DETAILED ACTION
This is in reply to an amendment filed on 11/09/2025. Status of claims are:
** Claims 1-4, 7-14, and 17-21 are pending.
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant’s arguments filed in the amendment dated 11/09/2025, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The reasons are set forth below.
Applicant argues on page 2 – page 3 of arguments:
The sub-channel 205C is only indicated as a puncture sub-channel of a frequency segment 203 of the frame BW 201 (PPDU BW), so it is clear that the sub-channel 205c in Yong cannot be understood as being the Frequency Segment subfield for indicating a location of a specific frequency segment corresponding to the User Info field within the total bandwidth of the PPDU as recited in the currently amended claim 1 of the present application.
In addition, as for the BW subfield 517 in special user info field 515 disclose in Yong, it only mentions that BW subfield 517 in special user info field 515 can be used in addition to UL BW subfield 513 of common info field 511 to signal the BW when BW is great than 160 MHz. In other words, the BW subfield 517 is included in a special user info filed and used to signal the bandwidth when the bandwidth is greater than 160 MHz, which is completely different from the Frequency Segment subfield included in the user info field for indicating a location of a specific frequency segment corresponding to the User Info field within the total bandwidth of the PPDU.
Therefore, the Applicant submits that both the sub-channel 205c and the BW subfield 517 disclosed in Yong cannot be understood as teaching that the User Info field includes a Frequency Segment subfield for indicating a location of a specific frequency segment corresponding to the User Info field within the total bandwidth of the PPDU a recited in the currently amended claim 1 of the present application.
In response:
Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s perspective regarding interpretation of Yong reference. In addition, the rejection is based on a combination of Kim, Ryu, and Yong, and not Yong alone.
Applicant’s applied claim language, for which Applicant argues indicates:
wherein the one or more frequency segments comprises a primary frequency segment and a secondary frequency segment, and the NFRP trigger frame corresponding to the secondary frequency segment comprises a User Info field including a Frequency Segment subfield that indicates a location of a specific frequency segment corresponding to the User Info field within the total bandwidth of the PPDU.
The above applied claim language is consistent with Applicant’s para[0025] and Fig. 1, shown below, that shows a 320 Mhz PPDU (e.g., the total bandwidth for PPDU that carries NFRP trigger frame) consist of a primary segment and a secondary segment, each segment being 160 MHz (160 MHz + 160 MHz). As can be seen from applicant’s Fig. 1, the “Common Info Field” of the frame (i.e., NFRP trigger frame), has a “UL BW” for segment 1, that indicates 160 MHz. (i.e., a Frequency Segment subfield that indicates a location of a specific frequency segment corresponding to the User Info field within the total bandwidth of the PPDU) The “User Info field” of the same frame (i.e., NFRP trigger frame), has a “Frequency Segment” for segment 2, that indicates 160 MHz, wherein the combination of both is 320 MHz (160 + 160 MHz).
[0025] As shown in FIG. 1, the total PPDU bandwidth may be 320 MHz, which may be divided into two frequency segments. The first frequency segment (Segment 1) may be a primary frequency segment of 160 MHz and the second frequency segment (Segment 2) may be a secondary frequency segment of 160 MHz. The NFRP trigger frame may include a Common Info field and one or more User Info fields. Since there are two frequency segments, the NFRP trigger frame may include two User Info fields such as User Info field 1 and User Info field 2. The User Info field 1 may correspond to the primary frequency segment of 160 MHz and the User Info field 2 may correspond to the secondary frequency segment of 160 MHz. The content of the User Info field 1 and the content of the User Info field 2 may be configured as shown in FIG. 1.
Secondly, Examiner considers a frequency such as 160 MHz of the User Info field, which is within the total bandwidth of the PPDU such as 320 Mhz, as broadly being indicative of “a location of a specific frequency segment (i.e., 160 MHz, etc) corresponding to the User Info field within the total bandwidth of the PPDU (i.e., 320 Mhz).
Now as for Yong reference:
Yong, in para[0096] teaches the bandwidth for MU-RTS frame or PPDU carrying MU-RTS frame, can include two segments – primary segment and a secondary segment each being for example 80 MHz (i.e., 160 MHz). Each segment of 80 MHz can also include different punctured bandwidth of 20 MHz or other bandwidths. As such, Yong reference teaches two segments namely “primary segment” and “secondary segment”, and each segment having its own bandwidth, all consistent with Applicant’s specification and applied claim language.
[0096] According to some aspects, AP 701 can transmit MU-RTS frame 705 to STA 703 and STA 704. In some examples, the MU-RTS frame 705 (or the PPDU carrying MU-RTS frame 705) has bandwidth (BW) 707. In a non-limiting example, BW 707 can be 160 MHz. BW 707 can include two segments—primary segment 709a and secondary segment 709b each being, for example, 80 MHz. Segment 709b can also include the puncture sub-channel 711 with a bandwidth of 20 MHz. However, segments 707 and 709 can include other bandwidths as discussed above. According to some examples, AP 701 transmits MU-RTS frame 705 in non-HT DUP PPDU.
Secondly, Yong reference, in para[0074]-[0075], and Fig. 5, teaches the “Common Info Field” of MU-RTS frame or PPDU carrying MU-RTS frame, has “UL BW” and wherein “Special User Info field” has “BW subfield”, wherein MU-RTS uses “UL BW” subfield of the “Common Info Field” and “BW subfield” in “special User Info field”, to signal BW associated with MU-RTS frame and/or BW associated with a PPDU carrying MU-RTS frame, wherein the BW includes but is not limited to 320 MHz, 160 + 160 MHz, 160 + 80 MHz, etc.
[0074] According to some aspects, common info field 511 can include one or more subfields such as, but not limited to, trigger type subfield, uplink (UP) length subfield, more TF subfield, carrier sensing (CS) required subfield, UL bandwidth (BW) subfield. Common info field 511 can include less or additional subfields. According to some aspects, special user info field 515 and user info fields 519a-519n can include one or more subfields such as, but not limited to, association identifier (AID) subfield, RU allocation subfield, UL forward error correction (FEC) coding type subfield, UL modulation and coding scheme (MCS) subfield, UL dynamic coding and modulation (DCM) subfield. Special user info field 515 and user info fields 519a-519n can include less or additional subfields.
[0075] According to some aspects, MU-RTS frame 500 can use a first subfield in common info field 511 and a second subfield in special user info field 515 to signal to a receiving STA the bandwidth (BW) associated with MU-RTS frame 500 and/or BW associated with a PPDU carrying MU-RTS frame 500. For example, MU-RTS frame 500 can use UL BW subfield 513 of common info field 511 and BW subfield 517 in special user info field 515 to signal the BW associated with MU-RTS frame 500 and/or BW associated with a PPDU carrying MU-RTS frame 500. According to some examples, the BW includes, but is not limited to, 320 MHz, 160+160 MHz, 240 MHz, 160+80 MHz).
Furthermore, Yong in Fig. 2A, and para[0079] teaches special user info field can include a puncture 205c shown in Fig. 2A, #205c, wherein 205c is understood as being a frequency segment subfield within a respective frequency segment of the total bandwidth of 320MHz.
As such, Yong teaches and suggests the notion of:
wherein the one or more frequency segments comprises a primary frequency segment and a secondary frequency segment, and the NFRP trigger frame corresponding to the secondary frequency segment comprises a User Info field including a Frequency Segment subfield that indicates a location of a specific frequency segment corresponding to the User Info field within the total bandwidth of the PPDU.
Applicant argues page 3 – page 4 of arguments:
As for the “BW subfield 517” in special user info field 515 disclosed in Yong does not teach the Frequency Segment subfield included in the User Info field as recited in pending claim 1 of the present application. Yong only mentions that BW subfield 517 in special user info field can be used in addition to UL BW subfield 513 of common info field 511 to signal the BW when BW is greater than 160 MHz. In other words, the BW subfield 517 is included in a special user info field and used to signal the bandwidth when the bandwidth is greater than 160 Mhz, which is completely different from frequency segment subfield of user info field for indicating a location of the secondary frequency segment corresponding to the user info field within the total bandwidth as recited in pending claim 1 of the present application.
As illustrated in Table 2 of the present application, the frequency segment subfield in the user info field may consist of x bits and indicate a location of he a specific frequency segment corresponding to the User Info field within the total bandwidth of the NDP feedback report response.
In response:
Examiner respectfully disagrees, that the BW subfield 517 is included in a special user info field, when only the bandwidth is greater than 160 MHz .
First, Yong in para[0032] suggest that the BW (i.e., total bandwidth) is not limited to 320 MHz, or 160+160 MHz, or 160 + 80 MHz, and that the special user info field can be used to indicate the value of bandwidth. In some other examples, the subfield in the special user info field in addition to subfield in a common info field can be used to indicate a value of the BW. Additionally, or alternatively, special user info field of the frame, can include a puncture pattern. The puncture pattern can include a bitmap mapping to each of the sub-channels in BW.
Secondly, Applicant is arguing that User Info field may consist of x bits and indicates a location of a specific frequency segment corresponding to the User info field within the total bandwidth of the NDP feedback report, which is something that is not in Claim 1, and Claim 1 does not indicate User Info field may consist of x bits and indicate a location of a specific frequency segment corresponding to the User info field within the total bandwidth of the NDP feedback report, as Applicant is arguing about.
Although the above arguments is not in the claims, however, based on Applicant specification in para[0186] and Fig. 2, the above statement of the x-bits indicating a location of a specific frequency segment corresponding to the User Info field within the total bandwidth of the NDP feedback report, is understood alternatively as “a punctured frequency segment” that is not used for a NDP feedback report procedure.
Yong, in para[0032] indicates that the special user info field of the MU-RTS frame can include a puncture pattern. The puncture pattern can include a bitmap mapping to each of the sub-channels in the PPDU BW.
Yong in para[0079] and Fig. 2A, #205c, teaches the special user info field 515 can include puncture pattern including a 16 bit bitmap where each bit maps to a sub-channel of a BW segment, wherein value of 1 for each bit means MU-RTS is transmitted, and value of 0 for each bit means MU-RTS is not transmitted (i.e., not used for NDP feedback report transmission, etc.)
In addition, please also see Kim para[0152] that teaches NDP feedback report poll trigger frame, having a “User Info” field that includes a “Starting AID” subfield. See para[0171]-[0181] for each STA is allocated RU_TONE_SET of tones divided into two groups (i.e., primary/secondary frequency segments), to transmit FEEDBACK_STATUS. The RU_TONE_SET is determined by “User Info” and based on the value of “Starting AID subfield”, of the “User Info” filed. It is further understood that “Starting AID” subfield of “User Info” filed, also determines respective frequency segment corresponding to PPDU bandwidth, that the STA uses to provide NDP feedback report response.
Therefore considering BRI, and being consistent with Applicant’s specification, Yong in combination with Kim and Ryu reference, in para[0096], para[0074]-[0079], Fig. 2A, and Fig. 5, teaches Applicant’s applied claim language of:
wherein the one or more frequency segments comprises a primary frequency segment and a secondary frequency segment, and the NFRP trigger frame corresponding to the secondary frequency segment comprises a User Info field including a Frequency Segment subfield that indicates a location of a specific frequency segment corresponding to the User Info field within the total bandwidth of the PPDU.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1-4, 7-14, and 17-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20210099253 A1 to Kim et al., (hereinafter Kim) in view of US 20210307099 A1 to Ryu et al., (hereinafter Ryu) and in further view of US 20210337595 A1 to Yong et al., (hereinafter Yong).
Claim 1. An apparatus, comprising: interface circuitry; and processor circuitry coupled with the interface circuitry and (Kim: See para[0328] for STA and AP having processor, memory and transceivers) configured to: encode a Neighbor Discovery Protocol (NDP) Feedback Report Poll (NFRP) trigger frame in a Physical Protocol Data Unit (PPDU); and provide the PPDU to the interface circuitry for transmission to a set of one or more Stations (STAs),
(Kim: See para[0158]-[0162], AP request NDP feedback report, from multiple STAs by transmitting NDP feedback report poll trigger frame included in a PPDU, to STAs, and wherein STAs are scheduled by the received PPDU that includes an NDP feedback report poll trigger frame, and provide their responses back to AP in the PPDU that is sent from STA to AP)
the NFRP trigger frame comprises one or more User Info fields, and each User Info field corresponds to a respective frequency segment of the one or more frequency segments and provides NDP Feedback associated information for a subset of one or more STAs on the respective frequency segment, and
(Kim: See para[0152] for NDP feedback report poll trigger frame, having a “User Info” field that includes a “Starting AID”, and a “BW subfield” that identifies the bandwidth of an NDP feedback report response from STA. It is understood that “Starting AID” corresponds to a bandwidth subfield (i.e., frequency segment) that STA uses to provide NDP feedback report response according.)
Kim does not explicitly disclose that the PPDU consists of various frequency segments or bandwidths as understood by:
wherein a total bandwidth of the PPDU is divided into one or more frequency segments,
However, in a similar field, Ryu, teaches in Fig. 7 and para[0090] teaches PPDU bandwidth, divided into one or more frequency bandwidths or segments. (Ryu: See Fig. 7, para[0090] and Table-5)
Kim teaches methods and techniques for frame transmission and receptions in a wireless systems, including NDP feedback report poll trigger frame. (Kim: See para[0158]-[0162])
Ryu teaches methods for performing transmissions in a wireless system , wherein PPDU transmission frequency bandwidth can be divided into multiple frequency segments (Ryu: See Fig. 7, para[0090], and table 5)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing to have included PPDU transmission frequency bandwidth, as taught by Ryu, with the system of Kim, in order to benefit from enhancements of having a PPDU bandwidth that can be divided into one or more frequency bandwidths or segments. (Ryu: See Fig. 7, para[0090] and Table-5)
Kim in view of Ryu does not specifically teach that the User Info field determines a segment of PPDU bandwidth (BW) wherein such segment can be primary segment and/or secondary segment, as understood in:
wherein the one or more frequency segments comprises a primary frequency segment and a secondary frequency segment, and a User Info field corresponding to the secondary frequency segment comprises a Frequency Segment subfield, and the Frequency Segment subfield indicates a location of a specific frequency segment corresponding to the User Info field within the total bandwidth of the PPDU.
However, in a similar field, Yong in para[0074]-[0079], Fig. 2A, #205c, and Fig. 5 teaches the “Common Info Field” of MU-RTS frame or PPDU carrying MU-RTS frame, has “UL BW” and “Special User Info field” has “BW subfield”, wherein MU-RTS uses “UL BW” subfield of the “Common Info Field” and “BW subfield” in “special User Info field”, to signal BW associated with MU-RTS frame and/or BW associated with a PPDU carrying MU-RTS frame, wherein the BW includes but is not limited to 320 MHz, 160 + 160 MHz, 160 + 80 MHz, etc. Yong further teaches the special user info field can include a puncture segment, #205c shown in Fig. 2A, wherein 205c is understood as being a frequency segment subfield within a respective frequency segment of the total bandwidth of 320MHz, as shown in Fig. 2A. See also, para[0096] for “BW” can include two segments – “primary segment” and “secondary segment”, each being for example, 80 Mhz.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to have included “BW subfield” of “User Info”, as taught by Yong, with the system of Kim in view of Ryu, in order to benefit from enhancement of being able to allocated a portion of PPDU bandwidth for a frame (e.g., MU-RTS frame, NFRP trigger frame, etc) that is being carried by the PPDU itself. (Yong: See para[0076]-[0077])
Claim 2. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the total bandwidth is 20 MHz, 40 MHz, 80 MHz, 160 MHz or 320 MHz. (Ryu: See Table 1, Table-5, values set for PPDU transmission, wherein transmission bandwidth for PPDU can be set for 20 MHz, 40 MHz, 80 MHz and 160 MHz)
Claim 3. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the total bandwidth comprises a punctured frequency segment not used for a NDP feedback report procedure. (Ryu: See Table 1, values set for PPDU transmission, wherein transmission bandwidth for PPDU can be set for 20 MHz, 40 MHz, 80 MHz and 160 MHz, and wherein each frequency range has been punctured (i.e. not used for NDP reporting/transmission)).
Claim 4. The apparatus of claim 3, wherein the one or more frequency segments are distributed on both side of the punctured frequency segment. (Ryu: See Fig. 4, 5, 6, para[[0086] & para[0109] for resource units ( RU) corresponding to tones or subcarriers, are distributed on both sides of central frequency, wherein central frequency is inserted with DC tones that are null subcarriers (i.e. central frequency is punctured with DC tones that are null subcarriers)
Claim 7. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the User Info field comprises a Starting Association Identifier (AID) subfield indicating a first AID of a range of AIDs of the subset of one or more STAs that are scheduled to respond to the NFRP trigger frame. (Kim: See para[0152] for NDP feedback report poll trigger frame, having a “User Info” field that includes a “Starting AID” subfield. See para[0171]-[0181] for each STA is allocated RU_TONE_SET of tones divided into two groups (i.e., primary/secondary frequency segments), to transmit FEEDBACK_STATUS. The RU_TONE_SET is determined by “User Info” and based on the value of “Starting AID subfield”, of the “User Info” filed. It is understood that “Starting AID” subfield of “User Info” filed, determines respective frequency segments corresponding to PPDU bandwidth, corresponds that STA uses to provide NDP feedback report response.)
Claim 8. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the User Info field comprises a Feedback Type subfield indicating a feedback type for a NDP feedback report procedure on the respective frequency segment. (Kim: See para[0152] and Table 2, for “User Info” filed includes a “Feedback Type” subfield that is defined in Table-2)
Claim 9. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the User Info field comprises a Multiplexing Flag subfield indicating a number of STAs that are multiplexed on a same set of tones in a same Resource Unit (RU), and a total number N.sub.STA of STAs in the subset of one or more STAs that are scheduled to respond to the NFRP trigger frame is calculated by N.sub.STA=18×2.sup.FreqSegmentsize×(MultiplexingFlag+1), where FreqSegmentsize is a bandwidth of the respective frequency segment corresponding to the User Info field and MultiplexingFlag is a value of the Multiplexing Flag subfield. (Kim: See para[0152]-[0155], and [0167], for “User Info” filed includes a “Multiplexing Flag” subfield that indicates the number of STAs multiplexed with P-matrix codes in the same tone set of the same RU, and is concoded to the number of STAs)
Claim 10. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the NFRP trigger frame further comprises a Common Info field including an Uplink (UL) Bandwidth (BW) subfield, and the UL BW subfield indicates the total bandwidth when the one or more User Info fields comprise a single User Info field and indicates a bandwidth of a first frequency segment of the one or more frequency segments when the one or more User Info fields comprise two or more User Info fields. (Kim: See para[0152] for NDP feedback report poll trigger frame, having a “User Info” field that includes a “Starting AID”, and a “BW subfield” that identifies the bandwidth of an NDP feedback report response from STA. It is understood that “Starting AID” corresponds to a bandwidth subfield (i.e., frequency segment) that STA uses to provide NDP feedback report response according.)
Claim 11. The apparatus of claim 10, wherein when the one or more User Info fields comprise two or more User Info fields, (Ryu: See Fig. 9, User Info filed, consisting of 5 or more User Info fields) a reserved bit in the Common Info field is used to indicate the total bandwidth. (Kim: See Fig. 10, para[0133] for “Common Information” filed, consisting of “UL BW” field, that can be defined as shown in Table-5)
Claim 12. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the NFRP trigger frame further comprises an additional User Info field to carry common NDP Feedback associated information for the set of one or more STAs. (Kim: See para[0152] for NDP feedback report poll trigger frame, having a “User Info” field that includes a “Starting AID”, and a “BW subfield” that identifies the bandwidth of an NDP feedback report response from STA. It is understood that the User Info can be repeated for different STAs, and as shown in Ryu Fig. 9.)
Claim 13. The apparatus of claim 12, wherein the additional User Info field comprises a Starting Association Identifier (AID) subfield that is set to a specified value to identify the additional User Info field as a new Info field for carrying the common NDP Feedback associated information for the set of one or more STAs. (Kim: See para[0152] for NDP feedback report poll trigger frame, having a “User Info” field that includes a “Starting AID”, and a “BW subfield” that identifies the bandwidth of an NDP feedback report response from STA. It is understood that “Starting AID” corresponds to a bandwidth subfield (i.e., frequency segment) that STA uses to provide NDP feedback report response according, and this can be repeated for any other STA accordingly as shown in Ryu Fig. 9)
Claim 14. An apparatus, comprising: interface circuitry; and processor circuitry coupled with the interface circuitry and (Kim: See para[0328] for STA and AP having processor, memory and transceivers)configured to: encode one or more Neighbor Discovery Protocol (NDP) Feedback Report Poll (NFRP) trigger frames in an Aggregation Medium Access Control Protocol Data Unit (A-MPDU); and provide the A-MPDU to the interface circuitry for transmission to a set of one or more Stations (STAs),
(Kim: See para[0158]-[0162], AP request NDP feedback report, from multiple STAs by transmitting NDP feedback report poll trigger frame included in a PPDU, to STAs, and wherein STAs are scheduled by the received PPDU that includes an NDP feedback report poll trigger frame, and provide their responses back to AP in the PPDU that is sent from STA to AP)
and each NFRP trigger frame corresponds to a respective frequency segment of the one or more frequency segments and provides NDP Feedback associated information for a subset of one or more STAs on the respective frequency segment.
(Kim: See para[0152] for NDP feedback report poll trigger frame, having a “User Info” field that includes a “Starting AID”, and a “BW subfield” that identifies the bandwidth of an NDP feedback report response from STA. It is understood that “Starting AID” corresponds to a bandwidth subfield (i.e., frequency segment) that STA uses to provide NDP feedback report response according.)
Kim does not explicitly disclose that the PPDU consists of various frequency segments or bandwidths as understood by:
wherein a total bandwidth of a Physical Protocol Data Unit (PPDU) is divided into one or more frequency segments,
However, in a similar field, Ryu, teaches in Fig. 7 and para[0090] teaches PPDU bandwidth, divided into one or more frequency bandwidths or segments. (Ryu: See Fig. 7, para[0090] and Table-5)
Kim teaches methods and techniques for frame transmission and receptions in a wireless systems, including NDP feedback report poll trigger frame. (Kim: See para[0158]-[0162])
Ryu teaches methods for performing transmissions in a wireless system , wherein PPDU transmission frequency bandwidth can be divided into multiple frequency segments (Ryu: See Fig. 7, para[0090], and table 5)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing to have included PPDU transmission frequency bandwidth, as taught by Ryu, with the system of Kim, in order to benefit from enhancements of having a PPDU bandwidth that can be divided into one or more frequency bandwidths or segments. (Ryu: See Fig. 7, para[0090] and Table-5)
Kim in view of Ryu does not specifically teach that the User Info field determines a segment of PPDU bandwidth (BW) wherein a segment can be primary segment and/or secondary segment, as understood in:
and the one or more frequency segments comprises a primary frequency segment and a secondary frequency segment, and the NFRP trigger frame corresponding to the secondary frequency segment comprises a User Info field including a Frequency Segment subfield that indicates a location of a specific frequency segment corresponding to the User Info field within the total bandwidth of the PPDU.
However, in a similar field, Yong in para[0074]-[0079], Fig. 2A, #205c, and Fig. 5 teaches the “Common Info Field” of MU-RTS frame or PPDU carrying MU-RTS frame, has “UL BW” and “Special User Info field” has “BW subfield”, wherein MU-RTS uses “UL BW” subfield of the “Common Info Field” and “BW subfield” in “special User Info field”, to signal BW associated with MU-RTS frame and/or BW associated with a PPDU carrying MU-RTS frame, wherein the BW includes but is not limited to 320 MHz, 160 + 160 MHz, 160 + 80 MHz, etc. Yong further teaches the special user info field can include a puncture segment, #205c shown in Fig. 2A, wherein 205c is understood as being a frequency segment subfield within a respective frequency segment of the total bandwidth of 320MHz, as shown in Fig. 2A. See also, para[0096] for “BW” can include two segments – “primary segment” and “secondary segment”, each being for example, 80 Mhz.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to have included “BW subfield” of “User Info”, as taught by Yong, with the system of Kim in view of Ryu, in order to benefit from enhancement of being able to allocated a portion of PPDU bandwidth for a frame (e.g., MU-RTS frame, NFRP trigger frame, etc) that is being carried by the PPDU itself. (Yong: See para[0076]-[0077])
Claim 17. An apparatus, comprising: interface circuitry; and processor circuitry coupled with the interface circuitry and (Kim: See para[0328] for STA and AP having processor, memory and transceivers) configured to: decode a Neighbor Discovery Protocol (NDP) Feedback Report Poll (NFRP) trigger frame in a Physical Protocol Data Unit (PPDU) received from an Access Point (AP),
(Kim: See para[0158]-[0162], AP request NDP feedback report, from multiple STAs by transmitting NDP feedback report poll trigger frame included in a PPDU, to STAs, and wherein STAs are scheduled by the received PPDU that includes an NDP feedback report poll trigger frame, and provide their responses back to AP in the PPDU that is sent from STA to AP)
the NFRP trigger frame comprises one or more User Info fields, and each User Info field corresponds to a respective frequency segment of the one or more frequency segments and provides NDP Feedback associated information for one or more Stations (STAs) on the respective frequency segment; and
(Kim: See para[0152] for NDP feedback report poll trigger frame, having a “User Info” field that includes a “Starting AID” subfield. See para[0171]-[0181] for each STA is allocated RU_TONE_SET of tones divided into two groups (i.e., primary/secondary frequency segments), to transmit FEEDBACK_STATUS. The RU_TONE_SET is determined by “User Info” and based on the value of “Starting AID subfield”, of the “User Info” filed.
encode a NDP feedback report response in a PPDU for transmission to the AP via the interface circuitry, when the NFRP trigger frame indicates that the apparatus is scheduled to respond to the NFRP trigger frame on a specified frequency segment. (Kim: See para[0158]-[0162], AP request NDP feedback report from multiple STAs by transmitting NDP feedback report poll trigger frame included in a PPDU to STAs, and STAs provide back their responses in the PPDU that is sent from STA and received by AP on frequencies as identified in “UL BW”.)
Kim does not explicitly disclose that the PPDU consists of various frequency segments or bandwidths as understood by:
wherein a total bandwidth of the PPDU is divided into one or more frequency segments
However, in a similar field, Ryu, teaches in Fig. 7 and para[0090] teaches PPDU bandwidth, divided into one or more frequency bandwidths or segments. (Ryu: See Fig. 7, para[0090] and Table-5)
Kim teaches methods and techniques for frame transmission and receptions in a wireless systems, including NDP feedback report poll trigger frame. (Kim: See para[0158]-[0162])
Ryu teaches methods for performing transmissions in a wireless system, wherein PPDU transmission frequency bandwidth can be divided into multiple frequency segments (Ryu: See Fig. 7, para[0090], and table 5)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing to have included PPDU transmission frequency bandwidth, as taught by Ryu, with the system of Kim, in order to benefit from enhancements of having a PPDU bandwidth that can be divided into one or more frequency bandwidths or segments. (Ryu: See Fig. 7, para[0090] and Table-5)
Kim in view of Ryu does not specifically teach that the User Info field determines a segment of PPDU bandwidth (BW) wherein a segment can be primary segment and/or secondary segment, as understood in:
wherein the one or more frequency segments comprises a primary frequency segment and a secondary frequency segment, and a User Info field corresponding to the secondary frequency segment comprises a Frequency Segment subfield, and the Frequency Segment subfield indicates a location of a specific frequency segment corresponding to the User Info field within the total bandwidth of the PPDU.
However, in a similar field, Yong in para[0074]-[0079], Fig. 2A, #205c, and Fig. 5 teaches the “Common Info Field” of MU-RTS frame or PPDU carrying MU-RTS frame, has “UL BW” and “Special User Info field” has “BW subfield”, wherein MU-RTS uses “UL BW” subfield of the “Common Info Field” and “BW subfield” in “special User Info field”, to signal BW associated with MU-RTS frame and/or BW associated with a PPDU carrying MU-RTS frame, wherein the BW includes but is not limited to 320 MHz, 160 + 160 MHz, 160 + 80 MHz, etc. Yong further teaches the special user info field can include a puncture segment, #205c shown in Fig. 2A, wherein 205c is understood as being a frequency segment subfield within a respective frequency segment of the total bandwidth of 320MHz, as shown in Fig. 2A. See also, para[0096] for “BW” can include two segments – “primary segment” and “secondary segment”, each being for example, 80 Mhz.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to have included “BW subfield” of “User Info”, as taught by Yong, with the system of Kim in view of Ryu, in order to benefit from enhancement of being able to allocated a portion of PPDU bandwidth for a frame (e.g., MU-RTS frame, NFRP trigger frame, etc) that is being carried by the PPDU itself. (Yong: See para[0076]-[0077])
Claim 18. The apparatus of claim 17, wherein the total bandwidth is 20 MHz, 40 MHz, 80 MHz, 160 MHz or 320 MHz. (Ryu: See Table 1, Table-5, values set for PPDU transmission, wherein transmission bandwidth for PPDU can be set for 20 MHz, 40 MHz, 80 MHz and 160 MHz)
Claim 19. The apparatus of claim 17, wherein the total bandwidth comprises a punctured frequency segment not used for a NDP feedback report procedure. (Ryu: See Table 1, values set for PPDU transmission, wherein transmission bandwidth for PPDU can be set for 20 MHz, 40 MHz, 80 MHz and 160 MHz, and wherein each frequency range has been punctured (i.e. not used for NDP reporting )).
Claim 20. The apparatus of claim 19, wherein the one or more frequency segments are distributed on both side of the punctured frequency segment. (Ryu: See Fig. 4, 5, 6, para[[0086] & para[0109] for resource units ( RU) corresponding to tones or subcarriers, are distributed on both sides of central frequency, wherein central frequency is inserted with DC tones that are null subcarriers (i.e. central frequency is punctured with DC tones that are null subcarriers)
Claim 21. An apparatus, comprising: interface circuitry; and processor circuitry coupled with the interface circuitry and (Kim: See para[0328] for STA and AP having processor, memory and transceivers) configured to: decode one or more Neighbor Discovery Protocol (NDP) Feedback Report Poll (NFRP) trigger frames in an Aggregation-Medium Access Control Protocol Data Unit (A-MPDU) received from an Access Point (AP), and
(Kim: See para[0158]-[0162], AP request NDP feedback report, from multiple STAs by transmitting NDP feedback report poll trigger frame included in a PPDU, to STAs, and wherein STAs are scheduled by the received PPDU that includes an NDP feedback report poll trigger frame, and provide their responses back to AP in the PPDU that is sent from STA to AP)
each NFRP trigger frame corresponds to a respective frequency segment of the one or more frequency segments and provides NDP Feedback associated information for one or more Stations (STAs) on the respective frequency segment; and
(Kim: See para[0152] for NDP feedback report poll trigger frame, having a “User Info” field that includes a “Starting AID” subfield. See para[0171]-[0181] for each STA is allocated RU_TONE_SET of tones divided into two groups (i.e., primary/secondary frequency segments), to transmit FEEDBACK_STATUS. The RU_TONE_SET is determined by “User Info” and based on the value of “Starting AID subfield”, of the “User Info” filed.
encode a NDP feedback report response in the PPDU for transmission to the AP via the interface circuitry, when the one or more NFRP trigger frames indicate that the apparatus is scheduled to respond to the one or more NFRP trigger frames on a specified frequency segment. (Kim: See para[0158]-[0162], AP request NDP feedback report from multiple STAs by transmitting NDP feedback report poll trigger frame included in a PPDU to STAs, and STAs provide back their responses in the PPDU that is sent from STA and received by AP on frequencies as identified in “UL BW”.)
Kim does not explicitly disclose that the PPDU consists of various frequency segments or bandwidths as understood by:
wherein a total bandwidth of a Physical Protocol Data Unit (PPDU) is divided into one or more frequency segments,
However, in a similar field, Ryu, teaches in Fig. 7 and para[0090] teaches PPDU bandwidth, divided into one or more frequency bandwidths or segments. (Ryu: See Fig. 7, para[0090] and Table-5)
Kim teaches methods and techniques for frame transmission and receptions in a wireless systems, including NDP feedback report poll trigger frame. (Kim: See para[0158]-[0162])
Ryu teaches methods for performing transmissions in a wireless system , wherein PPDU transmission frequency bandwidth can be divided into multiple frequency segments (Ryu: See Fig. 7, para[0090], and table 5)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing to have included PPDU transmission frequency bandwidth, as taught by Ryu, with the system of Kim, in order to benefit from enhancements of having a PPDU bandwidth that can be divided into one or more frequency bandwidths or segments. (Ryu: See Fig. 7, para[0090] and Table-5)
Kim in view of Ryu does not specifically teach that the User Info field determines a segment of PPDU bandwidth (BW) wherein a segment can be primary segment and/or secondary segment, as understood in:
wherein the one or more frequency segments comprises a primary frequency segment and a secondary frequency segment, and the NFRP trigger frame corresponding to the secondary frequency segment comprises a User Info field including a Frequency Segment subfield that indicates a location of a specific frequency segment corresponding to the User Info field within the total bandwidth of the PPDU.
However, in a similar field, Yong in para[0074]-[0079], Fig. 2A, #205c, and Fig. 5 teaches the “Common Info Field” of MU-RTS frame or PPDU carrying MU-RTS frame, has “UL BW” and “Special User Info field” has “BW subfield”, wherein MU-RTS uses “UL BW” subfield of the “Common Info Field” and “BW subfield” in “special User Info field”, to signal BW associated with MU-RTS frame and/or BW associated with a PPDU carrying MU-RTS frame, wherein the BW includes but is not limited to 320 MHz, 160 + 160 MHz, 160 + 80 MHz, etc. Yong further teaches the special user info field can include a puncture segment, #205c shown in Fig. 2A, wherein 205c is understood as being a frequency segment subfield within a respective frequency segment of the total bandwidth of 320MHz, as shown in Fig. 2A. See also, para[0096] for “BW” can include two segments – “primary segment” and “secondary segment”, each being for example, 80 Mhz.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to have included “BW subfield” of “User Info”, as taught by Yong, with the system of Kim in view of Ryu, in order to benefit from enhancement of being able to allocated a portion of PPDU bandwidth for a frame (e.g., MU-RTS frame, NFRP trigger frame, etc) that is being carried by the PPDU itself. (Yong: See para[0076]-[0077])
Conclusion
5. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the date of this final action.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MAJID ESMAEILIAN whose telephone number is (571)270-7830. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner' s supervisor, Chirag Shah can be reached on 571-272-3144. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/M. E./
Examiner, Art Unit 2477
/GREGORY B SEFCHECK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477