DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
The current office action is made responsive to claims filed 01/20/2026.
Acknowledgement is made to the amendment of claims 1, 3-4, 6, 8, 10-11, 13, 15, 17-18, and 20.
Acknowledgement is made to the cancellation of claims 2, 5, 7, 9, 12, 14, 16, and 19.
Any claims listed above as cancelled have sufficiently overcome any rejections set forth in any of the prior office actions.
Claims 1, 3-4, 6, 8, 10-11, 13, 15, 17-18, and 20 are pending. A complete action on the merits appears below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 4, 6, 8, 11, 13, 15 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cohen (US 20180242868 A1) in view of Nierenberg (US 20140012151 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Cohen teaches a system for visualizing multiple electrogram signals sensed by multiple electrodes of a multi-electrode catheter (Abstract, [0039]), comprising:
one or more processors ([0035]); and
a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a plurality of instructions ([0051]), which when executed, cause the one or more processors to:
receive multiple electrogram signals sensed by multiple electrodes of a multi- electrode catheter in a heart of a patient ([0049] teaches the ECG module as enabling the processor to acquire and analyze EP signals received by the electrodes [0009] and [0039] teach these signals as being received while the electrodes of the catheter are located within the heart of the patient);
determine which of the multiple electrodes are in contact with cardiac tissue and which of the electrodes are not in contact with cardiac tissue ([0024] teaches the processor as processing the ECG signals to detect the occurrence of a predefined signal feature in the acquired signals [0017] teaches the predefined signal feature as being a measurement of the electrode touching the tissue of the heart); and
present to a user, on a display, using a single screen of a graphical user interface (GUI) ([0009], [0021]):
the electrodes determined to be in contact with cardiac tissue using a first graphical feature ([0017] teaches the predefined signal feature as being a measurement of the electrode touching the tissue and [0035]- [0036] teaches that upon detection of the occurrence of the predefined signal feature in the signal from one of the electrodes, the processor may modify a visual feature of the icon representing that electrode);
the electrodes determined not to be in contact with cardiac tissue using a second graphical feature different from the first graphical feature ([0017] teaches the predefined signal feature as being a measurement of the electrode touching the tissue and [0035]- [0036] teaches that upon detection of the occurrence of the predefined signal feature in the signal from one of the electrodes, the processor may modify a visual feature of the icon representing that electrode, therefore, those electrode which do not have the predefined signal feature of tissue contact will be displayed with a different visual feature from those which do have the predefined signal feature of tissue contact);
one or more real-time electrogram signals from the electrodes determined to be in contact with cardiac tissue plotted using a line style ([0049], [0054]- [0056] teach the display screen as having a first portion which displays a distal end of the lasso catheter and icons representing the electrodes and a second portion which displays the signals from the electrodes); and
one or more real-time electrogram signals from the electrodes determined not to be in contact with cardiac tissue plotted using a line style ([0049], [0054]- [0056] teach the display screen as having a first portion which displays a distal end of the lasso catheter and icons representing the electrodes and a second portion which displays the signals from the electrodes); and
performing ablation using one or more of the electrodes ([0048]) depicted using the first graphical feature.
However, Cohen fails to teach the electrogram signals from the electrodes determined to be in contact with cardiac tissue as being plotted using a first line style and the electrogram signals from the electrodes determined not to be in contact with cardiac tissue as being plotted using a second line style different from the first line style.
Nierenberg teaches a method and system for displaying electrical activity of electrodes attached to a patient (Abstract). The electrical activity being displayed as individually plotted lines (Fig. 1; EEG report 100).
Nierenberg further teaches the first and second graphical features as being plotted with a first line style and a second line style which is distinctive from the first line style in order to allow a physician or technician to easily and visually distinguish between the two data sets ([0063]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of two differing line styles corresponding to separate graphical features ([0063]), as is taught by Nierenberg into the individually plotted electrical activity lines of the electrodes ([0045], [0048]) taught by He in order to provide the benefit of allowing a physician or technician to easily and visually distinguish between two data sets ([0063]), as is taught by Nierenberg.
Regarding claim 4, Cohen teaches the system according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of instructions further cause the one or more processors to automatically update the presentation of the electrogram signals from the electrodes in contact with cardiac tissue based on determining a level of physical contact of each electrode with tissue ([0049], [0058]- [0059]).
Regarding claim 6, Cohen further teaches the system according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of instructions further cause the one or more processors to present the multiple electrodes on a graphical illustration of the catheter ([0055]).
Regarding claims 8, 11, and 13, the recited methods are considered inherent in the ordinary use of the device as described by the Cohen as modified in claim 1, 4, and 6.
Regarding claim 15, 18, and 20, the recited computer-readable storage medium is taught by the current rejection of Cohen as modified in claim 1, 4, and 6.
Claims 3, 10, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cohen (US 20180242868 A1) in view of Nierenberg (US 20140012151 A1) and Maskara (US 2014031629 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Cohen as modified teaches the system according to claim 1.
Cohen further teaches distinguishing the information from the electrodes which contact tissue from those which do not ([0017], [0035]- [0036]).
However, Cohen fails to teach the system wherein the plurality of instructions further cause the one or more processors to visualize the electrogram signals from the electrodes determined not to be in contact with cardiac tissue by partially blanking the electrogram signals from the electrodes determined not to be in contact with cardiac tissue.
Maskara teaches a method and system for mapping anatomical structures by sensing activation signals of intrinsic physiological activity with a plurality of electrodes (Abstract). During this sensing of electrical activity, activation signals and ambient electrical activity away from the sensor may both be sensed ([0004]). In order to provide more accurate location information, a manner of filtering the activation signal from the ambient electrical activity, i.e. far-field activations, is provided ([0013]).
Maskara further teaches this filtering out of the non-active electrode signals from the active electrode signals by blanking the signals that are identified as non-active, specifically referred to as far-field activations ([0047]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teaching of blanking non-active signals, as is taught by Maskara, into the system of Cohen, so as to provide a more accurate tissue therapy to the patient, as is taught by Maskara.
Regarding claim 10, the recited methods are considered inherent in the ordinary use of the device as described by the Cohen as modified in claim 3.
Regarding claim 17, the recited computer-readable storage medium is taught by the current rejection of Cohen as modified in claim 3.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the amendments have necessitated new grounds of rejection.
Specifically, applicant’s arguments of the limitations that art not taught by the He reference are moot in view of the new rejections under Cohen.
Conclusion
/LINDA C DVORAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/L.R.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3794