DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant's submission filed on 11/21/2025 has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4, 16-22, and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 has been amended to recite in part “calculate a first endpoint elevation angle by subtracting 22.5 degrees from the determined facade direction;
calculate a second endpoint elevation angle by adding 22.5 degrees to the determined facade direction;” There is insufficient support for these limitations in the disclosure as originally filed.
Paragraph [0056] of the applicant’s specification provides for retrieving the endpoint elevation angle from a look-up table. Paragraph [0074] provides for using the endpoint elevation angles in further calculations. However, the calculation of endpoint elevation angle by the drive unit by adding or subtracting 22.5 degrees to the determined facade direction is not supported.
Claims 2-4, 16-22, and 37 are at least rejected for depending from rejected claim 1. Dependent claims contain all limitations of the claims from which they depend, and therefore inherit their new matter issues.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 16-22, and 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PG Pub. US 2019/0119978 – Hall et al., hereinafter Hall in view of US Pat. 8,723,466 – Chambers et al., hereinafter Chambers and US Pat. 11,960,190 – Zedlitz et al., hereinafter Zedlitz.
Regarding claim 1.
Hall discloses a blind system (100, fig 1) configured to be mounted to cover a window located on a facade of a building (Paragraphs [0173] and [0177] indicate use of the blinds in exterior windows), the blind system comprising:
a headrail (See annotated fig 1 below);
a bottom bar (See annotated fig 1 below);
a plurality of slats (See annotated fig 1 below) spaced apart vertically between the headrail and the bottom bar;
a lift cord (110, fig 1. Also, lift cords can be seen penetrating upper slats adjacent the tilt ladders.) extending from the headrail to the bottom bar to provide for raising and lowering the bottom bar;
a tilt ladder (See annotated fig 1 below) extending from the headrail to the bottom bar and operable to support the slats and to tilt the slats; and
a drive unit (made up of components shown inside headrail, including 102, 124, fig 1) operably coupled to the tilt ladder for tilting the slats, the drive unit configured to selectively tilt the slats into each of a plurality of tilt positions at a plurality of event times (3014, fig 30) according to a timeclock schedule (See fig 30), the tilt positions include at least:
a view tilt position in which the slats are approximately horizontal (Default open position, fig 28), a slanted tilt position in which the slats are positioned to block direct sunlight from shining into the building (Sunrise and/or sunset position, fig 33), and a privacy tilt position in which the slats are approximately vertical (Default close position, fig 28);
the drive unit to further:
determine a facade direction (See fig 44),
calculate a daily first event time (Paragraph [0142]; creating an event 3014 may be as easy as selecting an area on a time line 3010 where an event 3014 is desired to be placed) at which direct sunlight (Paragraph [0144]; This may also maximize the amount of sunlight that is allowed to enter a room while at the same time preventing direct sunlight and associated damage on furniture, rugs, or other objects (Examiner notes that direct sunlight into the room must include direct sunlight on the façade during such time, or immediately before or after.)) falls incident on the facade,; and
a daily second event time (Paragraph [0142]; creating an event 3014 may be as easy as selecting an area on a time line 3010 where an event 3014 is desired to be placed) at which direct sunlight no longer falls incident on the facade (Paragraph [0144]; This may also maximize the amount of sunlight that is allowed to enter a room while at the same time preventing direct sunlight and associated damage on furniture, rugs, or other objects (Examiner notes that direct sunlight into the room must include direct sunlight on the façade during such time, or immediately before or after.)),
Hall does not explicitly disclose the facing direction of the facade is one of cardinal or ordinal directions, or
calculate a first endpoint elevation angle by subtracting 22.5 degrees from the determined facade direction;
calculate a second endpoint elevation angle by adding 22.5 degrees from the determined facade direction;
calculate a first event time at which the solar azimuth corresponds to the calculated first endpoint elevation angle;
calculate a second event time at which the solar azimuth corresponds to the calculated second endpoint elevation angle.
However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the apparatus of Hall in conjunction with a building wherein the facing direction of the facade is one of cardinal or ordinal directions. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to manage the shading of sunlight through the window of a building that was built facing one of cardinal or ordinal directions.
However, Chambers teaches a calculation of solar elevation angle by subtracting a defined angle from the determined facade direction (See fig 17c) and calculate an event time at which the solar azimuth corresponds to the calculated angle (column 15, line 61-cloumn 16, line 9; As previously mentioned, the solar elevation angle .theta..sub.S and the solar azimuth angle .PHI..sub.S define the position of the sun in the sky and are functions of the position (i.e., the longitude and latitude) of the building in which the space 700 is located and the present date and time. The following equations are necessary to approximate the solar elevation angle .theta..sub.S and the solar azimuth angle .PHI..sub.S. The equation of time defines essentially the difference in a time as given by a sundial and a time as given by a clock. This difference is due to the obliquity of the Earth's axis of rotation. The equation of time can be approximated by E=9.87sin(2B)-7.53cos(B)-1.5sin(B), (Equation 3) where B=[360.degree.(N.sub.DAY-81)]/364, and N.sub.DAY is the present day-number for the year (e.g., N.sub.DAY equals one for January 1, N.sub.DAY equals two for January 2, and so on)), and its usefulness in scheduling timeclock events (column 20, line 65-column 21, line 9; the timeclock schedule provides for control of the motorized blind systems 610 to limit the direct sunlight penetration distance d.sub.P-DIR to be less than the desired maximum direct sunlight penetration distance d.sub.P-DIR-MAX, and to maximize the reflected sunlight penetration distance d.sub.P-REF. For example, the maximum number N.sub.MAX of blind adjustments may have a minimum value of approximately three. The lighting hub 640 determines if the user-selected maximum number N.sub.MAX of blind adjustments or the user-selected minimum time period T.sub.MIN between blind adjustments is the limiting factor for determining a movement time T.sub.MOVE, which will exist between the timeclock schedule events.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Hall with the calculation of Chambers. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of optimizing the automation of the blinds.
Also, Zedlitz teaches a defined angle of 22.5° (See fig 25).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Hall and Chambers by using the defined angle of 22.5° taught by Zedlitz. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of simplifying the math for the end user by providing "pie slices" of half of 45 degrees in the GUI for setup.
Regarding claim 2.
The combination of Hall, Chambers, and Zedlitz teaches all limitations of claim 1.
Hall further discloses the drive unit (made up of components shown inside headrail including 102, 124, fig 1) comprises a motor (400, fig 4) operatively coupled (Via gearbox 102, fig 1) to the tilt ladder and a control circuit (124, fig 1) configured to control the motor to tilt the slats.
Regarding claim 3.
The combination of Hall, Chambers, and Zedlitz teaches all limitations of claim 2.
Hall further discloses the drive unit (made up of components shown inside headrail including 102, 124, fig 1) further comprises a wireless communication circuit (105, fig 1) configured to receive wireless signals (132, fig 1), the control circuit configured to receive a message including a command to tilt the slats (2802, fig 28; see paragraph [0135]) via the wireless communication circuit (Paragraph [0088]; Mobile device 130, as shown in FIG. 1, transmits and receives LAN wireless signal 132 from the first hub 105, allowing wireless control by a user of the system.).
Regarding claim 4.
The combination of Hall, Chambers, and Zedlitz teaches all limitations of claim 3.
Hall further discloses the drive unit further comprises a memory (Paragraph [0090]; the memory device or module being mounted to the same circuit board as the processor 124) for storing the timeclock schedule, and the control circuit is configured to execute a timeclock to determine one or more event times of the plurality of event times for tilting the slats according to the timeclock schedule (Paragraph [0090]; These settings are stored in the memory for data storage, the memory device or module being mounted to the same circuit board as the processor 124. As inputs are received from sensors, weather data, and other real-time data, the processor 124 consults the settings in memory to determine what action, if any, to take. Calendars and schedules are also consulted prior to sending commands to a controller. Once the processor has determined that an action should be taken, appropriate command signals are sent to the appropriate actuator 126 as required.).
Regarding claim 16.
The combination of Hall, Chambers, and Zedlitz teaches all limitations of claim 4.
Hall further discloses the control circuit is configured to receive the timeclock schedule via the wireless communication circuit. (Paragraph [0210]; the operation of a window covering 100 or group of window coverings 100 may be synchronized with a calendar, timer, or alarm clock of an external computing device 3740.) (Fig 38 shows 3740 to be a mobile device of the type shown wirelessly connecting in fig 1.)
Regarding claim 17.
The combination of Hall, Chambers, and Zedlitz teaches all limitations of claim 3.
Furthermore, Hall discloses the control circuit is configured to receive the respective commands for tilting the slats at the plurality of event times of the timeclock schedule. (Paragraph [0196] A grouping module 3904 may enable multiple window coverings 100 to be set up and controlled as a group. In certain embodiments, this may be accomplished by configuring one window covering 100 in the group to act as a master and the other window coverings 100 in the group to act as slaves of the master. The group of window coverings 100 may, in certain embodiments, be configured to operate from a single schedule or sensors on a single window covering 100, external computing device 3740)
Regarding claim 18.
The combination of Hall, Chambers, and Zedlitz teaches all limitations of claim 1.
Hall further discloses the drive unit is configured to determine the plurality of event times of the timeclock schedule using a calculated (Paragraph [0202]; The scheduling module 3912 may reference a database or utilize an algorithm to determine sunrise and sunset times) position of the sun, a geolocation of the building (Paragraph [0208]; For example, as shown in FIG. 44, an external computing device 3740 may, in certain embodiments, be aligned with a window 4400 associated with a window covering 100 or other window covering. Aligning the external computing device 3740 with the window 4400 may include, for example, setting the external computing device 3740 flat on the window sill 4402 and aligning it with a corner or center of the window sill 4402 such that the external computing device 3740 is oriented substantially normal to the window 4400. An option may then be selected in the application 3742 that causes the external computing device 3740 to record the current position (GPS coordinates, height, etc.) and/or orientation of the external computing device 3740 using the external computing device's internal sensors (e.g., compass and/or GPS sensors), and the determined first endpoint elevation angle and the determined second endpoint elevation angle (Examiner notes that the endpoint elevation angle associated with a sunrise time is a first solar endpoint elevation angle, and the endpoint elevation angle associated with a sunset time is a second solar endpoint elevation angle. (See Paragraph [0137]; open at sunrise and/or close at sunset)) based on a facing direction of the façade (Paragraph [0186]; compass sensors 3744 embedded in a smart phone may be used to determine a position and orientation of a window associated with the window covering 100. This position and orientation may, in turn, be used to determine a position of the sun over time relative the window. The window covering 100 may then be programmed so that it opens and/or closes (i.e., the slats are tilted) in a way that takes into account the position of the sun over time relative to the position and orientation of the window.), (Paragraph [0202]; These opening and closing times may be adjusted throughout the year as the position of the sun changes.), and store the timeclock schedule in memory (Paragraph [0165]; the controller 3702 (See fig 37) may be programmed to operate a window covering 100 in accordance with a designated schedule.)
Regarding claim 19.
The combination of Hall, Chambers, and Zedlitz teaches all limitations of claim 18.
Hall further discloses the calculated (Paragraph [0202]; The scheduling module 3912 may reference a database or utilize an algorithm to determine sunrise and sunset times) position of the sun indicates that direct sunlight is incident on the facade when a profile angle of the sun is between 0° and 90°. (Examiner notes that a profile angle of the sun is part of the position of the sun over time relative to the position and orientation of the window) (Paragraph [0186]; The window covering 100 may then be programmed so that it opens and/or closes (i.e., the slats are tilted) in a way that takes into account the position of the sun over time relative to the position and orientation of the window.). (Hall also discusses direct sunlight throughout the day. This is inherently when a profile angle of the sun is between 0° and 90°. Paragraph [0144]; This may also maximize the amount of sunlight that is allowed to enter a room while at the same time preventing direct sunlight and associated damage on furniture, rugs, or other objects, even as the angle of incidence of the sun changes throughout the day.)
Regarding claim 20.
The combination of Hall, Chambers, and Zedlitz teaches all limitations of claim 18.
Hall further discloses the profile angle of the sun is calculated using the first endpoint elevation angle and the second endpoint elevation angles for the facade. (Examiner notes that a solar azimuth angle and endpoint elevation angles are part of the position of the sun over time relative to the position and orientation of the window) (Paragraph [0186]; GPS and/or compass sensors 3744 embedded in a smart phone may be used to determine a position and orientation of a window (including elevation angles) associated with the window covering 100. This position and orientation may, in turn, be used to determine a position of the sun over time relative the window. (Including profile angle.))
Regarding claim 21.
The combination of Hall, Chambers, and Zedlitz teaches all limitations of claim 18.
Hall further discloses the calculated (Paragraph [0202]; The scheduling module 3912 may reference a database or utilize an algorithm to determine sunrise and sunset times) position of the sun indicates that direct sunlight is incident on the facade when a solar azimuth angle of the sun is between solar azimuth angle limits for the facade. (Examiner notes that a solar azimuth angle and solar azimuth angle limits are part of the position of the sun over time relative to the position and orientation of the window) (Paragraph [0186]; GPS and/or compass sensors 3744 embedded in a smart phone may be used to determine a position and orientation of a window (including solar azimuth angle limits) associated with the window covering 100. This position and orientation may, in turn, be used to determine a position of the sun over time relative the window. (Including solar azimuth angle.))
Regarding claim 22.
The combination of Hall, Chambers, and Zedlitz teaches all limitations of claim 20.
Hall further discloses the solar azimuth angle limits for the facade are based on the first endpoint elevation angle and the second endpoint elevation angles for the facade and a total facade angle. (Examiner notes that a solar azimuth angle and endpoint elevation angles are part of the position of the sun over time relative to the position and orientation of the window) (Paragraph [0186]; The window covering 100 may then be programmed so that it opens and/or closes (i.e., the slats are tilted) in a way that takes into account the position of the sun over time relative to the position and orientation of the window.). (Paragraph [0208]; For example, as shown in FIG. 44, an external computing device 3740 may, in certain embodiments, be aligned with a window 4400 associated with a window covering 100 or other window covering. Aligning the external computing device 3740 with the window 4400 may include, for example, setting the external computing device 3740 flat on the window sill 4402 and aligning it with a corner or center of the window sill 4402 such that the external computing device 3740 is oriented substantially normal to the window 4400. An option may then be selected in the application 3742 that causes the external computing device 3740 to record the current position (GPS coordinates, height, etc.) and/or orientation of the external computing device 3740 using the external computing device's internal sensors (e.g., compass and/or GPS sensors). The position and orientation (including first and second endpoint elevation angles for the facade and a total facade angle) of the window 4400 and associated window covering 100 may be extrapolated from the position and orientation of the external computing device 3740. The external computing device may be a mobile device 130.)
Regarding claim 37.
The combination of Hall, Chambers, and Zedlitz teaches all limitations of claim 1.
Hall further discloses the drive unit to further:
tilt the slats to the privacy tilt position between a determined sunset time and a determined sunrise time (Paragraph [0137]; open at sunrise and/or close at sunset);
tilt the slats to the view tilt position between the determined sunrise time and the first event time (See figs 33 and 34);
tilt the slats to the slanted tilt position at the first event time (Paragraph [0143]; a position-selection feature 3104 enables a user to specify a desired position for a window covering 100 or group of window coverings 100 for an event 3014. This position-selection feature 310 may, in certain embodiments, enable a user to select an open state, closed state, or an intermediate state associated with the event 3014. In certain embodiments, a slider button 3106 is provided to enable the user to designate the position of the window covering 100 or group of window coverings 100.); and
tilt the slats to the view tilt position between the second event time and the determined sunset time (Paragraph [0143]; a position-selection feature 3104 enables a user to specify a desired position for a window covering 100 or group of window coverings 100 for an event 3014. This position-selection feature 310 may, in certain embodiments, enable a user to select an open state, closed state, or an intermediate state associated with the event 3014. In certain embodiments, a slider button 3106 is provided to enable the user to designate the position of the window covering 100 or group of window coverings 100.).
Claim(s) 1-4, 16-22, and 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hall in view of PG Pub. US 2019/0338587 – Boyd, Chambers, and Zedlitz.
Regarding claim 1.
Hall discloses a blind system (100, fig 1) configured to be mounted to cover a window located on a facade of a building (Paragraphs [0173] and [0177] indicate use of the blinds in exterior windows), the blind system comprising:
a headrail (See annotated fig 1 below);
a bottom bar (See annotated fig 1 below);
a plurality of slats (See annotated fig 1 below) spaced apart vertically between the headrail and the bottom bar;
a lift cord (110, fig 1. Also, lift cords can be seen penetrating upper slats adjacent the tilt ladders.) extending from the headrail to the bottom bar to provide for raising and lowering the bottom bar;
a tilt ladder (See annotated fig 1 below) extending from the headrail to the bottom bar and operable to support the slats and to tilt the slats; and
a drive unit (made up of components shown inside headrail, including 102, 124, fig 1) operably coupled to the tilt ladder for tilting the slats, the drive unit configured to selectively tilt the slats into each of a plurality of tilt positions at a plurality of event times (3014, fig 30) according to a timeclock schedule (See fig 30), the tilt positions include at least:
a view tilt position in which the slats are approximately horizontal (Default open position, fig 28), a slanted tilt position in which the slats are positioned to block direct sunlight from shining into the building (Sunrise and/or sunset position, fig 33), and a privacy tilt position in which the slats are approximately vertical (Default close position, fig 28);
the drive unit to further:
determine a facade direction (See fig 44);
calculate a daily first event time (Paragraph [0142]; creating an event 3014 may be as easy as selecting an area on a time line 3010 where an event 3014 is desired to be placed) at which direct sunlight (Paragraph [0144]; This may also maximize the amount of sunlight that is allowed to enter a room while at the same time preventing direct sunlight and associated damage on furniture, rugs, or other objects (Examiner notes that direct sunlight into the room must include direct sunlight on the façade during such time, or immediately before or after.)) falls incident on the façade; and
a daily second event time (Paragraph [0142]; creating an event 3014 may be as easy as selecting an area on a time line 3010 where an event 3014 is desired to be placed) at which direct sunlight no longer falls incident on the facade (Paragraph [0144]; This may also maximize the amount of sunlight that is allowed to enter a room while at the same time preventing direct sunlight and associated damage on furniture, rugs, or other objects (Examiner notes that direct sunlight into the room must include direct sunlight on the façade during such time, or immediately before or after.)).
Hall does not explicitly disclose the facing direction of the facade is one of cardinal or ordinal directions, or
calculate a first endpoint elevation angle by subtracting 22.5 degrees from the determined facade direction;
calculate a second endpoint elevation angle by adding 22.5 degrees from the determined facade direction;
calculate a first event time at which the solar azimuth corresponds to the calculated first endpoint elevation angle;
calculate a second event time at which the solar azimuth corresponds to the calculated second endpoint elevation angle.
However, Boyd teaches the use of cardinal directions of windows (Paragraph [0045]; Particularly, as used herein, the orientation of the windows 104 may refer to a cardinal direction orientation, such as North, East, South, and West).
it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the apparatus of Hall in conjunction with a building wherein the facing direction of the facade is one of cardinal directions as taught by Boyd. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to manage the shading of sunlight through the window of a building that was built facing one of cardinal directions.
However, Chambers teaches a calculation of solar elevation angle by subtracting a defined angle from the determined facade direction (See fig 17c) and calculate an event time at which the solar azimuth corresponds to the calculated angle (column 15, line 61-cloumn 16, line 9; As previously mentioned, the solar elevation angle .theta..sub.S and the solar azimuth angle .PHI..sub.S define the position of the sun in the sky and are functions of the position (i.e., the longitude and latitude) of the building in which the space 700 is located and the present date and time. The following equations are necessary to approximate the solar elevation angle .theta..sub.S and the solar azimuth angle .PHI..sub.S. The equation of time defines essentially the difference in a time as given by a sundial and a time as given by a clock. This difference is due to the obliquity of the Earth's axis of rotation. The equation of time can be approximated by E=9.87sin(2B)-7.53cos(B)-1.5sin(B), (Equation 3) where B=[360.degree.(N.sub.DAY-81)]/364, and N.sub.DAY is the present day-number for the year (e.g., N.sub.DAY equals one for January 1, N.sub.DAY equals two for January 2, and so on)), and its usefulness in scheduling timeclock events (column 20, line 65-column 21, line 9; the timeclock schedule provides for control of the motorized blind systems 610 to limit the direct sunlight penetration distance d.sub.P-DIR to be less than the desired maximum direct sunlight penetration distance d.sub.P-DIR-MAX, and to maximize the reflected sunlight penetration distance d.sub.P-REF. For example, the maximum number N.sub.MAX of blind adjustments may have a minimum value of approximately three. The lighting hub 640 determines if the user-selected maximum number N.sub.MAX of blind adjustments or the user-selected minimum time period T.sub.MIN between blind adjustments is the limiting factor for determining a movement time T.sub.MOVE, which will exist between the timeclock schedule events.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Hall with the calculation of Chambers. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of optimizing the automation of the blinds.
Also, Zedlitz teaches a defined angle of 22.5° (See fig 25).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Hall and Chambers by using the defined angle of 22.5° taught by Zedlitz. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of simplifying the math for the end user by providing "pie slices" of half of 45 degrees in the GUI for setup.
Regarding claim 2.
The combination of Hall, Boyd, Chambers, and Zedlitz teaches all limitations of claim 1.
Hall further discloses the drive unit (made up of components shown inside headrail including 102, 124, fig 1) comprises a motor (400, fig 4) operatively coupled (Via gearbox 102, fig 1) to the tilt ladder and a control circuit (124, fig 1) configured to control the motor to tilt the slats.
Regarding claim 3.
The combination of Hall, Boyd, Chambers, and Zedlitz teaches all limitations of claim 2.
Hall further discloses the drive unit (made up of components shown inside headrail including 102, 124, fig 1) further comprises a wireless communication circuit (105, fig 1) configured to receive wireless signals (132, fig 1), the control circuit configured to receive a message including a command to tilt the slats (2802, fig 28; see paragraph [0135]) via the wireless communication circuit (Paragraph [0088]; Mobile device 130, as shown in FIG. 1, transmits and receives LAN wireless signal 132 from the first hub 105, allowing wireless control by a user of the system.).
Regarding claim 4.
The combination of Hall, Boyd, Chambers, and Zedlitz teaches all limitations of claim 3.
Hall further discloses the drive unit further comprises a memory (Paragraph [0090]; the memory device or module being mounted to the same circuit board as the processor 124) for storing the timeclock schedule, and the control circuit is configured to execute a timeclock to determine one or more event times of the plurality of event times for tilting the slats according to the timeclock schedule (Paragraph [0090]; These settings are stored in the memory for data storage, the memory device or module being mounted to the same circuit board as the processor 124. As inputs are received from sensors, weather data, and other real-time data, the processor 124 consults the settings in memory to determine what action, if any, to take. Calendars and schedules are also consulted prior to sending commands to a controller. Once the processor has determined that an action should be taken, appropriate command signals are sent to the appropriate actuator 126 as required.).
Regarding claim 16.
The combination of Hall, Boyd, Chambers, and Zedlitz teaches all limitations of claim 4.
Hall further discloses the control circuit is configured to receive the timeclock schedule via the wireless communication circuit. (Paragraph [0210]; the operation of a window covering 100 or group of window coverings 100 may be synchronized with a calendar, timer, or alarm clock of an external computing device 3740.) (Fig 38 shows 3740 to be a mobile device of the type shown wirelessly connecting in fig 1.)
Regarding claim 17.
The combination of Hall, Boyd, Chambers, and Zedlitz teaches all limitations of claim 3.
Furthermore, Hall discloses the control circuit is configured to receive the respective commands for tilting the slats at the plurality of event times of the timeclock schedule. (Paragraph [0196] A grouping module 3904 may enable multiple window coverings 100 to be set up and controlled as a group. In certain embodiments, this may be accomplished by configuring one window covering 100 in the group to act as a master and the other window coverings 100 in the group to act as slaves of the master. The group of window coverings 100 may, in certain embodiments, be configured to operate from a single schedule or sensors on a single window covering 100, external computing device 3740)
Regarding claim 18.
The combination of Hall, Boyd, Chambers, and Zedlitz teaches all limitations of claim 1.
Hall further discloses the drive unit is configured to determine the plurality of event times of the timeclock schedule using a calculated (Paragraph [0202]; The scheduling module 3912 may reference a database or utilize an algorithm to determine sunrise and sunset times) position of the sun, a geolocation of the building (Paragraph [0208]; For example, as shown in FIG. 44, an external computing device 3740 may, in certain embodiments, be aligned with a window 4400 associated with a window covering 100 or other window covering. Aligning the external computing device 3740 with the window 4400 may include, for example, setting the external computing device 3740 flat on the window sill 4402 and aligning it with a corner or center of the window sill 4402 such that the external computing device 3740 is oriented substantially normal to the window 4400. An option may then be selected in the application 3742 that causes the external computing device 3740 to record the current position (GPS coordinates, height, etc.) and/or orientation of the external computing device 3740 using the external computing device's internal sensors (e.g., compass and/or GPS sensors), the determined first endpoint elevation angle and the determined second endpoint elevation angle (Examiner notes that the endpoint elevation angle associated with a sunrise time is a first solar endpoint elevation angle, and the endpoint elevation angle associated with a sunset time is a second solar endpoint elevation angle. (See Paragraph [0137]; open at sunrise and/or close at sunset)) based on a facing direction of the façade (Paragraph [0186]; compass sensors 3744 embedded in a smart phone may be used to determine a position and orientation of a window associated with the window covering 100. This position and orientation may, in turn, be used to determine a position of the sun over time relative the window. The window covering 100 may then be programmed so that it opens and/or closes (i.e., the slats are tilted) in a way that takes into account the position of the sun over time relative to the position and orientation of the window.), (Paragraph [0202]; These opening and closing times may be adjusted throughout the year as the position of the sun changes.), and store the timeclock schedule in memory (Paragraph [0165]; the controller 3702 (See fig 37) may be programmed to operate a window covering 100 in accordance with a designated schedule.)
Regarding claim 19.
The combination of Hall, Boyd, Chambers, and Zedlitz teaches all limitations of claim 18.
Hall further discloses the calculated (Paragraph [0202]; The scheduling module 3912 may reference a database or utilize an algorithm to determine sunrise and sunset times) position of the sun indicates that direct sunlight is incident on the facade when a profile angle of the sun is between 0° and 90°. (Examiner notes that a profile angle of the sun is part of the position of the sun over time relative to the position and orientation of the window) (Paragraph [0186]; The window covering 100 may then be programmed so that it opens and/or closes (i.e., the slats are tilted) in a way that takes into account the position of the sun over time relative to the position and orientation of the window.). (Hall also discusses direct sunlight throughout the day. This is inherently when a profile angle of the sun is between 0° and 90°. Paragraph [0144]; This may also maximize the amount of sunlight that is allowed to enter a room while at the same time preventing direct sunlight and associated damage on furniture, rugs, or other objects, even as the angle of incidence of the sun changes throughout the day.)
Regarding claim 20.
The combination of Hall, Boyd, Chambers, and Zedlitz teaches all limitations of claim 18.
Hall further discloses the profile angle of the sun is calculated using the first endpoint elevation angle and the second endpoint elevation angles for the facade. (Examiner notes that a solar azimuth angle and endpoint elevation angles are part of the position of the sun over time relative to the position and orientation of the window) (Paragraph [0186]; GPS and/or compass sensors 3744 embedded in a smart phone may be used to determine a position and orientation of a window (including elevation angles) associated with the window covering 100. This position and orientation may, in turn, be used to determine a position of the sun over time relative the window. (Including profile angle.))
Regarding claim 21.
The combination of Hall, Boyd, Chambers, and Zedlitz teaches all limitations of claim 18.
Hall further discloses the calculated (Paragraph [0202]; The scheduling module 3912 may reference a database or utilize an algorithm to determine sunrise and sunset times) position of the sun indicates that direct sunlight is incident on the facade when a solar azimuth angle of the sun is between solar azimuth angle limits for the facade. (Examiner notes that a solar azimuth angle and solar azimuth angle limits are part of the position of the sun over time relative to the position and orientation of the window) (Paragraph [0186]; GPS and/or compass sensors 3744 embedded in a smart phone may be used to determine a position and orientation of a window (including solar azimuth angle limits) associated with the window covering 100. This position and orientation may, in turn, be used to determine a position of the sun over time relative the window. (Including solar azimuth angle.))
Regarding claim 22.
The combination of Hall, Boyd, Chambers, and Zedlitz teaches all limitations of claim 20.
Hall further discloses the solar azimuth angle limits for the facade are based on the first endpoint elevation angle and the second endpoint elevation angles for the facade and a total facade angle. (Examiner notes that a solar azimuth angle and endpoint elevation angles are part of the position of the sun over time relative to the position and orientation of the window) (Paragraph [0186]; The window covering 100 may then be programmed so that it opens and/or closes (i.e., the slats are tilted) in a way that takes into account the position of the sun over time relative to the position and orientation of the window.). (Paragraph [0208]; For example, as shown in FIG. 44, an external computing device 3740 may, in certain embodiments, be aligned with a window 4400 associated with a window covering 100 or other window covering. Aligning the external computing device 3740 with the window 4400 may include, for example, setting the external computing device 3740 flat on the window sill 4402 and aligning it with a corner or center of the window sill 4402 such that the external computing device 3740 is oriented substantially normal to the window 4400. An option may then be selected in the application 3742 that causes the external computing device 3740 to record the current position (GPS coordinates, height, etc.) and/or orientation of the external computing device 3740 using the external computing device's internal sensors (e.g., compass and/or GPS sensors). The position and orientation (including first and second endpoint elevation angles for the facade and a total facade angle) of the window 4400 and associated window covering 100 may be extrapolated from the position and orientation of the external computing device 3740. The external computing device may be a mobile device 130.)
Regarding claim 37.
The combination of Hall, Boyd, Chambers, and Zedlitz teaches all limitations of claim 1.
Hall further discloses the drive unit to further:
tilt the slats to the privacy tilt position between a determined sunset time and a determined sunrise time (Paragraph [0137]; open at sunrise and/or close at sunset);
tilt the slats to the view tilt position between the determined sunrise time and the first event time (See figs 33 and 34);
tilt the slats to the slanted tilt position at the first event time (Paragraph [0143]; a position-selection feature 3104 enables a user to specify a desired position for a window covering 100 or group of window coverings 100 for an event 3014. This position-selection feature 310 may, in certain embodiments, enable a user to select an open state, closed state, or an intermediate state associated with the event 3014. In certain embodiments, a slider button 3106 is provided to enable the user to designate the position of the window covering 100 or group of window coverings 100.); and
tilt the slats to the view tilt position between the second event time and the determined sunset time (Paragraph [0143]; a position-selection feature 3104 enables a user to specify a desired position for a window covering 100 or group of window coverings 100 for an event 3014. This position-selection feature 310 may, in certain embodiments, enable a user to select an open state, closed state, or an intermediate state associated with the event 3014. In certain embodiments, a slider button 3106 is provided to enable the user to designate the position of the window covering 100 or group of window coverings 100.).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/21/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the claim limitations “” are supported throughout the originally filed specification, claims, and figures, pointing to paragraphs [0055] and [0056]. This is not persuasive, as paragraph [0056] of the applicant’s specification provides for retrieving the endpoint elevation angle from a look-up table. Paragraph [0074] provides for using the endpoint elevation angles in further calculations. However, the calculation of endpoint elevation angle by the drive unit by adding or subtracting 22.5 degrees to the determined facade direction is not supported.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., two different façade directions.) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant’s traversal of Examiner’s Official Notice is noted. Fig 25 of Zedlitz shows a façade azimuth ring with graduations at 22.5°. (Examiner notes that a compass rose with graduations at 22.5° appears on the Catalan Atlas c.1375 A.D., demonstrating that 22.5° is a known value of interest in measurement of direction and solar angle).
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.W.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3634
/DANIEL P CAHN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3634