DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
The claims filed 1/6/2026 are under consideration in this Office action.
The amendments and arguments presented in the papers filed 1/6/2026 ("Remarks”) entered with the RCE dated 2/9/2026 have been thoroughly considered. The issues raised in the Office action dated 11/12/2025 listed below have been reconsidered as indicated.
a) The rejections of: claim(s) 47-48 and 54-57 under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Cuzick (Lancet Oncol. 2011. 12:245-55); and claim(s) 58-63 under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as obvious over Cuzick (Lancet Oncol. 2011. 12:245-55), are withdrawn because Cuzick is silent regarding CAPRA scores.
b) The rejections of claim(s) 58-63 under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as obvious over Stone (WO 2010/080933 A1), are withdrawn because Stone is silent regarding CAPRA scores.
c) The provisional rejections of claims 47-48 and 54-57 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 64-83 of copending Application No. 17/484,179 (reference application) in view of Lughezzani (European Urology. 2010. 57:562-568) are rendered moot in view of the abandonment of the ‘179 application.
The Examiner’s responses to the Remarks are detailed below in this Office action.
New and modified grounds of rejection necessitated by amendment are detailed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 47-48 and 54-63 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exceptions without significantly more.
The following are new rejections addressing the amendments to the claims.
The claims recite a series of steps and thus are processes, one of the four statutory classes.
The claim(s) recite(s) a step of:
“providing an assessment that the cancer is likely to recur or result in cancer-specific death based on the expression level of the set of marker genes and the patient’s CAPRA score” (claim 47); or
“providing an assessment that the cancer is not likely to recur or result in cancer-specific death based on the expression level of the set of marker genes and the patient’s CAPRA score” (claim 58).
The steps represent an abstract idea in that they: 1) encompass a mental process of “providing” an assessment by reaching a conclusion based on the expression level and the patient’s CAPRA score; and/or 2) encompass the coordination of human activity by having one human “provide” information to another human.
The claims include the following additional limitations of:
(claim 47) assaying cDNA derived from RNA obtained from a prostate cancer tumor sample from a patient with preoperative prostate cancer that has been assigned a Cancer of the Prostate Risk Assessment (CAPRA) score of 0-10, wherein the assaying comprises:
(i) amplifying a set of marker genes in the cDNA, wherein the set of marker genes comprises at least three genes selected from the group consisting of ASF1B, ASPM, BIRC5, BUB1B, C18orf24, CDC2, CDC20, CDCA3, CDCA8, CDKN3, CENPF, CENPM, CEP55, DLGAP5, DTL, FOXM1, KIAA0101, KIF11, KIF20A, MCM10, NUSAPI, ORC6L, PBK, PLK1, PRC1, PTTG1, RAD51, RAD54L, RRM2, TK1, and TOP2A; and
(ii) detecting an expression level of each gene in the set of marker genes by measuring the level of amplified cDNA for each gene in a set of marker genes; or
(claim 58) assaying cDNA derived from RNA obtained from a prostate cancer tumor sample from a patient with preoperative prostate cancer that has been assigned a Cancer of the Prostate Risk Assessment (CAPRA) score of 0-10, wherein the assaying comprises:
(i) amplifying a set of marker genes in the cDNA, wherein the set of marker genes comprises at least three genes selected from the group consisting of ASF1B, ASPM, BIRC5, BUB1B, C18orf24, CDC2, CDC20, CDCA3, CDCA8, CDKN3, CENPF, CENPM,CEP55, DLGAP5, DTL, FOXM1, KIAA0101, KIF11, KIF20A, MCM10, NUSAPI, ORC6L, PBK, PLK1, PRC1, PTTG1, RAD51, RAD54L, RRM2, TK1, and TOP2A; and
(ii) detecting an expression level of each gene in the set of marker genes by measuring the level of amplified cDNA for each gene in a set of marker genes.
The judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application because the claims do not involve:
improvements to the functioning of a computer or to any other technology or technical field;
applying or using the judicial exceptions to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition;
applying the judicial exception with, or by use of, a particular machine; or
effecting a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing.
The claimed limitations add insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exceptions. The additional limitations constitute data gathering.
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the claims encompass using polymerases to amplify and detect DNA which the courts have recognized as well-understood, routine and conventional laboratory activity. See MPEP 2106.05(d). The claims encompass the use of a well-known gene panel in view of the instant specification (e.g., para. 46) and the references of record and the use of any known techniques as described in the instant specification (e.g., para. 49, 54, 56, 142 and 182). The claims do not require anything that is not routine and conventional in the field of measuring and analyzing expression levels.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 48, 56, 59 and 62 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The following are new rejections.
Regarding claims 48 and 59, the claim recites “the set of marker genes comprises at least four test genes”. It is unclear what distinguishes the “at least three genes” from the “at least four test genes” when selected from the recited group. It is unclear if the claim further limits the “at least three genes” to “at least four” or if the claim requires at least 7 genes, “at least three genes” and “at least four test genes”.
Regarding claims 56 and 62, the claims each recite “the Gleason score”. The recitation lacks proper antecedent basis in view of the amendments to independent claims 47 and 58.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(a) the invention was known or used by others in this country, or patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country, before the invention thereof by the applicant for a patent.
Claim(s) 47-48 and 54-63 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated by Cooperberg (Meeting Abstract: 2012 Genitourinary Cancers Symposium. February 10, 2012).
Regarding claims 47-48 and 54-63, Cooperberg teaches analyzing the expression of 31 CCP genes and CAPRA scores and making assessments of a prostate cancer patients likelihood of recurrence.
The ordinary artisan would recognize that determining the expression levels of the CCP genes involves making cDNA from RNA and detecting the levels of expression.
The ordinary artisan would recognize the “31 CCP genes” are the same 31 genes recited in the claims.
Claim(s) 47-48 and 54-63 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated by Cooperberg (The Journal of Urology. May 23, 2012. 187(4S):e580).
Regarding claims 47-48 and 54-63, Cooperberg teaches analyzing the expression of 31 CCP genes and CAPRA scores and making assessments of a prostate cancer patients likelihood of recurrence.
The expression of the CCP genes is determined as described by Cooperberg by extracting RNA from paraffin-embedded RP specimens and converted to cDNA and the CCP genes were amplified and quantified in triplicate, and the CCP score was calculated as the normalized average of CCP gene expression.
The ordinary artisan would recognize the “31 CCP genes” are the same 31 genes recited in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim(s) 47, 48, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62 and 63 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Cuzick (Lancet Oncol. 2011. 12:245-55; previously cited) in view of Lughezzani (European Urology. 2010. 57:562-568).
The following are new rejections necessitated by the amendments to the claims.
Regarding claims 47, 48, 54, 55, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61 and 63, Cuzick teaches generating RNA and corresponding cDNA from prostate tissue (p. 247, Gene expression).
The cDNA was used to assay for the expression of the recited genes of the claims, i.e., CCP genes (p. 246, CCP gene selection). CCP genes includes each of the recited genes of the claims. Expression was determined using amplification based TaqMan assays (p. 248).
Cuzick teaches providing an assessment of risk of recurrence or non-recurrence of prostate cancer based on a score that based on the expression of the CCP genes, PSA levels, tumor stage, Gleason score and margin status.
Regarding claims 56 and 62, Cuzick teaches a Gleason score of 7 based on primary and second Gleason scores of 3+4 or 4+3 (p. 249).
Cuzick does not specifically teach the CARPA score of the prostate cancer patient that provided the RNA is known or providing an assessment based on the CARPA score.
However, Lughezzani teaches CARPA scores were known and are validated to assess a risk of prostate cancer recurrence.
Regarding claims 47 and 58, Lughezzani teaches that CARPA scores have a scale of 0 to 10 (p. 563, 2.3. Statistical evaluation). Lughezzani teaches the CARPA scores are based on PSA strata, Gleason sum strata, clinical tumour stage groupings, percentage of positive cores, and patient age (p. 563, 1. Introduction).
It would have been prima facie obvious to have modified the provided assessments of Cuzick based on CCP gene expression and CARPA scores. Cuzick provided assessments based on PSA levels, tumor stage, Gleason score and margin status, which as factors considered in a CARPA score. Thus, a CARPA score and those factors considered by Cuzick are based on overlapping factors. One would have been motivated to use the CARPA score in combination with the CCP gene expression levels because CARPA scores are used and validated as being able to provide prostate cancer recurrence assessments to patients. There is a reasonable expectation of success as Cuzick takes into consideration factors that contribute to the CARPA score and would provide the user with a more holistic view of the prostate cancer patient’s status.
Double Patenting
Claims 47-48 and 54-57 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. 10,876,164 B2 in view of Lughezzani (European Urology. 2010. 57:562-568).
The following are new rejections necessitated by amendments to the claims.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. The difference lies in the description the patient from which the prostate sample was obtained.
However, Lughezzani teaches an analysis that produces a CARPA score as described in the above rejections.
It would have been obvious to apply the gene expression analysis and CARPA score to the prostate cancer patients in order to provide an assessment.
The additional elements of the ‘164 patent are encompassed by the full scope of the present claims based on the use of the open term “comprising” in the preamble.
Claims 47-48 and 54-57 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. 10,954,568 B2 in view of Lughezzani (European Urology. 2010. 57:562-568).
The following are new rejections necessitated by amendments to the claims.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. The difference lies in the description the patient from which the prostate sample was obtained.
However, Lughezzani teaches an analysis that produces a CARPA score as described in the above rejections.
It would have been obvious to apply the gene expression analysis and CARPA score to the prostate cancer patients in order to provide an assessment.
The additional elements of the ‘568 patent are encompassed by the full scope of the present claims based on the use of the open term “comprising” in the preamble.
Claims 47-48 and 54-57 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 10,519,513 B2 in view of Lughezzani (European Urology. 2010. 57:562-568).
The following are new rejections necessitated by amendments to the claims.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. The difference lies in the description the patient from which the prostate sample was obtained.
However, Lughezzani teaches an analysis that produces a CARPA score as described in the above rejections.
It would have been obvious to apply the gene expression analysis and CARPA score to the prostate cancer patients in order to provide an assessment.
The additional elements of the ‘513 patent are encompassed by the full scope of the present claims based on the use of the open term “comprising” in the preamble.
Claims 47-48 and 54-57 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 11,174,517 B2 in view of Lughezzani (European Urology. 2010. 57:562-568).
The following are new rejections necessitated by amendments to the claims.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. The difference lies in the description the patient from which the prostate sample was obtained.
However, Lughezzani teaches an analysis that produces a CARPA score as described in the above rejections.
It would have been obvious to apply the gene expression analysis and CARPA score to the prostate cancer patients in order to provide an assessment.
The additional elements of the ‘517 patent are encompassed by the full scope of the present claims based on the use of the open term “comprising” in the preamble.
Claims 58-63 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 27, 30-34 and 37-39 of copending Application No. 17/678,357 (reference application).
The following are new rejections necessitated by amendments to the claims.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 47-48 and 54-57 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 27, 30-34 and 37-39 of copending Application No. 17/678,357 (reference application) in view of Lughezzani (European Urology. 2010. 57:562-568).
The following are new rejections necessitated by amendments to the claims.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. The difference lies in the description the patient from which the prostate sample was obtained.
However, Lughezzani teaches an analysis that produces a CARPA score as described in the above rejections.
It would have been obvious to apply the gene expression analysis and CARPA score to the prostate cancer patients in order to provide an assessment.
The additional elements of the ‘357 application are encompassed by the full scope of the present claims based on the use of the open term “comprising” in the preamble.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 47-48 and 54-57 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 38-45 of copending Application No. 16/664,216 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
The difference lies in the steps of “obtaining” a preoperative concentration of PSA and a Gleason score.
However, obtaining PSA levels and Gleason scores for prostate cancer patients, such as those encompassed by claim 27 of the ‘216 application, is well-known and routine.
It would have been prima facie obvious to have modified the methods of the ‘216 claims to include the steps of obtaining a preoperative concentration of PSA and a Gleason score, as it is routinely done for prostate cancer patients.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to the traversal of the double patenting rejections
The Remarks argue the rejections did not address the amended limitations of the claims (p. 7).
The rejections have been reconsidered and new rejections necessitated by amendments are described above.
The Remarks argue the rejections over the ‘179, ‘357 and ’216 should be withdrawn if the other rejections of record are overcome because they were filed later than the present application (p. 7-8).
The rejections have been maintained. Once allowable subject is identified, the rejections will be reconsidered.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
/JOSEPH G. DAUNER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1682