DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 9, 12-15, 17-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alpert (US 2017/0273534) in view of Davies (US 3,478,758), and alternatively in view of Deane (US 2011/0027441).
Regarding claim 1, Alpert (US 2017/0273534) discloses –
A splint bath assembly for sanitizing water (Figs. 1-4a) comprising:
a reservoir for holding a water bath (chamber 14, par. 67 disclosing water being distributed throughout during operation),
the reservoir defined by four sides and a bottom connecting the four sides (figs. 1 and 4a particularly show this arrangement), wherein
the water is distributed throughout the reservoir during normal operation (par. 67, the water is sprayed and distributed throughout the chamber 14 in order to wash/sterilize the object 20);
an ultraviolet lighting system positioned within the reservoir and arranged to sanitize the water bath (pars. 76-77 discloses the distribution of UV light from source 67b throughout the entire chamber to sterilize the water);
a circulatory pump positioned within the reservoir for selectively circulating water within the reservoir (the plenum 44 includes a pump for the spraying and distribution of water throughout the chamber 14; pars. 67 and 79); and
a heat exchanger positioned within the reservoir (heater 44a), wherein the heat exchanger is submerged in the water and continuously heats the water during normal operation to sanitize the water (par. 44a).
Alpert appears to be silent with regards to the components including the pump being submerged in a water bath.
Davies (US 3,478,758) teaches a washing and sterilizing device (title) similar to that of Alpert, where the reservoir includes a bath (figs. 1-5 tank 26) that includes a circulatory pump and other operational components submerged therein (Figs. 2-3 pump 24, the other sterilizing components are at least partially submerged when in use; Col. 2 lines 20-42) in order to create a whirlpool action which is effective to rapidly and thoroughly wash the implements and to effectively sterilize the water (col. 2 lines 55-64). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Alpert such that it contains a water bath that submerges the components for at least a portion of the treatment cycle and circulates water throughout as taught by Davies to arrive at the claimed invention. One would have been motivated to do so to more thoroughly expose the workpieces to sanitizing and cleaning fluid and to further expose the liquid to the treatment means including the UV light and heater in order to arrive at an improved device. The combination of familiar prior art elements, including water baths and treatment means for washing and sanitizing, according to known means to arrive at results that are nothing more than predictable is prima facie obvious. MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Regarding the limitation that the assembly is a splint bath assembly: Apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does and a claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim (see MPEP 2114, II). The device taught by modified Alpert could reasonably perform the claimed limitation of holding a splint, for example for a small digit or for a small child or animal, and is expected to do so.
Assuming arguendo directed towards the limitation including a heat exchanger specifically: Deane (US 2011/0027441) teaches a heat exchanger that is used to heat water for the purpose of sterilizing the water stream (par. 54, Fig. 1 showing heat exchanger). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Alpert to use a heat exchanger as taught by Deane to arrive at the claimed invention. One would have been motivated to do so to quickly and efficiently heat the fluid utilizing the strong heat transfer of heat exchangers as taught by Deane to arrive at an improved liquid sanitizing device. The combination of familiar prior art elements, including known heating means for the purpose of heat sterilization by heat transfer between mediums, according to known means to arrive at results that are nothing more than predictable is prima facie obvious. MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Regarding claim 2, modified Alpert further teaches the assembly further comprises a lid for selectively enclosing the reservoir (doors 56a, par. 87).
Regarding claim 3, modified Alpert further teaches a controller arranged to control the circulatory pump and heat exchanger (control system 65; par. 71, both water temperature and flow rate and pressure of the water delivery system are taught).
Regarding claim 9, modified Alpert further teaches a heat sanitation mode wherein the heat exchanger is arranged to selectively elevate the temperature of water held in the reservoir to a temperature and for a duration (pars. 38, 45; The device is operable to heat water to a very high temperature in order to sterilize the interior of chamber 14 and its contents).
Regarding claim 12, modified Alpert further teaches a controller arranged to control the ultraviolet lighting system and circulatory pump (pars. 44, 71 control system 65 and local processor 44 perform the function of controlling the UV light system and pump).
Regarding claim 13, modified Alpert further teaches the ultraviolet lighting system comprises:
a housing (Figs. 1 and 4a casing 12);
an ultraviolet light source positioned within the housing (UV light 67b);
an inlet port providing access to the housing for incoming water (Fig. 4a shows water supply tube 86); and
an outlet port providing egress from the housing for outgoing water (par. 75 discloses a drain for draining and removing water, par. 79 discloses the water being recirculated, reading on or necessitating an outlet).
Regarding claim 14, modified Alpert further teaches the controller controls the emission of light for the ultraviolet light source and the circulatory pump to effect water entering the housing through the inlet port and water exiting the housing through the outlet port (pars. 76 and 79 disclose the emission of UV light from source 67b for sterilization of the interior including the water therein).
Regarding claim 15, modified Alpert further discloses a sanitation mode wherein water from the reservoir enters the housing, the water is exposed to light emitting from the ultraviolet light source, and water exits the housing (pars. 76-77 and 79 disclose water being circulated, exposed to UV light, and disposed of).
Regarding claim 17, modified Alpert further teaches an outlet port providing access to the reservoir from outside the splint bath assembly (drain, pars. 75 and 78 describe a drain for discarding fluid including debris outside the reservoir defined by chamber 14).
Regarding claim 18, modified Alpert further teaches the circulatory pump is in water communication with the outlet port for selectively evacuating water from the reservoir (pars. 75, 78 describe a drain for discarding fluid including debris outside the reservoir defined by chamber 14, which would necessarily require circulation via the activated pump).
Regarding claim 20, modified Alpert further teaches a control panel arranged for a user of the splint bath assembly to provide direction for the operation of the splint bath assembly (par. 72, processor 66b in communication with display 66d for transmitting user input for operation).
Claims 4-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alpert (US 2017/0273534) in view of Davies (US 3,478,758) and alternatively in view of Deane (US 2011/0027441) as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Baker (US 2017/0175069).
Regarding claim 4, Alpert is set forth above with regards to claim 3 above, but appears to be silent with regards to a thermostat that provides information to one or more controllers.
Baker (US 2017/0175069) discloses a sterilizer comprising a thermostat for reporting information to one or more controllers for the purpose of effective temperature control (Paragraph [0069], Paragraph [0092]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Alpert such that there is a thermostat that provides information to one or more controllers as disclosed by Baker to arrive at the claimed invention. One would have been motivated to do so in order to control the temperature and operation of the device according to means known in the art to maintain a constant and controllable temperature within the sanitization chamber to arrive at a successfully operating device with uniform sanitization characteristics. The combination of familiar prior art elements, including thermostats and hot water sterilization chambers, according to known means to arrive at results that are nothing more than predictable is prima facie obvious. MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Regarding claim 5, Baker further teaches the one or more controllers are arranged to maintain a consistent temperature of the fluid in the reservoir (Paragraph [0092]-[0093] discloses a uniform and constant temperature in the chamber; Claim 4 discloses maintaining the temperature at the sterilization temperature).
Regarding claim 6, Baker further teaches the information provided by the thermostat is used by the one or more controllers to control the heat exchanger to at least in part maintain a consistent temperature of the fluid of the reservoir (Claim 4).
Regarding claim 7, Baker further teaches the chamber is kept at a substantially constant temperature, and thus is arranged such that the fluid of the reservoir is held within 2 degrees as claimed inherently, or at least obviously. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device taught by Alpert in view of Baker such that the temperature is a constant temperature within a 2-degree tolerance to arrive at the claimed invention. One would have been motivated to do so to keep the temperature as constant as possible which is the stated goal of Baker, to facilitate uniform sanitization performance within the reservoir. All of the claimed structure is disclosed by Alpert in view of Baker and therefore the device is capable of performing this function as claimed. MPEP 2114, II.
Regarding claim 8, Alpert in view of Baker discloses the controller is arranged to control the pump to at least in part maintain the constant temperature of the fluid of the reservoir (pars. 38, 43-44 of Alpert, the temperature of the water is controlled and the pressure of the pump is controlled both in relation to a required time to sterilize and a desired sterilization temperature of about 180 degrees F; The controller is therefore inherently accomplishing this functional limitation or is at least capable of doing so as the pump would operate in harmony with the heater in order to successfully and effectively deliver water at the required temperature and pressure in order to be effective).
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alpert (US 2017/0273534) in view of Davies (US 3,478,758) and alternatively in view of Deane (US 2011/0027441) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Mangiardi (US 2020/0070214).
Regarding claim 10, Alpert is set forth above with regards to claim 9 and further teaches a water temperature of about 180 degrees F (par. 38), but appears to be silent with regards to the temperature being approximately 185 degrees or higher and time at which and for which the temperature is maintained as constant.
Mangiardi (2020/0070214) discloses a method of sterilizing an object including exposing said object to water of >90 degrees Celsius (194 degrees F) for more than 15 minutes (Paragraph [0031]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Alpert such that the object is exposed to the water at a temperature of at least 185 degrees Fahrenheit for at least two minutes as disclosed by Mangiardi to arrive at the claimed invention. One would have been motivated to do so in order to better sterilize the object according to known-effective thermal conditions for sterilization to arrive at an improved device. The combination of familiar prior art elements according to known means to arrive at results that are nothing more than predictable is prima facie obvious. MPEP 2143(I)(A). Furthermore, the claimed temperature and time of at least 185 degrees and for at least two minutes overlaps with the numerical ranges disclosed in the prior art of “at least 90 degrees Celsius” and “for no shorter than 15 minutes”, and in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 11, Alpert further teaches the circulatory pump is arranged to circulate the water in the reservoir during the heat sanitation mode (pars. 38, 45, 67; the water is heated and must be distributed by the pump in plenum 44, and furthermore the pump is well capable of performing this limitation, MPEP 2114 II).
Claims 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alpert (US 2017/0273534) in view of Davies (US 3,478,758) and alternatively in view of Deane (US 2011/0027441) as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Fuesting (US 4,448,750).
Regarding claim 16, Alpert is set forth above with regards to claim 15 but appears to be silent with regards to the specific wavelength of UV light used.
Fuesting (US 4,448,750) discloses sterilizing objects submerged in water at the wavelength of 254 nm. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Alpert such that the UV light is at 254 nm to arrive at the claimed invention. One would have been motivated to do so in order to select a known appropriate wavelength of light for sterilizing to arrive at an improved device. The combination of familiar prior art elements according to known means to arrive at results that are nothing more than predictable is prima facie obvious. MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Claims 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alpert (US 2017/0273534) in view of Davies (US 3,478,758) and alternatively in view of Deane (US 2011/0027441) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bowen (US 4,178,499).
Regarding claim 19, Alpert is set forth above with regards to claim 1 but appears to be silent with regards to the material the housing is constructed from.
Bowen (US 4,178,499) discloses a heating unit for heating where the body is made from a thermo-insulating thermoplastic (Column 2 lines 40-44). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Alpert such that the body is fabricated from a thermoplastic that is thermo-insulating as disclosed by Bowen to arrive the claimed invention. One would have been motivated to do so to avoid damage of the body or harm to the user, and to use a known-appropriate material for constructing a heating unit housing to arrive at an improved device. The combination of familiar prior art elements according to known means to arrive at results that are nothing more than predictable is prima facie obvious. MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/5/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant first argues on p. 6 of the remarks that both Alpert and Davies are not analogous art, which is not persuasive. Both references are directed towards devices for washing/sterilizing items using UV light and water and share a classification with the instant invention, including at least A61L 2/10 and A61L 2202/14, suggesting the references and the claimed invention belong to the same technological field. Both prior art devices are solidly in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention because they use water and UV light and heat inside a closed container to sterilize/sanitize items in a controllable fashion. As this requirement is met, the references can be considered analogous prior art.
Applicant further elaborates that because the claimed invention is directed towards a splint bath assembly comprising a reservoir for holding a water bath defined by four sides and a bottom, a UV system, and a pump and heat exchanger submerged in the water bath inside the reservoir the field of endeavor must be limited to those features, which is further not persuasive. It is unreasonable to characterize the field of endeavor of an invention to specifically what is recited in a claim, because a “field of endeavor” is not so narrow. The MPEP states that when determining whether a prior art reference meets the “same field of endeavor test for analogous art, the primary focus is on what the reference discloses (emphasis added)” and that "The field of endeavor is ‘not limited to the specific point of novelty, the narrowest possible conception of the field, or the particular focus within a given field.’") (quoting Unwired Planet, LLC v. Google Inc., 841 F.3d 995, 1001, 120 USPQ2d 1593, 1597 (Fed. Cir. 2016)) (emphasis added). It is unreasonable to take the most narrow possible conception of both the prior art and the claimed invention, particularly a conception that is based upon the manner in which the device is intended to be used (as a splint bath, meant for holding water), and exclude the prior art as a result. An ordinary artisan would appreciate that in the development of a splint bath assembly (or any other water and UV/heat sanitation device), other similar but not identical prior art devices and techniques would be relevant to their endeavor despite the exact features and use cases being different. Technological advancements do not occur in a vacuum, and the prior art shares many features and objectives as the claimed invention as set forth above. Those many similarities, despite minor differences, qualify the prior art as analogous. For at least these reasons, both Alpert and Davies have been established as analogous prior art for at least these reasons.
Applicant further argues on p. 7 of the remarks that neither reference is reasonably pertinent to the problem solved by the claimed invention, which is a moot argument because the references are established as analogous prior art for sharing the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, and a reference is prior art if 1) the reference is from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention (even if it addresses a different problem); or (2) the reference is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor (even if it is not in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention) (MPEP 2141.01(a)).
However, even if it were the case that the prior art were from some other field of endeavor, which it is not, the prior art references still seek to address the problem solved by the claimed invention. The claimed invention is directed towards a container that uses circulated water, heat, and UV light to clean a device. The splint is not positively recited as being part of the claimed invention, and the disclosure is not directed towards a splint and is instead directed towards a bath assembly and so therefore it is unreasonable to say that the splint is required as part of the solution for cleaning the splint. Both Alpert and Davies teach devices that use heated circulated water for the purpose of sanitizing/cleaning workpieces, and Alpert specifically teaches these features in combination with UV light, and are therefore seeking to similarly use a bath assembly for sanitizing water for the purpose of sanitizing/cleaning respective workpieces. The references are similarly analogous art for these reasons.
Applicant then argues on p. 7 of the remarks that the preamble limitations are limiting and that these limitations have failed to be addressed, which is further not persuasive. The preamble limitations do not describe or require any specific structure that is different from that disclosed in the prior art, and the prior art devices would be reasonably capable of performing the claimed function recited in the preamble (see MPEP 2114, II). The preamble merely describes an intended use of the bath assembly, specifically that it is intended to be used for treating splints and sanitizing water, and this is a use that the prior art is well capable of.
Furthermore, there is no structure provided in the body of the claim nor is there any specific quality of a bath assembly that is a specifically a splint bath assembly that would require the preamble to have import that is anything more than an intended use of the claimed device. "[A] claim preamble has the import that the claim as a whole suggests for it." Bell Communications Research, Inc. v. Vitalink Communications Corp., 55 F.3d 615, 620, 34 USPQ2d 1816, 1820 (Fed. Cir. 1995), (MPEP 2111.02) and “If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction.” Shoes by Firebug LLC v. Stride Rite Children’s Grp., LLC, 962 F.3d 1362, 2020 USPQ2d 10701 (Fed. Cir. 2020), MPEP 2111.02(II). The preamble of claim 1 only describes the purpose or intended use of the invention rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations and the body of claim 1 fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention. Therefore, the limitations of the entire claim including the preamble are met by the prior art teaching the entire body of the claim, because the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction.
Applicant further argues on p. 8 of the remarks that the limitation of a heat exchanger is not met by the prior art, which is further not persuasive. Claim limitations are given their broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the specification, MPEP 2111. Under a broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), words of the claim must be given their plain meaning, unless such meaning is inconsistent with the specification, MPEP 2111.01(I). A heat exchanger is understood in the art to refer a structure that functions to exchanges heat between regions. For Applicant’s benefit: Wikipedia defines a heat exchanger as a system used to transfer heat between a source and a working fluid (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Heat_exchanger). The plain meaning of the term heat exchanger has been established.
Looking to Applicant’s disclosure, the description of the heat exchanger in par. 28 of the specification does not conflict with this plain meaning, but rather a more specific preferred embodiment of a heat exchanger is described. There is no special definition that requires the heat exchanger to specifically be a heating coil that heats a fluid through convection as argued by Applicant on p. 8 of the remarks, and the claim limitation directed towards a heat exchanger cannot be limited to this structure. Limiting the claim term “heat exchanger” to the structure described in par. 28 would be unnecessarily and improperly importing limitations from the specification into the claims, MPEP 2111.01, II. This argument is therefore not commensurate with the scope of the claim as written, because the claim does not require convection or a heating pipe. The claim limitation instead requires a device that is used to transfer thermal energy from a source to a fluid, which Alpert teaches in the form of a heater. A heater, and particularly the heater that is described by Alpert, is a type of heat exchanger because it heats fluid by transferring energy to it without any mixing of fluids. Heat is transferred to the fluid, and therefore this claim limitation is met.
Furthermore, Deane is relied upon for further teaching this limitation above, and Applicant has presented no arguments directed towards the newly cited reference.
Applicant argues on p. 9 of the remarks that a device that heats water is not necessarily submerged in a bulk bath, which is further not persuasive. Alpert teaches the heat exchanger 44a being located towards a bottom of the device (see fig. 1) and that the heater heats the water during operation (p. 67). Davies teaches the device including a water bath that all of the components are submerged in during operation (fig. 2) in order to take advantage of the circulation in combination with the sterilizing means for treating the water. When taken in combination as set forth in the rejection above, the prior art teaches or at least fairly suggests a heat exchanger that is submerged in a water bath.
Applicant argues on p. 9-10 that Davies does not disclose a circulatory pump that selectively circulates water from a water bath within a water reservoir, which is not persuasive. Applicant argues that the claim requires a configuration of the pump that includes a draw and return to the bath to effect recirculation of the bulk bath and that Davies fails to teach this limitation, which is not persuasive. Fig. 2 of the reference teaches the pump 24 that is positioned at least partially within the water bath circulating water from the water bath inside the container 12, and the operation of the pump is controlled selectively by the electrical cable 58 powering the pump 24 and the switches 60 and 62. Attached below is an annotated figure showing the pump 34 circulating water within the reservoir from the water bath within the water bath for Applicant’s benefit, showing intake 70 and output 72 of the pump circulating water in the reservoir using water from the reservoir.
Applicant’s argument on p. 10 of the remarks that the incorporation of Davies’ pump into Alpert would not have been obvious with a reasonable expectation of success is further not persuasive. Davies provides a specific advantage of the configuration which is relied upon in the rejection above, including a whirlpool action that assists in the sterilization process which would lead an ordinary artisan to combine Alpert and Davies. Furthermore, it is herein asserted that there is a reasonable expectation of success of combining a pump for pumping water and a device that circulates water by means of a pump without undue experimentation, despite the presence or lack of a standing water bath because the pump still performs the same function of pumping water. Applicant has provided no persuasive evidence or reasoning to the contrary.
Applicant’s remarks on p. 10-11 arguing there is no motivation to combine the prior art, which is further not persuasive. Davies specifically sets forth in col. 2 lines 55-64 that the submerged pump 24 agitates the fluid to provide rapid sterilization of the water and the components in the water. An ordinary artisan could see the advantage of using a water bath for the purpose of rapid sterilization as set forth in Davies in the environment set forth of Alpert in order to effectively sterilize the water and devices which is a desire of the disclosure of Alpert (abstract). The fact that Alpert teaches some other implementation including spraying water, which itself does not preclude the presence of a water bath in the chamber 14 anyway, does not itself prove the claim nonobvious.
Furthermore, a teaching, suggestion, or motivation is not itself required to prove obviousness of a claim, MPEP 2141(III) – only that there must be some articulated reasoning with some rational underpinning to support the legal conclusion of obviousness.’" KSR, 550 U.S. at 418, 82 USPQ2d at 1396. The rationales provided above, both that the inclusion of a pump is merely a combination of familiar prior art elements to arrive at results that are nothing more than predictable and that there is some suggestion by Davies to include a circulatory pump and water bath are sufficient to meet the articulated reasoning with a rational underpinning. An ordinary artisan would look to the prior art to find more effective means for sterilizing water and the devices sterilized by water, and Davies provides a particular implementation with its own articulated advantages that an ordinary artisan would be well capable of implementing into the disclosure of Alpert.
Applicant’s request to reiterate the rejection on p. 10-11 are denied, because the rejection above stands on its own merits. Claim 1 remains rejected. The remaining claims remain rejected similarly.
Conclusion
/BRENDAN A HENSEL/Examiner, Art Unit 1758