DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 53-57393, hereinafter Yabe.
Regarding claim 1, Yabe teaches an environment forming apparatus (figure 1), comprising: an environment forming chamber (item 1) configured to be adjusted to a predetermined environment (page 3, lines 18-20); and a through-hole (item 6a) configured to connect the environment forming chamber to an outside (figure 1) and provided in a wall of the environment forming apparatus (figure 1), an image-capturing device (figure 2) mounted in the through-hole (figure 1); and a main-body-side engagement portion (item 26), wherein the image-capturing device comprises: a camera (item 9); a hood member (item 23) configured to cover surroundings of at least part of the camera (figure 4); an inner tubular member (item 15); an outer tubular member (item 16) configured to cover the inner tubular member (figure 2) and whose one end is closed (item 14 closes the end of item 16); an air blower (item 12) and a coupling member (labeled in figure below), wherein a first ventilation space is formed by an inside of the inner tubular member (figure 2), a second ventilation space is formed between the inner tubular member and the outer tubular member (figure 2), and a gap is formed between a distal end of the inner tubular member (which is only shown in figure 2) and a proximal end of the hood member (as can be seen from the arrows in figures 2 and 4, there is a gap between the end of item 15 (which is only shown in figure 4) and the hood member (which is shown in figure 4)); wherein the camera is disposed in the inner tubular member at a side of the one end with a gap between the camera and the inner wall of the inner tubular member (figure 4), wherein air is to be blown toward the camera by the air blower via one of the first ventilation space and the second ventilation space (page 3, lines 1-3 and figure 2), and is to be exhausted via the other of the first ventilation space and the second ventilation space through the cap between the distal end of the inner tubular member and the proximal end of the hood member (page 3, lines 1-3 and figure 2 and as can be seen from the arrows in figure 4, there are arrows before the hood member and there are arrows within the hood member, thereby indicating that air has gone between the inner tubular member and the hood member as the air has come out of item 9 thereby passing between the distal end of the inner tubular member and the proximal end of the hood member); wherein the camera, the inner tubular member, and the outer tubular member are provided within the through-hole during an environment test performed by the environment forming apparatus (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II), the camera, the inner tubular member and the outer tubular member would be able to be operated while the end of the image-capturing device is in the through-hole and therefore can be present in the through-hole during an environment test performed by the environment forming apparatus), wherein the coupling member includes an image-capturing-device-side engagement portion (the portion circled below which has a larger diameter than the lower part of item 16), and the image-capturing-device-side engagement portion is configured to be engaged with the main-body-side engagement portion from an outside of the wall (when the structure in figure 2 is lowered all of the way into item 1, the image-capturing-device-side engagement portion would engage the main-body-side engagement portion), and wherein the camera, the inner tubular member, and the outer tubular member are inserted into the through-hole in a state where the image-capturing-device-side engagement portion is engaged with the main-body-side-engagement portion (when the structure in figure 2 is lowered all of the way into item 1, the camera, inner and outer tubular member would have the image-capturing-device-side engagement portion is engaged with the main-body-side-engagement portion), and wherein the camera, the inner tubular member and the outer tubular member are positioned and fixed in the through-hole by a locking engagement in a state where the camera, the inner tubular member and the outer tubular member are inserted into the through-hole (when the structure in figure 2 is lowered all of the way into item 1, the camera, inner and outer tubular member are considered to be in locking engagement with item 1).
Annotated figure 2 from Yabe
Regarding claim 2, Yabe teaches an environment forming apparatus (figure 1), comprising: an environment forming chamber (item 1) configured to be adjusted to a predetermined environment (page 3, lines 18-20); and a through-hole (item 6a) configured to connect the environment forming chamber to an outside (figure 1) and provided in a wall of the environment forming apparatus (figure 1), an image-capturing device mounted in the through-hole (figure 1); and a main-body-side engagement portion (item 26), wherein the image-capturing device comprises (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II) and is taught as item 6a): a camera (item 9); a hood member (item 23) configured to cover surroundings of at least part of the camera (figure 4); an inner tubular member (item 15); an outer tubular member (item 16) configured to cover the inner tubular member (figure 2) and whose one end is closed (item 14 closes the end of item 16); an air blower (item 12); and a coupling member (labeled in figure above), wherein a first ventilation space is formed by an inside of the inner tubular member (figure 2), a second ventilation space is formed between the inner tubular member and the outer tubular member (figure 2) and a gap is formed between a distal end of the inner tubular member (which is only shown in figure 2) and a proximal end of the hood member as can be seen from the arrows in figures 2 and 4, there is a gap between the end of item 15 (which is only shown in figure 4) and the hood member (which is shown in figure 4)), wherein the camera is disposed at a tip-end side of the first ventilation space or the second ventilation space with a gap between the camera and the inner wall of the inner tubular member (figure 4), wherein the air blower is at a position on a base-end side of the first ventilation space or the second ventilation space (figure 2) and air is to be blown toward the camera by the air blower via one of the first ventilation space and the second ventilation space (page 3, lines 1-3 and figure 2), and is to be exhausted via the other of the first ventilation space and the second ventilation space through the gap between distal end of the inner tubular member and the proximal end of the hood member (page 3, lines 1-3 and figure 2 and as can be seen from the arrows in figure 4, there are arrows before the hood member and there are arrows within the hood member, thereby indicating that air has gone between the inner tubular member and the hood member as the air has come out of item 9 thereby passing between the distal end of the inner tubular member and the proximal end of the hood member); wherein the camera, the inner tubular member, and the outer tubular member are provided within the through-hole during an environment test performed by the environment forming apparatus (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II), the camera, the inner tubular member and the outer tubular member would be able to be operated while the end of the image-capturing device is in the through-hole and therefore can be present in the through-hole during an environment test performed by the environment forming apparatus), wherein the coupling member includes an image-capturing-device-side engagement portion (the portion circled below which has a larger diameter than the lower part of item 16), and the image-capturing-device-side engagement portion is configured to be engaged with the main-body-side engagement portion from an outside of the wall (when the structure in figure 2 is lowered all of the way into item 1, the image-capturing-device-side engagement portion would engage the main-body-side engagement portion), and wherein the camera, the inner tubular member, and the outer tubular member are inserted into the through-hole in a state where the image-capturing-device-side engagement portion is engaged with the main-body-side-engagement portion (when the structure in figure 2 is lowered all of the way into item 1, the camera, inner and outer tubular member would have the image-capturing-device-side engagement portion is engaged with the main-body-side-engagement portion), and wherein the camera, the inner tubular member and the outer tubular member are positioned and fixed in the through-hole by a locking engagement in a state where the camera, the inner tubular member and the outer tubular member are inserted into the through-hole (when the structure in figure 2 is lowered all of the way into item 1, the camera, inner and outer tubular member are considered to be in locking engagement with item 1).
Regarding claim 3, Yabe teaches an environment forming apparatus (figure 1), comprising: an environment forming chamber (item 1) configured to be adjusted to a predetermined environment (page 3, lines 18-20); and a through-hole (item 6a) configured to connect the environment forming chamber to an outside (figure 1) and provided in a wall of the environment forming apparatus (figure 1), an image-capturing device mounted in the through-hole (figure 1); and a main-body-side engagement portion (item 26), wherein the image-capturing device comprises: a camera (item 9); a hood member (item 23) configured to cover surroundings of at least part of the camera (figure 4); an inner tubular member (item 15); an outer tubular member (item 16) configured to cover the inner tubular member (figure 2) and whose one end is closed (item 14 closes the end of item 16); a port (item 19) configured to supply gas from the outside (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II)) and a coupling member (labeled in figure above), wherein a first ventilation space is formed by an inside of the inner tubular member (figure 2), and a second ventilation space is formed between the inner tubular member and the outer tubular member (figure 2), and a gap is formed between a distal end of the inner tubular member (which is only shown in figure 2) and a proximal end of the hood member (as can be seen from the arrows in figures 2 and 4, there is a gap between the end of item 15 (which is only shown in figure 4) and the hood member (which is shown in figure 4)), wherein the camera is disposed in the inner tubular member at a side of the one end with a gap between the camera and the inner wall of the inner tubular member (figure 4), the port (item 19) is disposed at a position connected to the first ventilation space or the second ventilation space (figure 2); wherein the gas supplied from the port is to flow toward the camera via one of the first ventilation space and the second ventilation space (page 3, lines 1-3 and figure 2), and is to be exhausted via the other of the first ventilation space and the second ventilation space through the gap between the distal end of the inner tubular member and the proximal end of the hood member (page 3, lines 1-3 and figure 2 and as can be seen from the arrows in figure 4, there are arrows before the hood member and there are arrows within the hood member, thereby indicating that air has gone between the inner tubular member and the hood member as the air has come out of item 9 thereby passing between the distal end of the inner tubular member and the proximal end of the hood member); wherein the camera, the inner tubular member, and the outer tubular member are provided within the through-hole during an environment test performed by the environment forming apparatus (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II), the camera, the inner tubular member and the outer tubular member would be able to be operated while the end of the image-capturing device is in the through-hole and therefore can be present in the through-hole during an environment test performed by the environment forming apparatus), wherein the coupling member includes an image-capturing-device-side engagement portion (the portion circled below which has a larger diameter than the lower part of item 16), and the image-capturing-device-side engagement portion is configured to be engaged with the main-body-side engagement portion from an outside of the wall (when the structure in figure 2 is lowered all of the way into item 1, the image-capturing-device-side engagement portion would engage the main-body-side engagement portion), and wherein the camera, the inner tubular member, and the outer tubular member are inserted into the through-hole in a state where the image-capturing-device-side engagement portion is engaged with the main-body-side-engagement portion (when the structure in figure 2 is lowered all of the way into item 1, the camera, inner and outer tubular member would have the image-capturing-device-side engagement portion is engaged with the main-body-side-engagement portion), and wherein the camera, the inner tubular member and the outer tubular member are positioned and fixed in the through-hole by a locking engagement in a state where the camera, the inner tubular member and the outer tubular member are inserted into the through-hole (when the structure in figure 2 is lowered all of the way into item 1, the camera, inner and outer tubular member are considered to be in locking engagement with item 1).
Regarding claim 4, Yabe teaches wherein a transparent member (item 17) is mounted on a tip-end portion (figure 4) and the transparent member has a temperature-raising function (item 17 is put within the furnace and the heat it conducts causes it to have a temperature-raising function).
Regarding claim 5, Yabe teaches wherein a transparent member (item 17) is mounted on a tip-end portion (figure 4) and the transparent member has a temperature-raising function (item 17 is put within the furnace and the heat it conducts causes it to have a temperature-raising function).
Regarding claim 6, Yabe teaches wherein a transparent member (item 17) is mounted on a tip-end portion (figure 4) and the transparent member has a temperature-raising function (item 17 is put within the furnace and the heat it conducts causes it to have a temperature-raising function).
Regarding claim 7, Yabe teaches wherein illumination (item 10) is provided at a tip-end portion or in a vicinity of the tip-end portion (figure 4).
Regarding claim 8, Yabe teaches wherein illumination (item 10) is provided at a tip-end portion or in a vicinity of the tip-end portion (figure 4).
Regarding claim 9, Yabe teaches wherein illumination (item 10) is provided at a tip-end portion or in a vicinity of the tip-end portion (figure 4).
Regarding claim 13, Yabe teaches wherein the coupling member includes an opening (the opening in the first part which has a larger diameter than the lower part of item 16), and wherein the outer tubular member and inner tubular member are inserted into the opening (figure 2)
Regarding claim 14, Yabe teaches wherein the coupling member includes an opening (the opening in the first part which has a larger diameter than the lower part of item 16), and wherein the outer tubular member and inner tubular member are inserted into the opening (figure 2)
Regarding claim 15, Yabe teaches wherein the coupling member includes an opening (the opening in the first part which has a larger diameter than the lower part of item 16), and wherein the outer tubular member and inner tubular member are inserted into the opening (figure 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 and 13-15 is/are additionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yabe in view of WO 2017/066881, hereinafter Nitheanandan.
Regarding claim 1, Yabe teaches an environment forming apparatus (figure 1), comprising: an environment forming chamber (item 1) configured to be adjusted to a predetermined environment (page 3, lines 18-20); and a through-hole (item 6a) configured to connect the environment forming chamber to an outside (figure 1) and provided in a wall of the environment forming apparatus (figure 1), an image-capturing device (figure 2) mounted in the through-hole (figure 1); and a main-body-side engagement portion (item 26), wherein the image-capturing device comprises: a camera (item 9); a hood member (item 23) configured to cover surroundings of at least part of the camera (figure 4); an inner tubular member (item 15); an outer tubular member (item 16) configured to cover the inner tubular member (figure 2) and whose one end is closed (item 14 closes the end of item 16); an air blower (item 12) and a coupling member (labeled in figure above), wherein a first ventilation space is formed by an inside of the inner tubular member (figure 2), a second ventilation space is formed between the inner tubular member and the outer tubular member (figure 2), and a gap is formed between a distal end of the inner tubular member (which is only shown in figure 2) and a proximal end of the hood member (as can be seen from the arrows in figures 2 and 4, there is a gap between the end of item 15 (which is only shown in figure 4) and the hood member (which is shown in figure 4)); wherein the camera is disposed in the inner tubular member at a side of the one end with a gap between the camera and the inner wall of the inner tubular member (figure 4), wherein air is to be blown toward the camera by the air blower via one of the first ventilation space and the second ventilation space (page 3, lines 1-3 and figure 2), and is to be exhausted via the other of the first ventilation space and the second ventilation space through the cap between the distal end of the inner tubular member and the proximal end of the hood member (page 3, lines 1-3 and figure 2 and as can be seen from the arrows in figure 4, there are arrows before the hood member and there are arrows within the hood member, thereby indicating that air has gone between the inner tubular member and the hood member as the air has come out of item 9 thereby passing between the distal end of the inner tubular member and the proximal end of the hood member); wherein the camera, the inner tubular member, and the outer tubular member are provided within the through-hole during an environment test performed by the environment forming apparatus (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II), the camera, the inner tubular member and the outer tubular member would be able to be operated while the end of the image-capturing device is in the through-hole and therefore can be present in the through-hole during an environment test performed by the environment forming apparatus), wherein the coupling member includes an image-capturing-device-side engagement portion (the portion circled below which has a larger diameter than the lower part of item 16), and the image-capturing-device-side engagement portion is configured to be engaged with the main-body-side engagement portion from an outside of the wall (when the structure in figure 2 is lowered all of the way into item 1, the image-capturing-device-side engagement portion would engage the main-body-side engagement portion), and wherein the camera, the inner tubular member, and the outer tubular member are inserted into the through-hole in a state where the image-capturing-device-side engagement portion is engaged with the main-body-side-engagement portion (when the structure in figure 2 is lowered all of the way into item 1, the camera, inner and outer tubular member would have the image-capturing-device-side engagement portion is engaged with the main-body-side-engagement portion).
However, if it is determined that Yabe fails to teach that the camera, the inner tubular member and the outer tubular member are positioned and fixed in the through-hole by a locking engagement in a state where the camera, the inner tubular member and the outer tubular member are inserted into the through-hole, then Yabe fails to teach this limitation.
Nitheanandan teaches a test device with a camera with a locking mechanism where a tool can be in an unlocked position where the tool can move relative to a conduit and a locked position where the tool is inhibited from moving (Nitheanandan, paragraph [0094]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added a locking mechanism which can fix the tool of the camera because it would be inhibited from moving when the locking mechanism is locked and allowing for movement when the locking mechanism is unlocked (Nitheanandan, paragraph [0094]).
Regarding claim 2, Yabe teaches an environment forming apparatus (figure 1), comprising: an environment forming chamber (item 1) configured to be adjusted to a predetermined environment (page 3, lines 18-20); and a through-hole (item 6a) configured to connect the environment forming chamber to an outside (figure 1) and provided in a wall of the environment forming apparatus (figure 1), an image-capturing device mounted in the through-hole (figure 1); and a main-body-side engagement portion (item 26), wherein the image-capturing device comprises (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II) and is taught as item 6a): a camera (item 9); a hood member (item 23) configured to cover surroundings of at least part of the camera (figure 4); an inner tubular member (item 15); an outer tubular member (item 16) configured to cover the inner tubular member (figure 2) and whose one end is closed (item 14 closes the end of item 16); an air blower (item 12); and a coupling member (labeled in figure above), wherein a first ventilation space is formed by an inside of the inner tubular member (figure 2), a second ventilation space is formed between the inner tubular member and the outer tubular member (figure 2) and a gap is formed between a distal end of the inner tubular member (which is only shown in figure 2) and a proximal end of the hood member as can be seen from the arrows in figures 2 and 4, there is a gap between the end of item 15 (which is only shown in figure 4) and the hood member (which is shown in figure 4)), wherein the camera is disposed at a tip-end side of the first ventilation space or the second ventilation space with a gap between the camera and the inner wall of the inner tubular member (figure 4), wherein the air blower is at a position on a base-end side of the first ventilation space or the second ventilation space (figure 2) and air is to be blown toward the camera by the air blower via one of the first ventilation space and the second ventilation space (page 3, lines 1-3 and figure 2), and is to be exhausted via the other of the first ventilation space and the second ventilation space through the gap between distal end of the inner tubular member and the proximal end of the hood member (page 3, lines 1-3 and figure 2 and as can be seen from the arrows in figure 4, there are arrows before the hood member and there are arrows within the hood member, thereby indicating that air has gone between the inner tubular member and the hood member as the air has come out of item 9 thereby passing between the distal end of the inner tubular member and the proximal end of the hood member); wherein the camera, the inner tubular member, and the outer tubular member are provided within the through-hole during an environment test performed by the environment forming apparatus (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II), the camera, the inner tubular member and the outer tubular member would be able to be operated while the end of the image-capturing device is in the through-hole and therefore can be present in the through-hole during an environment test performed by the environment forming apparatus), wherein the coupling member includes an image-capturing-device-side engagement portion (the portion circled below which has a larger diameter than the lower part of item 16), and the image-capturing-device-side engagement portion is configured to be engaged with the main-body-side engagement portion from an outside of the wall (when the structure in figure 2 is lowered all of the way into item 1, the image-capturing-device-side engagement portion would engage the main-body-side engagement portion), and wherein the camera, the inner tubular member, and the outer tubular member are inserted into the through-hole in a state where the image-capturing-device-side engagement portion is engaged with the main-body-side-engagement portion (when the structure in figure 2 is lowered all of the way into item 1, the camera, inner and outer tubular member would have the image-capturing-device-side engagement portion is engaged with the main-body-side-engagement portion).
However, if it is determined that Yabe fails to teach that the camera, the inner tubular member and the outer tubular member are positioned and fixed in the through-hole by a locking engagement in a state where the camera, the inner tubular member and the outer tubular member are inserted into the through-hole, then Yabe fails to teach this limitation.
Nitheanandan teaches a test device with a camera with a locking mechanism where a tool can be in an unlocked position where the tool can move relative to a conduit and a locked position where the tool is inhibited from moving (Nitheanandan, paragraph [0094]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added a locking mechanism which can fix the tool of the camera because it would be inhibited from moving when the locking mechanism is locked and allowing for movement when the locking mechanism is unlocked (Nitheanandan, paragraph [0094]).
Regarding claim 3, Yabe teaches an environment forming apparatus (figure 1), comprising: an environment forming chamber (item 1) configured to be adjusted to a predetermined environment (page 3, lines 18-20); and a through-hole (item 6a) configured to connect the environment forming chamber to an outside (figure 1) and provided in a wall of the environment forming apparatus (figure 1), an image-capturing device mounted in the through-hole (figure 1); and a main-body-side engagement portion (item 26), wherein the image-capturing device comprises: a camera (item 9); a hood member (item 23) configured to cover surroundings of at least part of the camera (figure 4); an inner tubular member (item 15); an outer tubular member (item 16) configured to cover the inner tubular member (figure 2) and whose one end is closed (item 14 closes the end of item 16); a port (item 19) configured to supply gas from the outside (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II)) and a coupling member (labeled in figure above), wherein a first ventilation space is formed by an inside of the inner tubular member (figure 2), and a second ventilation space is formed between the inner tubular member and the outer tubular member (figure 2), and a gap is formed between a distal end of the inner tubular member (which is only shown in figure 2) and a proximal end of the hood member (as can be seen from the arrows in figures 2 and 4, there is a gap between the end of item 15 (which is only shown in figure 4) and the hood member (which is shown in figure 4)), wherein the camera is disposed in the inner tubular member at a side of the one end with a gap between the camera and the inner wall of the inner tubular member (figure 4), the port (item 19) is disposed at a position connected to the first ventilation space or the second ventilation space (figure 2); wherein the gas supplied from the port is to flow toward the camera via one of the first ventilation space and the second ventilation space (page 3, lines 1-3 and figure 2), and is to be exhausted via the other of the first ventilation space and the second ventilation space through the gap between the distal end of the inner tubular member and the proximal end of the hood member (page 3, lines 1-3 and figure 2 and as can be seen from the arrows in figure 4, there are arrows before the hood member and there are arrows within the hood member, thereby indicating that air has gone between the inner tubular member and the hood member as the air has come out of item 9 thereby passing between the distal end of the inner tubular member and the proximal end of the hood member); wherein the camera, the inner tubular member, and the outer tubular member are provided within the through-hole during an environment test performed by the environment forming apparatus (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II), the camera, the inner tubular member and the outer tubular member would be able to be operated while the end of the image-capturing device is in the through-hole and therefore can be present in the through-hole during an environment test performed by the environment forming apparatus), wherein the coupling member includes an image-capturing-device-side engagement portion (the portion circled below which has a larger diameter than the lower part of item 16), and the image-capturing-device-side engagement portion is configured to be engaged with the main-body-side engagement portion from an outside of the wall (when the structure in figure 2 is lowered all of the way into item 1, the image-capturing-device-side engagement portion would engage the main-body-side engagement portion), and wherein the camera, the inner tubular member, and the outer tubular member are inserted into the through-hole in a state where the image-capturing-device-side engagement portion is engaged with the main-body-side-engagement portion (when the structure in figure 2 is lowered all of the way into item 1, the camera, inner and outer tubular member would have the image-capturing-device-side engagement portion is engaged with the main-body-side-engagement portion).
However, if it is determined that Yabe fails to teach that the camera, the inner tubular member and the outer tubular member are positioned and fixed in the through-hole by a locking engagement in a state where the camera, the inner tubular member and the outer tubular member are inserted into the through-hole, then Yabe fails to teach this limitation.
Nitheanandan teaches a test device with a camera with a locking mechanism where a tool can be in an unlocked position where the tool can move relative to a conduit and a locked position where the tool is inhibited from moving (Nitheanandan, paragraph [0094]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added a locking mechanism which can fix the tool of the camera because it would be inhibited from moving when the locking mechanism is locked and allowing for movement when the locking mechanism is unlocked (Nitheanandan, paragraph [0094]).
Regarding claim 4, Yabe teaches wherein a transparent member (item 17) is mounted on a tip-end portion (figure 4) and the transparent member has a temperature-raising function (item 17 is put within the furnace and the heat it conducts causes it to have a temperature-raising function).
Regarding claim 5, Yabe teaches wherein a transparent member (item 17) is mounted on a tip-end portion (figure 4) and the transparent member has a temperature-raising function (item 17 is put within the furnace and the heat it conducts causes it to have a temperature-raising function).
Regarding claim 6, Yabe teaches wherein a transparent member (item 17) is mounted on a tip-end portion (figure 4) and the transparent member has a temperature-raising function (item 17 is put within the furnace and the heat it conducts causes it to have a temperature-raising function).
Regarding claim 7, Yabe teaches wherein illumination (item 10) is provided at a tip-end portion or in a vicinity of the tip-end portion (figure 4).
Regarding claim 8, Yabe teaches wherein illumination (item 10) is provided at a tip-end portion or in a vicinity of the tip-end portion (figure 4).
Regarding claim 9, Yabe teaches wherein illumination (item 10) is provided at a tip-end portion or in a vicinity of the tip-end portion (figure 4).
Regarding claim 13, Yabe teaches wherein the coupling member includes an opening (the opening in the first part which has a larger diameter than the lower part of item 16), and wherein the outer tubular member and inner tubular member are inserted into the opening (figure 2)
Regarding claim 14, Yabe teaches wherein the coupling member includes an opening (the opening in the first part which has a larger diameter than the lower part of item 16), and wherein the outer tubular member and inner tubular member are inserted into the opening (figure 2)
Regarding claim 15, Yabe teaches wherein the coupling member includes an opening (the opening in the first part which has a larger diameter than the lower part of item 16), and wherein the outer tubular member and inner tubular member are inserted into the opening (figure 2).
Claim(s) 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yabe with or without Nitheanandan in view of United States Application Publication No. 2009/0091630, hereinafter Bollhorst.
Regarding claim 10, Yabe with or without Nitheanandan teach all limitations of claim 7; however, they fail to teach the illumination is installed in a ring shape with respect to a light-incident portion of the camera.
Bollhorst teaches the concept of using a ring light for a camera so that it provides homogenous illumination to a specific area so that there is an absence of shadow which is important in scientific photography (Bollhorst, paragraph [0003]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made the illumination installed in a ring shape with respect to the light-incident portion of the camera because it would provide a homogenous illumination to a specific area so that there is an absence of shadow which is important in scientific photography (Bollhorst, paragraph [0003]).
Regarding claim 11, Yabe with or without Nitheanandan teach all limitations of claim 8; however, they fail to teach the illumination is installed in a ring shape with respect to a light-incident portion of the camera.
Bollhorst teaches the concept of using a ring light for a camera so that it provides homogenous illumination to a specific area so that there is an absence of shadow which is important in scientific photography (Bollhorst, paragraph [0003]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made the illumination installed in a ring shape with respect to the light-incident portion of the camera because it would provide a homogenous illumination to a specific area so that there is an absence of shadow which is important in scientific photography (Bollhorst, paragraph [0003]).
Regarding claim 12, Yabe with or without Nitheanandan teach all limitations of claim 9; however, they fail to teach the illumination is installed in a ring shape with respect to a light-incident portion of the camera.
Bollhorst teaches the concept of using a ring light for a camera so that it provides homogenous illumination to a specific area so that there is an absence of shadow which is important in scientific photography (Bollhorst, paragraph [0003]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made the illumination installed in a ring shape with respect to the light-incident portion of the camera because it would provide a homogenous illumination to a specific area so that there is an absence of shadow which is important in scientific photography (Bollhorst, paragraph [0003]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/17/2024 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., that the camera and tubes are positioned in the upper surface of the furnace container) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). The claim states that the “the camera, the inner tubular member, and the outer tubular member are inserted into the through-hole in a state where the image-capturing-device-side engagement portion is engaged with the main-body-side engagement portion.” However, this recitation does not state that the camera is positioned within the upper surface of the furnace container, but rather can be interpreted that the camera and both tubular members are inserted through the through-hole and that the two engagement portions are engaged with each other. Additionally, the 103 rejection of the claims have multiple points at which the tool can be locked and therefore can be locked when the camera itself is within the through-hole.
Regarding applicant’s argument that lowering the structure all the way cannot correspond to positions and fixes the within the through-hole. As state in the previous paragraph, the camera itself does not need to be positioned inside of the through-hole when the locking occurs but as long as the camera is inserted through the through-hole and then the structure is locked would read on the specified limitations.
Regarding applicant’s argument that the larger-diameter portion contacting the sealing member cannot be considered a locking-engagement is not found persuasive. The applicant has not provided any special definition of locking engagement and therefore as long as the structure when inserted into the through hole would be prevented from moving, this would read on the instant limitations. Therefore, when the structure is inserted into the through hole, it would be considered to be “locked” as it is prevented from moving in certain directions and therefore “locked” in those directions.
The applicant additionally argues that the structure is configured to be raised and lowered into the furnace and therefore if the structure was fixed by a locking engagement this structure would no longer be raised and lowered into the furnace is not found persuasive. Yabe does disclose the raising and lowering of the camera and associated structure; however, this structure could still have a locking engagement which locks the camera and associated structure at specific heights within the furnace and then could be unlocked and allow for movement of the camera and associated structure to move to a different height or removed from the furnace all together and therefore still maintain the functions described in Yabe.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW D KRCHA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1796