Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Felt (US 2019/0257502) in view of Toro Ratchet Clamps (See IDS filed 12/16/2020).
Claim 1: Felt teaches a lighting attachment apparatus, comprising: a body (1, fig. 3) having a proximal end (end of 18, fig. 3) and a distal end (end of 10, fig. 3); an attachment member (3, fig. 3) disposed at the proximal end (see fig. 3) of the body for removably attaching the body to a structure (clip to shingles, see para [0039]), wherein the attachment member (3) comprises: an elongated member (2a, 2b, fig. 3) for engaging against a structure, a flexible clamp (8, fig. 1) for securely holding the structure against the elongated member (2a, 2b), an aperture (3, fig. 3) disposed through the elongated member (2a, 2b) and sized to receive an end of the flexible clamp (8); and a light bulb receiver coupling member (10) disposed at the distal end of the body (1), wherein the light bulb receiver coupling member (10) comprises: a first arm (left arm of 16a, fig. 3) for engaging a first side (left side of 10, fig. 3) of a light bulb receiver (12, fig. 4), a second arm (right arm of 16b, fig. 3) for engaging a second side of the light bulb receiver (right side of 10, fig. 3) opposite the first side of the light bulb receiver (left side of 10),
However, Felt fails to teach the light bulb receiver coupling member comprises a first set of teeth disposed on an end of the first arm, a second set of teeth disposed on an end of the second arm and for engaging with the first set of teeth to secure the first arm against the first side of the light bulb receiver and the second arm against the second side of the light bulb receiver.
Toro teaches a light bulb receiver coupling member (see annotated figure) comprises a first arm (first arm, see annotated fig) for engaging a first side of a light bulb receiver (left side, see annotated figure), a first set of teeth (first teeth, see annotated figure) disposed on an end of the first arm (see annotated figure), a second arm (second arm, see annotated figure) for engaging a second side of the light bulb receiver (right side) opposite the first side of the light bulb receiver (left side), a second set of teeth (second teeth, see annotated figure) disposed on an end of the second arm (see annotated figure) and for engaging with the first set of teeth to secure the first arm against the first side of the light bulb receiver and the second arm against the second side of the light bulb receiver (see description of Toro ratchet clamps).
Therefore, in view of Toro, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the light bulb receiver coupling member of Adams by adding a first set of teeth disposed on an end of the first arm, a second set of teeth disposed on an end of the second arm and for engaging with the first set of teeth to secure the first arm against the first side of the light bulb receiver and the second arm against the second side of the light bulb receiver, in order to further secure the bulb in position and prevent dislodgement.
Claim 2: Felt teaches the elongated member (2a, 2b) is flat (flat portion of 2b, fig. 4) for engaging against a roof shingle (shingle, see para [0039]) or a wall of a rain gutter.
Claim 3: Felt teaches the flexible clamp (8) is shaped for securely holding the roof shingle against the flat elongated member or for securely holding the wall of the rain gutter against the flat elongated member (see para [[0039]).
Claim 4: Felt teaches the first arm (left arm of 16a, fig. 3) comprises a curvature (curvature of left arm 16a) to wrap around the first side of the light bulb receiver (10), and wherein the second arm (right arm of 16b, fig. 3) comprises a curvature (curvature of left arm 16b) to wrap around the second side of the light bulb receiver (10).
Claim 5: Felt fails to teach the first set of teeth ratchet over the second set of teeth to increase a force applied by the first arm on the first side of the light bulb receiver and to increase a force applied by the second arm on the second side of the light bulb receiver.
Toro teaches the first set of teeth (see annotated figure) ratchet over the second set of teeth (see annotated figure) to increase a force applied (force applied is increased as more teeth between the arms are engaged) by the first arm on the first side of the light bulb receiver (see annotated figure) and to increase a force applied (force applied is increased as more teeth between the arms are engaged) by the second arm on the second side of the light bulb receiver (see description).
Therefore, in view of Toro, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the light bulb receiver coupling member of Adams by adding a first set of teeth disposed on an end of the first arm, a second set of teeth disposed on an end of the second arm and for engaging with the first set of teeth where the first set of teeth ratchet over the second set of teeth to increase a force applied by the first arm on the first side of the light bulb receiver and to increase a force applied by the second arm on the second side of the light bulb receiver, in order to further secure the bulb in position and prevent dislodgement.
Claim 6: Felt fails to teach the first set of teeth ratchet over the second set of teeth and increase a number teeth from the first set of teeth that engage with teeth from the second set of teeth.
Toro teaches the first set of teeth (first teeth, see annotated figure) ratchet over (see description) the second set of teeth (second teeth, see annotated figure) and increase a number teeth from the first set of teeth that engage with teeth from the second set of teeth (first teeth and second teeth engage more as the arms are pushed together).
Therefore, in view of Toro, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the light bulb receiver coupling member of Adams by adding a first set of teeth disposed on an end of the first arm, a second set of teeth disposed on an end of the second arm and for engaging with the first set of teeth where the first set of teeth ratchet over the second set of teeth to increase a force applied by the first arm on the first side of the light bulb receiver and to increase a force applied by the second arm on the second side of the light bulb receiver, in order to further secure the bulb in position and prevent dislodgement.
Claim 7: Felt fails to teach the first arm comprises a first tooth clamp to engage a surface of the second arm that is opposite from the second set of teeth for forcing the second set of teeth against the first set of teeth.
Toro teaches the first arm (first arm, see annotated figure) comprises a first tooth clamp (first teeth, see annotated figure) to engage a surface of the second arm (lower surface of second arm, see annotated figure) that is opposite from the second set of teeth (second teeth) for forcing the second set of teeth against the first set of teeth (see figure).
Therefore, in view of Toro, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the light bulb receiver coupling member of Adams by adding a first set of teeth disposed on an end of the first arm, a second set of teeth disposed on an end of the second arm and for engaging with the first set of teeth where the first set of teeth ratchet over the second set of teeth to increase a force applied by the first arm on the first side of the light bulb receiver and to increase a force applied by the second arm on the second side of the light bulb receiver, in order to further secure the bulb in position and prevent dislodgement.
Claim 8: Felt fails to teach the second arm comprises a second tooth clamp to engage a surface of the first arm that is opposite from the first set of teeth for forcing the first set of teeth against the second set of teeth.
Toro teaches the second arm (second arm, see annotated figure) comprises a second tooth clamp (second teeth, see annotated figure) to engage a surface of the first arm (upper surface of first arm, see annotated figure) that is opposite from the first set of teeth (see fig. 1) for forcing the first set of teeth against the second set of teeth (see figure).
Therefore, in view of Toro, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the light bulb receiver coupling member of Adams by adding a first set of teeth disposed on an end of the first arm, a second set of teeth disposed on an end of the second arm and for engaging with the first set of teeth where the first set of teeth ratchet over the second set of teeth to increase a force applied by the first arm on the first side of the light bulb receiver and to increase a force applied by the second arm on the second side of the light bulb receiver, in order to further secure the bulb in position and prevent dislodgement.
Claim 9: Felt fails to teach when the first set of teeth are engaged with the second set of teeth, the first arm and the second are aligned with each other and overlap each other, wherein the first set of teeth and the second set of teeth disengage from each by moving the first arm out of alignment with the second arm so that the first arm does not overlap with the second arm.
Toro teaches when the first set of teeth (first teeth) are engaged with the second set of teeth (second teeth), the first arm and the second are aligned with each other and overlap each other (see description), wherein the first set of teeth (first teeth) and the second set of teeth (second teeth) disengage from each by moving the first arm out of alignment with the second arm (teeth can be dislodged by moving the arms laterally so they do not overlap) so that the first arm does not overlap with the second arm (see description).
Therefore, in view of Toro, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the light bulb receiver coupling member of Adams by adding a first set of teeth disposed on an end of the first arm, a second set of teeth disposed on an end of the second arm and for engaging with the first set of teeth where the first set of teeth ratchet over the second set of teeth to increase a force applied by the first arm on the first side of the light bulb receiver and to increase a force applied by the second arm on the second side of the light bulb receiver, in order to further secure the bulb in position and prevent dislodgement.
Claim 10: Felt teaches the light bulb receiver coupling member (10) is attached to an elevation member (7a, 7b, fig. 4) extending from the attachment member (3).
Claim 11: Felt teaches a lighting attachment apparatus, comprising: a light bulb receiver coupling member (10, fig. 3) including: a first arm (left arm of 16a, fig. 3) for engaging a first side of a light bulb receiver (left side of 10, fig. 3), a second arm (right arm of 16b, fig. 3) for engaging a second side of the light bulb receiver (right side of 10, fig. 3) opposite the first side of the light bulb receiver (left side of 10), wherein the first arm and second arm (left and right arm of 16a, 16b) are flexible (able to flex, see para [0009]).
However, Felt fails to teach the light bulb receiver coupling member comprises a first set of teeth disposed on an end of the first arm, a second set of teeth disposed on an end of the second arm and for engaging with the first set of teeth to secure the first arm against the first side of the light bulb receiver and the second arm against the second side of the light bulb receiver.
Toro teaches a light bulb receiver coupling member (see annotated figure) including a first arm (first arm, see annotated fig) for engaging a first side of a light bulb receiver (left side, see annotated figure), a first set of teeth (first teeth, see annotated figure) disposed on an end of the first arm (see annotated figure), a second arm (second arm, see annotated figure) for engaging a second side of the light bulb receiver (right side) opposite the first side of the light bulb receiver (left side), a second set of teeth (second teeth, see annotated figure) disposed on an end of the second arm (see annotated figure) and for engaging with the first set of teeth to secure the first arm against the first side of the light bulb receiver and the second arm against the second side of the light bulb receiver (see description of Toro ratchet clamps).
Therefore, in view of Toro, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the light bulb receiver coupling member of Felt by adding a first set of teeth disposed on an end of the first arm, a second set of teeth disposed on an end of the second arm and for engaging with the first set of teeth to secure the first arm against the first side of the light bulb receiver and the second arm against the second side of the light bulb receiver, in order to further secure the bulb in position and prevent dislodgement.
Claim 12: Felt teaches the first arm (left arm of 16a, fig. 3) comprises a curvature (curvature of left arm 16a) to wrap around the first side of the light bulb receiver (10), and wherein the second arm (right arm of 16b, fig. 3) comprises a curvature (curvature of left arm 16b) to wrap around the second side of the light bulb receiver (10).
Claim 13: Felt fails to teach the first set of teeth ratchet over the second set of teeth to increase a force applied by the first arm on the first side of the light bulb receiver and to increase a force applied by the second arm on the second side of the light bulb receiver.
Toro teaches the first set of teeth (see annotated figure) ratchet over the second set of teeth (see annotated figure) to increase a force applied (force applied is increased as more teeth between the arms are engaged) by the first arm on the first side of the light bulb receiver (see annotated figure) and to increase a force applied (force applied is increased as more teeth between the arms are engaged) by the second arm on the second side of the light bulb receiver (see description).
Therefore, in view of Toro, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the light bulb receiver coupling member of Adams by adding a first set of teeth disposed on an end of the first arm, a second set of teeth disposed on an end of the second arm and for engaging with the first set of teeth where the first set of teeth ratchet over the second set of teeth to increase a force applied by the first arm on the first side of the light bulb receiver and to increase a force applied by the second arm on the second side of the light bulb receiver, in order to further secure the bulb in position and prevent dislodgement.
Claim 14: Felt fails to teach the first set of teeth ratchet over the second set of teeth and increase a number teeth from the first set of teeth that engage with teeth from the second set of teeth.
Toro teaches the first set of teeth (first teeth, see annotated figure) ratchet over (see description) the second set of teeth (second teeth, see annotated figure) and increase a number teeth from the first set of teeth that engage with teeth from the second set of teeth (first teeth and second teeth engage more as the arms are pushed together).
Therefore, in view of Toro, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the light bulb receiver coupling member of Adams by adding a first set of teeth disposed on an end of the first arm, a second set of teeth disposed on an end of the second arm and for engaging with the first set of teeth where the first set of teeth ratchet over the second set of teeth to increase a force applied by the first arm on the first side of the light bulb receiver and to increase a force applied by the second arm on the second side of the light bulb receiver, in order to further secure the bulb in position and prevent dislodgement.
Claim 15: Felt fails to teach the first arm comprises a first tooth clamp to engage a surface of the second arm that is opposite from the second set of teeth for forcing the second set of teeth against the first set of teeth.
Toro teaches the first arm (first arm, see annotated figure) comprises a first tooth clamp (first teeth, see annotated figure) to engage a surface of the second arm (lower surface of second arm, see annotated figure) that is opposite from the second set of teeth (second teeth) for forcing the second set of teeth against the first set of teeth (see figure).
Therefore, in view of Toro, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the light bulb receiver coupling member of Adams by adding a first set of teeth disposed on an end of the first arm, a second set of teeth disposed on an end of the second arm and for engaging with the first set of teeth where the first set of teeth ratchet over the second set of teeth to increase a force applied by the first arm on the first side of the light bulb receiver and to increase a force applied by the second arm on the second side of the light bulb receiver, in order to further secure the bulb in position and prevent dislodgement.
Claim 16: Felt fails the second arm comprises a second tooth clamp to engage a surface of the first arm that is opposite from the first set of teeth for forcing the first set of teeth against the second set of teeth.
Toro teaches the second arm (second arm, see annotated figure) comprises a second tooth clamp (second teeth, see annotated figure) to engage a surface of the first arm (upper surface of first arm, see annotated figure) that is opposite from the first set of teeth (see fig. 1) for forcing the first set of teeth against the second set of teeth (see figure).
Therefore, in view of Toro, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the light bulb receiver coupling member of Adams by adding a first set of teeth disposed on an end of the first arm, a second set of teeth disposed on an end of the second arm and for engaging with the first set of teeth where the first set of teeth ratchet over the second set of teeth to increase a force applied by the first arm on the first side of the light bulb receiver and to increase a force applied by the second arm on the second side of the light bulb receiver, in order to further secure the bulb in position and prevent dislodgement.
Claim 17: Felt fails to teach when the first set of teeth are engaged with the second set of teeth, the first arm and the second are aligned with each other and overlap each other, wherein the first set of teeth and the second set of teeth disengage from each by moving the first arm out of alignment with the second arm so that the first arm does not overlap with the second arm.
Toro teaches when the first set of teeth (first teeth) are engaged with the second set of teeth (second teeth), the first arm and the second are aligned with each other and overlap each other (see description), wherein the first set of teeth (first teeth) and the second set of teeth (second teeth) disengage from each by moving the first arm out of alignment with the second arm (teeth can be dislodged by moving the arms laterally so they do not overlap) so that the first arm does not overlap with the second arm (see description).
Therefore, in view of Toro, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the light bulb receiver coupling member of Adams by adding a first set of teeth disposed on an end of the first arm, a second set of teeth disposed on an end of the second arm and for engaging with the first set of teeth where the first set of teeth ratchet over the second set of teeth to increase a force applied by the first arm on the first side of the light bulb receiver and to increase a force applied by the second arm on the second side of the light bulb receiver, in order to further secure the bulb in position and prevent dislodgement.
Claim 18: Felt teaches a lighting attachment system, comprising: a body (1, fig. 3) having a proximal end (end of 18, fig. 3) and a distal end (end of 10, fig. 3); an attachment member (3, fig. 3) disposed at the proximal end (see fig. 3) of the body for removably attaching the body to a structure (clip to shingles, see para [0039]), a light bulb receiver (12, fig. 4) configured to receive a light bulb for illumination; and a light bulb receiver coupling member (10, fig. 3) disposed at the distal end of the body, wherein the light bulb receiver coupling member (10) comprises: a first arm (left arm of 16a, fig. 3) for engaging a first side of a light bulb receiver (left side of 10, fig. 3), a second arm (right arm of 16b, fig. 3) for engaging a second side of the light bulb receiver (right side of 10, fig. 3) opposite the first side of the light bulb receiver (left side of 10).
Toro teaches a light bulb receiver coupling member (see annotated figure) including a first arm (first arm, see annotated fig) for engaging a first side of a light bulb receiver (left side, see annotated figure), a first set of teeth (first teeth, see annotated figure) disposed on an end of the first arm (see annotated figure), a second arm (second arm, see annotated figure) for engaging a second side of the light bulb receiver (right side) opposite the first side of the light bulb receiver (left side), a second set of teeth (second teeth, see annotated figure) disposed on an end of the second arm (see annotated figure) and for engaging with the first set of teeth to secure the first arm against the first side of the light bulb receiver and the second arm against the second side of the light bulb receiver (see description of Toro ratchet clamps),a first tooth clamp (first tooth clamp, see annotated figure) to engage a surface (S1, see annotated fig) of the second arm that is opposite from a second set of teeth (see annotated fig) for forcing the second set of teeth against the first set of teeth (see annotated fig), wherein the first tooth clamp (first tooth clamp) comprises a first protrusion (P1, see annotated fig) extending toward the first set of teeth, and a second tooth clamp (second tooth clamp, see annotated fig) to engage a surface (S2, see annotated fig) of the first arm that is opposite from the first set of teeth for forcing the first set of teeth against the second set of teeth (see annotated fig), wherein the second tooth clamp comprises a second protrusion (P2, see annotated fig) extending toward the second set of teeth.
Therefore, in view of Toro, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the light bulb receiver coupling member of Adams by adding a first set of teeth disposed on an end of the first arm, a second set of teeth disposed on an end of the second arm and for engaging with the first set of teeth to secure the first arm against the first side of the light bulb receiver and the second arm against the second side of the light bulb receiver where a first tooth clamp to engage a surface of the second arm that is opposite from a second set of teeth for forcing the second set of teeth against the first set of teeth, wherein the first tooth clamp comprises a first protrusion extending toward the first set of teeth, and a second tooth clamp to engage a surface of the first arm that is opposite from the first set of teeth for forcing the first set of teeth against the second set of teeth, wherein the second tooth clamp comprises a second protrusion extending toward the second set of teeth, in order to further secure the bulb in position and prevent dislodgement.
Claim 19: Felt teaches the light bulb receiver (12) is one light bulb receiver (12) of two or more light bulb receivers electrically coupled to each other via a wired strand.
Claim 20: Felt teaches the light bulb receiver coupling member (10) is attached to an elevation member (7a, 7b, fig. 4) extending from the attachment member (3).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 11 and 18 has/have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/ZHENG SONG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875