DETAILED ACTION
Notice to Applicant
This communication is in response to the amendment filed 7/28/26. Claims 1, 3, 5, 7-12 and 20-30 are pending and will be examined on the merits. Claims 21-30 are new. Claims 13-19 have been canceled.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claim 7 be found allowable, claim 29 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. Similarly, should claim 9 be found allowable, claim 30 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. .When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 7-12 , 20-26, and 29-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mutic et al (US 20110145693 A1) in view of Renne (US 20160213948 A1), and in view further view of Hibbard (US 20190333623 A1).
Claim 1 Mutic teaches a method for archiving radiation therapy records for transmission and review, the method comprising:
receiving a plurality of radiation therapy objects; (par. 10: the viewer of the present invention supports radiation therapy objects and creates a process for transporting multiple medical data objects and their viewing at the receiving locations; par. 32-36:receiving files),
parsing the plurality of radiation therapy objects to articulate a compact radiation therapy dataset; (par. 38-39; par. 41: selection module and selection of objects; par. 68-70- serialization)
analyzing a hierarchical network of links to locate the plurality of radiation therapy objects having viewing data included in the radiation therapy dataset; (par. 30; par. 33; par. 35-36-retreiving data from linked network sources; par. 68-serialization);
for each radiation therapy object included in the plurality of radiation therapy objects, separating the viewing data from plan creation data included in the radiation therapy object; (par. 72; par. 80);
downloading the viewing data as the one or more miniature plan objects; (par. 72-74) and
organizing the one or more miniature plan objects as the compact radiation therapy dataset. (par. 41; par. 83)
generating a directory object including a list of components included in the compact radiation therapy dataset (par. 36-then write the data to a file or set of files in a directory configured to serve as the repository for the data server 110; par. 39-This selection module 80 includes selection of studies, images, contours, treatment plans, treatment plan objects, radiation isodose levels and supporting files from data available in directory listing 81; par. 41-The packaging application 130 may include a grouping capability 83 as illustrated in selection module 80, FIG. 6. When multiple image sets, treatment plans, dose distributions, contours, supporting documents, or other "packageable" information are available, the packaging application 130 may employ grouping of these objects in logical groups based on their relationship in the patient treatment planning or treatment process)
embedding a viewer with the compact radiation therapy dataset, the viewer navigating the directory object to display one or more radiation therapy records included in the compact radiation therapy dataset; and (par. 30, par. 41-packaging application for bundling image, dataset with viewer application; par. 55-The packager application 130 bundles an image file and corresponding data set 145 and the associated data viewer 125 into the self-sufficient self-contained file(s) 5)
writing the compact radiation therapy dataset, the directory object, and the viewer to a portable storage medium. (par. 30-the image transfer system 100 uses a packaging application 130 to bundle the selected image and data set 145 with a viewer application 125, creating a self-sufficient, self-consistent transfer file 5 for transfer to a destination device 1000. For the transfer of the file 5, the image transfer system 100 has a distribution module 155 which allows the file 5 to be stored on an electronic medium that is physically transferred to the destination device or saved and electronically transferred over a computer network. At the destination location, the system and method provide for an end-user operator (EO) 1005 to activate the transferred viewer application, which in turn allows viewing of the transferred images and data as intended by the OO 105 at the originating location; par. 36-write the data to a file or set of files in a directory configured to serve as the repository for the data server 110.);
wherein the compact radiation therapy dataset comprises a radiation therapy plan including one or more miniature plan objects that visualize one or more aspects of a radiation therapy treatment. (par. 16-The proposed application allows visualization and independent manipulation of multiple medical data objects using the bundled viewer application)
Claim 1 further recites: “wherein the parsing comprises compressing the plurality of radiation therapy objects by removing a field or attribute from the plurality of radiation therapy objects that do not affect the visual appearance of the plurality of radiation therapy objects, the field or attribute including a null field”
Mutic does not expressly disclose, but Renne discloses removal of fields or attributes that do not affect the visual appearance of the plurality of radiation therapy objects. (par. 120-121: The “Remove Private Attributes” option is selected by default and will remove attributes that are not found in the DICOM standard dictionary… Note that Patient information burnt into images (such as DRRs) will NOT be removed; Par. 129: Attributes may be added or removed at the study, series or instance level. Right click the tag view and select Add or Remove to insert or remove an attribute. The remove dialog will give you the option of removing all matching attributes within the study, series or instance or just that attribute highlighted) At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system and method of Mutic with the teaching of Renne to include a parsing algorithm which compresses the plurality of radiation therapy objects by removing at least one of fields or attributes from the plurality of radiation therapy objects that do not affect the visual appearance of the plurality of radiation therapy objects. One would have been motivated to include this feature to enhance patient privacy features while not compromising the details of the image objects.
Claim 1 has been further amended to recite: receiving a plurality of radiation therapy objects comprising viewing data and plan creation data; and wherein plan creation data comprises one or more of treatment simulation physics and modeling algorithms, radiation delivery machine-specific physics data and models, computational algorithm modules for creating radiation therapy plans.
Mutic and Renne in combination do not disclose, but Hibbard teaches receiving a plurality of radiation therapy objects comprising viewing data and plan creation data (par. 41- the radiotherapy processing computing system 110 may obtain or communicate planning data 162 from or to a treatment data source 160, such as a data repository used to manage radiotherapy doses and outputs from the treatment device 180. In an example, the treatment data source 160 includes planning data maintained for a plurality of human subjects, including treatment planning parameters (e.g., doses, measurements, treatment parameters) for individual patients at different times); and wherein plan creation data includes treatment simulation physics and modeling algorithms, radiation delivery machine-specific physics data and models, computational algorithm modules for creating radiation therapy plans. (par. 44-45; par. 55-57; par. 63)
At the time of the effective filing data, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify Mutic and Renne in combination with the teaching of Hibbard with the motivation of providing optimal custom-designed radiotherapy plans, and to reach the objective of maximizing radiation treatment at the target volume while minimizing exposure to radiation in surrounding organs and tissue in a predictable and more consistent manor. (Hibbard: par. 2)
claim 3 Mutic teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the miniature plan objects include radiation beam delivery plans, dose plans, dose distribution profiles, and dose statistics. (par. 38; par. 40-41)
claim 5. Mutic discloses the method of claim 1, wherein viewing data includes image data, contour data, delivery beam data, radiation dose data, and other data required to display the one or more radiation therapy records. (par. 38-39)
claims 7 and 29 Mutic teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the hierarchical network of links comprises: patient IDs, study IDs, series IDs, and image IDs. (par. 48; par. 52-the browser 120 is configured to filter the data stored in a database 150 based on patient name, patient ID number, database object type, image series counts, series number, study identifier (ID), study description, study unique identifier (UID), object label, file name, UID, and other similar identifiers.)
claim 8 Mutic teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the viewer comprises a miniaturized executable file having a few dynamically loadable graphics libraries. (par. 38; par. 73-77; par. 79-80)
claims 9 and 30 Mutic teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the viewer presents the compact radiation therapy dataset in a hierarchy that is defined in DICOM standards for radiation therapy practice. (par. 77-This information can be saved as serialized objects or may be saved in its original DICOM data format... The serialized variable data is information that can be changed by the user. The DICOM format also has "presentation state" objects that capture much of this information.)
claim 10. Mutic teaches the method of claim 1, comprising the viewer navigating the itemized directory object to display one or more radiation therapy records comprising: parsing the directory object to aggregate multiple miniature radiation therapy objects into a plan object, wherein the directory object includes a network of external links between the multiple miniature radiation therapy objects and the plan object; (par. 73-77; Tables 1-2); checking data integrity of the compact radiation therapy dataset by verifying every miniature radiation therapy object required visualize the plan object is included in the compact radiation therapy dataset; (par. 72-Because the encoding of the data is by definition serial, it is inherent in any serialization scheme that the extracting one part of the serialized data structure requires that the entire object be read from start to end, and reconstructed. The invention provides for the use of object serialization to ensure that the viewer application at the destination location displays the image and data files as the operator at the origination location intended them to be presented and viewed;) rendering, by the viewer, the plan object using one or more graphics libraries. (par. 54-55; par. 79: using templates to form a self-sufficient self-consistent file(s) 5 for transfer. The self-sufficient self-consistent file(s) 5 for transfer are then stored, transmitted, or transferred as desired.; Fig. 7-8)
claim 11. Mutic teaches the method of claim 10, wherein the directory object further comprises a network of internal links between the components of the compact radiation therapy dataset included in each miniature radiation therapy object and one or more of the multiple miniature radiation therapy objects. (par. 54-55; par. 73-77; Tables 1-2.; Fig. 7-8)
claim 12. Mutic teaches the method of claim 10, wherein the viewer renders the plan object on a laptop, smartphone, tablet, or other personal computer device. (par. 30; par. 39; Fig. 6)
Claim 20. Mutic discloses a radiation therapy archiving system comprising:
a processor (par. 32-33); and
a memory coupled to the processor, (par. 32-33):the memory storing:
a miniaturization agent receiving radiation therapy objects from an object database (par. 10: the viewer of the present invention supports radiation therapy objects and creates a process for transporting multiple medical data objects and their viewing at the receiving locations; par. 32-36:receiving files), wherein the miniaturization agent includes parsing logic and a coder/decoder for generating compact radiation therapy datasets, the parsing logic parsing the radiation therapy objects to articulate a compact radiation therapy dataset (par. 38-39; par. 41: selection module and selection of objects; par. 68-70- serialization)
including one or more miniature plan objects that visualize one or more aspects of a radiation therapy treatment, (par. 16-The proposed application allows visualization and independent manipulation of multiple medical data objects using the bundled viewer application) and
an archiving module generating a directory object including a network of links (par. 30; par. 33; par. 35-36-retreiving data from linked network sources; par. 68-serialization); associating aspects of the miniature plan objects included in the one or more miniature plan objects, (par. 36-then write the data to a file or set of files in a directory configured to serve as the repository for the data server 110; par. 39-This selection module 80 includes selection of studies, images, contours, treatment plans, treatment plan objects, radiation isodose levels and supporting files from data available in directory listing 81; par. 41-The packaging application 130 may include a grouping capability 83 as illustrated in selection module 80, FIG. 6. When multiple image sets, treatment plans, dose distributions, contours, supporting documents, or other "packageable" information are available, the packaging application 130 may employ grouping of these objects in logical groups based on their relationship in the patient treatment planning or treatment process)
wherein the archiving module writes the directory object, the compact radiation therapy dataset, and the miniature viewer to a portable display medium (par. 30-the image transfer system 100 uses a packaging application 130 to bundle the selected image and data set 145 with a viewer application 125, creating a self-sufficient, self-consistent transfer file 5 for transfer to a destination device 1000. For the transfer of the file 5, the image transfer system 100 has a distribution module 155 which allows the file 5 to be stored on an electronic medium that is physically transferred to the destination device or saved and electronically transferred over a computer network. At the destination location, the system and method provide for an end-user operator (EO) 1005 to activate the transferred viewer application, which in turn allows viewing of the transferred images and data as intended by the OO 105 at the originating location; par. 36-write the data to a file or set of files in a directory configured to serve as the repository for the data server 110.);
wherein the parsing logic parses the radiation therapy objects by:
analyzing a hierarchical network of links to locate the radiation therapy objects having viewing data included in the radiation therapy dataset (par. 30; par. 33; par. 35-36-retreiving data from linked network sources; par. 68-serialization);
for each radiation therapy object included in the radiation therapy objects, separating the viewing data from plan creation data included in the radiation therapy object, (par. 72; par. 80);
downloading the viewing data as the one or more miniature plan objects; (par. 72-74) and
organizing the one or more miniature plan objects as the compact radiation therapy dataset. (par. 41; par. 83)
Claim 20 further recites wherein the parsing logic compresses the radiation therapy objects by removing a field or an attribute from the radiation therapy objects that do not affect a visual appearance of the radiation therapy objects, the field or the attribute including a null field, and in the compact radiation therapy dataset;
Mutic does not expressly disclose, but Renne discloses removal of fields or attributes that do not affect the visual appearance of the plurality of radiation therapy objects. (par. 120-121: The “Remove Private Attributes” option is selected by default and will remove attributes that are not found in the DICOM standard dictionary… Note that Patient information burnt into images (such as DRRs) will NOT be removed; Par. 129: Attributes may be added or removed at the study, series or instance level. Right click the tag view and select Add or Remove to insert or remove an attribute. The remove dialog will give you the option of removing all matching attributes within the study, series or instance or just that attribute highlighted) At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system and method of Mutic with the teaching of Renne to include a parsing algorithm which compresses the plurality of radiation therapy objects by removing at least one of fields or attributes from the plurality of radiation therapy objects that do not affect the visual appearance of the plurality of radiation therapy objects. One would have been motivated to include this feature to enhance patient privacy features while not compromising the details of the image objects.
Claim 20 has been further recites: receiving a plurality of radiation therapy objects comprising viewing data and plan creation data; wherein plan creation data comprises one or more of treatment simulation physics and modeling algorithms, radiation delivery machine-specific physics data and models, computational algorithm modules for creating radiation therapy plans.
Mutic and but Renne in combination do not disclose, but Hibbard teaches receiving a plurality of radiation therapy objects comprising viewing data and plan creation data (par. 41- the radiotherapy processing computing system 110 may obtain or communicate planning data 162 from or to a treatment data source 160, such as a data repository used to manage radiotherapy doses and outputs from the treatment device 180. In an example, the treatment data source 160 includes planning data maintained for a plurality of human subjects, including treatment planning parameters (e.g., doses, measurements, treatment parameters) for individual patients at different times); and wherein plan creation data includes treatment simulation physics and modeling algorithms, radiation delivery machine-specific physics data and models, computational algorithm modules for creating radiation therapy plans. (par. 44-45; par. 55-57; par. 63)
At the time of the effective filing data, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify Mutic and Renne in combination with the teaching of Hibbard with the motivation of providing optimal custom-designed radiotherapy plans, and to reach the objective of maximizing radiation treatment at the target volume while minimizing exposure to radiation in surrounding organs and tissue in a predictable and more consistent manor. (Hibbard: par. 2)
Claims 21 Mutic, Renne, and Hibbard in combination disclose the limitations of claim 1 as explained in the rejection of claim 1. Mutic and Renne do not disclose, but Hibbard teaches including a collimator filter field (wherein the field or the attribute includes a collimator filter field or a treatment table angle field: par. 49, par. 61, par. 63 )
Claim 22 Mutic teaches a method, wherein the one or more miniature plan objects exclude the plan creation data. (par. 82-85)
Claim 23 Mutic discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the attribute is related to one of: a dose prescription, a delivery device configuration, a navigation instruction, and patient setup information. (par. 38; par. 43-44; par. 62)
Claim 24. Mutic, Renne, and Hibbard in combination disclose the limitations of claim 20 as explained in the rejection of claim 20. Mutic and Renne do not disclose, but Hibbard teaches including a collimator filter field (wherein the field or the attribute includes a collimator filter field or a treatment table angle field:par. 49, par. 61, par. 63) Claim 25 Mutic teaches a system, wherein the one or more miniature plan objects exclude the plan creation data. (par. 82-85)
Claim 26 Mutic discloses the system of claim 20, wherein the attribute is related to one of: a dose prescription, a delivery device configuration, a navigation instruction, and patient setup information. (par. 38; par. 43-44; par. 62)
Claim(s) 27-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mutic et al (US 20110145693 A1) in view of Wiemker et al ( US 20120081386 A1) and in view further view of Hibbard (US 20190333623 A1)
Claim 27 Mutic teaches a method to archive radiation therapy records for transmission and review, the method comprising:
receiving a plurality of radiation therapy objects, (par. 10: the viewer of the present invention supports radiation therapy objects and creates a process for transporting multiple medical data objects and their viewing at the receiving locations; par. 32-36:receiving files);
parsing the plurality of radiation therapy objects to articulate a compact radiation therapy dataset, (par. 38-39; par. 41: selection module and selection of objects; par. 68-70- serialization), wherein the parsing includes:
analyzing a hierarchical network of links to locate the plurality of radiation therapy objects having the viewing data included in the radiation therapy dataset, (par. 30; par. 33; par. 35-36-retreiving data from linked network sources; par. 68-serialization);
for each radiation therapy object included in the plurality of radiation therapy objects, separating the viewing data from the plan creation data included in the radiation therapy object, (par. 72; par. 80);
downloading the viewing data as one or more miniature plan objects, (par. 72-74) and
organizing the one or more miniature plan objects as the compact radiation therapy dataset; (par. 41; par. 83)
generating a directory object including a list of components included in the compact radiation therapy dataset; (par. 36-then write the data to a file or set of files in a directory configured to serve as the repository for the data server 110; par. 39-This selection module 80 includes selection of studies, images, contours, treatment plans, treatment plan objects, radiation isodose levels and supporting files from data available in directory listing 81; par. 41-The packaging application 130 may include a grouping capability 83 as illustrated in selection module 80, FIG. 6. When multiple image sets, treatment plans, dose distributions, contours, supporting documents, or other "packageable" information are available, the packaging application 130 may employ grouping of these objects in logical groups based on their relationship in the patient treatment planning or treatment process)
embedding a viewer with the compact radiation therapy dataset, the viewer navigating the directory object to display one or more radiation therapy records included in the compact radiation therapy dataset; (par. 30, par. 41-packaging application for bundling image, dataset with viewer application; par. 55-The packager application 130 bundles an image file and corresponding data set 145 and the associated data viewer 125 into the self-sufficient self-contained file(s) 5) and
writing the compact radiation therapy dataset, the directory object, and the viewer to a portable storage medium, (par. 30-the image transfer system 100 uses a packaging application 130 to bundle the selected image and data set 145 with a viewer application 125, creating a self-sufficient, self-consistent transfer file 5 for transfer to a destination device 1000. For the transfer of the file 5, the image transfer system 100 has a distribution module 155 which allows the file 5 to be stored on an electronic medium that is physically transferred to the destination device or saved and electronically transferred over a computer network. At the destination location, the system and method provide for an end-user operator (EO) 1005 to activate the transferred viewer application, which in turn allows viewing of the transferred images and data as intended by the OO 105 at the originating location; par. 36-write the data to a file or set of files in a directory configured to serve as the repository for the data server 110.);
wherein the compact radiation therapy dataset includes a radiation therapy plan with the one or more miniature plan objects that visualize one or more aspects of a radiation therapy treatment. (par. 16-The proposed application allows visualization and independent manipulation of multiple medical data objects using the bundled viewer application)
Claim 27 further recites: “compressing the plurality of radiation therapy objects by removing an image object from the plurality of radiation therapy objects that is not required to display the radiation therapy records, .”
Mutic does not expressly disclose, but Wiemker discloses “compressing the plurality of radiation therapy objects by removing an image object from the plurality of radiation therapy objects that is not required to display the radiation therapy records”. (par. 34: the smoothing operation is a low-pass filtering operation, wherein high frequencies are removed from the image data set. The highest frequency, which can pass this low-pass filter, is defined by the degree of smoothing, and the resolution of the image data set is preferentially reduced such that this highest frequency, which passes the low-pass filter, can still be detected in the image data set under consideration of the Nyquist criterion. This allows further reducing the required computational costs, without removing structural information from the image data set..)
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system and method of Mutic with the teaching of Wiemker to include a parsing algorithm which compresses the plurality of radiation therapy objects by removing imaging data that is not required.” One would have been motivated to include this feature to reduce the required computational costs associated with storage and transmission of image data, without removing structural information from the image data set..
Claim 27 further recites: receiving a plurality of radiation therapy objects comprising viewing data and plan creation data; and wherein the plan creation data including one or more of treatment simulation physics and modeling algorithms, radiation delivery machine-specific physics data and models, or computational algorithm modules for creating radiation therapy plans.
Mutic and Wiemker in combination do not disclose, but Hibbard teaches receiving a plurality of radiation therapy objects comprising viewing data and plan creation data (par. 41- the radiotherapy processing computing system 110 may obtain or communicate planning data 162 from or to a treatment data source 160, such as a data repository used to manage radiotherapy doses and outputs from the treatment device 180. In an example, the treatment data source 160 includes planning data maintained for a plurality of human subjects, including treatment planning parameters (e.g., doses, measurements, treatment parameters) for individual patients at different times); and wherein plan creation data includes treatment simulation physics and modeling algorithms, radiation delivery machine-specific physics data and models, computational algorithm modules for creating radiation therapy plans. (par. 44-45; par. 55-57; par. 63)
At the time of the effective filing data, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify Mutic and Wiemker in combination with the teaching of Hibbard with the motivation of providing optimal custom-designed radiotherapy plans, and to reach the objective of maximizing radiation treatment at the target volume while minimizing exposure to radiation in surrounding organs and tissue in a predictable and more consistent manor. (Hibbard: par. 2)
Claim 28 Mutic teaches the method of claim 27, wherein viewing data includes image data, contour data, delivery beam data, radiation dose data, and other data required to display the one or more radiation therapy records. (par. 38-39)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/28/26 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
(A) Applicant argues that Renne fails to disclose or suggest removing a null field and Renne is completely silent as to any form of a "null field."
The examiner disagrees with applicant’s interpretation of the Renne reference. In response to applicant's argument that the Renne’s DICOM dictionary comparison for determining which fields or attributes will be removed for anonymization, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). Moreover, the Renne reference discloses other ways by which fields or attributes are removed. (par. 120: removing private attributes; par. 129: attributes may be added or removed at the study, series or instance level.”) The Renne reference has been relied upon to disclose the removal of an attribute or field from the RT data.
Applicant’s arguments also suggest that the Renne reference would not apply because the “null” field or attribute would have no value for comparison (i.e. to the DICOM dictionary) . The claim language recites “removing a field or attribute from the plurality of radiation therapy objects that do not affect the visual appearance of the plurality of radiation therapy objects, the field or attribute including a null field.” If applicant’s argument is that a null field is not present, it is unclear what is being “removed” in the applicant’s claim language.
Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive, and the rejection including the Renne reference has been maintained.
(B) Applicant argues that the prior art does not disclose the limitations of the newly added claims.
In response, the examiner has provided additional citations and/or new grounds of rejection to address the new limitations.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Kim et al ( KR 20100119103 A) discloses a system and method for storing and managing radiotherapy information: The radiation treatment information storage management system according to the present invention, an electronic medical record system (EMR) and prescription delivery that stores the medical and prescription information of the patient Through the interface with the patient information recording system including the system (OCS), it receives and stores the patient data and the treatment information of the patient from the patient information recording system, the patient-related image, the patient's radiation treatment planning information, and providing treatment result information to the patient information recording system,
receives and stores medical image information of a patient through an interface with at least one medical imaging device or PACS and transmits radiation treatment data information including data related to the radiation treatment plan of the patient. Generate a radiotherapy image in the form of a three-dimensional image integrated with medical image information and transmit it to the PACS.
Itada (JP 2005110974 A) discloses auxiliary information classified into a hierarchical structure by the auxiliary information management list generation unit 21. For example, the first layer is a patient ID, the second layer is a diagnostic device (diagnostic modality), The incidental information management list is generated based on the study ID corresponding to the photographing method, the third layer is the series ID corresponding to the photographing time phase, and the fourth layer is the image ID corresponding to the photographing position (slice cross-sectional position). (Description of fig. 3)
Zhu et al (US 20130127902 A1)-discloses that removal of the object support from imaging data may be desirable during radiation treatment planning. In that situation, the object support can adversely impact the radiation dose modeling because the object support used during the imaging scan may be different from the object support used during the radiation treatment. Thus it may be advantageous to remove the object support from the imaging data before using the imaging data to plan a radiation treatment. In a further embodiment, a digital object support may then be added to the imaging data to approximate the object support which will be used during radiation treatment, for more accurate planning. (par. 2-3; See also par. 62)
Sjölund (US 20210020296 A1)- discloses methods for the optimization radiotherapy treatment plans. Disclosed are various techniques to generate radiotherapy treatment plans by simplifying a first radiotherapy treatment plan optimization problem into a second radiotherapy optimization problem that is less complex than the first radiotherapy treatment plan optimization problem. Particularly, parameters of the first radiotherapy treatment plan optimization problem are processed to estimate parameters of a second radiotherapy treatment plan optimization problem and a solution to the second radiotherapy treatment plan optimization problem is generated and used to provide the radiotherapy treatment plan.
Ando et al (US 20190318477 A1)-teaches a system and methods for radiation imaging storage, which includes deleting unnecessary imaging data. (par. 223-224)
/Rachel L. Porter/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3626