Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
3. Claims 1-2, 5, 7-8, 10-12, 15, 17-18 and 20-24 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 12/5/2025, with regards to claims 1-2, 5, 7-8, 10-12, 15, 17-18 and 20-24 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant asserts that the combination of Siomina, Chincholi and da Silva does not teach or suggest: “selecting, by a terminal device, a target evaluation period of RLM from a first evaluation period and a second evaluation period based on a channel quality of the terminal device ," and " wherein the selecting, by terminal device, the target evaluation period of RLM from the first evaluation period and the second evaluation period according to the channel quality of the terminal device, comprises: when a measured value of the channel quality of the terminal device is greater than a first threshold, selecting, by the terminal device, the first evaluation period as the target evaluation period of RLM; and or, when the measured value of the channel quality of the terminal device is less than or equal to the first threshold, selecting, by the terminal device, the second evaluation period as the target evaluation period of RLM,”. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The combination of Siomina, Chincholi and da Silva, specifically Siomina teaches the UE may be configured with multiple RLM-RS resources, a common evaluation period is determined for a subset or for all configured RLM-RS resources. In a further embodiment, the common evaluation period may comprise the same length of the evaluation period for the subset or for all configured RLM-RS resources, but not necessarily the same beginning of the evaluation period. In another embodiment, the common evaluation period may comprise the same length and the same beginning of the evaluation period for the subset or for all configured RLM-RS resources. The common evaluation period may be a fixed value or determined based on a function. The UE determines (based on a pre-defined rule or function F( ) and/or message received from a network node) one or more evaluation periods and uses them while assessing the radio link quality during RLM. The common evaluation period is a default evaluation period [Mapped to the claimed target evaluation period]. The wireless device 811 monitors channel quality of the portion of reference signal resources in the set 823 that are received during the determined evaluation period 821. The wireless device 811 may then determine whether the wireless device 811 is in-sync or out-of-sync with the network node 801 based on this channel quality information. (See Siomina; Par. [101], [103]-[104], [112])
The common evaluation period that applies for RLM-RSs may be characterized by one or more of: Any two or more RLM-RS resources configured for the for a serving cell Having the same RLM-RS resource type (SS/PBCH block or CSI-RS), but can be different for different RLM-RS resource types Having the same numerology (subcarrier spacing and/or CP length) associated with the RLM-RS resources Configured for the same frequency range (e.g., in FR1 or FR2 the common evaluation periods can be different but would be the same within the same frequency range) Whether the RLM-RS resources are to be used for periodic or aperiodic RLM, the common evaluation period applies for periodic RLM but aperiodic, or the common evaluation period applies for aperiodic RLM but not periodic, or a common evaluation period applies for each of the periodic and aperiodic RLM but the common evaluation periods can be different for the two types of RLM. RLM-RS resources are associated with the same cell. A UE performs the following steps: Step 1: Determine two or more RLM-RS resources for which a common RLM evaluation period applies. Step 2: Determine the common evaluation period. Step 3: Perform RLM based on the determined evaluation period. (See Siomina; Par. [164] – [179])
Siomina, further, teaches the UE may additionally perform Step 4: Determine the RLM (e.g., in-sync or out-of-sync) indication occasions or RLM indication interval, based on the common evaluation period; the indication occasion can be in the end of the evaluation period and dependent on the evaluation period configuration; the indication periodicity or interval can be defined to be the same or not longer than the common evaluation period. [Therefore, the common [Target] evaluation period is determined from two or more RLM-RS resources that corresponds to two or more evaluation periods based on the channel quality measured during the two or more evaluation periods]. (See Siomina; Par. [180] – [186])
On the other hand, Chincholi discloses the UE may maintain lookup tables (LUTs) containing RLM threshold values associated with the different BS configured parameters and UE measured parameters. For example, for each control channel configuration (e.g., each combination of aggregation level, repetition level, transmission mode, and number of PRBs parameters), the UE may maintain multiple sets of LUTs associated with (e.g., mapping) that control channel configuration, based on whether the RSRP/RSRQ/SINR measurement falls within a particular range. An error/measurement bias value (a correction value) can be applied to the RLM threshold values. An additional LUT may be used to store the bias values based on RSRP/RSRQ/SINR measurement, DRX cycle length/duty cycle, frequency error and timing error. In addition, the UE measures parameters related to channel conditions. If the measured channel quality is above a predetermined threshold, the Early_Qin and Early_Qout thresholds [Target RLM Parameters] are determined for first configuration of parameters. If the measured channel quality is below a predetermined threshold, the Early_Qin and Early_Qout thresholds [Target RLM Parameters] are determined for second configuration of parameters. (See Chincholi; Par. [114] – [116], [121] and Fig. 13)
Finally, da Silva discloses a wireless device (UE) monitors its configured PDCCH and, if data is scheduled in a given subframe, the UE should use PDCCH DMRSs to compute a quality estimate. The quality estimate may be an SINR value that is further averaged over multiple PDCCH occasions in a pre-defined interval called an evaluation period, which may be, for example, X radio frames. At the same time, within the same evaluation period, the UE may measure an additional source, which in the case of measuring a first source, could mean measuring an SS Block RS (PSS/SSS/TSS or DMRS for PBCH). In the case of measuring the second source, this could be CSI-RSs so the UE also generates an averaged quality estimate (SINR associated to the additional sources over the same period). FIG. 7 shows evaluation periods 702, 704 and 706. In other words, if K sources are defined there will be K SINR values per period. One aspect of this embodiment is that K quality estimates (SINR values) are generated for K RLM sources per measurement evaluation period. In current systems, only a single quality estimate based on a single source is generated (the CRS in the case of LTE). Quality estimates, such as SINR estimates, for each measurement evaluation period may have been generated based on different RLM sources. For example, while in the first period 702, the DMRS for PDDCH is used (since there was scheduled data), in the second evaluation period 704 NR-SS or CSI-RS are used as there are not enough samples from DMRS of PDCCH. (See da Silva; Par. [86]-[87], [90]-[91] and Fig. 7)
da Silva, further teaches that once averaged SINR (or other quality metric) measurements are available per RLM source within a given RLM measurement evaluation period, the UE maps the SINR (or other quality estimates) value or values per source into in-sync and out-of-sync events per evaluation period. This step may involve at least two different alternatives. The thresholds Qin and Qout are configured per evaluation period and per RLM measurement source. That is, there can be different values per RLM measurement source so that for a given quality estimate, such as a given SINR estimate, an out-of-sync event for one RLM measurement source may increment but not for the other. As in the second approach, the increments are done per RLM measurement source. Multiple (per source) quality estimates (SINR Values) may be made per evaluation period. In a multiple SINR estimates per evaluation period, the UE selects a single quality estimate (SINR estimate) per evaluation period. To detect an out-of-sync or an in-sync event, the UE may combine the quality estimates from the sources. [A plurality of RLM measurement sources, each has its evaluation period are discloses. Evaluation period for each RLM measurement source is different, and is determined according to average channel quality estimate, such as one SINR estimate per RLM measurement source [RLM’s evaluation period is associated with the RLM source channel quality indicator]] (See da Silva; Par. [99], [107]-[109])
Therefore, and for the reasons set above, the combination of Siomina, Chincholi and da Silva teaches the claimed invention. The rejection of claims 1-2, 5, 7-8, 10-12, 15, 17-18 and 20-24 is sustained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1-2, 5, 7-8, 11-12, 15, 17-18 and 20-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siomina (US. Pub. No. 2020/0351126 A1) in view of Chincholi et al. (US. Pub. No. 2017/0230780 A1) and further in view of da Silva et al. (US. Pub. No. 2020/0037332 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Siomina discloses a method for Radio Link Monitoring (RLM) (See Abstract), comprising:
selecting, by a terminal device, a target evaluation period of RLM from a first evaluation period and a second evaluation period based on a channel quality of the terminal device (See Par. [164]-[176] of Siomina for a reference to determining the common [Target] evaluation period from two or more RLM-RS resources that corresponds to two or more evaluation periods based on the channel quality measured during the two or more evaluation periods); and
performing, by the terminal device, the RLM according to the target evaluation period of RLM (See Par. [176], [182]-[186] of Siomina for a reference to performing RLM based on the determined common evaluation period), wherein the first evaluation period is different from the second evaluation period (See Par. [110]-[111], [176]-[180] of Siomina for a reference to each evaluation period is associated with RLM-RS resources that is different from the RLM-RS resources of the other evaluation periods).
Siomina does not explicitly disclose wherein the first evaluation period and the second evaluation period correspond to different channel qualities; wherein the selecting, by terminal device, the target evaluation period of RLM from the first evaluation period and the second evaluation period according to the channel quality of the terminal device, comprises: when a measured value of the channel quality of the terminal device is greater than a first threshold, selecting, by the terminal device, the first evaluation period as the target evaluation period of RLM; and/or less than or equal to the first threshold, selecting, by the terminal device, the second evaluation period as the target evaluation period of RLM, wherein the measured value of the channel quality of the terminal device comprises a Reference Signal Signal to Interference plus Noise Ratio (RS-SINR).
However, Chincholi discloses wherein the selecting, by terminal device, the target evaluation period of RLM from the first evaluation period and the second evaluation period according to the channel quality of the terminal device, comprises:
when a measured value of the channel quality of the terminal device is greater than a first threshold, selecting, by the terminal device, the first evaluation period as the target evaluation period of RLM (See Par. [121] and Fig. 13 of Chincholi for a reference to the UE measures parameters related to channel conditions. If the measured channel quality is above a predetermined threshold, the Early_Qin and Early_Qout thresholds [Target RLM Parameters] are determined for first configuration of parameters); and/or less than or equal to the first threshold, selecting, by the terminal device, the second evaluation period as the target evaluation period of RLM (See Par. [121] and Fig. 13 of Chincholi for a reference to the UE measures parameters related to channel conditions. If the measured channel quality is below a predetermined threshold, the Early_Qin and Early_Qout thresholds [Target RLM Parameters] are determined for second configuration of parameters), wherein the measured value of the channel quality of the terminal device comprises a Reference Signal Signal to Interference plus Noise Ratio (RS-SINR) (See Par. [114]-[116] of Chincholi for a reference to the channel condition is identified by multiple metrics, including a Reference Signal Signal to Interference plus Noise Ratio (RS-SINR)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Chincholi to Siomina. The motivation of combination is improving the system’s efficiency, by improving spectral efficiency, ubiquitous coverage, and enhanced quality of service (QoS) support. (Chincholi; Par. [70]).
The combination of Siomina and Chincholi does not explicitly disclose wherein the first evaluation period and the second evaluation period correspond to different channel qualities.
However, da Silva discloses wherein the first evaluation period and the second evaluation period correspond to different channel qualities (See Par. [86], [90], [99], [107], [109] of da Silva for a reference to a plurality of RLM measurement sources, each has its evaluation period. Evaluation period for each RLM measurement source is different, and is determined according to average channel quality estimate, such as one SINR estimate per RLM measurement source [RLM’s evaluation period is associated with the RLM source channel quality indicator]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of da Silva to the combination of Siomina and Chincholi. The motivation of combination is improving the system’s efficiency, through improving the RLM accuracy, by leveraging all available RS types and monitor the ones that will provide the most accurate RLM measurements. (da Silva; Par. [28]).
Regarding claim 2, Siomina does not explicitly disclose wherein the first RLM parameter set and the second RLM parameter set further comprise at least one of following parameters: a synchronization threshold Qin used to determine whether to report an in sync (IS) indication, an out-of-synchronization threshold Qout used to determine whether to report an out of sync (OOS) indication), a counter N310 for recording a number of the OOS indications that are continuously reported to determine whether to start a timer T310, and a counter N311 for recording a number of the IS indications that are continuously reported to determine whether to stop the timer T310 before the timer T310 expires; wherein at least one of the parameters comprised in the first RLM parameter set is different from the parameters comprised in the second RLM parameter set
However, Chincholi discloses wherein the first RLM parameter set and the second RLM parameter set further comprise at least one of following parameters: a synchronization threshold Qin used to determine whether to report an in sync (IS) indication, an out-of-synchronization threshold Qout used to determine whether to report an out of sync (OOS) indication (See Par. [112] of Chincholi for a reference to the determined RLM thresholds [Parameters] comprises at least; Qin [In-sync indications], Qout [Out-of-Sync (OOS) indications], Early Qin and Early Qout), a counter N310 for recording a number of the OOS indications that are continuously reported to determine whether to start a timer T310 (See Par. [104] of Chincholi for a reference to the UE starts a timer (T310) upon receiving consecutive (N310) OOS indication), and a counter N311 for recording a number of the IS indications that are continuously reported to determine whether to stop the timer T310 before the timer T310 expires (See Par. [104] of Chincholi for a reference to that if the DL signal quality exceeds the Qin threshold, the UE is considered synchronized. The UE stops the timer (T310) upon receiving consecutive (N311) in-sync indications);
wherein at least one of the parameters comprised in the first RLM parameter set is different from the parameters comprised in the second RLM parameter set (See Par. [114] of Chincholi for a reference to the UE may maintain different RLM thresholds for different control channel configurations of parameters).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Chincholi to Siomina. The motivation of combination is improving the system’s efficiency, by improving spectral efficiency, ubiquitous coverage, and enhanced quality of service (QoS) support. (Chincholi; Par. [70]).
Regarding claim 5, Siomina does not explicitly disclose the method according to claim 1, further comprising: obtaining, by the terminal device, configuration information, wherein the configuration information comprises the first RLM parameter set, and the second RLM parameter set, wherein the obtaining, by the terminal device, the configuration information comprises: obtaining, by the terminal device, the configuration information pre-stored in the terminal device.
However, Chincholi discloses the method according to claim 1, further comprising: obtaining, by the terminal device, configuration information, wherein the configuration information comprises the first RLM parameter set, and the second RLM parameter set (See Par. [112], [121] and Figs. 11 & 13 of Chincholi for a reference to receiving a first configuration of parameters associated with a first coverage level. Radio Link Monitoring (RLM) threshold values and a second coverage level. Radio Link Monitoring (RLM) threshold values are determined based on first configuration parameters), wherein the obtaining, by the terminal device, the configuration information comprises:
obtaining, by the terminal device, the configuration information pre-stored in the terminal device (See Par. [121] and Fig. 13 of Chincholi for the UE 1302 receives control channel configuration #1 from BS 1304 and stored in the UE 1302).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Chincholi to Siomina. The motivation of combination is improving the system’s efficiency, by improving spectral efficiency, ubiquitous coverage, and enhanced quality of service (QoS) support. (Chincholi; Par. [70]).
Regarding claim 7, Siomina discloses a method for Radio Link Monitoring (RLM) (See Subtract), comprising:
determining, by a network device, configuration information, wherein the configuration information comprises a first evaluation period and a second evaluation period (See Par. [132] and Fig. 8 of Siomina for a reference to determining, by the network node, the RS resources sets configurations corresponding to the two or more RLM evaluation periods), and the first evaluation period and the second evaluation period are used by a terminal device for selecting a target evaluation period of RLM used for performing the RLM according to a channel quality of the terminal device (See Par. [164]-[176] of Siomina for a reference to determining the common [Target] evaluation period from two or more RLM-RS resources that corresponds to two or more evaluation periods based on the channel quality measured during the two or more evaluation periods); and sending, by the network device, the configuration information to the terminal device (See Par. [103], [132] and Fig. 8 of Siomina for a reference to UE receives the configuration message from the network node and determines, based on the configurations, one or more evaluation periods and uses them while assessing the radio link quality during RLM).
Siomina does not explicitly disclose wherein the first evaluation period and the second evaluation period correspond to different channel qualities; wherein the selecting, by terminal device, the target evaluation period of RLM from the first evaluation period and the second evaluation period according to the channel quality of the terminal device, comprises: when a measured value of the channel quality of the terminal device is greater than a first threshold, selecting, by the terminal device, the first evaluation period as the target evaluation period of RLM; and/or less than or equal to the first threshold, selecting, by the terminal device, the second evaluation period as the target evaluation period of RLM, wherein the measured value of the channel quality of the terminal device comprises a Reference Signal Signal to Interference plus Noise Ratio (RS-SINR).
However, Chincholi discloses wherein the selecting, by terminal device, the target evaluation period of RLM from the first evaluation period and the second evaluation period according to the channel quality of the terminal device, comprises:
when a measured value of the channel quality of the terminal device is greater than a first threshold, selecting, by the terminal device, the first evaluation period as the target evaluation period of RLM (See Par. [121] and Fig. 13 of Chincholi for a reference to the UE measures parameters related to channel conditions. If the measured channel quality is above a predetermined threshold, the Early_Qin and Early_Qout thresholds [Target RLM Parameters] are determined for first configuration of parameters); and/or less than or equal to the first threshold, selecting, by the terminal device, the second evaluation period as the target evaluation period of RLM (See Par. [121] and Fig. 13 of Chincholi for a reference to the UE measures parameters related to channel conditions. If the measured channel quality is below a predetermined threshold, the Early_Qin and Early_Qout thresholds [Target RLM Parameters] are determined for second configuration of parameters), wherein the measured value of the channel quality of the terminal device comprises a Reference Signal Signal to Interference plus Noise Ratio (RS-SINR) (See Par. [114]-[116] of Chincholi for a reference to the channel condition is identified by multiple metrics, including a Reference Signal Signal to Interference plus Noise Ratio (RS-SINR)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Chincholi to Siomina. The motivation of combination is improving the system’s efficiency, by improving spectral efficiency, ubiquitous coverage, and enhanced quality of service (QoS) support. (Chincholi; Par. [70]).
The combination of Siomina and Chincholi does not explicitly disclose wherein the first evaluation period and the second evaluation period correspond to different channel qualities.
However, da Silva discloses wherein the first evaluation period and the second evaluation period correspond to different channel qualities (See Par. [86], [90], [99], [107], [109] of da Silva for a reference to a plurality of RLM measurement sources, each has its evaluation period. Evaluation period for each RLM measurement source is different, and is determined according to average channel quality estimate, such as one SINR estimate per RLM measurement source [RLM’s evaluation period is associated with the RLM source channel quality indicator]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of da Silva to the combination of Siomina and Chincholi. The motivation of combination is improving the system’s efficiency, through improving the RLM accuracy, by leveraging all available RS types and monitor the ones that will provide the most accurate RLM measurements. (da Silva; Par. [28]).
Regarding claim 8, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 2.
Regarding claim 11, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 1, including a terminal device (See Siomina; Fig. 9; UE 811), comprising: a processor (See Siomina; Fig. 9; Processing Circuitry 910); and a memory (See Siomina; Fig. 9; Memory 930); wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program, and the processor is configured to call and run the computer program stored in the memory.
Regarding claim 12, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 2.
Regarding claim 15, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 5.
Regarding claim 17, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 7, including a network device (See Siomina; Fig. 12; Network node 801), comprising: a processor (See Siomina; Fig. 12; Processing Circuitry 1210); and a memory (See Siomina; Fig. 12; Memory 1230); wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program, and the processor is configured to call and run the computer program stored in the memory.
Regarding claim 18, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 2.
Regarding claim 20, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 10.
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Siomina, Chincholi and da Silva, specifically Siomina discloses wherein the first evaluation period is comprised in a first RLM parameter set, and the second evaluation period is comprised in a second RLM parameter set (See Par. [110]-[111], [176]-[180] of Siomina for a reference to each evaluation period is associated with RLM-RS resources set that is different from the RLM-RS resources sets of the other evaluation periods).
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Siomina, Chincholi and da Silva, specifically Siomina discloses wherein the first evaluation period is comprised in a first RLM parameter set, the second evaluation period is comprised in a second RLM parameter set (See Par. [110]-[111], [176]-[180] of Siomina for a reference to each evaluation period is associated with RLM-RS resources set that is different from the RLM-RS resources sets of the other evaluation periods), and the first RLM parameter set and the second RLM parameter set are comprised in the configuration information (See Par. [132] and Fig. 8 of Siomina for a reference to determining, by the network node, the RS resources sets configurations corresponding to the two or more RLM evaluation periods).
Regarding claim 23, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 21.
Regarding claim 24, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 22.
6. Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siomina in view of Chincholi et al. in view of da Silva et al. and further in view of Siomina et al. (US. Pub. No. 2021/0359241 A1, referred to as Siomina’241).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Siomina, Chincholi and da Silva does not explicitly disclose wherein: a set value of the counter N310 in the first RLM parameter set is greater than a set value of the counter N310 in the second RLM parameter set; and/or, a set value of the counter N311 in the first RLM parameter set is smaller than a set value of the counter N311 in the second RLM parameter set; and/or, a duration of the timer T310 in the first RLM parameter set is greater than a duration of the timer T310 in the second RLM parameter set.
However, Siomina’241 discloses a duration of the timer T310 in the first RLM parameter set is greater than a duration of the timer T310 in the second RLM parameter set (See Par. [157] and Fig. 8 of Siomina’241 for a reference to the timer T310 associated with first RLM parameters ( T1) is longer [Greater than] the T310 associated with second RLM parameters (T2)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Siomina’241 to the combination of Siomina, Chincholi and da Silva. The motivation of combination is improving the system’s efficiency, by facilitating the configuration procedure, since UE does not need to reset or stop the current configuration to adapt the new configuration. (Siomina’241; Par. [75]).
Conclusion
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jung et al. (US. Pub. No. 2019/0053171 A1) discloses a method and apparatus for beam selection and random access in multi-beam operation.
Bergstrom et al. (US. Pub. No. 2018/0199300 A1) discloses a communication method for determining transmission timing when using unlicensed frequency bands.
Martin (US. Pub. No. 2017/0093508 A1) discloses methods for communicating data using mobile communications networks, infrastructure equipment for mobile communications networks.
/R.K.F/Examiner, Art Unit 2413
/UN C CHO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2413