, the inner tubular member, and the outer tubular member are provided within the through-hole during an environment test performed by the environment forming apparatus (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II), the camera, the inner tubular member and the outer tubular member would be able to be operated while the end of the image-capturing device is in the through-hole and therefore can be present in the through-hole during an environment test performed by the environment forming apparatus), wherein the coupling member includes an image-capturing-device-side engagement portion (the portion circled below which has a larger diameter than the lower part of item 16), and the image-capturing-device-side engagement portion is configured to be engaged with the main-body-side engagement portion from an outside of the wall (when the structure in figure 2 is lowered all of the way into item 1, the image-capturing-device-side engagement portion would engage the main-body-side engagement portion), and wherein the camera, the inner tubular member, and the outer tubular member are fixed within the through-hole by engaging the image-capturing-device-side engagement portion with the main-body-side engagement portion in a state where the camera is inserted into the through-hole (when the structure in figure 2 is lowered all of the way into item 1, the camera, inner and outer tubular member would be fixed (not moving) in the through hole).
Regarding claim 4, Yabe teaches wherein a transparent member (item 17) is mounted on a tip-end portion (figure 4) and the transparent member has a temperature-raising function (item 17 is put within the furnace and the heat it conducts causes it to have a temperature-raising function).
Regarding claim 5, Yabe teaches wherein a transparent member (item 17) is mounted on a tip-end portion (figure 4) and the transparent member has a temperature-raising function (item 17 is put within the furnace and the heat it conducts causes it to have a temperature-raising function).
Regarding claim 6, Yabe teaches wherein a transparent member (item 17) is mounted on a tip-end portion (figure 4) and the transparent member has a temperature-raising function (item 17 is put within the furnace and the heat it conducts causes it to have a temperature-raising function).
Regarding claim 7, Yabe teaches wherein illumination (item 10) is provided at a tip-end portion or in a vicinity of the tip-end portion (figure 4).
Regarding claim 8, Yabe teaches wherein illumination (item 10) is provided at a tip-end portion or in a vicinity of the tip-end portion (figure 4).
Regarding claim 9, Yabe teaches wherein illumination (item 10) is provided at a tip-end portion or in a vicinity of the tip-end portion (figure 4).
Regarding claim 13, Yabe teaches wherein the coupling member includes an opening (the opening in the first part which has a larger diameter than the lower part of item 16), and wherein the outer tubular member and inner tubular member are inserted into the opening (figure 2)
Regarding claim 14, Yabe teaches wherein the coupling member includes an opening (the opening in the first part which has a larger diameter than the lower part of item 16), and wherein the outer tubular member and inner tubular member are inserted into the opening (figure 2)
Regarding claim 15, Yabe teaches wherein the coupling member includes an opening (the opening in the first part which has a larger diameter than the lower part of item 16), and wherein the outer tubular member and inner tubular member are inserted into the opening (figure 2)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yabe in view of United States Application Publication No. 2009/0091630, hereinafter Bollhorst.
Regarding claim 10, Yabe teaches all limitations of claim 7; however, Yabe fails to teach the illumination is installed in a ring shape with respect to a light-incident portion of the camera.
Bollhorst teaches the concept of using a ring light for a camera so that it provides homogenous illumination to a specific area so that there is an absence of shadow which is important in scientific photography (Bollhorst, paragraph [0003]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made the illumination installed in a ring shape with respect to the light-incident portion of the camera because it would provide a homogenous illumination to a specific area so that there is an absence of shadow which is important in scientific photography (Bollhorst, paragraph [0003]).
Regarding claim 11, Yabe teaches all limitations of claim 8; however, Yabe fails to teach the illumination is installed in a ring shape with respect to a light-incident portion of the camera.
Bollhorst teaches the concept of using a ring light for a camera so that it provides homogenous illumination to a specific area so that there is an absence of shadow which is important in scientific photography (Bollhorst, paragraph [0003]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made the illumination installed in a ring shape with respect to the light-incident portion of the camera because it would provide a homogenous illumination to a specific area so that there is an absence of shadow which is important in scientific photography (Bollhorst, paragraph [0003]).
Regarding claim 12, Yabe teaches all limitations of claim 9; however, Yabe fails to teach the illumination is installed in a ring shape with respect to a light-incident portion of the camera.
Bollhorst teaches the concept of using a ring light for a camera so that it provides homogenous illumination to a specific area so that there is an absence of shadow which is important in scientific photography (Bollhorst, paragraph [0003]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made the illumination installed in a ring shape with respect to the light-incident portion of the camera because it would provide a homogenous illumination to a specific area so that there is an absence of shadow which is important in scientific photography (Bollhorst, paragraph [0003]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/1/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicant’s argument that Yabe fails to teach that the camera is fixed in the through hole and the camera is located within the through-hole is not found persuasive. Firstly, as described above in the rejection, when the structure of item 2 is lowered to the bottom such that the coupling member (labeled in figure above) contacts item 26, this positioning would provide the teaching for the camera being fixing in the through hole as the camera and the rest of the structure of figure 2 would not be moving in the through hole, thereby reading on the limitations of these structures being “fixed.” The fact that Yabe teaches to move the camera and structure up and down within the furnace, doesn’t prevent this same structure from considering to be “fixed” at some point in the opening. The claim doesn’t specify when the camera, inner and outer tubular members are fixed in the through hole and therefore as long as there is some point where these structures are fixed in the through-hole, Yabe would teach these limitations.
Secondly, the claim states that “the camera, the inner tubular member and, and the outer tubular member are fixing within the through-hole” does not mean that the camera itself needs to be in the through-hole, but rather the structure which holds the camera, the inner tubular member and the outer tubular member is fixed within the through-hole. As discussed above, these structures are considered to be “fixed” in the through hole and thereby read on the instant claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW D KRCHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1796