DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 120 as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 16784758, 16822993, 17098355, fail to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. The prior filed applications do not provide support for “each protrusive flange has . . . a concave-to-convex curvature from the base toward the most cranial point wherein a convex portion of the concave-to-convex curvature is configured to engage the convex curvature of the drive flange when in a rest position” as recited in claims 1, 19, and 20.
Accordingly, Claims 1-23 are not entitled to the benefit of the prior applications. Claims 1-23 will have an effective filing date of 11/14/2020.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “driver flange protruding laterally outward” of Claims 1, 19, and 20 must be shown or the feature canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 21 are are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Luco (US 2016/0015556 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Luco discloses a mandibular repositioning device comprising
a maxillary piece (Fig. 1) comprising a tooth covering [0037 lines 1-3] having a driver flange (32) protruding laterally outward (Fig. 1)[0038] on a right side proximate a backmost teeth mold and/or on a left side proximate a backmost teeth mold, each driver flange having an anterior side with a convex curvature (see annotated Fig. 12, the driver flanges have two portions of convex curvature on the top and bottom of the anterior side),
a mandibular piece (Fig. 6) comprising a tooth covering having a protrusive flange (132) extending cranially therefrom positioned to have a posterior side engaged with the anterior side of each driver flange (Figs. 12-13), the posterior side of each protrusive flange (132) has a base and a most cranial point, and has a concave-to-convex curvature from the base toward the most cranial point (annotated Fig. 12),
where a convex portion (annotated Fig. 12) of the concave-to convex curvature engages the convex curvature of the driver flange (annotated Fig. 12) when in a rest position, a position of the mandible at which there is no stress on the temporo-mandibular joint (as described in Luco [0042-0043], Figs. 12 and 13 show the arrangement of the device when it is configured to push forward the mandible. When a patient’s jaw is in a rest position the back of 132 would not be against the flat part of the driver flange 32 as shown in Figs. 12 and 13. Depending on a patient’s anatomy, the convex portion (annotated Fig. 12) of the protrusive flange would abut the convex top or bottom of the driver flange (annotated Fig. 12) when a patient relaxes the jaw so as to have no pressure on the temporo-mandibular joint),
where downward movement of the mandibular piece moves the convex portion of the posterior side of the protrusive flange along and in contact with the convex curvature of the driver flange, thereby moving a user’s mandible for gradual arcuate incremental forward mandibular movement (When the device is moved downward from the position seen in Figs. 12 and 13, the convex portion (annotated Fig. 12) of the protrusive flange (132) will move along and in contact with the convex tops and bottom of the driver flange (32)), which passively increases the cross-sectional area of the user’s airway (the device of Luco has the structure as described to push a mandible forward, thereby opening the airway. This is clear in the problem solved by Luco [0033 final sentence]).
Regarding Claim 21, Luco discloses a device where the tooth covering of each of the maxillary piece and the mandibular piece is configured to cover one or more teeth of a user (Fig. 13 [0010 final 3 lines, 0011 lines 4-6]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luco (US 2016/0015556 A1).
Claim 6, Luco teaches device as claimed in claim 1, but does not explicitly teach that the protrusive flange and the driver flange are configured to be positioned to place an engagement point of the convex portion of the concave-to convex curvature with the convex curvature of the driver flange at a midpoint length that is at half the lineal distance from a vertical axis at the front of the incisors (incisor vertical axis) to a point on a parallel vertical axis aligned with the temporo-mandibular joint (TMJ) at rest (TMJ vertical axis) as required.
However, Luco teaches wherein the protrusive flange (132) and driver flange (32) are configured to be positioned over the cupids or pre-molars [0033, 0042]. Therefore the specific location of the protrusive flange and drive flange along the vertical axis at the front of the incisors to a point on a parallel vertical axis aligned with the TMJ is a result effective variable, optimized dependent on the state of occlusion of a patient and their specific anatomy.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the location of the convex portion of the concave-to convex curvature with the convex curvature of the driver flange at rest to be flange at a midpoint length that is at half the lineal distance from a vertical axis at the front of the incisors (incisor vertical axis) to a point on a parallel vertical axis aligned with the temporo-mandibular joint (TMJ) at rest (TMJ vertical axis) as required, as such a modification would merely involve the optimization of a result effective variable which has been held to be within the skill of the ordinary artisan obtained through routine experimentation in determining optimum results (see MPEP 2144.05(II)(A)).
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luco (US 2016/0015556 A1) in view of Palmisano (US 6,604,527 B1).
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Luco discloses the device as claimed in claim 1, but does not disclose that the protrusive flange is removably replaceably attached to the mandibular piece (claim 2), and that the driver flange is removably replaceably attached to the maxillary piece (claim 3).
Palmisano teaches a protrusive flange (144) and a driver flange (132) that are removably replaceably attached to a mandibular and maxillary piece [col. 7 lines 27-34].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to cause the device of Luco to include the protrusive flange and the driver flange removably replaceably attached to the mandibular and maxillary piece as doing so combines known prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include a removable cover as taught by Palmisano to the driver flange 32 and protrusive flange 132 of Luco as it allows for the device to be reconfigured which allows for the flanges to be placed over the specific teeth or area of the dentition appropriate for each user’s anatomy.
Claims 13-14 and 23, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luco (US 2016/0015556 A1) in view of Giridharagopalan (US 2017/0196727 A1).
Regarding claims 13 and 14, Luco discloses the device of claim 1, but is silent where (i) the maxillary piece has a housing proximate one or both of a left molar portion and a right molar portion, where each housing encloses a power source electrically connected to a motor and to an on-board circuit board and has a driver operatively connected to the motor and to the driver flange for anterior and posterior movements of the driver flange; and the mandibular piece has a housing proximate one or both of a left molar portion and a right molar portion and the mandibular repositioning device has a lateral protrusion extending inward from each housing configured to extend toward the tongue at a position proximate a lingual muscle of the tongue, where each housing of the mandibular piece encloses a power source electrically connected to an on-board circuit board which is in electrical communication with one or more sensors enclosed within the lateral protrusion, or (ii) the maxillary piece has a palate housing portion and/or a buccal housing portion extend from each housing thereof and each palate housing portion and buccal housing portion encloses a power source electrically connected to an on-board circuit board which is in electrical communication with one or more sensors (claim 13), and further where the one or more sensors are selected from the group consisting of a pulse oxygen sensor, a vibration and airflow sensor, a pH sensor, a doppler ultrasound sensor, an M-Mode ultrasound sensor, a 2D ultrasound sensor, 3D ultrasound sensor, a pressure plate sensor for measuring bruxism, electroencephalogram (EEG), Electromyography (EMG), electrooculography (EOG), lactic acid sensor, hygroscopic/hydration sensor, video and audio recording, a pulse transit time sensor, non-invasive ventilation systolic/diastolic blood pressure sensor, a carotid doppler (trans-oral) sensor, and a cardiac trans-oral echocardiography sensor (claim 14).
Giridharagopalan in the same field of endeavor of mandibular repositioning devices [abstract], teaches (ii) a maxillary piece that has a buccal housing portion that extends (Annotated Fig. 3), and each buccal housing portion encloses a power source electrically (58) connected to an on-board circuit board (the electronic components as described in [0024 lines 12-23] require circuit boards) which is in electrical communication [0024 lines 12-23] with one or more sensors; where the one or more sensors are a pulse oxygen sensor [0024 line 23].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to cause the device of Luco to include the electronics and housing as taught by Giridharagopalan as doing so combines known prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. While the device of Luco did not include a motor or related electronic devices, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the benefit of including a controllable motor and electronics as taught by Giridharagopalan to improve the device of Luco. The device of Giridharagopalan includes the improvement of a motor and sensors to aide in the repositioning of the jaw when the device is in use. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to include this improvement to Luco of a more direct mechanism of repositioning of the jaw with the additional benefit of monitoring the oral environment with sensors and controlling the mechanics of the device with the electronics as taught by Giridharagopalan. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the benefits of a higher control of patient treatment.
Regarding Claim 23, Luco discloses the device of claim 1, but does not disclose that the maxillary piece has a palate housing portion and/or a buccal housing portion extending from one or both of a left molar portion and a right molar portion, where each of the palate housing portion and buccal housing portion enclose a power source electrically connected to an on-board circuit board which is in electrical communication with one or more sensors and with an electrode, and where the on-board circuit board within each housings include instructions stored in non-transitory memory that based on data from the one or more sensors activates each electrode to stimulate a preselected muscle that is in contact with the palate housing portion or buccal housing portion.
Giridharagopalan in the same field of endeavor of mandibular repositioning devices [abstract], teaches that the maxillary piece that has a buccal housing (annotated Fig. 3) portion extending from one or both of a left molar portion and a right molar portion, where each buccal housing portion encloses a power source (58) electrically connected to an on-board circuit board which is in electrical communication [0024 lines 12-23] with one or more sensors and with an electrode (the sensors as described in [0024 lines 15, 19] include electrodes), and where the on-board circuit board within each housings include instructions stored in non-transitory memory that based on data from the one or more sensors activates each electrode to stimulate a preselected muscle that is in contact with the palate housing portion or buccal housing portion (the combination of the controller 14 of Giridharagopalan and commands described as in [0024 lines 19-20] of Giridharagopalan clearly contain instructions).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to cause the device of Luco to include the electronics and housing as taught by Giridharagopalan as doing so combines known prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. While the device of Luco did not include a motor or related electronic devices, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the benefit of including a controllable motor and electronics as taught by Giridharagopalan to improve the device of Luco. While the device of Luco does not include electrical components, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the benefit of including a controllable sensor as taught by Giridharagopalan to improve the device of Luco. The device of Giridharagopalan includes the improvement of sensors to aide in the monitoring the condition of the jaw when the device is in use. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to include this improvement to Luco of monitoring the oral environment with sensors and gaining feedback of the environment as taught by Giridharagopalan. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the benefits of a higher control of patient treatment as well as more data for a healthcare professional to assess for future treatments.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luco (US 2016/0015556 A1) and Giridharagopalan (US 2017/0196727 A1) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Palmisano (US 6,604,527 B1).
Regarding Claim 22, Luco as modified by Giridharagopalan discloses the device of claim 13, but does not disclose that each housing of the mandibular piece and of the maxillary piece is removably attachable thereto.
Palmisano teaches wherein a protrusive flange (144) and a driver flange (132) are removably replaceably attached to a mandibular and maxillary piece [col. 7 lines 27-34].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to cause the modified housings of Luco in view of Giridharagopalan to be removably replaceably attached to the mandibular and maxillary piece as doing so combines known prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include a removable cover as taught by Palmisano to the driver flange 32 and protrusive flange 132 of Luco as modified as it allows for the device to be reconfigured which allows for the flanges to be placed over the specific teeth or area of the dentition appropriate for each user’s anatomy.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,819,449 B2 (herein after ‘449). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because U.S. Patent No. 11,819,449 B2 discloses:
Claim 1, ‘449 discloses a mandibular repositioning device [col. 54 ll. 58] comprising:
a maxillary piece comprising a tooth covering having a driver flange protruding laterally outward on a right side proximate a backmost teeth mold and/or on a left side proximate a backmost teeth mold, each driver flange having an anterior side with a convex curvature [col. 54 ll. 59-64].
a mandibular piece comprising a tooth covering having a protrusive flange extending cranially therefrom [col. 54 ll. 65-67] positioned to have a posterior side engaged with the anterior side of each driver flange [col. 54 ll. 67-col. 55 ll. 2], the posterior side of each protrusive flange has a base and a most cranial point [col. 55 ll. 3-4], and has a concave-to-convex curvature from the base toward the most cranial point [col. 55 ll. 2-5],
wherein a convex portion of the concave-to convex curvature is configured to engage the convex curvature of the driver flange when in a rest position [col. 55 ll. 5-7], a position of the mandible at which there is no stress on the temporo-mandibular joint (it is understood that “rest position” is defined by this definition);
wherein downward movement of the mandibular piece moves the convex portion of the posterior side of the protrusive flange along and in contact with the convex curvature of the driver flange, thereby moving a user’s mandible for gradual arcuate incremental forward mandibular movement [col. 55 ll. 8-12], which passively increases the cross-sectional area of the user’s airway (Since the device of ‘449 has the same structure and interacts in the same manner as set forth above, it is understood that it is capable of increasing the airway of a user since it also pushes a user’s mandible forward. This is further illustrated in ‘449 [col. 56 ll. 41-48]).
Claims 2-3 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,819,449 B2 in view of claim 17 of U.S. Patent No. 11,819,449 B2.
Regarding claims 2, 3, claim 1 of ‘449 teaches the device as claimed in claim 1, ‘449 is silent wherein the device of claim 1 includes wherein the protrusive flange and driver flange is removably replaceably attached to the mandibular or maxillary piece.
However, claim 17 discloses a mandibular repositioning device which includes wherein the protrusive flange and driver flange is removably replaceably attached to the mandibular or maxillary piece [col. 58. ll. 24- 26].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include wherein the protrusive flange and driver flange of claim 1 is removably replaceably attached to the mandibular or maxillary piece as taught by claim 17 as doing so combines prior art elements according to known methods. One of ordinary artisan would have recognizes the benefit of removeable flanges on to the device of claim 1 so as to allow for alternate uses of the device, such as for sleeping or against bruxism. Further one would recognize that the ability to remove the flanges allows for adjustment of the repositioning features, allowing a patient to change the device as the progress through treatment.
Claims 1-4, 6-7, and 10-12, are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 7-8, 11, and 13-17 of copending Application No. 17366421 (reference application, herein after ‘421). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Application No. 17366421 discloses:
Claim 1, ‘421 discloses a mandibular repositioning device [claim 1 line 1] comprising:
a maxillary piece comprising a tooth covering having a driver flange protruding laterally outward on a right side proximate a backmost teeth mold and/or on a left side proximate a backmost teeth mold, each driver flange having an anterior side with a convex curvature [claim 1 lines 2-4];
a mandibular piece comprising a tooth covering having a protrusive flange extending cranially therefrom positioned to have a posterior side engaged with the anterior side of each driver flange, the posterior side of each protrusive flange has a base and a most cranial point, and has a concave-to-convex curvature from the base toward the most cranial point [claim 1 lines 5-8],
wherein a convex portion of the concave-to convex curvature is configured to engage the convex curvature of the driver flange when in a rest position [claim 1 lines 9-10], a position of the mandible at which there is no stress on the temporo-mandibular joint (it is understood that “rest position” as recited by ‘421 is defined by this definition);
wherein downward movement of the mandibular piece moves the convex portion of the posterior side of the protrusive flange along and in contact with the convex curvature of the driver flange, thereby moving a user’s mandible for gradual arcuate incremental forward mandibular movement [claim 1 lines 12-14], which passively increases the cross-sectional area of the user’s airway (Since the device of ‘421 has the same structure and interacts in the same manner as set forth above, it is understood that it is capable of increasing the airway of a user since it also pushes a user’s mandible forward).
Claim 2, ‘421 discloses a wherein the protrusive flange is removably replaceably attached to the mandibular piece. [claim 8]
Claim 3, ‘421 discloses wherein the driver flange is removably replaceably attached to the maxillary piece. [claim 11]
Claim 4, ‘421 discloses wherein the convex portion of the curvature of the protrusive flange engages with the convex curvature of the driver flange at a point that is two thirds of the height of the driver flange. [claim 13]
Claim 6, ‘421 discloses wherein the protrusive flange and the driver flange are configured to be positioned to place an engagement point of the convex portion of the concave-to convex curvature with the convex curvature of the driver flange at a midpoint length that is at half the lineal distance from a vertical axis at the front of the incisors (incisor vertical axis) to a point on a parallel vertical axis aligned with the temporo-mandibular joint (TMJ) at rest (TMJ vertical axis). [claim 14]
Claim 7, ‘421 discloses a wherein the convex curvature of the driver flange is defined by an arc configured to have a center at a point on the TMJ vertical axis that is one third of the height of the driver flange measured from the horizontal dental axis and has a radius length equal to the midpoint length. [claim 15]
Claim 10, ‘421 discloses a wherein a convex curvature of the convex portion of the protrusive flange is defined by an arc configured to have a center at a point on the incisor vertical axis that is at two thirds the height of driver flange measured from the horizontal dental axis and has a radius length equal to the midpoint length. [claim 16]
Claim 11, ‘421 discloses the device of claim 10, but is silent wherein a concave curvature of the concave portion of the protrusive flange is defined by an arc configured to be drawn from a point on the TMJ vertical axis that is one third of the height of the driver flange measured from the horizontal dental axis and has a radius length equal to the midpoint length. However, there is no evidence of record that the claimed dimensions seek to solve any particular problem nor would result in a difference in function from the device of claims 1, 14, and 16 of ‘421. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to cause a concave curvature of the concave portion of the protrusive flange is defined by an arc drawn from a point on the TMJ vertical axis that is one third of the height of the driver flange measured from the horizontal dental axis and has a radius length equal to the midpoint length as this is deemed an obvious matter of design choice, well within the skill of the ordinary artisan. MPEP 2144.04 (IV)(A).
Claim 12, ‘421 discloses device of claim 11 substantially as claimed as set forth above, ‘421 further discloses wherein the anterior side of the protrusive flange has a convex curvature [claim 17].
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19-20 are allowed.
Claims 5, 8-9 and 15-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Examiner notes that if applicant overcomes the nonstatutory double patenting rejections, claims 4, 7, and 10-12 would also be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The shape of the protrusive flange and driver flange of Luco relative to each other cannot be modified. However examiner notes that the location of the protrusive flange and driver flange on the maxillary and mandibular piece relative to the front and back of the mouth can be altered as set forth above in claim 6.
Though Luco teaches wherein the convex portion of the protrusive flange may engage with the convex curvature of the driver flange when the mandible is configured to be in a rest position, Luco does not teach or suggest a specific arrangement of the driver flange and protrusive flange, specifically “wherein the convex portion of the curvature of the protrusive flange engages with the convex curvature of the driver flange at a point that is two thirds of the height of the driver flange in the rest position” (claim 4).
Though Luco teaches the device as claimed in claim 6, there is no teaching or suggestion that would motivate one of ordinary artisan to have an arc of the convex curvature of the driver flange to have a center at a point on the TMJ vertical axis that is one third of the height of the driver flange measured from a horizontal plane represented as running along the upper dental surface of the mandibular piece (claim 7). The driver flange of Luco specifically has flat front side [0038 second sentence], with convex curvature at the base and top of the front side (Figs. 12 and 13). Therefore, the center point of either of the radius of curvature of the top or base convex portion must be less than one third the height of the driver flange to maintain the mainly flat front side of the driver flange of Luco.
Though Luco teaches the device of claim 6, there is no teaching or suggestion in the prior art to modify the convex curvature of the convex portion of the protrusive flange to be defined by an arc configured to have a center at a point on the incisor vertical axis that is at two thirds the height of driver flange measured from the horizontal dental axis and has a radius length equal to the midpoint length (claim 10). The convex portion of the protrusive flange of Luco has a center portion higher than two thirds the height of the driver flange and cannot be lowered to be two-thirds the height of the driver flange as this would alter the intended arrangement of the protrusive and driver flanges of Luco seen in Figs. 12 and 13.
Regarding claims 15-18 and 20, one of ordinary artisan would not be motivated to include a motor to move the device of Luco. Luco teaches the flanges sufficiently open the airway of a user when in the configuration as seen in Figs. 12 and 13 [0040 last sentence]. Therefore one of ordinary skill would not include a motor to move the device, and therefore the flanges relative to one another as recited in claims 15, 17 and 20, or further wherein the motor allows for cranial and caudal adjustment of the device (claims 16 and 18).
Regarding claim 19, Luco is the closest prior art. One of ordinary artisan would not be motivated to include to the device of Luco “wherein each housing of the mandibular piece encloses a power source electrically connected to an on-board circuit board which is in electrical communication with one or more sensors and with an electrode, and wherein the on-board circuit board within each housing includes instructions that based on data from the one or more sensors activates each electrode as needed to open an airway of a user.” Luco teaches the flanges sufficiently open the airway of a user when in the configuration as seen in Figs. 12 and 13 [0040 last sentence].
Response to Arguments
In the response dated January 5, 2026, the applicant has submitted a replacement sheet for Figures 22 and 23 that appear to have newly added reference characters and markings. However, a description of what has been added in not found in the response, nor is a replacement specification with a corresponding description provided. Accordingly, the drawings will not be entered and the drawing objection is maintained.
Applicant's arguments filed January 5, 2026 regarding Claims 1 and 21 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The examiner maintains that the curvatures of Luco, as described above, meet the limitations of the amended claims. Specifically, the examiner maintains that in a resting position (see Figure 12 annotated above), a portion of the convex portion of the concave to convex curvature engages the convex curvature of the driver flange. Although it may be just a very small portion of the convexity that engages the concavity at rest, it meets the limitation as claimed.
PLEASE NOTE: the applicant’s present arguments filed January 5, 2026 appear to be the same as the applicant’s arguments presented on June 20, 2025, without responding to the response to arguments provided by the examiner in the non-final rejection of August 4, 2025. Therefore, the examiner maintains the position presented on August 4, 2025 and will re-iterate the response below in response to the applicant’s submission of the same arguments.
Applicant's arguments filed January 5, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding applicant’s argument that Luco fails to disclose a concave-to-convex curvature for a posterior side of the protrusive flange or a convex curvature as the anterior surface of a driver flange that are mated with the respective convex portions in contact in a rest position, the examiner respectfully disagrees. As described above, Luco discloses the structure of the claimed curvatures for the posterior side of the protrusive flange and the anterior surface of the driver flange. Applicant is arguing non-claimed limitations, as the flanges are not claimed as “mated” but are merely claimed as engaging one another, as is taught by Luco. Additionally, the “flat front side” of Luco as argued is disclosed as a “generally flat side” with a “substantially 90 degree angle” which are relative terms of degree that do not negate the structure as seen in Luco Figure 12 (annotated above). The applicant fails to provide factual evidence for the conclusory statements that Luco does not allow a gradual arcuate incremental forward mandibular movement (despite provided graphics). The convex portions of the driver flange of Luco would provide gradual arcuate incremental forward mandibular movement to a degree (please note: the degree of such movement is not required by independent Claim 1 but is further defined in dependent Claims 4, 6, and 7) as the structural elements of Luco are the same as the claimed invention. Applicant’s speculation regarding the movement of Luco requires factual evidence to overcome the rejection of record.
Applicant's arguments filed January 5, 2026 regarding the nonstatutory double patenting rejection of claims 1-4, 6-7 and 10-12 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Though the conflicting claims are not identical, the examined application claim is anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s) of the cited patent/application. Examiner notes that a timely filed terminal disclaimer in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(c) or 1.321(d) may be used to overcome the current rejections. Alternatively, the inclusion of an objected claim of the instant invention into dependent claim 1, which is not rejected under nonstatutory double patenting (Claims 5, 8-9 and 15-18 of the instant invention) would overcome the double patenting rejection. Although the pending application has an earlier effective filing date, the double patenting rejection is still proper, as the applicant is not entitled to a patent term greater than 20 years for one invention. Additionally, though the granted applications ‘449 and ‘421 are broader in scope (i.e. contain additional limitations in independent Claim 1) they anticipate the pending application as described above.
The Affadavit submitted under 37 CFR 1.132 filed January 5, 2026 is insufficient to overcome the rejection of claims 1 and 21 based upon Luco as set forth in the last Office action because: the structure of the claimed elements of the present invention is fully evidenced in the prior art of Luco as described above under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTINE L NELSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3772 /EDWARD MORAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3772
/CHRISTINE L NELSON/ Examiner, Art Unit 3772 /CHRISTINE L NELSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3772 /CHRISTINE L NELSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3772