DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This action is responsive to the Request for Continued Examination (RCE) received on 12 February 2026. Claims 1-7 are currently pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informality:
In line 22 (i.e. the last line), it appears that the phrase “the intraoperative value” should read “the intraoperative measurement” (see line 16 for antecedent basis).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roger et al. (International Publication WO 2015/003224) in view of Anderson et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2010/0191088) further in view of Scholl et al. (International Publication WO 2015/195843).
Roger et al. disclose (as to part of claim 1) a system for global alignment of a spine during spinal surgery (see Figure 7, and paragraph 0057), the system comprising an imaging device (12); a spatial tracking system (i.e. system defined by 15, 17 and 102); a device (i.e. analyser / computer processor, 14) capable of calculating one or more spinal parameters (e.g. parameters corresponding to a degree of rod bending and rod length selection, see paragraphs 0096-0097) based on identification of spinal markers (17, 18 and 19) in a preoperative image (see paragraphs 0059, 0070, 0084-0086 and 0089) (see Note below regarding functional language with respect to the phrase “configure to calculate one or more spinal parameters...the one or more spinal parameters comprising one or more of T1 vertebra slope, cervical lordosis, the T1 vertebra slope minus the cervical lordosis, or cervical sagittal vertical axis”); a control unit (31) capable of receiving a planned target value of the one or more spinal parameters (see paragraphs 0044 and 0097), and capture, via the imaging device and the spatial tracking system, one or more intraoperative images (i.e. provided via 12); and a bending device (32), wherein the control unit is capable of instructing the bending device to bend a rod (see paragraphs 0096-0097) based upon the target value of the one or more spinal parameters and an intraoperative value based upon the one or more intraoperative image of the one or more spinal parameters (see paragraphs 0044 and 0097), wherein the one or more spinal parameters is capable of being a desired correlation in at least one of a sagittal alignment and a coronal alignment (see paragraph 0026 referring to multiple fiduciary screws (i.e. markers) being aligned with different anatomical planes for use in correlating images for location identification), wherein the intraoperative value is capable of being a measurement of a location of one or more screws (e.g. 20, see paragraph 0096 referring to using a line connecting pedicle screw heads for a desired degree of rod bending) (see Figures 1-10, and paragraphs 0044 and 0058-0103).
Roger et al. disclose wherein the device capable of calculating one or more spinal parameters based on identification of spinal markers in a preoperative image comprises a processor and/or other appropriate electronic circuitry (see paragraphs 0070 and 0087-0088); however, fail to explicitly disclose wherein (as to part of claim 1) the device is a mobile hand held communication device.
Anderson et al. teach the use of a system (10) for use during a spinal surgery (see paragraph 0119) comprising an imaging device (i.e. used in step 24, see Figure 5 and paragraph 0065); a tracking system (i.e. using sensors in step 24, see paragraph 0066); a mobile hand held communication device (see paragraphs 0104 and 0109) capable of executing instructions and acts (see paragraph 0103); and a control unit (e.g. defined by a computer) (see Figures 1-7, and paragraphs 0090-0119).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the invention of Roger et al. with wherein the device is a mobile hand held communication device in view of Anderson et al. in order to provide an alternative, well-known and obvious means for executing instructions and acts producing a desired and predictable result.
Roger et al. disclose capturing one or more intraoperative images (e.g. via a computer tomography device, an MRI, an X-ray device, or any other means of generating a scaleable image) into the control unit; however, Roger et al. in view of Anderson et al. fail to explicitly disclose wherein (as to the remainder of claim 1) the intraoperative images are captured via fluoroscopy.
Scholl et al. teach a method for assessing global alignment of a spine during a spinal surgery (see Abstract) comprising capturing one or more intraoperative fluoroscopy images (see page 11, lines 6-9) into a control unit (16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the invention of Roger et al. in view of Anderson et al. with wherein the intraoperative images are captured via fluoroscopy in view of Scholl et al. in order to provide a well-known, obvious means for providing intraoperative images to yield predictable results.
Note: Regarding functional language, "[a]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987) (see MPEP 2114(II)).
Claims 2 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roger et al. (International Publication WO 2015/003224) in view of Anderson et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2010/0191088).
Regarding claims 2 and 6, Roger et al. disclose (as to part of claim 2) a system for use during a surgical procedure (see Figure 7, and paragraph 0057), the system comprising an imaging device (12); a spatial tracking system (i.e. system defined by 15, 17 and 102); a rod bending device (32); a device (i.e. analyser / computer processor, 14) capable of calculating one or more spinal parameters (e.g. parameters corresponding to a degree of rod bending and rod length selection, see paragraphs 0096-0097) based on identification of spinal markers (17 and 18) in a preoperative image (see paragraphs 0059, 0070, 0084-0086 and 0089) (see Note above regarding functional language with respect to the phrase “configure to calculate one or more spinal parameters...the one or more spinal parameters comprising one or more of T1 vertebra slope, cervical lordosis, the T1 vertebra slope minus the cervical lordosis, or cervical sagittal vertical axis”); a control unit (31) capable of obtaining one or more preoperative measurements of (i.e. via 12 and 14) an anatomical parameter (i.e. representations of the anatomy of a patient) of a patient and the one or more spinal parameters (see paragraphs 0059 and 0072); obtaining one or more planned target measurements of (i.e. via 12 and 14) the anatomical parameter (i.e. for degree of rod bending and rod length selection, see paragraphs 0096-0097); obtaining an intraoperative image from (i.e. displayed via 11) the imaging device (see paragraphs 0058-0059 and 0072); measuring an intraoperative measurement of (i.e. corresponding to degree of rod bending and rod length selection) the anatomical parameter (see paragraphs 0096-0097); and calculating an instruction for bending a surgical rod based upon a comparison of the intraoperative measurements, the one or more planned target measurements, and the one or more spinal parameters (see paragraphs 0088 and 0096-0097), wherein the one or more spinal parameters is capable of being a desired correlation in at least one of a sagittal alignment and a coronal alignment (see paragraph 0026 referring to multiple fiduciary screws (i.e. markers) being aligned with different anatomical planes for use in correlating images for location identification), wherein the intraoperative value is capable of being a measurement of a location of one or more screws (e.g. 20, see paragraph 0096 referring to using a line connecting pedicle screw heads for a desired degree of rod bending) (see Figures 1-10, and paragraphs 0044 and 0058-0103).
Roger et al. disclose wherein the device capable of calculating one or more spinal parameters based on identification of spinal markers in a preoperative image comprises a processor and/or other appropriate electronic circuitry (see paragraphs 0070 and 0087-0088); however, fail to explicitly disclose wherein (as to the remainder of claim 2) the device is a mobile hand held communication device, and wherein (as to claim 6) the anatomical parameter is a parameter correlated to a health related quality of life score.
Anderson et al. teach the use of a system (10) for use during a spinal surgery (see paragraph 0119) comprising an imaging device (i.e. used in step 24, see Figure 5 and paragraph 0065); a tracking system (i.e. using sensors in step 24, see paragraph 0066); a mobile hand held communication device (see paragraphs 0104 and 0109) capable of executing instructions and acts (see paragraph 0103); and a control unit (e.g. defined by a computer), and obtaining a health related quality of life score regarding a desired patient outcome after a spinal surgery (see paragraph 0057) (see Figures 1-7, and paragraphs 0090-0119).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the invention of Roger et al. with wherein the device is a mobile hand held communication device, and wherein the anatomical parameter is a parameter correlated to a health related quality of life score in view of Anderson et al. in order to provide an alternative, well-known and obvious means for executing instructions and acts producing a desired and predictable result, and to provide a well-known, obvious parameter accounting for a patient’s desired quality of life outcome correction after a spinal surgery.
Regarding claim 7, Roger et al. in view of Anderson et al. disclose the claimed invention except for wherein the anatomical parameter is a parameter correlated to an alignment of a patient's head over the patient's pelvis.
Roger et al. teach the system running software identifying key features of bony anatomy (i.e. anatomical parameter) to be linked with a line assembled on the display, wherein the results would indicate a required angular correction that would be entered into the system (see paragraph 0035). Although Roger et al. do not explicitly list a patient’s head or pelvis, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the importance of including these bony features (i.e. head and pelvis) during global alignment of a spine during spinal surgery.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the invention of Roger et al. in view of Anderson et al. with wherein the anatomical parameter is a parameter correlated to an alignment of a patient's head over the patient's pelvis in order to provide well-known, obvious bony features (e.g. head and pelvis) as parameters for global alignment of a spine during spinal surgery.
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roger et al. (International Publication WO 2015/003224) in view of Anderson et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2010/0191088), as applied to claim 2 above, further in view of Suk et al. (“Significance of Chin-Brow Vertical Angle in Correction of Kyphotic Deformity of Ankylosing Spondylitis Patients”).
Roger et al. in view of Anderson et al. disclose the claimed invention except for wherein (as to claim 3) the anatomical parameter is a chin brow vertical angle, and wherein (as to claim 4) the chin brow vertical angle is an angle of a patient's gaze relative to a horizontal position.
Suk et al. teach the importance of obtaining a chin brow vertical angle for alignment of a spine during a spinal surgery, wherein the chin brow vertical angle is an objective index for evaluating a patient’s horizontal gaze (see pages 2001-2004).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the invention of Roger et al. in view of Anderson et al. with wherein the anatomical parameter is a chin brow vertical angle, and wherein the chin brow vertical angle is an angle of a patient's gaze relative to a horizontal position in view of Suk et al. in order to provide a well-known, obvious parameter accounting for a patient’s horizontal gaze for planning correction/alignment of a spine.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roger et al. (International Publication WO 2015/003224) in view of Anderson et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2010/0191088) further in view of Suk et al. (“Significance of Chin-Brow Vertical Angle in Correction of Kyphotic Deformity of Ankylosing Spondylitis Patients”), as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Scholl et al. (International Publication WO 2015/195843).
Roger et al. in view of Anderson et al. further in view of Suk et al. disclose the claimed invention except for wherein the control unit displays to a user a color indication of the angle of the gaze.
Scholl et al. teach the use of a system (10) utilizing color to indicate a parameter on a display (200) (see page 26, line 12 – page 46, line 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the invention of Roger et al. in view of Anderson et al. further in view of Suk et al. with wherein the control unit displays to a user a color indication of the angle of the gaze in view of Scholl et al. in order to provide a well-known, obvious means for providing a clear, visual indication of a parameter (e.g. angle) to a user.
Response to Arguments
The applicant's arguments filed 12 February 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On numbered pages 5 and 6 of the applicant’s arguments/remarks, the applicant argues that Roger et al. and the remaining references fail to disclose the amended recitations. The examiner respectfully disagrees.
The claims have been amended to include the phrase “the one or more spinal parameters comprising one or more of T1 vertebra slope, cervical lordosis, the T1 vertebra slope minus the cervical lordosis, or cervical sagittal vertical axis.” This phrase is associated with the “mobile hand held communication device” and what it is capable of doing (i.e. configured to do) in a functional recitation. As stated in the Note above, a claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Since the amendment does not add/require additional structure, it is the examiner’s position that the “mobile hand held communication device” as disclosed by Roger et al. in view of Anderson et al. is fully capable of executing instructions and acts to produce a desired and predictable result (i.e. to calculate the newly amended parameters).
Conclusion
All claims are identical to or patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with claims in the application prior to the entry of the submission under 37 CFR 1.114 (that is, restriction (including a lack of unity of invention) would not be proper) and all claims could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to entry under 37 CFR 1.114. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action after the filing of a request for continued examination and the submission under 37 CFR 1.114. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LARRY E WAGGLE, JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3775