Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 13 have been considered but are not persuasive as the negative limitations of the claim amendments fail to distinguish from the prior art of record. Specifically, as seen in annotated figure 3 of Xing et al. below, the adhesive layer 54 is exposed both at the surface coming out of the page in annotated figure and at the side facing the adjacent lead tab or strip 38) in a manner which anticipates the new limitations.
The exposed (not covered) parts of the uppermost first portions adhesive layers 54 are also clearly visible in figures 1, 5 and 10. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 3, 5, 13, 15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1 or 2) as being anticipated by Xing et al. (US Pub 2004/0081890 newly cited).
In regard to claims 3, 5, 13 and 15, Xing et al. teach a power storage device (battery 10), comprising: a power storage device body (cell 12); a current output terminal (tab 28) extended from the power storage device body; a packaging material (outer polymer layer 52, package 14) sandwiching a first portion of the current output terminal between surfaces thereof and holding the power storage device body therein;
and a terminal coating resin film (adhesive layer 54) in contact with a part (of) sic the packaging material (52, 14) sandwiching the first portion of the current terminal, wherein the terminal coating resin film 54 seals the current output terminal 28, the terminal coating resin consists of a silicone thermosetting resin having adhesion to the current output terminal 28 (paragraph [0032],
the current output terminal is a metal foil (metal screen or mesh 28 – paragraph [0027]) having a first surface and a second surface opposite to the first surface, the terminal coating resin film 54 comprises a first single layer consisting of the resin composition and a second single layer consisting of the resin composition,
the first single layer comprises a first portion and a second portion; the second single layer comprises a first portion and a second portion;
the first portion of the first single layer 54 adheres to the first surface of the metal foil 28, wherein the packaging material is not in contact with the first single layer over a part of the first portion of the first single layer; the first portion of the second single layer adheres to the second surface of the metal foil 28, wherein the packaging material is not in contact with the first single layer over a part of the first portion of the second single layer (see annotated figure 3 –the adhesive layer 54 is exposed both at the surface coming out of the page in annotated figure below, also seen clearly in figures 1, 5 and 10 and at the side facing the adjacent lead tab or strip 38);
the second portion of the first single layer and the second portion of the second single layer are in direct contact and sealed to each other; and the packaging material 14, 52 covers surfaces of the power storage device body while being in contact with a part of the terminal coating resin film (see annotated figure 7 below, paragraphs [0026-0033]).
In regard to claim 18, the resin composition 54 is only on the current output terminal and not on the rest of the power storage device (see figures 1-7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xing et al. as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Takahashi et al. (WO 2018/154913 A1 using US Pub 2019/0386285 as a translation thereof, both of record).
In regard to claims 5, 16 and 17, Xing et al. teach thermosetting resins as applied above (paragraph [0032]) but does not specifically disclose urethane or epoxy resins. However, Takahashi et al. teach a similar terminal coating resin film (protective layer 1) that seals a current output terminal (positive electrode tab 70), comprising: a resin (curable thermosetting resin) composition having adhesion to the current output terminal 70; and the desirability for the resin composition to be a single layer of thermosetting resin such as epoxy or poly urethane as such have high heat resistance (see paragraphs [0035-0037], such as polymerized polyisocyanate and polyol, i.e., urethane).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an epoxy or urethane resin as the thermosetting resin film on the electrode lead in the battery of Xing et al. as such materials have high heat resistance as taught by Takahashi et al.
Claim 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xing et al. as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Nishimura et al. (US Pub 2013/01089591 of record).
In regard to claim 14, Xing et al. teach the power storage device as applied above but do not specify a fully solid-state battery. However, Nishimura et al. teach a similar battery power storage device including a thermosetting resin as an insulating sealing portion 112 on the battery lead wires 110, 111 (see paragraph [0029], figure 1) and the desirability to use a solid polymer electrolyte ion conducting membrane instead of a liquid electrolyte because such allows for the separator to be advantageously omitted (paragraph [0042]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a solid polymer electrolyte instead of a separator and liquid electrolyte in the battery of Xing et al. forming a fully solid-state battery as such omits the necessity of the separator as taught by Nishimura et al.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US Pub 2021/0234222 teaches in paragraph [0098] The adhesive film for a metal terminal is embedded in a thermosetting epoxy resin, and cured which is relevant to the instant claims.
US Pub 2016/0248052 newly cited, teaches similar sealing films.
/NICHOLAS P D'ANIELLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723