DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Claims 2-3, 9, 11-12 and 14 have been previously cancelled. Therefore, claims 1, 4-8, 10, 13, and 15-20 are still pending in this Application.
Request for Continued Examination under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendments/Remarks
Applicant’s argument/remarks, on pages 9-11, with respect to rejections to claims 1, 4-8, 10, 13, and 15-20 under 35 USC § 103(a) have been fully considered and they are respectfully persuasive. Therefore, rejections to the claims have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made, see the new rejection below.
On pages 10 last paragraph to page 11 first paragraph, the Applicant argues that:
“Sanderford explicitly describes that the meter determines the load on the transformer. Sanderford does not describe a fog processing system and thus does not describe that a fog processing system is configured to determine a load on a common transformer, as required by claim 1. Claim 1 requires that the first set of endpoints include the utility meter and at least one other utility meter that has less processing capability than the utility meter due to its use of different hardware, software, or firmware, wherein the first set of endpoints are associated with the common transformer. Sanderford does not describe this element of claim 1 since it requires
all meters connected to the transformer be enhanced meters capable of running a Transformer Heath application” These arguments are partially unpersuasive.
The Examiner agrees that Sanderford does not teach “at least one other utility meter that has less processing capability than the utility meter due to its use of different hardware, software, or firmware”.
In response to applicant's arguments, on pages 10-11, against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Sanderford was cited since it teaches functions of claim 1 that can be easily added to any computer such as fog computer of Wang to perform specific analysis in data received as suggested by Sanderford. Sanderford teaches the collection of data form a plurality of meters/endpoints and performing data processing at headend system (see 0049, 0050, 0138, [0053], [0103] and [0153]). The reasons to combine each reference are explicitly outlined in the rejection of claim 1. The disclosure of the instant invention is clear in that the “intelligence in a smart grid is shifted from the meter itself to the fog processing system or to the cloud processing system. Additionally, intelligence can be shifted from the headend system as well, thus reducing the load on the headend system and enabling the headend system to specialize in certain meter-related tasks rather than performing the bulk of meter-related tasks”. Thus, the functions as claimed were conventionally used and simply shifting the load of a first computer to another more powerful computer is not sufficient to consider the configuration allowable when the function were known.
On page 12, the Applicant further argues that:
“The combination also requires a change in the principle of operation of the meter of Sanderford since it requires removing functions from the enhanced meter. When a proposed modification changes the principle of operation of a reference, it is insufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness…In addition, the alleged combination ignores the teachings of Sanderford to enhance and increase the number and types of functions performed by the meter. The alleged combination moves functions away from the meter to a fog processing system and results in a meter with fewer capabilities, rendering Sanderford unsatisfactory for its intended purpose. Sanderford teaches away from the use of a remote system, such as fog processing system, to monitor a transformer since it explicitly describes that a meter provides this function”. These arguments are unpersuasive.
The Applicant argues that the combination of Sanderford teaches away from the
claimed invention because Sanderson teaches an advanced meter and not a
standard utility meter with processing capabilities. However, this argument is
unpersuasive because Sanderford was not cited to teach a standard/legacy meter.
Wang was cited to teach the meter as claimed. Sanderford was cited to teach
some components that are common in standard/legacy meters such as A/D
converter to convert raw analog data into digital data. Also, a function present in the
meter of Sanderford such as detecting the load on a transformer was cited to be
incorporated in the fog-cloud system of Wang. Wang was cited to teach the well-
known computer distributed system of edge-Fog-Cloud systems. Wang was cited to
teach a fog computer connected to a set of endpoints meters and collect data and
perform analysis on the data. Wang suggested that the system detect a total power
associated with a set of meters. However, as stated and argued above, the fog
computer of Wang was not cited to teach a set of endpoints associated with a
common transformer or determining a load on the common transformer by a fog
processing system. Sanderford was cited to teach among other things a
computer/meter that performs the function of determining a load on the common
transformer based on power consumed by a set of endpoint devices/meters (see
Sanderford 0138). The rationale and motivation provided in the rejection is very
clear, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before
effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to
have modified Wang's invention to include in the fog processing system of Wang the
function of wherein the first set of endpoints are associated with a common
transformer and to determine a load on the common transformer as taught by
Sanderford in order to convert the data to digital data so that can be read and
processed by a computer/microcontroller (see [0102]) and to detect the total power
consumed from a transformer for analysis and monitoring purposes (see [0138] “
An overloaded condition can be measured against the pre-set limit and
annunciated to the utility the communications means provided on the instant
disclosure overloads "; also, see [0156] to detect theft of energy.
On page 13, the Applicant argues that:
“The current rejection of claim 1 requires 8 references. The Office Action fails to present a sufficient reason to combine all 8 references. Instead, the Office Action only presents incremental reasons to combine for each reference individually. These incremental reasons do not sufficiently address the multi-reference combination to which they are being added. Each additional reference used by the examiner increases the complexity of the combination and the potential for integration issues. There is no reason that one skilled in the art would consider all of the reasons suggested by the examiner in a single design effort… to "generate a proposal of time of use data such as power distribution demand during peak hours for some meters or appliances connected to some meters" (reason given to combine Rijo with the combination of Wang and Sanderford) would also be considering "using a high Received Signal Strength Indicator (RSSI)" allegedly taught by Jones. Moreover, the cited sections of Jones describe "transmission of messages between neighboring radio devices in the network," i.e., messages between meters”. These arguments are unpersuasive.
In response to the arguments above, the Applicant has not provided evidence or persuasive arguments why the combination of references as cited are not combinable or why the rationale of the combination of references as a whole is not pertinent or was not obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the claimed invention. Claim 1 recites a plurality of elements for the configuration of the system which each one was very well known at the time of the claimed invention.
The claims as recited involve the combination of a plurality of systems such as data collection, data analysis, data calculation, system configuration (assigning nodes to certain fogs), power collection, cloud/fog/edge system configuration, central server such as head ends system performing certain data processing, internal components or IO sensor/meter, using meters of different brands and capabilities, etc. The MPEP 2141 teach or suggest the inquiries for obviousness when combining known components. The MPEP and court cases (KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007)) clearly states that the combination of known elements can be patentable when combined most do more than yield a predictable result (see MPEP 2141 “In KSR, the Supreme Court particularly emphasized "the need for caution in granting a patent based on the combination of elements found in the prior art,"Id. at 415, 82 USPQ2d at 1395, and discussed circumstances in which a patent might be determined to be obvious. Importantly, the Supreme Court reaffirmed principles based on its precedent that "[t]he combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results."Id. at 415-16, 82 USPQ2d at 1395. The Supreme Court stated that there are "[t]hree cases decided after Graham [that] illustrate this doctrine." Id. at 416, 82 USPQ2d at 1395. (1) "In United States v. Adams, . . . [t]he Court recognized that when a patent claims a structure already known in the prior art that is altered by the mere substitution of one element for another known in the field, the combination must do more than yield a predictable result." Id. (2) "In Anderson’s-Black Rock, Inc. v. Pavement Salvage Co., . . . [t]he two [pre-existing elements] in combination did no more than they would in separate, sequential operation." Id. at 416-17, 82 USPQ2d at 1395. (3) "[I]n Sakraida v. AG Pro, Inc., the Court derived . . . the conclusion that when a patent simply arranges old elements with each performing the same function it had been known to perform and yields no more than one would expect from such an arrangement, the combination is obvious."). in this case the combination of known components would have bene obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application for each of the reasons provided in the rejection.
In the case of the reference Jones, Jones was cited to teach that it would have been obvious to assign/establish communication between two computer devices using wireless communication based on the level of strength of the signal (see Col 18 lines 19-65 “ In a multi-path communications network of the type described, instantaneous signal strength has sometimes been utilized to determine link suitability for transmission of messages between neighboring radio devices in the network… it is desirable that any given radio device has some ability to evaluate the reliability of the links to the neighboring radio devices, and therefore can intelligently decide to utilize only reliable paths for message transmissions, and to disregard unreliable links that may be problematic if utilized to send messages) and apply these teachings to the cloud/fog/edge meter system of Wang to increase their reliability of transmission of data. This is very well known function in the art of wireless data transmission or simply data transmission. Rijo was used to teach the function of “wherein the cloud processing system is configured to compute time of use data based on load profile data computed by a first fog processing system”. The applicant arguments above is directed to the combination of Rijo and Jones. However, the reasons to combine are directed to adding the function of Rijo and Jones to the well-known Cloud-Fog-Edge system of Wang. Thus, the arguments are not persuasive.
Note: The claims were amended to include “at least one other utility meter that has less processing capability than the utility meter due to its use of different hardware, software, or firmware”. The Applicant has provided support in the disclosure in paragraphs 0029 and 0040. However, these paragraphs do not have support for the claimed subject matter. For instance, paragraph [0040] recites “the endpoints in the smart grid 100 need not have been manufactured by the same entity and may vary in their hardware, software, or firmware”. However, this paragraph does not mention “less processing capability”. Paragraphs [0015], [0023], [0029], [0070] teach or suggest adaptive meters 110 that have less processing capability than “Conventional meters”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
With regards to claims 1, 6, and 18, recite “at least one other utility meter that has less processing capability than the utility meter due to its use of different hardware, software, or firmware”. These limitations do not have sufficient support in the disclosure as originally filed.
The Applicant provided and pointed out support for this claimed subject matter in paragraphs [0029 and [0040] “…In terms of flexibility, because of the decoupling of services from the endpoints, the endpoints can include a variety a hardware, software, or firmware, and service implementation need not be tied to any endpoint vendor in particular. In some implementations, the endpoints in the smart grid 100 need not have been manufactured by the same entity and may vary in their hardware, software, or firmware…”. This paragraph does not teach or suggest meters of different or less “processing capability”. The invention is directed to the use of adaptive meters 110. The first meter as recited in the claims refers to an adaptive meter 110 which has less processing capability than a conventional meter but the disclosure is silent about two adaptive meters with “a difference in processing capability”.
As to dependent claims 4-5, 7-8, 10, 13-17, and 19-20 , these claims are rejected for the same reasons mutatis mutandis as their respective parent claims since they inherit the same error.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6-8, 10, 13 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al (CN 105376182 as supported by the machine translation provided) in view of Sanderford et al (US 20120041696), Rijo et al (IN IN201941004621A), Perry et al (US 20050116836), Malladi et al (US 20180300124), Liu et al (US 20210247426), Wouhaybi et al (US 20190042378), Jones et al (US 8654869) and Osterloh et al (US 20140029415).
As per claim 1, Wang teaches a utility meter connected to a power grid and to a customer premises (see Fig. 1 user smart meter 4 connected to the grid and user facilities/houses; also, see page 5 par. 16 “Community user 4, refers to electricity consumption user, user installation intelligent electric meter, and gather each user power utilization data, batch (-type) uploads data to the concentrator in mist computing unit 3”), the utility meter comprising:
a sensor configured to detect an electrical characteristic of electricity usage of the power grid by the customer premises (see page 5 par. 16 “Community user 4, refers to electricity consumption user, user installation intelligent electric meter, and gather each user power utilization data, batch (-type) uploads data to the concentrator in mist computing unit 3.”, smart meters measure electricity which indicate that an electrical characteristic is measured);
a radio configured to transmit the raw consumption data output (the raw data has been interpreted as digital or simply as any data related to the electrical characteristic measured since the disclosure does not define the term “raw; database page 9 par. 4 “Timer is set in ZigBee ad-hoc network and realizes intelligent electric meter batch (-type) from trend concentrator transmission real-time radio transfer of data, tables”; also, see page 5 pars. 15-16 “Mist computing unit 3, by each comprise quantity not wait concentrator mist unit form, community user 4 information collected is uploaded multi controller systems 2 by mist computing unit 3. Community user 4, refers to electricity consumption user, user installation intelligent electric meter, and gather each user power utilization data, batch (-type) uploads data to the concentrator in mist computing unit 3”, the remote processing system includes fog/mist devices 3 and/or cloud devices 2 and 1),
wherein the radio transmits the raw consumption data as a data stream comprising a series of numerical values (see page 3 Wang teaches the meter uses Zigbee and MANET wireless communication; any data transmitted wireless is sent in data stream/packets; see page 9 pars. 2-7 “Openflow agreement supported by concentrator, and controller is by data in stream table information extracting directly concentrator…Each community each user's intelligent electric meter composition ZigBee ad-hoc network… Timer is set in ZigBee ad-hoc network and realizes intelligent electric meter batch (-type) from trend concentrator transmission real-time radio transfer of data, tables of data comprises identifier, the ammeter number of degrees, deadline, and it is which floor which user of a few unit in which community, deadline are for collecting this data time that identifier identifies these data… Concentrator extracts the identifier in ZigBee tables of data and the corresponding ammeter number of degrees and filters out the user that the real-time electricity consumption number of degrees are greater than 250 degree, wirelessly passes down order to user's intelligent
electric meter in identifier, carries out power-off warning; Front 32 location identifiers in tables of data, 33 to 48 store the electricity consumption number of degrees, concentrator reads front 32 and 33 of each tables of data successively to 48 bit data, put into data cached table successively, obtain user and the corresponding electricity consumption number of degrees of user, one_to_one corresponding, the user power utilization number of degrees are carried out size compare with 250 degree by concentrator one by one”, thus, the data sent from each meter is sent in a stream table which indicates streaming of data. Also, transmitting data in real time indicates that data is sent to each fog device a soon as it obtained, which also indicates streams of data), each numerical value in the series representing a respective value of the electrical characteristic at a corresponding time (see page 3 par. 4 and page 9 par. 7 “…Front 32 location identifiers in tables of data, 33 to 48 store the electricity consumption number of degrees, concentrator reads front 32 and 33 of each tables of data successively to 48 bit data, put into data cached table successively, obtain user and the corresponding electricity consumption number of degrees of user, one_to_one corresponding, the user power utilization number of degrees are carried out size compare with 250 degree by concentrator one by one”; thus, the fog device 3 reads the received information in the stream tables and retrieves the consumption of the meter in real time, which represents a numerical value representing a value of the electrical characteristic at a corresponding time, also, see page 6 pars. 13-14 “…intelligent electric meter);
wherein the remote processing system comprises:
a first fog processing system comprising one or more fog devices associated with a geographic region of the utility meter (see Fig. 1 one or more fog devices 3 in different regions), the first fog processing system configured to compute first load profile data by performing utility consumption load profiling on the raw consumption data and on regional raw consumption data received from a first set of endpoints inside the geographic region (see page 2 par. 10 “described managing power network resources and distribution method comprise: concentrator/fog device data processing…”; also, see page 4 par. 7 and par. 9 “Concentrator mist unit: concentrator mutually cooperates and builds mist unit system structure and carry out… to measure and electric supply meter that management mist unit lower floor is connected” and “the mist unit of concentrator composition directly processes data, has processed and has directly been issued to electric supply meter and performs corresponding actions afterwards”. The present invention is Real-Time Monitoring user power utilization information not only, also can realize intelligent specific user's power-off prompting and community intelligent power-off in batches, thus ensure that the efficient of Resource Distribute and management in intelligent grid”; also, see page 4 last paragraph; also, see page 6 steps S202-S204 involve data processing/analysis of the collected data from the first set of endpoints/meters inside respective regions; also, see page 6 flow process steps 1-7; also, see page 6 first paragraph “S202: concentrator is collected and screened user power utilization data, and screening strategy is as following table: Power consumption Strategy ≤ 250 degree Ignore > 250 degree Electricity consumption is warned”. In the broadest reasonable interpretation load profile is the power consumption of the meters/users. Thus, Wang teaches that the fog mist device receives meter data and calculates power consumption or load profile for each meter/customer in a region), wherein the first set of endpoints comprises the utility meter (see Fig. 1 each fog device 3 is in charge of a number of endpoint devices 4/ first set of endpoints or intelligent meters in a region),
; and
a cloud processing system distinct from the first fog processing system, the cloud processing system comprising one or more cloud devices (see Fig. 1 see Fig. cloud devices 1 and cloud devices 2), the cloud processing system configured to perform centralized data processing on the first load profile data computed by the first fog processing system and on second load profile data computed by a second fog processing system (see Fig. 1 power consumption data from each of the users/meters 4 is uploaded and processed in the cloud computers 1; also, see page 3 pars. 10-13 and “Multi-controller analyzes the total number of degrees of each community electricity consumption of whole city total electricity consumption number of degrees and the administration of each controller respectively, when electricity consumption total number of degrees in whole city will impact Time Controller according to the total number of degrees ranking results of each community electricity consumption to electric power system, issue stream and show power supply unit, trigger power supply unit de-energizing actions and perform; …Cloud platform, specifically refers to Openstack, by northbound interface and multi controller systems interactive information; also, see page 6 S202-S209 “S205: multi-controller is in charge of local cell, the mutual collaborative work of multi-controller realizes urban whole power monitoring, and multi-controller collects data; S206: the data upload cloud platform that multi-controller will be collected;
S207: cloud platform calculates the real-time electricity consumption number of degrees to the data that multi-controller is uploaded; S208: result of calculation is fed back to multi-controller by cloud platform; S209: when real-time electricity consumption number of degrees sum long-time higher (particularly big city electricity consumption in summer), multi controller systems segmentation issues stream table, and piecemeal has a power failure to community user, thus realizes the stable of whole power supply system”; also, see page 8 claim 1 “To the control of the particular user electricity consumption number of degrees, when the user power utilization number of degrees are more than 250 degree, in conjunction with the enforcement of step price, power-off warning is carried out to user; In the summer large to city need for electricity amount, controller is in conjunction with cloud platform calculation plot user power utilization, and burst carries out power supply to each community and disconnects, and what maintain whole city uses electrical equalization and electricity consumption overall control”), ;
wherein the utility meter, the first fog processing system, and the cloud processing system are configured to communicate with one another (see Fig. 1 meter transmit data to fog devices and fog devices transmit the data to cloud devices, thus, there is communication with one another); and
; and
wherein the first fog processing system is assigned the raw consumption data (see Fig. 1 the consumption data from the meters 4 is assigned/sent to a fog/mist computing unit 3).
While Wang teaches that the data transmitted is in bits and wireless transmission is used which indicates that bits information are sent, which suggest that some kind of digital conversion occurred. However, Wang does not explicitly teach:
the meter comprising an analog-to-digital (A/D) converter configured to convert the electrical characteristic to raw consumption data describing the electricity usage by the customer premises (the raw data has been interpreted as digital data converted from an analog data or simply as any data related to the electrical characteristic measured since the disclosure does not define the term “raw’), and transmit the raw consumption data to a headend system, and While Wang teaches an Openstack cloud platform for communicating, wherein openstack is an infrastructure that enables various devices to communicate among each other, Wang does not further explicitly teach communicating via a common message bus, wherein the common message bus is external to the utility meter, the first fog processing system, and the cloud processing system, and is implemented by utilizing a common data model (this message bus is exemplified as see 0027 “Generally, a message bus is a messaging infrastructure that enables various devices to use a shared interface), and
wherein the first set of endpoints comprises at least one other utility meter that has less processing capability than the utility meter due to its use of different hardware, software, or firmware, wherein the first set of endpoints are associated with a common transformer and the first fog processing system is configured to determine a load on the common transformer; wherein the cloud processing system is configured to compute time of use data based on the first load profile data computed by the first fog processing system and based on the second load profile data computed by the second fog processing system, and wherein the cloud processing system is configured to compute time of use data based on the first load profile data computed by the first fog processing system and based on the second load profile data computed by the second fog processing system, wherein the headend system is configured to perform data processing on the time of use data computed by the cloud processing system, wherein the headend system is configured to perform billing tasks based on the time of use data computed by the cloud processing system, wherein the utility meter is configured to transmit the raw consumption data to the remote processing system by routing the raw consumption data through a gateway, wherein the gateway is configured to convert the raw consumption data from the utility meter into data appropriate for transmission through the common message bus prior to routing that data, and to convert data received via the common message bus from the remote processing system into a format that is understandable by the utility meter, wherein the first fog processing system is assigned the raw consumption data based on a communication technology between the utility meter and the first fog processing system.
However, Sanderford teaches system comprising a set of endpoints (smart meters 10; see Fig. 11 smart meters 10), wherein the set of endpoints comprises a utility electrical meter, wherein each utility electrical meter comprising an analog-to-digital (A/D) converter configured to convert the electrical characteristic to raw consumption data describing the electricity usage by the customer premises (the raw data has been interpreted as digital data or simply as any data related to the electrical characteristic measured since the instant invention disclosure states that the A/D converter outputs raw consumption data in 0003; see Sanderford Fig. 1 Meter 10 connected to a grid 12 and a load 14; also, see [0049] “the electric meter 10 is positioned between a line connection 12 and a load connection 14 as is typical. The electricity meter includes a current sensor 16 that senses the current being drawn by the load from the line connection. As illustrated in FIG. 1, the current sensor 16 can be one of two different types of current sensors”; see Fig. 4 A/D converter and see [0050] “the current sensor 16 feeds the sensed current through an amplifier 18 and into an analog-to-digital converter 20”), and wherein the first set of endpoints are associated with a common transformer and the system is configured to determine a load on the common transformer (see [0138] “…to determining the aggregate load presented to the transformer by determining which neighboring meters are also connected to that transformer. It recognizes these neighboring meters by injecting a power line carrier term or message into the transformer side of the meter whereby the other meters similarly attached to this same transformer are able to receive and demodulate that tone. Upon receiving the tone or message, the other meters reply with their _configuration ID_. In this manner, each meter knows the identity of the other meters that share the same transformer. This information can be used between the meters to totalize the total power demanded from the transformer at any point in time…”), and transmit consumption data to a headend system, wherein the headend system is configured to perform data processing on a time of use data, and perform billing tasks based on the time of use data (a headend system has been interpreted in the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) in light of the disclosure as a central processing system or a utility company computer system; Sanderford teaches a headend system/central processing system, wherein data is transmitted from a remote meter system to the headend system, see [0053], [0103] and [0153]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Wang’s invention to include the set of endpoints comprises a utility electrical meter, wherein each utility electrical meter comprising an analog-to-digital (A/D) converter configured to convert the electrical characteristic to raw consumption data describing the electricity usage by the customer premises, and to include in the fog processing system of Wang the function of wherein the first set of endpoints are associated with a common transformer and to determine a load on the common transformer, and transmit the raw consumption data to a headend system of Wang wherein the headend system is configured to perform data processing on a time of use data, and perform billing tasks based on the time of use data as taught by Sanderford in order to convert the data to digital data so that can be read and processed by a computer/microcontroller (see [0102]) and to detect the total power consumed from a transformer for analysis and monitoring purposes (see [0138] “…An overloaded condition can be measured against the pre-set limit …and annunciated to the utility the communications means provided on the instant disclosure overloads…”; also, see [0156] to detect theft of energy).
Sanderford also teaches a function of computing first load profile by performing utility consumption load profiling on the raw consumption data (see [0119] “The processing means 28 of the electric meter 10 communicates load signature profiles from the processing means 28 back to the processor 112”; also, see [0152] “The instant disclosure includes the processing necessary to calculate kilowatt hours, peak demand, kVAR, and when that power is utilized”) and the processing system is configured to compute time of use data based on the first load profile data (see [0151-0152] “Billing & Tou [0152] The instant disclosure includes the processing necessary to calculate kilowatt hours, peak demand, kVAR, and when that power is utilized. This information can be provided in 1 min, 5 min, 15 min, or hourly intervals).
While Wang teaches a plurality of fog devices (fog devices 3), and while Sanderford teaches a function of performing TOU processing (see Sanderford 0151-0152 and [0162], [0166]), Wang-Sanderford does not explicitly teach wherein the cloud processing system is configured to compute time of use data based on the first load profile data computed by the first fog processing system and based on the second load profile data computed by the second fog processing system. However, Rijo teaches a Fog based power distribution system comprising a cloud processing system (see Fig. 1 cloud device 108), wherein the cloud processing system is configured to compute time of use data based on load profile data computed by a first fog processing system (see page 13 lines 16-24 “The cloud agent device 108 is configured to communicate with the fog agent device 106 to receive the consumption trends/load profile data. The cloud agent device 108 analyzes the consumption trends based on a second set of user-defined parameters to suggest the demand reduction program for each of the meter agent devices 102-
20 1, 102-2, 102-3, …, 102-n…”; also, see page 21 claim 1 lines 11-24 “ fog agent device (106) configured to cooperate with said reader device (104) to receive said power consumption data from said reader device (104) and process said power consumption data based on a first set of parameters derived from predefined policy markers to provide a consumption trend for each of said plurality of meter agent devices (102-1, 102-2, 102-3, …, 102-n); and a cloud agent device (108) configured to communicate with said fog agent device (106) to receive said consumption trends from said fog agent device (106) and is further configured to analyze said consumption trends based on a second set of user-defined parameters to suggest a demand reduction program for each of the plurality of
meter agent devices (102-1, 102-2, 102-3, …, 102-n),…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Wang-Sanderford’s combination as taught above to include a step or function of wherein the cloud processing system is configured to compute time of use data based on load profile data computed by a first fog processing system as taught by Rijo in order to generate a proposal of time of use data such as power distribution demand during peak hours for some meters or appliances connected to some meters (see page 23 claims 8 and 10 “wherein said cloud agent device (108) comprises:
a demand management module (107) configured to receive said rank information of each of said one or more appliances from said ranking module, wherein said demand management module (107) is configured to generate a usage proposal for each meter agent device based on said rank information… wherein said usage proposal includes one or more negotiations, said one or more negotiations including at least one of: usage of said renewable energy source of power during said identified non-peak hours; and usage of said renewable energy source of power during said identified peak hours for an appliance.”; also, see page 4 lines 8-10 “a fog based smart energy management system focused on needs of the user for electricity consumption during peak and non-peak hours”) and perform the same function of computing time of use data for each and/or a second fog processing device as taught by Wang for the purpose of determining time of use for each fog system associated to each set of users.
While Sanderford teaches a headend system receiving TOU data for billing purposes, and Rijo teaches wherein the cloud processing system is configured to compute time of use data based on load profile data, Wang-Sanderford-Rijo does not explicitly teach wherein the headend system is configured to perform data processing on the time of use data computed by the cloud processing system, wherein the headend system is configured to perform billing tasks based on the time of use data computed by the cloud processing system (in other words, the headend system receives the Tou data from the cloud computer in order to perform process the TOU data and perform billing tasks on the time of use).
However, Perry teaches a power monitoring system comprising a headend system (see Fig. 1 and 2 power utility computer system 50), wherein the headend system is configured to perform data processing on the time of use data computed by the cloud processing system (the monitoring server 32 acts as clouding analysis system; also, see [0054] “FIG. 5 illustrates principal steps involved in processing the power consumption information at the monitoring service server 32. In step 150 the power consumption information is received. The monitoring service server 32 uses messages that convey the power consumption information to identify the power consumer site 10 (step 152)…The stored power consumption information is analyzed by the monitoring service using known statistical methods. The analysis may involve computing mean power consumption values for similar power consuming devices…”), wherein the headend system is configured to perform billing tasks based on the time of use data computed by the cloud processing system (see [0050] “The power utility company 21 preferably receives both the aggregate power consumption profiles/TOU and the power consumption information/TOU for power consumers who subscribe to an itemized billing service from the monitoring service server 32 via the Internet using encrypted messaging. The analysis workstation 50 sends the power consumption information of the itemized billing subscribers to an automated billing system for handling the itemized billing information. The automated billing system issues the itemized bill 66 to the power consumer”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Wang-Sanderford-Rijo’s combination as taught above to include the headend system, wherein the headend system is configured to perform data processing on the time of use data computed by the cloud processing system, wherein the headend system is configured to perform billing tasks based on the time of use data computed by the cloud processing system as taught by Perry in order to an itemized bill to a consumer (see [0061]) and reduce the overhead processing at the headend system by using TOU data processes at a cloud/middle computer.
While Wang teaches an Openstack cloud platform for communicating, wherein openstack is an infrastructure that enables various devices to communicate among each other, Wang-Sanderford-Rijo-Perry still does not explicitly teach communicating via a common message bus, wherein the common message bus is external to the utility meter, the first fog processing system, and the cloud processing system, and is implemented by utilizing a common data model, wherein the utility meter is configured to transmit the raw consumption data to the remote processing system by routing the raw consumption data through a gateway, wherein the gateway is configured to convert the raw consumption data from the utility meter into data appropriate for transmission through the common message bus prior to routing that data, and to convert data received via the common message bus from the remote processing system into a format that is understandable by the utility meter.
However, Malladi teaches an edge system comprising a message bus allowing communication among a cloud device, fog/edge device, and meters/sensors (see Fig. 5 there is a communication path or message bus between cloud device, edge device or gateway and sensors devices 523), wherein a sensor/utility meter is configured to transmit raw consumption data to a remote processing system by routing the raw consumption data through a gateway (see Fig. 5 sensor/meter data is transmitted to remote processing device 412 via gateway 406, and see [0081] “…. The data bus also includes a “decoder service” that enriches the incoming data from the sensors by decoding the raw binary data into consumable data formats (such as JSON) and also decorating with additional necessary and useful metadata…”, thus data is converted before being sent to the message us or communication path between the gateway and the cloud computer 412, edge device 552/412 and meters 523 ), and wherein the gateway is configured to convert the raw consumption data from the utility meter into data appropriate for transmission through a message bus prior to routing that data (see [0081] “…see Fig. 5 sensor/meter data is transmitted to remote processing device 412 via gateway 406, and see [0081] “…. The data bus also includes a “decoder service” that enriches the incoming data from the sensors by decoding the raw binary data into consumable data formats (such as JSON) and also decorating with additional necessary and useful metadata…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Wang-Sanderford-Rijo-Perry’s combination as taught above to include a allowing communication among a cloud device, fog/edge device, and meters/sensors, and wherein a utility meter is configured to transmit raw consumption data to a remote processing system by routing the raw consumption data through a gateway, and wherein the gateway is configured to convert the raw consumption data from the utility meter into data appropriate for transmission through a message bus prior to routing that data as taught by Malladi in order to transmit data in a safe and reliable manner (see [0018] “…The method can include: enriching the ingested data in real time through a data enrichment component and making the ingested data available on the data bus. Enrichment can include, but is not limited to, data decoding, metadata decoration, data normalization, and the like…” ; also, see [0081-0082]).
While the combination of Wang-Sanderford-Rijo-Perry-Malladi and specifically Rijo teaches that the remote processing system (cloud and/or fog devices) sending back data to smart meters for control and/or configuration, and Sanderford teaches the headend system 38 polling/communicating with the meter, Wang-Sanderford-Rijo-Perry-Malladi still does not explicitly teach wherein the gateway is configured to convert data received via the common message bus from the remote processing system and the headend system into a format that is understandable by the utility meter.
However, Liu et a teaches a gateway configured to convert data received via a message bus from a remote processing system and/or headend system into a format that is understandable by controllers including meters (see fig. 1 smart meter 130-2, cloud computer 110, and gateway/access points 120 that include a gateway; see [0159] “the server 110 may be a single server or a server group. The server group may be centralized or distributed (e.g., the server 110 may be a distributed system)…the server 110 may access the meter 130, …through the network 120. As another example, the server 110 may be directly connected to the meter 130, the client terminal 140, and the smart device 150 to access stored information and/or data. In some embodiments, the server 110 may be implemented on a cloud platform. For example, the cloud platform may include private cloud, public cloud, hybrid cloud, community cloud, distributed cloud, inter-cloud, multiple clouds, etc.,…”; Thus, several computers can access the meters and the gateway performs data conversion from the several computers; also, see [0161] and [0166-0167] also, see [0168] and [0170] “…the gateway controlling module 102 may obtain the first control data by communicating with the server 110 …based on a first communication protocol. In some embodiments, the first control data may be encapsulated according to the first communication protocol and may be configured to control the first preset target device to perform the first operation…the first preset target device may be one or more electric meters…”, 0171 “Step 220, converting the operation identifier corresponding to the first operation into an operation instruction. In some embodiments, Step 220 may be implemented by the data processing module 101”; [0174] “…In some embodiments, the wireless communicating module 103 may send the operation instruction to the first preset target device based on a second communication protocol…”; and see [0178] “The gateway controlling module may be configured to receive a first control data issued by a server and/or a client terminal for controlling a first preset target device to perform a first operation, generate a first data packet including the first control data, send the first data packet to the data processing module, receive a second data packet sent by the data processing module, and send the second data packet to the wireless communicating module.; also, see [0181]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Wang-Sanderford-Rijo-Perry-Malladi’s combination as taught above to include a gateway configured to convert data received via a message bus from a remote processing system and headend system (of Sanderford or Perry) into a format that is understandable by controllers including meters as taught by Liu in order to allow a cloud computer to send control or configuration data to remote smart meters using the conversions of data of the gateway (see [0174, 0178, and 0181).
However, while is clear that Wang, Liu and Malladi teach fog devices, cloud devices, meter devices, communicating among them through certain paths, networks or communication buses, wherein the communication is external to these components, Wang-Sanderford-Rijo-Perry-Malladi-Liu does not explicitly teach communicating via a common message bus, wherein the common message bus is external to the utility meter, the first fog processing system, and the cloud processing system, and is implemented by utilizing a common data model (this message bus is exemplified as recited in the published original disclosure see 0027 “Generally, a message bus is a messaging infrastructure that enables various devices to use a shared interface”. The term “common”, “message bus”, “data model” has been interpreted in the broadest reasonable interpretation. The disclosure does not teach as specific definition for these terms. Therefore, the BRI of common is that the bus is used and allows communication between two or more components of the group. Message bus is any infrastructure that allows messages/data to be transmitted; data model seems to refer to a protocol, rules or standard used for the transmission of the data as it is used in the art of telecommunications wherein any data medium or bus generally uses a data model/protocol to prevent any attack or for safety reasons).
However, Wouhaybi teaches a system comprising a meter, a cloud processing system, and a fog processing system/edge device configured to communicate one another via a common message bus (see Fig. 1 A-B message bus 112, meters/field devices sensors 161…, cloud system 180, fog/edge devices 115; also, see [0012] and [0022] “…fog device…”; also, see [0040]), wherein the common message bus is external to the meter, the first fog processing system, and the cloud processing system (see Fig. 1A-B the message bus is external to all the components such the sensors, cloud devices, and fog devices)), and is implemented by utilizing a common data model (see [0042] “…the control messages bus 112 may enable use of Ethernet transports with time-sensitivity, such as through Ethernet-based time-sensitive networking (TSN) open standards (e.g., the IEEE 802.1 TSN Task Group). Further, use of the control messages bus 112 may allow greater performance and scale at the cloud server rack level and across large networked or chassis of edge nodes”; also, see [0043]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Wang-Sanderford-Rijo-Perry-Malladi-Liu’s combination as taught above to include a meter, a cloud processing system, and a fog processing system/edge device configured to communicate one another via a common message bus, wherein the common message bus is external to the meter, the first fog processing system, and the cloud processing system, and is implemented by utilizing a common data model as taught by Wouhaybi in order to allow communication between a plurality of components with greater performance (see [0040], [0042] “greater performance”), reliability and security (see [0003] and [0042-0043]; the system or message bus uses standards or protocols that provides reliability and security in data communication).
While Wang teaches the Zigbee communication, Sanderford teaches wireless transmission including mesh network, Liu teaches wireless communication including Zigbee and while Perry and Malladi suggest any wireless protocol or network can be used, this combination of references does not explicitly teach wherein the first fog processing system is assigned the raw consumption data based on a communication technology between the utility meter and the first fog processing system (for purposes of compact prosecution, this function will be interpreted as suggested in the arguments and as suggested in the disclosure [0055] a connection between two components such as a meter and fog device is established based on achieving a high received Signal Strength Indicator (RSSI) signal strength).
Jones teaches a system and methods to establish communication between two devices comprising wherein a first processing system is assigned the data based on a communication technology between a meter device and the first processing system (see Fig. 2 communication between sensors devices and first processing system 156 or 126); also, see Col 5 lines 13-26 “FIG. 2 schematically illustrates an exemplary installation layout of a communications network 120 established with radio devices such as the devices 100 described above. In FIG. 2, the radio devices are generally indicated as part of sensor communication nodes 154 or control communication nodes 156. As shown in FIG. 2, the sensor nodes 154 are associated with one or more sensors at specific points of interest in the industrial process, while the control nodes 156 are associated with sensor nodes 154. Generally speaking, the sensor nodes 154 transmit data signals including state information as detected by the sensors, and the control nodes 156 establish communication paths to and from the sensor nodes 154 and remote command and control centers for the SCADA system”; also, see Col 6 lines 1-23, see Col 7 lines 25-38, Col 8 lines 32-35 “The network 120 may generally be used in a wide variety of industrial applications. Exemplary applications may include:… utility distribution (e.g., natural gas and electric power systems and distribution networks); also, see Col 10 line 63 to Col 11 line 19; also, see Col 18 lines 19-65 “ In a multi-path communications network of the type described, instantaneous signal strength has sometimes been utilized to determine link suitability for transmission of messages between neighboring radio devices in the network… it is desirable that any given radio device has some ability to evaluate the reliability of the links to the neighboring radio devices, and therefore can intelligently decide to utilize only reliable paths for message transmissions, and to disregard unreliable links that may be problematic if utilized to send messages… . The RSSI values can then be utilized as indicators of link reliability for routing messages through the network. As such, the communication signal paths, referred to herein as links, between neighboring radios having unacceptable RSSI values will not be utilized as message routes. Alternatively stated, for any given radio device, only links corresponding to neighboring radios having acceptable RSSI values will be utilized to route messages through the network; also, see Col 21 lines 43-67 and Col 22).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Wang’s combination as taught above to include wherein a first processing system is assigned the data based on a communication technology between a meter device and the first processing system as taught by Jones in order to allow the transmission of data between the fog computer system and the meter of Wang as taught above and to send data between two devices in a more reliable, faster and stable network configuration based on the communication technology by using a high
Received Signal Strength Indicator (RSSI) signal strength (see Col 22 lines 20-45 “Regardless of which value x has been provided, selected, or otherwise determined, by computing the x.sup.th percentile level and using it as a benchmark for RSSI evaluation, it can be ensured that messages will be communicated only on reliable links with neighboring radios… but the link will only be utilized if the calculated x.sup.th percentile level for RSSI is above the predetermined threshold… a failure of a transmitted message to be received on any given link is considerably less likely on links having the calculated x.sup.th percentile level above the threshold, while also ensuring that links most affected by multi-path fading (i.e., links having calculated x.sup.th percentile level below the threshold) are not utilized to route messages. More reliable, faster, and stable network operation due to less frequent network configuration is therefore possible”).
While Wang teaches collecting data from power meters or endpoints, the combination of Wang as taught above still does not explicitly teach wherein the first set of endpoints comprises the utility meter and at least one other utility meter that has less processing capability than the utility meter due to its use of different hardware, software, or firmware.
However, Osterloh teaches a system for collecting power data comprising a first set of endpoints comprises a utility meter and at least one other utility meter that has less processing capability than the utility meter due to its use of different hardware, software, or firmware (see Fig. 1 first utility meter/nodes 102(2), second utility meter 102(3), see [0020] “…the endpoints of a "star" network may include different communication and/or processing capabilities than nodes of a "mesh" network…”; also, see [0024] “…the nodes 102 may include different types of nodes (e.g., smart meters, cellular relays, sensors, etc.), different generations or models of nodes, and/or nodes that otherwise are capable of transmitting on different channels, frequencies and/or bandwidths and using different modulation schemes, data rates, protocols, signal strengths, and/or power levels. Accordingly, the architecture 100 may represent a heterogeneous network of nodes.”; also, see [0052]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified the combination of Wang as taught above to include the first set of endpoints comprises a utility meter and at least one other utility meter that has less processing capability than the utility meter due to its use of different hardware, software, or firmware as taught by Osterloh in order to reduce costs when it is not necessary to use the same endpoints or meters (see [0020] “the endpoints of a "star" network may include different communication and/or processing capabilities than nodes of a "mesh" network”. For instance, when different networks of communication configuration are used such as star or a mesh, different type of meters can be used with different capacities. See [0024], For instance, meters of different vendors which are programmed differently can be implemented. Also, configuring a meter closer to a relay or concentrator might need a different programming such as strength, channels, data rates, power level, than a meter with a farther distance, which will reduce the cost and use of energy in the meter), or to implement and use heterogeneous meters of different capacities according to the need of the system (also, see [0024] “…the nodes 102 may include different types of nodes (e.g., smart meters, cellular relays, sensors, etc.), different generations or models of nodes, and/or nodes that otherwise are capable of transmitting on different channels, frequencies and/or bandwidths and using different modulation schemes, data rates, protocols, signal strengths, and/or power levels. Accordingly, the architecture 100 may represent a heterogeneous network of nodes.”; also, see [0052]. For instance, meters of different vendors which are programmed differently can be implemented. Also, configuring a meter closer to a relay or concentrator might need a different programming such as strength, channels, data rates, power level, than a meter with a farther distance, which will reduce the cost and use of energy in the meter).
As per claim 4, Wang-Sanderford-Rijo-Perry-Malladi-Liu-Wouhaybi-Jones-Osterloh teaches the utility meter of claim 1, Wang further teaches wherein the radio transmits the raw consumption data as a real-time data stream (see page 6 pars. 13-16 “Specific implementation flow process: 1: each community each user intelligent electric meter composition ZigBee ad-hoc network is communicated by wireless with each community concentrator; Arrange timer in 2:zigbee ad-hoc network and realize intelligent electric meter batch (-type) from trend concentrator transmitting real-time data, tables of data comprises identifier, the ammeter number of degrees, deadline (it is which floor which user of a few unit in which community, deadline are for collecting this data time that identifier identifies these data…. concentrator extracts the identifier in ZigBee tables of data and the corresponding ammeter number of degrees and filters out the user that the real-time electricity consumption number of degrees are greater than 250 degree…”; also, see page 4 par. 9 “The present invention is Real-Time Monitoring user power utilization information”).
As per claim 6, Wang teaches a system (see Fig. 1 system also, see page 5 par. 1) comprising:
a first utility meter connected to a resource and to a customer premises (see Fig. 1 first user smart meter 4 connected to the grid and user facilities/houses; also, see page 5 par. 16 “Community user 4, refers to electricity consumption user, user installation intelligent electric meter, and gather each user power utilization data, batch (-type) uploads data to the concentrator in mist computing unit 3.”), the utility meter comprising:
a sensor configured to detect a characteristic of usage of the resource by the customer premises (see page 5 par. 16 “Community user 4, refers to electricity consumption user, user installation intelligent electric meter, and gather each user power utilization data, batch (-type) uploads data to the concentrator in mist computing unit 3.”, smart meters measure electricity which indicate that an electrical characteristic is measured);
a radio configured to transmit the raw consumption data (see page 9 par. 4 “Timer is set in ZigBee ad-hoc network and realizes intelligent electric meter batch (-type) from trend concentrator transmission real-time radio transfer of data, tables”; also, see page 5 pars. 15-16 “Mist computing unit 3, by each comprise quantity not wait concentrator mist unit form, community user 4 information collected is uploaded multi controller systems 2 by mist computing unit 3. Community user 4, refers to electricity consumption user, user installation intelligent electric meter, and gather each user power utilization data, batch (-type) uploads data to the concentrator in mist computing unit 3”, the remote processing system includes fog/mist devices 3 and/or cloud devices 2 and 1), wherein the radio transmits the raw consumption data as a data stream comprising a series of numerical values (see page 3 Wang teaches the meter uses Zigbee and MANET wireless communication; any data transmitted wireless is sent in data stream/packets; see page 9 pars. 2-7), each numerical value in the series representing a respective value of the electrical characteristic at a corresponding time (see page 3 par. 4 and page 9 par. 7; also, see page 6 pars. 13-14, see claim 1 above for the rationale for these limitations);
a second utility meter configured to generate second raw consumption data (see Fig. 1 any secondary user/meter 4 of the plurality of meters 4 in same region or another region; also, see page 5 par. 16 “Community user 4, refers to electricity consumption user, user installation intelligent electric meter, and gather each user power utilization data, batch (-type) uploads data to the concentrator in mist computing unit 3”)
a remote processing system configured to receive the raw consumption data from the first utility meter (see Fig. 1 the remote processing system includes fog/mist devices 3 and/or cloud devices 2 and 1), the remote processing system comprising:
a first fog processing system comprising one or more fog devices associated with a first geographic region of the first utility meter (see Fig. 1 one or more fog devices 3 in a first geographic regions associated with the first utility meter 4 of a plurality of meters 4), the first fog processing system configured to compute first load profile data by performing utility consumption load profiling on the raw consumption data and on regional raw consumption data received from a first set of endpoints inside the first geographic region (see page 2 par. 10 “described managing power network resources and distribution method comprise: concentrator/fog device data processing…”; also, see page 4 par. 7 and par. 9 “Concentrator mist unit: concentrator mutually cooperates and builds mist unit system structure and carry out… to measure and electric supply meter that management mist unit lower floor is connected” and “the mist unit of concentrator composition directly processes data, has processed and has directly been issued to electric supply meter and performs corresponding actions afterwards”. The present invention is Real-Time Monitoring user power utilization information not only, also can realize intelligent specific user's power-off prompting and community intelligent power-off in batches, thus ensure that the efficient of Resource Distribute and management in intelligent grid”; also, see page 4 last paragraph; also, see page 6 steps S202-S204 involve data processing/analysis of the collected data from the first set of endpoints/meters inside respective regions; also, see page 6 flow process steps 1-7; also, see page 6 first paragraph “S202: concentrator is collected and screened user power utilization data, and screening strategy is as following table:
Power consumption Strategy ≤ 250 degree Ignore > 250 degree Electricity consumption is warned”. In the broadest reasonable interpretation load profile is the power consumption of the meters/users. Thus, Wang teaches that the fog mist device receives meter data and calculates power consumption or load profile for each meter/customer in a region), wherein the first set of endpoints comprises the first utility meter (see Fig. 1 each fog device is in charge of a number of endpoint devices or smart meters 4 in a region or first set of endpoints),
a second fog processing system associated with a second geographic region of the second utility meter, the second fog processing system distinct from the first fog processing system (see Fig. 1 a second fog processing system/device 3 distinct from the first fog processing system and in a second region distinct from the first region, the second region including a second meter 4), and the second fog processing system configured to compute second load profile data by performing utility-consumption load profiling on the second raw consumption data and on second regional consumption data received from a second set of endpoints inside a second geographic region, wherein the second set of endpoints comprises the second utility meter (see page 2 par. 10 “described managing power network resources and distribution method comprise: concentrator/fog device data processing…”; also, see page 4 par. 7 and par. 9 “Concentrator mist unit: concentrator mutually cooperates and builds mist unit system structure and carry out… to measure and electric supply meter that management mist unit lower floor is connected” and “the mist unit of concentrator composition directly processes data, has processed and has directly been issued to electric supply meter and performs corresponding actions afterwards”. The present invention is Real-Time Monitoring user power utilization information not only, also can realize intelligent specific user's power-off prompting and community intelligent power-off in batches, thus ensure that the efficient of Resource Distribute and management in intelligent grid”; also, see page 4 last paragraph; also, see page 6 steps S202-S204 involve data processing/analysis of the collected data from the first set of endpoints/meters inside respective regions; also, see page 6 flow process steps 1-7; also, see page 6 first paragraph “S202: concentrator is collected and screened user power utilization data, and screening strategy is as following table:
Power consumption Strategy ≤ 250 degree Ignore > 250 degree Electricity consumption is warned”. In the broadest reasonable interpretation load profile is the power consumption of the meters/users. Thus, Wang teaches that the fog mist device receives meter data and calculates power consumption or load profile for each meter/customer in a region); and
a cloud processing system distinct from the first fog processing system and the second fog processing system, the cloud processing system comprising one or more cloud devices (see Fig. cloud devices 1 and cloud devices 2), the cloud processing system configured to perform centralized data processing on the first load profile data computed by the first fog processing system and on the second load profile data computed by the second fog processing system (see Fig. 1 power consumption data from each of the users/meters 4 is uploaded and processed in the cloud computers 1; also, see page 3 pars. 10-13 and “Multi-controller analyzes the total number of degrees of each community electricity consumption of whole city total electricity consumption number of degrees and the administration of each controller respectively, when electricity consumption total number of degrees in whole city will impact Time Controller according to the total number of degrees ranking results of each community electricity consumption to electric power system, issue stream and show power supply unit, trigger power supply unit de-energizing actions and perform; …Cloud platform, specifically refers to Openstack, by northbound interface and multi controller systems interactive information; also, see page 6 S202-S209 “S205: multi-controller is in charge of local cell, the mutual collaborative work of multi-controller realizes urban whole power monitoring, and multi-controller collects data; S206: the data upload cloud platform that multi-controller will be collected;
S207: cloud platform calculates the real-time electricity consumption number of degrees to the data that multi-controller is uploaded; S208: result of calculation is fed back to multi-controller by cloud platform; S209: when real-time electricity consumption number of degrees sum long-time higher (particularly big city electricity consumption in summer), multi controller systems segmentation issues stream table, and piecemeal has a power failure to community user, thus realizes the stable of whole power supply system”; also, see page 8 claim 1 “To the control of the particular user electricity consumption number of degrees, when the user power utilization number of degrees are more than 250 degree, in conjunction with the enforcement of step price, power-off warning is carried out to user; In the summer large to city need for electricity amount, controller is in conjunction with cloud platform calculation plot user power utilization, and burst carries out power supply to each community and disconnects, and what maintain whole city uses electrical equalization and electricity consumption overall control”), ;
wherein the first utility meter, the first fog processing system, the second fog processing system, the cloud processing system and the headend system are configured to communicate with one another see Fig. 1 meter transmit data to fog devices and fog devices transmit the data to cloud devices, thus, there is communication with one another); and
wherein the first fog processing system is assigned the raw consumption data (see Fig. 1 the consumption data from the meters 4 is assigned/sent to a fog/mist computing unit 3).
While Wang teaches that the data transmitted is in bits and wireless transmission is used which indicates that bits information are sent, which suggest that some kind of conversion occurred, Wang does not explicitly teach:
the first utility meter comprising a converter configured to convert the characteristic to raw consumption data describing the usage by the customer premises (the raw data has been interpreted as digital data converted by an A/D converter or simply as any data related to the electrical characteristic measured since the disclosure does not define the term “raw’), and While Wang teaches an Openstack cloud platform for communicating, wherein openstack is an infrastructure that enables various devices to communicate among each other, Wang does not explicitly teach:
the devices communicating via a common message bus, wherein the common message bus is external to the utility meter, the first fog processing system, the cloud processing system, and is implemented by utilizing a common data model (this message bus is exemplified as see 0027 “Generally, a message bus is a messaging infrastructure that enables various devices to use a shared interface) and
wherein the first set of endpoints comprises at least one other utility meter that has less processing capability than the utility meter due to its use of different hardware, software, or firmware, wherein the first set of endpoints are associated with a common transformer and the first fog processing system is configured to determine a load on the common transformer; wherein the cloud processing system is configured to compute time of use data based on the first load profile data computed by the first fog processing system and based on the second load profile data computed by the second fog processing system, a headend system distinct from the remote processing system, the headend system configured to perform data processing on the time of use data computed by the cloud processing system, wherein the headend system is configured to perform billing tasks based on the time of use data computed by the cloud processing system;
wherein the utility meter is configured to transmit the raw consumption data to the remote processing system by routing the raw consumption data through a gateway, wherein the gateway is configured to convert the raw consumption data from the utility meter into data appropriate for transmission through the message bus prior to routing that data, and to convert data received via the message bus from the remote processing system and headend system into a format that is understandable by the utility meter, wherein the first fog processing system is assigned the raw consumption data based on a communication technology between the utility meter and the first fog processing system.
However, Sanderford teaches system comprising a set of endpoints (smart meters 10; see Fig. 11 smart meters 10), wherein the set of endpoints comprises a utility electrical meter, wherein each utility electrical meter comprising an analog-to-digital (A/D) converter configured to convert the electrical characteristic to raw consumption data describing the electricity usage by the customer premises (the raw data has been interpreted as digital data or simply as any data related to the electrical characteristic measured since the instant invention disclosure states that the A/D converter outputs raw consumption data in 0003; see Sanderford Fig. 1 Meter 10 connected to a grid 12 and a load 14; also, see [0049] “the electric meter 10 is positioned between a line connection 12 and a load connection 14 as is typical. The electricity meter includes a current sensor 16 that senses the current being drawn by the load from the line connection. As illustrated in FIG. 1, the current sensor 16 can be one of two different types of current sensors”; see Fig. 4 A/D converter and see [0050] “the current sensor 16 feeds the sensed current through an amplifier 18 and into an analog-to-digital converter 20”), and wherein the first set of endpoints are associated with a common transformer and the system is configured to determine a load on the common transformer (see [0138] “…to determining the aggregate load presented to the transformer by determining which neighboring meters are also connected to that transformer. It recognizes these neighboring meters by injecting a power line carrier term or message into the transformer side of the meter whereby the other meters similarly attached to this same transformer are able to receive and demodulate that tone. Upon receiving the tone or message, the other meters reply with their _configuration ID_. In this manner, each meter knows the identity of the other meters that share the same transformer. This information can be used between the meters to totalize the total power demanded from the transformer at any point in time…”), and transmit consumption data to a headend system, wherein the headend system is configured to perform data processing on a time of use data, and perform billing tasks based on the time of use data (a headend system has been interpreted in the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) in light of the disclosure as a central processing system or a utility company computer system; Sanderford teaches a headend system/central processing system, wherein data is transmitted from a remote meter system to the headend system, see [0053], [0103] and [0153]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Wang’s invention to include the set of endpoints comprises a utility electrical meter, wherein each utility electrical meter comprising an analog-to-digital (A/D) converter configured to convert the electrical characteristic to raw consumption data describing the electricity usage by the customer premises, and to include in the fog processing system of Wang the function of wherein the first set of endpoints are associated with a common transformer and to determine a load on the common transformer and transmit the raw consumption data to a headend system, wherein the headend system is configured to perform data processing on a time of use data, and perform billing tasks based on the time of use data as taught by Sanderford in order to convert the data to digital data so that can be read and processed by a computer/microcontroller (see [0102]) and to detect the total power consumed from a transformer for analysis and monitoring purposes (see [0138] “…An overloaded condition can be measured against the pre-set limit …and annunciated to the utility the communications means provided on the instant disclosure overloads…”; also, see [0156] to detect theft of energy).
Sanderford also teaches a function of computing first load profile by performing utility consumption load profiling on the raw consumption data (see [0119] “The processing means 28 of the electric meter 10 communicates load signature profiles from the processing means 28 back to the processor 112”; also, see [0152] “The instant disclosure includes the processing necessary to calculate kilowatt hours, peak demand, kVAR, and when that power is utilized”) and the cloud processing system is configured to compute time of use data based on the first load profile data (see [0151-0152] “Billing & Tou [0152] The instant disclosure includes the processing necessary to calculate kilowatt hours, peak demand, kVAR, and when that power is utilized. This information can be provided in 1 min, 5 min, 15 min, or hourly intervals).
While Wang teaches a plurality of fog devices (fog devices 3), and while Sanderford teaches a function of performing TOU processing/data (see Sanderford 0151-0152 and [0162], [0166]), Wang does not explicitly teach wherein the cloud processing system is configured to compute time of use data based on the first load profile data computed by the first fog processing system and based on the second load profile data computed by the second fog processing system. However, Rijo teaches a Fog based power distribution system comprising a cloud processing system (see Fig. 1 cloud device 108), wherein the cloud processing system is configured to compute time of use data based on load profile data computed by a first fog processing system (see page 13 lines 16-24 “The cloud agent device 108 is configured to communicate with the fog agent device 106 to receive the consumption trends/load profile data. The cloud agent device 108 analyzes the consumption trends based on a second set of user-defined parameters to suggest the demand reduction program for each of the meter agent devices 102-
20 1, 102-2, 102-3, …, 102-n…”; also, see page 21 claim 1 lines 11-24 “ fog agent device (106) configured to cooperate with said reader device (104) to receive said power consumption data from said reader device (104) and process said power consumption data based on a first set of parameters derived from predefined policy markers to provide a consumption trend for each of said plurality of meter agent devices (102-1, 102-2, 102-3, …, 102-n); and a cloud agent device (108) configured to communicate with said fog agent device (106) to receive said consumption trends from said fog agent device (106) and is further configured to analyze said consumption trends based on a second set of user-defined parameters to suggest a demand reduction program for each of the plurality of
meter agent devices (102-1, 102-2, 102-3, …, 102-n),…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Wang-Sanderford’s combination as taught above to include a step or function of wherein the cloud processing system is configured to compute time of use data based on load profile data computed by a first fog processing system as taught by Rijo in order to generate a proposal of time of use data such as power distribution demand during peak hours for some meters or appliances connected to some meters (see page 23 claims 8 and 10 “wherein said cloud agent device (108) comprises:
a demand management module (107) configured to receive said rank information of each of said one or more appliances from said ranking module, wherein said demand management module (107) is configured to generate a usage proposal for each meter agent device based on said rank information… wherein said usage proposal includes one or more negotiations, said one or more negotiations including at least one of: usage of said renewable energy source of power during said identified non-peak hours; and usage of said renewable energy source of power during said identified peak hours for an appliance.”; also, see page 4 lines 8-10 “a fog based smart energy management system focused on needs of the user for electricity consumption during peak and non-peak hours”) and perform the same function for each and/or a second fog processing device as taught by Wang.
While Sanderford teaches a headend system receiving TOU data for billing purposes, and Rijo teaches wherein the cloud processing system is configured to compute time of use data based on load profile data, Wang-Sanderford-Rijo does not explicitly teach wherein the headend system is configured to perform data processing on the time of use data computed by the cloud processing system, wherein the headend system is configured to perform billing tasks based on the time of use data computed by the cloud processing system (in other words, the headend system receives the Tou data from the cloud computer in order to perform process the TOU data and perform billing tasks on the time of use).
However, Perry teaches a power monitoring system comprising a headend system (see Fig. 1 and 2 power utility computer system 50), wherein the headend system is configured to perform data processing on the time of use data computed by the cloud processing system (the monitoring server 32 acts as clouding analysis system; also, see [0054] “FIG. 5 illustrates principal steps involved in processing the power consumption information at the monitoring service server 32. In step 150 the power consumption information is received. The monitoring service server 32 uses messages that convey the power consumption information to identify the power consumer site 10 (step 152)…The stored power consumption information is analyzed by the monitoring service using known statistical methods. The analysis may involve computing mean power consumption values for similar power consuming devices…”), wherein the headend system is configured to perform billing tasks based on the time of use data computed by the cloud processing system (see [0050] “The power utility company 21 preferably receives both the aggregate power consumption profiles/TOU and the power consumption information/TOU for power consumers who subscribe to an itemized billing service from the monitoring service server 32 via the Internet using encrypted messaging. The analysis workstation 50 sends the power consumption information of the itemized billing subscribers to an automated billing system for handling the itemized billing information. The automated billing system issues the itemized bill 66 to the power consumer”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Wang-Sanderford-Rijo’s combination as taught above to include the headend system, wherein the headend system is configured to perform data processing on the time of use data computed by the cloud processing system, wherein the headend system is configured to perform billing tasks based on the time of use data computed by the cloud processing system as taught by Perry in order to an itemized bill to a consumer (see [0061]) and reduce the overhead processing at the headend system by using TOU data processes at a cloud/middle computer.
While Wang teaches an Openstack cloud platform for communicating, wherein openstack is an infrastructure that enables various devices to communicate among each other, Wang-Sanderford-Rijo-Perry does not explicitly teach the devices communicating via a common message bus, wherein the common message bus is external to the utility meter, the first fog processing system, and the cloud processing system, and is implemented by utilizing a common data model, wherein the utility meter is configured to transmit the raw consumption data to the remote processing system by routing the raw consumption data through a gateway, wherein the gateway is configured to convert the raw consumption data from the utility meter into data appropriate for transmission through the common message bus prior to routing that data, and to convert data received via the common message bus from the remote processing system and the headend system into a format that is understandable by the utility meter.
However, Malladi teaches an edge system comprising a message bus allowing communication among a cloud device, fog/edge device, and meters/sensors (see Fig. 5 there is a communication path or message bus between cloud device, edge device or gateway and sensors devices 523), wherein a sensor/utility meter is configured to transmit raw consumption data to a remote processing system by routing the raw consumption data through a gateway (see Fig. 5 sensor/meter data is transmitted to remote processing device 412 via gateway 406, and see [0081] “…. The data bus also includes a “decoder service” that enriches the incoming data from the sensors by decoding the raw binary data into consumable data formats (such as JSON) and also decorating with additional necessary and useful metadata…”, thus data is converted before being sent to the message us or communication path between the gateway and the cloud computer 412, edge device 552/412 and meters 523 ), and wherein the gateway is configured to convert the raw consumption data from the utility meter into data appropriate for transmission through a message bus prior to routing that data (see [0081] “…see Fig. 5 sensor/meter data is transmitted to remote processing device 412 via gateway 406, and see [0081] “…. The data bus also includes a “decoder service” that enriches the incoming data from the sensors by decoding the raw binary data into consumable data formats (such as JSON) and also decorating with additional necessary and useful metadata…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Wang-Sanderford-Rijo-Perry’s combination as taught above to include a allowing communication among a cloud device, fog/edge device, and meters/sensors, and wherein a utility meter is configured to transmit raw consumption data to a remote processing system by routing the raw consumption data through a gateway, and wherein the gateway is configured to convert the raw consumption data from the utility meter into data appropriate for transmission through a message bus prior to routing that data as taught by Malladi in order to transmit data in a safe and reliable manner (see [0018] “…The method can include: enriching the ingested data in real time through a data enrichment component and making the ingested data available on the data bus. Enrichment can include, but is not limited to, data decoding, metadata decoration, data normalization, and the like…” ; also, see [0081-0082]).
While the combination of Wang-Sanderford-Rijo-Perry-Malladi and specifically Rijo teaches that the remote processing system (cloud and/or fog devices) sending back data to smart meters for control and/or configuration, Wang-Sanderford-Rijo-Perry-Malladi still does not explicitly teach wherein the gateway is configured to convert data received via the common message bus from the remote processing system and headend system into a format that is understandable by the utility meter.
However, Liu et a teaches a gateway configured to convert data received via a message bus from a remote processing system and/or headend system into a format that is understandable by controllers including meters into a format that is understandable by controllers including meters ((see fig. 1 smart meter 130-2, cloud computer 110, and gateway/access points 120 that include a gateway; see [0159] “the server 110 may be a single server or a server group. The server group may be centralized or distributed (e.g., the server 110 may be a distributed system)…the server 110 may access the meter 130, …through the network 120. As another example, the server 110 may be directly connected to the meter 130, the client terminal 140, and the smart device 150 to access stored information and/or data. In some embodiments, the server 110 may be implemented on a cloud platform. For example, the cloud platform may include private cloud, public cloud, hybrid cloud, community cloud, distributed cloud, inter-cloud, multiple clouds, etc.,…”; Thus, several computers can access the meters and the gateway performs data conversion from the several computers; also, see [0161] and [0166-0167] also, see [0168] and [0170] “…the gateway controlling module 102 may obtain the first control data by communicating with the server 110 …based on a first communication protocol. In some embodiments, the first control data may be encapsulated according to the first communication protocol and may be configured to control the first preset target device to perform the first operation…the first preset target device may be one or more electric meters…”, 0171 “Step 220, converting the operation identifier corresponding to the first operation into an operation instruction. In some embodiments, Step 220 may be implemented by the data processing module 101”; [0174] “…In some embodiments, the wireless communicating module 103 may send the operation instruction to the first preset target device based on a second communication protocol…”; and see [0178] “The gateway controlling module may be configured to receive a first control data issued by a server and/or a client terminal for controlling a first preset target device to perform a first operation, generate a first data packet including the first control data, send the first data packet to the data processing module, receive a second data packet sent by the data processing module, and send the second data packet to the wireless communicating module.; also, see [0181]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Wang-Sanderford-Rijo-Perry-Malladi’s combination as taught above to include a gateway configured to convert data received via a message bus from a remote processing system and headend system (of Sanderford or Perry) into a format that is understandable by controllers including meters as taught by Liu in order to allow a cloud computer to send control or configuration data to remote smart meters using the conversions of data of the gateway (see [0174, 0178, and 0181).
However, while is clear that Wang, Liu and Malladi teach fog devices, cloud devices, meter devices, communicating among them through certain paths, networks or communication buses, wherein the communication is external to these components, Wang-Sanderford-Rijo-Perry-Malladi-Liu does not explicitly teach the devices communicating via a common message bus, wherein the common message bus is external to the utility meter, the first fog processing system, the cloud processing system, and is implemented by utilizing a common data model (this message bus is exemplified as recited in the published original disclosure see 0027 “Generally, a message bus is a messaging infrastructure that enables various devices to use a shared interface”. The term “common”, “message bus”, “data model” has been interpreted in the broadest reasonable interpretation. The disclosure does not teach as specific definition for these terms. Therefore, the BRI of common is that the bus is used and allows communication between two or more components of the group. Message bus is any infrastructure that allows messages/data to be transmitted; data model seems to refer to a protocol, rules or standard used for the transmission of the data as it is well known in the art of telecommunications wherein any data medium or bus generally uses a data model/protocol to prevent any attack or for safety reasons).
However, Wouhaybi teaches a system comprising a meter, a cloud processing system, and a fog processing system/edge devices, headend system (see Fig. 1A-B headend systems 115 or 135A) configured to communicate one another via a common message bus (see Fig. 1 A-B message bus 112, meters/field devices sensors 161…, cloud system 180, fog/edge devices 115; also, see [0012] and [0022] “…fog device…”; also, see [0040]), wherein the common message bus is external to the meter, the first fog processing system, and the cloud processing system (see Fig. 1A-B the message bus is external to all the components such the sensors, cloud devices, and fog devices)), and is implemented by utilizing a common data model (see [0042] “…the control messages bus 112 may enable use of Ethernet transports with time-sensitivity, such as through Ethernet-based time-sensitive networking (TSN) open standards (e.g., the IEEE 802.1 TSN Task Group). Further, use of the control messages bus 112 may allow greater performance and scale at the cloud server rack level and across large networked or chassis of edge nodes”; also, see [0043]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Wang-Sanderford-Rijo-Malladi-Liu’s combination as taught above to include a meter, a cloud processing system, headend system and fog processing system/edge devices configured to communicate one another via a common message bus, wherein the common message bus is external to the meter, the first and second fog processing system, the cloud processing system, and the headend system and is implemented by utilizing a common data model as taught by Wouhaybi in order to allow communication between a plurality of components with greater performance (see [0040], [0042] “greater performance”), reliability and security (see [003]] and [0042-0043]; the system or message bus uses standards or protocols that provides reliability and security in data communication).
While Wang teaches the Zigbee communication, Sanderford teaches wireless transmission including mesh network, Liu teaches wireless communication including Zigbee and while Perry and Malladi suggest any wireless protocol or network can be used, this combination of references does not explicitly teach wherein the first fog processing system is assigned the raw consumption data based on a communication technology between the utility meter and the first fog processing system (for purposes of compact prosecution, this function will be interpreted as suggested in the arguments and as suggested in the disclosure [0055] a connection between two components such as a meter and fog device is established based on achieving a high received Signal Strength Indicator (RSSI) signal strength).
Jones teaches a system and methods to establish communication between two devices comprising wherein a first processing system is assigned the data based on a communication technology between a meter device and the first processing system (see Fig. 2 communication between sensors devices and first processing system 156 or 126); also, see Col 5 lines 13-26 “FIG. 2 schematically illustrates an exemplary installation layout of a communications network 120 established with radio devices such as the devices 100 described above. In FIG. 2, the radio devices are generally indicated as part of sensor communication nodes 154 or control communication nodes 156. As shown in FIG. 2, the sensor nodes 154 are associated with one or more sensors at specific points of interest in the industrial process, while the control nodes 156 are associated with sensor nodes 154. Generally speaking, the sensor nodes 154 transmit data signals including state information as detected by the sensors, and the control nodes 156 establish communication paths to and from the sensor nodes 154 and remote command and control centers for the SCADA system”; also, see Col 6 lines 1-23, see Col 7 lines 25-38, Col 8 lines 32-35 “The network 120 may generally be used in a wide variety of industrial applications. Exemplary applications may include:… utility distribution (e.g., natural gas and electric power systems and distribution networks); also, see Col 10 line 63 to Col 11 line 19; also, see Col 18 lines 19-65 “ In a multi-path communications network of the type described, instantaneous signal strength has sometimes been utilized to determine link suitability for transmission of messages between neighboring radio devices in the network… it is desirable that any given radio device has some ability to evaluate the reliability of the links to the neighboring radio devices, and therefore can intelligently decide to utilize only reliable paths for message transmissions, and to disregard unreliable links that may be problematic if utilized to send messages… . The RSSI values can then be utilized as indicators of link reliability for routing messages through the network. As such, the communication signal paths, referred to herein as links, between neighboring radios having unacceptable RSSI values will not be utilized as message routes. Alternatively stated, for any given radio device, only links corresponding to neighboring radios having acceptable RSSI values will be utilized to route messages through the network; also, see Col 21 lines 43-67 and Col 22).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Wang’s combination as taught above to include wherein a first processing system is assigned the data based on a communication technology between a meter device and the first processing system as taught by Jones in order to allow the transmission of data between the fog computer system and the meter of Wang as taught above and to send data between two devices in a more reliable, faster and stable network configuration based on the communication technology by using a high
Received Signal Strength Indicator (RSSI) signal strength (see Col 22 lines 20-45 “Regardless of which value x has been provided, selected, or otherwise determined, by computing the x.sup.th percentile level and using it as a benchmark for RSSI evaluation, it can be ensured that messages will be communicated only on reliable links with neighboring radios… but the link will only be utilized if the calculated x.sup.th percentile level for RSSI is above the predetermined threshold… a failure of a transmitted message to be received on any given link is considerably less likely on links having the calculated x.sup.th percentile level above the threshold, while also ensuring that links most affected by multi-path fading (i.e., links having calculated x.sup.th percentile level below the threshold) are not utilized to route messages. More reliable, faster, and stable network operation due to less frequent network configuration is therefore possible”).
While Wang teaches collecting data from power meters or endpoints, the combination of Wang as taught above still does not explicitly teach wherein the first set of endpoints comprises the utility meter and at least one other utility meter that has less processing capability than the utility meter due to its use of different hardware, software, or firmware.
However, Osterloh teaches a system for collecting power data comprising a first set of endpoints comprises a utility meter and at least one other utility meter that has less processing capability than the utility meter due to its use of different hardware, software, or firmware (see Fig. 1 first utility meter/nodes 102(2), second utility meter 102(3), see [0020] “…the endpoints of a "star" network may include different communication and/or processing capabilities than nodes of a "mesh" network…”; also, see [0024] “…the nodes 102 may include different types of nodes (e.g., smart meters, cellular relays, sensors, etc.), different generations or models of nodes, and/or nodes that otherwise are capable of transmitting on different channels, frequencies and/or bandwidths and using different modulation schemes, data rates, protocols, signal strengths, and/or power levels. Accordingly, the architecture 100 may represent a heterogeneous network of nodes.”; also, see [0052]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified the combination of Wang as taught above to include the first set of endpoints comprises a utility meter and at least one other utility meter that has less processing capability than the utility meter due to its use of different hardware, software, or firmware as taught by Osterloh in order to reduce costs when it is not necessary to use the same endpoints or meters (see [0020] “the endpoints of a "star" network may include different communication and/or processing capabilities than nodes of a "mesh" network”. For instance, when different networks of communication configuration are used such as star or a mesh, different type of meters can be used with different capacities. See [0024], For instance, meters of different vendors which are programmed differently can be implemented. Also, configuring a meter closer to a relay or concentrator might need a different programming such as strength, channels, data rates, power level, than a meter with a farther distance, which will reduce the cost and use of energy in the meter), or to implement and use heterogeneous meters of different capacities according to the need of the system (also, see [0024] “…the nodes 102 may include different types of nodes (e.g., smart meters, cellular relays, sensors, etc.), different generations or models of nodes, and/or nodes that otherwise are capable of transmitting on different channels, frequencies and/or bandwidths and using different modulation schemes, data rates, protocols, signal strengths, and/or power levels. Accordingly, the architecture 100 may represent a heterogeneous network of nodes.”; also, see [0052]. For instance, meters of different vendors which are programmed differently can be implemented. Also, configuring a meter closer to a relay or concentrator might need a different programming such as strength, channels, data rates, power level, than a meter with a farther distance, which will reduce the cost and use of energy in the meter).
As per claim 7, Wang-Sanderford-Rijo-Perry-Malladi-Liu-Wouhaybi-Jones-Osterloh teaches the system of claim 6, Sanderford further teaches wherein the converter is an analog-to-digital (A/D) converter (see Fig. 4 A/D/ converter and see [0050] “the current sensor 16 feeds the sensed current through an amplifier 18 and into an analog-to-digital converter 20”), and
Wang teaches wherein the raw consumption data transmitted by the radio is transmitted as a real-time data stream (see Wang page 3 Wang teaches the meter uses Zigbee and MANET wireless communication; any data transmitted wireless is sent in data stream/packets; see page 9 pars. 3-7 “Each community each user's intelligent electric meter composition ZigBee ad-hoc network… Timer is set in ZigBee ad-hoc network and realizes intelligent electric meter batch (-type) from trend concentrator transmission real-time radio transfer of data, tables of data comprises identifier, the ammeter number of degrees, deadline, and it is which floor which user of a few unit in which community, deadline are for collecting this data time that identifier identifies these data… Concentrator extracts the identifier in ZigBee tables of data and the corresponding ammeter number of degrees and filters out the user that the real-time electricity consumption number of degrees are greater than 250 degree, wirelessly passes down order to user's intelligent electric meter in identifier, carries out power-off warning; Front 32 location identifiers in tables of data, 33 to 48 store the electricity consumption number of degrees, concentrator reads front 32 and 33 of each tables of data successively to 48 bit data, put into data cached table successively, obtain user and the corresponding electricity consumption number of degrees of user, one_to_one corresponding, the user power utilization number of degrees are carried out size compare with 250 degree by concentrator one by one”; see page 3 par. 4 and page 9 par. 7 “…Front 32 location identifiers in tables of data, 33 to 48 store the electricity consumption number of degrees, concentrator reads front 32 and 33 of each tables of data successively to 48 bit data, put into data cached table successively, obtain user and the corresponding electricity consumption number of degrees of user, one_to_one corresponding, the user power utilization number of degrees are carried out size compare with 250 degree by concentrator one by one”; also, see page 6 pars. 13-14). Thus, the combination of Wang-Sanderford’s teaches converting the data to raw data (A/D converted data) by Sanderford and transmitting the converted data in streams by Wang.
As per claim 8, Wang-Sanderford-Rijo-Perry-Malladi-Liu-Wouhaybi-Jones-Osterloh teaches the system of claim 7, Wang further teaches wherein the first fog processing system performs real-time processing on the raw consumption data (see page 6 pars. 13-16 “Specific implementation flow process: 1: each community each user intelligent electric meter composition ZigBee ad-hoc network is communicated by wireless with each community concentrator; Arrange timer in 2:zigbee ad-hoc network and realize intelligent electric meter batch (-type) from trend concentrator transmitting real-time data, tables of data comprises identifier, the ammeter number of degrees, deadline (it is which floor which user of a few unit in which community, deadline are for collecting this data time that identifier identifies these data…. Concentrator/fog extracts the identifier in ZigBee tables of data and the corresponding ammeter number of degrees and filters out the user that the real-time electricity consumption number of degrees are greater than 250 degree…”; also, see page 4 par. 9 “The present invention is Real-Time Monitoring user power utilization information”, monitoring is performed by Fog devices).
As per claim 10, Wang-Sanderford-Rijo-Perry-Malladi-Liu-Wouhaybi-Jones-Osterloh teaches the system of claim 6, wherein the first fog processing system is configured to make decisions for the first set of endpoints in the first geographic region (see Fig. 1), and
wherein the second fog processing system is configured to make decisions for the second set of endpoints in the second geographic region (see Fig. 1 the system of Wang teaches that the fog-cloud system provides services such as mass storage, management, decision making, analysis, data processing performed at the fog-cloud computer devices, see page 2 par. 10 “described managing power network resources and distribution method comprise: concentrator/fog device data processing…”; also, see page 4 par. 7 and par. 9 “Concentrator mist unit: concentrator mutually cooperates and builds mist unit system structure and carry out Mass storage, communication and control, configuration, to measure and electric supply meter that management mist unit lower floor is connected” and “the mist unit of concentrator composition directly processes data, has processed and has directly been issued to electric supply meter and performs corresponding actions afterwards).The present invention is Real-Time Monitoring user power utilization information not only, also can realize intelligent specific user's power-off prompting and community intelligent power-off in batches, thus ensure that the efficient of Resource Distribute and management in intelligent grid”; also, see page 4 last paragraph; also, see page 6 steps S202-S204 involve data processing/analysis of the collected data from the first set of endpoints/meters inside respective regions; also, see page 6 flow process steps 1-7; also, see page 9 par. 12 “analyzes the total number of degrees of each community electricity consumption of whole city total electricity consumption number of degrees and the administration of each controller respectively”, thus, first and second fog systems are configured to make decisions for the first set of endpoints in the geographic region and second the second set of endpoints in the second geographic region, respectively. This is an implicit feature of fog-cloud systems).
As per claim 13, Wang-Sanderford-Rijo-Perry-Malladi-Liu-Wouhaybi-Jones-Osterloh teaches the system of claim 6, Wang does not explicitly teach wherein the cloud processing system is configured to perform load disaggregation to determine which appliances are in use by the customer premises, based on the raw consumption data.
However, Sanderford further teaches the system comprising a function of performing load disaggregation to determine which appliances are in use by the customer premises, based on the raw consumption data (see [0004] “Non-intrusive load monitoring is generally a process for analyzing the changes in the voltage and currents going into a house and, from these changes, deducing what appliances are used in the house as well as their individual energy consumption.
The NILM compares the energy consumption information from the home, such as recorded at an electric meter, and compares the energy consumption information to known load profiles for different types of electrical loads”; also, see [0008]; also, see [0119] “Since the processor 112 has learned a signature profile of various devices at the owner/operator location, the processor 112 can identify the type of device turned on or off during normal operations based on the stored load profile. In this manner, the processor 112 is able to "learn" and improve the prediction of the non-invasive load monitoring based upon actual data obtained through the computing device 100…”; also, see [0175]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Wang’s combination as taught above to include a function of performing load disaggregation to determine which appliances are in use by the customer premises, based on the raw consumption data to be performed in the cloud processing system as taught by Sanderford in order to identify loads to be controlled during a TOU event such as peak event (see [0175] “The instant disclosure can be downloaded with a list of loads which are prohibited during a peak consumption time. Since the NILM can identify what loads are in operation, the disclosure can identify which match the prohibited load table. If a match is found the disclosure can annunciate this condition to the utility, who may impose a higher use tariff, or the disclosure can send a signal (RF or PLC) to a device which controls the power flow to the prohibited device, or the meter can disconnect the "remote disconnect Switch" this disconnects power to that home until the prohibited loads are voluntarily disabled by the homeowner or business”).
As per claim 18, Wang teaches a method comprising:
connecting, by a utility meter, to a power grid and connecting, by the utility meter, to a customer premises (see Fig. 1 user smart meter 4 connected to the grid and user facilities/houses; also, see page 5 par. 16 “Community user 4, refers to electricity consumption user, user installation intelligent electric meter, and gather each user power utilization data, batch (-type) uploads data to the concentrator in mist computing unit 3);
utilizing, by the utility meter, a sensor to determine an electrical characteristic indicating electricity usage of the power grid by the customer premises (see page 5 par. 16 “Community user 4, refers to electricity consumption user, user installation intelligent electric meter, and gather each user power utilization data, batch (-type) uploads data to the concentrator in mist computing unit 3.”, smart meters measure electricity which indicate that an electrical characteristic is measured);
transmitting, by the utility meter, the raw consumption data describing the electricity usage to a fog processing system for computing load profile data by performing utility consumption load profiling data on the raw consumption data and on regional raw consumption data received from a set of endpoints inside the geographic region associated with the fog processing system (see page 2 par. 10 “described managing power network resources and distribution method comprise: concentrator/fog device data processing…”; also, see page 4 par. 7 and par. 9 “Concentrator mist unit: concentrator mutually cooperates and builds mist unit system structure and carry out Mass storage, communication and control, configuration, to measure and electric supply meter that management mist unit lower floor is connected” and “the mist unit of concentrator composition directly processes data, has processed and has directly been issued to electric supply meter and performs corresponding actions afterwards).The present invention is Real-Time Monitoring user power utilization information not only, also can realize intelligent specific user's power-off prompting and community intelligent power-off in batches, thus ensure that the efficient of Resource Distribute and management in intelligent grid”; also, see page 4 last paragraph; also, see page 6 steps S202-S204 involve data processing/analysis of the collected data from the first set of endpoints/meters inside respective regions; also, see page 6 flow process steps 1-7; see Fig. 1 each fog device is in charge of a number of endpoint devices or smart meters in a region or first set of endpoints
(see Fig. 1 one or more fog devices 3 in different regions ), wherein transmitting the raw consumption data to the fog processing system comprises transmitting to the fog processing system a real-time data stream comprising a series of numerical values (see page 3 Wang teaches the meter uses Zigbee and MANET wireless communication; any data transmitted wireless is sent in data stream/packets; see page 9 pars. 2-7, see clam 1 above same rationale applies herein), each numerical value in the series representing a respective value of the electrical characteristic at a corresponding time (see page 3 par. 4 and page 9 par. 7 and page 6 pars. 13-14, see clam 1 above same rationale applies herein);
transmitting, by the utility meter, the raw consumption data describing the electricity usage see Fig. 1 data from each user/meter 4 is uploaded and processed in the cloud computers 1 via the fog device; also, see page 3 pars. 10-13 and “Multi-controller analyzes the total number of degrees of each community electricity consumption of whole city total electricity consumption number of degrees and the administration of each controller respectively, when electricity consumption total number of degrees in whole city will impact Time Controller according to the total number of degrees ranking results of each community electricity consumption to electric power system, issue stream and show power supply unit, trigger power supply unit de-energizing actions and perform; …Cloud platform, specifically refers to Openstack, by northbound interface and multi controller systems interactive information; also, see page 6 S202-S209 “S205: multi-controller is in charge of local cell, the mutual collaborative work of multi-controller realizes urban whole power monitoring, and multi-controller collects data; S206: the data upload cloud platform that multi-controller will be collected;
S207: cloud platform calculates the real-time electricity consumption number of degrees to the data that multi-controller is uploaded; S208: result of calculation is fed back to multi-controller by cloud platform; S209: when real-time electricity consumption number of degrees sum long-time higher (particularly big city electricity consumption in summer), multi controller systems segmentation issues stream table, and piecemeal has a power failure to community user, thus realizes the stable of whole power supply system”; also, see page 8 claim 1 “To the control of the particular user electricity consumption number of degrees, when the user power utilization number of degrees are more than 250 degree, in conjunction with the enforcement of step price, power-off warning is carried out to user; In the summer large to city need for electricity amount, controller is in conjunction with cloud platform calculation plot user power utilization, and burst carries out power supply to each community and disconnects, and what maintain whole city uses electrical equalization and electricity consumption overall control”),
t
wherein the utility meter, the first fog processing system, the cloud processing system and (see Fig. 1 meter transmit data to fog devices and fog devices transmit the data to cloud devices, thus, there is communication with one another); and
While Wang teaches that the data transmitted is in bits and wireless transmission is used which indicates that bits information are sent, which suggest that some kind of digital conversion occurred. However, Wang does not explicitly teach:
the meter comprising an analog-to-digital (A/D) converter configured to convert the electrical characteristic to raw consumption data describing the electricity usage by the customer premises (the raw data has been interpreted as digital data converted from an analog data or simply as any data related to the electrical characteristic measured since the disclosure does not define the term “raw’), and While Wang teaches an Openstack cloud platform for communicating, wherein openstack is an infrastructure that enables various devices to communicate among each other, Wang does not explicitly teach
assigning, by the utility meter, the raw consumption data based on a communication technology between the utility meter and a fog processing system;
the utility meter, the first fog processing system, the cloud processing system and the headend system configured to communicate via a common message bus, wherein the common message bus is external to the utility meter, the first fog processing system, and the cloud processing system, and is implemented by utilizing a common data model (this message bus is exemplified as see 0027 “Generally, a message bus is a messaging infrastructure that enables various devices to use a shared interface), wherein the first set of endpoints comprises at least one other utility meter that has less processing capability than the utility meter due to its use of different hardware, software and wherein the first set of endpoints are associated with a common transformer and the first fog processing system is configured to determine a load on the common transformer;
transmitting, by the utility meter, the raw consumption data describing the electricity usage to a cloud processing system distinct from the fog processing system, wherein the cloud processing system is configured to compute time of use data based on the first load profile data computed by the fog processing system,
transmitting, by the utility meter, the raw consumption data describing the electricity usage to a headend system distinct from the cloud processing system, wherein the headend system performs data processing on the raw consumption data and performs processing on the time of use data computed by the cloud processing system to perform billing tasks;
transmitting, by the utility meter, the raw consumption data to the fog processing system, and the cloud processing system and the headend system by routing the raw consumption data through a gateway, wherein the gateway is configured to convert the raw consumption data from the utility meter into data appropriate for transmission through the common message bus prior to routing that data, and to convert data received via the common message bus from the fog processing system and the cloud processing system and the headend system into a format that is understandable by the utility meter.
However, Sanderford teaches system comprising a set of endpoints (smart meters 10; see Fig. 11 smart meters 10), wherein the set of endpoints comprises a utility electrical meter, wherein each utility electrical meter comprising an analog-to-digital (A/D) converter configured to convert the electrical characteristic to raw consumption data describing the electricity usage by the customer premises (the raw data has been interpreted as digital data or simply as any data related to the electrical characteristic measured since the instant invention disclosure states that the A/D converter outputs raw consumption data in 0003; see Sanderford Fig. 1 Meter 10 connected to a grid 12 and a load 14; also, see [0049] “the electric meter 10 is positioned between a line connection 12 and a load connection 14 as is typical. The electricity meter includes a current sensor 16 that senses the current being drawn by the load from the line connection. As illustrated in FIG. 1, the current sensor 16 can be one of two different types of current sensors”; see Fig. 4 A/D converter and see [0050] “the current sensor 16 feeds the sensed current through an amplifier 18 and into an analog-to-digital converter 20”), and wherein the first set of endpoints are associated with a common transformer and the system is configured to determine a load on the common transformer (see [0138] “…to determining the aggregate load presented to the transformer by determining which neighboring meters are also connected to that transformer. It recognizes these neighboring meters by injecting a power line carrier term or message into the transformer side of the meter whereby the other meters similarly attached to this same transformer are able to receive and demodulate that tone. Upon receiving the tone or message, the other meters reply with their _configuration ID_. In this manner, each meter knows the identity of the other meters that share the same transformer. This information can be used between the meters to totalize the total power demanded from the transformer at any point in time…”) , and transmitting, by the utility meter, the raw consumption data describing the electricity usage to a headend system distinct from the cloud processing system, wherein the headend system performs data processing on the raw consumption data, and performs data processing on a time of use data, and perform billing tasks based on the time of use data (a headend system has been interpreted in the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) in light of the disclosure as a central processing system or a utility company computer system; Sanderford teaches a headend system/central processing system, wherein data is transmitted from a remote meter system to the headend system, see [0053], [0103] and [0153]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Wang’s invention to include the set of endpoints comprises a utility electrical meter, wherein each utility electrical meter comprising an analog-to-digital (A/D) converter configured to convert the electrical characteristic to raw consumption data describing the electricity usage by the customer premises, and to include in the fog processing system of Wang the function of wherein the first set of endpoints are associated with a common transformer and to determine a load on the common transformer, and transmitting, by the utility meter, the raw consumption data describing the electricity usage to a headend system distinct from the cloud processing system, wherein the headend system performs data processing on the raw consumption data, and performs data processing on a time of use data, and perform billing tasks based on the time of use data as taught by Sanderford in order to convert the data to digital data so that can be read and processed by a computer/microcontroller (see [0102]) and to detect the total power consumed from a transformer for analysis and monitoring purposes (see [0138] “…An overloaded condition can be measured against the pre-set limit …and annunciated to the utility the communications means provided on the instant disclosure overloads…”; also, see [0156] to detect theft of energy).
Sanderford also teaches a function of computing first load profile by performing utility consumption load profiling on the raw consumption data (see [0119] “The processing means 28 of the electric meter 10 communicates load signature profiles from the processing means 28 back to the processor 112”; also, see [0152] “The instant disclosure includes the processing necessary to calculate kilowatt hours, peak demand, kVAR, and when that power is utilized”) and the cloud processing system is configured to compute time of use data based on the first load profile data (see [0151-0152] “Billing & Tou [0152] The instant disclosure includes the processing necessary to calculate kilowatt hours, peak demand, kVAR, and when that power is utilized. This information can be provided in 1 min, 5 min, 15 min, or hourly intervals).
While Wang teaches a plurality of fog devices (fog devices 3), and while Sanderford teaches a function of performing TOU processing (see Sanderford 0151-0152 and [0162], [0166]), Wang-Sanderford wherein the cloud processing system is configured to compute time of use data based on the first load profile data computed by the first fog processing system and based on the second load profile data computed by the second fog processing system. However, Rijo teaches a Fog based power distribution system comprising a cloud processing system (see Fig. 1 cloud device 108), wherein the cloud processing system is configured to compute time of use data based on load profile data computed by a fog processing system (see page 13 lines 16-24 “The cloud agent device 108 is configured to communicate with the fog agent device 106 to receive the consumption trends/load profile data. The cloud agent device 108 analyzes the consumption trends based on a second set of user-defined parameters to suggest the demand reduction program for each of the meter agent devices 102-
20 1, 102-2, 102-3, …, 102-n…”; also, see page 21 claim 1 lines 11-24 “ fog agent device (106) configured to cooperate with said reader device (104) to receive said power consumption data from said reader device (104) and process said power consumption data based on a first set of parameters derived from predefined policy markers to provide a 15 consumption trend for each of said plurality of meter agent devices (102-1, 102-2, 102-3, …, 102-n); and a cloud agent device (108) configured to communicate with said fog agent device (106) to receive said consumption trends from said fog agent device (106) and is further configured to analyze said consumption trends based on a second set of user-defined parameters to suggest a demand reduction program for each of the plurality of
meter agent devices (102-1, 102-2, 102-3, …, 102-n),…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Wang-Sanderford’s combination as taught above to include a step or function of wherein the cloud processing system is configured to compute time of use data based on load profile data computed by a fog processing system as taught by Rijo in order to generate a proposal of time of use data such as power distribution demand during peak hours for some meters or appliances connected to some meters (see page 23 claims 8 and 10 “wherein said cloud agent device (108) comprises:
a demand management module (107) configured to receive said rank information of each of said one or more appliances from said ranking module, wherein said demand management module (107) is configured to generate a usage proposal for each meter agent device based on said rank information… wherein said usage proposal includes one or more negotiations, said one or more negotiations including at least one of: usage of said renewable energy source of power during said identified non-peak hours; and usage of said renewable energy source of power during said identified peak hours for an appliance.”; also, see page 4 lines 8-10 “a fog based smart energy management system focused on needs of the user for electricity consumption during peak and non-peak hours”) and perform the same function for each and/or a second fog processing device as taught by Wang.
While Sanderford teaches a headend system receiving TOU data for billing purposes, and Rijo teaches wherein the cloud processing system is configured to compute time of use data based on load profile data, Wang-Sanderford-Rijo does not explicitly teach wherein the headend system is configured to perform data processing on the time of use data computed by the cloud processing system, wherein the headend system is configured to perform billing tasks based on the time of use data computed by the cloud processing system (in other words, the headend system receives the Tou data from the cloud computer in order to perform process the TOU data and perform billing tasks on the time of use).
However, Perry teaches a power monitoring system comprising a headend system (see Fig. 1 and 2 power utility computer system 50), wherein the headend system is configured to perform data processing on the time of use data computed by a cloud processing system (the monitoring server 32 acts as clouding analysis system; also, see [0054] “FIG. 5 illustrates principal steps involved in processing the power consumption information at the monitoring service server 32. In step 150 the power consumption information is received. The monitoring service server 32 uses messages that convey the power consumption information to identify the power consumer site 10 (step 152)…The stored power consumption information is analyzed by the monitoring service using known statistical methods. The analysis may involve computing mean power consumption values for similar power consuming devices…”), wherein the headend system is configured to perform billing tasks based on the time of use data computed by the cloud processing system (see [0050] “The power utility company 21 preferably receives both the aggregate power consumption profiles/TOU and the power consumption information/TOU for power consumers who subscribe to an itemized billing service from the monitoring service server 32 via the Internet using encrypted messaging. The analysis workstation 50 sends the power consumption information of the itemized billing subscribers to an automated billing system for handling the itemized billing information. The automated billing system issues the itemized bill 66 to the power consumer”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Wang-Sanderford-Rijo’s combination as taught above to include the headend system, wherein the headend system is configured to perform data processing on the time of use data computed by the cloud processing system, wherein the headend system is configured to perform billing tasks based on the time of use data computed by the cloud processing system as taught by Perry in order to an itemized bill to a consumer (see [0061]) and reduce the overhead processing at the headend system by using TOU data processes at a cloud/middle computer.
While Wang teaches an Openstack cloud platform for communicating, wherein openstack is an infrastructure that enables various devices to communicate among each other, Wang-Sanderford-Rijo-Perry still does not explicitly teach communicating via a common message bus, wherein the common message bus is external to the utility meter, the first fog processing system, and the cloud processing system, and is implemented by utilizing a common data model (this message bus is exemplified as see 0027 “Generally, a message bus is a messaging infrastructure that enables various devices to use a shared interface”. The term “common”, “message bus”, “data model” has been interpreted in the broadest reasonable interpretation. The disclosure does not teach as specific definition for these terms. Therefore, the BRI of common is that is used by two or more components of the group. Message bus is any infrastructure that allows messages/data to be transmitted; data model seems to refer to a protocol, rules or standard used for the transmission of the data as it is well used in the art of telecommunications wherein any data medium or bus generally uses a data model/protocol to prevent any attack or for safety reasons), and wherein the utility meter is configured to transmit the raw consumption data to the remote processing system by routing the raw consumption data through a gateway, wherein the gateway is configured to convert the raw consumption data from the utility meter into data appropriate for transmission through the message bus prior to routing that data, and to convert data received via the common message bus from the remote processing system into a format that is understandable by the utility meter.
However, Malladi teaches an edge system comprising a message bus allowing communication among a cloud device, fog/edge device, headend system and meters/sensors (see Fig. 5 there is a communication path or message bus between cloud device, edge device or gateway and sensors devices 523; servers 112 or clients 116 as headend systems), wherein a sensor/utility meter is configured to transmit raw consumption data to a remote processing system by routing the raw consumption data through a gateway (see Fig. 5 sensor/meter data is transmitted to remote processing device 412 via gateway 406, and see [0081] “…. The data bus also includes a “decoder service” that enriches the incoming data from the sensors by decoding the raw binary data into consumable data formats (such as JSON) and also decorating with additional necessary and useful metadata…”, thus data is converted before being sent to the message us or communication path between the gateway and the cloud computer 412, edge device 552/412 and meters 523 ), and wherein the gateway is configured to convert the raw consumption data from the sensor/utility meter into data appropriate for transmission through a message bus prior to routing that data (see [0081] “…see Fig. 5 sensor/meter data is transmitted to remote processing device 412 via gateway 406, and see [0081] “…. The data bus also includes a “decoder service” that enriches the incoming data from the sensors by decoding the raw binary data into consumable data formats (such as JSON) and also decorating with additional necessary and useful metadata…”), transmitting, by the sensor/utility meter, the raw data describing the sensor data to a cloud processing system distinct from the fog processing system (see Fig. 5 and see [0086] “] Data publication 518 includes a data publisher 570 that is connected to a storage location 573 in the cloud… Data publication 518 includes a data publisher 570 that is connected to a storage location 573 in the cloud.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Wang-Sanderford-Rijo-Perry’s combination as taught above to include a message bus allowing communication among a cloud device, fog/edge device, meters/sensors, and headend devices, wherein a sensor/utility meter is configured to transmit raw consumption data to a remote processing system by routing the raw consumption data through a gateway, transmitting, by the sensor/utility meter, the raw consumption data transmitted to a cloud processing system distinct from the fog processing system, and wherein the gateway is configured to convert the raw consumption data from the sensor/utility meter into data appropriate for transmission through a message bus prior to routing that data as taught by Malladi in order to transmit data in a safe and reliable manner (see [0018] “…The method can include: enriching the ingested data in real time through a data enrichment component and making the ingested data available on the data bus. Enrichment can include, but is not limited to, data decoding, metadata decoration, data normalization, and the like…” ; also, see [0081-0082]) and transmit Wang’s combination type of raw data such power consumption /usages data as previously stated.
While the combination of Wang-Sanderford-Rijo-Perry-Malladi and specifically Rijo teaches that the remote processing system (cloud and/or fog devices) sending back data to smart meters for control and/or configuration, Wang-Sanderford-Rijo-Perry-Malladi still does not explicitly teach wherein the gateway is configured to convert data received via the common message bus from the remote processing system and headend system into a format that is understandable by the utility meter.
However, Liu et a teaches a gateway configured to convert data received via a message bus from a remote processing system and/or headend system into a format that is understandable by controllers including meters (see fig. 1 smart meter 130-2, cloud computer 110, and gateway/access points 120 that include a gateway; see [0159] “…the server 110 may access the meter 130, …through the network 120. As another example, the server 110 may be directly connected to the meter 130, the client terminal 140, and the smart device 150 to access stored information and/or data. In some embodiments, the server 110 may be implemented on a cloud platform. For example, the cloud platform may include private cloud, public cloud, hybrid cloud, community cloud, distributed cloud, inter-cloud, multiple clouds, etc.,…”; also, see [0161] and [0166-0167] also, see [0168] and [0170] “…the gateway controlling module 102 may obtain the first control data by communicating with the server 110 …based on a first communication protocol. In some embodiments, the first control data may be encapsulated according to the first communication protocol and may be configured to control the first preset target device to perform the first operation…the first preset target device may be one or more electric meters…”, 0171 “Step 220, converting the operation identifier corresponding to the first operation into an operation instruction. In some embodiments, Step 220 may be implemented by the data processing module 101”; [0174] “…In some embodiments, the wireless communicating module 103 may send the operation instruction to the first preset target device based on a second communication protocol…”; and see [0178] “The gateway controlling module may be configured to receive a first control data issued by a server and/or a client terminal for controlling a first preset target device to perform a first operation, generate a first data packet including the first control data, send the first data packet to the data processing module, receive a second data packet sent by the data processing module, and send the second data packet to the wireless communicating module.; also, see [0181]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Wang-Sanderford-Rijo-Perry-Malladi’s combination as taught above to include a gateway configured to convert data received via a message bus from a remote processing system including fog and cloud computers and a headend system (of Sanderford or Perry) into a format that is understandable by controllers including meters as taught by Liu in order to allow a cloud computer to send control or configuration data to remote smart meters using the conversions of data of the gateway (see [0174, 0178, and [0181]).
However, while is clear that Wang, Liu and Malladi teach fog devices, cloud devices, meter devices, and headend devices communicating among them through certain paths, networks or communication buses, wherein the communication is external to these components, Wang-Sanderford-Rijo-Perry--Malladi-Liu does not explicitly teach communicating via a common message bus, wherein the common message bus is external to the utility meter, the first fog processing system, and the cloud processing system, and is implemented by utilizing a common data model (this message bus is exemplified as recited in the published original disclosure see 0027 “Generally, a message bus is a messaging infrastructure that enables various devices to use a shared interface”. The term “common”, “message bus”, “data model” has been interpreted in the broadest reasonable interpretation. The disclosure does not teach as specific definition for these terms. Therefore, the BRI of common is that the bus is used and allows communication between two or more components of the group. Message bus is any infrastructure that allows messages/data to be transmitted; data model seems to refer to a protocol, rules or standard used for the transmission of the data as it is used in the art of telecommunications wherein any data medium or bus generally uses a data model/protocol to prevent any attack or for safety reasons).
However, Wouhaybi teaches a system comprising a meter, a cloud processing system, and a fog processing system/edge device configured to communicate one another via a common message bus (see Fig. 1 A-B message bus 112, meters/field devices sensors 161…, cloud system 180, fog/edge devices 115; also, see [0012] and [0022] “…fog device…”; also, see [0040]; also, headend systems 115), wherein the common message bus is external to the meter, the first fog processing system, and the cloud processing system (see Fig. 1A-B the message bus is external to all the components such the sensors, cloud devices, and fog devices), and is implemented by utilizing a common data model (see [0042] “…the control messages bus 112 may enable use of Ethernet transports with time-sensitivity, such as through Ethernet-based time-sensitive networking (TSN) open standards (e.g., the IEEE 802.1 TSN Task Group). Further, use of the control messages bus 112 may allow greater performance and scale at the cloud server rack level and across large networked or chassis of edge nodes”; also, see [0043]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Wang-Sanderford-Rijo-Perry-Malladi-Liu’s combination as taught above to include a meter, a cloud processing system, and a fog processing system/edge device configured to communicate one another via a common message bus, wherein the common message bus is external to the meter, the first fog processing system, and the cloud processing system, and is implemented by utilizing a common data model as taught by Wouhaybi in order to allow communication between a plurality of components with greater performance (see [0040], [0042] “greater performance”), reliability and security (see [003]] and [0042-0043]; the system or message bus uses standards or protocols that provides reliability and security in data communication).
While Wang teaches the Zigbee communication, Sanderford teaches wireless transmission including mesh network, Liu teaches wireless communication including Zigbee and while Perry and Malladi suggest any wireless protocol or network can be used, this combination of references does not explicitly teach assigning, by the utility meter, the raw consumption data based on a communication technology between the utility meter and a fog processing system (for purposes of compact prosecution, this function will be interpreted as suggested in the arguments and as suggested in the disclosure [0055] a connection between two components such as a meter and fog device is established based on achieving a high received Signal Strength Indicator (RSSI) signal strength).
Jones teaches a system and methods to establish communication between two devices comprising assigning, by a meter, the data based on a communication technology between the meter and a first processing system (see Fig. 2 and Fig. 3 communication between sensors/meters devices and first processing system 156 or 126; in a first embodiment, the meter/sensor assigns/transmits the data to another processing system based on receiving a response, see Col 10 lines 23-34 and Col 11 lines 1-65 wherein the meter determines the shortest path between the meter and the destination computer system; see Col 12 lines 11-15 and 52-65 “…That is, based on the RREP messages received, the source radio may establish point-to-point communication with a specific, preferred one of the station radios for more effective and reliable communication of messages on the network along a preferred path having the best metric….”; also, see Fig. 2 communication between sensors/meters devices and first processing system 156 or 126 also, see Col 5 lines 13-26 “FIG. 2 schematically illustrates an exemplary installation layout of a communications network 120 established with radio devices such as the devices 100 described above. In FIG. 2, the radio devices are generally indicated as part of sensor communication nodes 154 or control communication nodes 156. As shown in FIG. 2, the sensor nodes 154 are associated with one or more sensors at specific points of interest in the industrial process, while the control nodes 156 are associated with sensor nodes 154. Generally speaking, the sensor nodes 154 transmit data signals including state information as detected by the sensors, and the control nodes 156 establish communication paths to and from the sensor nodes 154 and remote command and control centers for the SCADA system”; also, see Col 6 lines 1-23, see Col 7 lines 25-38, Col 8 lines 32-35 “The network 120 may generally be used in a wide variety of industrial applications. Exemplary applications may include:… utility distribution (e.g., natural gas and electric power systems and distribution networks); also, see Col 10 line 63 to Col 11 line 19; also, see Col 18 lines 19-65 “In a multi-path communications network of the type described, instantaneous signal strength has sometimes been utilized to determine link suitability for transmission of messages between neighboring radio devices in the network… it is desirable that any given radio device has some ability to evaluate the reliability of the links to the neighboring radio devices, and therefore can intelligently decide to utilize only reliable paths for message transmissions, and to disregard unreliable links that may be problematic if utilized to send messages… The RSSI values can then be utilized as indicators of link reliability for routing messages through the network. As such, the communication signal paths, referred to herein as links, between neighboring radios having unacceptable RSSI values will not be utilized as message routes. Alternatively stated, for any given radio device, only links corresponding to neighboring radios having acceptable RSSI values will be utilized to route messages through the network…”, thus a source device assigns the transmission of data to a destination or neighbor device based on strength signal indicator (RSSI); also, see Col 21 lines 43-67 and Col 22).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Wang’s combination as taught above to include assigning, by a meter, the data based on a communication technology between the meter and the first processing system as taught by Jones in order to allow the transmission of data between the fog computer system and the meter of Wang as taught above and to send data between two devices in a mor reliable, faster and stable network configuration based on the communication technology (see Col 22 lines 20-45 “Regardless of which value x has been provided, selected, or otherwise determined, by computing the x.sup.th percentile level and using it as a benchmark for RSSI evaluation, it can be ensured that messages will be communicated only on reliable links with neighboring radios… but the link will only be utilized if the calculated x.sup.th percentile level for RSSI is above the predetermined threshold… a failure of a transmitted message to be received on any given link is considerably less likely on links having the calculated x.sup.th percentile level above the threshold, while also ensuring that links most affected by multi-path fading (i.e., links having calculated x.sup.th percentile level below the threshold) are not utilized to route messages. More reliable, faster, and stable network operation due to less frequent network configuration is therefore possible”).
While Wang teaches collecting data from power meters or endpoints, the combination of Wang as taught above still does not explicitly teach wherein the first set of endpoints comprises the utility meter and at least one other utility meter that has less processing capability than the utility meter due to its use of different hardware, software, or firmware.
However, Osterloh teaches a system for collecting power data comprising a first set of endpoints comprises a utility meter and at least one other utility meter that has less processing capability than the utility meter due to its use of different hardware, software, or firmware (see Fig. 1 first utility meter/nodes 102(2), second utility meter 102(3), see [0020] “…the endpoints of a "star" network may include different communication and/or processing capabilities than nodes of a "mesh" network…”; also, see [0024] “…the nodes 102 may include different types of nodes (e.g., smart meters, cellular relays, sensors, etc.), different generations or models of nodes, and/or nodes that otherwise are capable of transmitting on different channels, frequencies and/or bandwidths and using different modulation schemes, data rates, protocols, signal strengths, and/or power levels. Accordingly, the architecture 100 may represent a heterogeneous network of nodes.”; also, see [0052]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified the combination of Wang as taught above to include the first set of endpoints comprises a utility meter and at least one other utility meter that has less processing capability than the utility meter due to its use of different hardware, software, or firmware as taught by Osterloh in order to reduce costs when it is not necessary to use the same endpoints or meters (see [0020] “the endpoints of a "star" network may include different communication and/or processing capabilities than nodes of a "mesh" network”. For instance, when different networks of communication configuration are used such as star or a mesh, different type of meters can be used with different capacities. See [0024], For instance, meters of different vendors which are programmed differently can be implemented. Also, configuring a meter closer to a relay or concentrator might need a different programming such as strength, channels, data rates, power level, than a meter with a farther distance, which will reduce the cost and use of energy in the meter), or to implement and use heterogeneous meters of different capacities according to the need of the system (also, see [0024] “…the nodes 102 may include different types of nodes (e.g., smart meters, cellular relays, sensors, etc.), different generations or models of nodes, and/or nodes that otherwise are capable of transmitting on different channels, frequencies and/or bandwidths and using different modulation schemes, data rates, protocols, signal strengths, and/or power levels. Accordingly, the architecture 100 may represent a heterogeneous network of nodes.”; also, see [0052]. For instance, meters of different vendors which are programmed differently can be implemented. Also, configuring a meter closer to a relay or concentrator might need a different programming such as strength, channels, data rates, power level, than a meter with a farther distance, which will reduce the cost and use of energy in the meter).
Claim(s) 5, 16-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al (CN 105376182 as supported by the machine translation provided) in view of Sanderford et al (US 20120041696), Rijo et al (IN IN201941004621A), Perry et al (US 20050116836), Malladi et al (US 20180300124), Liu et al (US 20210247426), Wouhaybi et al (US 20190042378), Jones et al (US 8654869) and Osterloh et al (US 20140029415) as applied to claim 1, 6, and 18 respectively above, and further in view of Kagan et al (US 20200064153).
As per claim 5, Wang-Sanderford-Rijo-Perry-Malladi-Liu-Wouhaybi-Jones-Osterloh teaches the utility meter of claim 1, Wang further teaches wherein the utility meter is associated with one or more (the system of Wang teaches that the fog-cloud system provides services such as mass storage, management, decision making, analysis, data processing performed at the fog-cloud computer devices, see page 2 par. 10 “described managing power network resources and distribution method comprise: concentrator/fog device data processing…”; also, see page 4 par. 7 and par. 9 “Concentrator mist unit: concentrator mutually cooperates and builds mist unit system structure and carry out Mass storage, communication and control, configuration, to measure and electric supply meter that management mist unit lower floor is connected” and “the mist unit of concentrator composition directly processes data, has processed and has directly been issued to electric supply meter and performs corresponding actions afterwards).The present invention is Real-Time Monitoring user power utilization information not only, also can realize intelligent specific user's power-off prompting and community intelligent power-off in batches, thus ensure that the efficient of Resource Distribute and management in intelligent grid”; also, see page 4 last paragraph; also, see page 6 steps S202-S204 involve data processing/analysis of the collected data from the first set of endpoints/meters inside respective regions; also, see page 6 flow process steps 1-7; also, see page 9 par. 12 “analyzes the total number of degrees of each community electricity consumption of whole city total electricity consumption number of degrees and the administration of each controller respectively”).
While Malladi suggests a MQTT service of publish and subscribe (see [0081), Wang’s combination as taught above does not explicitly teach that the services are subscription services.
However, Kagan teaches a cloud-based meter management system comprising providing subscription services by a remote processing system to be associated with a meter (see [0120] hosted data services; also, see [0129], [0135] “A single server (or cluster) provides access to the data of multiple customers, using security and API keys to segregate the data of one customer from another. Usage of the cloud server 602 may be a billed service, including upload of data, management of meters 604, 606, and retrieval of meter data…”; also, see [0175-0176] registering a meter; see [0264] “in one embodiment, billable extensions may be employed to restrict access to features based on whether the customer has paid for the feature. A Billable Extension Selection UI is provided by server 602 to be displayed on a client device to allow the user to enable or disable what features they want to pay for. The architecture of the system 600 is configured to restrict UI access and usage of billable features, so that they can only be used when enabled (and billed) for this customer”; also, see [0574-0575] “…If the customer does not pay the yearly invoice by the expiration date, the meter will automatically be disabled. After the customer's account has been set up, the number of meters a customer has enabled can be increased or decreased… Referring to FIG. 30, a flow diagram for the usage-based payment system of cloud server 602 is shown in accordance with the present disclosure… The flow diagram of FIG. 30 includes the following steps detailed below: [0576] Meters Registered 1202: Meters are registered from meter manager module, or directly from the meter itself. However, at this point, the meter is not enabled, and the user cannot access the data that has been uploaded. [0577] Customer Calls System Admin 1204: To enable access to meters, the customer contacts a system administrator, e.g., an entity that implemented the cloud system, to set up an Energy Cloud Billing Account…”; 0583-0584).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Wang’s combination as taught above to include providing subscription services by a remote processing system to be associated with a meter as taught by Kagan in order to allow a user to register and subscribe a meter for services provided by a remote processing system such as fog/manager and cloud system to o seamlessly and efficiently manage a plurality of meters or intelligent electronic devices (IEDs) disposed throughout various locations (see [0013]. also, cloud computing reduces the cost of having a super smart device performing all the services provided by the cloud system).
As per claim 16, Wang-Sanderford-Rijo-Perry-Malladi-Liu- Wouhaybi-Jones-Osterloh teaches the system of claim 6, While Wang teaches fog-cloud services and fog-cloud computing services used as pay as you go services (monitoring, data analysis, collection, control), Wang’s combination as taught above does not explicitly teach wherein a server adds a feature to the first utility meter by configuring a service in the remote processing system to process the consumption data from the utility meter.
However, Kagan teaches a cloud based meter management system comprising
a server adds a feature to a first utility meter by configuring a service in the remote processing system to process the consumption data from the utility meter (adding and configuring a service/feature in a remote system is equivalent to subscribe and register to a service/feature in a cloud system. Thus, Kagan teaches see [0120] hosted data services; also, see Fig. 5 and 6 server 602 provides and configures services for meters or users of meters; also, see [0129], [0135] “A single server (or cluster) provides access to the data of multiple customers, using security and API keys to segregate the data of one customer from another. Usage of the cloud server 602 may be a billed service, including upload of data, management of meters 604, 606, and retrieval of meter data…”; thus, the services need to be configured to be able to use them; also, see [0175-0176] registering a meter; see [0264] “in one embodiment, billable extensions may be employed to restrict access to features based on whether the customer has paid for the feature. A Billable Extension Selection UI is provided by server 602 to be displayed on a client device to allow the user to enable or disable what features they want to pay for. The architecture of the system 600 is configured to restrict UI access and usage of billable features, so that they can only be used when enabled (and billed) for this customer”; also, see [0574-0575] “…If the customer does not pay the yearly invoice by the expiration date, the meter will automatically be disabled. After the customer's account has been set up, the number of meters a customer has enabled can be increased or decreased… Referring to FIG. 30, a flow diagram for the usage-based payment system of cloud server 602 is shown in accordance with the present disclosure… The flow diagram of FIG. 30 includes the following steps detailed below: [0576] Meters Registered 1202: Meters are registered from meter manager module, or directly from the meter itself. However, at this point, the meter is not enabled, and the user cannot access the data that has been uploaded. [0577] Customer Calls System Admin 1204: To enable access to meters, the customer contacts a system administrator, e.g., an entity that implemented the cloud system, to set up an Energy Cloud Billing Account…”; 0583-0584)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Wang’s combination as taught above to include a server adds a feature to the utility meter by configuring a service in the remote processing system to process the consumption data from the utility meter as taught by Kagan in order to allow a user to register and subscribe a meter for services provided by a remote processing system such as fog/manager and cloud system to o seamlessly and efficiently manage a plurality of meters or intelligent electronic devices (IEDs) disposed throughout various locations (see [0013]. also, cloud computing reduces the cost of having a super smart device performing all the services provided by the cloud system).
As per claim 17, Wang-Sanderford-Rijo-Perry-Malladi-Liu- Wouhaybi-Jones-Osterloh-Kagan teaches the system of claim 16, Kagan further teaches wherein the server removes the feature from the first utility meter by configuring the service in the remote processing system to stop processing the consumption data from the utility meter (removing a service/feature in a remote system is equivalent to unsubscribe or disable a service/feature or access to the in a cloud system server. Thus, Kagan teaches see [0120] hosted data services; also, see Fig. 5 and 6 server 602 provides and configures services for meters or users of meters; also, see [0129], [0135] “A single server (or cluster) provides access to the data of multiple customers, using security and API keys to segregate the data of one customer from another. Usage of the cloud server 602 may be a billed service, including upload of data, management of meters 604, 606, and retrieval of meter data…”; thus, the services need to be configured to be able to use them; also, see [0175-0176] registering a meter; see [0264] “in one embodiment, billable extensions may be employed to restrict access to features based on whether the customer has paid for the feature. A Billable Extension Selection UI is provided by server 602 to be displayed on a client device to allow the user to enable or disable what features they want to pay for. The architecture of the system 600 is configured to restrict UI access and usage of billable features, so that they can only be used when enabled (and billed) for this customer”; also, see [0276] and [0574-0575] “…If the customer does not pay the yearly invoice by the expiration date, the meter will automatically be disabled. After the customer's account has been set up, the number of meters a customer has enabled can be increased or decreased… Referring to FIG. 30, a flow diagram for the usage-based payment system of cloud server 602 is shown in accordance with the present disclosure… The flow diagram of FIG. 30 includes the following steps detailed below: [0576] Meters Registered 1202: Meters are registered from meter manager module, or directly from the meter itself. However, at this point, the meter is not enabled, and the user cannot access the data that has been uploaded. [0577] Customer Calls System Admin 1204: To enable access to meters, the customer contacts a system administrator, e.g., an entity that implemented the cloud system, to set up an Energy Cloud Billing Account…”; 0582-0584).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Wang’s combination as taught above to include a server wherein the server removes the feature from the utility meter by configuring the service in the remote processing system to stop processing the consumption data from the utility meter as taught by Kagan in order to allow a user to register and subscribe a meter for services provided by a remote processing system such as fog/manager and cloud system to o seamlessly and efficiently manage a plurality of meters or intelligent electronic devices (IEDs) disposed throughout various locations (see [0013]. also, cloud computing reduces the cost of having a super smart device performing all the services provided by the cloud system).
As per claim 20, Wang-Sanderford-Rijo-Perry-Malladi-Liu- Wouhaybi-Jones-Osterloh teaches the method of claim 18, While cloud computing services are used as pay as you go services (monitoring, data analysis, collection, control), Wang’s combination as taught above does not explicitly teach further comprising: receiving a request to add a new subscription feature to the utility meter; and responsive to the request, configuring the utility meter to transmit the raw consumption data to a node in the fog processing system, the node in the fog processing system being associated with the new subscription feature.
However, Kagan teaches receiving a request to add a new subscription feature to the utility meter (see [0019] “one aspect, the at least one server includes at least one REST web service that receives at least one request from the at least one client device and provide a response to the at least one request”; also, see Fig. 8 register/request to add one or more meters to services provided by a cloud system; also, see [0125], [0166] “All requests to any of the services, e.g., service 818, 820, 882, always go through the web application firewall (WAF) 810 first and will be blocked if the firewall has an issue with the incoming request”); and responsive to the request, configuring the utility meter to transmit the raw consumption data to a node in the fog processing system, the node in the fog processing system being associated with the new subscription feature (see adding and configuring a service/feature in a remote system is equivalent to subscribe and register to a service/feature in a cloud system. Once the meter is registered and enabled, the meter is configured and can send data to the fog system and is associated with the feature/services that the user paid for. The node is any software or application in the fog system or cloud system performing the service. Thus, Kagan teaches see [0120] hosted data services; also, see Fig. 5 and 6 server 602 provides and configures services for meters or users of meters; also, see [0129], [0135] “A single server (or cluster) provides access to the data of multiple customers, using security and API keys to segregate the data of one customer from another. Usage of the cloud server 602 may be a billed service, including upload of data, management of meters 604, 606, and retrieval of meter data…”; thus, the services need to be configured to be able to use them; also, see [0175-0176] registering a meter; see [0264] “in one embodiment, billable extensions may be employed to restrict access to features based on whether the customer has paid for the feature. A Billable Extension Selection UI is provided by server 602 to be displayed on a client device to allow the user to enable or disable what features they want to pay for. The architecture of the system 600 is configured to restrict UI access and usage of billable features, so that they can only be used when enabled (and billed) for this customer”; also, see [0574-0575] “…If the customer does not pay the yearly invoice by the expiration date, the meter will automatically be disabled. After the customer's account has been set up, the number of meters a customer has enabled can be increased or decreased… Referring to FIG. 30, a flow diagram for the usage-based payment system of cloud server 602 is shown in accordance with the present disclosure… The flow diagram of FIG. 30 includes the following steps detailed below: [0576] Meters Registered 1202: Meters are registered from meter manager module, or directly from the meter itself. However, at this point, the meter is not enabled, and the user cannot access the data that has been uploaded. [0577] Customer Calls System Admin 1204: To enable access to meters, the customer contacts a system administrator, e.g., an entity that implemented the cloud system, to set up an Energy Cloud Billing Account…”; 0583-0584).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Wang’s combination as taught above to include receiving a request to add a new subscription feature to the utility meter; and responsive to the request, configuring the utility meter to transmit the raw consumption data to a node in the fog processing system, the node in the fog processing system being associated with the new subscription feature as taught by Kagan in order to allow a user to register and subscribe a meter for services provided by a remote processing system such as fog/manager and cloud system to seamlessly and efficiently manage a plurality of meters or intelligent electronic devices (IEDs) disposed throughout various locations and process the data received from the meter and provide the services requested and enabled (see [0013]. also, cloud computing reduces the cost of having a super smart device performing all the services provided by the cloud system).
Claim(s) 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al (CN 105376182 as supported by the machine translation provided) in view of Sanderford et al (US 20120041696), Rijo et al (IN IN201941004621A), Perry et al (US 20050116836), Malladi et al (US 20180300124) Liu et al (US 20210247426), Wouhaybi et al (US 20190042378), Jones et al (US 8654869) and Osterloh et al (US 20140029415) as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Gil Bulacio et al (US 20190392328).
As per claim 15, Wang-Sanderford-Rijo-Perry-Malladi-Liu-Wouhaybi-Jones-Osterloh teaches the system of claim 6, while Wang teaches providing services to meters based on the fog-cloud scheme, Wang-s combination does not explicitly teach wherein a server updates a feature associated with the first utility meter by updating a service in the remote processing system.
However, Gil Bulacio teaches a system comprising a remote processing system, wherein a server updates a feature associated with a first utility meter by updating a service in the remote processing system (see Fig. 3 analytics 112 is a server/computer; also, see [0004] “… (i) the sensor data is to be transmitted across the computer network to the set of remote computer servers for further use by at least one computer selected from the group consisting of a first special-purpose computer and a second special-purpose computer or (ii) an analytics operation is to be generated on the sensor data at the edge of the computer network; the first special-purpose computer that is configured to perform analytics on the sensor data by implementing an algorithmic process stored at the remote computer servers, wherein the process includes an analysis of data received by the remote computer servers” also, see [0024], [0034], and [0041]; also, see [0027] “analytics system 112, which will execute any training data, new updates, and so on”; also, see [0028] “Here, a device may provide unique and personal services which can be modified only by calls of the APIs and/or cognitive computing system 114 in parameters that are required to update for a particular measurement, for example, according to a particular line of business”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Wang’s combination as taught above to include a remote processing system, wherein a server updates a feature associated with the first utility meter by updating a service in the remote processing system as taught by Gil Bulacio in order to modify services at the processing system to be used by a plurality of endpoints nodes/meters instead of modifying each endpoint node/meter in order to save time and costs (since the services data storage, analytics, decision making and other are stored at the cloud or the fog systems, is easy to change or update the services in a centralized manner at the remote computers. This save cost of transmitting updates to a plurality of meters. Gil Bulacio teaches that the updated can be done by easily calling APIs to change the services for specific parameters, see [0028]).
Claim(s) 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al (CN 105376182 as supported by the machine translation provided) in view of Sanderford et al (US 20120041696) Sanderford et al (US 20120041696), Rijo et al (IN IN201941004621A), Perry et al (US 20050116836), Malladi et al (US 20180300124), Liu et al (US 20210247426), Wouhaybi et al (US 20190042378), Jones et al (US 8654869), and Osterloh et al (US 20140029415) as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Houlette et al (US 20160146866).
As per claim 19, Wang-Sanderford-Rijo-Perry-Malladi-Liu-Wouhaybi-Jones-Osterloh teaches the method of claim 18, Wang further teaches wherein the real-time data stream describes electricity usage (see page 6 pars. 13-16 “Specific implementation flow process: 1: each community each user intelligent electric meter composition ZigBee ad-hoc network is communicated by wireless with each community concentrator; Arrange timer in 2:zigbee ad-hoc network and realize intelligent electric meter batch (-type) from trend concentrator transmitting real-time data, tables of data comprises identifier, the ammeter number of degrees, deadline (it is which floor which user of a few unit in which community, deadline are for collecting this data time that identifier identifies these data…. concentrator extracts the identifier in ZigBee tables of data and the corresponding ammeter number of degrees and filters out the user that the real-time electricity consumption number of degrees are greater than 250 degree…”; also, see page 4 par. 9 “The present invention is Real-Time Monitoring user power utilization information”).
Wang clearly teaches real time transmission of data and real monitoring of data. In the BRI Real time means/suggests or includes sub second transmission. This suggest that the monitoring and collection of data is in real time, which indicates that the measurements are also in real time. However, for purposes of compact prosecution, the following reference is relied upon, since Wang-Sanderford does not explicitly teach describing electricity usage at sub-second intervals (interpreted as interval of less than one second).
However, Houlette teaches a meter collecting, describing, and transmitting a real time data stream electricity usage at sub-second intervals (see [0034] “Power monitor 120 may also determine real-time information about power used by individual devices in the home and transmit this real-time information to other computers, such as server computer 140 or user device 150 …For example, power monitor may determine on predetermined intervals, such as ten second intervals, three second intervals, one second intervals, or sub-second intervals, the power used by multiple devices in the home…”; also, see [0035] “smart meter”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Wang’s combination as taught above to include a meter collecting and transmitting a real time data stream describing electricity usage at sub-second intervals as taught by Houlette in order to allow a system to disaggregate loads and obtain information about devices in a home (see [0034]) and also to provide consumption data at interval that allows faster monitoring, processing, analysis and control of the power distribution (see [0037] and [0166).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon, as cited in PTO form 892, is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ollukaren et al (US 9967235) teaches a system comprising meter of different vendors with different protocol programming and thus different processing capabilities (see Col 5 line 35-60).
Lowe (US 5691634) teaches a system using different meters with different configuration hardware, thus, different processing capabilities (see Col 4 line 1-10).
Qi et al (US 20200296203) teaches a system using meter of different brand (0046 In some cases, the first power meter may be of a first brand and the second power meter may be of a different brand).
Harding (US 20150212126) teaches a system using meter of different vendors with different configuration software (see 0024-0055 “..the power quality server 20 communicates to a plurality of heterogeneous devices 10 collecting real time, log and waveform data 12 for transmission to a database serve… The devices 10 may be disparate devices 10 procured from different vendors, thus having disparate communication protocols 54. Examples of communication protocols 54 supported by the power quality system 100 are Modbus-TCP and Ethernet/IP, by way of non-limiting example ).
Examiner respectfully requests, in response to this Office action, support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line number(s) in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist Examiner in prosecuting the application.
When responding to this Office Action, Applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Applicant must also show how the amendments avoid or differentiate from such references or objections. See 37 CFR 1.111 (c).
/O. L./
Examiner, Art Unit 2117
/ROBERT E FENNEMA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2117