DETAILED ACTION
Notice of Amendment
In response to the amendment(s) filed on 9/22/25, amended claim(s) 1, 8, and 14 is/are acknowledged. The following new and/or reiterated ground(s) of rejection is/are set forth:
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “said luer including a tip portion through which a cannula exit opening and two side ports, continuously formed, communicate with an interior of said cylindrical body of said syringe so that said side ports may direct fluid through a fluid de-accelerator,” as recited in claims 1, 8, and 14, and “a fluid de-accelerator positioned in line with said two ports,” as recited in claim 14 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 20 objected to because of the following informalities: claim 20 is both “(previously presented)” and “(canceled)”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
For claims 1, 8, and 14, the claim language “said luer including a tip portion through which a cannula exit opening and two side ports, continuously formed, communicate with an interior of said cylindrical body,” appears to be new matter. The examiner could not find where the cannula exit opening and the two side ports are through a tip portion of the luer. The examiner respectfully requests Applicant’s assistance in determining where support may be found or have the subject matter deleted from the claims.
Dependent claim(s) 2-7, 9-13, and 15-20 fail to cure the deficiencies of independent claim(s) 1, 8, and 14, thus claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
For claims 1, 8, and 14, the claim language “a tip portion through which a cannula exit opening and two side ports, continuously formed, communicate with an interior of said cylindrical body,” and “such that side ports openings are proximal to said cannula exit opening” is ambiguous. These two phrases are dichotomous making the scope of the claim unclear because it cannot be resolved of how they can both be true statements (especially in light of Applicant’s specification). Fig. 22A shows the two side ports being continuously formed with the cannula exit opening
Fig. 22B shows the side ports being proximal of the cannula exit opening. The response filed 9/22/25 identifies Fig. 22A as support for the newly amended claim language of “continuously formed.”
However, as can be seen in Fig. 22B, there is an annular wall around the cannula exit opening that is not shown in Fig. 22A that would make the side ports not continuous with the cannula exit opening. Additionally, the fact that the side ports are not flush with the cannula exit opening, but instead spaced apart from the cannula exit opening, breaks any continuity that the side ports could share with the exit opening. Therefore, the claim appears to be claiming something that cannot exist. The examiner doesn’t know how to give an interpretation that doesn’t ignore at least part of the claim language.
Dependent claim(s) 2-7, 9-13, and 15-20 fail to cure the ambiguity of independent claim(s) 1, 8, and 14, thus claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0221578 to Hopkins in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2006/0009713 to Flaherty, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2007/0265577 to Uematsu et al. (hereinafter “Uematsu”), and U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0331817 to Woehr.
For claim 1, Hopkins discloses a syringe assembly (Abstract) comprising:
a syringe (Examiner’s Note: made up of the elements that it is recited as being) including a cylindrical body (312/412) (Figs. 17-31) (para [0093] and [017]) with a luer at a first end (320/420) (Figs. 17-31) (para [0096] and [110]), said luer including a tip portion through which a cannula exit opening communicates with an interior of said cylindrical body of said syringe (unlabeled, but as can be seen in Figs. 19-23 and 26-31);
a plunger unit (Examiner’s Note: defined by the elements it includes) including an adapter portion (generally the adapter structure that encompasses 349, 354, 356, 360, 362 / 449, 454, 456, 460, 462) (Figs. 21-22 and 28-29) (para [0095], [0098], [0103], [0109], [0111], and [0113]) and a receiving cavity (318/418) (Figs. 21-22 and 28-29) (para [0103] and [0112]), a first end of said adapter portion retaining a piston (354/454) (Figs. 21-22 and 28-29) (para [0095] and [0109]), said plunger unit insertable into a second end of said syringe and slidable within said cylindrical body during which said piston creates a seal with an interior surface of said cylindrical body (as can be seen in Figs. 17-31) (also see para [0095], [0098], [0109], and [0113]); and
a cannula (343/443) secured at one end proximate said exit opening of said luer tip (as can be seen in Figs. 17-31) and extending into said piston (para [0098] and [0113]) and extendable into said channel as said plunger unit is inserted farther into said syringe (para [0098] and [0113]).
Hopkins does not expressly disclose two side ports, continuously formed, communicate with an interior of said cylindrical body of said syringe so that said side ports may direct fluid in and out of said cylindrical body, said side ports positioned such that side ports openings are proximal to said cannula exit opening.
However, Flaherty teaches two side ports (10) (Figs. 1-2) (para [0029]) communicate with an interior of a cylindrical body of a syringe (2) (Figs. 1-2) (para [0029]) so that said side ports may direct (Examiner’s Note: functional language, i.e., capable of) fluid in and out of said cylindrical body (as can be seen in Figs. 1-2), said side ports positioned such that side ports openings are proximal to said cannula exit opening (as can be seen in Figs. 1-2).
Additionally, Uematsu teaches a cannula exit opening (3022b) (Fig. 7) (para [0087]) and two side ports (3021bA and 3021bB) (Fig. 7) (para [0087]) continuously formed (as can be seen in Fig. 7).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Hopkins to include two side ports, continuously formed, communicate with an interior of said cylindrical body of said syringe so that said side ports may direct fluid in and out of said cylindrical body, said side ports positioned such that side ports openings are proximal to said cannula exit opening, in view of the teachings of Flaherty and Uematsu, for the obvious advantage of venting the cylindrical body.
Hopkins, Flaherty, and Uematsu do not expressly disclose a fluid de-accelerator.
However, Woehr teaches a fluid de-accelerator (36 and 40) (as best seen in Fig. 5) (para [0041] and [0043]) (also see “wide flow pattern” in para [0004]) positioned between said two ports and said interior of said cylindrical body of said syringe (as can be seen in Fig. 5) so that fluid is directed through said fluid de-accelerator in and out of the cylindrical body and the side ports (para [0043] and [0051]).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Hopkins to include a fluid de-accelerator, in view of the teachings of Woehr, for the obvious advantage of modulating the fluid flow so that turbulent flow can be avoided.
For claim 2, Hopkins further discloses wherein said cylindrical body is pre-filled with a flush, medicament or other fluid (para [0044]).
For claim 3, Hopkins, as modified, further discloses wherein said two side ports are spaced 180° about said exit opening (as can be seen in Fig. 3 of Woehr).
For claim 4, Hopkins, as modified, further discloses wherein said two side ports serve to (Examiner’s Note: functional language, i.e., capable of) decrease pull pressure related to said plunger (as can be seen in Figs. 3 and 5 of Woehr).
For claim 5, Hopkins, as modified, further discloses wherein said two side ports serve to (Examiner’s Note: functional language, i.e., capable of) prevent cell damage to ingested blood fluids (as can be seen in Figs. 3 and 5 of Woehr).
For claim 6, Hopkins, as modified, further discloses wherein said two side ports facilitate pre-filling said syringe (Examiner’s Note: functional language, i.e., capable of) (as can be seen in Figs. 3 and 5 of Woehr).
For claim 7, Hopkins, as modified, further discloses wherein said two side ports facilitate pre-filling said syringe (Examiner’s Note: functional language, i.e., capable of) (as can be seen in Figs. 3 and 5 of Woehr).
For claim 8, Hopkins discloses a syringe assembly (Abstract) comprising:
a syringe (Examiner’s Note: made up of the elements that it is recited as being) including a cylindrical body (312/412) (Figs. 17-31) (para [0093] and [017]) with a luer at a first end (320/420) (Figs. 17-31) (para [0096] and [110]), said luer including a tip portion through which a cannula exit opening communicates with an interior of said cylindrical body of said syringe (unlabeled, but as can be seen in Figs. 19-23 and 26-31);
a plunger unit (Examiner’s Note: defined by the elements it includes) including an adapter portion (generally the adapter structure that encompasses 349, 354, 356, 360, 362 / 449, 454, 456, 460, 462) (Figs. 21-22 and 28-29) (para [0095], [0098], [0103], [0109], [0111], and [0113]) and a receiving cavity (318/418) (Figs. 21-22 and 28-29) (para [0103] and [0112]), a first end of said adapter portion retaining a piston (354/454) (Figs. 21-22 and 28-29) (para [0095] and [0109]), said plunger unit insertable into a second end of said syringe and slidable within said cylindrical body during which said piston creates a seal with an interior surface of said cylindrical body (as can be seen in Figs. 17-31) (also see para [0095], [0098], [0109], and [0113]), said adapter portion including a channel (356/456) (Figs. 21-22 and 28-29) (para [0098] and [0113]) extending along a length thereof to an opening at a bottom of said receiving cavity, said opening for insertion of an intermediary connector or valve (360/460) (Figs. 18 and 25) (para [0098] and [0113]); and
a cannula (343/443) secured at one end proximate said exit opening of said luer (as can be seen in Figs. 17-31) and extending into said piston (para [0098] and [0113]) and extendable into said channel as said plunger unit is inserted farther into said syringe (para [0098] and [0113]).
Hopkins does not expressly disclose two side ports, continuously formed, communicate with an interior of said cylindrical body of said syringe so that said side ports may direct fluid in and out of said cylindrical body, said side ports positioned such that side ports openings are proximal to said cannula exit opening.
However, Flaherty teaches two side ports (10) (Figs. 1-2) (para [0029]) communicate with an interior of a cylindrical body of a syringe (2) (Figs. 1-2) (para [0029]) so that said side ports may direct (Examiner’s Note: functional language, i.e., capable of) fluid in and out of said cylindrical body (as can be seen in Figs. 1-2), said side ports positioned such that side ports openings are proximal to said cannula exit opening (as can be seen in Figs. 1-2).
Additionally, Uematsu teaches a cannula exit opening (3022b) (Fig. 7) (para [0087]) and two side ports (3021bA and 3021bB) (Fig. 7) (para [0087]) continuously formed (as can be seen in Fig. 7).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Hopkins to include two side ports, continuously formed, communicate with an interior of said cylindrical body of said syringe so that said side ports may direct fluid in and out of said cylindrical body, said side ports positioned such that side ports openings are proximal to said cannula exit opening, in view of the teachings of Flaherty and Uematsu, for the obvious advantage of venting the cylindrical body.
Hopkins, Flaherty, and Uematsu do not expressly disclose a fluid de-accelerator.
However, Woehr teaches a fluid de-accelerator (36 and 40) (as best seen in Fig. 5) (para [0041] and [0043]) (also see “wide flow pattern” in para [0004]) positioned between said two ports and said interior of said cylindrical body of said syringe (as can be seen in Fig. 5) so that fluid is directed through said fluid de-accelerator in and out of the cylindrical body and the side ports (para [0043] and [0051]).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Hopkins to include a fluid de-accelerator, in view of the teachings of Woehr, for the obvious advantage of modulating the fluid flow so that turbulent flow can be avoided.
For claim 9, Hopkins further discloses wherein said cylindrical body is pre-filled with a flush, medicament or other fluid (para [0044]).
For claim 10, Hopkins, as modified, further discloses wherein said two side ports serve to (Examiner’s Note: functional language, i.e., capable of) decrease pull pressure related to said plunger (as can be seen in Figs. 3 and 5 of Woehr).
For claim 11, Hopkins, as modified, further discloses wherein said two side ports serve to (Examiner’s Note: functional language, i.e., capable of) prevent cell damage to ingested blood fluids (as can be seen in Figs. 3 and 5 of Woehr).
For claim 12, Hopkins, as modified, further discloses wherein said two side ports facilitate pre-filling said syringe (Examiner’s Note: functional language, i.e., capable of) (as can be seen in Figs. 3 and 5 of Woehr).
For claim 13, Hopkins, as modified, further discloses wherein said two side ports facilitate pre-filling said syringe (Examiner’s Note: functional language, i.e., capable of) (as can be seen in Figs. 3 and 5 of Woehr).
For claim 14, Hopkins discloses a syringe assembly (Abstract) comprising:
a syringe (Examiner’s Note: made up of the elements that it is recited as being) including a cylindrical body (312/412) (Figs. 17-31) (para [0093] and [017]) with a luer at a first end (320/420) (Figs. 17-31) (para [0096] and [110]), said luer including a tip portion through which a cannula exit opening communicates with an interior of said cylindrical body of said syringe (unlabeled, but as can be seen in Figs. 19-23 and 26-31);
a plunger unit (Examiner’s Note: defined by the elements it includes) including an adapter portion (generally the adapter structure that encompasses 349, 354, 356, 360, 362 / 449, 454, 456, 460, 462) (Figs. 21-22 and 28-29) (para [0095], [0098], [0103], [0109], [0111], and [0113]) and a receiving cavity (318/418) (Figs. 21-22 and 28-29) (para [0103] and [0112]), a first end of said adapter portion retaining a piston (354/454) (Figs. 21-22 and 28-29) (para [0095] and [0109]), said plunger unit insertable into a second end of said syringe and slidable within said cylindrical body during which said piston creates a fluid seal with an interior surface of said cylindrical body (as can be seen in Figs. 17-31) (also see para [0095], [0098], [0109], and [0113]), said adapter portion including a channel (356/456) (Figs. 21-22 and 28-29) (para [0098] and [0113]) extending along a length thereof to an opening at a bottom of said receiving cavity, said opening for insertion of an intermediary connector or valve (360/460) (Figs. 18 and 25) (para [0098] and [0113]); and
a cannula (343/443) secured at one end proximate said exit opening of said luer (as can be seen in Figs. 17-31) and extending into said piston (para [0098] and [0113]) and extendable into said channel as said plunger unit is inserted farther into said syringe (para [0098] and [0113]).
Hopkins does not expressly disclose two side ports, continuously formed, communicate with an interior of said cylindrical body of said syringe so that said side ports may direct fluid in and out of said cylindrical body, said side ports positioned such that side ports openings are proximal to said cannula exit opening.
However, Flaherty teaches two side ports (10) (Figs. 1-2) (para [0029]) communicate with an interior of a cylindrical body of a syringe (2) (Figs. 1-2) (para [0029]) so that said side ports may direct (Examiner’s Note: functional language, i.e., capable of) fluid in and out of said cylindrical body (as can be seen in Figs. 1-2), said side ports positioned such that side ports openings are proximal to said cannula exit opening (as can be seen in Figs. 1-2).
Additionally, Uematsu teaches a cannula exit opening (3022b) (Fig. 7) (para [0087]) and two side ports (3021bA and 3021bB) (Fig. 7) (para [0087]) continuously formed (as can be seen in Fig. 7).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Hopkins to include two side ports, continuously formed, communicate with an interior of said cylindrical body of said syringe so that said side ports may direct fluid in and out of said cylindrical body, said side ports positioned such that side ports openings are proximal to said cannula exit opening, in view of the teachings of Flaherty and Uematsu, for the obvious advantage of venting the cylindrical body.
Hopkins, Flaherty, and Uematsu do not expressly disclose a fluid de-accelerator.
However, Woehr teaches a fluid de-accelerator (36 and 40) (as best seen in Fig. 5) (para [0041] and [0043]) (also see “wide flow pattern” in para [0004]) positioned in line with two ports (as can be seen in Fig. 5) so that fluid is directed through said fluid de-accelerator in and out of the cylindrical body and the side ports (para [0043] and [0051]).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Hopkins to include a fluid de-accelerator, in view of the teachings of Woehr, for the obvious advantage of modulating the fluid flow so that turbulent flow can be avoided.
For claim 15, Hopkins further discloses wherein said cylindrical body is pre-filled with a flush, medicament or other fluid (para [0044]).
For claim 16, Hopkins, as modified, further discloses wherein said two side ports are spaced 180° about said exit opening (as can be seen in Fig. 3 of Woehr).
For claim 17, Hopkins, as modified, further discloses wherein said two side ports serve to (Examiner’s Note: functional language, i.e., capable of) decrease pull pressure related to said plunger (as can be seen in Figs. 3 and 5 of Woehr).
For claim 18, Hopkins, as modified, further discloses wherein said two side ports serve to (Examiner’s Note: functional language, i.e., capable of) prevent cell damage to ingested blood fluids (as can be seen in Figs. 3 and 5 of Woehr).
For claim 19, Hopkins, as modified, further discloses wherein said two side ports facilitate pre-filling said syringe (Examiner’s Note: functional language, i.e., capable of) (as can be seen in Figs. 3 and 5 of Woehr).
For claim 20, Hopkins, as modified, further discloses wherein said two side ports facilitate pre-filling said syringe (Examiner’s Note: functional language, i.e., capable of) (as can be seen in Figs. 3 and 5 of Woehr).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 9/22/25 have been fully considered.
With respect to the objection to the drawings, the amendments to the claims are not persuasive to overcome this objection. Fig. 25 appears to be the only figure showing the fluid de-accelerator and Fig. 25 doesn’t show the tip portion of the luer, the cannula exit opening, or the two side ports. The other figures that show these elements don’t show the fluid de-accelerator. Therefore, the drawings don’t appear to show the claimed subject matter.
With respect to the 112(a) rejection(s), one of the rejections is withdrawn and one of the rejections is maintained in view of Applicant’s amendments and arguments. With respect to the rejection that is maintained, the examiner still cannot find support for the claim language, including the term “continuously formed,” as the specification doesn’t use that term. If Applicant believes that the claimed subject matter is not new matter, then the examiner respectfully requests Applicant’s assistance in determining where support may be found.
With respect to the 103 rejection(s), Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not address the new grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendments presented in the response filed 9/22/25.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL L CERIONI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791