Response to Arguments
Presented arguments have been fully considered but are held unpersuasive. Examiner’s response to the presented arguments follows below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Summary of Arguments:
Applicant argues:
Claim 1: The prior art of record, Li, fails to disclose an imaging device comprising a processing circuit comprising a processing circuit configured to receive data from a first camera, perform a comparison, and transmit information of the comparison a user. See Remarks Page 8, Para. 1.
Claim 1: Li teaches a camera mounted to a train while Saha teaches an imaging device comprising a housing fixably mounted on a utility pole, thus it would not have been obvious to modify the teachings of Li with housing fixedly mountable on a right-of-way based infrastructure. See Remarks Page 8, Para. 1.
Examiner’s Response:
Examiner contends:
The applicant’s argument is moot since the final office action dated 3/13/2025 does not rely on the Li reference for teaching this limitation. Further, the examiner notes, according to In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965), the process of making parts integral (i.e. combining the camera and processor taught by Li, as taught by Saha) is not sufficient to patentably distinguish over the prior art (Li in view of Saha).
The examiner would like to direct the applicant to MPEP section 2144.04, in particular section V (A-B). According to section V (A), In re Lindberg, 194 F.2d 732, 93 USPQ 23 (CCPA 1952), the fact that a claimed device made portable (or vice versa) is not sufficient to patentably distinguish over the prior art. According to section V (B), In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965), the process of making parts integral (i.e. combining the camera and processor taught by Li, as taught by Saha) is not sufficient to patentably distinguish over the prior art (Li in view of Saha). Further, both the Li and Saha references are directed toward monitoring of a right-of-way structure using a camera. The decision to mount the camera to an object (such as a train) within the vicinity of the structure or to a pole which is a part of the structure both produce the intended result of monitoring the right-of-way system and would have been an obvious design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Election/Restrictions
Newly submitted claim 21 directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons: Claim 21 is directed toward an imaging device fixably mountable to a power line while independent claims 1 and 2 are directed toward an imaging device fixably mountable to any portion of the right-of-way structure. Claim 21 is directed toward a different invention and require different fields of search (see MPEP 808.02)
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claim 21 is withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 10, 11, 13, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 2019/0039633) in view of Saha et al. (Saha) (US 2018/0098137).
Regarding claim 1, Li discloses an imaging device for a right-of-way based infrastructure (FIG. 1, [0012], images of overhead powerlines and train tracks are captured), the image device comprising:
a first camera (110-1, 110-2) configured to capture images of a the right of way based infrastructure, the first camera being directed toward a first direction ([0012], images of overhead powerlines and train tracks are captured), and
a housing (FIG. 1, cameras are mounted to train 100).
Li further discloses a processing circuit (server system 202) configured to:
receive data from the first camera ([0012], [0025], images of overhead powerlines and tracks are captured);
using a neural network, perform a comparison of a first image captured by the first camera at a first time with a first reference image stored in a library (FIG. 5, step 530, captured images are compared to reference images) of the processing circuit (FIG. 2, reference images are stored at storage 214); and
transmit information of the comparison to a user ([0032], a report of the comparison is transmitted to a hand-held device).
Li is silent about the (imaging) device comprising: a processing circuit configured to: receive data from the first camera; using a neural network, perform a comparison of a first image captured by the first camera at a first time with a first reference image stored in a library of the processing circuit, and a housing fixably mounted on the right of way based infrastructure and housing the first camera and the processing circuit; and wherein the housing is directly mountable on the power line.
Saha from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses the (imaging) device (202) comprising: a processing circuit (202) configured to: receive data from the first camera ([0030], sensor package 202 collects images); using a neural network, perform a comparison of a first image captured by the first camera at a first time ([0008], [0030], machine learning) with a first reference image stored in a library of the processing circuit ([0026], [0033], images are compared to baseline images); and a housing fixably mounted on the right of way based infrastructure (FIG. 1, FIG. 2, [0027], the cameras 114, 202 are mounted to utility poles for imaging overhead and ground structures) and housing the first camera and the processing circuit (FIG. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Saha into the teachings of Li for faster image processing using onboard imaging and processing within the imager itself.
Regarding claim 3, Li discloses wherein the processing circuit is further configured to:
perform a comparison of a second image ([0025], images are captured at 20 frames per second) captured by the first camera (110-1, 110-2) at a second time ([0025], images are captured at 20 frames per second) with the first reference image stored in the library of the processing circuit ([0027], [0036], captured images are compared with corresponding reference images); and
transmit information of the comparison of the second image to a user ([0032], a report of the comparison is transmitted to a hand-held device).
Regarding claim 4, Li discloses wherein the right of way based infrastructure comprises a power line ([0012], [0025], images of overhead powerlines are captured).
Regarding claim 7, Li discloses wherein the second direction is opposite the first direction (FIG. 1, cameras 110-1, 110-2 and 110-3, 110-4 are pointed are opposite directions).
Regarding claim 10, Li discloses a thermal sensor ([0024], thermal camera), wherein the processing circuit is further configured to receive data from the at least one of the infrared sensor or the thermal sensor ([0024], thermal images are captured for comparison).
Regarding claim 11, Li discloses wherein the processing circuit is further configured to, using the neural network, learn a change and adapt the change into the library ([0036], reference images are updated periodically to account for changes).
Regarding claim 13, Li discloses wherein, in an operational mode, the neural network is configured to provide a warning based on the comparison ([0027], a report detailing detected anomalies).
Regarding claim 14, Li discloses wherein, in a learning mode, the neural network is configured to learn a new difference image ([0036], images of the track or powerline in an undamaged condition is captured and stored, [0041], reference images are updated periodically (i.e. a new image is learned and stored)).
Claim(s) 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 2019/0039633) in view of Saha et al. (Saha) (US 2018/0098137), and further in view of Park (KR 10 20130028253).
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Li providing power to the imaging device ([0012], [0025], images of overhead powerlines and tracks are captured; powered imaging devices are implicit).
Li in view of Saha is silent about a magnetic field harvesting power supply configured to obtain power from the power line to power the imaging device; and a battery that is chargeable by the power obtained by the magnetic field harvesting power supply.
Park from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses a magnetic field harvesting power supply configured to obtain power from the power line to power a sensor (pg. 4, para. 12, the internal battery of a sensor is charged using the magnetic field of the power lines); and a battery that is chargeable by the power obtained by the magnetic field harvesting power supply (pg. 4, para. 12, the internal battery of a sensor is charged using the magnetic field of the power lines).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Park for providing power to a sensor via magnetic field generated by power lines into the teachings of Li in view of Saha in view of Davis for providing long term power to the sensor.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 2019/0039633) in view of Saha et al. (Saha) (US 2018/0098137) in view of Davis (US 2014/0176702), and further in view of Manson et al. (Manson) (US 2020/0225274).
Regarding claim 8, Li in view of Saha discloses the imaging device of claim 1 (see claim 1 above).
Li in view of Saha is silent about further comprising at least one of an RF detector or a microphone, wherein the processing circuit is further configured to receive data from the at least one of the RF detector or the microphone.
Manson from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses an RF detector wherein the processing circuit is further configured to receive data from the RF detector ([0010], power line monitoring system which detects RF signals).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Manson into the teachings of Li in view of Saha for determining discharge events and generating an alarm.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 2019/0039633) in view of Saha et al. (Saha) (US 2018/0098137) in view of Davis (US 2014/0176702), and further in view of Fried et al. (Fried) (US 2016/0356890).
Regarding claim 9, Li in view of Saha discloses the imaging device of claim 1 (See claim 1 above).
Li in view of Saha is silent about further comprising an ozone detector, wherein the processing circuit is further configured to receive data from the ozone detector.
Fried from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses an ozone detector, wherein the processing circuit is further configured to receive data from the ozone detector ([0050], power line monitoring is performed; [0072], ozone detection and imaging is performed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Fried into the teachings of Li in view of Saha for monitoring environmental pollution due to ozone generated by the power lines.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 2019/0039633) in view of Saha et al. (Saha) (US 2018/0098137) in view of Davis (US 2014/0176702), and further in view of Guo (CN 109635430).
Regarding claim 12, Li in view of Saha discloses the imaging device of claim 1 (see claim 1 above).
Li in view of Saha is silent about wherein the neural network comprises a Radial Bases Function neural network.
Guo from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses wherein the neural network comprises a Radial Bases Function neural network (Pg. 2, S2: offline modeling…of the common radial basis function neural network).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Guo into the teachings of Li in view of Saha for more efficient detection of power line faults.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 2019/0039633) in view of Saha et al. (Saha) (US 2018/0098137), and further in view of McKay III et al. (McKay) (US 2005/0007452).
Regarding claim 15, Li in view of Saha discloses the imaging device of claim 1 (see claim 1 above) wherein, based on the comparison the neural network learns a change and adapts the change into the library ([0036], reference images are updated periodically to account for changes).
Li in view of Saha is silent about wherein, based on the comparison, if a difference between the first image and the first reference image is greater than a threshold value, then the neural network learns a change and adapts the change into the library.
McKay from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses wherein, based on the comparison, if a difference between the first image and the first reference image is greater than a threshold value, then the neural network learns a change and adapts the change into the library ([0033], if the image comparison value is below a threshold value, the reference image is replaced).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of McKay into the teachings of Li in view of Saha for more having the most up to date reference images which account for changes over time.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 2019/0039633) in view of Saha et al. (Saha) (US 2018/0098137), and further in view of Fauconnet (US 2018/0346286).
Regarding claim 16, Li in view of Saha discloses the imaging device of claim 1 (see claim 1 above).
Li in view of Saha is silent about wherein, based on the comparison, if a difference between the first image and the first reference image is greater than a threshold value, then the processing circuit transmits information of detection of debris to a user.
Fauconnet from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses wherein, based on the comparison, if a difference between the first image and the first reference image is greater than a threshold value, then the processing circuit transmits information of detection of debris to a user ([0052], if the image comparison value exceeds a threshold value, a detection of debris is reported).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Guo into the teachings of Li in view of Saha for more efficient detection of power line faults and debris.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 2019/0039633) in view of Saha et al. (Saha) (US 2018/0098137), and further in view of Chen (US 2006/0115154).
Regarding claim 17, Li in view of Saha discloses the imaging device of claim 1 (see claim 1 above).
Li in view of Saha is silent about wherein, based on the comparison, if a difference between the first image and the first reference image is greater than a threshold value, then the processing circuit transmits information of detection of an arc or a fire to a user.
Chen from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses wherein, based on the comparison, if a difference between the first image and the first reference image is greater than a threshold value ([0032], images are compared), then the processing circuit transmits information of detection of an arc or a fire to a user ([0008], [0009], [0011], if the image comparison value exceeds a threshold value, a detection of fire is reported).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Chen into the teachings of Li in view of Saha for more efficient detection of power line fires.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 2019/0039633) in view of Saha et al. (Saha) (US 2018/0098137), and further in view of Davis (US 2014/0176702).
Regarding claim 20, Li in view of Saha discloses the imaging claim 4 (see claim above).
Li in view of Saha is silent about wherein the housing is directly mountable on the power line.
Davis from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses wherein the housing is directly mountable on the power line (FIG. 14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Davis into the teachings of Li in view of Saha for performing constant monitoring of the power line.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 is allowed.
Conclusion
/JEFFERY A WILLIAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2488