Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claims 1-23 are pending. Claims 1-5 and 21-23 are presented for this examination. Claims 6-20 are withdrawn. Claims 1-3 and 21-23 are amended.
Status of Previous Rejections
All previous art rejections are withdrawn from previous office action of 06/20/2025 in view of amendment filed on 09/22/2025.
112 2nd and 4th paragraph rejections are withdrawn in view of amendment filed on 09/22/2025.
A new ground of art rejections is rendered in view of amendment filed on 09/22/2025.
Claim Objections
Instant claims 1-3 and 21-23 required “Al greater than 0.00% up to 0.04% max” should be recited to “Al greater than 0.00% and up to 0.04% max”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-5 and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Lazzara (US 2009/0252620A1) in view of Nelson’079 (US 5,182,079) and APA (Admitted prior art).
As for claims 1-3, it is noted instant claims are amended to require C is 0.5-0.55%, Si at 0.5-0.8% and Al greater than 0.0 and up to 0.04%.
Lazzara discloses a smart mud pump comprising a power end having a motor, a crankshaft rotationally engaged with the motor and a connecting rod rotationally engaged with the crankshaft and a fluid end operatively connected to the power end and having a piston, a cylinder operatively engaging the piston, a drilling fluid module, a discharge manifold and a strainer wherein all parts (e.g. the piston) are made of stainless steels (abstract, paragraphs [0028]- [0035] and [0041]). Lazzara also discloses mud pumps that use piston displacement produce imposed forces that causes wear and tear on various pump component and there has been a need to provide increased longevity and performance for such pump. (paragraph [0004]) His invention aims for a pump with significant strengthening features that increase the life cycle of pump. (paragraph [0008]. The fact Lazzara does not disclose other end other than the claimed power end and a fluid end meets instant claimed “consisting of”.
Lazzara does not specify the steel composition as claimed.
Nelson’079 discloses a metallic tool steel comprising overlapping elemental compositions as illustrated in Tables 1-3 below respectively. (Abstract) Hence, A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges overlap or are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. See MPEP 2144.05 I. Nelson’079 does not disclose any other element other than the one as illustrated in Table 1-3 meets instant claimed “consisting of”.
With respect to amended Al greater than 0 and up to 0.04% max, Nelson’079 expressly discloses the tool steel may include Al <=0.05% (Col 5 lines 65-67) which overlaps amended Al greater than 0 and up to 0.04% max.
A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges overlap or are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. See MPEP 2144.05 I.
Nelson’079 expressly discloses the tool steel are generally characterized by high hardness and resistance to abrasion.
Applicant’s admitted prior art (instant application PGPUB paragraph [0005]) discloses manufacturing critical parts out of alloys with high strength and toughness can increase the service life of various mud pump components. High strength and toughness can resist wear, fatigue and fracture in order to maintain constant flow rate of fluid at a specific pressure (paragraph [0004]) Hence, there is a need for a steel which maintains its hardness, strength and toughness as mud pump components.
Thus, based on the well-known component requirement for mud pump as disclosed by applicant’s own admitted prior art, applicant’s invention would be merely a “new” use of a known material with expected success in the absence of unexpected result. See MPEP 2112 I SOMETHING WHICH IS OLD DOES NOT BECOME PATENTABLE UPON THE DISCOVERY OF A NEW PROPERTY “The discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer.” Atlas Powder Co. v. Ireco Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999). Thus the claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
Hence, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art, at the time the inventions is made to apply tool steel compositions as disclosed by Nelson’079 to make the pump components of Lazzara which are subject to wear and tear, such as the crankshaft, the connecting rod, the piston, and the cylinder for the benefit of ensuring both high hardness and resistance to abrasion at the same time as taught by Nelson’079 with expected success.
Table 1
Element
Applicant
(weight %)
Nelson’079 et al.
(weight %)
(Claim 1)
Overlap
(weight %)
C
0.5-0.55
0.5-0.65
0.5-0.55
Mn
0.7-1.5
0.09-1.45
0.7-1.45
P
<=0.025
<=0.03
<=0.025
S
<=0.05
0.035-0.07
0.03-0.05
Si
0.5-0.8
0.5-0.8
0.5-0.8
Ni
0.1-0.8
0.15-0.4
0.15-0.4
Cr
1.45-2.2
1.1-1.9
1.45-1.7
Mo
0.1-0.55
0.35-0.45
0.1-0.2
V
<=0.03
<=0.01
<=0.01
Cu
Greater than 0-0.35
0.2-0.4
0.2-0.35
Al
Greater than 0 to 0.04
0-0.05
Greater than 0 to 0.04
Table 2
Element
Applicant
(weight %)
Nelson’079 et al.
(weight %)
Claim 1
Overlap
(weight %)
C
0.5-0.55
0.5-0.65
0.5-0.55
Mn
1.2-1.45
0.09-1.45
1.2-1.45
P
<=0.025
<=0.03
<=0.025
S
<=0.025
0.035-0.07
About 0.03 is close to 0.025
Si
0.5-0.8
0.5-0.8
0.5-0.8
Ni
0.35-0.7
0.15-0.4
0.35-0.4
Cr
1.7-2.05
1.1-1.9
1.7-1.9
Mo
0.35-0.55
0.35-0.45
0.35-0.45
V
<=0.03
<=0.01
<=0.01
Cu
Greater than 0-0.35
0.2-0.4
0.2-0.35
Al
Greater than 0 to 0.04
0-0.05
Greater than 0 to 0.04
Table 3
Element
Applicant
(weight %)
Nelson’079 et al.
(weight %)
Overlap
(weight %)
C
0.5-0.55
0.5-0.65
0.5-0.55
Mn
1.2-1.35
0.09-1.45
1.2-1.35
P
<=0.01
<=0.03
<=0.01
S
<=0.01
0.035-0.07
0.035-0.01
Si
0.5-0.8
0.5-0.8
0.5-0.8
Ni
0.55-0.65
0.15-0.4
0.4 is close to 0.55
Cr
1.75-2
1.1-1.9
1.75-1.9
Mo
0.4-0.5
0.35-0.45
0.4-0.45
V
<=0.01
<=0.01
<=0.01
Cu
Greater than 0-0.2
0.2-0.4
0.2
Al
Greater than 0 and 0.025
0-0.05
Greater than 0 and 0.025
As for claims 4-5, they are product-by-process claims. Even though claims 4 and 5 are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. Lazzara in view of Nelson’079 discloses a mud pump part made of a steel as discussed above, which reasonably appears to be only slightly different than the claimed part. Hence, a rejection based on section 103 of the statute is eminently fair and acceptable. See MPEP 2113.
As for claims 21-23, Nelson’079 discloses a mold steel comprising overlapping elemental compositions as illustrated in Tables 7-9 below respectively. (Abstract) Hence, A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges overlap or are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. See MPEP 2144.05 I.
Table 7
Element
Applicant
(weight %)
Nelson’079 et al.
(weight %)
Claim 1
Overlap
(weight %)
C
0.5-0.55
0.5-0.65
0.5-0.55
Mn
0.7-1.5
0.09-1.45
0.7-1.45
P
<=0.025
<=0.03
<=0.025
S
<=0.025
0.035-0.07
0.025 is close to 0.035
Si
0.5-0.8
0.5-0.8
0.5-0.8
Ni
0.1-0.8
0.15-0.4
0.15-0.4
Cr
1.45-2.2
1.1-1.9
1.45-1.9
Mo
0.1-0.51
0.35-0.45
0.35-0.45
V
<=0.03
<=0.01
<=0.01
Cu
Greater than 0-0.35
0.2-0.4
0.2-0.35
Al
Greater than 0 and up to 0.04
0-0.05
Greater than 0 and up to 0.04
Table 8
Element
Applicant
(weight %)
Nelson’079 et al.
(weight %)
Claim 1
overlap
C
0.5-0.55
0.5-0.65
0.5-0.55
Mn
0.7-1.5
0.09-1.45
0.7-1.45
P
<=0.025
<=0.03
<=0.025
S
<=0.05
0.035-0.07
0.035-0.05
Si
0.5-0.8
0.5-0.8
0.5-0.8
Ni
0.1-0.8
0.15-0.4
0.15-0.4
Cr
1.45-2.2
1.1-1.9
1.45-1.9
Mo
0.1-0.51
0.35-0.45
0.35-0.45
V
<=0.03
<=0.01
<=0.01
Cu
Greater than 0-0.35
0.2-0.4
0.2-0.35
Al
Greater than 0 up to 0.04
0-0.05
Greater than 0 and up to 0.04
Table 9
Element
Applicant
(weight %)
Nelson’079 et al.
(weight %)
Claim 1
overlap
C
0.5-0.55
0.5-0.65
0.5-0.55
Mn
1.2-1.45
0.09-1.45
1.2-1.45
P
<=0.025
<=0.03
<=0.025
S
<=0.025
0.035-0.07
0.025 is close to 0.035
Si
0.5-0.8
0.5-0.8
0.5-0.8
Ni
0.35-0.7
0.15-0.4
0.35-0.4
Cr
1.7-2.05
1.1-1.9
1.7-1.9
Mo
0.35-0.55
0.35-0.45
0.35-0.45
V
<=0.03
<=0.01
<=0.01
Cu
Greater than 0-0.35
0.2-0.4
0.2-0.35
Al
Greater than 0 and up to 0.04
0-0.05
Greater than 0 and up to 0.04
Response to Argument
In response to applicant’s argument filed on 09/22/2025 that Nelson does not disclose presence of AL, argument is moot since Nelson is withdrawn.
Newly cited Nelson’079 expressly discloses Al <=0.05% (Col 5 line 65) which overlaps amended “greater than 0 and up to 0.04% max”.
In response to applicant’s argument that APA discloses Al but fails to include Ni and V, argument is not persuasive because newly cited Nelson’079 discloses presence of Al, V and Ni as claimed.
Conclusion
/JENNY R WU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733