DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Receipt is acknowledged of applicants’ amendment filed November 4, 2025. Claims 6 and 15 have been canceled without prejudice. Claims 1-5, 7-14 and 16-20 are pending with claims 4, 7, 9, 10, 16, 18 and 19 being previously withdrawn. An action on the merits is as follows.
Applicants’ arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, 11, 14, 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ichinose et al. (US 2012/0041593 A1).
Claims 1 and 11: Ichinose et al. discloses a control system and method for elevator-waiting position of a robotic passenger, where the robotic passenger (autonomous mobile robot 20) does not get on an elevator (cage) if a first-choice position (riding area) is occupied (page 4 paragraph [0077]). The first-choice position is described as either an elevator-waiting position in an elevator car (page 4 paragraph [0067]) or an elevator-waiting position in an elevator-waiting hall outside of an elevator car (page 4 paragraph [0076]). Therefore a detection device detects whether a first-choice elevator-waiting position has been occupied. A position allocation unit is configured to: if the first-choice elevator-waiting position in an elevator-waiting hall outside of an elevator car is not occupied after a continuous available time, determine the first-choice elevator-waiting position as a target elevator-waiting position (riding position 107); and if the first-choice elevator-waiting position has been occupied, determine a candidate elevator-waiting position in the elevator-waiting hall outside of the elevator car as the target elevator-waiting position to change the area for the elevator-waiting position (page 4 paragraph [0074]). The control system for the elevator-waiting position of the robotic passenger is integrated in the elevator control system (page 5 paragraph [0087]). The control system for the elevator-waiting position of the robotic passenger further comprises a device that exposes (presents) the target elevator-waiting position using a distinguishable color (page 6 paragraph [0090]) either in an elevator car or in the elevator-waiting hall outside of the elevator car (page 4 paragraph [0076]).
Claim 5: Ichinose et al. discloses a control system as stated above, where the position allocation unit includes a memory in which a map is stored (page 3 paragraph [0057]). The map comprises a surrounding scene of at least one elevator-waiting hall, a first-choice elevator-waiting position (page 4 paragraph [0076]) and a candidate elevator-waiting position in the at least one elevator-waiting hall when the first-choice elevator-waiting position is to be adjusted (page 4 paragraph [0063]).
Claim 14: Ichinose et al. discloses a control method as stated above, where the robotic passenger is controlled to move to the target elevator-waiting position (page 4 paragraph [0079]).
Claim 17: Ichinose et al. discloses a control method as stated above, where the target elevator-waiting position is exposed using a projection lamp to project the target elevator-waiting position using an illumination tool (page 4 paragraph [0074]).
Claim 20: Ichinose et al. discloses a control method as stated above, where a
designated elevator is assigned based on elevator system information (determination that multiple cages are to almost simultaneously arrive at a floor) (pages 7-8 paragraph [0120]). The first-choice elevator-waiting position is determined corresponding to the designated elevator as the target elevator-waiting position (page 7 paragraph [0110]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, 8, 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Ichinose et al. (US 2012/0041593 A1).
Claims 2 and 12: Ichinose et al. discloses a control system and method where the position allocation unit is configured to issue a prompt if the first-choice elevator-waiting position has been occupied, as stated above. This reference fails to disclose the position allocation unit to further be configured to wait for a specific time if the first-choice elevator-waiting position has been occupied.
However Ichinose et al. further teaches that when the first-choice elevator-waiting position has been occupied, the position allocation unit waits for a specific time (predetermined m seconds) (page 7 paragraph [0109]).
Given the teachings of Ichinose et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the control system and method disclosed in Ichinose et al. with providing the position allocation unit to further be configured to wait for a specific time if the first-choice elevator-waiting position has been occupied. Doing so would allow time for a person to remove himself/herself from the first-choice elevator-waiting position “to avoid danger” as taught in Ichinose et al. (page 4 paragraph [0077]).
Claims 3 and 13: Ichinose et al. discloses a control system and method where a detection device is configured to detect whether a first-choice elevator-waiting position has been occupied; and if the first-choice elevator-waiting position is not occupied, the first-choice elevator-waiting position is determined as a target elevator-waiting position, as stated above. Upon detecting that the first-choice elevator-waiting position has been occupied, the specific time is waited, and the process is repeated when the time from the start of the first-choice elevator-waiting position detection is equal to or longer than the specific time (page 7 paragraph [0109]). After the specific time then, the detection device re-detects whether the first-choice elevator-waiting position has been occupied; if the first- choice elevator-waiting position is not occupied, the first-choice elevator-waiting position is determined as the target elevator-waiting position. If the first-choice elevator-waiting position is still occupied, a candidate elevator-waiting position (first-choice elevator-waiting position is adjusted) is determined as the target elevator-waiting position (page 4 paragraph [0063]).
Claim 8: Ichinose et al. discloses a control system as stated above. This reference fails to disclose the control system for elevator-waiting position of the robotic passenger to comprise a projection lamp form which the target elevator elevator-waiting position is projected.
However Ichinose et al. teaches an embodiment where the robotic passenger includes a projection lamp (illumination tool) from which the target elevator-waiting
position is projected (visually presented) (page 4 paragraph [0074]).
Given the teachings of Ichinose et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the control system disclosed in Ichinose et al. with providing the control system for elevator-waiting position of the robotic passenger to comprise a projection lamp form which the target elevator elevator-waiting position is projected. Doing so would allow a “user [to] grasp the moving range of the [robotic passenger] by the representation of the [target elevator-waiting position], [so] he/she does not enter the riding area to avoid danger” as taught in Ichinose et al. (page 4 paragraph [0077]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Christopher Uhlir/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619 February 3, 2026