DETAILED ACTION
Claims Status
2. The response filed on September 15, 2025 has been entered and made of record.
3. Claims 2-24 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
4. The applicant's arguments filed on September 15, 2025 regarding claims 2-24 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant’s argument is specifically based on the following limitations:
(a) “receiving, at a terminal, a first message, the first message comprising a first set of parameters and a second set of parameters, wherein the first set of parameters comprises first information which indicates a first location of a first starting Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM) symbol of a shared channel for user data and the second set of parameters comprises second information which indicates a second location of a second starting OFDM symbol of the shared channel for user data”; and
(b) “receiving, at the terminal, third information through a control channel in a subframe, the third information indicating the first set of parameters, wherein the subframe comprises the control channel which comprises a first number of consecutive OFDM symbols arranged in time and the shared channel for user data which comprises a second number of consecutive OFDM symbols arranged in time subsequent to the control channel”.
Regarding claims 2, 9 and 16 applicant argued that Jen does not disclose the claim feature (a) “the first message comprising a first set of parameters and a second set of parameters, wherein the first set of parameters comprises first information which indicates a first location of a first starting Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM) symbol of a shared channel for user data and the second set of parameters comprises second information which indicates a second location of a second starting OFDM symbol of the shared channel for user data” (Applicant, page 9-12, Remarks Made in an Amendment dated September 15, 2025).
In response to applicant’s argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the above argument.
The applicant cited paragraph [0052] of Jen and stated “Jen fails to teach a single message which comprises both first information and second information that indicates multiple locations of the starting OFDM symbols of the shared channel for user data”. The applicant also stated “when discussing transmission of CFI values, Jen consistently refers to the CFI value in singular form”.
In fact, the statement is more related to grammatical issue and not a technical feature. Jen’s paragraph [0052] is also the citation for claim feature (b) i.e. “receiving, at the terminal, third information through a control channel in a subframe, the third information indicating the first set of parameters, wherein the subframe comprises the control channel which comprises a first number of consecutive OFDM symbols arranged in time and the shared channel for user data which comprises a second number of consecutive OFDM symbols arranged in time subsequent to the control channel”. Therefore, the applicant’s argument is moot.
As a support of evidence, Jen discloses:
“Step 620: Send a semi-static configuration to the UE to indicate the semi-static CFI value for both at least one normal subframe and at least one multimedia broadcast single frequency network (MBSFN) subframe of the cross-scheduled component carrier” (Fig. 6,step 620, paragraph[0058]).
Accordingly, UE receives a first message (RRC, semi-static configuration) comprising:
(1) a first information/a first set of parameters (semi-static CFI value for one normal subframe) and
(2) a second information/ a second set of parameters (semi-static CFI value for one MBSFN subframe).
Clearly, the reference Jen discloses a single message (RRC) which comprises both first information (semi-static CFI value for one normal subframe) and second information (semi-static CFI value for one MBSFN subframe) that indicate multiple locations of the starting OFDM symbols of the shared channel for user data.
It is clear that Jen teaches the claimed feature “receiving, at a terminal, a first message, the first message comprising a first set of parameters and a second set of parameters, wherein the first set of parameters comprises first information which indicates a first location of a first starting OFDM symbol of a shared channel for user data and the second set of parameters comprises second information which indicates a second location of a second starting OFDM symbol of the shared channel for user data”.
The applicant further argued that Ng does not disclose the claim feature. The applicant stated that “Ng describes each configuration being conveyed as an individual signaling. The signaling in Ng informs the UE of the CFI value for each subframe, but it does not disclose a single message that simultaneously comprises multiple candidate sets of parameters”. The applicant also stated the claim feature as “a single message that simultaneously comprises multiple candidate sets of parameter” (Applicant, page 9-12, Remarks Made in an Amendment dated September 15, 2025).
In response to applicant’s argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the above argument.
The claim cannot be interpreted as “a single message that simultaneously comprises multiple candidate sets of parameter sets”. The examiner respectfully requests the applicant to provide explanation/clarification of the difference between “an individual signaling” and “a single message”.
As a support of evidence, Ng discloses:
“The present invention provides a semi-static RRC signaling solution that is able to signal separate CFI value for each individual subframe over a frame or over multiple frames, which the UE assumes hold until the next RRC reconfiguration event. This is in contrast with the existing semi-static signaling proposal whereby only one CFI value, selected from {1, 2, 3} or a subset thereof, is signaled by RRC (re)configuration” (paragraph[0039]).
“FIG. 7 shows that the CFI value for each subframe can be different according to the RRC signaling. In FIG. 7, the CFI pattern is repeated until it is changed by RRC reconfiguration” (paragraph[0060]).
“The embodiment provides a (dedicated) RRC signaling that can signal separate CFI value to be assumed by the UE for each individual subframe of one frame, or of four consecutive frames. The UE assumes that the same configuration is applied until the next RRC reconfiguration event as shown in FIG. 7. ” (paragraph[0061]).
Accordingly, Ng provides the exemplary of the claim feature. It is clear that the combination of cited prior arts Jen in view of Ng disclose the claim features.
Therefore, in view of above, while Applicant’s remarks and arguments have been considered, they are not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
6. Claims 2, 4, 6, 9, 11, 13, 16, 18, 20 and 24 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Jen (US 2011/0317645 A1; support for the cited paragraphs sporadically through the disclosures of provisional application numbers. 62/358,644 filed on June 25, 2010), hereinafter “Jen” in view of Ng (US 2013/0094456 A1), hereinafter “Ng”.
Regarding claim 2, Jen discloses a communication method (Fig. 6, paragraphs [0051]-[0052], [0058], carrier aggregation with cross-carrier scheduling), comprising:
receiving, at a terminal, a first message (paragraphs [0051]-[0052], [0058], semi-static RRC), the first message comprising a first set of parameters and a second set of parameters (paragraphs [0051]-[0052], [0058], CFI value for both), wherein the first set of parameters comprises first information (paragraphs [0051]-[0052], [0058], semi-static configuration to the UE to indicate the semi-static CFI value for one normal subframe of the cross-scheduled component carrier) which indicates a first location of a first starting Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM) symbol of a shared channel for user data (paragraphs [0051]-[0052], [0058], UE may also determine the CFI value of the at least one subframe of the cross-scheduled component carrier, for determining a number of orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing (OFDM) symbols of a control region of the at least one subframe to receive control information, or for determining a starting position of a PDSCH to receive DL data) and the second set of parameters comprises second information (paragraphs [0051]-[0052], [0058 semi-static CFI value for one multimedia broadcast single frequency network (MBSFN) subframe of the cross-scheduled component carrier) which indicates a second location of a second starting OFDM symbol of the shared channel for user data (paragraphs [0051]-[0052], [0058], UE may also determine the CFI value of the at least one subframe of the cross-scheduled component carrier, for determining a number of orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing (OFDM) symbols of a control region of the at least one subframe to receive control information, or for determining a starting position of a PDSCH to receive DL data));
receiving, at the terminal, third information through a control channel in a subframe (paragraphs [0051]-[0052], [0058], CFI value of the at least one subframe of the cross-scheduled component carrier according to the CFI information indicated by at least one of the dynamic signaling received on the scheduling component carrier), the third information indicating the first set of parameters, wherein the subframe comprises the control channel which comprises a first number of consecutive OFDM symbols arranged in time and the shared channel for user data which comprises a second number of consecutive OFDM symbols arranged in time subsequent to the control channel (paragraphs [0051]-[0052], [0058], the CFI value of the at least one subframe of the cross-scheduled component carrier provided by the dynamic signaling is dynamic; in this situation, the UE can obtain the CFI value according to at least one of a PCFICH of the scheduling component carrier and the CFI information indicated in a PDCCH of the scheduling component carrier; the CFI value is carried by the PCFICH of the scheduling component carrier, or by the PDCCH (e.g. a field of joint-coded CFI and CIF in the PDCCH) of the scheduling component carrier which schedules the at least one subframe of the cross-scheduled component carrier); and
receiving, at the terminal, user data on the shared channel for user data in the subframe based on the first information indicating the first location of the first starting OFDM symbol (paragraphs [0051]-[0052], [0058], determining a number of orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing (OFDM) symbols of a control region of the at least one subframe to receive control information, or for determining a starting position of a PDSCH to receive DL data ),
wherein the first message is received before receiving the subframe (paragraphs [0051]-[0052], [0058],CFI value through RRC signaling (e.g. semi-static configuration).
Assuming Arguendo that Jen does not explicitly disclose or strongly suggest “receiving, at a terminal, a first message, the first message comprising a first set of parameters and a second set of parameters, wherein the first set of parameters comprises first information which indicates a first location of a first starting Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM) symbol of a shared channel for user data and the second set of parameters comprises second information which indicates a second location of a second starting OFDM symbol of the shared channel for user data”, Ng from the same or similar field of endeavor explicitly discloses receiving, at a terminal, a first message, the first message (Fig. 7, paragraphs [0039], [0060]-[0061], CFI value for each subframe can be different according to the RRC signaling) comprising a first set of parameters and a second set of parameters (Fig. 7, paragraphs [0039], [0060]-[0061], a semi-static RRC signaling solution that is able to signal separate CFI value for each individual subframe over a frame or over multiple frames, which the UE assumes hold until the next RRC reconfiguration event), wherein the first set of parameters comprises first information which indicates a first location of a first starting Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM) symbol of a shared channel for user data (Fig. 7, paragraphs [0039], [0060]-[0061], RRC signaling that can signal separate CFI value to be assumed by the UE for each individual subframe of one frame, or of four consecutive frames) and the second set of parameters comprises second information which indicates a second location of a second starting OFDM symbol of the shared channel for user data (Fig. 7, paragraphs [0039], [0060]-[0061], RRC signaling that can signal separate CFI value to be assumed by the UE for each individual subframe of one frame, or of four consecutive frames).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to provide “receiving, at a terminal, a first message, the first message comprising a first set of parameters and a second set of parameters, wherein the first set of parameters comprises first information which indicates a first location of a first starting Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM) symbol of a shared channel for user data and the second set of parameters comprises second information which indicates a second location of a second starting OFDM symbol of the shared channel for user data” as taught by Ng, in the system of Jen, so that it would provide standardized solution of cross-carrier Carrier Indicator Field (CFI) signaling to specify separate CFI values of each subframe of a frame or of four consecutive frames relates to managing/coordinating intercell interference for heterogeneous network deployment (Ng, paragraph [0029]).
Regarding claim 4, Jen discloses the control channel is a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) and the shared channel for user data is a Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) (paragraphs [0051]-[0052], [0058], determining a number of orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing (OFDM) symbols of a control region of the at least one subframe to receive control information, or for determining a starting position of a PDSCH to receive DL data and).
Regarding claim 6, Jen in view of Ng disclose the method according to claim 2.
Ng further discloses the first location of the first starting OFDM symbol is different from the second location of the second starting OFDM symbol (paragraphs [0039], [0061], FIG. 7 shows that the CFI value for each subframe can be different according to the RRC signaling).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to provide “the first location of the first starting OFDM symbol is different from the second location of the second starting OFDM symbol” as taught by Ng, in the system of Jen, so that it would provide standardized solution of cross-carrier Carrier Indicator Field (CFI) signaling to specify separate CFI values of each subframe of a frame or of four consecutive frames relates to managing/coordinating intercell interference for heterogeneous network deployment (Ng, paragraph [0029]).
Regarding claim 13, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 6.
Regarding claim 16, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 2.
Regarding claim 18, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 4.
Regarding claim 20, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 6.
Regarding claim 24, Jen in view of Ng disclose the communication apparatus according to claim 16.
Ng further discloses the first set of parameters includes information related to Multicast-Broadcast Single Frequency Network (MBSFN) transmission (paragraph [0063], the RRC signaling to address the CFI values for each subframe group over one frame is 2+1+6=9 bits, i.e. 2 bits for the CFI value for subframe group A (CFI=1, 2, 3), 1 bit for the CFI value for subframe group B (CFI=1, 2) and 6 bits to indicate which of the 6 subframes belongs to subframe group B, corresponding to subframes that can potentially be MBSFN subframes).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to provide “the first set of parameters includes information related to Multicast-Broadcast Single Frequency Network (MBSFN) transmission” as taught by Ng, in the system of Jen, so that it would provide standardized solution of cross-carrier Carrier Indicator Field (CFI) signaling to specify separate CFI values of each subframe of a frame or of four consecutive frames relates to managing/coordinating intercell interference for heterogeneous network deployment (Ng, paragraph [0029]).
7. Claims 3, 8, 10, 15, 17 and 22 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Jen (US 2011/0317645 A1; support for the cited paragraphs sporadically through the disclosures of provisional application numbers. 62/358,644 filed on June 25, 2010), hereinafter “Jen” in view of Ng (US 2013/0094456 A1), hereinafter “Ng” in view of Miki et al. (WO 2011/021617 -pub date Feb 24, 2011; Note: US 2012/0163334 A1, a 371 application of WO 2011/021617 is cited herein as an English translation in this office action), hereinafter “Miki”.
Regarding claim 3, Jen in view of Ng disclose the method according to claim 2.
Neither Jen nor Ng explicitly discloses “determining, at the terminal, a third location of a third starting OFDM symbol of the shared channel for user data in the subframe, wherein the third information comprises an identifier which consists of two bits which designates the first set of parameters among four candidate sets of parameters”.
However, Miki from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses determining, at the terminal, a third location of a third starting OFDM symbol of the shared channel for user data in the subframe (Fig. 16, paragraphs [0047], [0102], relationship between the control channel region and the data region; subframe # 1 is of the case of notifying of CFI=1, where the control channel region is multiplexed into a first OFDM symbol of the first slot, and the data region starts from a second OFDM symbol of the first slot in the subframe).,
wherein the third information comprises an identifier which consists of two bits which designates the first set of parameters among four candidate sets of parameters (Fig. 16, paragraphs [0047], [0102], PCFICH field F3 is set for the CFI value of the PCFICH by two bits).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to provide “determining, at the terminal, a third location of a third starting OFDM symbol of the shared channel for user data in the subframe, wherein the third information comprises an identifier which consists of two bits which designates the first set of parameters among four candidate sets of parameters” as taught by Miki, in the combined system of Jen and Ng, so that it would prevent the occurrence of a defect which is caused by properly receiving a downlink control signal while erroneously receiving assignment information indicative of the assignment position (Miki, paragraph [0009]).
Regarding claim 8, Jen in view of Ng disclose the method according to claim 2.
Neither Jen nor Ng explicitly discloses “all of the second number of consecutive OFDM symbols of the shared channel for transmitting user data are received subsequent to any of the first number of consecutive OFDM symbols of the control channel”.
However, Miki from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses all of the second number of consecutive OFDM symbols of the shared channel for transmitting user data are received subsequent to any of the first number of consecutive OFDM symbols of the control channel (Figs. 3, 16, paragraphs [0047], [0102], Subframe # 1 is of the case of notifying of CFI=1, where the control channel region is multiplexed into a first OFDM symbol of the first slot, and the data region starts from a second OFDM symbol of the first slot in the subframe).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to provide “all of the second number of consecutive OFDM symbols of the shared channel for transmitting user data are received subsequent to any of the first number of consecutive OFDM symbols of the control channel” as taught by Miki, in the combined system of Jen and Ng, so that it would prevent the occurrence of a defect which is caused by properly receiving a downlink control signal while erroneously receiving assignment information indicative of the assignment position (Miki, paragraph [0009]).
Regarding claim 9, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 2.
Regarding claim 10, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 3.
Regarding claim 11, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 4.
Regarding claim 15, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 8.
Regarding claim 17, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 3.
Regarding claim 22, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 8.
8. Claims 5, 12, 19 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Jen (US 2011/0317645 A1; support for the cited paragraphs sporadically through the disclosures of provisional application numbers. 62/358,644 filed on June 25, 2010), hereinafter “Jen” in view of Ng (US 2013/0094456 A1), hereinafter “Ng” in view of Montojo et al. (US 2011/0103286 A1), hereinafter “Montojo”.
Regarding claim 5, Jen in view of Ng disclose the method according to claim 2.
Neither Jen nor Ng explicitly discloses “the first set of parameters includes information related to Multicast-Broadcast Single Frequency Network (MBSFN) transmission, and location information related to reference signals”.
However, Montojo from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses the first set of parameters includes information related to Multicast-Broadcast Single Frequency Network (MBSFN) transmission (Fig. 7, paragraphs [0066], [0070], FIG. 7 illustrates a conventional MBSFN subframe structure, which includes a control region 702 and a data region 704; The data region 704 may carry traffic (e.g., MBSFN symbols) and MBSFN reference signals), and location information related to reference signals (Fig. 7, paragraphs [0066], [0070], RS may also depend on the format of a Downlink Control Information (DCI) message. For example, DCI formats may include 0, 1A, 1B, 1C, 1D, 2, and 2A; Alternatively, for certain embodiments, the RS may depend on the Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDSCH) transmission scheme; For example, the PDSCH may use a transmit diversity scheme with a truncated CRS pattern for the Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) scheduled by DCI format 1A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to provide “the first set of parameters includes information related to Multicast-Broadcast Single Frequency Network (MBSFN) transmission, and location information related to reference signals” as taught by Montojo, in the combined system of Jen and Ng, so that it would provide efficient usage of Multimedia Broadcast/Multicast Services over Single Frequency Network (MBSFN) subframes for unicast transmissions (Montojo, paragraph [0002]).
Regarding claim 12, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 5.
Regarding claim 19, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 5.
Regarding claim 23, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 5.
9. Claims 7, 14 and 21 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Jen (US 2011/0317645 A1; support for the cited paragraphs sporadically through the disclosures of provisional application numbers. 62/358,644 filed on June 25, 2010), hereinafter “Jen” in view of Ng (US 2013/0094456 A1), hereinafter “Ng” in view of Haghighat et al. (US 2012/0106465 A1), hereinafter “Haghighat”.
Regarding claim 7, Jen in view of Ng disclose the method according to claim 2.
Neither Jen nor Ng explicitly discloses “receiving, at the terminal, fourth information through an enhanced physical downlink control channel (ePDCCH) within the shared channel for user data, wherein the ePDCCH comprises a third number of consecutive OFDM symbols, and the first starting OFDM symbol is different from a starting OFDM symbol of the ePDCCH”.
However, Haghighat from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses receiving, at the terminal, fourth information through an enhanced physical downlink control channel (ePDCCH) within the shared channel for user data, wherein the ePDCCH comprises a third number of consecutive OFDM symbols, and the first starting OFDM symbol is different from a starting OFDM symbol of the ePDCCH (Fig. 4, paragraphs [0077], [0092], [0095], Referring to FIG. 4, the DCI payload carrying the PDSCH scheduling information may be a DCI payload heretofore unused, and may include E-PDCCH scheduling information such as, but not limited to Nstart, Nend, and RB assignment information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to provide “receiving, at the terminal, fourth information through an enhanced physical downlink control channel (ePDCCH) within the shared channel for user data, wherein the ePDCCH comprises a third number of consecutive OFDM symbols, and the first starting OFDM symbol is different from a starting OFDM symbol of the ePDCCH” as taught by Haghighat, in the combined system of Jen and Ng, so that it would provide selection of concepts in a simplified form configured to reduce downlink control channel interference (Haghighat, paragraph [0005]).
Regarding claim 14, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 7.
Regarding claim 21, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 7.
Conclusion
10. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SITHU KO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414