DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed April 28th, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 4, 8, 16, & 19 are amended. Claims 2-3, 5-7, 9-10, 13-15, 17-18, & 20 are canceled. Claims 1, 4, 8, 11-12, 16, & 19 remain pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 4, 8, 11-12, 16, & 19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument; as necessitate by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 4 depends from claim 4, (e.g. the claim depends from itself) therefore claim 4 fails to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends. For examination purposes, the examiner is considering claim 4 to depend from claim 1. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 8, 11-12, 16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gilbert (US 20110071518 A1), hereinafter “Gilbert”, in view of Denison et al. (previously presented-US 20230108766 A1-effective filing date 03/05/2020), hereinafter “Denison”, and Levin et al. (previously presented-US 20190247108 A1), hereinafter “Levin”.
Gilbert discloses a power generator for use with a medical tool used to perform a medical ablation procedure comprising: a power supply configured to convert AC power directly into a DC voltage ([0022]; Figure 2—element 27; HVPS 27 is connected to an AC source (e.g. electrical wall outlet) and provides high voltage DC power to an RF output stage); a plurality of switched-mode amplifiers ([0022], [0025], & [0029]; Figures 2, 3A, & 3B—elements 40a-40d; the examiner is considering the plurality of switched-mode amplifiers to be the plurality of dual-pole circuits 40a-40d) each comprising a low-pass filter ([0026] & [0031]; Figures 3A & 3B—elements 83a-83d; the filter comprises a band-pass filter, as it is known in the art for bandpass filters to be a combination of a low-pass filter and high-pass filter the examiner is consider the filter to include a low-pass filter) and each configured to convert the DC voltage to an AC voltage signal at a common frequency ([0022], [0025], [0029], [0032], & [0033]; Figures 2, 3A, & 3B—elements 28 & 40a-40d; the RF output stage 28 (comprising the plurality of dual pole circuits 40a-40d) is configured to convert the high voltage DC power to an RF output; each dual pole circuit 40a-40d is coupled to the HVPS 27 and receives the DC energy therefrom the driver of the controller 24 drives the switching components of each of the dual-pole circuits 40a-4d to create rectangular pulse-width modulate energy; the resonant networks 50a-50d and the primary windings 43a-43d convert the rectangular pulse-width modulate energy into RF energy (AC energy having a signal high frequency component)) and output to respective ablation electrodes ([0019], [0028], & [0031]; Figure 1—elements 23a, 23b, & 23c; Figures 3A-3B—elements 80a-80d); a phase shifter configured to apply a fixed phase shift to each respective AC signal ([0008], [0009], & [0032]; Figures 2, 3A, & 3B—elements 24 & 40a-40d; the controller 24 includes a pulse-width modulated driver (the examiner is considering the pulse-width modulated driver to be the phase-shifter) that is configured to drive the switching components of each of the plurality of dual-pole circuits 40a-40d at a predetermined phase-shifted frequency); and a processor configured to control the switched-mode amplifiers to control the amplitude and phase of each respective AC signal independently ([0008], [0009], [0032], [0043], & [0045]; Figures 2, 3A, & 3B—elements 24 & 40a-40d; the controller 24 includes a pulse-width modulated driver that is configured to drive the switching components of each of the plurality of dual-pole circuits 40a-40d at a predetermined phase-shifted frequency and when combined with the resonant networks 50a-50d the pulse-width modulation may be used to vary the output amplitude at the load), wherein all ablation electrodes are driven at the common frequency and controlled independently ([0009], [0025], [0032], [0033], & [0043]-[0046]); wherein each of the plurality of switched-mode amplifiers comprise N-channel metal-oxide-semiconductor field-effect (MOSFET) transistors ([0026]) and wherein the processor is configured to control the MOSFET transistors to switch between different states to convert the DC voltage into amplitude pulses ([0032]; Figures 2, 3A, & 3B—element 24).
Gilbert does not disclose the power supply being a switched mode power supply without a transformer; the plurality of switched-mode amplifiers each comprising a buck-boost DC-DC power converter; and wherein the respective AC signals are free of intermodulation distortion by use of the common frequency.
Denison teaches a power generator for use with a medical tool ([0065]; Figure 1—element 2) comprising a power supply configured to output a DC voltage ([0065]; Figure 1—element 14) a switched-mode amplifier configured to convert the DC voltage to an AC voltage signal ([0068] & [0069]; Figure 1—element 20), and the switched mode amplifier comprising a filter ([0131]; Figure 1—element 46); the power supply being a switched mode power supply without a transformer ([0065]-[0067], & [Page 7, Table II]; Figure 1—element 14; the power supply may comprise a rectifier 14 for converting the AC supply to a DC voltage; the rectifier is a full-wave rectifier bridge); ([0131]; Figure 1—element 46); the switched-mode amplifiers comprising a buck-boost DC-DC power converter ([0067] & [0108]).
A person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify the power supply and the plurality of switched-mode amplifiers, as disclosed by Gilbert, to include the power supply being a switched mode power supply without a transformer, and the plurality of switched-mode amplifiers each comprising a buck-boost DC-DC power converter, as taught by Denison, as both references and the claimed invention are directed toward surgical generators comprising switched-mode amplifiers and circuitry for converting DC voltage into an AC voltage signal. As disclosed by Gilbert, the power supply is connected to an AC source (e.g. an electrical wall outlet) and provides high voltage DC power to the plurality of switched-mode amplifiers when then convert the high voltage DC power into RF energy, the controller is configured to adjust the DC output ([0022], [0024]). As disclosed by Denison, the power supply is arranged to provide a DC supply, the power supply may comprise a rectifier that may be in the form of a full-wave rectifier bridge to convert AC supply from a mains supply to a DC voltage; the DC voltage is provided to a switched-mode amplifier in order to convert the DC voltage into an AC voltage signal, the switched mode amplifier may additionally comprise a DC-DC buck-boost converter in order to change and control the voltage level of the DC voltage input into the switched mode amplifier ([0031], [0065]-[0071], [0078], [0105], [0108], & [0131]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the power supply and the plurality of switched-mode amplifiers, as disclosed by Gilbert, to include the power supply being a switched mode power supply without a transformer, and the plurality of switched-mode amplifiers each comprising a buck-boost DC-DC power converter, as taught by Denison, as such a modification would: provide for a known and suitable a power supply that produces the predictable result of providing a DC voltage output from an AC source for delivery to a switched mode amplifier and provide for a switched-mode amplifier arrangement that includes a buck-boost converter to change and control the voltage level of the DC voltage input into the switched mode amplifier which would produce the predictable result of providing for an adjustable DC output.
Levin teaches a power generator for use with a medical tool used to perform a medical ablation configured to supply an AC voltage signal at a common frequency and output to respective ablation electrodes ([0030]; Figures 1 & 2—element 22), wherein the respective AC signals are free of intermodulation distortion by use of the common frequency ([0026]-[0027]).
A person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to modify the respective AC signals and common frequency, as disclosed by Gilbert, to include wherein the respective AC signals are free of intermodulation distortion by use of the common frequency, as taught by Levin, as both references and the claimed invention are directed toward power generators configured to supply AC voltage signals at a common frequency and output to respective ablation electrodes. As disclosed by Levin, assigning different respective frequencies to the ablation signals may cause intermodulation distortion to be introduced, to address this challenge a common RF frequency for all ablation signals may be used so that relatively little intermodulation distortion is introduced ([0026]-[0027]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the respective AC signals and common frequency, as disclosed by Gilbert, to include wherein the respective AC signals are free of intermodulation distortion by use of the common frequency, as taught by Levin, as such a modification would prevent intermodulation distortion from being introduced while performing multi-channel ablation.
Regarding claim 4, as best understood in view of the 112(d) rejection above, Gilbert in view of Denison and Levin disclose all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above.
Gilbert further discloses wherein the amplitude of each AC voltage signal corresponds to the power yielded by each of the plurality of ablation electrodes ([0019], [0028]; Figure 1—elements 23; Figures 3A-3B—elements 80).
Regarding claim 8, Gilbert discloses a system used to perform a medical ablation procedure comprising: a medical tool comprising a plurality of ablation electrodes used to apply radio frequency (RF) energy for ablating tissue ([0019]; Figure 1—elements 21 & 23); a power supply configured to convert AC power directly into a DC voltage ([0022]; Figure 2—element 27; HVPS 27 is connected to an AC source (e.g. electrical wall outlet) and provides high voltage DC power to an RF output stage), the power generator comprising: a plurality of switched-mode amplifiers ([0022], [0025], & [0029]; Figures 2, 3A, & 3B—elements 40a-40d; the examiner is considering the plurality of switched-mode amplifiers to be the plurality of dual-pole circuits 40a-40d) each comprising a low-pass filter ([0026] & [0031]; Figures 3A & 3B—elements 83a-83d; the filter comprises a band-pass filter, as it is known in the art for bandpass filters to be a combination of a low-pass filter and high-pass filter the examiner is consider the filter to include a low-pass filter) and electrically connected to a corresponding one of the plurality of ablation electrodes ([0019], [0028], & [0031]; Figure 1—elements 23a, 23b, & 23c; Figures 3A-3B—elements 80a-80d) and each configured to convert the DC voltage-to an AC voltage signal at a common frequency and output to respective ablation electrodes ([0022], [0025], [0029], [0032], & [0033]; Figures 2, 3A, & 3B—elements 28 & 40a-40d; the RF output stage 28 (comprising the plurality of dual pole circuits 40a-40d) is configured to convert the high voltage DC power to an RF output; each dual pole circuit 40a-40d is coupled to the HVPS 27 and receives the DC energy therefrom the driver of the controller 24 drives the switching components of each of the dual-pole circuits 40a-4d to create rectangular pulse-width modulate energy; the resonant networks 50a-50d and the primary windings 43a-43d convert the rectangular pulse-width modulate energy into RF energy (AC energy having a signal high frequency component)); a phase shifter each configured to apply a fixed phase shift to each AC signal ([0008], [0009], & [0032]; Figures 2, 3A, & 3B—elements 24 & 40a-40d; the controller 24 includes a pulse-width modulated driver (the examiner is considering the pulse-width modulated driver to be the phase-shifter) that is configured to drive the switching components of each of the plurality of dual-pole circuits 40a-40d at a predetermined phase-shifted frequency); and a processor configured to control the switched-mode amplifiers to control the amplitude and phase of each respective AC signal independently ([0008], [0009], [0032], [0043], & [0045]; Figures 2, 3A, & 3B—elements 24 & 40a-40d; the controller 24 includes a pulse-width modulated driver that is configured to drive the switching components of each of the plurality of dual-pole circuits 40a-40d at a predetermined phase-shifted frequency and when combined with the resonant networks 50a-50d the pulse-width modulation may be used to vary the output amplitude at the load), wherein all ablation electrodes are driven at the common frequency and controlled independently ([0009], [0025], [0032], [0033], & [0043]-[0046]); wherein each of the plurality of switched-mode amplifiers comprise N-channel metal-oxide-semiconductor field-effect (MOSFET) transistors ([0026]) and wherein the processor is configured to control the MOSFET transistors to switch between different states to convert the DC voltage into amplitude pulses ([0032]; Figures 2, 3A, & 3B—element 24).
Gilbert does not disclose the power supply being a switched mode power supply without a transformer; the plurality of switched-mode amplifiers each comprising a buck-boost DC to DC power converter; wherein the respective AC signals are free of intermodulation distortion by use of the common frequency.
Denison teaches a power generator for use with a medical tool ([0065]; Figure 1—element 2) comprising a power supply configured to output a DC voltage ([0065]; Figure 1—element 14) a switched-mode amplifier configured to convert the DC voltage to an AC voltage signal ([0068] & [0069]; Figure 1—element 20), and the switched mode amplifier comprising a filter ([0131]; Figure 1—element 46); the power supply being a switched mode power supply without a transformer ([0065]-[0067], & [Page 7, Table II]; Figure 1—element 14; the power supply may comprise a rectifier 14 for converting the AC supply to a DC voltage; the rectifier is a full-wave rectifier bridge); ([0131]; Figure 1—element 46); the switched-mode amplifiers comprising a buck-boost DC-DC power converter ([0067] & [0108]).
A person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify the power supply and the plurality of switched-mode amplifiers, as disclosed by Gilbert, to include the power supply being a switched mode power supply without a transformer, and the plurality of switched-mode amplifiers each comprising a buck-boost DC-DC power converter, as taught by Denison, as both references and the claimed invention are directed toward surgical generators comprising switched-mode amplifiers and circuitry for converting DC voltage into an AC voltage signal. As disclosed by Gilbert, the power supply is connected to an AC source (e.g. an electrical wall outlet) and provides high voltage DC power to the plurality of switched-mode amplifiers when then convert the high voltage DC power into RF energy, the controller is configured to adjust the DC output ([0022], [0024]). As disclosed by Denison, the power supply is arranged to provide a DC supply, the power supply may comprise a rectifier that may be in the form of a full-wave rectifier bridge to convert AC supply from a mains supply to a DC voltage; the DC voltage is provided to a switched-mode amplifier in order to convert the DC voltage into an AC voltage signal, the switched mode amplifier may additionally comprise a DC-DC buck-boost converter in order to change and control the voltage level of the DC voltage input into the switched mode amplifier ([0031], [0065]-[0071], [0078], [0105], [0108], & [0131]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the power supply and the plurality of switched-mode amplifiers, as disclosed by Gilbert, to include the power supply being a switched mode power supply without a transformer, and the plurality of switched-mode amplifiers each comprising a buck-boost DC-DC power converter, as taught by Denison, as such a modification would: provide for a known and suitable a power supply that produces the predictable result of providing a DC voltage output from an AC source for delivery to a switched mode amplifier and provide for a switched-mode amplifier arrangement that includes a buck-boost converter to change and control the voltage level of the DC voltage input into the switched mode amplifier which would produce the predictable result of providing for an adjustable DC output.
Levin teaches a power generator for use with a medical tool used to perform a medical ablation configured to supply an AC voltage signal at a common frequency and output to respective ablation electrodes ([0030]; Figures 1 & 2—element 22), wherein the respective AC signals are free of intermodulation distortion by use of the common frequency ([0026]-[0027]).
A person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to modify the respective AC signals and common frequency, as disclosed by Gilbert, to include wherein the respective AC signals are free of intermodulation distortion by use of the common frequency, as taught by Levin, as both references and the claimed invention are directed toward power generators configured to supply AC voltage signals at a common frequency and output to respective ablation electrodes. As disclosed by Levin, assigning different respective frequencies to the ablation signals may cause intermodulation distortion to be introduced, to address this challenge a common RF frequency for all ablation signals may be used so that relatively little intermodulation distortion is introduced ([0026]-[0027]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the respective AC signals and common frequency, as disclosed by Gilbert, to include wherein the respective AC signals are free of intermodulation distortion by use of the common frequency, as taught by Levin, as such a modification would prevent intermodulation distortion from being introduced while performing multi-channel ablation.
Regarding claim 11, Gilbert in view of Denison and Levin disclose all of the limitations of claim 8, as described above.
Gilbert further discloses wherein the medical tool is a catheter ([0019]; Figure 1—element 21).
Regarding claim 12, Gilbert in view of Denison and Levin disclose all of the limitations of claim 8, as described above.
Gilbert further discloses wherein the amplitude of each AC voltage signal corresponds to the power yielded by each of the plurality of ablation electrodes ([0019], [0028]; Figure 1—elements 23; Figures 3A-3B—elements 80).
Regarding method claim 16, Gilbert discloses a method of controlling power supplied for a medical ablation procedure, the method comprising: converting AC power directly into a DC voltage by a power supply ([0022]; Figure 2—element 27; HVPS 27 is connected to an AC source (e.g. electrical wall outlet) and provides high voltage DC power to an RF output stage); converting, by each one of a plurality of switched-mode amplifiers ([0022], [0025], & [0029]; Figures 2, 3A, & 3B—elements 40a-40d; the examiner is considering the plurality of switched-mode amplifiers to be the plurality of dual-pole circuits 40a-40d) comprising a low pass filter ([0026] & [0031]; Figures 3A & 3B—elements 83a-83d; the filter comprises a band-pass filter, as it is known in the art for bandpass filters to be a combination of a low-pass filter and high-pass filter the examiner is consider the filter to include a low-pass filter), the DC voltage to a corresponding AC voltage signal at a common frequency ([0022], [0025], [0029], [0032], & [0033]; Figures 2, 3A, & 3B—elements 28 & 40a-40d; the RF output stage 28 (comprising the plurality of dual pole circuits 40a-40d) is configured to convert the high voltage DC power to an RF output; each dual pole circuit 40a-40d is coupled to the HVPS 27 and receives the DC energy therefrom the driver of the controller 24 drives the switching components of each of the dual-pole circuits 40a-4d to create rectangular pulse-width modulate energy; the resonant networks 50a-50d and the primary windings 43a-43d convert the rectangular pulse-width modulate energy into RF energy (AC energy having a signal high frequency component)); applying a fixed phase shift by a phase shifters to each AC signal ([0008], [0009], & [0032]; Figures 2, 3A, & 3B—elements 24 & 40a-40d; the controller 24 includes a pulse-width modulated driver (the examiner is considering the pulse-width modulated driver to be the phase-shifter) that is configured to drive the switching components of each of the plurality of dual-pole circuits 40a-40d at a predetermined phase-shifted frequency); outputting respective phase shifted AC signals to respective ablation electrodes ([0019], [0028], & [0031]; Figure 1—elements 23a, 23b, & 23c; Figures 3A-3B—elements 80a-80d); controlling the switched-mode amplifiers to control the amplitude and phase of each respective AC signal independently ([0008], [0009], [0032], [0043], & [0045]; Figures 2, 3A, & 3B—elements 24 & 40a-40d; the controller 24 includes a pulse-width modulated driver that is configured to drive the switching components of each of the plurality of dual-pole circuits 40a-40d at a predetermined phase-shifted frequency and when combined with the resonant networks 50a-50d the pulse-width modulation may be used to vary the output amplitude at the load), wherein all ablation electrodes are driven at the common frequency and controlled independently ([0009], [0025], [0032], [0033], & [0043]-[0046]); wherein each of the plurality of switched-mode amplifiers comprise N-channel metal-oxide-semiconductor field-effect (MOSFET) transistors ([0026]) and controlling the MOSFET transistors to switch between different states to convert the DC voltage into amplitude pulses ([0032]; Figures 2, 3A, & 3B—element 24).
Gilbert does not disclose the converting without a transformer by a switched mode power supply; the plurality of switched-mode amplifiers comprising a buck-boost DC to DC power converter; and wherein the respective phase-shifted AC signals are free of intermodulation distortion by use of the common frequency.
Denison teaches a method of controlling a power supply for a procedure comprising a power supply converting AC power into a DC voltage ([0065]; Figure 1—element 14) a switched-mode amplifier converting the DC voltage to an AC voltage signal ([0068] & [0069]; Figure 1—element 20), and the switched mode amplifier comprising a filter ([0131]; Figure 1—element 46); the converting without a transformer by a switched mode power supply ([0065]-[0067], & [Page 7, Table II]; Figure 1—element 14; the power supply may comprise a rectifier 14 for converting the AC supply to a DC voltage; the rectifier is a full-wave rectifier bridge); ([0131]; Figure 1—element 46); the switched-mode amplifiers comprising a buck-boost DC-DC power converter ([0067] & [0108]).
A person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify the power supply and the plurality of switched-mode amplifiers, as disclosed by Gilbert, to include the power supply being a switched mode power supply without a transformer, and the plurality of switched-mode amplifiers each comprising a buck-boost DC-DC power converter, as taught by Denison, as both references and the claimed invention are directed toward methods of operating surgical generators comprising switched-mode amplifiers and circuitry for converting DC voltage into an AC voltage signal. As disclosed by Gilbert, the power supply is connected to an AC source (e.g. an electrical wall outlet) and provides high voltage DC power to the plurality of switched-mode amplifiers when then convert the high voltage DC power into RF energy, the controller is configured to adjust the DC output ([0022], [0024]). As disclosed by Denison, the power supply is arranged to provide a DC supply, the power supply may comprise a rectifier that may be in the form of a full-wave rectifier bridge to convert AC supply from a mains supply to a DC voltage; the DC voltage is provided to a switched-mode amplifier in order to convert the DC voltage into an AC voltage signal, the switched mode amplifier may additionally comprise a DC-DC buck-boost converter in order to change and control the voltage level of the DC voltage input into the switched mode amplifier ([0031], [0065]-[0071], [0078], [0105], [0108], & [0131]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the power supply and the plurality of switched-mode amplifiers, as disclosed by Gilbert, to include the power supply being a switched mode power supply without a transformer, and the plurality of switched-mode amplifiers each comprising a buck-boost DC-DC power converter, as taught by Denison, as such a modification would: provide for a known and suitable a power supply that produces the predictable result of providing a DC voltage output from an AC source for delivery to a switched mode amplifier and provide for a switched-mode amplifier arrangement that includes a buck-boost converter to change and control the voltage level of the DC voltage input into the switched mode amplifier which would produce the predictable result of providing for an adjustable DC output.
Levin teaches a method of controlling a power generator for use with a medical tool used to perform a medical ablation comprising supplying an AC voltage signal at a common frequency and output to respective ablation electrodes ([0030]; Figures 1 & 2—element 22), wherein the respective AC signals are free of intermodulation distortion by use of the common frequency ([0026]-[0027]).
A person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to modify the respective AC signals and common frequency, as disclosed by Gilbert, to include wherein the respective AC signals are free of intermodulation distortion by use of the common frequency, as taught by Levin, as both references and the claimed invention are directed toward methods of operating power generators for supplying AC voltage signals at a common frequency and output to respective ablation electrodes. As disclosed by Levin, assigning different respective frequencies to the ablation signals may cause intermodulation distortion to be introduced, to address this challenge a common RF frequency for all ablation signals may be used so that relatively little intermodulation distortion is introduced ([0026]-[0027]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the respective AC signals and common frequency, as disclosed by Gilbert, to include wherein the respective AC signals are free of intermodulation distortion by use of the common frequency, as taught by Levin, as such a modification would prevent intermodulation distortion from being introduced while performing multi-channel ablation.
Regarding method claim 19, Gilbert in view of Denison and Levin disclose all of the limitations of claim 16, as described above.
Gilbert further discloses wherein the amplitude of each AC voltage signal corresponds to the power yielded by each of the plurality of ablation electrodes ([0019], [0028]; Figure 1—elements 23; Figures 3A-3B—elements 80).
Conclusion
Accordingly, claims 1, 4, 8, 11-12, 16 and 19 are rejected.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Geistert et al. (US 6193713 B1) teaches a power generator for use with a medical tool used to perform a medical ablation procedure comprising: a power supply configured to DC voltage ([Col. 4, line 65 – Col. 5, line 7]); a plurality of switched-mode amplifiers ([Col. 4, line 65 – Col. 5, line 17]; Figure 1—elements 3) each comprising a filter ([Col. 7, lines 20-42]; Figure 3—elements 22) and a DC-DC power converter ([Col. 4, line 65 – Col. 5, line 17]; Figure 1—elements 5) and each configured to convert the DC voltage to an AC voltage signal at a common frequency and output to respective ablation electrodes ([Col. 5, lines 8-43]; Figure 1—elements 11); a phase shifter configured to apply a fixed phase shift to each respective AC signal ([Col. 5, lines 50-67]). Boll et al. (US 20180000533 A1) teaches a power generator for use with a medical tool comprising a plurality of amplifiers ([0155]; Figure 7C—elements 730, 740, 750, & 760) and a processor configured to control the switched-mode amplifiers to control the amplitude and phase of each respective AC signal independently, wherein all ablation electrodes are driven at the common frequency and controlled independently ([0156]).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.D.T./Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/JOSEPH A STOKLOSA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3794