DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed June 3rd, 2025 has been entered. Claims 1, 8, & 16 are amended. Claims 2-3, 5, 9-10, 13, 17-18, & 20 are canceled. Claims 1, 4, 6-8, 12, 14-16, & 19 remain pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 4, 6-8, 12, 14-16, & 19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument; as necessitate by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 & 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 4 depends from claim 3, claim 3 is a canceled claim and therefore claim 4 fails to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends. For examination purposes, the examiner is considering claim 4 to depend from claim 1.
Claim 19 depends from claim 18, claim 18 is a canceled claim and therefore claim 19 fails to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends. For examination purposes, the examiner is considering claim 19 to depend from claim 16.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements. For examination purposes, the examiner is considering claim 4 to depend from claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 6-8, 12, 14-16, & 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sprinkle (previously presented-US 20200078083 A1), hereinafter “Sprinkle”, in view of Denison et al. (US 20230108766 A1-effective filing date 03/05/2020), hereinafter “Denison”, and Levin et al. (US 20190247108 A1), hereinafter “Levin”.
Regarding claim 1, Sprinkle discloses a power generator for use with a medical tool used to perform a medical ablation procedure ([0002] & [0051]-[0052]; Figure 1—element 30) comprising: a power supply configured to a DC voltage ([0076]; Figure 6—element 72; the DC power supplies may be combined for any one or more RF amplifiers); a plurality of switched-mode amplifiers ([0075]-[0077]; Figure 6—element 68A-68D) each configured to convert the DC voltage to an AC voltage signal at a common frequency and output to respective ablation electrodes ([0075]-[0078]; Figure 6—element 68A-68D); and a processor ([0065]; Figure 2—element 54 & 60) configured to control the switched-mode amplifiers to control the amplitude of each respective AC signal independently ([0019], [0062], [0079], & [0081]), wherein all ablation electrodes are driven at the common frequency ([0064] & [0075]; each amplifier provides an RF output signal) and controlled independently ([0019] & [0079]; the controller can separately and independent control each of the amplifiers).
Sprinkle does not disclose the power supply comprising a switched mode power supply configured to convert AC power directly into the DC voltage without a transformer; the plurality of switched-mode amplifiers each comprising a low-pass filter and a buck-boost DC-DC power converter; a phase shifter configured to apply a fixed phase shift to each respective AC signal; the processor configured to control the phase of each respective AC signal independently; and wherein the respective AC signals are free of intermodulation distortion by use of the common frequency.
Denison teaches a power generator for use with a medical tool ([0065]; Figure 1—element 2) comprising a power supply configured to output a DC voltage ([0065]; Figure 1—element 14) a switched-mode amplifier configured to convert the DC voltage to an AC voltage signal ([0068] & [0069]; Figure 1—element 20), and a processor ([0075]; Figure 1—element 42); the power supply comprising a switched mode power supply configured to convert AC power directly into the DC voltage without a transformer ([0065]-[0067], & [Page 7, Table II]; Figure 1—element 14; the power supply may comprise a rectifier 14 for converting the AC supply to a DC voltage; the rectifier is a full-wave rectifier bridge); the switched-mode amplifiers each comprising a low-pass filter ([0131]; Figure 1—element 46) and a buck-boost DC-DC power converter ([0067] & [0108]); a phase shifter configured to apply a fixed phase shift to each respective AC signal ([0031], [0078], [0132], & [0135]); the processor configured to control the phase of each respective AC signal independently ([0031], [0078], [0132], & [0135]; Figure 1—element 44).
A person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify the power supply, the plurality of switched-mode amplifiers, and the processor, as disclosed by Sprinkle, to include the power supply comprising a switched-mode power supply configured to convert AC power directly into the DC voltage, the switched-mode amplifiers each comprising a low-pass filter and a buck-boost DC-DC power converter, and the processor configured to control the phase of each respective AC signal independently, as taught by Denison, as both references and the claimed invention are directed toward surgical generators comprising switched-mode amplifiers and circuitry for converting DC voltage into an AC voltage signal. As disclosed by Sprinkle, the power supply is arranged to provide a DC supply; the DC voltage may be variable and controlled by the processor, and is provided to the plurality of switched-mode amplifier in order to convert the DC voltage into an AC voltage signals; the processor may control the output AC signal parameters ([0076]-[0078]). As disclosed by Denison, the power supply is arranged to provide a DC supply, the power supply may comprise a rectifier that may be in the form of a full-wave rectifier bridge to convert AC supply from a mains supply to a DC voltage or the power supply may be in the form of a DC power source; the DC voltage is provided to a switched-mode amplifier in order to convert the DC voltage into an AC voltage signal, the switched mode amplifier may additionally comprise a DC-DC buck-boost converter in order to change and control the voltage level of the DC voltage input into the switched mode amplifier, and a low-pass filter in order to smooth the AC voltage signal supplied to the medical tool by attenuating high-frequency components of the AC voltage signal; the generator may additionally include a phase shifter such that the controller can provide a phase correction to the AC voltage signal to compensate for any distortion introduced by the amplifier and filter and so that the operator can adjust properties of the AC voltage signal ([0031], [0065]-[0071], [0078], [0105], [0108], & [0131]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the power supply, the plurality of switched-mode amplifiers, and the processor, as disclosed by Sprinkle, to include the power supply comprising a switched-mode power supply configured to convert AC power directly into the DC voltage, the switched-mode amplifiers each comprising a low-pass filter and a buck-boost DC-DC power converter, and the processor configured to control the phase of each respective AC signal independently, as taught by Denison, as such a modification would: provide for a known and suitable alternative for a power supply that produces the predictable result of providing a DC voltage output for delivery to a switched mode amplifier, provide for a switched-mode amplifier arrangement that includes: a buck-boost converter to change and control the voltage level of the DC voltage input into the switched mode amplifier which would produce the predictable result of providing for a variable and controllable DC voltage, and a filter to smooth the AC voltage signal output from the switched-mode amplifier and supplied to the medical tool by attenuating high-frequency components of the AC voltage signal, and further allow for the controller to provide a phase correction to the AC voltage signal to compensate for any distortion introduced by the amplifier and filter while also allowing that the operator can adjust phase properties of the AC voltage signal.
Levin teaches a power generator for use with a medical tool used to perform a medical ablation configured to supply an AC voltage signal at a common frequency and output to respective ablation electrodes ([0030]; Figures 1 & 2—element 22), wherein the respective AC signals are free of intermodulation distortion by use of the common frequency ([0026]-[0027]).
A person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to modify the respective AC signals and common frequency, as disclosed by Sprinkle, to include wherein the respective AC signals are free of intermodulation distortion by use of the common frequency, as taught by Levin, as both references and the claimed invention are directed toward power generators configured to supply AC voltage signals at a common frequency and output to respective ablation electrodes. As disclosed by Levin, assigning different respective frequencies to the ablation signals may cause intermodulation distortion to be introduced, to address this challenge a common RF frequency for all ablation signals may be used so that relatively little intermodulation distortion is introduced ([0026]-[0027]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the respective AC signals and common frequency, as disclosed by Sprinkle, to include wherein the respective AC signals are free of intermodulation distortion by use of the common frequency, as taught by Levin, as such a modification would prevent intermodulation distortion from being introduced while performing multi-channel ablation.
Regarding claim 4, as best understood in view of the 112(d) rejection above, Sprinkle in view of Denison and Levin disclose all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above.
Sprinkle further discloses wherein the amplitude of each AC voltage signal corresponds to the power yielded by each of the plurality of ablation electrodes ([0075]; Figure 1, 3, & 6—elements CH1-CH4 & E1-E4).
Regarding claim 6, Sprinkle in view of Denison and Levin disclose all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above.
Sprinkle further discloses wherein each of the plurality of switched-mode amplifiers comprise N-channel metal-oxide-semiconductor field- effect (MOSFET) transistors ([0077] & [0138]; Figure 6—element 74A-74D; associated with each RF amplifier is a power supply relay; each relay comprises a MOSFET).
Regarding claim 7, Sprinkle in view of Denison and Levin disclose all of the limitations of claim 6, as described above.
Sprinkle further discloses wherein the processor is configured to control the MOSFET transistors to switch between different states to convert the DC voltage into amplitude pulses ([0054] & [0077]).
Regarding claim 8, Sprinkle discloses a system used to perform a medical ablation procedure ([0002] & [0051]-[0052]; Figure 1—element 30) comprising: a medical tool comprising a plurality of ablation electrodes used to apply radio frequency (RF) energy for ablating tissue ([0051]; Figure 1—elements E1-E4); a power supply configured to a DC voltage ([0076]; Figure 6—element 72; the DC power supplies may be combined for any one or more RF amplifiers), the power generator comprising: a plurality of switched-mode amplifiers electrically connected to a corresponding one of the plurality of ablation electrodes and each configured to convert the DC voltage to an AC voltage signal at a common frequency and output to respective ablation electrodes ([0075]-[0078]; Figure 6—element 68A-68D); and a processor ([0065]; Figure 2—element 54 & 60) configured to control the switched-mode amplifiers to control the amplitude of each respective AC signal independently ([0019], [0062], [0079], & [0081]), wherein all ablation electrodes are driven at the common frequency ([0064] & [0075]; each amplifier provides an RF output signal) and controlled independently ([0019] & [0079]; the controller can separately and independent control each of the amplifiers).
Sprinkle does not disclose the power supply comprising a switched mode power supply configured to convert AC power directly into the DC voltage without a transformer, the plurality of switched-mode amplifiers each comprising a low-pass filter and a buck- boost DC to DC power converter; a phase shifter each configured to apply a fixed phase shift to each AC signal; the processor configured to control phase of each respective AC signal independently, and wherein the respective AC signals are free of intermodulation distortion by use of the common frequency.
Denison teaches a power generator for use with a medical tool ([0065]; Figure 1—element 2) comprising a power supply configured to output a DC voltage ([0065]; Figure 1—element 14) a switched-mode amplifier configured to convert the DC voltage to an AC voltage signal ([0068] & [0069]; Figure 1—element 20), and a processor ([0075]; Figure 1—element 42); the power supply comprising a switched mode power supply configured to convert AC power directly into the DC voltage without a transformer ([0065]-[0067], & [Page 7, Table II]; Figure 1—element 14; the power supply may comprise a rectifier 14 for converting the AC supply to a DC voltage; the rectifier is a full-wave rectifier bridge); the switched-mode amplifiers each comprising a low-pass filter ([0131]; Figure 1—element 46) and a buck-boost DC-DC power converter ([0067] & [0108]); a phase shifter configured to apply a fixed phase shift to each respective AC signal ([0031], [0078], [0132], & [0135]); the processor configured to control the phase of each respective AC signal independently ([0031], [0078], [0132], & [0135]; Figure 1—element 44).
A person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify the power supply, the plurality of switched-mode amplifiers, and the processor, as disclosed by Sprinkle, to include the power supply comprising a switched-mode power supply configured to convert AC power directly into the DC voltage, the switched-mode amplifiers each comprising a low-pass filter and a buck-boost DC-DC power converter, and the processor configured to control the phase of each respective AC signal independently, as taught by Denison, as both references and the claimed invention are directed toward surgical generators comprising switched-mode amplifiers and circuitry for converting DC voltage into an AC voltage signal. As disclosed by Sprinkle, the power supply is arranged to provide a DC supply; the DC voltage may be variable and controlled by the processor, and is provided to the plurality of switched-mode amplifier in order to convert the DC voltage into an AC voltage signals; the processor may control the output AC signal parameters ([0076]-[0078]). As disclosed by Denison, the power supply is arranged to provide a DC supply, the power supply may comprise a rectifier that may be in the form of a full-wave rectifier bridge to convert AC supply from a mains supply to a DC voltage or the power supply may be in the form of a DC power source; the DC voltage is provided to a switched-mode amplifier in order to convert the DC voltage into an AC voltage signal, the switched mode amplifier may additionally comprise a DC-DC buck-boost converter in order to change and control the voltage level of the DC voltage input into the switched mode amplifier, and a low-pass filter in order to smooth the AC voltage signal supplied to the medical tool by attenuating high-frequency components of the AC voltage signal; the generator may additionally include a phase shifter such that the controller can provide a phase correction to the AC voltage signal to compensate for any distortion introduced by the amplifier and filter and so that the operator can adjust properties of the AC voltage signal ([0031], [0065]-[0071], [0078], [0105], [0108], & [0131]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the power supply, the plurality of switched-mode amplifiers, and the processor, as disclosed by Sprinkle, to include the power supply comprising a switched-mode power supply configured to convert AC power directly into the DC voltage, the switched-mode amplifiers each comprising a low-pass filter and a buck-boost DC-DC power converter, and the processor configured to control the phase of each respective AC signal independently, as taught by Denison, as such a modification would: provide for a known and suitable alternative for a power supply that produces the predictable result of providing a DC voltage output for delivery to a switched mode amplifier, provide for a switched-mode amplifier arrangement that includes: a buck-boost converter to change and control the voltage level of the DC voltage input into the switched mode amplifier which would produce the predictable result of providing for a variable and controllable DC voltage, and a filter to smooth the AC voltage signal output from the switched-mode amplifier and supplied to the medical tool by attenuating high-frequency components of the AC voltage signal, and further allow for the controller to provide a phase correction to the AC voltage signal to compensate for any distortion introduced by the amplifier and filter while also allowing that the operator can adjust phase properties of the AC voltage signal.
Levin teaches a power generator for use with a medical tool used to perform a medical ablation configured to supply an AC voltage signal at a common frequency and output to respective ablation electrodes ([0030]; Figures 1 & 2—element 22), wherein the respective AC signals are free of intermodulation distortion by use of the common frequency ([0026]-[0027]).
A person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to modify the respective AC signals and common frequency, as disclosed by Sprinkle, to include wherein the respective AC signals are free of intermodulation distortion by use of the common frequency, as taught by Levin, as both references and the claimed invention are directed toward power generators configured to supply AC voltage signals at a common frequency and output to respective ablation electrodes. As disclosed by Levin, assigning different respective frequencies to the ablation signals may cause intermodulation distortion to be introduced, to address this challenge a common RF frequency for all ablation signals may be used so that relatively little intermodulation distortion is introduced ([0026]-[0027]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the respective AC signals and common frequency, as disclosed by Sprinkle, to include wherein the respective AC signals are free of intermodulation distortion by use of the common frequency, as taught by Levin, as such a modification would prevent intermodulation distortion from being introduced while performing multi-channel ablation.
Regarding claim 11, Sprinkle in view of Denison and Levin disclose all of the limitations of claim 8, as described above.
Sprinkle further discloses wherein the medical tool is a catheter ([0052] & [0056]).
Regarding claim 12, Sprinkle in view of Denison and Levin disclose all of the limitations of claim 8, as described above.
Sprinkle further discloses wherein the amplitude of each AC voltage signal corresponds to the power yielded by each of the plurality of ablation electrodes ([0075]; Figure 1, 3, & 6—elements CH1-CH4 & E1-E4).
Regarding claim 14, Sprinkle in view of Denison and Levin disclose all of the limitations of claim 8, as described above.
Sprinkle further discloses wherein each of the plurality of switched-mode amplifiers comprise N-channel metal-oxide-semiconductor field-effect (MOSFET) transistors ([0077] & [0138]; Figure 6—element 74A-74D; associated with each RF amplifier is a power supply relay; each relay comprises a MOSFET).
Regarding claim 15, Sprinkle in view of Denison and Levin disclose all of the limitations of claim 14, as described above.
Sprinkle further discloses wherein the processor is configured to control the MOSFET transistors to switch between different states to convert the DC voltage into amplitude pulses ([0054] & [0077]).
Regarding method claim 16, Sprinkle discloses a method of controlling power supplied for a medical ablation procedure ([0002] & [0051]-[0052]; Figure 1—element 30), the method comprising: a DC voltage by a power supply ([0076]; Figure 6—element 72; the DC power supplies may be combined for any one or more RF amplifiers); converting, by each one of a plurality of switched-mode amplifiers the DC voltage to a corresponding AC voltage signal at a common frequency ([0075]-[0078]; Figure 6—element 68A-68D); outputting respective AC signals to respective ablation electrodes ([0051] & [0071]-[0078]; Figure 1—elements E1-E4); and controlling the switched-mode amplifiers to control the amplitude of each respective AC signal independently ([0019], [0062], [0079], & [0081]), wherein all ablation electrodes are driven at the common frequency ([0064] & [0075]; each amplifier provides an RF output signal) and controlled independently ([0019] & [0079]; the controller can separately and independent control each of the amplifiers).
Sprinkle does not disclose converting AC power directly into the DC voltage without a transformer by a switched mode power supply; each one of the plurality of switched-mode amplifiers comprising a low pass filter and a buck-boost DC to DC power converter; applying a fixed phase shift by a phase shifters to each AC signal; outputting respective phase shifted AC signals; and controlling the phase of each respective AC signal independently; wherein the respective phase-shifted AC signals are free of intermodulation distortion by use of the common frequency.
Denison teaches a method of controlling power supplied for a medical tool ([0065]; Figure 1—element 2) comprising outputting a DC voltage by a power supply ([0065]; Figure 1—element 14) and converting the DC voltage to an AC voltage signal using a switched-mode amplifier ([0068] & [0069]; Figure 1—element 20), and a controlling the AC voltage signal ([0075]; Figure 1—element 42); providing the DC voltage comprising converting AC power directly into the DC voltage without a transformer by a switched mode power supply ([0065]-[0067], & [Page 7, Table II]; Figure 1—element 14; the power supply may comprise a rectifier 14 for converting the AC supply to a DC voltage; the rectifier is a full-wave rectifier bridge); each switched-mode amplifier comprising a low pass filter ([0131]; Figure 1—element 46) and a buck-boost DC to DC power converter ([0067] & [0108]); applying a fixed phase shift by a phase shifters to each AC signal; outputting respective phase shifted AC signals ([0031], [0078], [0132], & [0135]); and controlling the phase of each respective AC signal independently ([0031], [0078], [0132], & [0135]; Figure 1—element 44).
A person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify the method of controlling power supplied comprising the power supply, the plurality of switched-mode amplifiers, and the controlling of the AC signal, as disclosed by Sprinkle, to include converting AC power directly into the DC voltage without a transformer by a switched mode power supply, each one of the plurality of switched-mode amplifiers comprising a low pass filter and a buck-boost DC to DC power converter, and controlling the phase of each respective AC signal independently, as taught by Denison, as both references and the claimed invention are directed toward methods of controlling surgical generators comprising switched-mode amplifiers and circuitry for converting DC voltage into an AC voltage signal. As disclosed by Sprinkle, the power supply is arranged to provide a DC supply; the DC voltage may be variable and controlled by the processor, and is provided to the plurality of switched-mode amplifier in order to convert the DC voltage into an AC voltage signals; the processor may control the output AC signal parameters ([0076]-[0078]). As disclosed by Denison, the power supply is arranged to provide a DC supply, the power supply may comprise a rectifier that may be in the form of a full-wave rectifier bridge to convert AC supply from a mains supply to a DC voltage or the power supply may be in the form of a DC power source; the DC voltage is provided to a switched-mode amplifier in order to convert the DC voltage into an AC voltage signal, the switched mode amplifier may additionally comprise a DC-DC buck-boost converter in order to change and control the voltage level of the DC voltage input into the switched mode amplifier, and a low-pass filter in order to smooth the AC voltage signal supplied to the medical tool by attenuating high-frequency components of the AC voltage signal; the generator may additionally include a phase shifter such that the controller can provide a phase correction to the AC voltage signal to compensate for any distortion introduced by the amplifier and filter and so that the operator can adjust properties of the AC voltage signal ([0031], [0065]-[0071], [0078], [0105], [0108], & [0131]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of controlling power supplied comprising the power supply, the plurality of switched-mode amplifiers, and the controlling of the AC signal, as disclosed by Sprinkle, to include converting AC power directly into the DC voltage without a transformer by a switched mode power supply, each one of the plurality of switched-mode amplifiers comprising a low pass filter and a buck-boost DC to DC power converter, and controlling the phase of each respective AC signal independently, as taught by Denison, as such a modification would: provide for a known and suitable alternative for a power supply that produces the predictable result of providing a DC voltage output for delivery to a switched mode amplifier, provide for a switched-mode amplifier arrangement that includes: a buck-boost converter to change and control the voltage level of the DC voltage input into the switched mode amplifier which would produce the predictable result of providing for a variable and controllable DC voltage, and a filter to smooth the AC voltage signal output from the switched-mode amplifier and supplied to the medical tool by attenuating high-frequency components of the AC voltage signal, and further allow for the controller to provide a phase correction to the AC voltage signal to compensate for any distortion introduced by the amplifier and filter while also allowing that the operator can adjust phase properties of the AC voltage signal.
Levin teaches a method of controlling a power generator for a medical tool used to perform a medical ablation, comprising: supply an AC voltage signal at a common frequency and outputting to respective ablation electrodes ([0030]; Figures 1 & 2—element 22), wherein the respective phase-shifted AC signals are free of intermodulation distortion by use of the common frequency ([0026]-[0027]).
A person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to modify the respective AC signals and common frequency, as disclosed by Sprinkle, to include wherein the respective AC signals are free of intermodulation distortion by use of the common frequency, as taught by Levin, as both references and the claimed invention are directed toward methods of controlling power generators to supply AC voltage signals at a common frequency and output to respective ablation electrodes. As disclosed by Levin, assigning different respective frequencies to the ablation signals may cause intermodulation distortion to be introduced, to address this challenge a common RF frequency for all ablation signals may be used so that relatively little intermodulation distortion is introduced ([0026]-[0027]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the respective AC signals and common frequency, as disclosed by Sprinkle, to include wherein the respective AC signals are free of intermodulation distortion by use of the common frequency, as taught by Levin, as such a modification would prevent intermodulation distortion from being introduced while performing multi-channel ablation.
Regarding method claim 19, as best understood in view of the 112(d) rejection above, Sprinkle in view of Denison and Levin disclose all of the limitations of claim 16, as described above.
Sprinkle further discloses wherein the amplitude of each AC voltage signal corresponds to the power yielded by each of the plurality of ablation electrodes ([0075]; Figure 1, 3, & 6—elements CH1-CH4 & E1-E4).
Conclusion
Accordingly, claims 1, 4, 6-8, 12, 14-16, & 19 are rejected.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Moore et al. (US 20110140607 A1) discloses a switched mode power supply configured to convert AC power directly into a DC voltage without a transformer ([0036]).
/M.D.T./Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/JOSEPH A STOKLOSA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3794