DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10 August 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s argument that an Average Peak Force at Break of 30N or greater is not a predictable result because a comparative example did not achieve the claimed range, it is noted that merely showing one example of a product does not meet the claimed range is not a showing of criticality of the range. The present specification does not disclose criticality of the claimed range, and Applicant’s arguments lack evidence to overcome the present rejection.
Regarding claims 16 and 26, both Henke and Schroer discloses elastomeric laminates intended to be able to be stretched to fit around the waist of a wearer, and therefore teach the desire to measure the average extension of the laminate.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-7, 10-12, 14-16, 19, 23-24, 27-28, and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Henke et al. (2014/0041786) in view of Ryu et al. (9,913,763).
With respect to claim 1, Henke discloses an absorbent article comprising a chassis comprising a topsheet, a backsheet, and an absorbent core, as described in paragraph [0078]. The article comprises ears (i.e. side panels), as disclosed in paragraph [0002]. The ears comprise an elastic laminate, as disclosed in paragraph [0009], comprising a first nonwoven 22, a second nonwoven web 24, and a preactivated film 12, as shown in figure 3 and disclosed in paragraphs [0046] and [0060]. The laminate further comprises a plurality of ultrasonic bonds, as disclosed in paragraph [0064]. The elastomeric laminate comprises an elastic region and an inelastic region, as disclosed in paragraph [0031]. The first and second nonwovens are spunbond nonwovens, as disclosed in paragraph [0047], and therefore are free of carded nonwoven layers.
Henke discloses all aspects of the claimed invention with the exception of an elastic waist feature at partially unattached to the chassis to form a pocket, a fastening system joined to the elastomeric laminate in the elastic region, an elastic region that is about 30-80% of a maximum width of the laminate, and the laminate comprising an Average Peak Force at Break of 30 N or greater.
Ryu discloses an absorbent article, as shown in figure 1, comprising an elastic waist feature 92 that is partially attached to the chassis of the article to form a pocket 99, as shown in figure 4B. The elastic waist feature 92 comprises elastic material, as disclosed in column 17, lines 32-33, and provides a barrier to contain body exudates, as disclosed in column 17, lines 30-31. It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the article of Henke with an elastic waist feature partially attached to the chassis to form a pocket, as taught by Ryu, to provide a barrier to contain body exudates.
Ryu further teaches providing an absorbent article with a fastening system 97 joined to an elastomeric laminate 94, as shown in figure 4B. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the article of Henke with a fastening system joined to the laminate in an elastic region, as taught by Ryu, to achieve the predictable result of allowing the article to be snuggly fastened around the waist of a wearer.
With respect the laminate comprising an Average Peak Force at Break of 30 N or greater. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the laminate of Henke with an Average Peak Force at Break of 30 N or greater to achieve the predictable result of a laminate with improved strength that will not tear during wearing of the article.
With respect to an elastic region that is about 30-80% of a maximum width of the laminate, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the elastic region about 80% of the laminate of Henke to achieve the predictable result of a side panel that is highly elastic to provide a snug fit around the waist of the wearer.
With respect to claim 2, Henke discloses the first nonwoven comprises a spunbond layer, as disclosed in paragraph [0047].
With respect to claim 4, Henke discloses the absorbent material comprises superabsorbent polymers and wood pulp, as disclosed in paragraph [0081].
With respect to claims 5-6, modified Henke discloses all aspects of the claimed invention with the exception of the absorbent core comprising two channels symmetrically disposed about the longitudinal axis. Ryu teaches providing the absorbent core with two channels 50 symmetrically disposed about the longitudinal axis 100, as shown in figure 1A. The channels 50 improve the flexibility of the core for an improved shape, as disclosed in column 21, lines 8-13. It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the absorbent core of Henke with two channels symmetrically disposed about the longitudinal axis, as taught by Ryu, to improve the flexibility and shape of the core.
With respect to claim 7, modified Henke discloses all aspects of the claimed invention with the exception of the laminate comprising an Air Permeability Value of at least about 1m3/m2/min. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the laminate of Henke with an Air Permeability Value of at least about 1m3/m2/min to achieve the predictable result of a laminate that is breathable to improve the comfort of the article.
With respect to claim 10, Henke discloses the laminate comprises one or more inelastic regions, as disclosed in paragraph [0031].
With respect to claim 11, Henke discloses the laminate is a gathered laminate, as shown in figure 2.
With respect to claim 12, Henke discloses in paragraph [0002] that the laminate is a side panel, or ear. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the ear to be disposed in a rear waist region of the article of Henke to achieve the predictable result of a fastening tab that can be pulled from the back of the wearer and fastened in the front.
With respect to claim 14, the film comprises a styrenie block copolymer, as disclosed in paragraphs [0033-0034].
With respect to claim 15, Henke discloses the film comprises a basis weight of 40 gsm, as disclosed in paragraph [0153].
With respect to claim 16, Henke discloses an absorbent article comprising a topsheet, a backsheet, and an absorbent core, as described in paragraph [0078]. The article comprises ears (i.e. side panels), as disclosed in paragraph [0002]. The ears comprise an elastic laminate, as disclosed in paragraph [0009], the laminate being a gathered laminate, as shown in figure 2, and comprising a first nonwoven 22, a second nonwoven web 24, and a preactivated film 12, as shown in figure 3 and disclosed in paragraphs [0046] and [0060]. The laminate further comprises a plurality of ultrasonic bonds, as disclosed in paragraph [0064]. The elastomeric laminate comprises an elastic region and an inelastic region, as disclosed in paragraph [0031]. The first and second nonwovens are spunbond nonwovens, as disclosed in paragraph [0047], and therefore are free of carded nonwoven layers.
Henke discloses all aspects of the claimed invention with the exception of a total area of the elastic region being from about 30-80% of the total area of the elastomeric laminate, a fastening system joined to the elastomeric laminate in the elastic region, and the elastomeric laminate having an Average Extension at 4N of about 30 mm or greater. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the elastic region about 80% of the laminate of Henke to achieve the predictable result of a side panel that is highly elastic to provide a snug fit around the waist of the wearer.
With respect to the Average Extension at 4N being about 30 mm or greater, Henke discloses a desire for the elastomeric laminate to be stretchable (i.e. to extend). It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the elastomeric laminate of Henke with an Average Extension at 4N of about 30 mm or greater to achieve the predictable result of a laminate that is able to stretch sufficiently to fit around the waist of a wearer.
Ryu further teaches providing an absorbent article with a fastening system 97 joined to an elastomeric laminate 94, as shown in figure 4B. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the article of Henke with a fastening system joined to the laminate in an elastic region, as taught by Ryu, to achieve the predictable result of allowing the article to be snuggly fastened around the waist of a wearer.
With respect to claim 19, modified Henke discloses all aspects of the claimed invention with the exception of the laminate comprising an Average Peak Force at Break of 26 N or greater. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the laminate of Henke with an Average Peak Force at Break of 26 N or greater to achieve the predictable result of a laminate with improved strength that will not tear during wearing of the article.
With respect to claim 23, the film of Henke comprises a styrenic block copolymer, as disclosed in paragraphs [0033-0034].
With respect to claim 24, the film of Henke comprises a basis weight of 40 gsm, as disclosed in paragraph [0153].
With respect to claim 27, modified Henke discloses all aspects of the claimed invention with the exception of the elastomeric laminate having an average extension at 2N of between about 5-20 mm according to the Extension Test Method. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the elastomeric laminate of Henke with an average extension at 2N of between about 5-20 mm according to the Extension Test Method to achieve the predictable result of an absorbent article that is elastic enough to stretch to fit a wearer while not being too extensible so that the article can provide a snug fit around the waist of the wearer.
With respect to claim 28, modified Henke discloses all aspects of the claimed invention with the exception of the elastomeric laminate having an average extension at 2N of between about 5-20 mm according to the Extension Test Method. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the elastomeric laminate of Henke with an average extension at 2N of between about 5-20 mm according to the Extension Test Method to achieve the predictable result of an absorbent article that is elastic enough to stretch to fit a wearer while not being too extensible so that the article can provide a snug fit around the waist of the wearer.
With respect to claim 31, modified Henke discloses all aspects of the claimed invention with the exception of a leg gasketing system having a portion that overlaps a portion of the elastic waist feature. Ryu teaches providing the absorbent article with a leg gasketing system 80 that overlaps the elastic waist feature 92, as shown in figure 4B, to provide a barrier against the flow of bodily exudates, as disclosed in column 14, lines 3-7. It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the article of Henke with a leg gasketing system that overlaps the elastic waist feature, as taught by Ryu, to provide a barrier against the flow of bodily exudates.
Claim(s) 3 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Henke et al. (2014/0041786) in view of Ryu et al. (9,913,763), and further in view of Wennerback et al. (8,741,083).
With respect to claim 3, modified Henke discloses all aspects of the claimed invention with the exception of the first nonwoven comprising a SMS configuration. Wennerback teaches the use of an SMS nonwoven in a nonwoven-film laminate to provide a soft, flexible, and extensible nonwoven layer, as disclosed in column 4, lines 40-48. It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the first nonwoven of Henke in a SMS configuration, as taught by Wennerback, to provide a soft, flexible, and extensible nonwoven layer.
With respect to claim 17, modified Henke discloses all aspects of the claimed invention with the exception of the first nonwoven comprising a SMS configuration. Wennerback teaches the use of an SMS nonwoven in a nonwoven-film laminate to provide a soft, flexible, and extensible nonwoven layer, as disclosed in column 4, lines 40-48. It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the first nonwoven of Henke in a SMS configuration, as taught by Wennerback, to provide a soft, flexible, and extensible nonwoven layer.
Claim(s) 20 and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Henke et al. (2014/0041786) in view of Ryu et al. (9,913,763), and further in view of Lam et al. (2006/0287637).
With respect to claim 20, modified Henke discloses all aspects of the claimed invention with the exception of the preactivated film having a width that is less than the width of the elastomeric laminate. Lam discloses an absorbent article having an elastomeric laminate comprising a film 74 between first and second nonwoven layers 46 wherein the film 74 has a width that is less than that of the nonwoven layers 46 and the laminate as a whole, as shown in figure 2B. Lam teaches that this configuration creates void regions in which the nonwoven layers can be bonded, as disclosed in paragraph [0059]. It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the width of the film of Henke less than the width of the laminate, as taught by Lam, to create areas in which the nonwoven layers can be bonded together to achieve the predictable result of areas in the laminate that can be more easily bonded to other layers of the article.
With respect to claim 30, modified Henke discloses all aspects of the claimed invention with the exception of the fastening system being joined to the elastomeric laminate by ultrasonic bonds. Lam teaches the use of ultrasonic bonds 43 to join a fastening system 52 to a back ear 42 of an absorbent article, as shown in figure 2A. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to join the fastening system of modified Henke to the elastomeric laminate by ultrasonic bonds, as taught by Lam, to use a known technique to achieve the predictable result of securely attaching the fastening system to the article.
Claim(s) 26 and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schroer, Jr. et al. (2009/0312736) in view of Malchow et al. (2006/0149209).
With respect to claim 26, Schroer discloses an absorbent article comprising a topsheet 8 a backsheet 10, and an absorbent core 12, as shown in figure 2. The article comprises a fastening system 38 and ears 2, as shown in figure 1, comprising an elastic laminate, the laminate comprising a first nonwoven, a second nonwoven web, and a film, disclosed in paragraphs [0015] and [0017]. The elastomeric laminate comprises an elastic region 28 and an inelastic region 26, as shown in figure 2, wherein the fastening system 38 is joined to the elastomeric laminate in the elastic region 28, as shown in figure 1 and disclosed in paragraph [0016]. The inelastic region 28 comprises a first inelastic region disposed laterally inboard of the elastic region 26 and a second inelastic region disposed laterally outboard of the elastic region 26, as shown in the annotated figure 2 below.
Schroer discloses all aspects of the claimed invention with the exception of the laminate having a plurality of ultrasonic bonds, a maximum film width is less than the maximum laminate width by at least 10 mm, and the elastomeric laminate having an Average Extension at 4N of about 30 mm or greater. Malchow discloses an absorbent article comprising an ear 62 joined to a chassis, as shown in figure 2, the ear comprising an elastomeric laminate of nonwoven materials and an elastomeric material, as disclosed in paragraph [0059], and comprises a plurality of ultrasonic bonds, as disclosed in paragraph [0063]. The ultrasonically bonded nonwoven laminate of Malchow provides the ear with improved strength and tear resistance, as disclosed in paragraph [0064]. It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the elastomeric laminate of Schroer with a plurality of ultrasonic bonds, as taught by Malchow, to achieve improved strength and tear resistance.
With respect to the Average Extension at 4N being about 30 mm or greater, Schroer discloses a desire for the elastomeric laminate to be stretchable (i.e. to extend). It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the elastomeric laminate of Schroer with an Average Extension at 4N of about 30 mm or greater to achieve the predictable result of a laminate that is able to stretch sufficiently to fit around the waist of a wearer.
With respect to claim 29, modified Schroer discloses all aspects of the claimed invention with the exception of the elastomeric laminate having an average extension at 2N of between about 5-20 mm according to the Extension Test Method. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the elastomeric laminate of Schroer with an average extension at 2N of between about 5-20 mm according to the Extension Test Method to achieve the predictable result of an absorbent article that is elastic enough to stretch to fit a wearer while not being too extensible so that the article can provide a snug fit around the waist of the wearer.
Conclusion
/CATHARINE L ANDERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781