DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to RCE and Amendment filed on 10/21/2025.
Claims 2, 10-20 were canceled.
Claims 1, 3-9 are pending for examination.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
(A) Applicant's arguments filed “the cited references of Tabor and Gonzalez, taken alone or in combination, fail to teach or suggest a control panel configured to facilitate adjustment between operational modes of a construction machine. As such, claim 1 has been amended to include this distinct feature and now recites, at least in part, "...a control system comprising... a control panel including at least one interface configured to facilitate the selection of at least one of a plurality of selectable modes of operation, the plurality of modes of operation including: i) a parabolic mode of operation, and ii) a non-parabolic mode...." (Claim 1). In view of the above, Applicant respectfully submits that the cited references of Tabor and Gonzalez, taken alone or in combination, do not disclose or even suggest each and every feature of the claim as amended. As such, Applicant respectfully requests that the Examiner withdraw the rejection and allow claim 1, as amended, over the cited references” on 10/21/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As to point (A), the examiner respectfully disagrees. The examiner further notes the amendment changed the scope of the invention beyond the features previously recited in claim 1, necessitating a new ground of rejection is made in view new combination of Tabor (US20050216105A1) and Gonzalez (EP2684836A1). The new combination of Tabor and Gonzalez would fully disclose the amended invention.
(B) Applicant's arguments filed “Dependent Claims 3-9 The rejected dependent claims all depend, directly or indirectly, from amended independent claim 1 and are therefore likewise patentable at least for the reasons set forth above. Applicant makes this statement without reference to, or waiving, the independent bases of patentability within each dependent claim. Applicant further reserves the right to argue the patentability of any dependent claim or limitation of any such claim in a future filing, if necessary.” on 10/21/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As to point (B), the examiner respectfully disagrees. The examiner further notes the amended independent claim 1 would fully encompass by the combination of Tabor and Gonzalez.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 3-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tabor (US20050216105A1) in view of Gonzalez (EP2684836A1).
Regarding claim 1, Tabor teaches A construction machine comprising:
a boom (Tabor: Fig. 1 Element 13; Para 19 “the coordinated multiple axis control system, according to the present invention, is incorporated on a telehandler 10 that comprises a tractor 12 on which a boom 13 is pivotally mounted”) ; and
a control system (Tabor: Para 10 “A control system is provided to operate the first and second actuators to move the member. That control system receives a command from an operator input device, which designates a desired velocity at which the point on the member is to move along a substantially straight line path”) “comprising:
a memory device(Tabor: Para 34 “these conversion functions 88 and 90 may be implemented in the realm of digital computers using look-up tables stored in the controller's memory”; and
a control panel including at least one interface configured to facilitate the selection of at least one of a plurality of selectable modes of operation(Tabor: Fig. 2 Element 78; Para 28 “a mode switch 78 is used by the machine operator to select either the polar or orthogonal coordinate mode”), the plurality of modes of operation including: i) a parabolic mode of operation(Tabor: Para 26 “In a conventional polar coordinate mode of operation, the first joystick 72 is moved from the centered position about one axis M to raise or lower the boom 13 by changing the lift angle θ. Movement of the first joystick 72 about the other axis N extends or retracts the first boom section 14 changing the boom length L. Both the boom lift angle and length can be changed simultaneously by moving the first joystick 72 about both axes at the same time. The first joystick 72 produces a pair of electrical signals, indicating its position about the two axes. The controller 70 responds to one of these electrical signals by selectively operating the first valve assembly 48 to apply hydraulic fluid to the lift cylinder 16, thereby producing the desired angular boom motion. The other joystick signal causes the controller 70 to operate the second valve assembly 55 to change the length L of the boom 13. The second joystick 73 is employed to tilt the workhead 18 with respect to the end of the boom”), and ii) a non-parabolic mode(Tabor: Para 28 “In the orthogonal coordinate mode of operation, movement of the first joystick 72 along one axis designates a desired velocity of the boom pivot point 22 along the X axis, while motion along the other joystick axis designates desired boom pivot point velocity along the Y axis. From the orthogonal velocity signals and the position sensor signals, the controller 70 derives signals to operate the first and second valve assemblies 48 and 55 so that the lift and length cylinders 16 and 19 produce the desired boom motion. The orthogonal mode of operation simplifies operator control of the workhead motion either horizontally or vertically with respect to the earth”); and
a processor in communication with the control panel and configured to execute instructions stored in the memory device in response to the non-parabolic mode of operation being selected via the control panel(Tabor: Fig. 2; Para 28 “a mode switch 78 is used by the machine operator to select either the polar or orthogonal coordinate mode. In the orthogonal coordinate mode of operation, movement of the first joystick 72 along one axis designates a desired velocity of the boom pivot point 22 along the X axis, while motion along the other joystick axis designates desired boom pivot point velocity along the Y axis. From the orthogonal velocity signals and the position sensor signals, the controller 70 derives signals to operate the first and second valve assemblies 48 and 55 so that the lift and length cylinders 16 and 19 produce the desired boom motion. The orthogonal mode of operation simplifies operator control of the workhead motion either horizontally or vertically with respect to the earth”; Para 29 “Derivation of the signals to operate the first and second valve assemblies 48 and 55 is performed by a boom control system implemented in the software that the controller executes”), which when executed by the processor
receiving at least a first motion command for repositioning the boom when the boom is deployed(Tabor: Para 26 “The four valves in assemblies 48, 55 and 62 are operated individually by a microcomputer based controller 70 that receives signals from manual input devices, such as a pair of joysticks 72 and 73 located in the cab of the telehandler 10”);
receiving sensor data associated with a first position of the boom(Tabor: Para 27 “The controller 70 also receives input signals from a plurality of sensors 74, 75, 76 and 79 in FIG. 1”) , wherein the sensor data includes:
an extension position of the boom including at least a first length of the boom(Tabor: Para 27 “A boom extension sensor 75 indicates the extension distance “b” that the first section 14 projects from the second boom section 15 and thus indicates the full boom length L, which is the sum of the extension distance “b” and the minimum length “c” of the two boom sections 14 and 15”);
an angle position of the boom including at least a first angle of the boom relative to a reference surface(Tabor: Para 19 “the lift angle θ of the boom with respect to a base line 11 or plane that is fixed relative to the tractor 12”; Para 27 “the lift angle θ can be measured directly by a lift angle sensor 77 mounted between the boom 13 and the tractor 12”); and
a chassis angle position including an angle of a chassis of the construction machine relative to the reference surface(Tabor: Para 27 “A pitch sensor 79 provides an electrical signal that indicates the pitch angle γ of the tractor 12, i.e. the angle between the tractor reference line 11 and true earth horizontal”);
determining, in response to receiving the first motion command and the sensor data, a second position of the boom, the second position different from the first position in at least two degrees of motion(Tabor: Para 28 “In the orthogonal coordinate mode of operation, movement of the first joystick 72 along one axis designates a desired velocity of the boom pivot point 22 along the X axis, while motion along the other joystick axis designates desired boom pivot point velocity along the Y axis”; Para 29 “The joystick signals M and N are applied to separate mapping routines 82 and 84 which convert the joystick position signals into signals indicating the desired velocities {dot over (X)}SP and {dot over (Y)}SP along the X and Y axes”; Para 33 “the desired orthogonal velocities {dot over (X)}SP and {dot over (Y)}SP from mapping routines 82 and 84 are applied to an orthogonal coordinate to polar coordinate transformation function 86 which solves equation (5) using the inverse transformation matrix B−1. The coordinate transformation function 86 also receives signals designating the actual polar coordinate positions α and L of the workhead pivot point 22 at the end of the boom 13. Those actual polar coordinate positions are derived from the lift cylinder sensor 74, which produces a signal designating the distance “a” that its rod is extended and from the boom extension sensor 75, which provides a signal indicating the distance “b” that the first boom section 14 is extended from the second section 15. The lift cylinder distance “a” is applied to an angle conversion function 88 that transforms that distance into the corresponding lift angle θ, which is summed at node 87 with the pitch angle γ to produce the first polar coordinate α. The length cylinder distance “b” is applied to a length conversion function 90 that transforms that distance into the length polar coordinate L. These two cylinder extension distances “a” and “b” are applied to separate conversion functions 88 and 90 which respectively produce the corresponding polar coordinates θ and L for the position of the workhead pivot point 22”).
Yet Tabor do not explicitly teach a control panel…
repositioning the boom from the first position to the second position of the boom by moving the boom in a linear path, the motion of the boom including movement in a Z-direction that is substantially parallel to a line of gravity of the boom and at least one of:
a Y-direction that is along a substantially vertical path between a first position and a second position,
an X-direction that is along a substantially horizontal path between the first position and the second position,
wherein the repositioning of the boom further includes adjusting a length of the boom simultaneously to repositioning the boom in at least one of the Y-direction or the X-direction.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Gonzalez teaches a control panel including at least one interface configured to facilitate the selection of at least one of a plurality of selectable modes of operation, the plurality of modes of operation including: i) a parabolic mode of operation, and ii) a non-parabolic mode (Gonzalez: Fig. 3 Element 8d; Para 74 “A function switch (8d) from the control panel (8) allows to select the number of freedom that will be involved in the movement. In a first option based on a selector switch (8d), the control device (10) performs the movement commanded , synchronizing the degrees of freedom (α,Lt,β,γ) , keeping constant the values (ε,α1,Lt1).-(see Fig. 14) In a second option based on a selector switch (8d), the control device (10) performs the movement commanded , synchronizing the degrees of freedom (α1,Lt1,β,γ) keeping constant the values (ε, α, Lt). In a third option based on a selector switch (8d), the control device (10) performs the movement commanded , synchronizing the degrees of freedom , (α1, α, Lt1 ,Lt , β,γ) keeping constant the angle (ε) . The control device (10), moves the end point of the lower telescopic boom (13M) according to the direction and speed of command , by means of the synchronization of the degrees of freedom (α, Lt) , and simultaneously it moves the end point of the upper telescopic boom (13N) according to the direction and speed of command , by means of the synchronization of (α1, Lt1 ,β,γ). In a fourth option based on a selector switch (8d), if it is a movement at constant height , while the lower telescopic boom (13) does not reach the minimum or maximum length, the control device (10) synchronizes the degrees of freedom (α,β,γ,Lt) , keeping constant (α1, Lt1 , ε). Once the minimum or maximum length of the lower telescopic boom (13) is reached, the movement of la basket (9) (9a) goes on according to the direction of command, by means of the synchronization of the degrees of freedom (α1, Lt1, β,γ), keeping constant (α, Lt , ε). Once the minimum or maximum length of both telescopic booms (13) (13a) are reached , the control device combines the degrees of freedom (α,α1, β,γ) keeping constant ( Lt , Lt1, ε) so that the angle (α1) tends towards 0 º if movement is extending out the lifting mechanism, or so that the angle (α1) tends towards -90 º if the movement is retracting the mechanism”);
repositioning the boom from the first position to the second position of the boom by moving the boom in a linear path, the motion of the boom including movement in a Z-direction that is substantially parallel to a line of gravity of the boom (Gonzalez: Fig. 8, 13b and 14; Para 18 “An electronic controller or microcontroller that inputs the signals from the position detection means and the joysticks. The controller with theses input data, carries out the necessary engineering calculations for determining the theoretical position of the basket and the corresponding synchronization values for the regulation and control means , in order to perform movements of the basket or tool according to the direction of command referred to the mobile reference frame XI, YI, ZI”; Para 22 “the control device can perform curvilinear or rectilinear raising/lowering movements in three-dimensional space , according to the direction of command , so that the actual direction of movement directly correspond to the actual operating direction of the joystick at any instant of the ongoing movement”) and at least one of:
a Y-direction that is along a substantially vertical path between a first position and a second position(Gonzalez: Fig. 12),
an X-direction that is along a substantially horizontal path between the first position and the second position(Gonzalez: Fig. 13a).
wherein the repositioning of the boom further includes adjusting a length of the boom simultaneously to repositioning the boom in at least one of the Y-direction or the X-direction(Gonzalez: Fig. 8, 12 and 13a).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the construction machine of Tabor with the feature of a control panel including at least one interface configured to facilitate the selection of at least one of a plurality of selectable modes of operation, the plurality of modes of operation including: i) a parabolic mode of operation, and ii) a non-parabolic mode; repositioning the boom from the first position to the second position of the boom by moving the boom in a linear path, the motion of the boom including movement in a Z-direction that is substantially parallel to a line of gravity of the boom and at least one of: a Y-direction that is along a substantially vertical path between a first position and a second position, an X-direction that is along a substantially horizontal path between the first position and the second position, wherein the repositioning of the boom further includes adjusting a length of the boom simultaneously to repositioning the boom in at least one of the Y-direction or the X-direction disclosed by Gonzalez. One would be motivated to do so for the benefit of “control complex machine motion that involves the simultaneous, coordinated operation of a plurality of machine functions” (Gonzalez: Para 9) .
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Tabor and Gonzalez teaches The construction machine of Claim 1, and Tabor further teaches wherein the instructions, when executed, further cause the processor to perform operations comprising coordinating a boom length and a motion of the boom to reposition the boom along a substantially non- arcuate path between the first position and the second position(Tabor: Para 42 “Thus the machine operator manipulates the first joystick 72 to designate desired motion of the pivot point 22 for the workhead 18 in an orthogonal coordinate system. This enables the operator, by moving the first joystick 72 along only one axis, to command horizontal or vertical workhead motion. The boom control system 80 initially transforms the commanded horizontal or vertical motion into the polar coordinate motion, conventionally employed to control the boom lift angle and length. Then the boom control system translates the polar coordinate motion into corresponding velocities for the hydraulic actuators that produce angular and telescopic movement of the boom 13. Those resultant hydraulic actuator velocities finally are converted into electrical signals for operating the respective valves to drive the hydraulic actuator to achieve the desired boom movement”).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Tabor and Gonzalez teaches The construction machine of Claim 1, and Tabor further teaches wherein the boom is capable of three degrees of motion, and wherein the instructions, when executed, further cause the processor to perform operations comprising repositioning the boom in a first degree of motion and a second degree of motion, while holding a third degree of motion constant(Tabor: Para 28 “the telehandler 10 can be operated in an orthogonal coordinate mode in which the first joystick 72 designates desired movement of the remote end of the boom 13 in two orthogonal axes X and Y. The X axis corresponds to a horizontal line with respect to the earth and the Y axis corresponds to a vertical line”).
In regards to claim 5, the combination of Tabor and Gonzalez teaches The construction machine of Claim 1, and Tabor further teaches wherein the instructions, when executed, further cause the processor to perform operations comprising:
receiving, from at least a first sensor device, the extension position of the boom(Tabor: Para 27 “A boom extension sensor 75 indicates the extension distance “b” that the first section 14 projects from the second boom section 15 and thus indicates the full boom length L, which is the sum of the extension distance “b” and the minimum length “c” of the two boom sections 14 and 15.”);
receiving, from at least a second sensor device, the angle position of the boom (Tabor: Para 19 “the lift angle θ of the boom with respect to a base line 11 or plane that is fixed relative to the tractor 12”; Para 27 “the lift angle θ can be measured directly by a lift angle sensor 77 mounted between the boom 13 and the tractor 12”);
receiving, from at least a third sensor device, the chassis angle position(Tabor: Para 27 “A pitch sensor 79 provides an electrical signal that indicates the pitch angle γ of the tractor 12, i.e. the angle between the tractor reference line 11 and true earth horizontal”);
determining, in response to i) the first motion command, ii) the extension position of the boom, iii) the angle position of the boom, and iv) the chassis angle position, a second Z-coordinate of the boom and a second length of the boom(Tabor: Para 42 “Thus the machine operator manipulates the first joystick 72 to designate desired motion of the pivot point 22 for the workhead 18 in an orthogonal coordinate system. This enables the operator, by moving the first joystick 72 along only one axis, to command horizontal or vertical workhead motion. The boom control system 80 initially transforms the commanded horizontal or vertical motion into the polar coordinate motion, conventionally employed to control the boom lift angle and length.”).
in response to determining the second Z-coordinate of the boom and the second length of the boom, repositioning the boom from the first Z-coordinate to the second Z- coordinate along the substantially vertical path between the first Z-coordinate and the second Z-coordinate(Tabor: Para 42 “Thus the machine operator manipulates the first joystick 72 to designate desired motion of the pivot point 22 for the workhead 18 in an orthogonal coordinate system. This enables the operator, by moving the first joystick 72 along only one axis, to command horizontal or vertical workhead motion. The boom control system 80 initially transforms the commanded horizontal or vertical motion into the polar coordinate motion, conventionally employed to control the boom lift angle and length.”).
while Gonzalez further teaches determining a first X-coordinate, a first Y-coordinate, and a first Z-coordinate of the boom (Gonzalez: Para 34 “The electronic controller (3) inputs the signals of the position detection means (1), for making by computer methods the position and kinematic analysis of the mechanical system , and thus determine at each instant the velocity and coordinates of the basket/tool according to the fixed reference frame x, y, z.”). The Examiner supplies the same rationale for the combination of references Tabor and Gonzalez as in Claim 1 above.
In regards to claim 6, the combination of Tabor and Gonzalez teaches The construction machine of Claim 5, and Tabor further teaches wherein to reposition the boom, the instructions, when executed, further cause the processor to perform operations comprising: one of extending or retracting the boom to the second length; and one of raising or lowering the boom to the second Z-coordinate in coordination with extending or retracting the boom, whereby the boom is repositioned at the second Z- coordinate while at least one of the first X-coordinate and the first Y-coordinate are held substantially constant(Tabor: Para 42 “Thus the machine operator manipulates the first joystick 72 to designate desired motion of the pivot point 22 for the workhead 18 in an orthogonal coordinate system. This enables the operator, by moving the first joystick 72 along only one axis, to command horizontal or vertical workhead motion. The boom control system 80 initially transforms the commanded horizontal or vertical motion into the polar coordinate motion, conventionally employed to control the boom lift angle and length”).
In regards to claim 7, the combination of Tabor and Gonzalez teaches The construction machine of Claim 5, and Gonzalez further teaches wherein the instructions, when executed, further cause the processor to perform operations comprising:
receiving, from at least a fourth sensor device, a rotary table position including a relative orientation of the boom within a 360° range of motion of a rotary table chassis of the construction machine relative to a reference surface; further determining, in response to the rotary table position, the second Z- coordinate of the boom and the second length of the boom(Gonzalez: Para 33 “The position detection means (1) are basically sensors linked to each degree of freedom of the lifting mechanism. They are located at the elements of the lifting mechanism , for determining the magnitude of the degrees of freedom (α, β, γ , Lt , ε) , where : (α) is the tilt angle of the telescopic boom (13) with respect to the horizontal line, (β) angle of rotation of the turntable (12) in the plane x-y , (γ) the angle of rotation of the basket ( 9) or tool (9a) in the plane XI-YI with respect to the boom (13) , (Lt) the length of the telescopic boom (13) , (ε) the inclination angle of the jib (15a) with respect to gravity”; Para 34 “The electronic controller (3) inputs the signals of the position detection means (1), for making by computer methods the position and kinematic analysis of the mechanical system , and thus determine at each instant the velocity and coordinates of the basket/tool according to the fixed reference frame x, y, z.”)). The Examiner supplies the same rationale for the combination of references Tabor and Gonzalez as in Claim 1 above.
In regards to claim 8, the combination of Tabor and Gonzalez teaches The construction machine of Claim 5, and Tabor further teaches wherein the first motion command includes an instruction to move the boom in one of an X-direction or a Y-direction, the X-direction and the Y-direction substantially normal to a line of gravity of the boom(Tabor: Para 28 “From the orthogonal velocity signals and the position sensor signals, the controller 70 derives signals to operate the first and second valve assemblies 48 and 55 so that the lift and length cylinders 16 and 19 produce the desired boom motion. The orthogonal mode of operation simplifies operator control of the workhead motion either horizontally or vertically with respect to the earth”), and wherein the instructions, when executed, further cause the processor to perform operations comprising:
receiving, from at least a first sensor device, the extension position of the boom (Tabor: Para 27 “A boom extension sensor 75 indicates the extension distance “b” that the first section 14 projects from the second boom section 15 and thus indicates the full boom length L, which is the sum of the extension distance “b” and the minimum length “c” of the two boom sections 14 and 15.”);
receiving, from at least a second sensor device, the angle position of the boom including the first angle of the boom(Tabor: Para 27 “the lift angle θ can be measured directly by a lift angle sensor 77 mounted between the boom 13 and the tractor 12”);
receiving, from at least a third sensor device, the chassis angle position (Tabor: Para 27 “A pitch sensor 79 provides an electrical signal that indicates the pitch angle γ of the tractor 12”);
determining, in response to i) the first motion command, ii) the extension position of the boom, iii) the first angle position of the boom, and iv) the chassis angle position, at least one of a second X-coordinate or a second Y-coordinate of the boom and a second angle of the boom relative to the reference surface (Tabor: Para 42 “Thus the machine operator manipulates the first joystick 72 to designate desired motion of the pivot point 22 for the workhead 18 in an orthogonal coordinate system. This enables the operator, by moving the first joystick 72 along only one axis, to command horizontal or vertical workhead motion. The boom control system 80 initially transforms the commanded horizontal or vertical motion into the polar coordinate motion, conventionally employed to control the boom lift angle and length.”); and
in response to determining at least one of the second X-coordinate or the second Y-coordinate and the second angle of the boom, repositioning the boom along a substantially linear path(Tabor: Para 42 “Thus the machine operator manipulates the first joystick 72 to designate desired motion of the pivot point 22 for the workhead 18 in an orthogonal coordinate system. This enables the operator, by moving the first joystick 72 along only one axis, to command horizontal or vertical workhead motion. The boom control system 80 initially transforms the commanded horizontal or vertical motion into the polar coordinate motion, conventionally employed to control the boom lift angle and length.”)
while Gonzalez further teaches determining a first X-coordinate, a first Y-coordinate, and a first Z-coordinate of the boom (Gonzalez: Para 34 “The electronic controller (3) inputs the signals of the position detection means (1), for making by computer methods the position and kinematic analysis of the mechanical system , and thus determine at each instant the velocity and coordinates of the basket/tool according to the fixed reference frame x, y, z.”). The Examiner supplies the same rationale for the combination of references Tabor and Gonzalez as in Claim 1 above.
In regards to claim 9, the combination of Tabor and Gonzalez teaches The construction machine of Claim 1, and Gonzalez further teaches wherein the instructions, when executed further cause the processor to perform operations comprising: receiving, from at least a fourth sensor device, a rotary table position including a relative orientation of the boom within a 360° range of motion of a rotary table of the construction machine(Gonzalez: Para 33 “The position detection means (1) are basically sensors linked to each degree of freedom of the lifting mechanism. They are located at the elements of the lifting mechanism , for determining the magnitude of the degrees of freedom (α, β, γ , Lt , ε) , where : (α) is the tilt angle of the telescopic boom (13) with respect to the horizontal line, (β) angle of rotation of the turntable (12) in the plane x-y , (γ) the angle of rotation of the basket ( 9) or tool (9a) in the plane XI-YI with respect to the boom (13) , (Lt) the length of the telescopic boom (13) , (ε) the inclination angle of the jib (15a) with respect to gravity”);
further determining, in response to the rotary table position, at least one of the second X- coordinate or the second Y-coordinate of the boom and the second angle position of the boom(Gonzalez: Para 34 “The electronic controller (3) inputs the signals of the position detection means (1), for making by computer methods the position and kinematic analysis of the mechanical system , and thus determine at each instant the velocity and coordinates of the basket/tool according to the fixed reference frame x, y, z.”). The Examiner supplies the same rationale for the combination of references Tabor and Gonzalez as in Claim 1 above.
Conclusion
/WENYUAN YANG/Examiner, Art Unit 3667