DETAILED ACTION
In view of the appeal brief filed on 7/8/2026, PROSECUTION IS HEREBY REOPENED. New grounds of rejection are set forth below.
To avoid abandonment of the application, appellant must exercise one of the following two options:
(1) file a reply under 37 CFR 1.111 (if this Office action is non-final) or a reply under 37 CFR 1.113 (if this Office action is final); or,
(2) initiate a new appeal by filing a notice of appeal under 37 CFR 41.31 followed by an appeal brief under 37 CFR 41.37. The previously paid notice of appeal fee and appeal brief fee can be applied to the new appeal. If, however, the appeal fees set forth in 37 CFR 41.20 have been increased since they were previously paid, then appellant must pay the difference between the increased fees and the amount previously paid.
A Supervisory Patent Examiner (SPE) has approved of reopening prosecution by signing below:
/JOANNE M RODDEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3794
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/8/2026 regarding the Bek reference have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding claim 1, on pages 9-12 of the appeal brief, applicant argues that Bek does not disclose the claim language “a user-actuatable element coupled to the movable sealing element, wherein the user- actuatable element is configured to be actuated by a user to move the movable sealing element, an automatic pressure relief mechanism, wherein the movable sealing element is separately configured to be moved by the automatic pressure relief mechanism in response to the pressure within the cryogen pathway exceeding a maximum pressure value”. First, applicant states that they believe that paragraph [0073] of Bek is the paragraph that the examiner intended to reference. This is incorrect. In the previous rejection and in this one, the examiner references both paragraphs [0075] and [0076] of Bek. As seen in the rejection below, the foot switch referenced in paragraphs [0074] and [0076] of Bek discloses the “user-actuatable element” in the claim language. As seen in paragraph [0076] of Bek, the foot switch is coupled to the relief valve 76 via the controller 52: “When it is desired to change the location of the balloon structure 26, or to withdraw the balloon structure 26, the controller 52 (e.g., in response to a foot switch operated by the physician) commands drawing negative pressure through the supply line 74 (while also closing the relief valve 76)”. This paragraph of Bek discloses a physician, the user, operating a foot switch, actuating a user-actuatable element, that closes the relief valve 76, or moves the movable sealing element. Even if the relief valve is closed incidentally by drawing negative pressure through the supply line, this still discloses the claim language “a user-actuatable element coupled to the movable sealing element, wherein the user- actuatable element is configured to be actuated by a user to move the movable sealing element” because pressing the foot switch results in the closing of the relief valve. Bek also discloses a separate mechanism for controlling the relief valve in paragraph [0075]: “When the sensed pressure reaches the selected maximum threshold, the controller 52 opens the pressure relief valve 76. Thereafter, the controller 52 toggles the pressure relief valve 76 open and closed to automatically maintain the desired interior inflation pressure at the threshold.” Here, the combination of transducer 70 which monitors the pressure and controller 52 which toggles the relief valve 76 open and closes automatically based on the pressure sensed by the transducer is considered the “automatic pressure relief mechanism”. While both the user-actuatable element and the automatic pressure relief mechanism both include the controller 52 in the process of opening and closing the relief valve 76, the relief valve is “separately configured to be moved by the automatic pressure relief mechanism” because the two processes for opening and closing the relief valve are completely separate because one is user-actuatable by a foot switch and one is automatic based on the pressure sensed by the transducer. Thus, Bek does disclose the claim language “a user-actuatable element coupled to the movable sealing element, wherein the user- actuatable element is configured to be actuated by a user to move the movable sealing element, an automatic pressure relief mechanism, wherein the movable sealing element is separately configured to be moved by the automatic pressure relief mechanism in response to the pressure within the cryogen pathway exceeding a maximum pressure value”. Further, on pages 14-15 of the appeal brief, applicant argues that Bek is non-analogous art because “one of ordinary skill in the art would not look to a device specifically designed for gastrointestinal use to modify or supplement a cryotherapy system”. However, as disclosed by Bek in paragraph [0036] of Bek: “tissue heating can be accomplished by other means, e.g., by coherent or incoherent light; heated or cooled fluid; resistive heating; microwave; ultrasound; a tissue heating fluid; or cryogenic fluid”. Thus, Bek does disclose a cryotherapy system and it discloses a means for controlling fluid, which could be cryogenic fluid as described in paragraph [0036]. Thus, Bek is considered analogous art.
Pages 12-14 of the appeal brief argue that the relied upon art fails to teach the claim language “wherein the supply valve is disposed along the cryogen pathway between an opening to the auxiliary pathway and the needle probe.” It appears that the applicant is arguing that based on the claim language, the auxiliary pathway is prior to the supply valve in the cryogen pathway from the cryogen cartridge to the needle probe. However, the claim language “along the cryogen pathway between an opening to the auxiliary pathway and the needle probe” is very broad because it is unclear what is considered an opening to the auxiliary pathway. Based on Figure 3A, the auxiliary pathway 330 is not part of the cryogen flow illustrated by the arrow 365. Thus, the cryogen pathway completely bypasses the opening to the auxiliary pathway if that opening is considered the start of the tube of auxiliary pathway 330. Based on that definition of the opening of the auxiliary pathway, supply valve 305 is not along the cryogen pathway between the opening to the auxiliary pathway and the needle probe because the opening to the auxiliary pathway is not along the cryogen pathway. Thus, the examiner is interpreting the claim language “an opening to the auxiliary pathway” to be more broad and to instead mean any opening along any of the internal passages within the device that can be traced to an exhaust pathway. Under this definition, all portions of cryogen pathway 360 are considered an opening to the auxiliary pathway. Thus, if either cryogen pathway portions 360a and 360b are considered the opening to the auxiliary pathway, then applicant’s Figure 3A does disclose the claim language “wherein the supply valve is disposed along the cryogen pathway between an opening to the auxiliary pathway and the needle probe”. However, under this definition of an opening to the auxiliary pathway, McHale’s valve 202 is disposed between an opening to exhaust hose 306 and cryosurgical probe 102 because cryogenic fluid supply line 304 is considered an opening to the exhaust hose 306. Additionally, Figure 3 of Burger discloses the claim language “wherein the supply valve is disposed along the cryogen pathway between an opening to the auxiliary pathway and the needle probe”, as shown in Figure 1 below.
Figure 1: annotated Figure 3 of Burger
In Figure 1, the circle is considered the opening of the auxiliary pathway, and the black line tracks the auxiliary pathway until it exits the device via an exhaust pathway. Based on this interpretation of the opening of the auxiliary pathway, Burger discloses the claim language “wherein the supply valve is disposed along the cryogen pathway between an opening to the auxiliary pathway and the needle probe” because supply valve 32 is disposed along the cryogen pathway between an opening to the auxiliary pathway and needle 26.
Regarding claim 29, see arguments regarding claim 1 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 5-13, 29-35, 37-38, 40, and 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “relatively low-pressure environment” in claims 1, 6, and 29 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “relatively low” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear what pressure the environment is being compared to and what would be “relatively low” compared to that. Clarity is needed.
Regarding dependent claims 2-3, 5, 7-13, 30-35, 37-38, 40, and 42, dependent claims inherit the deficiencies from the claims from which they depend and are similarly rejected over 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Regarding claims 1-2, 12-13, 29-30, 37, and 42, it is unclear what the “auxiliary pathway” and the “opening to the auxiliary pathway” is relative to the cryogen pathway. It appears that applicant is arguing that they are two separate pathways and that the opening to the auxiliary pathway is the opening to the tube shown in Figure 3A that is labeled as auxiliary pathway 330. However, if this is the case, then the supply valve cannot be disposed along the cryogen pathway between an opening to the auxiliary pathway and the needle probe because the opening to the auxiliary pathway is not along the cryogen pathway. Clarity is needed.
Regarding dependent claims 3, 5-11, 31-35, 38, and 42, dependent claims inherit the deficiencies from the claims from which they depend and are similarly rejected over 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6, 13, 29-30 and 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burger et al., US 20090248001, herein referred to as "Burger", in view of Bek et al., US 20050187546, herein referred to as "Bek" .
Regarding claim 1, Burger discloses a cryogenic device (Figures 1A-3: system 10) for applying a cooling therapy to a target tissue of a patient (Abstract: “The cooling may remodel one or more target tissues so as to effect a desired change in composition of the target tissue and/or a change in its behavior, often to interfere with transmission of pain signals along sensory nerves.”), the cryogenic device comprising: a housing (Figures 1A-B: housing 16) comprising a cryogen pathway (Figure 1B and [0034]: “Probe 26 is thermally coupled to a cooling fluid path extending from cooling fluid source 18”) configured to conduct a cryogen from a pressurized cryogen cartridge (Figures 1B and 2: cooling fluid source 18) toward a needle probe (Figures 1A-3: cooling probe 26) comprising one or more needles (Figures 1A-1B and [0034]: “The exemplary probe 26 comprises a 30 g needle having a sharpened distal end that is axially sealed.”), wherein the cryogen is configured to deliver cryotherapy to a target tissue via the one or more needles ([0041]: “the cooling fluid injected into lumen 38 of needle 26 will typically comprises liquid, though some gas may also be injected. At least some of the liquid vaporizes within needle 26, and the enthalpy of vaporization cools the tissue engaged by the needle”); a supply valve coupled to the cryogen pathway coupled to the needle probe (Figure 3: supply valve 32); an auxiliary pathway (Figure 3: channel through pressure relief valve 46) coupled to the cryogen pathway (Figure 3: pressure relief valve 46 has a channel connected to the cryogen pathway and [0042]: “During initiation of a cooling cycle, a large volume along the cooling fluid pathway between the exit from the supply tube and exit from the pressure relief valve 46 may cause excessive transients.”) and exposed to a relatively low- pressure environment (Figure 3: pressure relief valve 46 is exposed to external the device, which is a relatively low pressure environment); a movable sealing element (Figure 3: valve body 48 of pressure relief valve 46) configured to seal the auxiliary pathway when the movable sealing element is biased in a closed position by a biasing force ([0041]: “A relatively simple mechanical pressure relief valve 46 may be used to control the pressure within the lumen of the needle, with the exemplary valve comprising a valve body 48 (here in the form of a ball bearing) urged against a valve seat 50 by a biasing spring 52.”), and further configured to open the auxiliary pathway so as to vent an amount of the cryogen to the relatively low-pressure environment when the movable sealing element is in an open position ([0041] and [0042]: “During initiation of a cooling cycle, a large volume along the cooling fluid pathway between the exit from the supply tube and exit from the pressure relief valve 46 may cause excessive transients.”) by a force of the pressure in the cryogen pathway opposing the biasing force ([0042]: “To limit such transients, the pressure relief valve 46 may be integrated into a housing 54 supporting needle 26, with the valve spring 52 being located outside the valve seat (and hence the pressure-control exit from pressure relief valve 46). ” and [0041]), wherein the cryogen flows through the supply valve to the needle probe when the movable sealing element is biased in the closed position (Figure 3: cryogen flows though supply valve to needle 26 when biasing spring 52 is biased in the closed position and [0039]: “The cooling fluid from valve 32 flows through a lumen 34 of a cooling fluid supply tube 36. Supply tube 36 is, at least in part, disposed within a lumen 38 of needle 26”); and a biasing element (Figure 3: biasing spring 52) configured to apply the biasing force to the movable sealing element toward the cryogen pathway ([0041]), wherein the supply valve is disposed along the cryogen pathway between an opening to the auxiliary pathway and the needle probe (Figure 3: supply valve 32 is between the circle in Figure 1 above, which is considered the opening to the auxiliary pathway, and needle 26). Burger does not explicitly disclose a cryogenic device comprising a user-actuatable element coupled to the movable sealing element, wherein the user-actuatable element is configured to be actuated by a user to move the movable sealing element, an automatic pressure relief mechanism, wherein the movable sealing element is separately configured to be moved by the automatic pressure relief mechanism in response to the pressure within the cryogen pathway exceeding a maximum pressure value.
However, Bek teaches a cryogenic device (Figure 17) comprising a user-actuatable element ([0076]: “(e.g., in response to a foot switch operated by the physician)”) coupled to the movable sealing element (Figure 17: relief valve 76 and [0076]), wherein the user-actuatable element is configured to be actuated by a user to move the movable sealing element ([0076]), an automatic pressure relief mechanism (Figure 17: transducer 70 and controller 52), wherein the movable sealing element is separately configured to be moved by the automatic pressure relief mechanism in response to the pressure within the cryogen pathway exceeding a maximum pressure value ([0075]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the cryogenic device of Burger so that it includes a user-actuatable element coupled to the movable sealing element, wherein the user-actuatable element is configured to be actuated by a user to move the movable sealing element, and an automatic pressure relief mechanism, wherein the movable sealing element is separately configured to be moved by the automatic pressure relief mechanism in response to the pressure within the cryogen pathway exceeding a maximum pressure value as taught by Bek to provide a desired flow of fluid to the tissue region (Bek [0010]).
Regarding claim 2, Burger in view of Bek discloses the cryogenic device of claim 1, and Burger further discloses a cryogenic device (Figure 3) wherein the biasing force causes the movable sealing element to be urged against an opening of the auxiliary pathway ([0041]: “A relatively simple mechanical pressure relief valve 46 may be used to control the pressure within the lumen of the needle, with the exemplary valve comprising a valve body 48 (here in the form of a ball bearing) urged against a valve seat 50 by a biasing spring 52.”), wherein the movable sealing element is configured to be moved to the open position when the biasing force is overcome by a pressure in the cryogen pathway exceeding a maximum pressure value (Figure 3: biasing spring 52, springs compress in response to pressure).
Regarding claim 3, Burger in view of Bek discloses the cryogenic device of claim 2, and Burger further discloses a device (Figure 3) wherein the biasing element is an elastic element coupled to the movable sealing element (Figures 3: biasing spring is coupled to valve body 38 and [0041]).
Regarding claim 6, Burger in view of Bek disclose the cryogenic device of claim 1, and Burger further discloses a cryogenic device (Figures 1A-3: system 10) wherein the relatively low-pressure environment is an ambient-air environment (Claim 22: “a pressure control valve disposed between the lumen and an ambient environment.”) in which the housing (Figures 1A-B: housing 16) is disposed.
Regarding claim 13, Burger in view of Bek disclose the cryogenic device of claim 1, and Burger further discloses a cryogenic device (Figures 1A-3: system 10), wherein the movable sealing element comprises a cylindrical portion, a spherical portion, or a semi-spherical portion that is configured to fit within the auxiliary pathway (Figure 3: valve body 48).
Regarding claim 29, Burger discloses a method for relieving pressure in a cryogenic device (Figures 1A-3: system 10) the method comprising: actuating an element (Figures 1A-1B: input 24 and [0033]: “Some embodiments may, at least in part, be manually activated, such as through the use of a manual supply valve and/or the like, so that processors, electrical power supplies, and the like may be absent.”) of the cryogenic device having a cryogen pathway (Figure 1B and [0034]: “Probe 26 is thermally coupled to a cooling fluid path extending from cooling fluid source 18”) configured to deliver cryogen from a first cryogen cartridge (Figures 1B and 2: cooling fluid source 18) to a needle probe (Figures 1A-3: cooling probe 26), wherein the element (Figures 1A-1B: input 24 and [0033]: “Some embodiments may, at least in part, be manually activated, such as through the use of a manual supply valve and/or the like, so that processors, electrical power supplies, and the like may be absent.”) is coupled to a movable sealing element (Figure 3: valve body 48 of pressure relief valve 46) adapted for sealing an auxiliary pathway (Figure 3: channel 66) when the movable sealing element is biased in a closed position (Figure 3: channel to pressure relief valve 46) by a biasing force ([0041]), wherein the auxiliary pathway is exposed to a relatively low-pressure environment ([0041] and [0042]: “During initiation of a cooling cycle, a large volume along the cooling fluid pathway between the exit from the supply tube and exit from the pressure relief valve 46 may cause excessive transients.”) wherein the biasing force is applied by a biasing element (Figure 3: biasing spring 52) to the movable sealing element toward the cryogen pathway ([0041]), wherein the supply valve is disposed along the cryogen pathway between an opening to the auxiliary pathway and the needle probe (Figure 3: supply valve 32 is between the circle in Figure 1 above, which is considered the opening to the auxiliary pathway, and needle 26); causing the movable sealing element to be automatically moved by an automatic pressure relief mechanism when the pressure within the cryogen pathway exceeds a maximum pressure value ([0042]), wherein the biasing element is configured to exert an elastic force urging the movable sealing element against the auxiliary pathway when the pressure within the cryogen pathway is below the maximum pressure value (Figure 3: biasing spring 52 and [0041]), and wherein the movable sealing element is configured to be moved to the open position when the elastic force is overcome by the pressure in the cryogen pathway exceeding a maximum pressure value ([0042]); and in response to the automatic pressure relief mechanism, moving the movable sealing element from the closed position to an open position ([0041]), wherein the movable sealing element is configured to open the auxiliary pathway so as to vent an amount of the cryogen to the relatively low-pressure environment when the movable sealing element is in the open position ([0041]: “A relatively simple mechanical pressure relief valve 46 may be used to control the pressure within the lumen of the needle, with the exemplary valve comprising a valve body 48 (here in the form of a ball bearing) urged against a valve seat 50 by a biasing spring 52.”) by a force of the pressure in the cryogen pathway opposing the biasing force ([0042]: “To limit such transients, the pressure relief valve 46 may be integrated into a housing 54 supporting needle 26, with the valve spring 52 being located outside the valve seat (and hence the pressure-control exit from pressure relief valve 46). ” and [0041]), wherein the cryogen flows through a supply valve (Figure 2: supply valve 32) to the needle probe when the movable sealing element is biased in the closed position (Figure 3: cryogen flows though supply valve to needle 26 when biasing spring 52 is biased in the closed position and [0039]: “The cooling fluid from valve 32 flows through a lumen 34 of a cooling fluid supply tube 36. Supply tube 36 is, at least in part, disposed within a lumen 38 of needle 26”).Burger does not explicitly disclose a method wherein the element is a user-actuatable element, wherein in response to actuation of the user-actuatable element or, separately, in response to the automatic pressure relief mechanism, the method comprises moving the movable sealing element from the closed position to an open position.
However, Bek teaches a method (Figure 17) wherein the element is a user-actuatable element ([0076]: “(e.g., in response to a foot switch operated by the physician)”), wherein in response to actuation of the user-actuatable element ([0076]) or, separately, in response to the automatic pressure relief mechanism ([0075]), the method comprises moving the movable sealing element (Figure 17: relief valve 76) from the closed position to an open position ([0075]-[0076]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Burger so that it includes a user-actuatable element wherein in response to actuation of the user-actuatable element or, separately, in response to the automatic pressure relief mechanism, the method comprises moving the movable sealing element from the closed position to an open position as taught by Bek to provide a desired flow of fluid to the tissue region (Bek [0010]).
Regarding claim 30, Burger in view of Bek discloses the method of claim 29, and Burger further discloses a method (Figure 3) further comprising: causing the movable sealing element (Figure 3: valve body 48 of pressure relief valve 46) to be automatically moved when the pressure within the cryogen pathway exceeds a maximum pressure value (Figure 3: biasing spring 52, springs compress in response to pressure), wherein the biasing element is configured to exert an elastic force urging the movable sealing element against the auxiliary pathway when the pressure within the cryogen pathway is below the maximum pressure value (Col. 10, line 43 – Col. 11, line 40), and wherein the movable sealing element is configured to be moved to the open position when the elastic force is overcome by the pressure in the cryogen pathway exceeding a maximum pressure value ([0041]: “A relatively simple mechanical pressure relief valve 46 may be used to control the pressure within the lumen of the needle, with the exemplary valve comprising a valve body 48 (here in the form of a ball bearing) urged against a valve seat 50 by a biasing spring 52.”).
Regarding claim 42, Burger in view of Bek disclose the method of claim 29, and Burger further discloses a method (Figure 3) wherein the cryogen passes an opening of the auxiliary pathway prior to passing a valve in the cryogen pathway (Figure 3: supply valve 32 is between the circle in Figure 1 above, which is considered the opening to the auxiliary pathway, and needle 26), wherein the pressure in the cryogen pathway actuates the movable sealing element disposed at the opening of the auxiliary pathway by the force of the pressure in the cryogen pathway opposing the biasing force (Figure 3: biasing spring 52, springs compress in response to pressure).
Claims 5 and 31-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burger in view of Bek, further in view of Niedbala et al., US 20200360070, herein referred to as “Niedbala”.
Regarding claim 5, Burger in view of Bek discloses the cryogenic device of claim 1 but does not explicitly disclose a cryogenic device wherein the user-actuatable element is coupled to a bracket element that is coupled to the movable sealing element, the user-actuatable element configured to be actuated by a user to move the bracket element along a first direction or a second direction, wherein moving the bracket element along the first direction causes the movable sealing element to move to the open position and moving the bracket element along the second direction causes the movable sealing element to move to the closed position.
However, Niedbala teaches a cryogenic device (Figure 8A) wherein the user-actuatable element (Figure 8A: lever 865) is coupled to a bracket element ([0052]: “the lever 865 receives the adapter 864 and pushes on the post, which depresses the pin valve 875 in the cryogen tank 870”; wherein the post corresponds to the bracket element) that is coupled to the movable sealing element (Figure 8B: pin valve 875), the user-actuatable element configured to be actuated by a user to move the bracket element along a first direction or a second direction ([0052]: “the pressure from the cryogen tank pushes the post to a closed (sealed) position in the adapter 864 that prevents cryogen gas and/or cryogen liquid from flowing out of the adapter. When the user installs the combination of the cryogen tank 870 and adapter 864 into the flow path assembly 260, the lever 865 receives the adapter 864 and pushes on the post”), wherein moving the bracket element along the first direction causes the movable sealing element to move to the open position ([0053]: “To open the cryogen tank 870 to allow the flow of cryogenic material 872 through the flow path assembly 260, an operator engages lever 865, which in turn pushes a post in the pin valve assembly that opens the cryogen tank pin valve.”) and moving the bracket element along the second direction causes the movable sealing element to move to the closed position ([0052]: “the pressure from the cryogen tank pushes the post to a closed (sealed) position in the adapter 864 that prevents cryogen gas and/or cryogen liquid from flowing out of the adapter.”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the device disclosed by Burger so that it includes the bracket element disclosed by Niedbala so that the pressure from the cryogen tank prevents the cryogen liquid or gas from flowing out of the valve unless a user actuates an element (Niedbala [0052]).
Regarding claim 31, Burger in view of Bek discloses the method of claim 29 but does not explicitly disclose a method wherein the user-actuatable element is coupled to the movable sealing element via a bracket element.
However, Niedbala teaches a method (Figure 8A) wherein the user-actuatable element (Figure 8A: lever 865) is coupled to the movable sealing element (Figure 8B: pin valve 875) via a bracket element ([0052]: “the lever 865 receives the adapter 864 and pushes on the post, which depresses the pin valve 875 in the cryogen tank 870”; wherein the post corresponds to the bracket element).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method disclosed by Burger so that it includes the bracket element disclosed by Niedbala so that the pressure from the cryogen tank prevents the cryogen liquid or gas from flowing out of the valve unless a user actuates an element (Niedbala [0052]).
Regarding claim 32, Burger in view of Bek and Niedbala discloses the method of claim 31, and Niedbala further discloses a method wherein actuating the user-actuatable element (Figure 8A: lever 865) moves the bracket element ([0052]: “the lever 865 receives the adapter 864 and pushes on the post, which depresses the pin valve 875 in the cryogen tank 870”; wherein the post corresponds to the bracket element) along a first direction ([0052]: “the pressure from the cryogen tank pushes the post to a closed (sealed) position in the adapter 864 that prevents cryogen gas and/or cryogen liquid from flowing out of the adapter. When the user installs the combination of the cryogen tank 870 and adapter 864 into the flow path assembly 260, the lever 865 receives the adapter 864 and pushes on the post”), wherein moving the bracket element along the first direction causes the movable sealing element to move to the open position ([0053]: “To open the cryogen tank 870 to allow the flow of cryogenic material 872 through the flow path assembly 260, an operator engages lever 865, which in turn pushes a post in the pin valve assembly that opens the cryogen tank pin valve.”), and wherein the bracket element is movable along a second direction to cause the movable sealing element to move to the closed position ([0052]: “the pressure from the cryogen tank pushes the post to a closed (sealed) position in the adapter 864 that prevents cryogen gas and/or cryogen liquid from flowing out of the adapter.”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method disclosed by Burger so that it includes the bracket element disclosed by Niedbala so that the pressure from the cryogen tank prevents the cryogen liquid or gas from flowing out of the valve unless a user actuates an element (Niedbala [0052]).
Regarding claim 33, Burger in view of Bek and Niedbala discloses the method of claim 32, and Niedbala further discloses a method wherein the first direction is in opposition to the second direction ([0053]: “To open the cryogen tank 870 to allow the flow of cryogenic material 872 through the flow path assembly 260, an operator engages lever 865, which in turn pushes a post in the pin valve assembly that opens the cryogen tank pin valve.”; wherein pushing and a lack of pushing are in opposition to each other directionally), and wherein the first direction and the second direction are along an axis of the cryogenic device (Figure 8C: adapter 864 is along an axis of the cryogenic device), the first direction extending distally (Figure 8C: when the post of adapter 864 is pushed into the pin valve assembly, it is pushed distally) and the second direction extending proximally with respect to the cryogenic device (Figure 8C: when the post of adapter 864 is no longer pushed into the pin valve assembly, it returns to its initial position which is proximal with respect to the cryogenic device).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method disclosed by Burger so that it includes the bracket element that moves in two directions as disclosed by Niedbala so that the pressure from the cryogen tank prevents the cryogen liquid or gas from flowing out of the valve unless a user actuates an element (Niedbala [0052]).
Regarding claim 34, Burger in view of Bek and Niedbala discloses the method of claim 33, and Niedbala further discloses a method wherein the user-actuatable element (Figure 8A: lever 865) is a slidable element, and wherein actuation of the user-actuatable element comprises sliding the user- actuatable element along the first direction (Figures 8A: lever 865 can slide upwards and downwards; upwards is along the first direction).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method disclosed by Burger so that actuation of the user-actuatable element comprises sliding the user-actuatable element along the first direction as disclosed by Niedbala so that the pressure from the cryogen tank prevents the cryogen liquid or gas from flowing out of the valve unless a user actuates an element (Niedbala [0052]).
Regarding claim 35, Burger in view of Bek and Niedbala discloses the method of claim 34, and Niedbala further discloses a method wherein the user-actuatable element (Figure 8A: lever 865) is biased toward the second direction, the user-actuatable element being configured to automatically slide in the second direction when an external force is not being applied to the user-actuatable element ([0082]: “the user lifts up the lever 865 to activate the adapter 864 to enable the flow of cryogenic material.”; thus without a user lifting up, the lever is biased towards the second direction, which is downwards).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method disclosed by Burger so that the user-actuatable element is configured to automatically slide in the second direction when an external force is not being applied to it as disclosed by Niedbala so that the pressure from the cryogen tank prevents the cryogen liquid or gas from flowing out of the valve unless a user actuates an element (Niedbala [0052]).
Claims 7-9 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burger in view of Bek, further in view of Kaveckis et al., US 20140276792, herein referred to as “Kaveckis”.
Regarding claim 7, Burger in view of Bek discloses the cryogenic device of claim 1 but does not explicitly disclose a cryogenic device further comprising a locking mechanism, wherein the locking mechanism is configured to lock the cryogen cartridge within a cartridge holder of the housing until the movable sealing element is in the open position.
However, Kaveckis teaches a cryogenic device (Figure 8) comprising a locking mechanism (Figures 8 and 11A-B: cam system 237), wherein the locking mechanism is configured to lock ([0107]: “When the cam system 237 is in the disengaged state D, the cam system 237 is positioned to allow the front plate 234 to slideably receive the cartridge 228. Once the cartridge 228 fully engaged into the front plate 234, the cam system 237 may be actuated to the engaged state E by rotating the cam lever 338 and cam shaft 340 in a downward rotational direction depicted by arrow C in order to secure the cartridge 228 in the front plate 234 and to bias cartridge 228 to the thermal plate 38 of the cooling device 236 (FIG. 12B). Thus, when moved to the engaged state E, the cam lobes 342 simultaneously bias against respective piston rods 354 of the actuation devices 346, which tends to force the actuation devices 346 downwardly in a direction depicted by arrow F, which tends to force the actuation member 344 against the cartridge 228 approximately in a direction depicted by arrow G, which is further discussed below (FIG. 12B).”) the cryogen cartridge (Figures 11A-B: cartridge 228) within a cartridge holder (Figures 11A-B: receiving surface 245) of the housing (Figures 11A-B: front plate 234) until the movable sealing element is in the open position ([0107]: “the cam system 237 may be actuated to the engaged state E by rotating the cam lever 338 and cam shaft 340 in a downward rotational direction depicted by arrow C in order to secure the cartridge 228 in the front plate 234 and to bias cartridge 228 to the thermal plate 38 of the cooling device 236 (FIG. 12B).”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the device disclosed by Burger so that it includes the locking mechanism for the cartridge as taught by Kaveckis to improve surface-to-surface contact in the device which aids in the effective and efficient cooling of fluid (Kaveckis [0107]).
Regarding claim 8, Burger in view of Bek and Kaveckis disclose the cryogenic device of claim 7, and Kaveckis further discloses a cryogenic device (Figure 8) wherein the locking mechanism (Figures 8 and 11A-B: cam system 237) is configured to lock the cryogen cartridge (Figures 11A-B: cartridge 228) within the cartridge holder (Figures 11A-B: receiving surface 245) until the user-actuatable element is actuated to move the movable sealing element along a first direction ([0107]), such that the cryogen cartridge is unable to be removed until the movable sealing element is moved along the first direction ([0107]: “Conversely, when the cam system 237 is moved from the engaged state E to the disengaged state D for removal of the cartridge 228, by virtue of actuating the cam lever 338 in a direction depicted by arrow B, the cam shaft 340 and cam lobes 342 rotate in a similar direction, which tends to remove the force applied to the actuation devices 346, which tends to remove the force applied by the actuation member 344 so that the cartridge 228 may be removed (FIG. 11A).”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the device disclosed by Burger so that it includes the locking mechanism for the cartridge as taught by Kaveckis to improve surface-to-surface contact in the device which aids in the effective and efficient cooling of fluid (Kaveckis [0107]).
Regarding claim 9, Burger in view of Bek and Kaveckis disclose the cryogenic device of claim 7, and Kaveckis further discloses a cryogenic device (Figure 8) wherein the locking mechanism (Figures 8 and 11A-B: cam system 237) is coupled to a bracket element (Figure 12B: piston rod 354 and cam shaft 340 and cam lobes 342) coupled to the movable sealing element (Figure 12B: spring 356) and the user-actuatable element (Figure 12A: cam lever 338), the locking mechanism being configured to lock the cryogen cartridge within the cartridge holder until the user-actuatable element is actuated to move the bracket element along a first direction ([0107]), such that the cryogen cartridge is unable to be removed until the bracket element is moved along the first direction [0107]: “Conversely, when the cam system 237 is moved from the engaged state E to the disengaged state D for removal of the cartridge 228, by virtue of actuating the cam lever 338 in a direction depicted by arrow B, the cam shaft 340 and cam lobes 342 rotate in a similar direction, which tends to remove the force applied to the actuation devices 346, which tends to remove the force applied by the actuation member 344 so that the cartridge 228 may be removed (FIG. 11A).”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the device disclosed by Burger so that it includes the locking mechanism for the cartridge as taught by Kaveckis to improve surface-to-surface contact in the device which aids in the effective and efficient cooling of fluid (Kaveckis [0107]).
Regarding claim 40, Burger in view of Bek discloses the method of claim 29 but does not explicitly disclose a method further comprising causing a locking mechanism to lock or unlock the cryogen cartridge within a cartridge holder of the cryogenic device.
However, Kaveckis teaches a method (Figures 8 and 11A-B) comprising causing a locking mechanism (Figures 8 and 11A-B: cam system 237) to lock or unlock ([0107]: “When the cam system 237 is in the disengaged state D, the cam system 237 is positioned to allow the front plate 234 to slideably receive the cartridge 228. Once the cartridge 228 fully engaged into the front plate 234, the cam system 237 may be actuated to the engaged state E by rotating the cam lever 338 and cam shaft 340 in a downward rotational direction depicted by arrow C in order to secure the cartridge 228 in the front plate 234 and to bias cartridge 228 to the thermal plate 38 of the cooling device 236 (FIG. 12B). Thus, when moved to the engaged state E, the cam lobes 342 simultaneously bias against respective piston rods 354 of the actuation devices 346, which tends to force the actuation devices 346 downwardly in a direction depicted by arrow F, which tends to force the actuation member 344 against the cartridge 228 approximately in a direction depicted by arrow G, which is further discussed below (FIG. 12B).”) the cryogen cartridge (Figures 11A-B: cartridge 228) within a cartridge holder (Figures 11A-B: receiving surface 245) of the cryogenic device (Figure 8).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method disclosed by Burger so that it includes the locking mechanism for the cartridge as taught by Kaveckis to improve surface-to-surface contact in the device which aids in the effective and efficient cooling of fluid (Kaveckis [0107]).
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burger in view of Bek and Kaveckis, further in view of Scholten et al., US 20150157336, herein referred to as “Scholten”.
Regarding claim 10, Burger in view of Bek discloses the cryogenic device of claim 1. Kaveckis further discloses a cryogenic device (Figure 8) with a pressure sensor ([0068]: “Performance can be optimized based on feedback from sensors that detect fluid and tissue temperatures, tissue impedance, and fluid supply to the treatment device (e.g., a pressure sensor, a temperature sensor, a thermocouple, a contact sensor, or the like).”) wherein the locking mechanism (Figures 8 and 11A-B: cam system 237) is configured to lock the cryogen cartridge (Figures 11A-B: cartridge 228) within the cartridge holder (Figures 11A-B: receiving surface 245) until the user-actuatable element is actuated to move the movable sealing element along a first direction ([0107]). Burger in view of Kaveckis does not explicitly disclose a locking mechanism, wherein the locking mechanism is configured to lock the cryogen cartridge within a cartridge holder of the housing until a pressure level detected at the pressure sensor within the cryogen pathway is below a threshold pressure value.
However, Scholten teaches a device (Figure 1) wherein the locking mechanism is configured to lock an element until a pressure level detected at the pressure sensor within the cryogen pathway is below a threshold pressure value ([0047]: “Once the pressure provided by the pressurized gas reservoir has decreased below a predetermined value, the locking element is transferred from its active position to a non-active position and the pressurized gas reservoir is released for removal.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the device disclosed by Burger so that it includes the locking mechanism for the cartridge as taught by Kaveckis to improve surface-to-surface contact in the device which aids in the effective and efficient cooling of fluid (Kaveckis [0107]).
Also, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the device disclosed by Burger in view of Kaveckis so that feedback from the pressure sensor can unlock the locking mechanism as taught by Scholten to prevent the device from being used when the cartridge is empty (Scholten [0067]-[0068]).
Regarding claim 11, Burger in view of Bek, Kaveckis, and Scholten discloses the cryogenic device of claim 10, and Scholten further discloses a device wherein the threshold pressure value is less than a maximum pressure value ([0067]: “When, as a result of operating the instrument, the pressure inside the gas cartridge 18 decreases to a predetermined pressure value, for example approximately 2 bar, the control piston 36 is by spring force moved in the bore 34 in a direction towards the closed end 33 of the bore 34.”; wherein 2 bar is less than a maximum pressure value). Burger discloses a cryogenic device (Figures 1A-3) wherein there is a maximum pressure value beyond which the automatic pressure relief mechanism is configured to cause the movable sealing element to move to the open position ([0045]: “O-rings 60 help to isolate the cooling fluid supply flow (which may be at pressures of up to about 900 psi) from the exhaust gas (which may be at a controlled pressure in a range between about 50 and 400 psi, depending on the desired temperature). Exemplary O-rings may comprise hydrogenated Buna-N O-rings, or the like.”).
Claims 12 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burger in view of Bek, further in view of Duong et al., US 20200100826, herein referred to as “Duong”.
Regarding claim 12, Burger in view of Bek discloses the cryogenic device of claim 1 but does not explicitly disclose a cryogenic device wherein the movable sealing element comprises a conical portion that is configured to fit within the auxiliary pathway.
However, Duong teaches a cryogenic device (Figure 1) wherein the movable sealing element (Figure 4: safety valve assembly 70) comprises a conical portion (Figure 4: conical surface 72) that is configured to fit within the auxiliary pathway (Figure 4: manifold assembly 66).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the device disclosed by Burger so that the movable sealing element comprises a conical portion as taught by Duong so that sealing does not result in “whipping” of the probe assembly (Duong [0050]).
Regarding claim 38, Burger in view of Bek discloses the method of claim 29 but does not explicitly disclose a method wherein the movable sealing element comprises a conical portion that is configured to fit within the auxiliary pathway.
However, Duong teaches a method (Figure 1) wherein the movable sealing element (Figure 4: safety valve assembly 70) comprises a conical portion (Figure 4: conical surface 72) that is configured to fit within the auxiliary pathway (Figure 4: manifold assembly 66).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method disclosed by Burger so that the movable sealing element comprises a conical portion as taught by Duong so that sealing does not result in “whipping” of the probe assembly (Duong [0050]).
Claim 37 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burger in view of Bek and Niedbala, further in view of Cluzeau et al., US 6141985, herein referred to as “Cluzeau”.
Regarding claim 37, Burger in view of Bek and Niedbala discloses the method of claim 33, and Cluzeau further discloses a method wherein the button (Figure 1: switch 12) comprises a mechanical or virtual button (Figure 1: switch 12 is a mechanical button).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method disclosed by Burger so that the user-actuatable element is a button as taught by Cluzeau because this is a simple substitution of an input device with a button for the predictable result of causing something to occur when the button is pressed, which is well known in the art (MPEP Section 2143 I. (B)).
Conclusion
/NORA W RHODES/Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/JOANNE M RODDEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3794