DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims Status
3. The response filed on April 16, 2026 has been entered and made of record.
4. No claims have been amended.
5. Claims 1 and 23-24 have been cancelled.
6. Claims 25 and 26 are newly added.
7. Claims 2-22 and 25-26 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
8. The applicant's arguments filed on April 16, 2026 regarding claims 2-22 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. [Note: Examiner has cited particular paragraphs or columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well].
Regarding claims 2, 9 and 16, applicant argued that, Jen and Ng do not disclose the claim feature “receiving, at a terminal, a first message, the first message comprising a first set of parameters and a second set of parameters, wherein the first set of parameters comprises first information which indicates a first location of a first starting OFDM symbol of a shared channel for user data and the second set of parameters comprises second information which indicates a second location of a second starting OFDM symbol of the shared channel for user data” (Applicant, page 9-12, Remarks Made in an Amendment dated April 16, 2026).
Jen (US 2011/0317645 A1):
The applicant stated that Jen does not disclose a single message comprising both a first set of parameters and a second set of parameters. The applicant also stated the Jen transmits single scalar integer - the CFI value (1, 2, or 3) - which indicates only the number of OFDM symbols in the control region of a subframe.
In response to applicant’s argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the above argument.
As a support of evidence, Jen discloses:
“According to the process 40, the UE locates the PCFICH of the DL component carrier of the cell in the wireless communication system according to at least one of the cell-specific frequency offset, the UE-specific offset, the component carrier-specific offset and the additional cell-specific offset. The UE-specific offset may be configured by a network element of the cell by using a RRC signaling or a dynamic signaling. Alternatively, the UE-specific offset may be one of a plurality of offsets configured by the network of the wireless communication system to the UE. More specifically, the UE-specific offset is a bandwidth offset, a hopping offset, a frequency carrier offset or an antenna port offset. The additional cell-specific offset is a bandwidth offset, a hopping offset or a frequency carrier offset. Besides, the UE may decode or descramble the PCFICH according to at least one of a cell-specific sequence and a component carrier-specific sequence, to acquire the CFI information, after locating the PCFICH of the DL component carrier. In addition, the UE is configured with a CA configuration by the network or not” (paragraph[0045]).
“Step 620: Send a semi-static configuration to the UE to indicate the semi-static CFI value for both at least one normal subframe and at least one multimedia broadcast single frequency network (MBSFN) subframe of the cross-scheduled component carrier” (Fig. 6,step 620, paragraph[0058]).
“According to the process 60, after configuring the cross-scheduled component carrier to the UE by using the CA configuration (with cross-carrier scheduling), the network sends the semi-static configuration to the UE to indicate the semi-static CFI value for both the at least one normal subframe and the at least one MBSFN subframe of the cross-scheduled component carrier” (Fig. 6,step 630, paragraph[0060]).
Accordingly, CFI values, which indicates the number of OFDM symbols used for transmission of control channel, are determined according to a set of parameters such as cell-specific frequency offset, the UE-specific offset (bandwidth offset, a hopping offset, a frequency carrier offset, an antenna port offset). Jen discloses a single (RRC) message which comprising a set of CFI values for normal subframes (a first set of parameters) and a set of CFI values for MBSFN subframes (a second set of parameters).
For example, a single RRC message includes a CFI value 2 for 6 normal subframes and 4 MBSFN subframes.
In other words, a set of CFI values (2, 2, 2, 2, 2, 2) are six normal subframes (subframe 1, subframe 2, subframe 3, subframe 4, subframe 5, subframe 6). A set of CFI values (2, 2, 2, 2) are six normal subframes (subframe 7, subframe 8, subframe 9, subframe 10). The first set of parameters and the second set of parameters are the same in this example.
Therefore, it is clear that Jen teaches the claimed feature “receiving, at a terminal, a first message, the first message comprising a first set of parameters and a second set of parameters, wherein the first set of parameters comprises first information which indicates a first location of a first starting OFDM symbol of a shared channel for user data and the second set of parameters comprises second information which indicates a second location of a second starting OFDM symbol of the shared channel for user data”.
Ng (US 2013/0094456 A1):
The applicant cited paragraphs [0039] and [0042] of Ng and argued that Ng’s “set of CFI values” is a time-sequential assignment of individual scalar values within a repeating frame pattern, which is distinct from the claim feature.
In response to applicant’s argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the above argument.
As a support of evidence, Ng discloses:
“The present invention provides a semi-static RRC signaling solution that is able to signal separate CFI value for each individual subframe over a frame or over multiple frames, which the UE assumes hold until the next RRC reconfiguration event. This is in contrast with the existing semi-static signaling proposal whereby only one CFI value, selected from {1, 2, 3} or a subset thereof, is signaled by RRC (re)configuration” (paragraph[0039]).
“FIG. 7 shows that the CFI value for each subframe can be different according to the RRC signaling. In FIG. 7, the CFI pattern is repeated until it is changed by RRC reconfiguration” (paragraph[0060]).
“The embodiment provides a (dedicated) RRC signaling that can signal separate CFI value to be assumed by the UE for each individual subframe of one frame, or of four consecutive frames. The UE assumes that the same configuration is applied until the next RRC reconfiguration event as shown in FIG.7. ” (paragraph[0061]).
“As there are 3 possible CFI values, 2 bits are needed to address a CFI value. There are two subframe groups, called subframe group A and subframe group B. The RRC signaling to address the CFI values for each subframe group over one frame is 2+1+6=9 bits, i.e. 2 bits for the CFI value for subframe group A (CFI=1, 2, 3), 1 bit for the CFI value for subframe group B (CFI=1, 2) and 6 bits to indicate which of the 6 subframes belongs to subframe group B, corresponding to subframes that can potentially be MBSFN subframes” (paragraph[0063]).
Accordingly, Ng provides the exemplary of the claim feature.
There are two subframe groups, called subframe group A (normal subframe) and subframe group B (MBSFN subframe):
A semi-static RRC signaling (a single message) to address the CFI values for each subframe group over one frame is 2+1+6 = 9 bits as follows:
(1) two bits of the total 9 bits of the RRC message is used for the set of CFI values for subframe group A (CFI = 1, 2, 3) (a first set of parameters);
(2) one bit the total 9 bits of the RRC message is used for the set of CFI values for subframe group B (CFI = 1, 2) (a second set of parameters); and
(3) six bits the total 9 bits of the RRC message is used to which of the 6 subframes belongs to subframe group B.
It is clear that the combination of Jen and Ng disclose the claim feature “receiving, at a terminal, a first message, the first message comprising a first set of parameters and a second set of parameters, wherein the first set of parameters comprises first information which indicates a first location of a first starting OFDM symbol of a shared channel for user data and the second set of parameters comprises second information which indicates a second location of a second starting OFDM symbol of the shared channel for user data”.
Therefore, in view of above, while Applicant’s remarks and arguments have been considered, they are not persuasive. All remaining arguments presented by Applicant directed to the other claims are found unpersuasive for the same reasons as stated herein, and the rejection has been revised and set forth below according to the amended claims.
Clarifying fundamental difference between claims functionality and the cited reference’s by incorporating the allowable subject matter indicated in this office action could overcome the current outstanding rejection (The examiner believes a more favorable outcome may occur if the applicant amends each independent claims by incorporating the features of objected claim 25).
Terminal Disclaimer
9. The terminal disclaimer filed on October 05, 2022 and January 27, 2023 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of any patent granted on Application Number 14/986,292 and 16/398,306 have been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
11. Claims 2, 4, 6, 9, 11, 13, 16, 18 and 20 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Jen (US 2011/0317645 A1; support for the cited paragraphs sporadically through the disclosures of provisional application number. 61/358,644 filed on June 25, 2010), hereinafter “Jen” in view of Ng (US 2013/0094456 A1), hereinafter “Ng”.
Regarding claim 2, Jen discloses a communication method (Fig. 6, paragraphs [0051]-[0052], [0058], carrier aggregation with cross-carrier scheduling), comprising:
receiving, at a terminal, a first message (paragraphs [0045], [0051],[0058], [0060], semi-static RRC), the first message comprising a first set of parameters (paragraphs [0045], [0051],[0058], [0060], set of CFI values for normal subframes) and a second set of parameters (paragraphs [0045], [0051],[0058], [0060], set of CFI values for MBSFN subframes), wherein the first set of parameters comprises first information (paragraphs [0045], [0051],[0058], [0060], semi-static configuration to the UE to indicate the semi-static CFI value for one normal subframe of the cross-scheduled component carrier) which indicates a first location of a first starting Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM) symbol of a shared channel for user data and the second set of parameters comprises second information (paragraphs [0045], [0051],[0058], [0060], semi-static CFI value for one multimedia broadcast single frequency network (MBSFN) subframe of the cross-scheduled component carrier) which indicates a second location of a second starting OFDM symbol of the shared channel for user data (paragraphs [0045], [0051],[0058], [0060], UE may also determine the CFI value of the at least one subframe of the cross-scheduled component carrier, for determining a number of orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing (OFDM) symbols of a control region of the at least one subframe to receive control information, or for determining a starting position of a PDSCH to receive DL data);
receiving, at the terminal, third information through a control channel in a subframe (paragraphs [0051]-[0052], [0058], CFI value of the at least one subframe of the cross-scheduled component carrier according to the CFI information indicated by at least one of the dynamic signaling received on the scheduling component carrier), the third information indicating the first set of parameters, wherein the subframe comprises the control channel which comprises a first number of consecutive OFDM symbols arranged in time and the shared channel for user data which comprises a second number of consecutive OFDM symbols arranged in time subsequent to the control channel (paragraphs [0051]-[0052], [0058], the CFI value of the at least one subframe of the cross-scheduled component carrier provided by the dynamic signaling is dynamic; in this situation, the UE can obtain the CFI value according to at least one of a PCFICH of the scheduling component carrier and the CFI information indicated in a PDCCH of the scheduling component carrier; the CFI value is carried by the PCFICH of the scheduling component carrier, or by the PDCCH (e.g. a field of joint-coded CFI and CIF in the PDCCH) of the scheduling component carrier which schedules the at least one subframe of the cross-scheduled component carrier); and
receiving, at the terminal, user data on the shared channel for user data in the subframe based on the first information indicating the first location of the first starting OFDM symbol (paragraphs [0051]-[0052], [0058], determining a number of orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing (OFDM) symbols of a control region of the at least one subframe to receive control information, or for determining a starting position of a PDSCH to receive DL data ),
wherein the first message is received before receiving the subframe (paragraphs [0051]-[0052], [0058],CFI value through RRC signaling (e.g. semi-static configuration).
Assuming Arguendo that Jen does not explicitly disclose or strongly suggest “receiving, at a terminal, a first message, the first message comprising a first set of parameters and a second set of parameters, wherein the first set of parameters comprises first information which indicates a first location of a first starting Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM) symbol of a shared channel for user data and the second set of parameters comprises second information which indicates a second location of a second starting OFDM symbol of the shared channel for user data”, Ng from the same or similar field of endeavor explicitly discloses receiving, at a terminal, a first message, the first message (Fig. 7, paragraphs [0039], [0060]-[0063], CFI value for each subframe can be different according to the RRC signaling) comprising a first set of parameters and a second set of parameters (Fig. 7, paragraphs [0039], [0060]-[0063], A semi-static RRC signaling (a single message) to address the CFI values for each subframe group over one frame is 2+1+6 = 9 bits as follows: (1) two bits of the total 9 bits of the RRC message is used for the set of CFI values for subframe group A (CFI = 1, 2, 3) (a first set of parameters); (2) one bit the total 9 bits of the RRC message is used for the set of CFI values for subframe group B (CFI = 1, 2) (a second set of parameters); and (3) six bits the total 9 bits of the RRC message is used to which of the 6 subframes belongs to subframe group B), wherein the first set of parameters comprises first information which indicates a first location of a first starting Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM) symbol of a shared channel for user data (Fig. 7, paragraphs [0039], [0060]-[0063], RRC signaling that can signal separate CFI value to be assumed by the UE for each individual subframe of one frame, or of four consecutive frames) and the second set of parameters comprises second information which indicates a second location of a second starting OFDM symbol of the shared channel for user data (Fig. 7, paragraphs [0039], [0060]-[0063], RRC signaling that can signal separate CFI value to be assumed by the UE for each individual subframe of one frame, or of four consecutive frames).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to provide “receiving, at a terminal, a first message, the first message comprising a first set of parameters and a second set of parameters, wherein the first set of parameters comprises first information which indicates a first location of a first starting Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM) symbol of a shared channel for user data and the second set of parameters comprises second information which indicates a second location of a second starting OFDM symbol of the shared channel for user data” as taught by Ng, in the system of Jen, so that it would provide standardized solution of cross-carrier Carrier Indicator Field (CFI) signaling to specify separate CFI values of each subframe of a frame or of four consecutive frames relates to managing/coordinating intercell interference for heterogeneous network deployment (Ng, paragraph [0029]).
Regarding claim 4, Jen discloses the control channel is a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) and the shared channel for user data is a Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) (paragraphs [0051]-[0052], [0058], determining a number of orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing (OFDM) symbols of a control region of the at least one subframe to receive control information, or for determining a starting position of a PDSCH to receive DL data and).
Regarding claim 6, Jen in view of Ng disclose the method according to claim 2.
Ng further discloses the first location of the first starting OFDM symbol is different from the second location of the second starting OFDM symbol (paragraphs [0039], [0061], FIG. 7 shows that the CFI value for each subframe can be different according to the RRC signaling).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to provide “the first location of the first starting OFDM symbol is different from the second location of the second starting OFDM symbol” as taught by Ng, in the system of Jen, so that it would provide standardized solution of cross-carrier Carrier Indicator Field (CFI) signaling to specify separate CFI values of each subframe of a frame or of four consecutive frames relates to managing/coordinating intercell interference for heterogeneous network deployment (Ng, paragraph [0029]).
Regarding claim 9, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 2.
Regarding claim 11, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 4.
Regarding claim 13, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 6.
Regarding claim 16, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 2.
Regarding claim 18, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 4.
Regarding claim 20, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 6.
12. Claims 3, 8, 10, 15, 17 and 22 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Jen (US 2011/0317645 A1; support for the cited paragraphs sporadically through the disclosures of provisional application number. 61/358,644 filed on June 25, 2010), hereinafter “Jen” in view of Ng (US 2013/0094456 A1), hereinafter “Ng” in view of Miki et al. (WO 2011/021617 -pub date Feb 24, 2011; Note: US 2012/0163334 A1, a 371 application of WO 2011/021617 is cited herein as an English translation in this office action), hereinafter “Miki”.
Regarding claim 3, Jen in view of Ng disclose the method according to claim 2.
Neither Jen nor Ng explicitly discloses “determining, at the terminal, a third location of a third starting OFDM symbol of the shared channel for user data in the subframe, wherein the third information comprises an identifier which consists of two bits which designates the first set of parameters among four candidate sets of parameters”.
However, Miki from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses determining, at the terminal, a third location of a third starting OFDM symbol of the shared channel for user data in the subframe (Fig. 16, paragraphs [0047], [0102], relationship between the control channel region and the data region; subframe # 1 is of the case of notifying of CFI=1, where the control channel region is multiplexed into a first OFDM symbol of the first slot, and the data region starts from a second OFDM symbol of the first slot in the subframe).,
wherein the third information comprises an identifier which consists of two bits which designates the first set of parameters among four candidate sets of parameters (Fig. 16, paragraphs [0047], [0102], PCFICH field F3 is set for the CFI value of the PCFICH by two bits).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to provide “determining, at the terminal, a third location of a third starting OFDM symbol of the shared channel for user data in the subframe, wherein the third information comprises an identifier which consists of two bits which designates the first set of parameters among four candidate sets of parameters” as taught by Miki, in the combined system of Jen and Ng, so that it would prevent the occurrence of a defect which is caused by properly receiving a downlink control signal while erroneously receiving assignment information indicative of the assignment position (Miki, paragraph [0009]).
Regarding claim 8, Jen in view of Ng disclose the method according to claim 2.
Neither Jen nor Ng explicitly discloses “all of the second number of consecutive OFDM symbols of the shared channel for transmitting user data are received subsequent to any of the first number of consecutive OFDM symbols of the control channel”.
However, Miki from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses all of the second number of consecutive OFDM symbols of the shared channel for transmitting user data are received subsequent to any of the first number of consecutive OFDM symbols of the control channel (Figs. 3, 16, paragraphs [0047], [0102], Subframe # 1 is of the case of notifying of CFI=1, where the control channel region is multiplexed into a first OFDM symbol of the first slot, and the data region starts from a second OFDM symbol of the first slot in the subframe).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to provide “all of the second number of consecutive OFDM symbols of the shared channel for transmitting user data are received subsequent to any of the first number of consecutive OFDM symbols of the control channel” as taught by Miki, in the combined system of Jen and Ng, so that it would prevent the occurrence of a defect which is caused by properly receiving a downlink control signal while erroneously receiving assignment information indicative of the assignment position (Miki, paragraph [0009]).
Regarding claim 10, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 3.
Regarding claim 15, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 8.
Regarding claim 17, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 3.
Regarding claim 22, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 8.
13. Claims 5, 12 and 19 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Jen (US 2011/0317645 A1; support for the cited paragraphs sporadically through the disclosures of provisional application number. 61/358,644 filed on June 25, 2010), hereinafter “Jen” in view of Ng (US 2013/0094456 A1), hereinafter “Ng” in view of Montojo et al. (US 2011/0103286 A1), hereinafter “Montojo”.
Regarding claim 5, Jen in view of Ng disclose the method according to claim 2.
Neither Jen nor Ng explicitly discloses “the first set of parameters includes information related to Multicast-Broadcast Single Frequency Network (MBSFN) transmission, and location information related to reference signals”.
However, Montojo from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses the first set of parameters includes information related to Multicast-Broadcast Single Frequency Network (MBSFN) transmission (Fig. 7, paragraphs [0066], [0070], FIG. 7 illustrates a conventional MBSFN subframe structure, which includes a control region 702 and a data region 704; The data region 704 may carry traffic (e.g., MBSFN symbols) and MBSFN reference signals), and location information related to reference signals (Fig. 7, paragraphs [0066], [0070], RS may also depend on the format of a Downlink Control Information (DCI) message. For example, DCI formats may include 0, 1A, 1B, 1C, 1D, 2, and 2A; Alternatively, for certain embodiments, the RS may depend on the Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDSCH) transmission scheme; For example, the PDSCH may use a transmit diversity scheme with a truncated CRS pattern for the Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) scheduled by DCI format 1A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to provide “the first set of parameters includes information related to Multicast-Broadcast Single Frequency Network (MBSFN) transmission, and location information related to reference signals” as taught by Montojo, in the combined system of Jen and Ng, so that it would provide efficient usage of Multimedia Broadcast/Multicast Services over Single Frequency Network (MBSFN) subframes for unicast transmissions (Montojo, paragraph [0002]).
Regarding claim 12, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 5.
Regarding claim 19, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 5.
14. Claims 7, 14 and 21 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Jen (US 2011/0317645 A1; support for the cited paragraphs sporadically through the disclosures of provisional application number. 61/358,644 filed on June 25, 2010), hereinafter “Jen” in view of Ng (US 2013/0094456 A1), hereinafter “Ng” in view of Haghighat et al. (US 2012/0106465 A1), hereinafter “Haghighat”.
Regarding claim 7, Jen in view of Ng disclose the method according to claim 2.
Neither Jen nor Ng explicitly discloses “receiving, at the terminal, fourth information through an enhanced physical downlink control channel (ePDCCH) within the shared channel for user data, wherein the ePDCCH comprises a third number of consecutive OFDM symbols, and the first starting OFDM symbol is different from a starting OFDM symbol of the ePDCCH”.
However, Haghighat from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses receiving, at the terminal, fourth information through an enhanced physical downlink control channel (ePDCCH) within the shared channel for user data, wherein the ePDCCH comprises a third number of consecutive OFDM symbols, and the first starting OFDM symbol is different from a starting OFDM symbol of the ePDCCH (Fig. 4, paragraphs [0077], [0092], [0095], Referring to FIG. 4, the DCI payload carrying the PDSCH scheduling information may be a DCI payload heretofore unused, and may include E-PDCCH scheduling information such as, but not limited to Nstart, Nend, and RB assignment information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to provide “receiving, at the terminal, fourth information through an enhanced physical downlink control channel (ePDCCH) within the shared channel for user data, wherein the ePDCCH comprises a third number of consecutive OFDM symbols, and the first starting OFDM symbol is different from a starting OFDM symbol of the ePDCCH” as taught by Haghighat, in the combined system of Jen and Ng, so that it would provide selection of concepts in a simplified form configured to reduce downlink control channel interference (Haghighat, paragraph [0005]).
Regarding claim 14, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 7.
Regarding claim 21, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 7.
15. Claim 26 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Jen (US 2011/0317645 A1; support for the cited paragraphs sporadically through the disclosures of provisional application numbers. 61/358,644 filed on June 25, 2010), hereinafter “Jen” in view of Ng (US 2013/0094456 A1), hereinafter “Ng” in view of Marinier et al. (US 2013/0003788 A1; support for the cited paragraphs sporadically through the disclosures of provisional application numbers. 61/430,741 filed on January 07, 2011; 61/441,864 filed on February 11, 2011;and 61/480,657 filed on April 29, 2011), hereinafter “Marinier”.
Regarding claim 26, Jen in view of Ng disclose the method according to claim 2.
Neither Jen nor Ng explicitly discloses “the first set of parameters further includes configuration information on a zero-power channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS)”.
However, Marinier from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses the first set of parameters further includes configuration information on a zero-power channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) (paragraphs [0295], [0334], a set of zero-power CSI-RS (or muting pattern) for some or each transmission point (or subset thereof), occurring in different subframes for different transmission points (or subset thereof)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to provide “the first set of parameters further includes configuration information on a zero-power channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS)” as taught by Marinier, in the combined system of Jen and Ng, so that it would provide cell-edge performance as both the serving cell signal and the interfering signal strengths evaluated based on the system’s average cell throughput and/or its cell-edge throughput (Marinier, paragraph [0002]).
Allowable Subject Matter
16. Claim 25 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable contingent upon or subject to the following conditions:
(1) that the subject limitation(s) are not taken alone but in view of the entirety of the claim language including any preceding claim limitation, any proceeding claim limitations, and any intervening claim limitations, and
(2) that all independent claims were amended with similar features and the amendments were submitted in a formal response.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Prior art reference Montojo et al. (US 2011/0103286 A1) discloses a common reference signal (CRS) pattern for a CRS-based PDSCH transmission scheme and truncated CRS pattern for the Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) scheduled by DCI format (paragraphs [0062], [0066], [0070]).
Prior art reference Han et al. (US 2011/0044250 A1) further discloses the higher layer signaling to determine whether the current subframe is an LTE-A subframe or a normal subframe and, as a consequence, determines whether to receive the CRS or the DM-RS in the current subframe (paragraphs [0047], [0048], [0065]).
The prior art, however, neither explicitly teaches nor suggests “the first set of parameters further includes a count of cell-specific reference signal (CRS) antenna ports and a frequency shift of the CRS” as recited by claim 25.
[Note: In the case of given the scope of the claimed amendments and/or the arguments would require further consideration or search may result in new ground(s) of rejection. The examiner notes the above limitation(s) are not taken alone but in view of the entirety of the claim language including any preceding claim limitation, any proceeding claim limitations, and any intervening claim limitations.]
Conclusion
/SITHU KO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414