DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the papers filed December 22, 2025.
Claims 1-4, 6-10, 13-20 and 28-29 are pending in the application. Claims 1, 4, and 28-29 are amended, claims 5 and 30 are canceled, and no claims are newly added as set forth in the claim set filed 12/22/2025.
Claims 13-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 07/12/2023.
Therefore, claims 1-4, 6-10, and 28-29 are examined on the merits.
Priority
The present application is a 35 U.S.C. 371 national stage filing of International Application No. PCT/US2019/036306 filed June 10, 2019.
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed parent provisional application 62/682,259 filed June 08, 2018 under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, or 365(c) is acknowledged.
Thus, the earliest possible priority for the instant application is June 08, 2018.
Response to arguments
Withdrawn objections/ Rejections in response to Applicants’ arguments or amendments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The rejection of claims 1-4 and 6-10 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Borlongan (US2010/0221233; previously cited) in view of Yivgi-Ohana (US20150079193; previously cited), Burgess (Expert Rev Neurother. 2015 May ; 15(5): 477–491) and Huang (2016. Cell Transplantation, Vol. 25, pp. 913–927, 2016) is withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments and amendments filed 12/22/2025 regarding the 103 rejection previously set forth over Borlongan in view of Yivgi-Ohana, Burgess, and Huang are persuasive. Particularly, the amendments made to narrow the scope of the invention comprising isolated mitochondrial cells free of precursor cells.
***
The rejection of claims 1-4 and 6, 8-10 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of Borlongan, Yivgi-Ohana and Burgess is withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments and amendments filed 12/22/2025 regarding the 103 rejection previously set forth over Huang in view of Yivgi-Ohana, Burgess, and Borlongan are persuasive. Particularly, the amendments made to narrow the scope of the invention comprising isolated mitochondrial cells free of precursor cells.
A new 103 rejection has been set forth below over Huang, Knecht, and Burgess. As Applicant’s arguments were directed towards the combination of Huang and Borlongan, they are moot in light of the rejection no longer relying on Borlongan as a secondary reference.
***
The rejection of claim 28 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Borlongan (supra) in view of Yivgi-Ohana (supra), Burgess (supra) and Huang (supra) as applied to claims 1-4 and 6-10 and in further view of Bharadwaj (J. Vis. Exp. (96), e52350, (2015); previously cited) is withdrawn.’
Applicant’s arguments and amendments filed 12/22/2025 regarding the 103 rejection previously set forth over Borlongan in view of Yivgi-Ohana, Burgess, and Huang are persuasive. Particularly, the amendments made to narrow the scope of the invention comprising isolated mitochondrial cells free of precursor cells.
A new 103 rejection has been set forth below over Huang, Knecht, and Burgess. As Applicant’s arguments were directed towards the combination of Huang and Borlongan, they are moot in light of the rejection no longer relying on Borlongan as a secondary reference.
***
The rejection of claim 29 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Borlongan (supra) in view of Yivgi-Ohana (supra), Burgess (supra), Huang (supra) and Bharadwaj (supra) as applied to claim 28 and in further view of Fan (PLoS ONE 9(5): e96327) and Preble (J Vis Exp. 2014 Sep 6;(91):51682; IDS Reference) is withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments and amendments filed 12/22/2025 regarding the 103 rejection previously set forth over Borlongan in view of Yivgi-Ohana, Burgess, and Huang are persuasive. Particularly, the amendments made to narrow the scope of the invention comprising isolated mitochondrial cells free of precursor cells. A new 103 rejection has been set forth below over Huang, Knecht, and Burgess.
As Applicant’s arguments were directed towards the combination of Huang and Borlongan, they are moot in light of the rejection no longer relying on Borlongan as a secondary reference.
New objections/ Rejections in response to Applicants’ arguments or amendments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 3 and 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the opening of an occluded blood vessel" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1 on which claim 3 depends does not describe opening an occluded blood vessel. However, claim 2 recites “opening an occluded blood vessel.” Therefore, amending claim 3 to depend on claim 2 would have sufficient antecedent basis.
Claim 7 recites the term “and/or” which renders the metes and bounds of the claim indefinite. “And” could be interpreted to include only one route of administration, or all administration routes are utilized for the method of claim 1, or “or” would imply that the administration routes are in the alternative.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (2016. Cell Transplantation, Vol. 25, pp. 913–927, 2016) in view of Knecht (Int. J. Mol. Sci. 2017, 18, 2756) and Burgess (Expert Rev Neurother. 2015 May ; 15(5): 477–491; previously cited)
Regarding claims 1-3, Huang teaches administering isolated mitochondria to a MCAO model rat (i.e. stroke in a subject) via intra-arterial injection or intracerebral injection which resulted in recovery of motor functions and brain infarct area was significantly decreased (p. 914, 1st paragraph; p. 914, 2nd column; p. 917, 2nd column; p. 918, 2nd column, Figure 3). A decrease in infarct area/size as taught by Huang is extrapolated as a decrease in infarct volume as a decrease in area dimensions, decrease volume as well. Therefore, brain infarct volume is inherently reduced upon the administration of mitochondria.
However, Huang does not teach that the tissue bed is revascularized via opening an occluded blood vessel in the brain of the subject via thrombolysis or thrombectomy before administration through a thrombolytic agent.
Knecht teaches that tissue plasminogen activator (tPA) thrombolysis is the gold standard for treatment of ischemic stroke and the only FDA approved drug for stroke (Abstract, p. 1, 1st paragraph). Due to tPAs small therapeutic window, administration with other drugs and non-drugs are utilized to attenuate any complications (p. 2, 2nd paragraph). For example, Vitamin C supplementation has been shown to exert neuroprotection while attenuating some of the side effects of tPA therapy (p. 8, 2nd paragraph). Co-administering tPA with various therapies (e.g, atovarstatin, batimastat, candesartan, cilostazol, fasudil, minocycline, etc.) showed enhance vascularization or blood vessel formation (Abstract, page 8, para 1). ,
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to administer a thrombolytic agent as taught by Knecht to enhance vascularization or blood vessel formation and thus opening an occluded blood vessel to revascularized bed of tissue in a manner in which the composition is delivered to a revascularized bed of tissue along with the mitochondria taught by Huang to revascularize their tissue in a treatment for ischemic stroke with a reasonable expectation of success. An artisan would be motivated to apply the prior thrombolytic treatment via thrombolytic agent in addition to the patient receiving a mitochondrial injection as it would be combining known treatments for stroke for the same purpose. The combination of treatment methods known for the same purpose is deemed to be prima facie obvious (see MPEP 2144.06). Knecht describes tPA therapy as the only gold standard FDA approved treatment for stroke, therefore, an artisan would be motivated to utilize it along with the mitochondrial therapy.
However, Huang and Knecht do not teach opening the blood brain barrier through focused ultrasound.
Burgess teaches that the BBB remains a significant hurdle in the treatment of brain diseases (Abstract). Focused ultrasound (FUS) is one method of transiently increasing the permeability of the BBB to promote a vast array of therapeutic agents in preclinical models of disease to specific brain regions and possesses advantages such as it being non-invasive in opening the BBB, its use with MRI allowing for specific direction to the region of interest, and its ability to be transient and close as early as 6 hours after treatment which results in normal functionality (Abstract; p. 6, 4th paragraph; p. 8, bridging paragraph).
Based on these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to administer the mitochondria of Huang after the opening of the BBB via ultrasound with a reasonable expectation of success. An artisan would be motivated to open the BBB with ultrasound prior to administration of the composition as the BBB presents a hurdle in the delivery of therapeutic compositions and focused ultrasound specifically has benefits such as being non-invasive, specific and transient in the treatment of brain disorders and diseases as taught by Burgess (Abstract; p. 6, 4th paragraph; p. 8, bridging paragraph). Therefore, the opening of the BBB would aid in the therapeutic composition of mitochondria crossing the BBB.
Regarding the limitation wherein the treatment results in a decrease in infarct volume in the brain, Huang teaches an administration, either intracerebral or intra-arterial, of isolated mitochondria to MCAO rats modeling stroke which resulted in recovery of motor functions and brain infarct area was significantly decreased (p. 914, 1st paragraph; p. 914, 2nd column; p. 917, 2nd column; p. 918, 2nd column, Figure 3). A decrease in infarct area/size as taught by Huang is extrapolated as a decrease in infarct volume as a decrease in area dimensions, decrease volume as well. Therefore, brain infarct volume is inherently reduced upon the administration of mitochondria.
Regarding claim 6, the combined teachings of Huang, Knecht and Burgess make obvious claim 1. Moreover, Huang teaches the cells are administered intra-arterially to the femoral artery (p. 915, 2nd column).
Regarding claim 8, the combined teachings of Huang, Knecht and Burgess make obvious claim 1. Moroever, Knecht teaches additionally administering neuroprotective agents such as vitamin C with the stroke therapy (p. 8, 2nd paragraph).
Regarding claims 9 and 10, Huang teaches administering the mitochondria in a solution comprising HEPES (p. 914, 2nd column; p. 915, Mitochondria Transplantation). This is interpreted as a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier as the mice are injected with the mitochondria in the solution. Regarding the limitation of pharmaceutically acceptable carrier for use in humans, there is no definition nor list of pharmaceutically acceptable carrier which would not be able to be utilized in humans. Therefore, as the solution did not negatively impact the mitochondria nor the mice, it is interpreted as suitable for use in humans.
Therefore the invention would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date.
Claims 4 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (2016. Cell Transplantation, Vol. 25, pp. 913–927, 2016) in view of Knecht (Int. J. Mol. Sci. 2017, 18, 2756) and Burgess (Expert Rev Neurother. 2015 May ; 15(5): 477–491; previously cited) as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of McCully (Mitochondrion 34 (2017) 127–134).
The combined teachings of Huang, Knecht and Burgess make obvious a method of treating stroke by administering isolated mitochondria free of precursor cells intra-arterially to a subject in need thereof wherein the subject has had thrombolytic agents and neuroprotective agents administered and the blood brain barrier opened as discussed above and incorporated herein in its entirety.
However, regarding claim 4, Huang, Knecht and Burgess do not teach that the mitochondria are autologous to the subject.
McCully teaches the use of autologous tissue in isolating mitochondria for ischemic conditions as the approach is known to not cause an immune response and avoid the need for anti-rejection therapy in non-autologous cell based therapies (p. 131, 1st column). Moreover, McCully noted that in their experiments involving autologous transplantation of mitochondria there was no upregulation of cytokines associated with immune response and rejection (p. 131, 1st column).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to utilize autologous mitochondria as taught by McCully in place of the xenogeneic mitochondria of Huang with a reasonable expectation of success. An artisan would have been motivated to do so as McCully teaches autologous mitochondria do not have immune or inflammatory response associated with it like that of non-autologous cell based therapies and avoids the need for anti-rejection therapy.
Regarding claim 28, Huang, Knecht, Burgess and McCully make obvious claim 1. Moreover, McCully teaches obtaining the autologous mitochondria from a punch biopsy of skeletal muscle (p. 128, last paragraph).
Therefore the invention would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (2016. Cell Transplantation, Vol. 25, pp. 913–927, 2016) in view of Knecht (Int. J. Mol. Sci. 2017, 18, 2756) and Burgess (Expert Rev Neurother. 2015 May ; 15(5): 477–491; previously cited) as applied to claims 1 and 6 above, and in further view of Berkhemer (2015, N engl j med 372;1)
The combined teachings of Huang, Knecht and Burgess make obvious a method of treating stroke by administering isolated mitochondria free of precursor cells intra-arterially to a subject in need thereof wherein the subject has had thrombolytic agents and neuroprotective agents administered and the blood brain barrier opened as discussed above and incorporated herein in its entirety.
However, regarding claim 7, Huang, Knecht and Burgess do not teach that the mitochondria are administered intra-arterially through the internal carotid artery, vertebral artery or branch thereof.
Berkhemer teaches intra arterial therapy involving thrombolytic agents via a microcatheter or mechanical thembectomy and treatments for stroke locally (p. 12, 1st column; p. 13, 1st column). As the patients had intracranial arterial occlusion involving internal carotid arteries, the local administration of the agents or mechanical thrombetomy would be an intra arterial administration through the internal carotid artery. Berkhemer teaches this route of administration is effective and safe in the treatment of stroke (p. 19, 2nd column).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to specifically administer the therapy of Huang, Knecht and Burgess through the internal carotid artery, rather than the femoral artery, with a reasonable expectation of success. An artisan would have been motivated to do so as Berkhemer teaches administration to the internal carotid artery is safe and effective in the treatment of stroke.
Therefore the invention would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date.
Claims 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (supra) in view of Kencht (supra), Burgess (supra), McCully (supra) as applied to claim 1 and 28 and in further view of Fan (PLoS ONE 9(5): e96327).
The combined teachings of Huang, Knecht, Burgess and McCally make obvious a method of treating stroke by administering isolated mitochondria free of precursor cells intra-arterially to a subject in need thereof wherein the subject has had thrombolytic agents and neuroprotective agents administered and the blood brain barrier opened as discussed above and incorporated herein in its entirety. The combination teaches a) identifying the occurrence of stroke through producing a MCAO model thereby identifying it as a model of stroke, b) employing thrombolytic agents to generate the revascularized bed of tissue in the subject’s brain.
As discussed above, Burgess provides partial teachings on step c) with focused ultrasound opening the BBB, however does not explicitly teach the presence of lipid shelled microbubbles nor step b), step d) or step e).
As discussed above, McCully provides teachings for step d) in that a punch biopsy of skeletal muscle is utilized to obtain the mitochondria.
However these references do not teach fully steps b), c) and e) of Claim 29.
Regarding steps b), c) and e), Fan teaches administering DSPC-PEG-2000 submicron bubbles (cationic lipid microbubbles) via a catheter inserted into the jugular vein (p. 2, Submicron Bubble Preparation; p. 2, Animal Preparation). As the instant specification does not specify the metes and bounds of the term microcatheter, it is interpreted by the Examples wherein a catheter is capable of being inserted into an artery and capable of delivering cationic lipid microbubbles. As Fan inserts the catheter into a vein and delivers cationic lipid microbubbles, it is interpreted that this catheter is a microcatheter. The catheter is utilized to generate the revascularized bed of tissue in the subject’s brain and the subject is exposed to focused ultrasound to open the BBB (Figure 1). Fan teaches that the utilization of both FUS and cationic lipid microbubbles in a synergistic approach reduces inertial cavitation (p. 10, last paragraph; p. 2, 1st column; p.11, Conclusions).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ a microcatheter to administer microbubbles as well as other components such as mitochondria and thrombolytic agents intra-arterial administration methods of Huang, Knecht, and McCally in addition to the FUS taught by Burgess with a reasonable expectation of success. Fan teaches that the utilization of both FUS and delivery via catheter the cationic lipid microbubbles in a synergistic approach reduces inertial cavitation (p. 10, last paragraph; p. 2, 1st column; p.11, Conclusions). As Fan teaches that the catheter is a multifunctional component which can administer bubbles, dyes and drugs (p. 2, Animal Preparation), there would be a reasonable amount of success in administering other parts of the therapy such as autologous mitochondria.
Therefore the invention would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/ALEXANDRA F CONNORS/ Examiner, Art Unit 1634
/MARIA G LEAVITT/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1634