DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 01/20/2026 has been entered and accepted.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the applicant’s argument that “Menominee clearly does not disclose the recitations of claim 29” (Page 16 of applicants remarks filed 01/20/2026) and that “Kato does not disclose or suggest selection of the level corresponding to a predefined number of temperature-monitored superheated-steam clean cycles” (Page 17 of applicant’s remarks filed 01/20/2026). Paragraph 67 of Menomiee teaches that each cleaning program (level) can be manually adjusted such that the cleaning step order as well as duration and temperature can be adjusted. Adjusting the cleaning step order by adding cleaning steps such as to repeat previous steps, thereby forming additional cycles, is reasonably within manual setting of the cleaning step order. This indicates that the number of cleaning cycles is a variable which can set by the user. Paragraph 78 of Menomiee teaches that the program can loop back to continue cleaning until a set number of cleaning cycles is completed and Paragraph 79 of Menomiee further teaches that the clean cycle is run through consecutively, for example three to four times, to fully clean the oven. This indicates that the number of cleaning cycles is not restricted to a single value. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have increased the duration and number of cycles for the heavy clean program in relation to the light or medium clean programs such as to facilitate a better and more thorough clean. This would include, for example, having the heavy clean program include cycling four times compared to the three times of the light or medium clean programs, such as to allow the user to select programs between a quicker clean or a more thorough clean. The tradeoff between more cleaning cycles and a faster cleaning is well known in the art. As further support for this fact, the action additionally referenced KATO (JP 2005238030 A). Paragraph 37 of KATO teaches that the number of cleaning cycles should be selected based on the degree of soiling. Since Paragraph 67 of Menomiee teaches of that variables of cleaning cycle programs are adjustable by the user, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have modified Menomiee with KATO and set the heavy clean setting to include more cleaning cycles than a medium or light cleaning setting such as to allow said heavy clean program to desirably selected when the degree of soiling is higher.
Applicant’s other arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 10, and 19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. A new rejection has been made in view of LINGENHEIL (DE 102011120907 A1) in view of Johnson (US 20120145696 A1), Kim (US 20180070596 A1), Sloan (US 6299076 B1), Fossati (US 20060108433 A1), and Menominee (US 20170122570 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, it is unclear what constitutes a “thermal shock”. A thermal shock is understood in the art to mean a sudden change in temperature. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it unclear whether a certain application of superheated steam is a thermal shock or a simple heating. The applicant’s specification filed 12/09/2020 also does not properly define what constitutes a “thermal shock”. It is unclear what measure the applicant is using to determine whether a “thermal shock” has occurred or not, for example whether it is a measure of temperature difference between the superheated steam and wall, it is a measure of thermal expansion of the wall in question, or whether it is a measure of mechanical damage to the walls. As such, the term “thermal shock” is vague and unclear. For purposes of examination, it will be interpreted that having superheated steam come into contact with surfaces within the oven interior would constitute a “thermal shock” through temperature change. Claims 10 and 19 are rejected under similar reasons as stated above.
Claims 2-9, 11-18, and 20-32 are rejected as being dependent upon one or more of the above claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, 7-10, 14, 16-19, 23, 25-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LINGENHEIL (DE 102011120907 A1) in view of Johnson (US 20120145696 A1), Kim (US 20180070596 A1), Sloan (US 6299076 B1), Fossati (US 20060108433 A1), and Menominee (US 20170122570 A1).
Regarding claim 1, LINGENHEIL (DE 102011120907 A1) teaches a self-cleaning oven (Figure 1)1, comprising:
a controller (control unit 32) programmed to
responsive to initiating a self-clean operation (Paragraphs 25-27, control unit 32 monitors when a cleaning process might be useful or helpful and starts a cleaning process) including a number of temperature-monitored (Paragraph 21, temperature sensor is provided for monitoring the cooking chamber) clean cycles (Paragraph 38, more than one cleaning cycles occur), power a heating plate in a cavity of the oven to increase temperature of the heating plate (Paragraph 28, water is heated until it has evaporated; Paragraph 20, control unit 32 controls a bottom heating element 34; Paragraph 20, control unit 32 controls a bottom heating element 34 which heats the bottom of the cooking chamber and can heat the liquid container therein);
generate superheated steam, such that thermal shock and superheated steam are employed to detach food stains (Paragraph 30, generated steam is preferably saturated superheated steam which acts on all components of the cooking appliance and wherein the temperature of the hot steam loosens the depots and/or grime which have been formed);
See 112b rejection above for “thermal shock”.
LINGENHEIL fails to teach:
a predefined number of temperature-monitored clean cycles
measure the temperature of the heating plate using a temperature sensor located on or about the heating plate during the predefined number of temperature-monitored clean cycles;
responsive to the measured temperature of the heating plate being above a predefined start temperature for a predefined soak period of time, direct one or more nozzles to introduce water onto the heating plate to generate superheated steam until the heating plate falls below a predefined reboot temperature; and
repeat the power and water operations until the predefined number of temperature- monitored clean cycles specified by the self-clean operation are completed.
Johnson (US 20120145696 A1) teaches an oven appliance cleaning system using heat and steam cycle, wherein:
power a heating plate in a cavity of the oven to increase temperature of the heating plate (Paragraph 17, heating element 28 positioned at the bottom of cavity 14 is activated to heat the cavity 14 for cleaning of the oven);
measure the temperature of the heating plate using a temperature sensor during the predefined number of temperature-monitored clean cycles (Paragraph 19, temperature sensor 38 are placed into the oven for determining the oven temperature wherein multiple temperature sensors 38 are placed throughout the oven which under BRI includes being about the bottom of the oven);
responsive to the measured temperature of the heating plate being above a predefined start temperature for a predefined soak period of time (Paragraph 24, step 102 wherein oven is turned on so as to heat cavity 14 and to a temperature T1 and maintain temperature within said range for a period of time), a cooling step occurs (Paragraph 26, step 102 cavity 14 is allowed to cool down to a second predetermined temperature)
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified LINGENHEIL with Johnson and powered the heating element and heating plate to increase the temperature for a predetermines soak period of time during the cleaning process before performing steam cleaning. This would have been done to help facilitate the breakdown of water insoluble portions of the food residue on the interior surface of the oven such that the food residue becomes more water soluble (Johnson Paragraph 24).
LINGENHEIL modified with Johnson fails to teach:
a predefined number of temperature-monitored clean cycles
measure the temperature of the heating plate using a temperature sensor located on or about the heating plate
direct one or more nozzles to introduce water onto the heating plate to generate superheated steam until the heating plate falls below a predefined reboot temperature; and
repeat the power and water operations until the predefined number of temperature- monitored clean cycles specified by the self-clean operation are completed.
Kim (US 20180070596 A1) teaches a cleaning mode of cleaning an oven, wherein:
measure the temperature of the room (Paragraph 176, cooking appliance 1 determines whether the temperature inside the cooking room has reached the first target temperature);
responsive to the measured temperature of the heating plate being above a predefined start temperature for a predefined soak period of time (Paragraph 146, the cooking room 11 is heated to the first target temperature for a predetermined heating time; Paragraph 152, one the heating time corresponding to the first target temperature is over the controller enter the cooling section in the cleaning stage), direct one or more nozzles to introduce water onto the heating plate to generate superheated steam (Paragraph 154, controller provides water into the cooking room 11 during the cooling time; Paragraph 158, water inside the cooking room is changed to steam because the temperature inside the cooking room lies between the first and second target temperatures) until the heating plate falls below a predefined reboot temperature (Paragraphs 152 and 156, controller supplies water at points during a period of time during the cooling time which lasts until the temperature reaches a predetermined second target temperature; Paragraph 157, water is supplied while the inside of the cooking room has high temperature is likely to cause a crack on the coating of the inner wall of the cooking room); and
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified LINGENHEIL with Kim and direct water onto the heating plate and generating steam during the cool down period after the temperature of the heating plate is above a predefined start temperature. This would have been done to shorten the length of the cooling section and to generate steam for cleaning (Kim Paragraph 154).
While Kim does not explicitly state that nozzles are used to deliver water onto into the cooking room, Sloan (US 6299076 B1) teaches of a steam cleaning system for generating superheated steam consisting of a nozzle or atomizer 34 which distributes the incoming water into small water droplets and directs them onto the heater inner surfaces such as to generated superheated steam (Sloan Column 4 Lines 46-52). It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim with Sloan and used a nozzle or atomizer for delivering the water onto the heating surface. This would have been done to greatly enhance superheated steam generation (Sloan Column 3 Lines 38-42).
LINGENHEIL modified with Johnson fails to teach:
a predefined number of temperature-monitored clean cycles
measure the temperature of the heating plate using a temperature sensor located on or about the heating plate
repeat the power and water operations until the predefined number of temperature- monitored clean cycles specified by the self-clean operation are completed.
Fossati (US 20060108433 A1) teaches a steam generator for use in a cooking apparatus, comprising:
power a heating plate in a cavity of the oven to increase temperature of the heating plate (Paragraph 42, controller initiates heating of the heating plate by pulsing the heating element);
measure the temperature of the heating plate using a temperature sensor located on or about the heating plate (Paragraph 44, temperature of the heater plate is monitored and in the event of an over-threshold temperature, the rate of pulsing the water inlet valve is increased);
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified LINGENHEIL with Fossati and had the temperature sensor been located one or about the heating plate. This would have been done to increase the efficiency of steam generation by measuring and controlling the temperature of the heater plate (Fossati Paragraphs 32 and 34), and perform corrective action when the temperature of the heater plate is in an over-threshold temperature state (Fossati Paragraph 44).
LINGENHEIL modified with Fossati fails to teach:
a predefined number of temperature-monitored clean cycles
repeat the power and water operations until the predefined number of temperature- monitored clean cycles specified by the self-clean operation are completed.
Menominee (US 20170122570 A1) teaches a rotisserie oven with a cleaning system, comprising:
a predetermined number of temperature-monitored clean cycles (Paragraph 78, program 118 may loop back to the process block to continue cleaning until a set number of cleaning cycles are completed)
repeat the power and water operations until the predefined number of temperature-monitored clean cycles specified by the self-clean operation are completed (Paragraph 78, program 118 may loop back to the process block to continue cleaning until a set number of cleaning cycles are completed; Figure 5 Paragraph 79, cleaning cycle 204 includes process blocks 206, 208, 210, and 212 which run consecutively two or three times; Paragraph 71, user can select desired cleaning mode for example heavy, medium, light cleaning or quick rinse cycle)
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified LINGENHEIL with Menominee and have the user choose the desired mode of cleaning and to have the cleaning operations repeat be repeatable for a predetermined number of temperature-monitored clean cycle. This would be done so that the user chooses the type of cleaning based on a desired cleaning mode (Menominee Paragraph 71).
Regarding claim 5, LINGENHEIL as modified teaches the oven of claim 1.
Menominee further teaches:
the predefined number of clean cycles is at least two cycles (Paragraph 79, two to three times).
It would have been obvious for the same motivation as claim 1.
Regarding claim 7, LINGENHEIL as modified the oven of claim 1.
Johnson further teaches:
the predefined start temperature is at least 420 degrees Celsius (Paragraph 24, oven 10 is turned on as to heat cavity 14 to a first predetermined temperature and maintain that temperature for a period of time using input from temperature sensors; Paragraph 26, the cavity is then cooled down a second predetermined temperature after the period of time; Paragraph 24, temperatures of 800 degrees F, or approximately 426 degrees C, are maintained to break down water insoluble greases in the oven cavity),
It would have been obvious for the same motivation as claim 1.
Johnson does not explicitly teach:
and the predefined soak period of time is set to at least 30 minutes to allow food stain on the heating plate to be detached.
Johnson does teach that the precise temperature and duration for the heat oven to maintain that temperature depends on a variety of variables including the size of the oven, overall interval of time in which it is desired for the oven to complete the cleaning cycles, and the type of food residues present (Paragraph 24). Johnson also teaches that modern ovens have self-cleaning cycles of 3 to 5 hours (Paragraph 5). Thus, it would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify LINGENHEIL so that the predefined soak period of time is set to at least 30 minutes to allow food stain on the heating plate to be detached, as discovering an optimal value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art as stated by MPEP 2144.05(II).
Regarding claim 8, LINGENHEIL as modified teaches the oven of claim 1.
LINGENHEIL as modified does not explicitly teach:
the predefined start temperature is at least 450 degrees Celsius
Johnson teaches that the precise temperature and duration for the heat oven to maintain that temperature depends on a variety of variables including the size of the oven, overall interval of time in which it is desired for the oven to complete the cleaning cycles, and the type of food residues present (Paragraph 24). Johnson also teaches that modern ovens use temperatures higher than 800 degrees F. (Paragraph 5). Thus, it would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify LINGENHEIL so that the predefined start temperature is at least 450 degrees Celsius, as discovering an optimal value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art as stated by MPEP 2144.05(II).
LINGENHEIL as modified further does not explicitly teach:
the predefined soak period of time is set to at least 15 minutes to allow food stain on the heating plate to be detached.
Johnson (US 20120145696 A1) teaches a system for cleaning the interior surface of an oven appliance using steam comprising the step of the oven cavity being heated to an elevated temperature for a duration prior to performing steam cleaning, wherein the precise temperature and duration for the heat oven to maintain that temperature depends on a variety of variables including the size of the oven, overall interval of time in which it is desired for the oven to complete the cleaning cycles, and the type of food residues present (Paragraph 24). Johnson also teaches that modern ovens have self-cleaning cycles of 3 to 5 hours (Paragraph 5). Thus, it would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify LINGENHEIL so that the predefined soak period of time is set to at least 15 minutes to allow food stain on the heating plate to be detached, as discovering an optimal value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art as stated by MPEP 2144.05(II).
Regarding claim 9, LINGENHEIL as modified teaches the oven of claim 1.
Kim further teaches:
the controller is further programmed to introduce the water onto the heating plate for a predefined period of time (Paragraph 154, controller provides water into the cooking room 11 during the cooling time; Paragraph 158, water inside the cooking room is changed to steam because the temperature inside the cooking room lies between the first and second target temperatures).
It would have been obvious for the same motivation as claim 1.
Sloan further teaches:
the water is sprayed onto the heating plate (Column 4 Lines 46-52, a nozzle or atomizer 34 which distributes the incoming water into small water droplets and directs them onto the heater inner surfaces such as to generated superheated steam)
It would have been obvious for the same motivation as claim 1.
LINGENHEIL as modified fails to explicitly teach:
the controller is further programmed to introduce the water onto the heating plate for a predefined period of spray time, the period of time being 5-10 seconds.
Johnson (US 20120145696 A1) teaches a system for cleaning the interior surface of an oven appliance using steam comprising the step of the oven cavity being heated to an elevated temperature for a duration prior to performing steam cleaning, wherein the amount of water that should be added to an oven for cleaning depends on the size of the oven and the amount of steam needed to clean the interior surface. One of ordinary skill in the art would have known facts that the delivery of water is affected by variances in water pressure and volume and that the length of time that water is supplied inversely related to the flow volume, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the claimed value as a result effective variable. Thus, it would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify LINGENHEIL so that the period of spray time being approximately 5-10 seconds, as discovering an optimal value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art as stated by MPEP 2144.05(II).
See Paragraph 19 of Valentine (US 20090178576 A1) and Paragraph 85 of Helm (US 20140299159 A1) for proof that the delivery of water is affected by variances in water pressure and volume and that the length of time that water is supplied inversely related to the flow volume are known respectively.
Regarding claim 10, LINGENHEIL (DE 102011120907 A1) teaches a self-cleaning oven (Figure 1)2, comprising:
an oven cavity (Figure 1 Paragraph 19, cooking chamber);
a heating plate having a heating element configured to heat the oven cavity (Paragraph 20, control unit 32 controls a bottom heating element 34 which heats the bottom of the cooking chamber and can heat the liquid container therein; Paragraph 28, water is heated until it has evaporated; Paragraph 20, control unit 32 controls a bottom heating element 34) and a temperature sensor (Paragraph 21, temperature sensor 35)
a tank configured to maintain water (Paragraph 20, bottom of the cooking container 12 contains liquid);
a user control configured to receive selection of a level of self-cleaning for a self-clean operation (Paragraph 24, user of the cooking appliance can select 10 different operating programs which are stored in the control unit 32); and
a controller (controller 32) programmed to
responsive to initiating the self-clean operation (Paragraphs 25-27, control unit 32 monitors when a cleaning process might be useful or helpful and starts a cleaning process), power the heating element to increase temperature of the heating plate (Paragraph 28, water is heated until it has evaporated; Paragraph 20, control unit 32 controls a bottom heating element 34);
to generate superheated steam, such that thermal shock and superheated steam are employed to detach the food stains (Paragraph 30, generated steam is preferably saturated superheated steam which acts on all components of the cooking appliance and wherein the temperature of the hot steam loosens the depots and/or grime which have been formed);
See 112b rejection above for “thermal shock”.
LINGENHEIL fails to teach:
a temperature sensor configured to measure temperature of the heating plate;
one or more nozzles;
a tank configured to maintain water
a pump configured to receive water from the tank and project water onto the heating element via the one or more nozzles;
a user control configured to receive selection of a level of self-cleaning for a self-clean operation, the level corresponding to a predefined number of temperature-monitored clean cycles; and
a controller programmed to
monitor temperature of the heating plate using data received from the temperature sensor during the predefined number of temperature-monitored clean cycles;
responsive to the measured temperature of the heating plate being heated to above a predefined start temperature for a predefined soak period of time, direct the pump to introduce water onto the heating plate for a predefined period of spray time to generate superheated steam, until the heating plate falls below a predefined reboot temperature; and
repeat the power and water operations until the predefined number of temperature- monitored clean cycles are completed.
Johnson (US 20120145696 A1) teaches an oven appliance cleaning system using heat and steam cycle, wherein:
power the heating element to increase temperature of the heating plate (Paragraph 17, heating element 28 positioned at the bottom of cavity 14 is activated to heat the cavity 14 for cleaning of the oven)
monitor temperature of the heating plate using data received from the temperature sensor during the predefined number of temperature-monitored clean cycles (Paragraph 19, temperature sensor 38 are placed into the oven for determining the oven temperature wherein multiple temperature sensors 38 are placed throughout the oven which under BRI includes being about the bottom of the oven);
responsive to the measured temperature of the heating plate being heated to above a predefined start temperature for a predefined soak period of time (Paragraph 24, step 102 wherein oven is turned on so as to heat cavity 14 and to a temperature T1 and maintain temperature within said range for a period of time), a cooling step occurs (Paragraph 26, step 102 cavity 14 is allowed to cool down to a second predetermined temperature)
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified LINGENHEIL with Johnson and powered the heating element and heating plate to increase the temperature for a predetermines soak period of time during the cleaning process before performing steam cleaning. This would have been done to help facilitate the breakdown of water insoluble portions of the food residue on the interior surface of the oven such that the food residue becomes more water soluble (Johnson Paragraph 24).
LINGENHEIL modified with Johnson fails to teach:
a temperature sensor configured to measure temperature of the heating plate;
one or more nozzles;
a tank configured to maintain water
a pump configured to receive water from the tank and project water onto the heating element via the one or more nozzles;
a user control configured to receive selection of a level of self-cleaning for a self-clean operation, the level corresponding to a predefined number of temperature-monitored clean cycles; and
a controller programmed to
direct the pump to introduce water onto the heating plate for a predefined period of spray time to generate superheated steam, until the heating plate falls below a predefined reboot temperature; and
repeat the power and water operations until the predefined number of temperature- monitored clean cycles are completed.
Kim (US 20180070596 A1) teaches a cleaning mode of cleaning an oven, wherein:
a tank configured to maintain water (water reservoir 120)
a pump configured to receive water from the tank (Paragraph 88, pump assembly 250 arranged to enable the water to flow to or from the water supplier 100);
a controller (Paragraph 127, controller 400) programmed to
responsive to the measured temperature of the heating plate being heated to above a predefined start temperature for a predefined soak period of time (Paragraph 146, the cooking room 11 is heated to the first target temperature for a predetermined heating time; Paragraph 152, one the heating time corresponding to the first target temperature is over the controller enter the cooling section in the cleaning stage), direct the pump to introduce water for a predefined period of spray time to generate superheated steam (Paragraph 154, controller provides water into the cooking room 11 during the cooling time; Paragraph 158, water inside the cooking room is changed to steam because the temperature inside the cooking room lies between the first and second target temperatures), until the heating plate falls below a predefined reboot temperature (Paragraphs 152 and 156, controller supplies water at points during a period of time during the cooling time which lasts until the temperature reaches a predetermined second target temperature; Paragraph 157, water is supplied while the inside of the cooking room has high temperature it is likely to have a crack on the coating of the inner wall of the cooking room);
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified LINGENHEIL with Kim and direct water onto the heating plate and generating steam during the cool down period after the temperature of the heating plate is above a predefined start temperature. This would have been done to shorten the length of the cooling section and to generate steam for cleaning (Kim Paragraph 154).
While Kim does not explicitly state “one or more nozzles” and “project water onto the heating element via the one or more nozzles” that nozzles are used to deliver water onto into the cooking room, Sloan (US 6299076 B1) teaches of a steam cleaning system for generating superheated steam consisting of a nozzle or atomizer 34 which distributes the incoming water into small water droplets and directs them onto the heater inner surfaces such as to generated superheated steam (Sloan Column 4 Lines 46-52). It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim with Sloan and used a nozzle or atomizer for delivering the water onto the heating surface. This would have been done to greatly enhance superheated steam generation (Sloan Column 3 Lines 38-42).
LINGENHEIL modified with Johnson fails to teach:
a temperature sensor configured to measure temperature of the heating plate;
a user control configured to receive selection of a level of self-cleaning for a self-clean operation, the level corresponding to a predefined number of temperature-monitored clean cycles; and
direct the pump to introduce water onto the heating plate
repeat the power and water operations until the predefined number of temperature- monitored clean cycles are completed.
Fossati (US 20060108433 A1) teaches a steam generator for use in a cooking apparatus, comprising:
power the heating element to increase temperature of the heating plate (Paragraph 42, controller initiates heating of the heating plate by pulsing the heating element)
a temperature sensor configured to measure temperature of the heating plate (Paragraph 44, temperature of the heater plate is monitored and in the event of an over-threshold temperature, the rate of pulsing the water inlet valve is increased);
direct the pump to introduce water onto the heating plate (Paragraph 44, temperature of the heater plate is monitored and in the event of an over-threshold temperature, the rate of pulsing the water inlet valve is increased; Paragraph 77, pump assembly 250 is used to supply the water to flow to or from the water supplier)
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified LINGENHEIL with Fossati and had the temperature sensor been located one or about the heating plate. This would have been done to increase the efficiency of steam generation by measuring and controlling the temperature of the heater plate (Fossati Paragraphs 32 and 34), and perform corrective action when the temperature of the heater plate is in an over-threshold temperature state (Fossati Paragraph 44).
LINGENHEIL modified with Fossati fails to teach:
a user control configured to receive selection of a level of self-cleaning for a self-clean operation, the level corresponding to a predefined number of temperature-monitored clean cycles; and
repeat the power and water operations until the predefined number of temperature- monitored clean cycles are completed.
Menominee (US 20170122570 A1) teaches a rotisserie oven with a cleaning system, comprising:
a user control configured to receive selection of a level of self-cleaning for a self-clean operation, the level corresponding to a predefined number of temperature-monitored clean cycles (Figure 5 Paragraph 79, cleaning cycle 204 includes process blocks 206, 208, 210, and 212 which run consecutively two or three times; Paragraph 71, user can select desired cleaning mode for example heavy, medium, light cleaning or quick rinse cycle; Paragraph 78, program 118 may loop back to the process block to continue cleaning until a set number of cleaning cycles are completed); and
repeat the power and water operations until the predefined number of temperature- monitored clean cycles are completed (Paragraph 78, program 118 may loop back to the process block to continue cleaning until a set number of cleaning cycles are completed; Figure 5 Paragraph 79, cleaning cycle 204 includes process blocks 206, 208, 210, and 212 which run consecutively two or three times).
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified LINGENHEIL with Menominee and have the user choose the desired mode of cleaning and to have the cleaning operations repeat be repeatable for a predetermined number of temperature-monitored clean cycle. This would be done so that the user chooses the type of cleaning based on a desired cleaning mode (Menominee Paragraph 71).
Regarding claim 14, LINGENHEIL as modified teaches the oven of claim 10.
Menominee further teaches:
the predefined number of clean cycles is at least two cycles (Paragraph 79, two to three times).
It would have been obvious for the same motivation as claim 1.
Regarding claim 16, LINGENHEIL as modified teaches the oven of claim 10.
Johnson further teaches:
the predefined start temperature is at least 420 degrees Celsius (Paragraph 24, oven 10 is turned on as to heat cavity 14 to a first predetermined temperature and maintain that temperature for a period of time using input from temperature sensors; Paragraph 26, the cavity is then cooled down a second predetermined temperature after the period of time; Paragraph 24, temperatures of 800 degrees F, or approximately 426 degrees C, are maintained to break down water insoluble greases in the oven cavity),
It would have been obvious for the same motivation as claim 10
Johnson does not explicitly teach:
and the predefined soak period of time is set to at least 30 minutes to allow food stain on the heating plate to be detached.
Johnson does teach that the precise temperature and duration for the heat oven to maintain that temperature depends on a variety of variables including the size of the oven, overall interval of time in which it is desired for the oven to complete the cleaning cycles, and the type of food residues present (Paragraph 24). Johnson also teaches that modern ovens have self-cleaning cycles of 3 to 5 hours (Paragraph 5). Thus, it would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify LINGENHEIL so that the predefined soak period of time is set to at least 30 minutes to allow food stain on the heating plate to be detached, as discovering an optimal value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art as stated by MPEP 2144.05(II).
Regarding claim 17, LINGENHEIL as modified teaches the oven of claim 10.
LINGENHEIL as modified does not explicitly teach:
the predefined start temperature is at least 450 degrees Celsius
Johnson teaches that the precise temperature and duration for the heat oven to maintain that temperature depends on a variety of variables including the size of the oven, overall interval of time in which it is desired for the oven to complete the cleaning cycles, and the type of food residues present (Paragraph 24). Johnson also teaches that modern ovens use temperatures higher than 800 degrees F. (Paragraph 5). Thus, it would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify LINGENHEIL so that the predefined start temperature is at least 450 degrees Celsius, as discovering an optimal value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art as stated by MPEP 2144.05(II).
LINGENHEIL as modified further does not explicitly teach:
the predefined soak period of time is set to at least 15 minutes to allow food stain on the heating plate to be detached.
Johnson (US 20120145696 A1) teaches a system for cleaning the interior surface of an oven appliance using steam comprising the step of the oven cavity being heated to an elevated temperature for a duration prior to performing steam cleaning, wherein the precise temperature and duration for the heat oven to maintain that temperature depends on a variety of variables including the size of the oven, overall interval of time in which it is desired for the oven to complete the cleaning cycles, and the type of food residues present (Paragraph 24). Johnson also teaches that modern ovens have self-cleaning cycles of 3 to 5 hours (Paragraph 5). Thus, it would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify LINGENHEIL so that the predefined soak period of time is set to at least 15 minutes to allow food stain on the heating plate to be detached, as discovering an optimal value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art as stated by MPEP 2144.05(II).
Regarding claim 18, LINGENHEIL as modified teaches the oven of claim 10.
LINGENHEIL as modified fails to explicitly teach:
the predefined period of spray time being 5-10 seconds.
Johnson (US 20120145696 A1) teaches a system for cleaning the interior surface of an oven appliance using steam comprising the step of the oven cavity being heated to an elevated temperature for a duration prior to performing steam cleaning, wherein the amount of water that should be added to an oven for cleaning depends on the size of the oven and the amount of steam needed to clean the interior surface. One of ordinary skill in the art would have known facts that the delivery of water is affected by variances in water pressure and volume and that the length of time that water is supplied inversely related to the flow volume, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the claimed value as a result effective variable. Thus, it would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify LINGENHEIL so that the predefined period of spray time being 5-10 seconds, as discovering an optimal value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art as stated by MPEP 2144.05(II).
See Paragraph 19 of Valentine (US 20090178576 A1) and Paragraph 85 of Helm (US 20140299159 A1) for proof that the delivery of water is affected by variances in water pressure and volume and that the length of time that water is supplied inversely related to the flow volume are known respectively.
Regarding claim 19, LINGENHEIL (DE 102011120907 A1)teaches a method for self-cleaning an oven (Figure 1)3, comprising:
responsive to initiating the self-clean operation (Paragraph 60, control part receives signal when the cleaning switch 81 of the input operation pat 61 is pressed down; Paragraph 52, control part 83 controls the evaporating dish heater 37), powering a heating plate in a cavity of the oven to increase temperature of the heating plate (Paragraph 28, water is heated until it has evaporated; Paragraph 20, control unit 32 controls a bottom heating element 34);
generate superheated steam, such that thermal shock and superheated steam are employed to detach the food stains (Paragraph 30, generated steam is preferably saturated superheated steam which acts on all components of the cooking appliance and wherein the temperature of the hot steam loosens the depots and/or grime which have been formed);
See 112b rejection above for “thermal shock”.
LINGENHEIL fails to teach:
receiving selection of a level of self-cleaning for a self-clean operation, the level corresponding to a predefined number of temperature-monitored clean cycles;
measuring the temperature of the heating plate using a temperature sensor located on or about the heating plate during the predefined number of temperature-monitored clean cycles;
responsive to the measured temperature of the heating plate being above a predefined start temperature for a predefined soak period of time, directing one or more nozzles to introduce water onto the heating plate for predefined period of spray time to generate superheated steam, until the heating plate falls below a predefined reboot temperature;
repeating the powering and water operations until the predefined number of clean cycles specified by the self-clean operation are completed.
Johnson (US 20120145696 A1) teaches an oven appliance cleaning system using heat and steam cycle, wherein:
powering a heating plate in a cavity of the oven to increase temperature of the heating plate (Paragraph 17, heating element 28 positioned at the bottom of cavity 14 is activated to heat the cavity 14 for cleaning of the oven)
measuring the temperature of the heating plate using a temperature sensor (Paragraph 19, temperature sensor 38 are placed into the oven for determining the oven temperature wherein multiple temperature sensors 38 are placed throughout the oven which under BRI includes being about the bottom of the oven);
responsive to the measured temperature of the heating plate being above a predefined start temperature for a predefined soak period of time (Paragraph 24, step 102 wherein oven is turned on so as to heat cavity 14 and to a temperature T1 and maintain temperature within said range for a period of time), a cooling step occurs (Paragraph 26, step 102 cavity 14 is allowed to cool down to a second predetermined temperature)
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified LINGENHEIL with Johnson and powered the heating element and heating plate to increase the temperature for a predetermines soak period of time during the cleaning process before performing steam cleaning. This would have been done to help facilitate the breakdown of water insoluble portions of the food residue on the interior surface of the oven such that the food residue becomes more water soluble (Johnson Paragraph 24).
LINGENHEIL modified with Johnson fails to teach:
receiving selection of a level of self-cleaning for a self-clean operation, the level corresponding to a predefined number of temperature-monitored clean cycles;
measuring the temperature of the heating plate using a temperature sensor located on or about the heating plate during the predefined number of temperature-monitored clean cycles
directing one or more nozzles to introduce water onto the heating plate for predefined period of spray time to generate superheated steam, until the heating plate falls below a predefined reboot temperature;
repeating the powering and water operations until the predefined number of clean cycles specified by the self-clean operation are completed.
Kim (US 20180070596 A1) teaches a cleaning mode of cleaning an oven, wherein:
measuring the temperature of the room (Paragraph 176, cooking appliance 1 determines whether the temperature inside the cooking room has reached the first target temperature)
responsive to the measured temperature of the heating plate being above a predefined start temperature for a predefined soak period of time (Paragraph 146, the cooking room 11 is heated to the first target temperature for a predetermined heating time; Paragraph 152, one the heating time corresponding to the first target temperature is over the controller enter the cooling section in the cleaning stage) directing one or more nozzles to introduce water onto the heating plate for predefined period of spray time to generate superheated steam (Paragraph 154, controller provides water into the cooking room 11 during the cooling time; Paragraph 158, water inside the cooking room is changed to steam because the temperature inside the cooking room lies between the first and second target temperatures), until the heating plate falls below a predefined reboot temperature (Paragraphs 152 and 156, controller supplies water at points during a period of time during the cooling time which lasts until the temperature reaches a predetermined second target temperature; Paragraph 157, water is supplied while the inside of the cooking room has high temperature it is likely to have a crack on the coating of the inner wall of the cooking room);
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified LINGENHEIL with Kim and direct water onto the heating plate and generating steam during the cool down period after the temperature of the heating plate is above a predefined start temperature. This would have been done to shorten the length of the cooling section and to generate steam for cleaning (Kim Paragraph 154).
While Kim does not explicitly state that nozzles are used to deliver water onto into the cooking room, Sloan (US 6299076 B1) teaches of a steam cleaning system for generating superheated steam consisting of a nozzle or atomizer 34 which distributes the incoming water into small water droplets and directs them onto the heater inner surfaces such as to generated superheated steam (Sloan Column 4 Lines 46-52). It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim with Sloan and used a nozzle or atomizer for delivering the water onto the heating surface. This would have been done to greatly enhance superheated steam generation (Sloan Column 3 Lines 38-42).
LINGENHEIL modified with Johnson fails to teach:
receiving selection of a level of self-cleaning for a self-clean operation, the level corresponding to a predefined number of temperature-monitored clean cycles;
measuring the temperature of the heating plate using a temperature sensor located on or about the heating plate during the predefined number of temperature-monitored clean cycles
repeating the powering and water operations until the predefined number of clean cycles specified by the self-clean operation are completed.
Fossati (US 20060108433 A1) teaches a steam generator for use in a cooking apparatus, comprising:
powering a heating plate in a cavity of the oven to increase temperature of the heating plate (Paragraph 42, controller initiates heating of the heating plate by pulsing the heating element)
measuring the temperature of the heating plate using a temperature sensor located on or about the heating plate during the predefined number of temperature-monitored clean cycles (Paragraph 44, temperature of the heater plate is monitored and in the event of an over-threshold temperature, the rate of pulsing the water inlet valve is increased);
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified LINGENHEIL with Fossati and had the temperature sensor been located one or about the heating plate. This would have been done to increase the efficiency of steam generation by measuring and controlling the temperature of the heater plate (Fossati Paragraphs 32 and 34), and perform corrective action when the temperature of the heater plate is in an over-threshold temperature state (Fossati Paragraph 44).
LINGENHEIL modified with Fossati fails to teach:
receiving selection of a level of self-cleaning for a self-clean operation, the level corresponding to a predefined number of temperature-monitored clean cycles;
repeating the powering and water operations until the predefined number of clean cycles specified by the self-clean operation are completed
Menominee (US 20170122570 A1) teaches a rotisserie oven with a cleaning system, comprising:
receiving selection of a level of self-cleaning for a self-clean operation, the level corresponding to a predefined number of temperature-monitored clean cycles (Paragraph 78, program 118 may loop back to the process block to continue cleaning until a set number of cleaning cycles are completed; Figure 5 Paragraph 79, cleaning cycle 204 includes process blocks 206, 208, 210, and 212 which run consecutively two or three times; Paragraph 71, user can select desired cleaning mode for example heavy, medium, light cleaning or quick rinse cycle);
repeating the powering and water operations until the predefined number of clean cycles specified by the self-clean operation are completed (Paragraph 78, program 118 may loop back to the process block to continue cleaning until a set number of cleaning cycles are completed; Figure 5 Paragraph 79, cleaning cycle 204 includes process blocks 206, 208, 210, and 212 which run consecutively two or three times; Paragraph 71, user can select desired cleaning mode for example heavy, medium, light cleaning or quick rinse cycle)
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified LINGENHEIL with Menominee and have the user choose the desired mode of cleaning and to have the cleaning operations repeat be repeatable for a predetermined number of temperature-monitored clean cycle. This would be done so that the user chooses the type of cleaning based on a desired cleaning mode (Menominee Paragraph 71).
Regarding claim 23, LINGENHEIL as modified teaches the method of claim 19.
Menominee further teaches:
the predefined number of clean cycles is at least two cycles (Paragraph 79, two to three times).
It would have been obvious for the same motivation as claim 19.
Regarding claim 25, LINGENHEIL as modified teaches the oven of claim 19.
Johnson further teaches:
the predefined start temperature is at least 420 degrees Celsius (Paragraph 24, oven 10 is turned on as to heat cavity 14 to a first predetermined temperature and maintain that temperature for a period of time using input from temperature sensors; Paragraph 26, the cavity is then cooled down a second predetermined temperature after the period of time; Paragraph 24, temperatures of 800 degrees F, or approximately 426 degrees C, are maintained to break down water insoluble greases in the oven cavity),
It would have been obvious for the same motivation as claim 19.
LINGENHEIL modified with Johnson does not explicitly teach:
and the predefined soak period of time is set to at least 30 minutes to allow food stain on the heating plate to be detached.
Johnson does teach that the precise temperature and duration for the heat oven to maintain that temperature depends on a variety of variables including the size of the oven, overall interval of time in which it is desired for the oven to complete the cleaning cycles, and the type of food residues present (Paragraph 24). Johnson also teaches that modern ovens have self-cleaning cycles of 3 to 5 hours (Paragraph 5). Thus, it would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify LINGENHEIL so that the predefined soak period of time is set to at least 30 minutes to allow food stain on the heating plate to be detached, as discovering an optimal value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art as stated by MPEP 2144.05(II).
Regarding claim 26, LINGENHEIL as modified teaches the oven of claim 19.
LINGENHEIL as modified does not explicitly teach:
the predefined start temperature is at least 450 degrees Celsius
Johnson teaches that the precise temperature and duration for the heat oven to maintain that temperature depends on a variety of variables including the size of the oven, overall interval of time in which it is desired for the oven to complete the cleaning cycles, and the type of food residues present (Paragraph 24). Johnson also teaches that modern ovens use temperatures higher than 800 degrees F. (Paragraph 5). Thus, it would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify LINGENHEIL so that the predefined start temperature is at least 450 degrees Celsius, as discovering an optimal value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art as stated by MPEP 2144.05(II).
LINGENHEIL as modified further does not explicitly teach:
the predefined soak period of time is set to at least 15 minutes to allow food stain on the heating plate to be detached.
Johnson (US 20120145696 A1) teaches a system for cleaning the interior surface of an oven appliance using steam comprising the step of the oven cavity being heated to an elevated temperature for a duration prior to performing steam cleaning, wherein the precise temperature and duration for the heat oven to maintain that temperature depends on a variety of variables including the size of the oven, overall interval of time in which it is desired for the oven to complete the cleaning cycles, and the type of food residues present (Paragraph 24). Johnson also teaches that modern ovens have self-cleaning cycles of 3 to 5 hours (Paragraph 5). Thus, it would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify LINGENHEIL so that the predefined soak period of time is set to at least 15 minutes to allow food stain on the heating plate to be detached, as discovering an optimal value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art as stated by MPEP 2144.05(II).
Regarding claim 27, LINGENHEIL as modified teaches the oven of claim 19.
LINGENHEIL as modified fails to explicitly teach:
the predefined period of spray time being 5-10 seconds.
Johnson (US 20120145696 A1) teaches a system for cleaning the interior surface of an oven appliance using steam comprising the step of the oven cavity being heated to an elevated temperature for a duration prior to performing steam cleaning, wherein the amount of water that should be added to an oven for cleaning depends on the size of the oven and the amount of steam needed to clean the interior surface. One of ordinary skill in the art would have known facts that the delivery of water is affected by variances in water pressure and volume and that the length of time that water is supplied inversely related to the flow volume, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the claimed value as a result effective variable. Thus, it would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify LINGENHEIL so that the predefined period of spray time being 5-10 seconds, as discovering an optimal value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art as stated by MPEP 2144.05(II).
See Paragraph 19 of Valentine (US 20090178576 A1) and Paragraph 85 of Helm (US 20140299159 A1) for proof that the delivery of water is affected by variances in water pressure and volume and that the length of time that water is supplied inversely related to the flow volume are known respectively.
Regarding claim 28, LINGENHEIL as modified teaches the oven of claim 1.
Fossati further teaches:
the temperature sensor is located on the heating plate (Paragraph 44, temperature of the heater plate is monitored and in the event of an over-threshold temperature, the rate of pulsing the water inlet valve is increased).
It would have been obvious for the same motivation as claim 1.
Claim(s) 2-3, 11-12, and 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LINGENHEIL (DE 102011120907 A1) in view of Johnson (US 20120145696 A1), Kim (US 20180070596 A1), Sloan (US 6299076 B1), Fossati (US 20060108433 A1), and Menominee (US 20170122570 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Faraldi (US 20170082295 A1).
Regarding claim 2, LINGENHEIL as modified teaches the oven of claim 1, wherein:
to lock a door to the cavity responsive to initiating the self-clean operation (Paragraph 27, closure 16 is then closed and locked by means of a bolt)
LINGENHEIL as modified fails to teach:
the controller is further programmed to:
send a signal to lock a door to the cavity responsive to initiating the self-clean operation
and send a second signal to unlock the door to the cavity responsive to the conclusion of the predefined number of clean cycles and temperature of the heating plate falling below a predefined safety temperature
Faraldi (US 20170082295 A1) teaches a method for cleaning a cavity of an oven, comprising:
send a signal to lock a door to the cavity responsive to initiating the self-clean operation (Paragraph 48-49, method comprises a door locking step wherein the door is locked during the step of applying steam);
and send a second signal to unlock the door to the cavity responsive to the conclusion of the predefined number of clean cycles and temperature of the heating plate falling below a predefined safety temperature (Paragraph 139, the door lock is opened when the temperature is about 35 degrees Celsius and the second cycle is completed).
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified LINGENHEIL with Faraldi and lock the door during the cleaning operation until a certain number of predetermined cycles and the temperature passes a certain safety threshold. This would have been done to protect the user from injury and to prevent hot steam from escaping during the cleaning process.
While Faraldi does not explicitly teach of a controller controlling the door lock, it would have been obvious to have put the functions of Faraldi into the control unit 32 of LINGENHEIL to automate the processing of locking and unlocking of an oven door as the MEPE teaches that automating a manual activity which accomplishes the same result is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art. MPEP §2144.04.III.
The Office further notes that the use of a controller to control the opening and locking of an oven door is well known in the art as evidenced by Harlamert (US 8193470 B1).
Regarding claim 3, LINGENHEIL as modified teaches the oven of claim 2.
Faraldi further teaches:
the predefined safety temperature is 50 degrees Celsius (Paragraph 139, the door lock is opened when the temperature reaches T.sub.work2 being about 35 degrees Celsius).
Paragraph 115 further teaches that the T.sub.work2 is around 60 degrees Celsius and allowing user action. Thus, the safety temperature of 50 degrees Celsius lies within the range between 35 degrees Celsius and 60 degrees Celsius that T.sub.work2 bridges.
It would have been obvious for the same motivation as claim 2.
Regarding claim 11, LINGENHEIL as modified teaches the oven of claim 10, wherein:
a door to the oven cavity (closure 16), the door being movable between an open position in which the oven cavity is accessible and a closed position in which the oven cavity is sealed (Figure 1 Paragraph 16, closure 16 which is movable between an open and closed position),
LINGENHEIL as modified fails to teach:
send a signal to lock the door to the cavity responsive to initiating the self-clean operation;
and send a second signal to unlock the door to the cavity responsive to the conclusion of the predefined number of clean cycles and temperature of the heating element falling below a predefined safety temperature.
Faraldi (US 20170082295 A1) teaches a method for cleaning a cavity of an oven, comprising:
send a signal to lock a door to the cavity responsive to initiating the self-clean operation (Paragraph 48-49, method comprises a door locking step wherein the door is locked during the step of applying steam); and
send a second signal to unlock the door to the cavity responsive to the conclusion of the predefined number of clean cycles and temperature of the heating plate falling below a predefined safety temperature (Paragraph 139, the door lock is opened when the temperature is about 35 degrees Celsius and the second cycle is completed).
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified LINGENHEIL with Faraldi and lock the door during the cleaning operation until a certain number of predetermined cycles and the temperature passes a certain safety threshold. This would have been done to protect the user from injury and to prevent hot steam from escaping during the cleaning process.
While Faraldi does not explicitly teach of a controller controlling the door lock, it would have been obvious to have put the functions of Faraldi into the control unit 32 of LINGENHEIL to automate the processing of locking and unlocking of an oven door as the MEPE teaches that automating a manual activity which accomplishes the same result is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art. MPEP §2144.04.III.
The Office further notes that the use of a controller to control the opening and locking of an oven door is well known in the art as evidenced by Harlamert (US 8193470 B1).
Regarding claim 12, LINGENHEIL as modified teaches the oven of claim 11.
Faraldi further teaches:
the predefined safety temperature is 50 degrees Celsius (Paragraph 139; the door lock is opened when the temperature reaches T.sub.work2 being about 35 degrees Celsius).
Paragraph 115 further teaches that the T.sub.work2 is around 60 degrees Celsius and allowing user action. Thus, the safety temperature of 50 degrees Celsius lies within the range between 35 degrees Celsius and 60 degrees Celsius that T.sub.work2 bridges.
It would have been obvious for the same motivation as claim 11.
Regarding claim 20, LINGENHEIL as modified teaches the method of claim 19, wherein:
locking a door to the cavity (Paragraph 27, closure 16 is then closed and locked by means of a bolt)
LINGENHEIL fails to teach:
locking a door to the cavity responsive to initiating the self-clean operation;
and unlocking the door to the cavity responsive to the conclusion of the predefined number of clean cycles and temperature of the heating plate falling below a predefined safety temperature.
Faraldi (US 20170082295 A1) teaches a method for cleaning a cavity of an oven, comprising:
locking a door to the cavity responsive to initiating the self-clean operation (Paragraph 48-49, method comprises a door locking step wherein the door is locked during the step of applying steam)
and unlocking the door to the cavity responsive to the conclusion of the predefined number of clean cycles and temperature of the heating plate falling below a predefined safety temperature (Paragraph 139, the door lock is opened when the temperature is about 35 degrees Celsius and the second cycle is completed).
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified LINGENHEIL with Faraldi and lock the door during the cleaning operation until a certain number of predetermined cycles and the temperature passes a certain safety threshold. This would have been done to protect the user from injury and to prevent hot steam from escaping during the cleaning process.
Regarding claim 21, LINGENHEIL as modified teaches the method of claim 20, wherein
Faraldi further teaches:
the predefined safety temperature is approximately 50 degrees Celsius (Paragraph 139, the door lock is opened when the temperature reaches T.sub.work2 being about 35 degrees Celsius).
Paragraph 115 further teaches that the T.sub.work2 is around 60 degrees Celsius and allowing user action. Thus, the safety temperature of 50 degrees Celsius lies within the range between 35 degrees Celsius and 60 degrees Celsius that T.sub.work2 bridges.
It would have been obvious for the same motivation as claim 20.
Claim(s) 4, 13, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LINGENHEIL (DE 102011120907 A1) in view of Johnson (US 20120145696 A1), Kim (US 20180070596 A1), Sloan (US 6299076 B1), Fossati (US 20060108433 A1), and Menominee (US 20170122570 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of BÜKER (EP 2930431 A1).
Regarding claim 4, LINGENHEIL as modified teaches the oven of claim 1.
Johnson further teaches:
the predefined start temperature is at least 420 degrees Celsius (Paragraph 24, oven 10 is turned on as to heat cavity 14 to a first predetermined temperature and maintain that temperature for a period of time using input from temperature sensors; Paragraph 26, the cavity is then cooled down a second predetermined temperature after the period of time; Paragraph 24, temperatures of 800 degrees F, or approximately 426 degrees C, are maintained to break down water insoluble greases in the oven cavity),
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified LINGENHEIL with Johnson and have the heating plate (which is a part of the oven cavity) maintain a predefined start temperature for a predetermined period of time before cooling the oven down. This would have been done to break down water insoluble grease into components that are more water soluble (Johnson Paragraph 24).
LINGENHEIL modified with Johnson fails to explicitly teach:
the predefined reboot temperature is 200-300 degrees Celsius
BÜKER (EP 2930431 A1) teaches a pyrolytic method for cleaning the oven, wherein:
the predefined reboot temperature is 200-300 degrees Celsius (Paragraphs 24-26, temperature of the cooking chamber in the cooling phase after maintaining the cooking chamber at a higher temperature in the heating phase is cooled down to the range of 200 degrees Celsius to room temperature; Paragraph 41, the next stage of the cleaning process is started from the previously used cooking space temperature e.g. 200 degrees Celsius).
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified LINGENHEIL with BÜKER and have the cool down temperature be in the range of 200 degrees Celsius to room temperature. This would have been done to facilitate proper thermal expansion to remove dirt (BÜKER Paragraph 26).
Regarding claim 13, LINGENHEIL as modified teaches the oven of claim 10.
Johnson further teaches:
the predefined start temperature is at least 420 degrees Celsius (Paragraph 24, oven 10 is turned on as to heat cavity 14 to a first predetermined temperature and maintain that temperature for a period of time using input from temperature sensors; Paragraph 26, the cavity is then cooled down a second predetermined temperature after the period of time; Paragraph 24, temperatures of 800 degrees F, or approximately 426 degrees C, are maintained to break down water insoluble greases in the oven cavity),
It would have been obvious for the same motivation as claim 10.
LINGENHEIL modified with Johnson fails to explicitly teach:
and the predefined reboot temperature is 200-300 degrees Celsius
BÜKER (EP 2930431 A1) teaches a pyrolytic method for cleaning the oven, wherein:
and the predefined reboot temperature is 200-300 degrees Celsius (Paragraphs 24-26, temperature of the cooking chamber in the cooling phase after maintaining the cooking chamber at a higher temperature in the heating phase is cooled down to the range of 200 degrees Celsius to room temperature; Paragraph 41, the next stage of the cleaning process is started from the previously used cooking space temperature e.g. 200 degrees Celsius).
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified LINGENHEIL with BÜKER and have the cool down temperature be in the range of 200 degrees Celsius to room temperature. This would have been done to facilitate proper thermal expansion to remove dirt (BÜKER Paragraph 26).
Regarding claim 22, LINGENHEIL as modified teaches of claim 19.
Johnson further teaches:
the predefined start temperature is at least 420 degrees Celsius (Paragraph 24; temperatures of 800 degrees F, or approximately 426 degrees C, are maintained to break down water insoluble greases in the oven cavity),
It would have been obvious for the same motivation as claim 19.
LINGENHEIL as modified fails to explicitly teach:
the predefined reboot temperature is 200-300 degrees Celsius
BÜKER (EP 2930431 A1) teaches a pyrolytic method for cleaning the oven, wherein:
the predefined reboot temperature is 200-300 degrees Celsius (Paragraphs 24-26, temperature of the cooking chamber in the cooling phase after maintaining the cooking chamber at a higher temperature in the heating phase is cooled down to the range of 200 degrees Celsius to room temperature; Paragraph 41, the next stage of the cleaning process is started from the previously used cooking space temperature e.g. 200 degrees Celsius).
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified LINGENHEIL with BÜKER and have the cool down temperature be in the range of 200 degrees Celsius to room temperature. This would have been done to facilitate proper thermal expansion to remove dirt (BÜKER Paragraph 26).
Claim(s) 6 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LINGENHEIL (DE 102011120907 A1) in view of Johnson (US 20120145696 A1), Kim (US 20180070596 A1), Sloan (US 6299076 B1), Fossati (US 20060108433 A1), and Menominee (US 20170122570 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of BOURGEOIS (EP 2048912 A1).
Regarding claim 6, LINGENHEIL as modified teaches the oven of claim 1, wherein
the heating plate is located proximate to a bottom wall of the cavity (Figure 1, floor heating 34 is located adjacent to a bottom of the cooking chamber 14)
LINGENHEIL as modified fails to teach:
the heating plate is composed of a temperature-resistant material with a layer of resistive coating applied to a side of the heating plate.
BOURGEOIS (EP 2048912 A1) teaches a resistive heating plate as a heater for an oven, wherein:
the heating plate is composed of a temperature-resistant material with a layer of resistive coating applied to a side of the heating plate (Paragraph 37, thermally resistant glass sheet coated on one face with a resistive layer 8).
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified LINGENHEIL with BOURGEOIS and have the oven use the heating plate as taught by BOURGEOIS. This would be done to allow for easy cleaning of the plate, comply with electrical safety standards, and eliminate the problem of cleaning conventional resistors (BOURGEOIS Paragraph 48).
The Office further notes that the use of temperature resistant material applied to a side of the heating plate within an oven is well known in the art as evidenced by WIESHEU (DE 202012101610 U1) and is known in the art to be used to heating liquids into steam as evidenced by CHO (US 20190203944 A1).
Regarding claim 15, LINGENHEIL as modified teaches the oven of claim 10, wherein
the heating plate is located proximate to a bottom wall of the cavity (Figure 1, floor heating 34 is located adjacent to a bottom of the cooking chamber 14)
LINGENHEIL as modified fails to teach:
the heating plate is composed of a temperature-resistant material with a layer of resistive coating applied to a side of the heating plate.
BOURGEOIS (EP 2048912 A1) teaches a resistive heating plate as a heater for an oven, wherein:
the heating plate is composed of a temperature-resistant material with a layer of resistive coating applied to a side of the heating plate (Paragraph 37, thermally resistant glass sheet coated on one face with a resistive layer 8).
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified LINGENHEIL with BOURGEOIS and have the oven use the heating plate as taught by BOURGEOIS. This would be done to allow for easy cleaning of the plate, comply with electrical safety standards, and eliminate the problem of cleaning conventional resistors (BOURGEOIS Paragraph 48).
The Office further notes that the use of temperature resistant material applied to a side of the heating plate within an oven is well known in the art as evidenced by WIESHEU (DE 202012101610 U1) and is known in the art to be used to heating liquids into steam as evidenced by CHO (US 20190203944 A1).
Claim(s) 24 and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LINGENHEIL (DE 102011120907 A1) in view of Johnson (US 20120145696 A1), Kim (US 20180070596 A1), Sloan (US 6299076 B1), Fossati (US 20060108433 A1), and Menominee (US 20170122570 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of CHO (US 20190203944 A1).
Regarding claim 24, LINGENHEIL as modified teaches the method of claim 19, wherein:
the heating plate is located proximate to a bottom wall of the cavity (Figure 1, floor heating 34 is located adjacent to a bottom of the cooking chamber 14)
LINGENHEIL as modified fails to teach:
the heating plate is composed of a temperature-resistant material with a layer of resistive coating applied to a side of the heating plate.
CHO (US 20190203944 A1) teaches a cooker and control method, wherein:
the heating plate is composed of a temperature-resistant material with a layer of resistive coating applied to a side of the heating plate (Paragraph 74, heating layer 62 is applied as a coating to one surface of the heat pipe which has a high-power density which is capable of generating heat rapidly reaching high temperature to convert water into steam wherein the heating layer include metal oxide).
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified LINGENHEIL with CHO and have the heating plate be capable of rapidly reaching high temperature and comprise metal oxide. This would be done to generate heat rapidly and convert a solution into steam (CHO Paragraph 74).
The Office further notes that the use of a resistive heating element with a metal-oxide resistive layer placed within an oven is well known in the art as evidenced by Cooper (US 5616266 A).
Regarding claim 30, LINGENHEIL as modified teaches the oven of claim 24.
CHO further teaches:
the resistive coating is a metal oxide (Paragraph 74, heating layer 62 is applied as a coating to one surface of the heat pipe which has a high-power density which is capable of generating heat rapidly reaching high temperature to convert water into steam wherein the heating layer include metal oxide).
It would have been obvious for the same motivation as claim 24 above.
Claim(s) 24 and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LINGENHEIL (DE 102011120907 A1) in view of Johnson (US 20120145696 A1), Kim (US 20180070596 A1), Sloan (US 6299076 B1), Fossati (US 20060108433 A1), and Menominee (US 20170122570 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of WIESHEU (DE 202012101610 U1).
Regarding claim 24, LINGENHEIL as modified teaches the method of claim 19, wherein:
the heating plate is located proximate to a bottom wall of the cavity (Figure 1, floor heating 34 is located adjacent to a bottom of the cooking chamber 14)
LINGENHEIL as modified fails to teach:
the heating plate is composed of a temperature-resistant material with a layer of resistive coating applied to a side of the heating plate.
WIESHEU (DE 202012101610 U1) teaches a device for heat treatment of foodstuffs with a heatable plate, wherein:
the heating plate is composed of a temperature-resistant material with a layer of resistive coating applied to a side of the heating plate (Paragraphs 1 and 9-10, heating plate comprises a base body made of stone, ceramic, or glass with a CNT coating applied to said heating plate).
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified LINGENHEIL with WIESHEU and have the heating plate be comprised of a temperature-resistant material with a layer of CNT coating. This would be done as the CNT coating has very good heating performance and fast response in the event of control changes (WIESHEU Paragraph 10).
Regarding claim 31, LINGENHEIL as modified teaches the oven of claim 24.
WIESHEU further teaches:
the resistive coating is a carbon nanotube material (Paragraphs 1 and 9-10, heating plate comprises a base body made of stone, ceramic, or glass with a CNT coating applied to said heating plate).
It would have been obvious for the same motivation as claim 24 above.
Claim(s) 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LINGENHEIL (DE 102011120907 A1) in view of Johnson (US 20120145696 A1), Kim (US 20180070596 A1), Sloan (US 6299076 B1), Fossati (US 20060108433 A1), and Menominee (US 20170122570 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of KATO (JP 2005238030 A).
Regarding claim 29, LINGENHEIL as modified teaches the oven of claim 1.
Menominee further teaches:
the level of self-cleaning includes selection between at least:
a normal cleaning cycle including a first predefined number of temperature-monitored superheated-steam clean cycles (Paragraph 71, user can select desired cleaning mode for example heavy, medium, light cleaning or quick rinse cycle; Paragraph 78, program 118 may loop back to the process block to continue cleaning until a set number of cleaning cycles are completed), and
a heavy-duty cleaning cycle including a second predefined number of temperature-monitored superheated-steam clean cycles (Paragraph 71, user can select desired cleaning mode for example heavy, medium, light cleaning or quick rinse cycle; Paragraph 78, program 118 may loop back to the process block to continue cleaning until a set number of cleaning cycles are completed),
wherein the second predefined number if greater than the first predefined number (Paragraph 71, quick rinse cycle indicates a single cycle of cleaning; Figure 5 Paragraph 79, other cleaning cycles 204 includes process blocks 206, 208, 210, and 212 which run consecutively two or three times; Paragraph 67, cleaning program generally includes and implements pre-stored schedules of cleaning step duration and cleaning step order for different cleaning modes).
It would have been obvious for the same motivation as claim 1.
While the examiner does not concede the fact, the applicant may argue that the cleaning cycles do not explicitly designate the number of cleaning cycles in such a way that one cleaning cycle has a greater number of cycles than another. However, Paragraph 37 of KATO (JP 2005238030 A) teaches a cleaning device for an oven wherein the process of cleaning the oven is repeated and the number of cycles can be selected by a panel operation based on the degree of soiling. Since it is known in the art to adjust the number of cleaning cycles based on the degree of soiling, it would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified LINGENHEIL with KATO and have each of the cleaning modes also adjust the number of cycles based on the severity of the cleaning which is desired. This would be done as Menominee already teaches that the cleaning programs includes and implements pre-stored schedules for cleaning step duration and the number of cycles would be an additional variable which would be used to optimize the cleaning process to that which the user would desire (Menominee Paragraph 67).
Claim(s) 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LINGENHEIL (DE 102011120907 A1) in view of Johnson (US 20120145696 A1), Kim (US 20180070596 A1), Sloan (US 6299076 B1), Fossati (US 20060108433 A1), and Menominee (US 20170122570 A1), as applied to claim 28 above, and further in view of Burnell (US 20070092618 A1).
Regarding claim 32, LINGENHEIL as modified teaches the oven of claim 28.
LINGENHEIL fails to teach:
the temperature sensor is a thermocouple that produces a temperature-dependent voltage as a result of thermoelectric effect.
Burnell (US 20070092618 A1) teaches food handling methods, wherein:
the temperature sensor is a thermocouple that produces a temperature-dependent voltage as a result of thermoelectric effect (Paragraph 110, thermocouples are coupled to heated surfaces to a precision of better 2 degrees).
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified LINGENHEIL with Burnell and have the temperature sensor be a thermocouple. This would be done as the use of thermocouples within ovens is well known in the art and would be done to allow for precisely controlled heating outputs within the heating chamber (Burnell Paragraph 110).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/F.J.W./Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/IBRAHIME A ABRAHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761
1 The Office further notes that using steam to clean an oven is well known in the art as evidenced by Kanzaki (US 20040025910 A1).
2 The Office further notes that using steam to clean an oven is well known in the art as evidenced by Kanzaki (US 20040025910 A1).
3 The Office further notes that using steam to clean an oven is well known in the art as evidenced by Kanzaki (US 20040025910 A1).