DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 21-40 are pending in this Office Action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed in the amendment filed 11/13/2025, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The reasons are set forth below.
Drawings
The formal drawings received on 03/16/2021 have been entered.
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 21-40 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. US 9,882,995. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the Instant Application (Appl. No. 17/113,419) are obvious variants of claims of U.S. Patent No. US 9,882,995.
Claim(s) 21-40 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. US 10,862,981. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the Instant Application (Appl. No. 17/113,419) are obvious variants of claims of U.S. Patent No. US 10,862,981.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 21-40 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 21, 31, 38 recite “… playing back first audio content in accordance with the factory-set default configuration setting ….” These limitations lack written description support in the applicant’s specification.
Claims 21, 31, 38 recite “obtain, via a first wireless network, …” and “receive audio content via a second wireless network ….” These limitations lack written description support in the applicant’s specification.
Claims 21, 31, 38 recite “receive second audio content …” and “play back second audio content ….” These limitations lack written description support in the applicant’s specification.
Claims 22, 32, 39 recite “before obtaining, from the at least one cloud-based server, the information …: collect wireless network data relating to the second wireless network, the wireless network data ….” These limitations lack written description support in the applicant’s specification.
Claims 25, 35 recite “… first wireless network.” These limitations lack written description support in the applicant’s specification.
Claims 27, 37 recite “… second wireless network.” These limitations lack written description support in the applicant’s specification.
Claim 30 recites “… the first wireless network is the same as the second wireless network.” These limitations lack written description support in the applicant’s specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim(s) 21, 22, 27, 28, 30-32, and 37-39 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Loureiro (US 20130324031) in view of Anderson (US 20120052876), and further in view of Koos (US 20030198208) and Chaikin (US 20100272270).
21, 31, 38. Loureiro teaches:
A playback device, comprising: – in paragraphs [0028], [0029] (As each speaker establishes a wireless (e.g. WiFi) connection to the amplifier/controller, the processor 22 in the speaker causes its location to be sent to the controller.)
at least one wireless network interface configured to facilitate communication over at least one data network; – in paragraphs [0015], [0028], [0029] (Each of the wireless speakers also has wireless communications link capability, e.g. a WiFi link capability. Each speaker contains an apparatus such as that illustrated in FIG. 1 having at least a processor 22, memory 24, and a communications interface 28.)
at least one processor; – in paragraphs [0015], [0028], [0029] (As each speaker establishes a wireless (e.g. WiFi) connection to the amplifier/controller, the processor 22 in the speaker causes its location to be sent to the controller.)
at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium; – in paragraphs [0015], [0028], [0029] (Each speaker contains an apparatus such as that illustrated in FIG. 1 having at least a processor 22, memory 24, and a communications interface 28.)
configuration settings including a factory-set default configuration setting stored on the at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium; and – in paragraphs [0029], [0030], [0038] (The processor in each of the speakers, executing the algorithm stored in memory 24, responds by selecting the audio channel(s) allocated to it.) Refer to another reference for teaching of a factory-set default configuration setting.
program instructions stored on the at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the playback device to: – in paragraphs [0015]-[0022] (The memory device 24 could be configured to store instructions for execution by the processor 22.)
operate in accordance with the configuration settings including the factory-set default configuration setting, – in paragraphs [0029]-[0033] (One or more speakers may be located in a place where two or more sound channels overlap.)
wherein the playback device begins playing back first audio content in accordance with the factory-set default configuration setting; – in paragraphs [0029]-[0033] (Each of the speakers produces sound from separate "channels" in the recording being played through the system. One or more speakers may be located in a place where two or more sound channels overlap.)
while operating in accordance with the configuration settings including the factory-set default configuration setting, obtain, via a first wireless network, from at least one cloud-based server, information indicative of location-specific configuration settings for a geographic region in which the playback device is located, – in paragraphs [0029]-[0033] (As each speaker establishes a wireless (e.g. WiFi) connection to the amplifier/controller, the processor 22 in the speaker causes its location to be sent to the controller. Once all of the speakers have revealed their respective locations to the controller, the controller performs a location calculation and sends out the channel allocations to the speaker communication interfaces 28 and to their processors 22.)
wherein the location-specific configuration settings include one or more of (i) a location-specific transmit power setting or (ii) a location-specific channel setting; – in paragraphs [0029]-[0033] (Once all of the speakers have revealed their respective locations to the controller, the controller performs a location calculation and sends out the channel allocations to the speaker communication interfaces 28 and to their processors 22. Each wireless speaker device is then allocated its correct channel over the communication interface 28 in it based on position.)
based on the location-specific configuration settings, update at least one of the configuration settings including the factory-set default configuration setting and thereby operate in accordance with updated configuration settings; and – in paragraphs [0029]-[0033] (One or more speakers may be located in a place where two or more sound channels overlap. The processor in each of the speakers, executing the algorithm stored in memory 24, responds by selecting the audio channel(s) allocated to it.)
while operating in accordance with the updated configuration settings: – in paragraphs [0029]-[0033] (The processor in each of the speakers, executing the algorithm stored in memory 24, responds by selecting the audio channel(s) allocated to it.)
receive second audio content via a second wireless network; and – in paragraphs [0029]-[0038] (Create special auditory effects based on movement of the wireless speaker device.)
play back the second audio content in synchrony with at least one other playback device configured to communicate via the second wireless network. – in paragraphs [0029]-[0038] (The processor in each of the speakers, executing the algorithm stored in memory 24, responds by selecting the audio channel(s) allocated to it. Create special auditory effects based on movement of the wireless speaker device.)
Loureiro does not explicitly teach:
configuration settings including a factory-set default configuration setting.
However, Anderson teaches:
configuration settings including a factory-set default configuration setting – in paragraphs [0067]-[0083] (A wireless device to receive regulatory domain data. At 1102, a configuration mode is entered. In this mode the device, for example AP, can be configured. This mode may be set as a factory default until configured. The wireless device may be configured to send only predefined signals, such as beacons, on a predefined channel, and/or advertise a special, predefined BSSID on a predefined channel (for example 2.4 GHz).)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Loureiro with Anderson to include configuration settings including a factory-set default configuration setting, as taught by Anderson, in paragraphs [0002], [0003], to provide a technique for configuring wireless networking devices to insure that wireless networking devices will not operate outside of local regulations and restrictions.
Combination of Loureiro and Anderson does not explicitly teach:
a first wireless network; at least one cloud-based server; a second wireless network.
However, Koos teaches:
a first wireless network; – in paragraphs [0020], [0027], [0045] (A connection to an external network 62 (e.g., the Internet) via the WAN backbone 54. Each client device 64 can include a connectivity device, or transceiver 72, for wireless, bidirectional communications with at least one of the PHAST devices 68 and/or the PHG 70. The wireless LAN 52 is configured to allow client computing devices 64 to exchange data with the devices of the private LAN 55 (e.g., the servers 58 and/or network manager terminal 60) via the firewall 56 and WAN backbone 54.)
at least one cloud-based server; – in paragraph [0021] (A network manager terminal 60 which allows a network administrator to establish and control functionality of the wireless LAN 52. A world-wide-web server (also known as a "web" server or an Internet server).)
a second wireless network; – in paragraphs [0020]-[0026], [0045] (The wireless LAN 52.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Loureiro and Anderson with Koos to include a first wireless network; at least one cloud-based server; a second wireless network, as taught by Koos, in paragraphs [0001]-[0009], to fulfill a need in the art for a communications network that reduces its reliance on hard wired connections and has enhanced security.
Combination of Loureiro, Anderson, and Koos does not explicitly teach:
wherein the audio content play backed in synchrony with at least one other playback device.
However, Chaikin teaches:
wherein the audio content play backed in synchrony with at least one other playback device. – in paragraphs [0061]-[0063], [0081]-[0084], [0092]-[0098] (The distance of each speaker is measured and delay is applied so sound coming from all speakers is precisely synchronized at the mix position.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Loureiro, Anderson, and Koos with Chaikin to include wherein the audio content play backed in synchrony with at least one other playback device, as taught by Chaikin, in paragraphs [0002]-[0015], to provide a simplistic and/or completely automated technique for optimizing speaker performance in a particular listening environment.
22, 32, 39. The playback device of claim 21, – refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Loureiro teaches:
further comprising program instructions stored on the at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the playback device to: before obtaining, from the at least one cloud-based server, the information indicative of the location-specific configuration settings: collect wireless network data relating to the second wireless network, the wireless network data including information indicative of the configuration settings; transmit the collected wireless network data to the at least one cloud-based server; receive the location-specific configuration settings from the at least one cloud-based server; and based on the location-specific configuration settings, determine that one or more of the configuration settings are to be updated. – in paragraphs [0024], [0027], [0029], [0030], [0036], [0038] (The memory 24 in the amplifier/controller 104 and each speaker 106, 108, 110, 112, 114 stores a locator and channel allocation algorithm. The locator may be a GPS location process whereby the precise location of the speaker may be determined relative to the amplifier/controller 104. As each speaker establishes a wireless (e.g. WiFi) connection to the amplifier/controller. Once all of the speakers have revealed their respective locations to the controller 104, the controller 104 performs a location calculation and sends out the channel allocations to the speaker communication interfaces 28 and to their processors 22. The processor in each of the speakers, executing the algorithm stored in memory 24, responds by selecting the audio channel(s) allocated to it. As the mobile wireless speaker device is moved about the listener's reference point, the selected audio channel(s) may change based on the wireless speaker device location. Create special auditory effects based on movement of the wireless speaker device.)
27, 37. The playback device of claim 21, – refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Loureiro teaches:
further comprising program instructions stored on the at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the playback device to: before playing back the audio content in synchrony with the at least one other playback device, transmit at least one of the updated configuration settings to the at least one other playback device via the second wireless network. – in paragraphs [0029]-[0033] (One or more speakers may be located in a place where two or more sound channels overlap. The processor in each of the speakers, executing the algorithm stored in memory 24, responds by selecting the audio channel(s) allocated to it.)
28. The playback device of claim 21, – refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Loureiro teaches:
wherein the configuration settings including the factory-set default configuration setting comprise at least one of: at least one network configuration setting, at least one group configuration setting, or at least one content playback configuration setting. – in paragraphs [0029]-[0033] (One or more speakers may be located in a place where two or more sound channels overlap. The processor in each of the speakers, executing the algorithm stored in memory 24, responds by selecting the audio channel(s) allocated to it.)
30. The playback device of claim 21, – refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Loureiro teaches:
wherein the first wireless network is the same as the second wireless network. – in paragraphs [0028], [0029] (As each speaker establishes a wireless (e.g. WiFi) connection to the amplifier/controller, the processor 22 in the speaker causes its location to be sent to the controller.)
Claim(s) 23-26, 33-36, and 40 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Loureiro (US 20130324031) in view of Anderson (US 20120052876), and further in view of Koos (US 20030198208), Chaikin (US 20100272270), and Thomas (US 20130303232).
23, 33, 40. The playback device of claim 21, – refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Combination of Loureiro, Anderson, Koos, and Chaikin does not explicitly teach:
wherein the program instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the playback device to obtain the information indicative of location-specific configuration settings for the geographic region in which the playback device is located comprise program instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the playback device to: obtain, from an external device, an indication of at least one Internet Protocol (IP) address associated with the playback device.
However, Thomas teaches:
wherein the program instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the playback device to obtain the information indicative of location-specific configuration settings for the geographic region in which the playback device is located comprise program instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the playback device to: – in paragraphs [0041]-[0066] (Once the location of the device has been determined, the device uses the location to identify a regulatory domain associated with the location (step 114). The location information obtained or provided by the device in step 112 may be coordinates, a jurisdiction (city, country, etc.), a region (mountain range, valley, portion of a country, etc.), or a network parameter (MAC address, IP address, etc.). The location input is then referenced to a map (or database) to determine the applicable regulatory domain. The reference map may be locally stored on the device or the device may retrieve the map from a network data source. The device may provide the location input to a server, such as via Wi-Fi or cellular (e.g., LTE or LTE-A) interface.)
obtain, from an external device, an indication of at least one Internet Protocol (IP) address associated with the playback device. – in paragraphs [0041]-[0066] (Once the location of the device has been determined, the device uses the location to identify a regulatory domain associated with the location (step 114). The location information obtained or provided by the device in step 112 may be coordinates, a jurisdiction (city, country, etc.), a region (mountain range, valley, portion of a country, etc.), or a network parameter (MAC address, IP address, etc.). The location input is then referenced to a map (or database) to determine the applicable regulatory domain. The reference map may be locally stored on the device or the device may retrieve the map from a network data source. The device may provide the location input to a server, such as via Wi-Fi or cellular (e.g., LTE or LTE-A) interface.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Loureiro, Anderson, Koos, and Chaikin with Thomas to include wherein the program instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the playback device to obtain the information indicative of location-specific configuration settings for the geographic region in which the playback device is located comprise program instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the playback device to: obtain, from an external device, an indication of at least one Internet Protocol (IP) address associated with the playback device, as taught by Thomas, in paragraphs [0005]-[0025], to provide a technique for controlling parameters such as the transmit power of a wireless device.
24, 34. The playback device of claim 23, – refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Thomas further teaches:
wherein the geographic region in which the playback device is located is determined based on the at least one IP address associated with the playback device. – in paragraphs [0041]-[0066] (The server may make the location estimate from a network parameter (base station ID, IP-address, etc.), perform all the intermediate steps and return the maximum allowable limits to the wireless device.)
25, 35. The playback device of claim 23, – refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Koos further teaches:
wherein the external device comprises one of the at least one cloud-based server or a computing device connected to the first wireless network. – in paragraph [0021] (A network manager terminal 60 which allows a network administrator to establish and control functionality of the wireless LAN 52. A world-wide-web server (also known as a "web" server or an Internet server).)
26, 36. The playback device of claim 21, – refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Combination of Loureiro, Anderson, Koos, and Chaikin does not explicitly teach:
wherein the geographic region in which the playback device is located is determined from a plurality of geographic regions that each has respective regulatory requirements for wireless devices, and wherein the program instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the playback device to update the at least one of the configuration settings comprise program instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the playback device to: update the at least one of the configuration settings to comply with the respective regulatory requirements of the geographic region in which the playback device is located.
However, Thomas teaches:
wherein the geographic region in which the playback device is located is determined from a plurality of geographic regions that each has respective regulatory requirements for wireless devices, and – in paragraphs [0041]-[0066] (At step 112 of the method 110, the location of the location of the wireless device is determined, such as described above with respect to FIG. 1)
wherein the program instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the playback device to update the at least one of the configuration settings comprise program instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the playback device to: – in paragraphs [0041]-[0066] (Once the location of the device has been determined, the device uses the location to identify a regulatory domain associated with the location (step 114). The location information obtained or provided by the device in step 112 may be coordinates, a jurisdiction (city, country, etc.), a region (mountain range, valley, portion of a country, etc.), or a network parameter (MAC address, IP address, etc.). The location input is then referenced to a map (or database) to determine the applicable regulatory domain. The reference map may be locally stored on the device or the device may retrieve the map from a network data source. The device may provide the location input to a server, such as via Wi-Fi or cellular (e.g., LTE or LTE-A) interface. The server then cross references the location input with stored data to determine the regulatory domain of the wireless device, and returns the information to the device, such as via the same wireless interface, or an alternate interface more optimized for downstream communication.)
update the at least one of the configuration settings to comply with the respective regulatory requirements of the geographic region in which the playback device is located. – in paragraphs [0041]-[0066] (At step 118, the wireless device adjusts one or more transmission characteristics in response to receipt of the maximum allowed levels.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Loureiro, Anderson, Koos, and Chaikin with Thomas to include wherein the geographic region in which the playback device is located is determined from a plurality of geographic regions that each has respective regulatory requirements for wireless devices, and wherein the program instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the playback device to update the at least one of the configuration settings comprise program instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the playback device to: update the at least one of the configuration settings to comply with the respective regulatory requirements of the geographic region in which the playback device is located, as taught by Thomas, in paragraphs [0005]-[0025], to provide a technique for controlling parameters such as the transmit power of a wireless device.
Claim(s) 29 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Loureiro (US 20130324031) in view of Anderson (US 20120052876), and further in view of Koos (US 20030198208), Chaikin (US 20100272270), and Chan (US 20080025208).
29. The playback device of claim 28, – refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Combination of Loureiro, Anderson, Koos, and Chaikin does not explicitly teach:
wherein the configuration settings including the factory-set default configuration setting comprise at least one network configuration setting, and wherein the location-specific configuration settings further include a location-specific bitrate setting.
However, Chan teaches:
wherein the configuration settings including the factory-set default configuration setting comprise at least one network configuration setting, and wherein the location-specific configuration settings further include a location-specific bitrate setting. – in paragraph [0012] (Frequencies used may vary depending upon regulatory requirements in certain countries. Generally most wireless data communication devices conform to at least one of these standards in order to maintain interoperability. IEEE 802.11b is preferred over IEEE 802.11a because it can accommodate greater bit rates and is less susceptible to multipath distortion of signals due to its use of DSSS over OFDM.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Loureiro, Anderson, Koos, and Chaikin with Chan to include wherein the configuration settings including the factory-set default configuration setting comprise at least one network configuration setting, and wherein the location-specific configuration settings further include a location-specific bitrate setting, as taught by Loureiro, in paragraphs [0001]-[0006], to allocation of audio channels in surround sound systems using wireless devices.
REMARKS
Applicant has presented amendments to the claims. The examiner maintains the rejections, see remarks below.
Argument 1: The applicant argues that the claims 21-40 comply with 35 U.S.C. 112, written description.
In response, the examiner respectfully submits:
Claims 21, 31, 38 recite “obtain, via a first wireless network, …” and “receive audio content via a second wireless network ….” These limitations lack written description support in the applicant’s specification. The support for this subject matter could not be found in paragraphs [0037], [0050]-[0051], [0057], [0061], [0075]-[0077], [0082], and [0094] of the applicant’s specification.
Argument 2: The applicant argues that the art cited on the record does not disclose limitations operate in accordance with the configuration settings including the factory-set default configuration setting, wherein the playback device begins playing back first audio content in accordance with the factory-set default configuration setting; while operating in accordance with the configuration settings including the factory-set default configuration setting, obtain information indicative of location-specific configuration settings for a geographic region in which the playback device is located, as recited in the independent claims.
In response, the examiner respectfully submits:
Loureiro teaches operate in accordance with the configuration settings including the factory-set default configuration setting, – in paragraphs [0029]-[0033] (One or more speakers may be located in a place where two or more sound channels overlap.)
Loureiro teaches wherein the playback device begins playing back first audio content in accordance with the factory-set default configuration setting; – in paragraphs [0029]-[0033] (Each of the speakers produces sound from separate "channels" in the recording being played through the system. One or more speakers may be located in a place where two or more sound channels overlap.)
Loureiro teaches while operating in accordance with the configuration settings including the factory-set default configuration setting, obtain information indicative of location-specific configuration settings for a geographic region in which the playback device is located, – in paragraphs [0029]-[0033] (As each speaker establishes a wireless (e.g. WiFi) connection to the amplifier/controller, the processor 22 in the speaker causes its location to be sent to the controller. Once all of the speakers have revealed their respective locations to the controller, the controller performs a location calculation and sends out the channel allocations to the speaker communication interfaces 28 and to their processors 22.)
Loureiro does not explicitly teach configuration settings including a factory-set default configuration setting.
However, Anderson teaches configuration settings including a factory-set default configuration setting – in paragraphs [0067]-[0083] (A wireless device to receive regulatory domain data. At 1102, a configuration mode is entered. In this mode the device, for example AP, can be configured. This mode may be set as a factory default until configured. The wireless device may be configured to send only predefined signals, such as beacons, on a predefined channel, and/or advertise a special, predefined BSSID on a predefined channel (for example 2.4 GHz).)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Loureiro with Anderson to include configuration settings including a factory-set default configuration setting, as taught by Anderson, in paragraphs [0002], [0003], to provide a technique for configuring wireless networking devices to insure that wireless networking devices will not operate outside of local regulations and restrictions.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MUHAMMAD RAZA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2449